View Full Version : Everyone Knows His Name.75 today!

18-09-2021, 01:25 AM
Happy Birthday Jimmy O’Rourke!

18-09-2021, 02:16 AM
Happy Birthday Jimmy O’Rourke!

Happy Birthday the fox in the box!!

MGmick
18-09-2021, 02:34 AM
Happy Birthday Jamez O'rourkes (PS of course I know your name),

18-09-2021, 03:22 AM
lovely birthday remembrance from you Fred.
And the other contributors.
Am sure Billy will come on with a game to remember.

Jimmy's Blackpool game
Scored two at tynie in a 4-0 win and buggered off to blackpool for a break.
He had booked Blackpool cos he was not in the Hibs team.
But got called up at last minute due to Neil Martin being injured
Jambos loved it They Thought!!
Jimmy and Eric Stevenson scored two each long before ten past three !!

Final Score!!

Jimmy still went to Blackpool

18-09-2021, 04:20 AM

Jimmy's Blackpool game

Final Score!!

Wi‘ a bandage on his heid,if I remember correctly:greengrin

18-09-2021, 05:03 AM
Happy birthday Jimmy. An idol of mine when I was growing up.

18-09-2021, 05:58 AM
Many Happy Returns Jimmy

Everyone knows your name

Hibernian Legend

Youngest Player to have played for HIBS in Europe

Scorer of six hat-tricks in one season 1972/73

Scorer of two consecutive hat-tricks in Europe - cannae find anyone matching that

No bad for an inside forward ( midfield player)

A pocket battleship utility player with a tremendous never say die attitude and an eye for goal always giving 110% for the hibee cause

Penalty King

HIBS through and through

A Hearts fan once said to Jimmy We should have been two up in the 0-7 game ? Jimmy replied “ Well it would have been 7-2 then “

Favourite Jimmy games : Sporting Lisbon The greatest game in History and I remember a League Cup quarter final early seventies trailing 0-2 to Falkirk from the first leg Jimmy scored a diving header from a Bertie Auld cross on 60 minutes we threw the kitchen sink at them but just could not get the goal to take the game to extra time as the Bairns had parked the bus

Last but not least a 2-0 Scottish Cup quarter final win over Aberdeen Wee Jimmy rifling home from the edge of the box after only 17 seconds

Returned to Easter Road with St Johnstone and Motherwell scoring against us both times

Happy Birthday

https://youtu.be/cK2MBVjZa50

-

18-09-2021, 06:30 AM
Loved Jimmy O’Rourke …still have a scar on my knee from landing on glass while recreating his league cup final winning goal….[emoji2]. what a player he was [emoji120][emoji119][emoji119][emoji119][emoji119]. Many happy returns !

ClermistonGreen
18-09-2021, 06:39 AM

Jimmy's Blackpool game

Morning Mick
Happy birthday to the Wee man
Some of the best memories of my formative years watching him play
GGTTH :not worth 🤘

18-09-2021, 06:43 AM
Happy Birthday Jimmy. Thanks for the memories.:greengrin

18-09-2021, 06:48 AM
Many Happy Returns Jimmy

Everyone knows your name

Hibernian Legend

Youngest Player to have played for HIBS in Europe

Scorer of six hat-tricks in one season 1972/73

Scorer of two consecutive hat-tricks in Europe - cannae find anyone matching that

No bad for an inside forward ( midfield player)

A pocket battleship utility player with a tremendous never say die attitude and an eye for goal always giving 110% for the hibee cause

Penalty King

HIBS through and through

A Hearts fan once said to Jimmy We should have been two up in the 0-7 game ? Jimmy replied “ Well it would have been 7-2 then “

Favourite Jimmy games : Sporting Lisbon The greatest game in History and I remember a League Cup quarter final early seventies trailing 0-2 to Falkirk from the first leg Jimmy scored a diving header from a Bertie Auld cross on 60 minutes we threw the kitchen sink at them but just could not get the goal to take the game to extra time as the Bairns had parked the bus

Last but not least a 2-0 Scottish Cup quarter final win over Aberdeen Wee Jimmy rifling home from the edge of the box after only 17 seconds

Returned to Easter Road with St Johnstone and Motherwell scoring against us both times

Happy Birthday

https://youtu.be/cK2MBVjZa50

-

Brilliant . Just before my time but what a player in a team full of brilliance.
Happy birthday Jimmy 🇳🇬🍾

adam middlemass
18-09-2021, 06:52 AM
Happy 75th birthday Jimmy, what a player. Loved the wee fella, and a true hibby as well. :not worth:flag:

18-09-2021, 07:32 AM
Happy birthday to a true Hibs legend. Many great memories

18-09-2021, 07:49 AM
Loving the memories of my favourite Hibs player. Need to add the goal against Aberdeen in front of the cow shed. Quickest goal I ever saw, must have been about 30 seconds in to the game. That man was always there for the Hibees

18-09-2021, 07:59 AM
Very Happy Birthday Jimmy. And a belated thank you for those centre stand comp tickets for Firhill back in the day, that had us jumped by irate Jags fans after Jim Scott scored a very late equaliser to make it 2-2. The bruises have healed :)
Have a great day.

Roxyhibee
18-09-2021, 08:19 AM
What a football player, striker, legend, Hibby, character and gentleman. His hunger for his next goal in green and white was palpable from the terraces.

So many wonderful memories of Jimmy but the second half against Sporting was something very special. After yet another charge at their goal, a Sporting defender was lying beached behind the touch line, bewildered - Jimmy did a little pretend side heel at the back of his head in front of us all in the cave. You maybe had to be there and maybe only a few people saw it, but it was funny as. Felt like the Hibees were the greatest team in the world that night. They probably were.

Happy birthday Jimmy and many happy returns.

18-09-2021, 08:29 AM
Happy Birthday hero.

18-09-2021, 09:12 AM

Jimmy's Blackpool game

Final Score!!

Was his 19th Birthday IIRC

18-09-2021, 09:45 AM
Was his 19th Birthday IIRC

I failed to mention that
Yes it was his 19th birthday
He met an Edinburgh jambo pal in Blackpool thatweekend
Jambo shunned him-)

Spoilt his weekend!
Diddums !

The other cracker, bar the 7-2 chat ( I witnessed that one)
I was in a pub with him and guy at the bar kept repeatedly looking at Jimmy
I thought "here we go,Michael,gonnae be a nark here"

However ,the guy came over and said to James

"I thought i kent yer face,did you not use to be Jimmy O'Rourke that played wae the Hibs !!"

I just spoke to him half an a hour ago.
He is in sunny climes for his birthday !

I mentioned the tributes here:greengrin

AltheHibby
18-09-2021, 09:49 AM
Happy birthday Jimmy. Always a pleasure to watch you do your magic.

18-09-2021, 10:00 AM
Morning Mick
Happy birthday to the Wee man
Some of the best memories of my formative years watching him play
GGTTH :not worth 🤘

Morning CG
Jungle Rules!!

Aye
Opponents lose all hope when we get them doon the slope.

So true during that period of The Tornadoes and earlier of course.
Delightful times and memories watching some real skillful players under Shanks and Ned

ozhibs
18-09-2021, 11:58 AM
Happy Birthday Jimmy everyone knows his name, it. Was a great delight to be one of the hosts for you and Anne when you came to Australia

18-09-2021, 04:39 PM
Happy birthday to one of our all time greats, a terrific player.

We used to run a sweep for the first goal scorer on the Musselburgh Hibs bus. If Jimmy and Alan Gordon had already been drawn nobody would buy a ticket!

had to change the system ...

great memories :thumbsup:

18-09-2021, 06:24 PM
Met Jimmy on a few occasions just following the team, a Hibs great, a fan and a proper goalscorer. Loved him.

Happy Birthday, everyone knows your name.

18-09-2021, 06:51 PM
Happy birthday Jimmy O. Yoj'd never guess he was a firm favourite of mine.

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk

18-09-2021, 08:07 PM
Wi‘ a bandage on his heid,if I remember correctly:greengrin

Fred
link below to match report from The Scotsman archive of that game at tynie, when Jimmy got 2 goals on his 19th birthday.

Some present for the fans and the wee man.

My hero, Eric the Rebel, claiming the other two goals!

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/classic-match-hearts-0-hibs-4-sept-18-1965-2443980

18-09-2021, 08:18 PM
Happy birthday Jimmy!
One of my heroes growing up. Remember goals v Sporting Lisbon etc and of course in 72 LC final. For some reason I remember a hattrick st the Holy Ground v Clyde on last day of season in about 1971

18-09-2021, 09:54 PM
A great BIG Hibby Birthday Jimmy a REAL legend and a true Hibby.

Thanks for the memories.

19-09-2021, 03:41 PM
I remember him scoring against Third Lanark in one of his first home games. He rolled himself into a crouched position and froghopped along the goalline by way of celebrating.

19-09-2021, 04:35 PM
I failed to mention that
Yes it was his 19th birthday
He met an Edinburgh jambo pal in Blackpool thatweekend
Jambo shunned him-)

Spoilt his weekend!
Diddums !

The other cracker, bar the 7-2 chat ( I witnessed that one)
I was in a pub with him and guy at the bar kept repeatedly looking at Jimmy
I thought "here we go,Michael,gonnae be a nark here"

However ,the guy came over and said to James

"I thought i kent yer face,did you not use to be Jimmy O'Rourke that played wae the Hibs !!"

I just spoke to him half an a hour ago.
He is in sunny climes for his birthday !

I mentioned the tributes here:greengrin

I'm glad he got away Michael. Spoke to him a few weeks ago and I'll call on his return!! My phone's broke so please give him my best.

19-09-2021, 05:01 PM
I'm glad he got away Michael. Spoke to him a few weeks ago and I'll call on his return!! My phone's broke so please give him my best.

Ok dokey,Brian
Tell the forum you nearly got James barred out a pub in Portugal, when you told the barman, who was a Sporting Lisbon fan, that Jimmy scored 3 against them !!

Some great recall on here

Fred remembering the head bandage Jimmy had on due to clash of heads during Jimmy's "19th Birthday/Blackpool Derby" at Tynie

Games V Clyde , Plastic Whistle, Third Lanark ,too!

Goodness me....Shawfield and Cathkin no more !!

Lifetime ago
Happy Days going there on the St Giles bus fae The Market (Juvenile member!!)
Mind yer language at the back there ! Nae rebel songs!

JImmy and our cousin Denis Devlin on the bus too before they put the boots on and played pro.

19-09-2021, 05:17 PM
Ok dokey,Brian
Tell the forum you nearly got James barred out a pub in Portugal, when you told the barman, who was a Sporting Lisbon fan, that Jimmy scored 3 against them !!

Fred remembering the head bandage Jimmy had on due to clash of heads during Jimmy's "19th Birthday/Blackpool Derby" at Tynie

Lifetime ago

JImmy and our cousin Denis Devlin on the bus too before they put the boots on and played pro.

Jimmy scoring a free kick against Dennis. Having to take it again and scoring again, then standing laughing at Dennis!!

19-09-2021, 06:29 PM
Mick is that him away on holiday again?
Met Jimmy in a queue for the toilet on a plane. Did not expect to meet my hero in such circumstances.
Was an inspiration to us Clerie guys hoping to emulate him. Was one of your neighbours not Gogo Wallace?
Wish him all the best.

19-09-2021, 06:53 PM
Only vague memories of Jimmy scoring goals when I started watching Hibs and some even vaguer memories of him when he had Jocks Lodge years later, I may or may not have been underage.

19-09-2021, 07:02 PM
Went on a tour of Easter Road conducted by Tom Wright

We came to a wee cupboard and Tom announced that he had a surprise for us

He stepped in and re-emerged with a long sleeved HIBS strip on a hanger with a number 8 on the back

He announced it was the strip that Wee Jimmy wore during 7-0 and would we like to touch it ?

:not worth

19-09-2021, 07:03 PM
Mick is that him away on holiday again?
Met Jimmy in a queue for the toilet on a plane. Did not expect to meet my hero in such circumstances.
Was an inspiration to us Clerie guys hoping to emulate him. Was one of your neighbours not Gogo Wallace?
Wish him all the best.

Aye Gordon Wallace stayed along the street from us
He went to live in Oz many years ago.
Good fitba player wiz Gogo
Played in a junior cup final at Hampden

Some funny and interesting posts/comments re Jimmy on this older thread/
My first post here is on it.
Came across it whilst doing some research on my cousin Denis Devlin.

https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?267695-Jimmy-O-Rourke

19-09-2021, 07:03 PM
Went on a tour of Easter Road conducted by Tom Wright

We came to a wee cupboard and Tom announced that he had a surprise for us

He stepped in and re-emerged with a long sleeved HIBS strip on a hanger with a number 8 on the back

He announced it was the strip that Wee Jimmy wore during 7-0 and would we like to touch it ?

:not worth

Shouldn’t be in a cupboard and shouldn’t be getting touched either.

19-09-2021, 07:06 PM
Shouldn’t be in a cupboard and shouldn’t be getting touched either.
Might have been a small room and he wouldn’t normally let us touch it just a one off

19-09-2021, 07:11 PM
Ok dokey,Brian

Lifetime ago

I actually gave Rui, the bar owner, a copy of the 6 1 Sporting report to prepare him for Jimmy's visit. He pretended to throw Jimmy out then bought him drinks all night!!

19-09-2021, 07:13 PM

Cracking read that thread Mick

The last post is poignant

19-09-2021, 07:18 PM
Might have been a small room and he wouldn’t normally let us touch it just a one off

I suppose my point was that such things should be listed, curated, displayed and enjoyed. Not stuck in a small room or a cupboard for Tom Wright to offer folk a sneaky at. Probably indicative of how the Historical Trust never really kicks in to a wider audience with their thousands of artefacts but that’s not for this thread.

19-09-2021, 07:20 PM
I suppose my point was that such things should be listed, curated, displayed and enjoyed. Not stuck in a small room or a cupboard for Tom Wright to offer folk a sneaky at. Probably indicative of how the Historical Trust never really kicks in to a wider audience with their thousands of artefacts but that’s not for this thread.
Agree

Should be handled with white gloves only

19-09-2021, 07:43 PM

Went to that Junior cup final with my dad, Jacky Printy and Maud McFarlane.
Would be great if the club did a video on Jimmy. I am sure he could tell a few stories about Ned.

19-09-2021, 08:06 PM
Jimmy was a great player.

Jimmy and the rest of the Tornadoes gave me days as a 10-year-old boy I still remember nearly 50 years later and cemented a lifelong love of Hibs.

Despite all the ups and downs being a Hibs Supporter brings I would not swap it for anything.

Remember the Sporting Lisbon game to this day, thought it would always be like that.

Belated Happy Birthday Jimmy and here's to many more.

19-09-2021, 10:57 PM
You old ones are spoiled. Closest I got to seeing him was playing the Turnbulls Tornadoes video to death when it came out, and before that it was the team that wouldn’t die on a daily basis when I was a bairn. No YouTube 25 year ago!

GIBBY NEWTON
20-09-2021, 12:20 AM
Happy 75th Birthday Jimmy for me a legend from the first day you put on a Hibs strip Priviledged to have watched you home & away !!! Remember as a laddie my dad taking me on the bus from O’’Rourkes bar in the Grassmarket to Hampden Jimmy was playing for Scottish Schoolboys u/17s against England if i remember correctly bus made up of a lot of the St Giles branch i’m sure i remember my dad saying the Glancy brothers big Smiggy etc a lot of great Hibbys in the Grassmarket in those days. Jimmy was everything as he was & will always be one of us. One of the best ever to play for Hibs belated Birthday wishes Jimmy GGTTH