View Full Version : Price of a pre match pint

Still Smiling
03-09-2021, 03:54 PM
Anyone else think the price of a pint in Edinburgh is over the top? Luck if you can get a pint of lager for under a fiver pre match!

03-09-2021, 03:56 PM
There's plenty places in the vicinity of ER that are cheaper than that.

03-09-2021, 03:58 PM
Anyone else think the price of a pint in Edinburgh is over the top? Luck if you can get a pint of lager for under a fiver pre match!

£6.60 for a pint of Neck Oil in the Mash Tun

hibbydog
03-09-2021, 04:40 PM

That’s effing outrageous.

I’m can barely stand going to my local bowling club/ British legion where it’s like £3.00 a pint. That’s in comparison to ~ £1 a pint to drink in your own house.

Och.

03-09-2021, 04:42 PM
Most places in Edinburgh are around £5 a pint.

A good few places are even more than that.

03-09-2021, 04:45 PM
Once I hit 50 I decided it was pretty much old man pubs for me.

03-09-2021, 04:47 PM
I think we should start a £3 is plenty campaign. I wish it would go back to when I was paying 30p

03-09-2021, 04:55 PM
I think we should start a £3 is plenty campaign. I wish it would go back to when I was paying 30p

Mind being in London many years ago and me and my mate were buying pints at £3 a pop and we said if it ever got that expensive back home we'd stop drinking 🤣

03-09-2021, 04:58 PM
Mind being in London many years ago and me and my mate were buying pints at £3 a pop and we said if it ever got that expensive back home we'd stop drinking 🤣

I remember my old man saying similar when they first started charging £1 a pint. 😁

03-09-2021, 05:22 PM
The hibs club isn’t too bad priced if you’ve got a membership card

03-09-2021, 05:26 PM

Hit that at thirty. I dinnae want pounding chart music, cocktail pitchers, air hockey tables or the like, give me a decent pint and somewhere to chat ***** with friends.

03-09-2021, 05:39 PM
Iona was £3.60 pre covid, not been in for a while though.

Tbh I don't worry about the price of a pint now. I'm not out every weekend any more so when I'm out it's about the whole 'experience' rather than just the drink. Be that in an old man's boozer or somewhere in town. If I was just bothered about the beer then the obvious choice for me would be just to stay in the house and drink there.

Block
03-09-2021, 05:51 PM

I don't think it is too expensive. You're paying for the privilege of being out and about in a hostelry, possibly meeting other like minded folk, in an environment that is expensive to furnish, light, taxes and vat, alcohol expenses etc etc etc. Its not just about the alcohol, if it was you'd stay in the house alone and pay that wee bit cheaper for it.

03-09-2021, 05:59 PM
Iona was £3.60 pre covid, not been in for a while though.

Tbh I don't worry about the price of a pint now. I'm not out every weekend any more so when I'm out it's about the whole 'experience' rather than just the drink. Be that in an old man's boozer or somewhere in town. If I was just bothered about the beer then the obvious choice for me would be just to stay in the house and drink there.
I’m exactly the same, I couldn’t even tell you the price of a pint in most pubs these days. If I was out all the time I’d probably think differently.

03-09-2021, 06:17 PM

Worth every penny for Neck Oil on tap.

03-09-2021, 06:26 PM

Never heard of that one - is it heavy, lager, stout?

03-09-2021, 06:33 PM
Never heard of that one - is it heavy, lager, stout?

Session IPA. around 4% ABV.

03-09-2021, 06:56 PM

I was at Spurs last Sunday and it was only £4.50. That was lovely. Brewed only a few feet from the tap.

Still Smiling
03-09-2021, 07:13 PM
I don't think it is too expensive. You're paying for the privilege of being out and about in a hostelry, possibly meeting other like minded folk, in an environment that is expensive to furnish, light, taxes and vat, alcohol expenses etc etc etc. Its not just about the alcohol, if it was you'd stay in the house alone and pay that wee bit cheaper for it.

My point is pubs are cashing in post Covid…

03-09-2021, 07:28 PM
I’m exactly the same, I couldn’t even tell you the price of a pint in most pubs these days. If I was out all the time I’d probably think differently.

Thats where I'm at too, probably only go out to a pub once a week if that, so Im barely aware of the price the bar person says when I order my pint. Always remember my Dad, bless his soul, saying he'd give up going to the pub if a pint ever cost more than a quid, he didnt of course. The price variation is a lot greater these days, on the Fylde Coast youve got Wetherspoons charging around the £3 mark and plenty of pubs espceaily in more affluent Lytham charging in excess of a fiver. I'd say the average price of a pint of lager in an average pub is about £4 to £4.50 here.

Orchard_Hibs
03-09-2021, 07:40 PM

No more so than hairdressers who have added a £5 for .50p worth of ppe.

If you want to take expensive drinks Pitlochry is the place to go 2x pint. I glass of wine and 2x apple juice £28.50

03-09-2021, 07:47 PM
Thats where I'm at too, probably only go out to a pub once a week if that, so Im barely aware of the price the bar person says when I order my pint. Always remember my Dad, bless his soul, saying he'd give up going to the pub if a pint ever cost more than a quid, he didnt of course. The price variation is a lot greater these days, on the Fylde Coast youve got Wetherspoons charging around the £3 mark and plenty of pubs espceaily in more affluent Lytham charging in excess of a fiver. I'd say the average price of a pint of lager in an average pub is about £4 to £4.50 here.
I’d imagine it’s about the same in Leith for a pint. I’m going out for a few tomorrow in Leith, I will report back on average prices if I can remember :greengrin

03-09-2021, 09:02 PM
No more so than hairdressers who have added a £5 for .50p worth of ppe.

If you want to take expensive drinks Pitlochry is the place to go 2x pint. I glass of wine and 2x apple juice £28.50

Aye but then you have the superior ambiance of pitlochry. Just saying. 😉

The Old Mill by any chance.

Block
03-09-2021, 09:06 PM

Fair point, but they will also be trying to recoup extreme substantial losses during Covid. It'll ease as competition kicks in due course. Level out.

A fiver a pint's not bad if you're pacing yourself out and not going out to get blotto in any case.

If you want to get blotto better off staying in the house alone with a carry out.

Orchard_Hibs
03-09-2021, 09:08 PM
Aye but then you have the superior ambiance of pitlochry. Just saying. 😉

The Old Mill by any chance.

Port n Craig, I’ve been out of the old mill a while ago. We are now down to the prince of India as the only decently price place in town when visiting the in laws.

03-09-2021, 09:12 PM
Port n Craig, I’ve been out of the old mill a while ago. We are now down to the prince of India as the only decently price place in town when visiting the in laws.

Port na Craig is really a restaurant that has a bar so definitely more expensive. I've not been out for a pint in town for ages. Probably next week when I have my sister in law visiting. Moulin Inn and McKays more than likely.

Orchard_Hibs
03-09-2021, 09:19 PM
Port na Craig is really a restaurant that has a bar so definitely more expensive. I've not been out for a pint in town for ages. Probably next week when I have my sister in law visiting. Moulin Inn and McKays more than likely.

The moulin is no bad for a pint after a walk up the Ben, only problem is my wife worked there when she was 16 and she always says everything is still exactly as it was 20 years ago, the menu defiantly is haha. That part of the country is beautiful just the pubs and restaurants that spoil it and the fact the in laws are all saints Fans.

Hibeewilly
03-09-2021, 09:22 PM
I’d imagine it’s about the same in Leith for a pint. I’m going out for a few tomorrow in Leith, I will report back on average prices if I can remember :greengrin
Foot of the Walk (Wetherspoons) in Duke Street Tennents lager £2.69 Guinness £3.10 John Smiths £1.99 Deuchars IPA £1.69 Magners Cider £2.45
I haven't seen anywhere cheaper in Edinburgh than that.....unbelievable prices

03-09-2021, 09:23 PM
The moulin is no bad for a pint after a walk up the Ben, only problem is my wife worked there when she was 16 and she always says everything is still exactly as it was 20 years ago, the menu defiantly is haha. That part of the country is beautiful just the pubs and restaurants that spoil it and the fact the in laws are all saints Fans.

Aye, the menu hasn't changed, but it is the closest to me so I'm likely to walk down next week. Probably a year since I was last in it.

03-09-2021, 09:25 PM
Foot of the Walk (Wetherspoons) in Duke Street Tennents lager £2.69 Guinness £3.10 John Smiths £1.99 Deuchars IPA £1.69 Magners Cider £2.45

I still won't drink in a 'Spoons if you paid me.

03-09-2021, 09:51 PM
Yeah I know, but they don’t show the football in there so I’ll have to head somewhere else.

Block
03-09-2021, 09:58 PM

Based upon your previous posts doesn't sound as if any pub or hostelry would miss you anyhow? Spoons or not?

I like Wetherspoons pubs and hotels as they cater for the low paid and anyone else clientele.

03-09-2021, 10:01 PM

I’m not even 30 and I’ve decided that.

Mon the Hoppy n Arti

Stairway 2 7
03-09-2021, 10:11 PM
Based upon your previous posts doesn't sound as if any pub or hostelry would miss you anyhow? Spoons or not?

I like Wetherspoons pubs and hotels as they cater for the low paid and anyone else clientele.

And fund brexit and the Conservative party

03-09-2021, 10:15 PM
Yeah I know, but they don’t show the football in there so I’ll have to head somewhere else.

Which is just one factor in them being able to punt their beer so cheaply. Sky costs an absolute fort pubs.

Block
03-09-2021, 10:17 PM

Do they really? Who would know apart from yourself.

I like them because they sell reasonably priced beer and meals.

Do you know anywhere similar that funds other political parties?

Is there somewhere that funds the Snp, Left, Communist, Marxist, Labour or Liberals?

Stairway 2 7
03-09-2021, 10:28 PM
Do they really? Who would know apart from yourself.

I like them because they sell reasonably priced beer and meals.

Do you know anywhere similar that funds other political parties?

Is there somewhere that funds the Snp, Left, Communist, Marxist, Labour or Liberals?

Not sure but 2 minutes on Google will tell you all you need to know about spoons owner tory **** Tim Martin.

Also treated his staff like crap before lockdown. Pays millions towards vote leave, then moans about lack of eu staff

03-09-2021, 10:51 PM

Spoons gets a lot of stick and rightly so but they revolutionised the beer industry in this country.

Before they showed up, pretty much every pub was owned by Tennents or S&N and the only beer available was their slop at whatever price they wanted to sell it to you for.

Spoons came in and introduced everyone to the brilliance of other brewers, creating a demand which the brewery owned pubs had to adapt to.

On top of that, they plonked themselves in the middle of George Street at time where every pub around themseemed to be putting their prices up every week. Them setting up next door, selling better beer for half the price cut the legs off these robbing bassa’s. I shudder to think what the cost of a pint would be now if it wasn’t for them. I love Spoons.

Block
03-09-2021, 10:54 PM
Not sure but 2 minutes on Google will tell you all you need to know about spoons owner tory **** Tim Martin.

Also treated his staff like crap before lockdown. Pays millions towards vote leave, then moans about lack of eu staff

I still like Wotherspoons because it caters for low paid folk and anyone else.

Where else caters for low paid folk, their families and anyone else on that same low cost basis?

Or should eating and drinking out be for the elite and their families alone?

Rhetorical question.

03-09-2021, 11:03 PM

And treated their staff like **** at the first lockdown

03-09-2021, 11:07 PM
I still like Wotherspoons because it caters for low paid folk and anyone else.

Where else caters for low paid folk, their families and anyone else on that same low cost basis?

Or should eating and drinking out be for the elite and their families alone?

Rhetorical question.

There are plenty pubs out there that cater for the low paid . It’s all about choices, you are comfortable giving them the money. I will stick with my principles that I will never go there again after the way he treated e his low paid workers.

Block
03-09-2021, 11:08 PM

I'd love to be shown proof thereof. I'd never drink in a wetherspoons again. Do you have such proof?

I like wetherspoons and want to have real proof of such scurrilous accusations before attending again.

Stairway 2 7
03-09-2021, 11:09 PM

https://amp.theguardian.com/business/2020/mar/24/wetherspoons-denies-abandoning-staff-in-coronavirus-crisis?__twitter_impression=true

Was going to not pay his 40,000 staff when pandemic hit because it would hurt the business. This is a man with a half a billion wealth

Block
03-09-2021, 11:13 PM
https://amp.theguardian.com/business/2020/mar/24/wetherspoons-denies-abandoning-staff-in-coronavirus-crisis?__twitter_impression=true

Was going to not pay his 40,000 staff when pandemic hit because it would hurt the business. This is a man with a half a billion wealth

Take it you'd have ordered his staff to dress in Purple London dress aye?

Take a break Londinium Purple.

03-09-2021, 11:16 PM
Thread veered slightly off course. The politics and ethics of a particular pub chain.

03-09-2021, 11:16 PM
Spoons came in and introduced everyone to the brilliance of other brewers, creating a demand which the brewery owned pubs had to adapt to.

True but that was not the business model. That was buy whatever was going out of date and buy it cheap and sell it comparitively cheap. The draw was selling anything cheap in an overpriced market. Cheaper the beer, and it was primarily beer that was cheap, not spirits and mixers. Superb idea. He is not struggling due to lack of beer or lorries but his core audience are now paying more when they can get it. Beware of what you wish for...

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

Block
03-09-2021, 11:21 PM
There are plenty pubs out there that cater for the low paid . It’s all about choices, you are comfortable giving them the money. I will stick with my principles that I will never go there again after the way he treated e his low paid workers.

What pubs do you know cater for the low paid as you claimed?

04-09-2021, 01:39 AM

Been a while since I was out, let me ken what Dougie is charging a pint now days 😂.

On topic of this thread, I was down London a few weeks ago expecting to pay a fortune for a beer and tbh most places I had one were more or less what I expected to pay in town. A couple creeped up to the 6/6.50 mark but generally where I went was 5/5.50ish around covent garden.

I did watch the Hibs Motherwell game in a Canadian boozer which was on the more pricey side, but the Canadian lagers that had on tap were pretty good

04-09-2021, 04:36 AM

Also causing a lot of small, local family run pubs down. They also treat their staff like crap

04-09-2021, 04:37 AM
What pubs do you know cater for the low paid as you claimed?

Shandwick. £1.75 a pint

04-09-2021, 05:30 AM
I'm in Newcastle this weekend and expecting some crazy prices for beer.

Let's hope the rugby league is decent too.

You can't put a price on a good time.

04-09-2021, 06:23 AM
Southsider £3.45 for Tennents fair hike to the Leith San Siro though maybes post match

Got tbh I always go for a prematch pint ( Windsor) usually dear but I had a weird feeling last Saturday
Boozers were all rammed rising Covid figures I thought Na I will give it a miss this week

Saint Hibee
04-09-2021, 06:29 AM
Try The Dreadnought on North Fort Street. An amazing selection of local beers nearly always under £5 for a pint. And they have Tennents for those yet to kick the habit.

04-09-2021, 06:33 AM
Been a while since I was out, let me ken what Dougie is charging a pint now days 😂.

On topic of this thread, I was down London a few weeks ago expecting to pay a fortune for a beer and tbh most places I had one were more or less what I expected to pay in town. A couple creeped up to the 6/6.50 mark but generally where I went was 5/5.50ish around covent garden.

I did watch the Hibs Motherwell game in a Canadian boozer which was on the more pricey side, but the Canadian lagers that had on tap were pretty good

I was in London the other week and felt the same. Hardly any different to Edinburgh now with most points being between £5 and £5.50. Got the odd pint that was closer to £6 but then you get that here.

Actually found in some places wine seemed even cheaper than here.

04-09-2021, 06:50 AM
I live in Leith and couldn't tell you the last time I paid anything over £4 for a pint

Stanton Spence
04-09-2021, 06:55 AM
I was down Cambridge at the weekend and got charged £17.65 for a glass of house white and a pint of morretti, I went to Newmarket races on the Sat for my birthday and it was £8 a jar £40 for a bottle of not so cheap plonk

Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk

Deek9
04-09-2021, 07:16 AM
The Artisan at Abbeyhill has a couple of decent ales at £3.60 a pint.

04-09-2021, 07:28 AM

Any need??

04-09-2021, 07:29 AM
Spoons gets a lot of stick and rightly so but they revolutionised the beer industry in this country.

Before they showed up, pretty much every pub was owned by Tennents or S&N and the only beer available was their slop at whatever price they wanted to sell it to you for.

On top of that, they plonked themselves in the middle of George Street at time where every pub around themseemed to be putting their prices up every week. Them setting up next door, selling better beer for half the price cut the legs off these robbing bassa’s. I shudder to think what the cost of a pint would be now if it wasn’t for them. I love Spoons.

They are soulless hollow shells with awful staff and bad service and pretty *****y beer.

Maybe am getting old but much prefer to support locally owned pubs and bars instead of funding that **** and his nasty pub empire.

Stairway 2 7
04-09-2021, 07:31 AM
Any need??

I wouldn't worry not much of his chat was coherent, you probably have a purple item of clothing in your house or something

04-09-2021, 07:34 AM
I think we're all noticing the sharp increase in pub prices because we've not been out for almost 18 months. One of my local managers told me the breweries that supply his pub put their prices up twice during lockdown. I suspect we would have barely noticed if we'd been in normal times. Well apart from old codgers, like me, going on about spending 16p a pint when I were young!

The owner of wetherspoons is undoubtedly a horrible human being and I will never drink in his pubs.

04-09-2021, 07:35 AM
Shandwick. £1.75 a pint

Just a shame its an absolute hovel and some of the clientele can be, how shall we say - roasterish. :greengrin

Orchard_Hibs
04-09-2021, 07:45 AM
At least if your drinking a pint you won’t feel like your getting ripped off on alcohol content, imagine being a spirit drinker having drank home measures for a year and a bit then going back to 25ml’s.

04-09-2021, 07:55 AM
True but that was not the business model. That was buy whatever was going out of date and buy it cheap and sell it comparitively cheap. The draw was selling anything cheap in an overpriced market. Cheaper the beer, and it was primarily beer that was cheap, not spirits and mixers. Superb idea. He is not struggling due to lack of beer or lorries but his core audience are now paying more when they can get it. Beware of what you wish for...

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

That buy it when it’s going out of date is an urban myth. I was judging an awards category (not beer) which Wetherspoon’s was competing in and mentioned that to a lady who was working for them. She pretty much went off on one about how ridiculous a claim that was.

Particularly with the traditional high presevative lagers like Tennents which has so much gloop pumped into to keep it alive for as long as possible, that it almost lasts forever.

I can’t comment on spirit prices but my Mrs is a wine drinker and her wine that she drinks is far cheaper there than anywhere else.

04-09-2021, 08:02 AM
My 2 locals are £3.70 and £3.40 for a pint of tennents. They are not dives either.

Not sure where people are drinking to not be able to get a pint for less than a fiver.

04-09-2021, 08:10 AM
Unfortunately the cost of living in general is more expensive, as is the cost of running a business, and pubs (and by association pints) are not exempt.

Wetherspoons, love them or hate them, drive prices down by a mixture of using their buying power to squeeze prices on suppliers, same as the big supermarkets do, and buy agreeing deals to take older stock as they know they'll shift it, hence the lower price point.

We're at the age where we've seen prices much cheaper hence why it feels so expensive but petrol is massively expensive, lord knows what a price a packet of cigarettes is now. Pretty much everything you class as luxury items. Let's not get started on house price rises vs wage rises over the years.

The problem is wages haven't increased in line with the cost of living, therefore everything feels way too expensive.

Orchard_Hibs
04-09-2021, 08:20 AM
That buy it when it’s going out of date is an urban myth. I was judging an awards category (not beer) which Wetherspoon’s was competing in and mentioned that to a lady who was working for them. She pretty much went off on one about how ridiculous a claim that was.

Particularly with the traditional high presevative lagers like Tennents which has so much gloop pumped into to keep it alive for as long as possible, that it almost lasts forever.

I can’t comment on spirit prices but my Mrs is a wine drinker and her wine that she drinks is far cheaper there than anywhere else.

I beg to differ on the out of date thing, I worked for spoons through my uni days and they buy real ale that is going out of date, most kegs arrive with 3 days to go, 1 to lie, 1 to tap and 1 to sell. I will even admit to pouring a bottle of tonic water into a keg on occasion to clear the beer so it could keep being sold (we’ve all done things we are not proud off), not saying this was a company policy but my boss at the time told me to do and that it was fine.

04-09-2021, 08:49 AM
My 2 locals are £3.70 and £3.40 for a pint of tennents. They are not dives either.

Not sure where people are drinking to not be able to get a pint for less than a fiver.
I certainly would not pay any more than that for Tennents.

04-09-2021, 08:53 AM

What are your locals?

The cheapest anywhere near me are the tic and the baillie and I want to say they’re £4.40 for a tennents.

04-09-2021, 08:53 AM
I certainly would not pay any more than that for Tennents.

I’d pay a tenner for a pint of Tennents. Nectar.

04-09-2021, 08:58 AM

They don't but out of date, but it is nearing it's date rather than being freshly brewed. It's still in date and will taste perfectly fine (a connoisseur will argue there's a difference in taste but most of us wouldn't notice) but it just risks going out of date soon if not used quickly, that's not something wetherspoons need to be concerned about compared to a small local as they sell in such volume.

04-09-2021, 09:11 AM

They create more low paid than they cater for.

hibby rae
04-09-2021, 09:24 AM

Also refused to pay their suppliers during the pandemic. Still remember his 'get a job in Tesco' comment to staff. Sc*m of the earth. Think it's an odd argument to paint Wetherspoons as somehow supporting the low paid when there is plenty evidence to counter that.

Loads of other places also offer food and drink at reasonable prices in the city. The Ranch does a half-price menu on Wednesdays, and you could get 3 Pilot for a tenner (cans but Pilot is imo the best beer around), The Chanter has all their craft beers half-price Tues-Thurs, Teviot is cheap for food, and drink doesn't cost that much. Cloisters prices range from £3.50 for a pint of Pentland upwards. That's just off the top of my head.

04-09-2021, 09:33 AM
If Wetherspoons are now so omni-present and such a huge success it's because they give their clients what they're looking for, ie. food & drink in reasonable surroundings at a reasonable price. It's like McDonalds - for every person that won't go near the place for whatever reason, there are hundreds or maybe thousands that will.

Local pubs already took an enormous hit when smoking was banned and, although probably unrelated, this corresponded with huge growth on Wetherspoons part which probably had a similar effect as supermarkets on independent grocers, butchers, bakers, etc.

Now, because of their size and the volume of stuff they buy, they're in a position to negotiate very good prices - again much like the supermarkets.

For all that it matters I detest Tim Martin, but if he's successful it's because he's very good at giving the average paying customer what he/she wants.

04-09-2021, 09:59 AM

Having had a pint of Tennants at a remote bar in Shetland I can say first hand it doesn't last forever.

Mikey_1875
04-09-2021, 10:17 AM
If Wetherspoons are now so omni-present and such a huge success it's because they give their clients what they're looking for, ie. food & drink in reasonable surroundings at a reasonable price. It's like McDonalds - for every person that won't go near the place for whatever reason, there are hundreds or maybe thousands that will.

Local pubs already took an enormous hit when smoking was banned and, although probably unrelated, this corresponded with huge growth on Wetherspoons part which probably had a similar effect as supermarkets on independent grocers, butchers, bakers, etc.

Now, because of their size and the volume of stuff they buy, they're in a position to negotiate very good prices - again much like the supermarkets.

For all that it matters I detest Tim Martin, but if he's successful it's because he's very good at giving the average paying customer what he/she wants.

:agree: Like most things you will get what you pay for and the doors wouldn’t stay open for long if the pubs weren’t turning a profit.

Having worked for spoons in the past and meeting the owner on a couple of occasions I wouldn’t dare defend it against people who don’t set foot in the place due to his politics or not liking the atmosphere in the pubs etc. However some of the stories regarding its beer or food i’ve heard over the years from people are laughable. Certainly the out of date beer theories don’t match up to my experience of being in the cellars there and the internal audit process from managers and area managers were very thorough.

It’s certainly not the greatest place to work or the best paid but I would wager its no different from most other bar jobs out there and most of the management positions are recruited internally which is pretty decent imo. I’ve seen big brand 5 star hotels and various other high end George st establishments pay their employees near enough minimum wage as well so it’s not as if they are operating without the norm in the industry but that’s probably another debate.

04-09-2021, 11:02 AM

Regardless , the kegs have a date on them and Spoons policy was to buy short dated kegs in bulk at a lower price.

04-09-2021, 11:04 AM

I had to pay £5.90 for a pint of Camden Hells last night...went for the Hells' as the Peroni was over £6 a pint!!.

04-09-2021, 11:24 AM
Having had a pint of Tennants at a remote bar in Shetland I can say first hand it doesn't last forever.

It definitely doesn’t. And it’s a complete myth that it’s pumped full of goop.

Hillsidehibby
04-09-2021, 11:32 AM
Don't mind the beer in a Wetherspoons but the food is awful

04-09-2021, 11:33 AM
Regardless , the kegs have a date on them and Spoons policy was to buy short dated kegs in bulk at a lower price.I was also told this by people in the trade. It's possibly how they managed to undercut everyone when they were relatively small, whereas these days they have too many pubs for that to work but will instead negotiate good prices due to volume.

Rumble de Thump
04-09-2021, 12:25 PM
Also refused to pay their suppliers during the pandemic. Still remember his 'get a job in Tesco' comment to staff. Sc*m of the earth. Think it's an odd argument to paint Wetherspoons as somehow supporting the low paid when there is plenty evidence to counter that.

Loads of other places also offer food and drink at reasonable prices in the city. The Ranch does a half-price menu on Wednesdays, and you could get 3 Pilot for a tenner (cans but Pilot is imo the best beer around), The Chanter has all their craft beers half-price Tues-Thurs, Teviot is cheap for food, and drink doesn't cost that much. Cloisters prices range from £3.50 for a pint of Pentland upwards. That's just off the top of my head.

The get a job in a supermarket comment was about encouraging employees to top up their earnings, which they were allowed to do. It's a comment that was twisted by the media and people somehow think it was some sort of cruel, nasty comment.

04-09-2021, 12:26 PM

I was in the White Lady (the Spoons in Corstorphine) last week. They had an in-house magazine on the tables where the main article was about how the press was lying about the treating the staff like crap stuff. It obviously touched a nerve or two of Martin for them to come out with the propaganda.

04-09-2021, 12:46 PM
The get a job in a supermarket comment was about encouraging employees to top up their earnings, which they were allowed to do. It's a comment that was twisted by the media and people somehow think it was some sort of cruel, nasty comment.

https://www.insider.co.uk/news/wetherspoons-boss-staff-tesco-coronavirus-21743827.amp

https://www.thisismoney.co.uk/money/markets/article-8153263/amp/Wetherspoons-boss-U-turns-telling-staff-job-Tesco.html

Stairway 2 7
04-09-2021, 12:48 PM
Wasn't about topping up. He stopped there wages and unlike other companies wouldn't pay a penny until the government did. Many other companies realised there staff needed to eat.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/business-consumer/wetherspoons-boss-tim-martin-pay-21747229.amp

Rumble de Thump
04-09-2021, 12:51 PM
Wasn't about topping up. He stopped there wages and unlike other companies wouldn't pay a penny until the government did. Many other companies realised there staff needed to eat.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/business-consumer/wetherspoons-boss-tim-martin-pay-21747229.amp

The suggestion was that staff could get a job elsewhere while the pubs were closed.

04-09-2021, 12:55 PM
The suggestion was that staff could get a job elsewhere while the pubs were closed.

And he didn't foresee the problem of trying to recruit replacement staff? Did he really think that people would work for tesco and come running back to work for him after the shafting he gave them??

Remember, the staff at wetherspoons received the 80% furlough money that was paid by the government, wetherspoons did not pay a penny to staff while they were on furlough. Lots of other companies topped up the remaining 20% even though they were not making any money at the time.

04-09-2021, 02:05 PM

That's my understanding too.

04-09-2021, 09:25 PM
I've been in the Playfair (Wetherspoons at Omni Centre) pre match for the last 2 games at ER. £3.95 a pint for both Innis and Gunn and Brewdog Punk IPA. Sat at a table outside. Last Saturday was a lovely warm day, sitting outside and watching folk walk by, was a great day, wouldnt have mattered whether I was in a Wetherspoons or not.

Enjoyed a few pints after game in local pubs, the Mash and Tunn and Strathmore. People that go to Wetherspoons can also go to normal pubs also. 😉

ac1
05-09-2021, 10:35 AM
Was in Arran this week and got charged £13.10 for a pint of standard lager and a 'small bottle of Prosecco (glass)

05-09-2021, 12:32 PM
Just a shame its an absolute hovel and some of the clientele can be, how shall we say - roasterish. :greengrin

But for £1.75 a pint, what can you expect? I'd never heard of a pub price that low in this day and age.

05-09-2021, 12:53 PM
You can get a pint of magners in Wetherspoons for £1.99. 5 pints for less than a tenner is phenomenal value.

05-09-2021, 01:02 PM
You can get a pint of magners in Wetherspoons for £1.99. 5 pints for less than a tenner is phenomenal value.

That's incredibly cheap for a brand.

05-09-2021, 01:24 PM
But for £1.75 a pint, what can you expect? I'd never heard of a pub price that low in this day and age.

£1.95 now, absolute disgrace! 😀