View Full Version : Denmark v Scotland

01-09-2021, 05:24 PM
Haven’t seen a thread on this so far. Big game for Scotland, with a few key players missing
A point would be a fantastic result. We’re a point ahead of Israel and Austria, but expect both of these teams to win tonight

01-09-2021, 05:29 PM
Scotland

Gordon Hanley Cooper McKenna Robertson Gilmour McLean McGregor Tierney Adams and Fraser

Bench

Christie Dykes Ferguson Gallagher Hendry Turnbull Clark (g) Kelly (g)

1875Sean
01-09-2021, 05:36 PM
Scotland

Gordon Hanley Cooper McKenna Robertson Gilmour McLean McGregor Tierney Adams and Fraser

Can’t figure that team out, originally I thought Fraser would be right wingback but by the looks of the amount of defenders it would be someone like tierney who with a back 3 of McKenna, copper and Hanley

01-09-2021, 05:37 PM
I thought it was a friendly. Didn't realise it was competitive.

01-09-2021, 05:37 PM
Can’t figure that team out, originally I thought Fraser would be right wingback but by the looks of the amount of defenders it would be someone like tier who with a back 3 of McKenna, copper and Hanley

Tierney rwb

01-09-2021, 05:38 PM
Not very confident abut this game and can only see a defeat for Scotland, sadly.

01-09-2021, 05:42 PM
Tierney right of a 5 with Fraser supporting Adams. Must win otherwise it’ll be another 4 years without World Cup qualification.

01-09-2021, 05:43 PM
Tierney right of a 5 with Fraser supporting Adams. Must win otherwise it’ll be another 4 years without World Cup qualification.

A draw would be ok wouldn’t it?

Not that I think we’ll qualify anyway right enough

01-09-2021, 05:44 PM
Huge game tonight. Poor start to qualification went under the radar because of the Euros.

01-09-2021, 05:44 PM
A draw would be ok wouldn’t it?

Not that I think we’ll qualify anyway right enough

Not really, would still be 4 behind the Danes therefore having to win almost every other game, plus hoping the Danes dropped points elsewhere.

Hibeesforever
01-09-2021, 05:48 PM
Our earlier performances in this group mean anything other than a victory and we are out world Cup!

01-09-2021, 05:50 PM
Our earlier performances in this group mean anything other than a victory and we are out world Cup!

We can go into the play offs as a runner up

01-09-2021, 06:01 PM
I stand corrected. Just saw Robertson at rwb

In the Sun mind you so who knows

01-09-2021, 06:02 PM
Ex hibee Kim Little retires from international football after 140 appearances and 59 goals

01-09-2021, 06:05 PM
Sky Sports saying that Tierney at RWB. Should be able to cut inside if nothing else

01-09-2021, 06:07 PM
Huge game tonight. Poor start to qualification went under the radar because of the Euros.

Correct, and the pressure really is on because we were really poor there.

01-09-2021, 06:07 PM
We can go into the play offs as a runner up

Chances of that if we don’t win tonight is even slim.

01-09-2021, 06:10 PM

I reckon we can lose this one, but the rest we’d need to win, possibly needing to draw / beat the Danes at Hampden.

6 from 9 points from these three required as a bare minimum.

01-09-2021, 06:24 PM
If we win this tonight it’ll be an unexpected bonus and give us a good shout at qualification (obviously:greengrin), anything other than a win and it’s most likely another 4 years without WC qualification. That means this auld yin might just need more luck than Scotland tonight for me to see us qualify once more. :agree::violin:

01-09-2021, 06:35 PM
I quite like this team, and I'm quietly confident.

01-09-2021, 06:41 PM
Ex hibee Kim Little retires from international football after 140 appearances and 59 goals

Only 31!

01-09-2021, 06:42 PM

There are no friendlies now ,they’ve been scrapped . There either a World Cup or a Euro qualifier game

01-09-2021, 06:44 PM
There are no friendlies now ,they’ve been scrapped . There either a World Cup or a Euro qualifier game

Do you just mean for Scotland?

Wales played Finland in a friendly today.

hibbydog
01-09-2021, 06:44 PM
I fear for Scotland tonight. We’ve been bang average so far against sides we ought to be beating.

Denmark are a class side.

I’d love to be wrong but I’m Watching this from behind the couch already.

01-09-2021, 06:46 PM
VAR in situ

01-09-2021, 06:46 PM
smart wee stadium

don't fancy our chances here one bit

mon Sconnie Botland :saltireflag:saltireflag:saltireflag

01-09-2021, 06:47 PM
I fear for Scotland tonight. We’ve been bang average so far against sides we ought to be beating.

Denmark are a class side.

I’d love to be wrong but I’m Watching this from behind the couch already.

I fear the same. I think we’re weak in the middle without McGinn, and have nae confidence in McGregor to dig in.

01-09-2021, 06:47 PM
Tough one tonight. Any kind of positive result will do. Wouldn't bet on it though

01-09-2021, 06:48 PM
Let's just remember that England beat them, so they can't be that good.

01-09-2021, 07:00 PM
1-0 Denmark

01-09-2021, 07:01 PM
Ah well that lasted long!

Over to the goalie experts - should Gordon be coming for that one?

done well to last a full 13 minutes

01-09-2021, 07:02 PM
This is piss poor btw

JXM73
First of many...too easy, word class fullback getting showin up with a decent cross... maybe some will lay off our Doig...

Ha ha 2-0

Statues

McKenna playing everyone onside

FFS! 2-0

Nuts on plukey

Looks like Scotland canny defend from the right either

2-0 oh well

**** off

01-09-2021, 07:03 PM
Ffs

Some goal that to be fair….

oh dear easy money :agree:

Ridder. Pathetic defending

Disappointing

Really bad. We look absolutely lost.

Through Gordon's legs.

01-09-2021, 07:04 PM
I'm shocked!

hibIBZ
Gilmour at fault for both, doesnt close down the cross and doesn't go with the runner. He looks lost and really lacking pace.

Midfield is being utterly destroyed

Clarke out, now. He’s utterly clueless.

01-09-2021, 07:05 PM
This could be 3 or 4 already. Tierney is absolutely pish: I don’t see the hype.

01-09-2021, 07:05 PM

He's just been given a new contract, he's not going anywhere.

01-09-2021, 07:06 PM
Gilmour at fault for both, doesnt close down the cross and doesn't go with the runner. He looks lost and really lacking pace.

Midfield is being utterly destroyed

First goal was Sunday league stuff from Tierney of all people. Track your man and there's not a problem.

We are Eartha Kitt

He's just been given a new contract, he's not going anywhere.

His record is abysmal. SFA at their finest if that’s true!

The midfield look lost without McGinn and McTominay

First goal was Sunday league stuff from Tierney of all people. Track your man and there's not a problem.

Yep. Very poor

We need to get some kind of foothold in the game and get the next goal. Doesn’t look likely at the moment though.

01-09-2021, 07:08 PM
Through Gordon's legs.

But, but Plucky is meant to be the bestest in the whole wide world, no.
Whole team is a joke, no chance, amongst the football minnows for ever now imho.

01-09-2021, 07:10 PM

I thought Gilmore would have won this on his own according to the hype!

01-09-2021, 07:11 PM
This has been brutal stuff so far, the Denmark keeper hasn’t touched the ball, we’ve not been close to even having a shot at goal.

sorrow sorrow
01-09-2021, 07:14 PM
We really are down with the minnows of European football now,absolutely miles behind similar sized nations.
I honestly think it all comes down to the power and control the old firm have over football in Scotland

Torto7
01-09-2021, 07:14 PM
Such a defensive lineup with no fluency easily punished by the Danes. What a mediocare manager he is. Petrie being useless as usual.

01-09-2021, 07:15 PM
Denmark's population is virtually the same as Scotland's. How can they produce national teams consistently far better than ours?

01-09-2021, 07:15 PM
I thought it was a friendly. Didn't realise it was competitive. Not sure the team has realised it is a competitive fixture either

hhibs
01-09-2021, 07:16 PM
[QUOTE=B.H.F.C;6679941]Really bad. We look absolutely lost.[/QUOTE

Tierney and Gilmore ,the worst on the park,so far.

Torto7
We really are down with the minnows of European football now,absolutely miles behind similar sized nations.
I honestly think it all comes down to the power and control the old firm have over football in Scotland

I love hating the old firm but i cant see that link. Scotland have more than enough for a good eleven but have a piss poor coach who only knows one style.

Where the **** are our world class full backs when Delaney takes 3!!!! touches fae a corner there?!

01-09-2021, 07:17 PM
His record is abysmal. SFA at their finest if that’s true!

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/58315008

He's here!

Me too!!

Hibeesforever
So embarrassing...again from Scotland...I don't watch the games prefer watching Hibs....

01-09-2021, 07:18 PM
Can we knock down Hampden and build a copy of this stadium please.

Anyone want a Moldova ticket :rolleyes:

Denmark's population is virtually the same as Scotland's. How can they produce national teams consistently far better than ours?

We’ve beat them the last 2 times we’ve played them.

JXM73
01-09-2021, 07:19 PM

How much you paying to take off your hands?

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/58315008

Ian Maxwell can join Clarke in the sea.

Was that the Scotland fans chanting “Clarke must go” there or am I hearing things?

Starting to regret getting my tickets now 👀

01-09-2021, 07:20 PM
We are miles away from being as good as them.

Better diet, better sporting facilities, lower childhood obesity rate for starters.

Where the **** is Tierney

01-09-2021, 07:21 PM
No fan of Clarke but the players aren’t doing any of the basic things you need to do in a game of football. Disgraceful performance.

01-09-2021, 07:21 PM
Neither wonder Arsenal are struggling!

01-09-2021, 07:22 PM
This is an utter shambles.

We're doing the basics really badly here.

All over the shop.

01-09-2021, 07:23 PM

It’s not Denmark but have a read about Iceland’s transformation. I’d imagine Denmark ain’t far wide of this.

https://www.theguardian.com/football/2016/jun/08/iceland-stunning-rise-euro-2016-gylfi-sigurdsson-lars-lagerback

01-09-2021, 07:23 PM
Set up to defend and then can't defend, what's the point. Yes missing certain players but still.

Torto7
01-09-2021, 07:24 PM
Perfect example of why sitting in doesnt work nowadays. You have to be able to relieve pressure. We cant because our coach hasnt given the players a pattern of play. Awful.

01-09-2021, 07:25 PM
By the end of the 3 games I would expect Scotland to have failed their World Cup qualifying with 2 loses & maybe 1 win but more likely a draw.

He's here!
01-09-2021, 07:25 PM
The blessing is that with the game all but killed off early Denmark will hopefully ease up to conserve energy for their next game. We might escape a real hiding.

Said it before but the back door route by which we got into the Euros was too easily swept under the carpet amid the hype about us finally being at a major tournament again. At the tournament proper (bar a heart on the sleeve style showing against England) we were horribly exposed and will continue to be so until we are capable of qualifying for a tournament via the group stages. At present we still look miles away from that.

01-09-2021, 07:28 PM
Seen some bad Scotland performances but this one takes some beating.

01-09-2021, 07:29 PM
I’d be hooking McKenna and Fraser at HT, amongst others

01-09-2021, 07:31 PM
Denmark are a very good side. Already been to Austria and strolled to a victory.

Bizarre set up from Clarke but those on the pitch aren't taking responsibility

Clarke’s living of a couple penalty shoot out wins, strip those out and he wouldn’t be in the job. Asides one of two games we’ve been awful under his management.

Yes, that's quite enough. TV aff.

Mikey_1875
01-09-2021, 07:33 PM
Hard to believe we are this uncompetitive on ability alone.

01-09-2021, 07:36 PM
Absolutely ***in brutal, worst I have seen in years, shocking.

01-09-2021, 07:37 PM
I’d be hooking McKenna and Fraser at HT, amongst others

As in punching them, or substituting them?

I think I'd be tempted to go 1970s football manager on them too.

Absolutely disgraceful performance from the team there.

Denmark are a good side but we've been horrific.

We really need to wipe the slate clean with Scotland. Calling Gallagher up at his age is pointless. Kenny McLean is 29 now and has approx. 20 caps to his name. Too late, move on.

Need to play younger players as early as possible. They need to learn from mistakes. Protecting them from mistakes does them no favours.

Our national team problem is probably laid out in its most simple form in this game today. Two nations with similar populations, two vastly different quality of players, they're better in every area of the park by a mile.

Quality of player is just not there for us

01-09-2021, 07:38 PM
Too many players in that squad who are nowhere need good enough. The ones that are aren't doing themselves any favours and look lost. Nowhere near the level needed.

01-09-2021, 07:39 PM
Experienced players letting us down again...Tierney, Robertson, McGregor. At least 3 club captains out there as well but who's going to drag us through this? Depressing.

01-09-2021, 07:39 PM
Said for months he’s completely ruined our World Cup hopes and nobody cares seeing as he ‘got us to the euros’. Couple of penalty wins, then blowing the Nations league which would’ve given us a play off spot nearly, blew this group after 2 games, and now stuck with him for even longer.

01-09-2021, 07:40 PM
Our national team problem is probably laid out in its most simple form in this game today. Two nations with similar populations, two vastly different quality of players, they're better in every area of the park by a mile.

Quality of player is just not there for us

There isn't that much of a gulf in quality of player imo - not so much that can't be overcome by putting together a well-drilled unit.

We have achilles heels in a couple of positions, and our best players are somewhere between anonymous and abysmal tonight.

01-09-2021, 07:42 PM
There isn't that much of a gulf in quality of player imo - not so much that can't be overcome by putting together a well-drilled unit.

We have achilles heels in a couple of positions, and our best players are somewhere between anonymous and abysmal tonight.

They got to the semis of the Euros. We are miles behind them

01-09-2021, 07:43 PM
Too many players in that squad who are nowhere need good enough. The ones that are aren't doing themselves any favours and look lost. Nowhere near the level needed.

Granted we’re no Italy, but we have players who should be capable than a lot more than what we’re seeing from them.

The Euros masked so much. Results since we qualified have been dreadful

Stonewall
01-09-2021, 07:43 PM
We did better than I expected to be honest.

01-09-2021, 07:44 PM
We would have struggled here with a full team. Chuck in a few injuries and the only surprise is it isn't more of a humping.

Clarke will dine out on the Euros for a bit longer but the WC is gone now. Yes I know if we win all our games etc etc but the chances of that actually happening is close to zero.

We can do all usual soul searching but time and again it's proven we are miles off it at this level.

01-09-2021, 07:46 PM
They got to the semis of the Euros. We are miles behind them

We're doing a great job tonight of making it look that way, certainly.

Man for man, I don't think most of our players should be considered to be miles behind them.

As a team unit we're talking men vs boys though.

I thought our qualifiers earlier this year were equally poor, a different type of poor.

01-09-2021, 07:47 PM
We would have struggled here with a full team. Chuck in a few injuries and the only surprise is it isn't more of a humping.

Clarke will dine out on the Euros for a bit longer but the WC is gone now. Yes I know if we win all our games etc etc but the chances of that actually happening is close to zero.

We can do all usual soul searching but time and again it's proven we are miles off it at this level.

Why were no replacements brought in for the injured and missing players?

01-09-2021, 07:49 PM
Why were no replacements brought in for the injured and missing players?

A lot of the players are only missing tonight, and it was too late for new players to be tested for tonight’s game.

Wakeyhibee
Dont understand the angst, we are outclassed because by and large we dont teach football, half of the spfl league play industrial survivalist football, 2 others rarely play Scots.

It's reasonably good entertainment internally but not on a European or worldwide stage. We have 3 maybe more who can make it down south. In the 70s we had 20+.

Scotland has not moved with the times for decades and it shows as soon as we get on a plane anywhere.

Hanley & Gilnour get pass marks so far.

Keep Tierney, Robertson and Gilmour.

Start playing Nisbet, Porteous, Souttar, Hickey, Magennis, etc.

Expose young players to this level of football as early as possible. Half the players I've listed are hurtling towards mid-20s and have barely a cap between them.

We never learn.

AugustaHibs
01-09-2021, 07:51 PM
Get Clarke to ****

01-09-2021, 07:52 PM
Keep Tierney, Robertson and Gilmour.

Start playing Nisbet, Porteous, Souttar, Hickey, Magennis, etc.

Expose young players to this level of football as early as possible. Half the players I've listed are hurtling towards mid-20s and have barely a cap between them.

We never learn.

That’s far too radical.

Well done Gilmour, a shot!

Aberdeen did a great job bumming McKenna up and then getting millions for him. Utter pish. Gallagher as well. None of them any better than Porteous or Hanlon. Probably no better than Souter either

01-09-2021, 07:54 PM
Dont understand the angst, we are outclassed because by and large we dont teach football, half of the spfl league play industrial survivalist football, 2 others rarely play Scots.

It's reasonably good entertainment internally but not on a European or worldwide stage. We have 3 maybe more who can make it down south. In the 70s we had 20+.

Scotland has not moved with the times for decades and it shows as soon as we get on a plane anywhere.

Absolutely correct and Andy Roxburgh predicted all of this many years and many tears ago. He said this would happen and he got hounded out for his trouble. It's cost us an absolute Kings ransom in finances over the years and yet we complain we are skint.....

01-09-2021, 07:55 PM
That’s far too radical.

Is it? Just keep calling up players like Gallagher when they are 30?

It's the same with Hibs. How are Hibs going to improve in Europe unless we are consistently in it? How can a Scottish player get used to playing a higher quality of opposition without actually playing a higher level of opposition?

Craig Gordon is hardly Buffon...come on these players aren't good enough to keep going back to.

01-09-2021, 07:57 PM

It's the same with Hibs. How are Hibs going to improve in Europe unless we are consistently in it? How can a Scottish player get used to playing a higher quality of opposition without actually playing a higher level of opposition?

Craig Gordon is hardly Buffon...come on these players aren't good enough to keep going back to.

I think he meant too radical for Scotland to ever try.

01-09-2021, 07:57 PM

You just have to look at how Ross Co and Livingston played against us to agree with this. No interest in playing football

01-09-2021, 07:58 PM
I think he meant too radical for Scotland to ever try.

True. They need to though. We keep doing the same nonsense that never works.

I’ll see you and raise you 4-0 in Oslo in 2009.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/internationals/8193604.stm

At least Hibs are trying it. It’s a shame it’s taken a foreign owner to really push us that way though.

But that’s an indicator of Scottish football in general again.

01-09-2021, 08:00 PM

Don’t think it’s as straightforward as just chucking a group of young players in. It’s not as if we have a team full of Championship or League One players on the pitch. Loads of players playing at a high level. We’re hopeless at making a team out of them though and we never seem to get that spirit that other countries can get either.

01-09-2021, 08:00 PM

They are miles ahead - you could even see at the Euros this Denmark team would beat us.

Somehow because Steve Clarke got a draw against England he got a new contract till end of Euro 2024! Madness.

No chance of making the World Cup. Will be surprised if we even get to the next Euros.

01-09-2021, 08:01 PM
Is it a stretch to say we were better under Strachan than Clarke?

It may be a bit of rose tinted glasses but I remember far more cohesive performances under the former.

01-09-2021, 08:01 PM

It is what I meant. The people in charge of Scottish football will never do anything out of the ordinary to try and drag the standard of football up to be competitive with Denmark.

Don’t worry though, project brave led by Malky the racist will save the day etc etc.

01-09-2021, 08:02 PM
Set up to defend and then can't defend, what's the point. Yes missing certain players but still.
I know, we may as well set up to attack and **** that up. The result would be the same, but at least we might have a bit of hope. This has been as bad a Scotland performance as I’ve ever seen. We’ve not laid a glove on them.

01-09-2021, 08:05 PM

It may be a bit of rose tinted glasses but I remember far more cohesive performances under the former.
I think Clarke is more pragmatic, he seems to be able to side step nights like tonight and concentrate on games we might actually win.

WHAM
01-09-2021, 08:06 PM

It is the truth mate.

Under Strachan, we at least gave the better nations a game and competed against them.

Results and performances under Clarke (except against the minnows and the England game) have been terrible.

Get him to ******.

01-09-2021, 08:08 PM

Said at the time that at least I could see improvement under Strachan but with Clark I just see nothing

01-09-2021, 08:09 PM
Said at the time that at least I could see improvement under Strachan but with Clark I just see nothing

I see bland, boring, Kilmarnockish football.

01-09-2021, 08:09 PM
What does Kenny McLean bring to the table ?

01-09-2021, 08:10 PM
Don’t think it’s as straightforward as just chucking a group of young players in. It’s not as if we have a team full of Championship or League One players on the pitch. Loads of players playing at a high level. We’re hopeless at making a team out of them though and we never seem to get that spirit that other countries can get either.

I'm not Danish and I recognise most of their team. That shows most of them have played for Denmark on a fairly consistent basis. That's how they've formed them into a team. We call up randoms and try to glue them together when they are late 20s with virtually no caps to their name.

Massive delay in getting in Scotland first team even though we are rank. Lewis Ferguson even got a cap yet?

It isn't easy as just throwing youngsters into a team but calling up Gallagher, Cooper, Dykes, Adams, Hanley and the like isn't the answer. We've been down this road many times.

Has playing for this Arsenal team traumatised Tierney that much? Can't quite believe how poor he's been.

What does Kenny McLean bring to the table ?

A bottle of MD20/20 and nothing else.

01-09-2021, 08:11 PM
Denmark are a very good team. Miles ahead of us. Not really blaming Clarke for this.

01-09-2021, 08:11 PM

No, I agree, I thought we were better under Strachan.

Clarke has better players to pick from too, but we are a much weaker side.

This second half has been a bit brighter, one or two players bucking their ideas up a bit.

01-09-2021, 08:12 PM
I would let him off if it was Merlot 😃

01-09-2021, 08:13 PM
Aberdeen did a great job bumming McKenna up and then getting millions for him. Utter pish. Gallagher as well. None of them any better than Porteous or Hanlon. Probably no better than Souter either

He's a total carthorse and will be playing for Morton or QoS in a few years time. Aberdeen valued him at £9m at one point :faf:

01-09-2021, 08:14 PM
Can Dykes control a football?

01-09-2021, 08:16 PM
Embarrassing

01-09-2021, 08:16 PM
It just shows how many average footballers are made millionaires in England. Che Adams has contributed nothing to Scotland yet.

01-09-2021, 08:17 PM
Ah yes, the Scotland national team. Where every defeat is "the worst ever" and means the manager, whoever he is, should be sacked. May it never change.

01-09-2021, 08:18 PM
Bring Kenny McLean on.

01-09-2021, 08:19 PM
I'm not Danish and I recognise most of their team. That shows most of them have played for Denmark on a fairly consistent basis. That's how they've formed them into a team. We call up randoms and try to glue them together when they are late 20s with virtually no caps to their name.

Massive delay in getting in Scotland first team even though we are rank. Lewis Ferguson even got a cap yet?

It isn't easy as just throwing youngsters into a team but calling up Gallagher, Cooper, Dykes, Adams, Hanley and the like isn't the answer. We've been down this road many times.

Take the Ferguson example. Look at all the players he’s had playing ahead of him who’ve been playing at a higher level.

I think the job of an international manager is about picking the best players available and gluing them together. It’s the second but we’re not very good at IMO. I know quite a number of Denmark players but not through watching them play for Denmark, it’s through watching them playing for their clubs at a good level.

Dr What If?
01-09-2021, 08:21 PM
Seems there are a few big moments in football that lead to our decline. First was moving to a 10 team top league, changed the attitude of the majority of teams as the fear of relegation meant more negative play. Next was satellite TV money, Scotland seemed to get left behind in the big money era.....not just against the big leagues but even when compared with countries like Denmark....player development is a big part of a Scottish club's income compared to these other nations and sadly it shows.
Now we are in qualifying pots where we forever need to play at least a couple of teams better than us (on ranking at least). Nations league in particular has been scary.....sides we would though we should be able to take only to find we really are at that level.

01-09-2021, 08:21 PM

I was going to say "the cairds".

Wakeyhibee
01-09-2021, 08:24 PM
You just have to look at how Ross Co and Livingston played against us to agree with this. No interest in playing football

It's the league set up. Not enough teams have a breathing space to develop any talent or have more than a 1 year plan. OF buy in enough talent to keep the status quo. Even championship clubs are a couple pts off play offs either way.

People complain about meaningless matches in a bigger league which is fine, but dont complain when the cut throat leaves you well adrift on talent.

01-09-2021, 08:25 PM
Take the Ferguson example. Look at all the players he’s had playing ahead of him who’ve been playing at a higher level.

I think the job of an international manager is about picking the best players available and gluing them together. I know quite a number of Denmark players but not through watching them play for Denmark, it’s through watching them playing for their clubs at a good level.

Highest level doesn't mean best players. While John McGinn was playing for us who were Scotland playing in midfield?

Gilmour looks a good player but is he levels above other Scottish players his age? Maybe for most but not all. Being at Chelsea is a big reason he is in so quickly.

Robertson could look world class for Queens Park but would never get called up.

International management seems largely about calling up players based on profile.

Lewis Ferguson should have caps to his name.

01-09-2021, 08:29 PM
Scotland are pressing and dominating the ball, why didn’t we start like that.

01-09-2021, 08:30 PM
Highest level doesn't mean best players. While John McGinn was playing for us who were Scotland playing in midfield?

Gilmour looks a good player but is he levels above other Scottish players his age? Maybe for most but not all. Being at Chelsea is a big reason he is in so quickly.

International management seems largely about calling up players based on profile.

Gilmour has looked head, shoulders and the rest above Kenny McLean tonight.

Wull
Clarkes setup at the start cost us the game, we have been a different team second half, better but no cigar

When McGinn broke in to the Scotland team I don’t think we were as strong in that area as we are now. There are plenty players in that position well ahead of Ferguson now IMO.

There are times when I think you could fast track a player, Patterson ahead of O’Donnell for me.

I do think players playing their club football at a higher level is a pretty good indicator of how they compare to others though.

01-09-2021, 08:32 PM
hanley takes all the pressure off them by giving away that stupid fk

01-09-2021, 08:33 PM

He will look better. Amazed Kenny McLean gets called up, 29 year old who isn't good enough. He's a profile call up.

still 0-0 in the 2nd half

:)

Scotland are pressing and dominating the ball, why didn’t we start like that.

Because Clark is a dull negative manager who always plays dull negative football. Started off defensively and hoping for a draw

01-09-2021, 08:36 PM
Lewis Ferguson gets 2mins on the pitch...that'll do his development at this level wonders.

Embarrassing

2 minutes for Lewis Ferguson. Joke.

01-09-2021, 08:37 PM
what a bizarre substitute

01-09-2021, 08:38 PM
hanley takes all the pressure off them by giving away that stupid fk

Our best player by a mile.

Lack of quality in the forward areas will continue to cost us. Missed chances always so pivotal for us.

even more bizarre danish substitute

20 seconds he got

01-09-2021, 08:41 PM
no way will the faroes catch us, no way

Souter96Mac
Next 2 / arguably every remaining game now becomes a must win, if we're hoping to make the playoffs

Seems there are a few big moments in football that lead to our decline. First was moving to a 10 team top league, changed the attitude of the majority of teams as the fear of relegation meant more negative play. Next was satellite TV money, Scotland seemed to get left behind in the big money era.....not just against the big leagues but even when compared with countries like Denmark....player development is a big part of a Scottish club's income compared to these other nations and sadly it shows.
Now we are in qualifying pots where we forever need to play at least a couple of teams better than us (on ranking at least). Nations league in particular has been scary.....sides we would though we should be able to take only to find we really are at that level.

Yet n Ireland,Iceland,Wales Croatia etc with much less pool of players are competitive. For me anyway it's all down to the coaching from an early age. We totally lack technical ability and game awareness. Too many coaches go on about being winners and totally neglect the basic skills and the game awareness that comes with it. Guys like Kevin Thomson and John Collins who didn't look out of place against decent teams. How many players of that ilk do we have now. How many players very rarely misplace a pass thereby denying the oppos6a chance to build an attack. It's so easily remedied if kids are taught from an early age and focus on skills. Just go and watch kids play anywhere in Scotland and its fast and competitive but that's it. So bloody infuriatingthat it could be sorted but we continue the same old madness.

01-09-2021, 08:43 PM

:agree: Wasn’t a player close to him for best Scotland player. Thought in amongst so much keek he sparkled.

01-09-2021, 08:45 PM
even more bizarre danish substitute

20 seconds he got

Lindstrom is 21 and I think he already has more caps than Lewis Ferguson. Lindstrom is Danish, Denmark are better than Scotland. Boyle is Scottish and plays for Australia, we decided not to call him up.

Think Lindstrom was brought on so he could get a cheer as he left Danish football in the summer.

We'll cling on to Gordon and MacGregor until they retire and then scramble for someone who has a Scottish grandparent.

Can't be too down about losing away to Denmark.

Next 2 / arguably every remaining game now becomes a must win, if we're hoping to make the playoffs
Do you seriously think that will happen? I don't.

01-09-2021, 08:49 PM
Do you seriously think that will happen? I don't.

Absolutely no chance. None.

01-09-2021, 08:50 PM
Lindstrom is 21 and I think he already has more caps than Lewis Ferguson. Lindstrom is Danish, Denmark are better than Scotland. Boyle is Scottish and plays for Australia, we decided not to call him up.

Think Lindstrom was brought on so he could get a cheer as he left Danish football in the summer.

We'll cling on to Gordon and MacGregor until they retire and then scramble for someone who has a Scottish grandparent.

that has to go down as the easiest cap any international player has EVER picked up :)

01-09-2021, 08:50 PM

Not if it’s just the result you’re looking at but that first half was dreadful

hhibs
01-09-2021, 08:53 PM

The centre spot looked head and shoulders above Kenny Mclean

hhibs
01-09-2021, 08:59 PM

Agreed,only one of three who did anything .

And Teirney has a desperate case of Arsenalitist.

01-09-2021, 09:01 PM
Not if it’s just the result you’re looking at but that first half was dreadful

Yeah, just mean in isolation. The next two, however....

01-09-2021, 09:05 PM
I think Clarke is more pragmatic, he seems to be able to side step nights like tonight and concentrate on games we might actually win.

Does he though? His win record would say otherwise. I just think gone are the days where you can sit behind the ball and frustrate half decent international sides, they break you down eventually.

Strachans side was starting to look far better but was arguably too late in his tenure to be given longer. We need better though. To have 5 points from12 and have blown the chance of qualifying for the World Cup already is unforgivable for me.

01-09-2021, 09:13 PM

We matched them second half.

I didn’t think they eased off, we just played miles better after we sorted the team out.

First half was disgraceful. I actually thought the line-up looked ok and made sense in many levels, but too many players just weren’t at it.

I thought we made Denmark look better than they actually are.

He's here!
01-09-2021, 09:14 PM

Beating Moldova at home is a given but it's academic now. We'll finish where we are right now, fourth in the table.

It's depressingly predictable that Clarke and the more blinkered of the pundits will try to take some positives from the second half, but the sorry truth is the game was beyond us after 15 minutes and the Danes knew that. They took their foot off the gas and spared us a proper doing.

hibbydog
01-09-2021, 09:15 PM
If there’s one thing that winds me up more than Kris Boyd on national telly, it’s Kris Boyd criticising Scotland teams.

Justified criticism and of course we were awful. I just find it a bit rich coming from someone who couldn’t be bothered and turned his back on his country.

He's here!
01-09-2021, 09:18 PM
Does he though? His win record would say otherwise. I just think gone are the days where you can sit behind the ball and frustrate half decent international sides, they break you down eventually.

Strachans side was starting to look far better but was arguably too late in his tenure to be given longer. We need better though. To have 5 points from12 and have blown the chance of qualifying for the World Cup already is unforgivable for me.

Is it really unforgivable? We're simply not good enough.

01-09-2021, 09:29 PM
Beating Moldova at home is a given but it's academic now. We'll finish where we are right now, fourth in the table.

It's depressingly predictable that Clarke and the more blinkered of the pundits will try to take some positives from the second half, but the sorry truth is the game was beyond us after 15 minutes and the Danes knew that. They took their foot off the gas and spared us a proper doing.

I thought there were positives to take from the second half, I didn’t think the Danes eased off that much (they were never going to play with that intensity for 90 minutes). Certain players upped it, some didn’t, and that was telling.

The first half was abysmal and we just cannot afford to start games like that. I agree that it was over after 15 minutes, and I reckon that sort of thing is unforgivable.

I don’t accept that this is a bad group of players. It’s the best we’ve had in a long time, but they need to form a much better team. There are a few fatal weaknesses in there that Clarke just hasn’t found the answers to without significantly weakening us elsewhere.

01-09-2021, 09:33 PM
We never had a right back

Our combo on the left that is pretty strong (as we saw in 2nd half) was broken up

Missing SJM and McTominay from the middle to actually pressure their midfield

Big ****ing huddy McKenna playing

We made it hard for ourselves with how poor we were but Denmark (homecoming after euros semi) were buzzing and pinned us from the off. Damsgaard is some player and they've got cracking players playing at a high level

SJNB Hibby
01-09-2021, 09:48 PM
2 words:
Martin
Boyle

Dr What If?
01-09-2021, 09:49 PM
Yet n Ireland,Iceland,Wales Croatia etc with much less pool of players are competitive. For me anyway it's all down to the coaching from an early age. We totally lack technical ability and game awareness. Too many coaches go on about being winners and totally neglect the basic skills and the game awareness that comes with it. Guys like Kevin Thomson and John Collins who didn't look out of place against decent teams. How many players of that ilk do we have now. How many players very rarely misplace a pass thereby denying the oppos6a chance to build an attack. It's so easily remedied if kids are taught from an early age and focus on skills. Just go and watch kids play anywhere in Scotland and its fast and competitive but that's it. So bloody infuriatingthat it could be sorted but we continue the same old madness.

Can't argue that that is also a big part of it. Not football, but my wee one (he's 9) has been going to the local rugby club since he was 4, a lot of the kids there have been going since the same age. The difference between those kids in the way they throw and catch a ball compared to the kids that joined later is night and day....Its only catching a ball, it is the most basic of skills but those who started younger don't seem to need to think about it - the other kids still struggle and the effort takes away from the rest of their game.
Football I would argue is a simpler game but the idea is the same. Kids need to get used to a football early, the sooner they become comfortable with the basics the quicker they advance.

He's here!
01-09-2021, 09:56 PM
Can't argue that that is also a big part of it. Not football, but my wee one (he's 9) has been going to the local rugby club since he was 4, a lot of the kids there have been going since the same age. The difference between those kids in the way they throw and catch a ball compared to the kids that joined later is night and day....Its only catching a ball, it is the most basic of skills but those who started younger don't seem to need to think about it - the other kids still struggle and the effort takes away from the rest of their game.
Football I would argue is a simpler game but the idea is the same. Kids need to get used to a football early, the sooner they become comfortable with the basics the quicker they advance.

It's a bit different when it's not a round ball. I think a lot of folk, if somebody threw at rugby ball at them to catch, would instinctively be unsettled by its shape and try to work out how best to catch it rather than just clutching it without thinking. Interesting what you say about how it comes more naturally to kids who started playing at a very young age.

One thing's for sure, I enjoy watching the Scotland rugby team a lot more than I do our football team these days!

01-09-2021, 09:59 PM

Kids need to get comfortable with a ball at a very early age - not learning to kick it but to move it with both feet and keep it close.

Give kids a small ball to move around the house as they go, roll the ball with both feet forward/back/sideways, stop and turn.

Works wonders.

Dr What If?
01-09-2021, 10:17 PM
Kids need to get comfortable with a ball at a very early age - not learning to kick it but to move it with both feet and keep it close.

Give kids a small ball to move around the house as they go, roll the ball with both feet forward/back/sideways, stop and turn.

Works wonders.

It makes a world of difference. What impresses me with rugby is that the SRU have done a lot of work in this area and train the clubs in what to do with really young kids. Early years are not that different from the games kids used to play in the playground, variations on old favourites but with a ball. First game of touch didn't start until he was 8. It really is just about the absolute basics, its not rushed and its allowed to develop naturally. SRU (in my very humble opinion) don't get everything right, too big a gap between the clubs and pro level and just two pro clubs ran by the SRU doesn't allow enough players to come through.....grass roots though, SFA could learn a lot.

01-09-2021, 10:18 PM
Ratings:

Gordon 5 - Nutmegged for the 2nd, some poor distribution at times but not the problem.

Robertson 5 - Looked like a fish out of water on the right but that was SC's fault not his. Obviously he improved on the left in the 2nd half.

Tierney 2 - Very poor performance from a very good player.

Hanley 7 - Scotland's best player.

Cooper 4 - Didn't look comfortable at all.

McKenna 2 - Out of his depth at International level. No composure and a limited CB.

McLean 4 - Flatters to decieve. Pretty anonymous.

Gilmour 6 - Like him but like his midfield colleagues, was chasing shadows most of the night.

McGregor 6 - No faulting his work rate and probably our best midfielder tonight.

Fraser 5 - Also suffered from being played out of position but worked hard.

Adams 4 - Doesn't look like a player who can play a lone striker. Having said that, he had literally zero service.

Christie 4 - Did ok when he came on.

Dykes 1 - No pace and can't control the ball. Strike rate recently is horrendous. Should not be anywhere near the Scotland team.

Turnbull 3 - Too late on to make an impact but like him.

Ferguson 1 - WTF is the point in bringing him on in injury time?

Steve Clarke - Dealt a bad hand with all the call offs, but screwed up the starting line up big time. The players also looked as if they agreed with that and chucked it. Far too negative a Coach for me.

Dr What If?
01-09-2021, 10:38 PM
It's a bit different when it's not a round ball. I think a lot of folk, if somebody threw at rugby ball at them to catch, would instinctively be unsettled by its shape and try to work out how best to catch it rather than just clutching it without thinking. Interesting what you say about how it comes more naturally to kids who started playing at a very young age.

One thing's for sure, I enjoy watching the Scotland rugby team a lot more than I do our football team these days!

Its funny, if you were to just come along and watch the kids playing you would probably just say 'that kid is better than that kid', but having been going along for 5 years or so you can see the difference is just when these kids started. Its too simplistic to say one kid has been playing a year longer than another....its a bit deeper. Each year new skills are added, tactics become more complicated (ok he's 9, not rocket science). Because the kids who have been there for years don't need to think about carrying the ball, they have more focus when a new idea is thrown at them.....lets use being tackled as example.....you can tell two kids the position to fall into and both will more or less get the idea at the same speed, add a ball and then you see the difference - one will do exactly the same with or without the ball, the other will forget what they were meant to be doing and botch the fall, ending in the wrong position.
The point is that the earlier the basics are imbedded, the easier it is to pick up the next skill. Football is the same, all sports are.....running with a ball might seem basic, not if your a kid learning the early skills of the game.

01-09-2021, 10:53 PM
It makes a world of difference. What impresses me with rugby is that the SRU have done a lot of work in this area and train the clubs in what to do with really young kids. Early years are not that different from the games kids used to play in the playground, variations on old favourites but with a ball. First game of touch didn't start until he was 8. It really is just about the absolute basics, its not rushed and its allowed to develop naturally. SRU (in my very humble opinion) don't get everything right, too big a gap between the clubs and pro level and just two pro clubs ran by the SRU doesn't allow enough players to come through.....grass roots though, SFA could learn a lot.

The beauty is that football, I guess rugby but that's not my world, is this can all be taught from home.

Although I shouldn't say that... It's how I get paid!

02-09-2021, 12:48 AM

Unfortunately we dont have a coaching set up that prioritizes ball skills. The coaches just seem to accept poor ball control and look at how to mould a winning team not realising that the better the ball skills and game awareness the easier it is to win games. I'm not a possession freak but the less the opponent has the ball the easier a game becomes. If scotland for instance had full backs and centre halfs with very good passing ability then we wouldn't need to hit the strikers to hold the ball up. I heard them on sportsound emphasising this. It drives me bonkers. Strikers should be just a cog in good possession not a target. Italy had strikers who were technical and flexible. No lumping the ball up. Nisbet is a huge prospect imho as he's clearly worked on his link up play and ball skills needed to make it at the higher level. If kids could be taught to play like Dylan mcgeoch or Jdhayes with good control and quick passing then we will quickly get better kids coming through.
It needs a huge sea change and a john Collins type figure running the youths. Not going to happen of course and I'm sure in 8 or 10 years time we will be talking about exactly the same issues. At hibs Jack ross can identify good technical prospects and develop them. The Scottish manager has no such luxury.

02-09-2021, 05:49 AM
We produced ball playing skilful players in the past, Jimmy Johnstone, Willie Henderson, Dalglish, Souness, Gemmill etc. Young lads learnt their skills out on the streets or park with tennis balls, keepy uppy against walls and generally just kicking a ball all day long. Now we have organised boys football run by dads who are pi sh coaches trying to drum tactics into youngsters who just want to kick a ball around.

There was talk about introducing fusball with the smaller balls which teach kids skills, whatever happened there?

02-09-2021, 06:22 AM
These jokers now need to beat Moldova, not a given, then go to Austrian and win. Not happening eh.

02-09-2021, 06:32 AM
Is it really unforgivable? We're simply not good enough.

He chucked the nations league games which would have almost guaranteed a play off spot. We’ve now failed to beat any of the three sides around us in the groups. We are good enough, we have a manager that sets us up to fail.

02-09-2021, 06:38 AM
Two massive games coming up. Need minimum of 4 to still have some chance. Should beat Moldova comfortably however Austria away will be tough though watched bits of their game against Moldova and struggled but have quality in Alaba and Arnautovic who combined for second goal in injury time. Hopefully a couple of our more important players back like SJM.

The team in the first half was ridiculous last night and should have started with second half team. McGinns energy hugely missed

02-09-2021, 06:51 AM
He chucked the nations league games which would have almost guaranteed a play off spot. We’ve now failed to beat any of the three sides around us in the groups. We are good enough, we have a manager that sets us up to fail.

I agree. He starts every game against anyone we aren't huge favourites to beat paralysed by fear and caution.
Add to that some bizarre team selection decisions.
Robertson went from being our worst player, other than Kenny McLean obviously, to one of our best when he switched back to the left side.
Dykes was poor but still should have started with Adams to give us some presence up the park.
6 points required now which is eminently achievable if he picks the right team.

02-09-2021, 07:07 AM
I agree. He starts every game against anyone we aren't huge favourites to beat paralysed by fear and caution.
Add to that some bizarre team selection decisions.
Robertson went from being our worst player, other than Kenny McLean obviously, to one of our best when he switched back to the left side.
Dykes was poor but still should have started with Adams to give us some presence up the park.
6 points required now which is eminently achievable if he picks the right team.

He’s never beaten a side we’d expect to struggle against. 33% win record in competitive games, and mostly all of them have come against the minnows of international football or a 4th string Czech side. 1 win in his last 10 games is abysmal.

02-09-2021, 07:17 AM
These jokers now need to beat Moldova, not a given, then go to Austrian and win. Not happening eh.

Only in the minds of the deluded. Scotland are terrible, for all the reasons already expounded on this board. This is the best they’ve had in a while and it’s still nowhere near enough.

02-09-2021, 07:19 AM
Relax

Everything is cool

This just in :

Stevie Clarke says we can still qualify

Radio Forth News

02-09-2021, 07:26 AM
We don't seem to have improved much under Clarke.

You can only do so much with the players at your disposal, but I'd have to say that I preferred it when McLeish was in charge.

02-09-2021, 07:40 AM
Relax

Everything is cool

This just in :

Stevie Clarke says we can still qualify

Radio Forth News

What do you expect him to say?

02-09-2021, 07:44 AM
Imagine a world where McLeish thought Martin Boyle was better than Random OF Winger.

02-09-2021, 09:01 AM
What do you expect him to say?

The truth :greengrin

02-09-2021, 10:09 AM
2 words:
Martin
Boyle

Actually that team, but with Tierney in the back 3 and Robertson left wing back from the start, with Squirrel at right wing back, would surely have done a lot better.

Mainstandman
02-09-2021, 10:30 AM
We produced ball playing skilful players in the past, Jimmy Johnstone, Willie Henderson, Dalglish, Souness, Gemmill etc. Young lads learnt their skills out on the streets or park with tennis balls, keepy uppy against walls and generally just kicking a ball all day long. Now we have organised boys football run by dads who are pi sh coaches trying to drum tactics into youngsters who just want to kick a ball around.

There was talk about introducing fusball with the smaller balls which teach kids skills, whatever happened there?

my son played fusbal but it just ended up in a farce with players just booting each other kicking the ball the full length of the hall. the coaching ethos is scotland is rubbish, very little focus on ball control and this we get the players we have. my son thankfully has moved to a side where technical skills are valued.

Magpie
02-09-2021, 10:31 AM
Scotland’s chances of reaching the World Cup were always going to be slim after failing to get that play off place by winning the Nations League group.

02-09-2021, 10:45 AM
Has Robertson ever played right-back / wing-back? Ever?
At least Tierney has some experience there, having done it under Strachan and I'm sure Robertson joked about how bad he was with his right foot at the time.
Hendry could have gone in at right-back and we did improve after Fraser went out there, although I'm not sure he could have stopped the rampant Danish wing-backs in that first 30 minutes since he's barely played for Newcastle this season.
A bit amateurish the way we were caught out with the O'Donnell situation and then it was too late to call up anyone else like Ralston or Ramsay.
Gilmour and McGregor worked well together at Wembley but didn't get near the Danish midfield in the first half and McLean was an absolute passenger. I couldn't believe he came back out after the break. Christie and Turnbull have started the season well and McLean has made one league start.
The whole back three thing was introduced as a way of accommodating Tierney & Robertson and is a disaster when we have three big lumps in there. Hanley at least made blocks and tackles and won headers but none of them can pass the ball or bring it out from the back.

02-09-2021, 10:52 AM
my son played fusbal but it just ended up in a farce with players just booting each other kicking the ball the full length of the hall. the coaching ethos is scotland is rubbish, very little focus on ball control and this we get the players we have. my son thankfully has moved to a side where technical skills are valued.

Denmark’s population isn’t much bigger than Scotland’s. Their weather isn’t much better either. Yet they seem to produce much better footballers.

Best wishes to your son with his new team.

02-09-2021, 11:11 AM
If there’s one thing that winds me up more than Kris Boyd on national telly, it’s Kris Boyd criticising Scotland teams.

Justified criticism and of course we were awful. I just find it a bit rich coming from someone who couldn’t be bothered and turned his back on his country.

I agree and the BBC website reporting was a disgrace. Constantly re-posting tweets from non-entities making sarcastic remarks about how bad Scotland are and Tom "Rugby Boy" English slating everyone possible in the harshest possible manner. The stuff being posted by our National Broadcaster was verging on online abuse last night. They would NEVER do it to England.

Spudster
02-09-2021, 11:35 AM
Ferguson 1 - WTF is the point in bringing him on in injury time?

I think it was Gilmour he came on for when we had a corner. Obviously hoping for his height to make a difference.

He's here!
02-09-2021, 02:01 PM

If it's not a given we'll beat Moldova at home we might as well wind up the Scottish football team as an entity.

We'll win comfortably but it will be of no consequence as everyone else bar the Faroes will pick up maximum points against them.

Hedlund12
02-09-2021, 04:03 PM
Slightly off topic but does anyone know of any Scotland supporters buses to Hampden from Midlothian or Edinburgh?

02-09-2021, 04:20 PM
Absolutely correct and Andy Roxburgh predicted all of this many years and many tears ago. He said this would happen and he got hounded out for his trouble. It's cost us an absolute Kings ransom in finances over the years and yet we complain we are skint.....Correct. Imagine the difference now if he had his way then.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

02-09-2021, 04:25 PM
Slightly off topic but does anyone know of any Scotland supporters buses to Hampden from Midlothian or Edinburgh?

Think TAMB site might be worth a visit

Hedlund12
02-09-2021, 10:13 PM
Think TAMB site might be worth a visit

Thanks