View Full Version : Organised Crime

16-09-2021, 05:54 PM
My neighbours had a break in a few nights ago, in the middle of the night. Opened every drawer downstairs, money around but didn’t take it. All the wanted was the keys to their BMW, which they found. 4 adults in the house and no one heard a thing. Only discovered when they got up in the morning
Used it for another break in later that night. Police told them they’ll probably never see their car again, could he out of the country by now!

16-09-2021, 06:01 PM
My neighbours had a break in a few nights ago, in the middle of the night. Opened every drawer downstairs, money around but didn’t take it. All the wanted was the keys to their BMW, which they found. 4 adults in the house and no one heard a thing. Only discovered when they got up in the morning
Used it for another break in later that night. Police told them they’ll probably never see their car again, could he out of the country by now!Got a mate whose Jaguar was stolen in a similar way. He tried to jump on the bonnet to stop them.

Company car, the police contacted him to say they'd traced it but weren't arresting anyone for the crime or recovering the car just yet as they wanted to bust the gang for a bigger crime.

They did, the villains had kidnapped someone to get into a building and had guns in the boot of the car when they swooped to make the arrest.

Lucky escape I say.

16-09-2021, 08:24 PM
Know a guy who had his car stolen from Queen Margaret Uni car park a few weeks ago. They found it in Gilmerton the next day luckily.

16-09-2021, 09:23 PM
Know a guy who had his car stolen from Queen Margaret Uni car park a few weeks ago. They found it in Gilmerton the next day luckily.How did they get the keys to steal it?

16-09-2021, 09:32 PM
My neighbours had a break in a few nights ago, in the middle of the night. Opened every drawer downstairs, money around but didn’t take it. All the wanted was the keys to their BMW, which they found. 4 adults in the house and no one heard a thing. Only discovered when they got up in the morningUsed it for another break in later that night. Police told them they’ll probably never see their car again, could he out of the country by now!The advent of immobiliser technology killed the simplicity of hot wiring a car to steal it.From then on the keys were generally required to steal a car.A good time to acquire them is naturally from the house when folk are sleeping.So if you have a sexy car best to take the keys to bed with you especially if you sleep upstairs.Also make sure you lock your front door on the mortise lock at night.

FifeHibs
16-09-2021, 09:38 PM
Going back a few years when working in Aberdeen my flat mate had his wheels of his car stolen, came out in the morning to the car on bricks which was parked on a busy road.
The John Clark BMW Garage had allot of cars stolen from the forecourt one night aswell.

16-09-2021, 10:23 PM
How did they get the keys to steal it?
You don’t need keys, most modern cars don’t have keys anymore. It’s all about cloning the keycard or equivalent.

speedy_gonzales
16-09-2021, 10:32 PM
The advent of immobiliser technology killed the simplicity of hot wiring a car to steal it.From then on the keys were generally required to steal a car.A good time to acquire them is naturally from the house when folk are sleeping.So if you have a sexy car best to take the keys to bed with you especially if you sleep upstairs.Also make sure you lock your front door on the mortise lock at night.

Whilst I personally would be daft enough to fight off an intruder in my birthday suit, I'm pretty sure the advice is not to hide the keys within the house. Once the burglars(?) are in the premises you really want them out ASAP, you don't want them coming upstairs looking for car keys and putting yourself or others at risk.

16-09-2021, 11:00 PM
Whilst I personally would be daft enough to fight off an intruder in my birthday suit, I'm pretty sure the advice is not to hide the keys within the house. Once the burglars(?) are in the premises you really want them out ASAP, you don't want them coming upstairs looking for car keys and putting yourself or others at risk.

Might as well leave the car keys in the car and save them damaging the house locks.

16-09-2021, 11:11 PM
Might as well leave the car keys in the car and save them damaging the house locks.

Probably an effective technique as that's the last place they'll look

17-09-2021, 05:56 AM
Probably an effective technique as that's the last place they'll look

17-09-2021, 06:16 AM
A few years ago my sister, in London, had her MPV stolen. The thieves had used a fishing rod through the letterbox to get the keys from a phone table half way down the hall. The car was then used in an armed bank raid. She got it back after that. The miscreants were caught.

18-09-2021, 12:09 PM
A few years ago my sister, in London, had her MPV stolen. The thieves had used a fishing rod through the letterbox to get the keys from a phone table half way down the hall. The car was then used in an armed bank raid. She got it back after that. The miscreants were caught.

Not surprisingly that technique is called fishing.
Any long pole will do the job and the attachment of a magnet on the end is the final touch.

18-09-2021, 12:14 PM

The last thing they want to do is confront you. If they are burglars they will bail out after searching downstairs and move onto another poorly secured house.

18-09-2021, 12:16 PM
You don’t need keys, most modern cars don’t have keys anymore. It’s all about cloning the keycard or equivalent.

But I presume they need to get their hands on the keycard which won't be in the motor.

ABZHFC
18-09-2021, 12:33 PM
The last thing they want to do is confront you. If they are burglars they will bail out after searching downstairs and move onto another poorly secured house.

Yep, screamed and chased a **** out of my house back at the start of lockdown last year. Was 5am too, weird time to do it

18-09-2021, 12:46 PM
But I presume they need to get their hands on the keycard which won't be in the motor.

Can be cloned from outside the house according to some reports I have read.

18-09-2021, 12:56 PM
Can be cloned from outside the house according to some reports I have read.

Yep, my wife got me a pouch that protects the keycard, pain in bum because my car has keyless entry and it doesn't work after the key has been in the pouch, have to go to the bother of pressing the unlock button, defeating the point of keyless entry!!

18-09-2021, 12:57 PM
Yep, my wife got me a pouch that protects the keycard, pain in bum because my car has keyless entry and it doesn't work after the key has been in the pouch, have to go to the bother of pressing the unlock button, defeating the point of keyless entry!!How ever do you manage? [emoji6]

18-09-2021, 12:59 PM
How ever do you manage? [emoji6]

Gonna wear my thumb out at this rate 😉

speedy_gonzales
18-09-2021, 02:56 PM

The Police and advisory groups like The AA disagree,,, Don't be tempted to take keys upstairs with you. Many thieves won't think twice if you stand between them and the keys to the car they want.
When it comes to protecting your car, it shouldn't be too difficult, keep the keys out of sight (preferably in a drawer so they can't be fished). If your car has keyless entry/start then an RF blocking pouch should be considered.
The Police advise if you can, to park your car on your own driveway or in a well lit area but after a recent break in, my sister-in-law is now parking her VW Golf GTI at the end of her street so the would-be thieves don't know which house to target.
I certainly agree with your last point though. It doesn't take much to make your property look an unattractive option compared to your (unfortunately) neighbours.

18-09-2021, 03:09 PM
Got a mate whose Jaguar was stolen in a similar way. He tried to jump on the bonnet to stop them.

Company car, the police contacted him to say they'd traced it but weren't arresting anyone for the crime or recovering the car just yet as they wanted to bust the gang for a bigger crime.

They did, the villains had kidnapped someone to get into a building and had guns in the boot of the car when they swooped to make the arrest.

Lucky escape I say.

No way I’d be junking on the bonnet for a company car!

Doubt I’d do it even for my own car, it’s insured.

18-09-2021, 03:10 PM
No way I’d be junking on the bonnet for a company car!

Doubt I’d do it even for my own car, it’s insured.

JSame here

18-09-2021, 03:12 PM

I started putting my car keys in a cupboard under the stairs. Think I’ll switch back to it.

Right enough, in Gone in 60 seconds I’m sure they were after a Renault Captur.

18-09-2021, 03:45 PM
I started putting my car keys in a cupboard under the stairs. Think I’ll switch back to it.

Right enough, in Gone in 60 seconds I’m sure they were after a Renault Captur.

AW NAW!!!! That's it, I'm changing my wee car!

19-09-2021, 12:48 AM
I keep my keys under my pillow with my sawn off.

19-09-2021, 09:30 PM
When I first moved to Ayr we stayed in a rented ground floor property on Bellevue Crescent in Ayr - lovely street, conservation area so wooden sash and case windows. Our bedroom was to the front of the house.

It was the winter and I remember hearing the blind moving and thinking my then girlfriend had left the window open and thinking ffs. I slept closest to the window. Next thing I know my bird is literally climbing over me to run to the window. Very quickly all hell breaks lose and she’s trying to push the window down on a guy though it past his shoulders. Straight over, kneed the guy in the head rapid about 5 times whilst he was obviously trying to get out, bird acting all psycho hitting him as well, laddie arrived in the room to switch the lights on armed with a hockey stick his gran got him one Christmas (no idea why a hockey stick).

Once the guy was away, the biggest flat screw driver was on the bedroom floor and blood sprinkled everywhere, not huge amounts but enough. Burst nose I’d imagine from a well placed knee to the hooter.

It was a bit crazy because I was trying to get him out and the bird was trying to pull him in. She still can’t explain why.

20-09-2021, 12:58 PM
My girlfriend’s parents were burgled a couple of years ago purely for their car keys. The car was used in a serious crime. They never heard the burglars but the police advised that if it happened again not to interact with them as they’d probably end up injured or worse. They said a common thing they do is boil the kettle so that they can use it to threaten the householder with getting burnt.

As an aside, my girlfriend’s dad got his car back - except it had never been taken off some sort of register of stolen cars. He then went to trade it in months later and the dealership got the police involved as it was being flagged as a stolen car!

21-09-2021, 08:33 AM
The Police and advisory groups like The AA disagree,,, Don't be tempted to take keys upstairs with you. Many thieves won't think twice if you stand between them and the keys to the car they want.
When it comes to protecting your car, it shouldn't be too difficult, keep the keys out of sight (preferably in a drawer so they can't be fished). If your car has keyless entry/start then an RF blocking pouch should be considered.
The Police advise if you can, to park your car on your own driveway or in a well lit area but after a recent break in, my sister-in-law is now parking her VW Golf GTI at the end of her street so the would-be thieves don't know which house to target.
I certainly agree with your last point though. It doesn't take much to make your property look an unattractive option compared to your (unfortunately) neighbours.

I like your sister in laws idea.
Re the Police and the AA, they are always going to tell you to do the thing which keeps you safest.
Don't want you trying to sue them if it goes wrong.
If the crims are nicking expensive cars to order they might be heavy duty but the usual Herbert's that break into houses will avoid you at all costs.

21-09-2021, 08:37 AM
My girlfriend’s parents were burgled a couple of years ago purely for their car keys. The car was used in a serious crime. They never heard the burglars but the police advised that if it happened again not to interact with them as they’d probably end up injured or worse. They said a common thing they do is boil the kettle so that they can use it to threaten the householder with getting burnt.

As an aside, my girlfriend’s dad got his car back - except it had never been taken off some sort of register of stolen cars. He then went to trade it in months later and the dealership got the police involved as it was being flagged as a stolen car!

The kettle thing makes no sense because it would make lots of noise when boiling it.
Much more likely is a sharp knife from your kitchen to get you to back off if you disturb them.

21-09-2021, 08:43 AM
When I first moved to Ayr we stayed in a rented ground floor property on Bellevue Crescent in Ayr - lovely street, conservation area so wooden sash and case windows. Our bedroom was to the front of the house.

It was the winter and I remember hearing the blind moving and thinking my then girlfriend had left the window open and thinking ffs. I slept closest to the window. Next thing I know my bird is literally climbing over me to run to the window. Very quickly all hell breaks lose and she’s trying to push the window down on a guy though it past his shoulders. Straight over, kneed the guy in the head rapid about 5 times whilst he was obviously trying to get out, bird acting all psycho hitting him as well, laddie arrived in the room to switch the lights on armed with a hockey stick his gran got him one Christmas (no idea why a hockey stick).

Once the guy was away, the biggest flat screw driver was on the bedroom floor and blood sprinkled everywhere, not huge amounts but enough. Burst nose I’d imagine from a well placed knee to the hooter.

It was a bit crazy because I was trying to get him out and the bird was trying to pull him in. She still can’t explain why.

Loads of blood.
The guy would have been as well waiting for the cops to arrive or leaving his name and address.

21-09-2021, 08:52 AM
Loads of blood.
The guy would have been as well waiting for the cops to arrive or leaving his name and address.

Only if they could be bothered investigating it. Crime report number and Victim Support seems to be about as much as they can manage nowadays.

21-09-2021, 09:05 AM
The kettle thing makes no sense because it would make lots of noise when boiling it.
Much more likely is a sharp knife from your kitchen to get you to back off if you disturb them.

I thought so too but if you google it, it does seem to be a thing, at least for one pair of burglars who actually poured the hot water over victims a few years ago

21-09-2021, 09:07 AM
Only if they could be bothered investigating it. Crime report number and Victim Support seems to be about as much as they can manage nowadays.

Not for that situation though.
Blood in those circumstances means an easy capture.
Also tells them who has been doing most of the break ins with the same method given the culprit left his screwdriver behind.
Compare screwdriver profile with marks left on windows etc at other break in locations and they have a nice clear up on their hands.

LunasBoots
21-09-2021, 04:50 PM
Crime in general seems to be soaring, just have to look out my window to see gangs (a lot with English accents 'blud' etc') drugs, kids running amok, constant fighting and knifes certainly look to have made a comeback, most certainly goes unreported but it is pretty bad.

21-09-2021, 06:09 PM
Loads of blood.

Do you know, I can’t recall them swabbing it. Might be wrong.

21-09-2021, 06:13 PM
I can't be the only one surprised that a thread titled 'Organised Crime' is about housebreaking?

21-09-2021, 06:19 PM
I can't be the only one surprised that a thread titled 'Organised Crime' is about housebreaking?

The guys stealing high end cars will be involved in serious organised crime.

The dude jumping in the window in the middle of night to steal an iPhone ect - not so much.

derekduval
22-09-2021, 07:44 PM
I thought so too but if you google it, it does seem to be a thing, at least for one pair of burglars who actually poured the hot water over victims a few years ago

Harry and Marv?

speedy_gonzales
22-09-2021, 08:21 PM
Harry and Marv?

The Wet Bandits?

22-09-2021, 08:55 PM
Pesky OCGs.

Up to no good, as usual.

22-09-2021, 09:07 PM
My daughters bike got nicked. It had a ‘I heart my bike’ bell on it. What ******* does that.

I’m not sure it’ll be much use in a robbery though.

22-09-2021, 09:52 PM
The guys stealing high end cars will be involved in serious organised crime.

The dude jumping in the window in the middle of night to steal an iPhone ect - not so much.

Probably using the proceeds to purchase from another organised crime though

24-09-2021, 11:50 AM

Or sleep in the car. Cars are so oversized these days you'd be quite comfortable.

24-09-2021, 11:54 AM
Or sleep in the car. Cars are so oversized these days you'd be quite comfortable.

I throughly recommend not sleeping in the car. I did after the cup final in may and it was probably the ****test nights sleep I’ve ever had.

25-09-2021, 07:34 AM
And right on que here is an article regarding car theft from Edinburgh and round about.

https://news.stv.tv/east-central/more-than-100-high-end-cars-stolen-by-thieves-using-signal-boosters?top

25-09-2021, 08:54 AM
And right on que here is an article regarding car theft from Edinburgh and round about.

https://news.stv.tv/east-central/more-than-100-high-end-cars-stolen-by-thieves-using-signal-boosters?top

Seems like a pretty organised gang. There must be some amount of evidence from all these thefts

25-09-2021, 11:07 AM
Pesky OCGs.

Up to no good, as usual.

Get Steve Arnott on the case

25-09-2021, 01:51 PM
I throughly recommend not sleeping in the car. I did after the cup final in may and it was probably the ****test nights sleep I’ve ever had.

I do it regularly when I'm in town meeting mates. Once the back seats are clapped forward I can fit a 2m long mattress in the back. Saves me either €100 on a taxi or hotel room and I've not got the wife waiting for me with a rolling pin when I get home.

25-09-2021, 02:22 PM
I do it regularly when I'm in town meeting mates. Once the back seats are clapped forward I can fit a 2m long mattress in the back. Saves me either €100 on a taxi or hotel room and I've not got the wife waiting for me with a rolling pin when I get home.

Likely to get done for being drunk in charge of a vehicle if found sleeping in your car. I always wondered if lorry drivers are exempt.

25-09-2021, 03:09 PM
Likely to get done for being drunk in charge of a vehicle if found sleeping in your car. I always wondered if lorry drivers are exempt.

I've done it loads of times since I moved across to France as they don't seem to have the same drunk in charge rule here.

The best was a wee Renault twingo we had which was designed so that the front and rear seats fold back more or less flat, making a bed. Saved me a fortune in taxis.

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210925/8a37d0b571b5b58f11ee01c351fc7a00.jpg

25-09-2021, 03:46 PM

I slept in the car a couple of times years ago.
Drunk in charge was obviously a concern.
As long as you can't readily drive the car you won't get done.
On each occasion I had a duvet and hid the ignition key deep in the engine compartment.
No way it could have been found without a heavy duty search.
No key equals no evidence of intent to drive.
If the Police had asked me for the key I would have told them my wife had it.
Obviously I had informed her i would do this if the need arose.

25-09-2021, 03:54 PM

Not in Germany and certainly not when you've set up a bed in the back to sleep. Police have to prove you are intending to drive.

26-09-2021, 10:34 AM
Here's a possible solution to thieves being able to steal cars through some wireless jiggery-pokery.

Have physical locks on the car door that can only be opened by inserting the correct physical key.

I realise the whole concept is a bit 'out there' and futuristic, but you never know, it might just take off.

Stairway 2 7
26-09-2021, 11:05 AM
Wonder if thumb prints or a swipe code like phones might work

26-09-2021, 11:12 AM
Wonder if thumb prints or a swipe code like phones might work
They’ll start cutting people’s fingers off. :greengrin

26-09-2021, 11:18 AM
Here's a possible solution to thieves being able to steal cars through some wireless jiggery-pokery.

Have physical locks on the car door that can only be opened by inserting the correct physical key.

I realise the whole concept is a bit 'out there' and futuristic, but you never know, it might just take off.

You live in glasgow, you must have seen the wire coathanger trick, or even the brick in the passenger window? :wink:

27-09-2021, 02:05 PM

Aye, the correct key is the only way to open that kind of lock. :greengrin

27-09-2021, 05:16 PM
You live in glasgow, you must have seen the wire coathanger trick, or even the brick in the passenger window? :wink:

Yep, and I've used... sorry, i mean I've seen... both of those on modern cars as well

27-09-2021, 06:19 PM
My daughters bike got nicked. It had a ‘I heart my bike’ bell on it. What ******* does that.

I’m not sure it’ll be much use in a robbery though.

A bell-end?

AltheHibby
28-09-2021, 11:38 AM
My BT Commer van could be opened with a 1/2p coin.

It was so unstable it could also be topped on its side by a 1/2p coin.

01-10-2021, 09:44 AM
Got a mate whose Jaguar was stolen in a similar way. He tried to jump on the bonnet to stop them.

Lucky escape I say.

I leave my keys downstairs in a bowl, quite easy to find if you broke into the gaff. Will save any aggro if they really wanted it. Its 4 wheels, some metal and an engine. **** fighting anyone for a car or a bike etc.

01-10-2021, 09:50 AM
I don't think anyone can really say how they'd react if they were woke by robbers in the middle of the night, especially if like me you have a young kid in the house.

01-10-2021, 11:01 AM
I don't think anyone can really say how they'd react if they were woke by robbers in the middle of the night, especially if like me you have a young kid in the house.

Fight or flight response.

01-10-2021, 11:23 AM
Fight or flight response.When the dogs finished with them the fight option might appeal

AltheHibby
01-10-2021, 01:16 PM
When the dogs finished with them the fight option might appeal

You just reminded me of my favourite street sound - some lowlife screaming as PC Pooch takes a chunk out of them.

01-10-2021, 01:44 PM
My BT Commer van could be opened with a 1/2p coin.

It was so unstable it could also be topped on its side by a 1/2p coin.

Aye, but who has a ha'penny these days?!? :greengrin

01-10-2021, 01:49 PM
You just reminded me of my favourite street sound - some lowlife screaming as PC Pooch takes a chunk out of them.Reminds me of an unsuccessful injury claim where the crook got his hand mauled and lost a finger whilst reaching inside a letter box, the Doberman inside never understood, it was only doing it's job.