View Full Version : Edinburgh Zoo

17-09-2021, 02:42 PM
Looking to book a ticket for next Saturday and just wondering if its a digital ticket? How long do I get in there for?

Thanks.

17-09-2021, 02:52 PM
Once you're in you can stay until closing time (currently 6pm).

I imagine it's a digital ticket but not certain.

17-09-2021, 03:30 PM
We took our daughter at the start of the year and got to say it was terrible. Really run down and we barely seen any animals.

I prefer Five Sisters Zoo, much cheaper too.

17-09-2021, 04:01 PM
Ok thanks I just wasn't sure due to covid and having to book a time etc and will think about it just want something to do on the Saturday while I'm up for the weekend.

17-09-2021, 04:23 PM
Ok thanks I just wasn't sure due to covid and having to book a time etc and will think about it just want something to do on the Saturday while I'm up for the weekend.

Have you checked the Zoo website? I'm sure there is an FAQ about visits which will be more up to date than anecdotal evidence on a football forum.

17-09-2021, 04:36 PM
Have you checked the Zoo website? I'm sure there is an FAQ about visits which will be more up to date than anecdotal evidence on a football forum.

My advice about being able to stay until closing time was taken from their website.

17-09-2021, 04:42 PM
My advice about being able to stay until closing time was taken from their website.

Do you have a link to give the OP?

17-09-2021, 05:06 PM
Do you have a link to give the OP?

https://www.edinburghzoo.org.uk/reopening

There are allocated time slots for entry at 10am, 10.30am, 11am, 11.30am, 12pm, 12.30pm, 1pm and 1.30pm — we will only admit visitors within their booked time slot (though it's okay if you're running a little bit late).

No matter what time slot you are in, you can stay until the zoo closes to all visitors at 6pm. Tickets must be booked at least 2 hours before your arrival slot.

Bangkok Hibby
17-09-2021, 05:22 PM
We took our daughter at the start of the year and got to say it was terrible. Really run down and we barely seen any animals.

Been in serious decline for many years

17-09-2021, 05:27 PM
If you can make it the safari park at Blair Drummond is way better value and a better day out in my opinion. Could easily be in there all day as well.

patch1875
17-09-2021, 06:05 PM
The highland park is much better but a bit of a road trip

17-09-2021, 07:30 PM

I agree, Five Sisters is far better, even at trip down to east links farm is much better.

Santa Cruz
17-09-2021, 07:38 PM
I don't know if the OP is specifically looking for something to do outdoors but my fave tourist attraction is Camera Obscura. You can buy a day ticket and come and go as you please so it really is good value and a city centre location so it's easy to get to. I think I enjoyed it more than the bairn. :greengrin

Should add, no idea if the rules have changed about all day access due to covid.

17-09-2021, 07:41 PM
I don't know if the OP is specifically looking for something to do outdoors but my fave tourist attraction is Camera Obscura. You can buy a day ticket and come and go as you please so it really is good value and a city centre location so it's easy to get to. I think I enjoyed it more than the bairn. :greengrin

Should add, no idea if the rules have changed about all day access due to covid.
I was there a few weeks ago, I absolutely love it. It’s my favourite attraction in Edinburgh by a long way. It doesn’t matter how many times I go through that tunnel at the end I still grab onto the rail. I know it’s not moving, but it messes with your mind. :greengrin

17-09-2021, 07:45 PM
I was there a few weeks ago, I absolutely love it. It’s my favourite attraction in Edinburgh by a long way. It doesn’t matter how many times I go through that tunnel at the end I still grab onto the rail. I know it’s not moving, but it messes with your mind. :greengrinI've never been, is it suitable for someone with mobility issues? For some reason I've got it in my mind it's a load of stairs to a wee telescope on a roof!

17-09-2021, 07:47 PM
I've never been, is it suitable for someone with mobility issues? For some reason I've got it in my mind it's a load of stairs to a wee telescope on a roof!
Aye it’s a winding staircase up to the roof, you start at the top and work your way down. I’m not sure if there’s a lift that would take you up there.

Santa Cruz
17-09-2021, 07:50 PM
I've never been, is it suitable for someone with mobility issues? For some reason I've got it in my mind it's a load of stairs to a wee telescope on a roof!

No I don't think it is. The stairs are steep, windy and narrow. I felt it in my legs when I got to the telescope show on the top floor. I don't remember seeing a lift, but even then moving around the various rooms would be challenging.

Edit: The Science Museum in Glasgow is similar to camera obscura in many ways and from memory that seemed to be accessible for people with mobility issues. Another really enjoyable attraction I would recommend.

17-09-2021, 09:12 PM
No I don't think it is. The stairs are steep, windy and narrow. I felt it in my legs when I got to the telescope show on the top floor. I don't remember seeing a lift, but even then moving around the various rooms would be challenging.

Edit: The Science Museum in Glasgow is similar to camera obscura in many ways and from memory that seemed to be accessible for people with mobility issues. Another really enjoyable attraction I would recommend.

The science museum was a new purpose built building compared to the camera obscura is a 17th century 5 storey tenament in the Old Town.

Thanks for the tip about the science museum, might pay it a visit soon when I'm in Glasgow for a few days.

17-09-2021, 09:20 PM
The science museum was a new purpose built building compared to the camera obscura is a 17th century 5 storey tenament in the Old Town.

Thanks for the tip about the science museum, might pay it a visit soon when I'm in Glasgow for a few days.
You won’t be disappointed if you go to the science museum, I’ve never spent as long in one place on a day out. You could literally spend all day in there, even the cafe is good.

Santa Cruz
17-09-2021, 09:32 PM
You won’t be disappointed if you go to the science museum, I’ve never spent as long in one place on a day out. You could literally spend all day in there, even the cafe is good.

Steak pie tremdo :aok:

17-09-2021, 09:36 PM
Steak pie tremdo :aok:
And reasonably priced which isn’t always the case at these places.