View Full Version : Kiosk Queues
18-09-2021, 02:48 PM
Wtf is with the massive queues in the east for the food and drink kiosks? It's not even that busy and the queues are arching round in circles well before half time even arrived. This part of the 'match day experience' needs to be looked at.
Twiglet
18-09-2021, 02:51 PM
Same in the west lower at the FF end. There was about 10 people in front of me when I came down about 37 minutes into the match. Now 5.
I swear they're making the pies from scratch as they go along.
Silversand
18-09-2021, 02:51 PM
West Upper food stalls closed too, queues horrific West Lower
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
18-09-2021, 02:53 PM
I gave up. Waste of time.
18-09-2021, 02:54 PM
I'm tempted to do the same. Genuinely never seen queues like this at easter road and we are playing St Mirren.
18-09-2021, 02:55 PM
How can there be massive queues if its not busy ? If its massive queues then it is busy surely 😳
I meant busy as in match attendance.
18-09-2021, 02:57 PM
I'd rather watch the match than queue up for overpriced nosh.
18-09-2021, 02:58 PM
Just popped down at ht, wasn’t intending buying anything but queues are unreal. We must be losing a fortune, as well as having disgruntled fans. Not nearly enough staff serving
Helensburghhibs
18-09-2021, 02:58 PM
Joke in the east. Wouldn't normally que but with the heat need to get juice for the boy. Should not be taking over half an hour
18-09-2021, 02:59 PM
I thought the cashless policy was supposed to improve the time it takes to get served?
Twiglet
18-09-2021, 03:01 PM
It doesn't help (where I am anyway) that the person taking the order is then running about looking for the pies then making the drinks. It should be 2 to a till, 1 to do payment and drinks, the other to go get anything that's not immediately next to them.
Almost 25 minutes for a drink that tastes weak and no lid.
18-09-2021, 03:01 PM
Brexit
CL0762
18-09-2021, 03:04 PM
There’s 2 folk serving at the far end of the east, absolutely embarrassing. Been standing in the queue for 25 mins and still nowhere near the front.
18-09-2021, 03:24 PM
I gave up. Only 2 of the 4 tills in operation at each window in the east.
18-09-2021, 03:24 PM
Teething problems are understandable but this is getting ridiculous. It needs sorting, and I’ve no doubt it will be.
the club will know it’s not working and will fix it I’m sure.
18-09-2021, 03:59 PM
I'd rather watch the match than queue up for overpriced nosh.
Great!?
Allez Hibs
18-09-2021, 04:09 PM
Queues awful at kiosks in East. Takes far too long.
18-09-2021, 04:17 PM
i truly sympathise with those having to miss so much of a match due to queuing so long, not a good match day experience
CL0762
18-09-2021, 04:18 PM
i truly sympathise with those having to miss so much of a match due to queuing so long, not a good match day experience
Never mind that, on a roasting hot day with hibs kids in attendance as well, it’s nowhere near acceptable. Queuing for 30+ mins for a drink is just simply a joke.
18-09-2021, 04:31 PM
Same here. It’s really poor stuff. Not enough staff. Two of four tills in use at the part I was at. And one person at each one that was in use trying to run up the bill, pour the juice and get the food out. Shambles.
18-09-2021, 04:35 PM
Never mind that, on a roasting hot day with hibs kids in attendance as well, it’s nowhere near acceptable. Queuing for 30+ mins for a drink is just simply a joke.
Definitely this. Don’t understand why they couldn’t have even had a wee table at the end of the stands handing out cups of water at the very least.
18-09-2021, 04:36 PM
Same here. It’s really poor stuff. Not enough staff. Two of four tills in use at the part I was at. And one person at each one that was in use trying to run up the bill, pour the juice and get the food out. Shambles.
Not enough staff because they cannot get them, same as 90% of industry that relied on foreign workers. it aint rocket science and also huge part of prices going sky high.
18-09-2021, 04:39 PM
Not enough staff because they cannot get them, same as 90% of industry that relied on foreign workers. it aint rocket science and also huge part of prices going sky high.
I could be wrong, but were a big chunk of folk working in the kiosks before not school kids just earning a few quid at the weekend with part time jobs? Wouldn’t really tie in with the whole brexit thing.
18-09-2021, 04:46 PM
East was a joke.
Never bothered pre game due to the size of the Q, went down midway through first have, two folk infront of me and it took 15 minutes
Asked what the ‘Hibee pie’ was after looking at the menu and was told it was steak and gravy (which was already on the menu) - I asked is that not what the steak pie is anyway? 😂 duly took a steak pie as it was about all that was left anyway
18-09-2021, 04:47 PM
Na no having that. I’m not having to walk away from everywhere else hospitality wise without getting served. Was generally kids rather than foreign staff working if my recollection is right. It’s not good enough.
18-09-2021, 05:18 PM
Another blazing hot day on the sun, in FF Lower. And after missing a large part of game last time getting some water to ease dehydration I just suffered in the sun this time after seeing the queues looking much the same.
18-09-2021, 05:19 PM
I went into the west at 2:35 and it was just about out the door.
Saw the guy that sits in front of me near the back of it and he got to his seat about 10 minutes into the game.
18-09-2021, 05:22 PM
Hibs need to offer free water stations - surely couldn’t be that hard to sort ?
Also space behind East - why not have some food trucks etc ?
Seems lack of staff and 1 per till doing everything as mentioned is the issue - making it slow.
Was Ron in the north stand lower pre match ?
Helensburghhibs
18-09-2021, 05:25 PM
It's time to drop the stupid stadium rule that prevents bottles of water/juice being taken in as well
CL0762
18-09-2021, 05:27 PM
It's time to drop the stupid stadium rule that prevents bottles of water/juice being taken in as well
No such rule can exist now surely, given we were advised to take own bottles in for the Santa Coloma game.
CL0762
18-09-2021, 05:29 PM
Hibs need to offer free water stations - surely couldn’t be that hard to sort ?
Also space behind East - why not have some food trucks etc ?
Seems lack of staff and 1 per till doing everything as mentioned is the issue - making it slow.
Was Ron in the north stand lower pre match ?
Yup, utilise the big space that exists behind the stand for days like today.
Appreciate that doesn’t solve the issues in FF & West.
What I will say is that I didn’t hear much complaint towards the staff themselves, absolutely not their fault. Must’ve been stressed out their box with that shambles too.
Helensburghhibs
18-09-2021, 05:32 PM
No such rule can exist now surely, given we were advised to take own bottles in for the Santa Coloma game.
They brought it back when the kiosks open which makes a mockery of the excuse its for safety reasons.
18-09-2021, 06:05 PM
I could be wrong, but were a big chunk of folk working in the kiosks before not school kids just earning a few quid at the weekend with part time jobs? Wouldn’t really tie in with the whole brexit thing.
There was def a few Spaniards used to work in West Lower Kiosks. Even if it was all Scottish schoolkids there is a knock on effect because other more attractive hospitality jobs that might have been filled by EU people now get taken up by the remainder of people looking for that type of job ( and working in a football stadium serving pies to grumpy football fans every so often is not going to be one of the more attractive roles to take up).
18-09-2021, 06:10 PM
No queues whatsoever in West Upper North.
It’s saving me a fortune!! :greengrin:wink:
18-09-2021, 06:12 PM
Exactly, tons of available labour to staff this. As much as I hate Brexit, this has nothing to do with it. There must be tons of students, school kids and folk who would like a wee subsidy to their income who would gladly take a job. I worked in a bar after work and my wife worked in a supermarket at weekends when our two were toddlers to make ends meet.
Mikey_1875
18-09-2021, 06:14 PM
First time using the kiosks today, was there pretty early in the east so didn’t see the worst of it but there was only a couple of people in front of me and it still took 5 minutes to get served. So whether that is lack of stuff prepared or painfully slow service i’m not sure but it looks like it is taking too long per transaction rather than a lack of bodies.
18-09-2021, 06:30 PM
First time using the kiosks today, was there pretty early in the east so didn’t see the worst of it but there was only a couple of people in front of me and it still took 5 minutes to get served. So whether that is lack of stuff prepared or painfully slow service i’m not sure but it looks like it is taking too long per transaction rather than a lack of bodies.
It’s not just the no of staff needed, but some simple training wouldn’t go amiss. The 2 serving me for a coffee were pleasant, but a few basic skills wouldn’t go missing
If there is a lack of labour, they should get in the academy boys and girls, gives them some life skills as well
18-09-2021, 07:12 PM
I was in early so got the bairn a hot dog and juice from the FF upper. Only one servery open though and queue was growing at 2.20. Wouldn't have fancied it at HT.
I get it's early days in the season and these things take some time to bed in but the turnstile issues and repeated issues with food and drink at games isn't doing much to improve the much mentioned 'match day experience'.
Neither have directly impacted me yet but it's unsatisfied customers leading to lost revenue. Both need sorted ASAP. People wouldn't tolerate or excuse it with a shrug if an issue with tickets led to you missing the start of a film in a cinema or if a pub had one person working a packed bar. It's the brand loyalty that other businesses can't buy at play again. Hibs get away with it because they know they will get away with it.
18-09-2021, 07:17 PM
It’s not just the no of staff needed, but some simple training wouldn’t go amiss. The 2 serving me for a coffee were pleasant, but a few basic skills wouldn’t go missing
If there is a lack of labour, they should get in the academy boys and girls, gives them some life skills as well
That’s a good shout with the academy players :agree:
18-09-2021, 07:37 PM
I was in early so got the bairn a hot dog and juice from the FF upper. Only one servery open though and queue was growing at 2.20. Wouldn't have fancied it at HT.
I get it's early days in the season and these things take some time to bed in but the turnstile issues and repeated issues with food and drink at games isn't doing much to improve the much mentioned 'match day experience'.
Neither have directly impacted me yet but it's unsatisfied customers leading to lost revenue. Both need sorted ASAP. People wouldn't tolerate or excuse it with a shrug if an issue with tickets led to you missing the start of a film in a cinema or if a pub had one person working a packed bar. It's the brand loyalty that other businesses can't buy at play again. Hibs get away with it because they know they will get away with it.
The much mentioned match day experience wasn’t as good as it should have been for me today. I was bloody starving. I’ve never struggled to get a pie a ER like this. The queues in the East were ridiculous. CEO specifically mentioned it in this weeks episode of the Hibees Buzz. Needs fixed sharpish.
BegbieHSC
18-09-2021, 08:22 PM
Feel for the staff who are working hard their ***** off for the full 90 minutes, but there’s not nearly enough of them.
Went down at the 30 minute mark in the east, given how poorly we were playing, assuming it would be quick 2 mins for a pie and water, but I was down till half time.
Surely we are losing money by folk being put off by the queues? Speculate to accumulate and hire more staff! Quicker service = more sales.
18-09-2021, 08:27 PM
Up next week for the St Johnstone match, reading this I'll buy my packet of crisps and a pie outside. Bonkers really when you would consider I would happily buy a crap and overpriced pie inside Easter Road but im not spending a lifetime in a queue for it. Needs sorting, match experience and all that.
18-09-2021, 08:29 PM
As a business owner myself, I’ve always thought that logistically, it must be an absolute nightmare to organise.
You’re able to open for business once a fortnight. For about 15 minutes of that, you’re wares are in exceptionally high demand, trickles the rest of the time.
Staffing, stock, minimising waste, ensuring hygiene…
I’m so glad providing a decent standard of service at a reasonable price under those circumstances isn’t my job…
All made the harder by not being able to have little bottle bars etc to keep some traffic from clogging up the main kiosks.
The Baldmans Comb
18-09-2021, 08:50 PM
Comical stuff as ever watching a bunch of dafties queue up for 20/25 minutes to be absolutely scammed for over priced utter gargage.
You do realize you are being totally laughed at but thanks as always for the free entertainment.✅
18-09-2021, 08:55 PM
Comical stuff as ever watching a bunch of dafties queue up for 20/25 minutes to be absolutely scammed for over priced utter gargage.
You do realize you are being totally laughed at but thanks as always for the free entertainment.✅
Don’t think Ron will be laughing at the money we’re missing out on because we can’t serve all the folk wanting served.
18-09-2021, 09:01 PM
You do realize you are being totally laughed at but thanks as always for the free entertainment.[emoji736]
What a weird, patronising comment.
BegbieHSC
18-09-2021, 09:14 PM
So, do you spend your time at Easter Road standing at the side of the queue, pishing yersel laughing at the people in the queue?
Just go in and watch the game/the big screens and get actual entertainment, pal. Watching and laughing at a queue is strange, strange behaviour…
hibby rae
18-09-2021, 09:17 PM
Why would you laugh at someone trying to get a drink for their child on a roasting hot day?
18-09-2021, 09:18 PM
You do realize you are being totally laughed at but thanks as always for the free entertainment.[emoji736]
Think there’s only one person being laughed at.
St.Kristopher
18-09-2021, 09:33 PM
Exactly, tons of available labour to staff this. As much as I hate Brexit, this has nothing to do with it. There must be tons of students, school kids and folk who would like a wee subsidy to their income who would gladly take a job. I worked in a bar after work and my wife worked in a supermarket at weekends when our two were toddlers to make ends meet.
Simply not true. I work closely with and in the hospitality sector; pretty much every restaurant, pub and hotel has a vacancy. I currently have one of my businesses closed because of this. The BBC reported last week that vacancies had hit a record high of 1M.
https://www.bbc.com/news/business-58543554
It is cripling the hospitality sectors ability to bounce back; Hibs must be finding the same issues.
Green Reaper
18-09-2021, 10:03 PM
Couldn’t we put in some vending machines to ease the queues, even just for cold drinks?
19-09-2021, 09:30 AM
East was a joke.
Never bothered pre game due to the size of the Q, went down midway through first have, two folk infront of me and it took 15 minutes
Asked what the ‘Hibee pie’ was after looking at the menu and was told it was steak and gravy (which was already on the menu) - I asked is that not what the steak pie is anyway? 😂 duly took a steak pie as it was about all that was left anyway
I was the same I went to the toilet and saw there wasn’t much of a queue so I decided to get something to eat for the bairn. There was only 1 person in front of me and it still took about 10 minutes before I was served. The girl serving was having to go back and forward to get all the things that were being ordered, it took her ages, there needs to be people inside passing through the food to the person serving.
Bridge hibs
19-09-2021, 09:33 AM
I meant busy as in match attendance.Apologies mate I was trying to be a smart arse, I tend to avoid the queues by sending the kids down, they normally come back with the wrong stuff anyway 🥴
19-09-2021, 10:16 AM
Never understood the need to eat while at the Football.
19-09-2021, 10:19 AM
That’s not the point though. It’s something that we offer and we offer it badly.
I generally don’t eat at it, but much like I wouldn’t expect to go to the cinema or the theatre and wait 30 mins or so in a queue for food/drinks it shouldn’t be the case at the football either.
19-09-2021, 10:19 AM
Plenty of people do though hence the queues yesterday. If there is sufficient demand then Hibs really need to do better so folk are not waiting half hour to get served pretty basic food.
19-09-2021, 10:35 AM
Snap, unless you have been working and have had to go straight to the game so need a food fix.
Same for folk who have to travel a distance to games.
The thought of missing part of a Hibs game to feed your face makes no sense to me and half time is for talking to friends who I only see at games.
Saying that I probably cave about once a season when it is freezing and grab a pie.
That way it feels a real treat.
19-09-2021, 10:35 AM
I was quite disappointed by the food offering yesterday. It seemed to be the same food as before with new signage and new pie holders. Got a pie and a coffee at 2.50. They were out of sauce and other than the signage and discussions on here I’d not have known anything had changed. Hopefully the food offering is still a work in progress.
19-09-2021, 10:43 AM
What a sad person you must be.
19-09-2021, 11:08 AM
I avoid the food at ER at all costs. will partake at other grounds where it is usually a bit cheaper and nicer and that was particularly so in the Championship. I doubt I would use the service and definitely not at HT but there is little reason why we couldn't provide a decent service and decent food and drinks. Hopefully Ron can sort it as it is money for old rope and an easy way to increase turnover
hibby rae
19-09-2021, 11:11 AM
Couldn’t we put in some vending machines to ease the queues, even just for cold drinks?
Not a bad idea
Down the line, I'd like to see water fountains or something. I appreciate that brings different issues during a pandemic.
But if we want to tout our sustainability at the club then being allowed to bring in a bottle to fill or sonething would be a good move.
19-09-2021, 11:13 AM
This might be one of the strangest comments I’ve read.
Power
19-09-2021, 12:20 PM
Fair feedback here. Ben acknowledged this wasn’t good enough for supporters at the moment on the latest Hibee’s Buzz episode.
Club is continuing to push a recruitment drive on this and will use agencies to top up. Next games should see improvements.
“The Club is looking for matchday staff to work in our Goal Mouth kiosks throughout the stadium. Hibernian FC is proud to offer the living wage of £9.50 per hour for service roles, with stand managers receiving £11.50 per hour. Those interested should email Gordon Halladay at
[email protected] for more information.”
19-09-2021, 12:53 PM
At half 2 the queue in the FF Upper (west side) was already causing grumbles.
One shutter closed. The open one had 3 terminals and only 2 in use operated with excruciating sloth.
And the Scotch Pie, as ever, was ****ing awful.
19-09-2021, 12:55 PM
Millions of people have been buying pies at the football longer than you’ve been alive. You have a strange method of getting your laughs.
19-09-2021, 12:57 PM
It’s part of going to the football for the kids.
19-09-2021, 01:03 PM
It’s part of going to the football for the kids.
Not just kids. Fans have bought a “pie and a bovril” at games for years
19-09-2021, 01:04 PM
Not just kids. Fans have bought a “pie and a bovril” at games for years
Yes that’s true, but I doubt many would bother waiting half an hour to get a pie.
19-09-2021, 01:07 PM
Yes that’s true, but I doubt many would bother waiting half an hour to get a pie.
Hence the debate!
19-09-2021, 01:17 PM
Maybe some people like the food, why else would they buy it? For some getting a pie is part of the tradition of being at the football, a bit like popcorn at the cinema
Having a lengthy wait in queues for food at a match is nothing new, it's been happening all my time watching football. The only difference is in the 60's, 70's and 80's we had pie huts on open terraces so you could still often watch the game while queuing.
The wait for food in modern stadiums doesn't really take any longer than back then, you just tend to miss more of what's happening on the pitch unless there's TV's in the concourse.
19-09-2021, 02:51 PM
In the guid auld days of terraces and kiosks you could stand in the queue and still see the action. I realise that may not be all that practicable in modern stadia but with the wonderful new screens and a’that perhaps some strategically placed screens close to the kiosks would be helpful
19-09-2021, 02:58 PM
Maybe some people like the food, why else would they buy it? For some getting a pie is part of the tradition of being at the football, a bit like popcorn at the cinema
correct. Never miss my pie and bovril at the match.
similarly I always buy a programme. Probably another waste of money but there it is.
Helensburghhibs
19-09-2021, 04:13 PM
Something else that would be an easy win is putting the game back on the concourse TV. People would maybe complain less if they could see the game while waiting
19-09-2021, 04:28 PM
Strange way to talk about your fellow supporters.
19-09-2021, 04:35 PM
Supporters queuing for fast food are not getting it fast. It is a service, which needs looked at by the Club.
Some may have a matchday ritual that they always get a pie, some may have rushed to get to game, and need a quick bite to eat.
I never purchase food at any grounds. and the prices are usually ridiculous as is cinema's for sweets, popcorn etc.The thing is, whilst people are keen to use the service, the service should be better
19-09-2021, 04:51 PM
In the guid auld days of terraces and kiosks you could stand in the queue and still see the action. I realise that may not be all that practicable in modern stadia but with the wonderful new screens and a’that perhaps some strategically placed screens close to the kiosks would be helpful
Even in the old main stand where there had a tiny wee bit to serve pies from half way down the stairs, you never had to wait too long.
I'd usually get served before I'd finished smoking my B&H :cb
On that point, I could smoke fags in a wooden stadium but can't vape in a concrete one. World gone mad!
19-09-2021, 05:02 PM
Even in the old main stand where there had a tiny wee bit to serve pies from half way down the stairs, you never had to wait too long.
I'd usually get served before I'd finished smoking my B&H :cb
On that point, I could smoke fags in a wooden stadium but can't vape in a concrete one. World gone mad!
It went sane around about Bradford, stuff like that.
19-09-2021, 05:08 PM
It went sane around about Bradford, stuff like that.
Obv.
But why can't folk vape now was more the point.
Something else that would be an easy win is putting the game back on the concourse TV. People would maybe complain less if they could see the game while waiting
Totally agree, the club has just spent a fortune on 2 huge screens so surely it's worth investing in lots of 55inch screens for the concourses to enhance the matchday experience. It would probably get some folk going down early if they knew they'd still see the match while queueing and would therefore help the queue sizes.
Helensburghhibs
19-09-2021, 06:23 PM
Totally agree, the club has just spent a fortune on 2 huge screens so surely it's worth investing in lots of 55inch screens for the concourses to enhance the matchday experience. It would probably get some folk going down early if they knew they'd still see the match while queueing and would therefore help the queue sizes.
There are already screens fitted. We'll certainly in ff and the east, the games always used to be on, not sure why they stopped
CL0762
19-09-2021, 06:39 PM
Tell me where you sit, I’d love to come and find out the rest of your humour if this is the sort of stuff that gets you all tingly.
Roaster.
19-09-2021, 06:48 PM
Tell me where you sit, I’d love to come and find out the rest of your humour if this is the sort of stuff that gets you all tingly.
Roaster.
[emoji1787][emoji1787]
Obv.
But why can't folk vape now was more the point.
I wouldnt be happy if I had a vaper sitting next to me
20-09-2021, 07:28 AM
At half 2 the queue in the FF Upper (west side) was already causing grumbles.
One shutter closed. The open one had 3 terminals and only 2 in use operated with excruciating sloth.
And the Scotch Pie, as ever, was ****ing awful.
Yes joined the queue bang on the HT whistle and it was already pretty long, only two lasses serving and moved painfully slowly, got served and back to seat just as it was kicking off. As the second half was about to start the queue was enormous and most the punters just gave up!!
I enjoyed my pie BTW😋
20-09-2021, 07:40 AM
That’s some influence you’ve got with the club. Maybe mention the queues?!:greengrin
20-09-2021, 07:47 AM
Fair feedback here. Ben acknowledged this wasn’t good enough for supporters at the moment on the latest Hibee’s Buzz episode.
Club is continuing to push a recruitment drive on this and will use agencies to top up. Next games should see improvements.
“The Club is looking for matchday staff to work in our Goal Mouth kiosks throughout the stadium. Hibernian FC is proud to offer the living wage of £9.50 per hour for service roles, with stand managers receiving £11.50 per hour. Those interested should email Gordon Halladay at
I don’t know if it’s just been so long since people I know worked in these type of jobs but that sounds an incredibly good wage for what you’re having to do. You’d have thought young guys and gals would jump at the chance.
Last Minute
20-09-2021, 07:57 AM
The problem is how they use the staff. I remember at Falkirk they had it down to a T. staff stay and the till and thats all they do, another member of staff on drinks and that's all and another on food. Quick and easy.
20-09-2021, 08:01 AM
Agreed and I think most people are the same. I was walking down the street after Saturdays game and someone was blowing his vape smoke all over the people behind him. It's quite right that they're banned in public spaces, keep that **** to yourself.
20-09-2021, 08:30 AM
I don’t know if it’s just been so long since people I know worked in these type of jobs but that sounds an incredibly good wage for what you’re having to do. You’d have thought young guys and gals would jump at the chance.
I wondered about that as well – do supermarkets etc still pay near enough minimum wage? For anyone under 18 it's double the minimum wage (according to here: https://www.gov.uk/national-minimum-wage-rates).
I suppose one problem might be that the nature of it means you're never going to get more than a few hours works each week, and those hours might move at relatively short notice, making it harder to combine with another job.
Mainstandman
20-09-2021, 08:53 AM
Just a comment on this. I hope there is more than just this advert to get staff and its a bit wait and see. in my experience you have to go out and get the best staff. what about family members of fans who don't watch the game, get a lift to the game, get paid and get a lift home. one other point, the same person serving and taking cash is well renowned as the slowest way of serving, its not just staff we need its more efficient serving, as soon as you ask for a pie it should be on the counter and the person at the till should just do the POS. drinks should all be made up ready to be given straight over.
20-09-2021, 08:54 AM
I wondered about that as well – do supermarkets etc still pay near enough minimum wage? For anyone under 18 it's double the minimum wage (according to here: https://www.gov.uk/national-minimum-wage-rates).
I suppose one problem might be that the nature of it means you're never going to get more than a few hours works each week, and those hours might move at relatively short notice, making it harder to combine with another job.
Supermarkets are generally better payers - it’s other retail stores that pay the minimum wage. But as you say this job is 2-3 hours ever fortnight or so. Would likely be in addition to another job and you’d have to work around hat your main employer want/need you to do.
20-09-2021, 08:56 AM
Just a comment on this. I hope there is more than just this advert to get staff and its a bit wait and see. in my experience you have to go out and get the best staff. what about family members of fans who don't watch the game, get a lift to the game, get paid and get a lift home. one other point, the same person serving and taking cash is well renowned as the slowest way of serving, its not just staff we need its more efficient serving, as soon as you ask for a pie it should be on the counter and the person at the till should just do the POS. drinks should all be made up ready to be given straight over.
Even a window system like a McDs drive through would make things move a bit.
Green Reaper
20-09-2021, 06:33 PM
Don’t think they’ll let you drive your car through the concourse 😬
20-09-2021, 06:50 PM
Kids meal for £4.50 is very decent and generous size but you are obviously a either a wind up merchant or a idiot for name calling fellow supporters.
20-09-2021, 07:10 PM
Its an insult and a pittance. Translate that into a pie, a poke of chips and a drink and you'll understand why
20-09-2021, 07:50 PM
It’s not the worst idea.
Q
Order - pay
Get a ticket number
Order #7 ready to collect
You can then have a like a U shape in and out Q to stop the long lines.
Maybe someone with more hospitality experience can comment.
One of my sons did it years ago in other stadiums. Its not as simple as getting a lift to the game and work for 90 mins and get a lift home. Unless things have changed . He had to be there a couple of hours before KO to stock up and cook the pies. They closed after half time but I believe ours are open the full game now. He had to cash up, clean the whole place down and stock take after every game . Because its not continuous work with international breaks and winter breaks, a run of away games etc it can't be money they depend on but they need to keep weekends free for it .
20-09-2021, 09:50 PM
Given the short hours it still won't add up to much. I'm surprised that we don't work with Hearts or Edinburgh City so that at least you have a larger pool of workers and they would hopefully get more hours per week working at different grounds. The idea earlier that a youngster who doesn't come to ER could get a lift with a parent is a good one and should be explored.
linlithgowhibbie
21-09-2021, 07:33 PM
It is not just at ER that queues are slow.
I was in Dobbies garden centre at Dalkeith this lunch time, eight folk in front of me (4 couples)at the counter and it took 12 mins to be served. That was at the coffee and cake counter.
It is not just at ER that queues are slow.
I was in Dobbies garden centre at Dalkeith this lunch time, eight folk in front of me (4 couples)at the counter and it took 12 mins to be served. That was at the coffee and cake counter.
Get a thread started about it on Dobbies.net 😀
Wigson13
21-09-2021, 07:48 PM
I'm not sure if many people have been to a game in Germany, was lucky enough to go to a Bayern Munich game and the Germans know how to deal with this. You have to buy a prepaid card and at half time all the food and drink is already poured and ready, not a huge menu and obviously in Germany its mostly bier and frankfurters but the crucial thing is that its all ready to picked up - you swipe your card and just take. Not going to get beer here but drinks could be pre-poured and coffee etc the same just grab, swipe and go!. . . . makes a lot of sense.
21-09-2021, 07:54 PM
Get a thread started about it on Dobbies.net 😀
Then anybody on other garden centre websites can disdainfully refer to it as jobbies.net