View Full Version : Bruce Anderson

28-08-2021, 11:00 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/58372111

Didn't realise he passed out on the pitch during the game. That's rough.

Mr. Wonderful
28-08-2021, 11:03 PM
We had 2 lads being sick last week too. What's going on?

29-08-2021, 02:28 AM

Ooft me neither.

29-08-2021, 06:49 AM
I see Martindale showing his full Ned credentials in that interview. I'm not expecting Stephen Fry esque poetry from him but I've never heard a manager use the words 'spewing up' until now 🙂

29-08-2021, 06:57 AM
I see Martindale showing his full Ned credentials in that interview. I'm not expecting Stephen Fry esque poetry from him but I've never heard a manager use the words 'spewing up' until now 🙂

A ned because he said his players were spewing up

29-08-2021, 07:21 AM
A ned because he said his players were spewing up

Yes. He's speaking to the public on a national broadcast, not his pals in the pub.

29-08-2021, 07:34 AM
Yes. He's speaking to the public on a national broadcast, not his pals in the pub.

Again that makes him a ned, utter pish

29-08-2021, 07:37 AM

Selling gear makes him a ned

29-08-2021, 07:38 AM

You do know that people can disagree in a civil manner? I'll leave you to your rage.

29-08-2021, 07:45 AM
I see Martindale showing his full Ned credentials in that interview. I'm not expecting Stephen Fry esque poetry from him but I've never heard a manager use the words 'spewing up' until now [emoji846]I wonder if Martindale's already on his way to becoming not much more than a pub quiz question.

The ex con stadium handyman (or whatever he was) who eventually became manager, had immediate success with an amazing run of form then hardly won another point - eventually getting sacked and disappearing from public view - who is he?

29-08-2021, 07:46 AM
I wonder if Martindale's already on his way to becoming not much more than a pub quiz question.

The ex con stadium handyman (or whatever he was) who eventually became manager, had immediate success with an amazing run of form then hardly won another point - eventually getting sacked and disappearing from public view - who is he?
He couldn’t even get Omeonga’s name right in his post match interviews. Embarrassing.

29-08-2021, 07:52 AM
You do know that people can disagree in a civil manner? I'll leave you to your rage.

And you do know that not everyone is comfortable speaking in front of cameras etc, exact same when john hughes gets interviewed, so many folk on here having a go, there must be so many people here who went to school at oxford

29-08-2021, 08:00 AM
And you do know that not everyone is comfortable speaking in front of cameras etc, exact same when john hughes gets interviewed, so many folk on here having a go, there must be so many people here who went to school at oxford

Aye, I went to Oxford right enough....

You are missing the point by miles so now I definitely am giving this thread a miss.

Crunchie
29-08-2021, 08:01 AM

Working class men slated for their language by emm working class men, I can imagine the reaction that comment would get watching Sportcene in the boozer on a Saturday night :faf:.

hibbydog
29-08-2021, 08:26 AM
Thread turned into an interesting debate.

Theres 2 schools of thought.

1/ Martindale is a chavvy ned who should make more of an effort to articulate himself professionally when on national TV and Radio. He’s representing his club and he’s infront of potential future employers.

2/. Don’t be a snob. How you speak is part of your background and you shouldn’t pretend to be something you’re not.

I lean more towards point 1, because he’s in a professional situation. After seeing Gary Locke on the Hearts documentary I was squirming. I’m not saying everyone going on telly should get elocution lessons, but there is a time and a place for that kind of thing.

Anyways, I hope the laddie Anderson is ok.

29-08-2021, 08:31 AM
Selling gear makes him a ned

This post has been glossed over as no one can argue against it.

The guy needs some media training. If he can turn his life around he can learn how to speak well to a camera, although I don’t think he has long left in the job anyway.

ABZHFC
29-08-2021, 08:34 AM
Not that it really matters but I'd much rather folk like Martindale talk how they actually talk than them putting on an 'educated' voice for the cameras

29-08-2021, 08:40 AM
Not that it really matters but I'd much rather folk like Martindale talk how they actually talk than them putting on an 'educated' voice for the cameras

I agree….why don’t we celebrate those from different backgrounds who make it into these types of jobs, rather than worry they don’t have a “BBC” vocabulary

29-08-2021, 08:43 AM

It’s not about talking posh. If you are being interviewed for or are a pundit on national tv or radio it’s just about making yourself clear and able to be understood by a wide audience.
In that regard “spewing up” is clear and well understood!

29-08-2021, 08:45 AM
Not fussed how he speaks as long as he is understandable. His big problem to me is his team clearly aren't listening. I don't think I have ever seen a team go 1 down and make less effort to change their containing game. Our second goal sees them standing off us in the corner when we are a goal up with a few minutes left. They just didn't seem in the least concerned that they were 1-0 down

Hope Anderson is fine and makes a quick recovery

29-08-2021, 08:47 AM

I'm not suggesting he drops his accent and suddenly starts sounding like Gordon Brown but his choice of words could be better. If you want him 'talk like he talks' then he might as well eff and blind his way through interviews.

29-08-2021, 08:49 AM
Martindale will be yesterday's news in a few weeks, regardless of how he speaks.

Pish manager who is living off a decent run last season. Everyone talks about the 11 game unbeaten run, the 1 win in 14 league games since is far more relevant.

29-08-2021, 08:57 AM
The thread was about a player taking ill not a criticism of a manager and the way he speaks.

29-08-2021, 09:02 AM
It’s not about talking posh. If you are being interviewed for or are a pundit on national tv or radio it’s just about making yourself clear and able to be understood by a wide audience.
In that regard “spewing up” is clear and well understood!

Everyone watching would have understood that phrase…..people are being accent and grammar snobs

29-08-2021, 09:20 AM

Hope the lads feeling better this morning. All the best Bruce :aok:

29-08-2021, 09:30 AM
The thread was about a player taking ill not a criticism of a manager and the way he speaks.

29-08-2021, 10:01 AM
Interesting thread.
What about another angle.
Hibs fans booing Anderson when he was having a diabetic fit.
Obviously they didn't know but automatically boo an opposition player when he goes down.

29-08-2021, 10:10 AM
Interesting thread.
Obviously they didn't know but automatically boo an opposition player when he goes down.

I think that’s one of those really unfortunate ones where people thought it was time wasting which Livi were very guilty of without realising what had happened.

It doesn’t look good but absolutely no malice in it whatsoever IMO.

Crunchie
29-08-2021, 10:11 AM
Interesting thread.
A few of them went down for no reason at all other than to time waste, the classic cry wold scenario I'd say, can't blame the fans who booed.

29-08-2021, 10:39 AM
I think that’s one of those really unfortunate ones where people thought it was time wasting which Livi were very guilty of without realising what had happened.

It doesn’t look good but absolutely no malice in it whatsoever IMO.

A few of them went down for no reason at all other than to time waste, the classic cry wold scenario I'd say, can't blame the fans who booed.

No malice in it but booing and abuse is an automatic reaction of football fans everywhere to injured opposition players. Fan hypocrasys are interesting.
First reaction is always opposition player is at it if he goes down and if our player goes down it is with good reason and the ball should automatically be put out of play for them to get treatment.
There are of course times when it is obvious players are going down to break up the game like the Rijeka players continually going down in the last quarter of the first leg.

29-08-2021, 10:46 AM
No malice in it but booing and abuse is an automatic reaction of football fans everywhere to injured opposition players.
First reaction is always opposition player is at it if he goes down and if our player goes down it is with good reason and the ball should automatically be put out of play for them to get treatment.
There are of course times when it is obvious players are going down to break up the game like the Rijeka players continually going down in the last quarter of the first leg.
And that won’t change because of this incident and neither should it. The guy took ill and had to go off, he won’t care what the reaction of the crowd was, he’s a football player and he’ll no fine well that players are sometimes at it to waste time and disrupt the game.

JoeT
29-08-2021, 10:52 AM
Hope Bruce is feeling fine today. The heat yesterday won't have helped his sugar levels. Sounds more like a bad hypo rather than a fit or a seizure.

29-08-2021, 11:47 AM
And that won’t change because of this incident and neither should it. The guy took ill and had to go off, he won’t care what the reaction of the crowd was, he’s a football player and he’ll no fine well that players are sometimes at it to waste time and disrupt the game.

I agree but it's always good to identify and discuss partizan supporter hypocrisy

29-08-2021, 12:32 PM
Hope the guy's ok

I don't really understand happened the second time he got the game stopped though, I'm guessing that's when he had the diabetic fit but why did the physio not come on?

Also in spite of his health issues the guy's is a diving barsteward, and a terrible one at that

Tommy75
29-08-2021, 01:38 PM
Shame for the lad, I hope he is OK. No doubt it would have given him and his family a fright.

It seems one or two on here would get along with Lord Jones.

29-08-2021, 02:34 PM
Hope he gets better soon, i wouldn’t lose sleep over the booing though, if you and your team take every opportunity to go down and waste time throughout the match, you can’t complain if everyone thinks you’re at it when it’s genuine.

29-08-2021, 02:52 PM
Martindale will be yesterday's news in a few weeks, regardless of how he speaks.

Pish manager who is living off a decent run last season. Everyone talks about the 11 game unbeaten run, the 1 win in 14 league games since is far more relevant.

He doesn't have his troubles to seek. Livingston are a certain bottom six club this season an they are off to a bad start.

I think there is some mitigation to their start. They genuinely had about 8 fit players yesterday. Subbing off sick players and replacing them with crocked ones. They did well keeping the scoreline respectable.

I don't mind Martindale and would like to see him have a fair crack at keeping Livi up. If he fails with a fully fit squad then fair enough.

Mr. Wonderful
29-08-2021, 03:10 PM
He doesn't have his troubles to seek. Livingston are a certain bottom six club this season an they are off to a bad start.

I think there is some mitigation to their start. They genuinely had about 8 fit players yesterday. Subbing off sick players and replacing them with crocked ones. They did well keeping the scoreline respectable.

I don't mind Martindale and would like to see him have a fair crack at keeping Livi up. If he fails with a fully fit squad then fair enough.

Had a fully fit squad last season and has still gone 20 without a win

29-08-2021, 10:02 PM
Back on track

I hope Bruce Anderson is fully recovered and is able to manage his condition so that he can continue playing. Good luck to the guy