View Full Version : Food kiosk

LustForLeith
28-08-2021, 06:43 PM
I’m sure it’s early days but what’s the craic with the food kiosk? One open in the lower west with four people serving and a queue that mush have been thirty minutes long?

If anything Hibs are losing out on a money making exercise

28-08-2021, 06:48 PM
FF seemed a mess as well.

My bairn wanted a juice at HT. Upper kiosks were closed, went downstairs, took one look at the queue and left. Guys behind me left 5 mins before HT and weren't back in their seats until over 60 minutes played.

Hopefully just a temporary issue.

banchoryhibs
28-08-2021, 06:51 PM
I arrived 20 minutes before kick off, joined the queue to get my match coffee, when I left to go to my seat for kick off I was nowhere near the front. I noticed that the queue at half time was simply enormous - absolutely no chance of being served before the second half started.

The kiosks in the West Upper were closed - surely someone should have had the gumption to ensure that all server positions in the West Lower were open.

We've taken the catering back in house - no excuses then - but a huge improvement is needed for the St Mirren game.

28-08-2021, 07:11 PM
Two weeks in a row my wee girl has wanted a hot dog and they have run out both times in West Lower - once before kick off as well. Got her a sausage roll instead today - they put it straight in the bag so didn't really look at it. Got back to the seat and it was burnt to a crisp , black pastry, rock solid and totally inedible:bitchy: . Couldn't be bothered going back down for a refund, but in a nutshell I wont be back to the kiosks this season.:tsk tsk:

More important things in life of course, I'll just make sure we bring food with us from Greggs or wherever, but is bizarre how bad its been. Seemed better 2 seasons ago, which isn't really saying much!

28-08-2021, 07:12 PM
Think there was info in the pre match about the kiosks being closed in the uppers for this game as they are still getting work done on them

What was difference in the famous five today ? After it being closed

28-08-2021, 07:14 PM
FF seemed a mess as well.

My bairn wanted a juice at HT. Upper kiosks were closed, went downstairs, took one look at the queue and left. Guys behind me left 5 mins before HT and weren't back in their seats until over 60 minutes played.

Hopefully just a temporary issue.

FF Lower was a nightmare.

28-08-2021, 07:27 PM
Shambles. In the west lower there is 8 tills and only 3 serving. Why do I have to miss 10 minutes of the first half in order to be served food? When I finally got to the front I was told that the only food left was pies or chips. It’s really piss poor that this kind of thing is still happening. We should be able to order on an app and food be brought to our seat, this queuing for 20 minutes should be a thing of the past.

28-08-2021, 07:28 PM
On a positive the chips 🍟 offtttt

28-08-2021, 07:40 PM
They were pretty decent to be fair :greengrin

tmb1875
28-08-2021, 07:41 PM
East pretty much the same, ridiculously short staffed. There’s no way people should be queueing 20mins plus to get a drink on a day like today etc. No cash till either. Team on the pitch doing there job fantastically well those off the pitch massively letting the fans down at the moment. Not much hope that it will change either, the club talk a lot about fan experience and engagement but don’t see it.

JXM73
28-08-2021, 07:41 PM

Wee bit of salt they are magic, worth the 20 minute wait and season ticket discount....

28-08-2021, 07:51 PM
East pretty much the same, ridiculously short staffed. There’s no way people should be queueing 20mins plus to get a drink on a day like today etc. No cash till either. Team on the pitch doing there job fantastically well those off the pitch massively letting the fans down at the moment. Not much hope that it will change either, the club talk a lot about fan experience and engagement but don’t see it.

Cash tills? What’s cash bud?

28-08-2021, 07:53 PM

Don’t know about that, but would love to see to see their staffing rotas

28-08-2021, 07:53 PM

We’ve got an American owner, you’d think he’d know a bit about fan experience. We’re only there for about 2 hours and you have to miss a chunk of the game in order to be served food. Personally I wouldn’t bother with the food, but for the kids it’s part of going to the game. It seemed to me that the fans in the west upper were having to come down to the lower in order to get something to eat or drink. Hire staff and get everyone served, it’s not rocket science.

28-08-2021, 07:55 PM
It’s something that the majority of the country still prefer to use.

tmb1875
28-08-2021, 07:55 PM

Fine for most folk to use card or contactless but still plenty people who use cash only, should be catering for all people.

28-08-2021, 07:57 PM
Fine for most folk to use card or contactless but still plenty people who use cash only, should be catering for all people.

You better get used to it I’m afraid. Cash will be a thing of the past sooner than you think.

28-08-2021, 07:59 PM
You better get used to it I’m afraid. Cash will be a thing of the past sooner than you think.
No it won’t.

tmb1875
28-08-2021, 08:01 PM

Na not really. about half my customers prefer paying me in cash and about 1/5 is there only method of paying. So be around for as long as you want it to be. Surely if you want to sell a product you make it as fast and convenient to your customer as possible. As someone said it’s not rocket science.

28-08-2021, 08:02 PM
Didn't use the kiosks today but from the above posts it sounds really poor and needs sorted ASAP. There are 3 weeks until the next home game, surely plenty of time to finish the work being done on the kiosks which were closed. It imperative that all kiosks and all tills are open otherwise people won't bother if they're going to miss the start of the 2nd half.

28-08-2021, 08:04 PM
No it won’t.

Ok well places accepting cash as a payment option will be harder to find. The pandemic has accelerated that for sure. Cash will disappear in the not too distant future.

28-08-2021, 08:05 PM
I went to the kiosk pre match in the North end of the West lower. Thought the queue moved reasonably, and having card payment was a big improvement. My only gripe (and it's very small in the grand scheme of things) was that they have 'Coke/Coke zero' on the menu boards but actually are serving Coke zero/diet Coke. Seems strange that the signs are wrong already.

28-08-2021, 08:07 PM

I'm an Area Manager in retail, our cash v card sales have gone from 65/35% to 25/75% in favour of card in just over a year. Cash wont die but it isnt the preference of the majority and never will be again. Outlets still need to cater for both though, its just throwing sales away otherwise.

LustForLeith
28-08-2021, 08:08 PM
Imagine the scenes with the queues of it had been a Hibs Kids game

28-08-2021, 08:08 PM
Na not really. about half my customers prefer paying me in cash and about 1/5 is there only method of paying. So be around for as long as you want it to be. Surely if you want to sell a product you make it as fast and convenient to your customer as possible. As someone said it’s not rocket science.

Cashless is the fastest and most convenient way.

tmb1875
28-08-2021, 08:09 PM
Aye for those using cashless payment

Juniper Greens
28-08-2021, 08:10 PM
The cashless decision was to make it quicker, however it clearly isn't working quite how it should yet.

28-08-2021, 08:11 PM
Ok well places accepting cash as a payment option will be harder to find. The pandemic has accelerated that for sure. Cash will disappear in the not too distant future.
It won’t. Cash will outlive both of us, it might become rarer but it will still be an option. I’m a taxi driver and the majority of my takings are still cash, the percentage of card payments has increased massively, but it’s still a minority. I’d be quite comfortable if cash was to disappear, but there’s still a lot of people who prefer it or don’t have the means to pay by card.

28-08-2021, 08:11 PM
The cashless decision was to make it quicker, however it clearly isn't working quite how it should yet.

It isn’t the payment part that is slowing it is it? Sounds like it is the lack of staff versus the volume of customers.

28-08-2021, 08:12 PM

Your business is in the minority. I’d be amazed if more than £500 has passed through my wallet in the last 16 months.

28-08-2021, 08:15 PM
Your business is in the minority. I’d be amazed if more than £500 has passed through my wallet in the last 16 months.

Similar, in fact I went to bank machine to put into someone’s collection at work the other day and I can confidently say it might be the first time in last 2 years , tbh can’t mind when I’ve used my card , pretty much always just use Apple Pay on my phone , nice and simple no need to worry

Mikey_1875
28-08-2021, 08:16 PM
Felt sorry for the lad who managed to get to the top of the east only to drop his chips! Was a bit before kick off though so hopefully wasn’t waiting too long for them. Looked good quality and sure the seagulls would’ve enjoyed them afterwards :greengrin

28-08-2021, 08:17 PM
It isn’t the payment part that is slowing it is it? Sounds like it is the lack of staff versus the volume of customers.

For some reason it was one queue in the west lower. It’s just a setup issue not a cash issue.

28-08-2021, 08:17 PM
I'm an Area Manager in retail, our cash v card sales have gone from 65/35% to 25/75% in favour of card in just over a year. Cash wont die but it isnt the preference of the majority and never will be again. Outlets still need to cater for both though, its just throwing sales away otherwise.
June last year was the first time that card payments were equal to cash payments in the uk and a lot of that was due to the pandemic. Personally I prefer to pay by card and it’s great that I can use my phone as well, but there’s still a large amount of people that prefer cash.

28-08-2021, 08:19 PM
It won’t. Cash will outlive both of us, it might become rarer but it will still be an option. I’m a taxi driver and the majority of my takings are still cash, the percentage of card payments has increased massively, but it’s still a minority. I’d be quite comfortable if cash was to disappear, but there’s still a lot of people who prefer it or don’t have the means to pay by card.

I suspect Tam is exposed to the same sort of discussions I am in his job. Banks will be going cashless as soon as they can. It is a time consuming and expensive process for them.

Funny that taxis are about the one place I occasionally have to use cash. Don’t think it is driven by customer preference, it is often not clear or guaranteed that the drivers will take the card or that their machines are working.

Up until recently I was travelling with work all the time. From start to finish across all my interactions taxis were the only place that I frequently hit requests to pay cash or where the signal wouldn’t work to take the card.

28-08-2021, 08:19 PM

Cashless outstrips cash now and has done for a couple of years. The balance is swinging massively towards cashless. Maybe in your private hire cash is still king. That’s not reflected in most other businesses across the land. There’s a bit of a challenge ahead to encourage people who continue to prefer to pay in cash to amend their habits. But it’s an exercise that will gain momentum over the next few years.

tmb1875
28-08-2021, 08:20 PM

Minority of what? That across the board contactless is more popular, yes but my point is that people should have the option that’s all. I’m well aware most folk have the ability to pay contactless.

28-08-2021, 08:25 PM
The Club DID publicise that the kiosks would be 'cashless' ahead of today's game.

28-08-2021, 08:32 PM

I agree with this.

I personally don't mind paying by card but I like having the option of paying with cash and I think the option should be there.

28-08-2021, 08:33 PM
Hopefully just teething problems but Hibs need to sort it out and fast.

bringing the catering in house and improving the quality and selection means it could be a real earner, but that means nothing if people can’t get near the kiosks.

28-08-2021, 08:34 PM
Hibs emailed two days ago pointing out the refurb and also the facts that all kiosks are cashless now. Certainly faster than £10 notes and change.
Cashless was announced aspart of covid measures and will speed up service enormously.

While cash may be a personal preference its hard to think no-one has a debit or credit card these days. The fact there are begger all banks anywhere access to cash is principally via machines or cash back.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

28-08-2021, 08:37 PM
Hopefully just teething problems but Hibs need to sort it out and fast.

bringing the catering in house and improving the quality and selection means it could be a real earner, but that means nothing if people can’t get near the kiosks.

They have a lot of work to do in that area too.......

28-08-2021, 08:52 PM
I suspect Tam is exposed to the same sort of discussions I am in his job. Banks will be going cashless as soon as they can. It is a time consuming and expensive process for them.

Funny that taxis are about the one place I occasionally have to use cash. Don’t think it is driven by customer preference, it is often not clear or guaranteed that the drivers will take the card or that their machines are working.

Up until recently I was travelling with work all the time. From start to finish across all my interactions taxis were the only place that I frequently hit requests to pay cash or where the signal wouldn’t work to take the card.
You can always use your card in my taxi mate. It’s really funny the amount of people that get in and say is your card machine working, I can say without any shadow of doubt that they always work, if they say it’s not working they are most probably lying. In the past some of the chip and pin machines were unreliable, but these days no one uses them, all you need is a card reader.

28-08-2021, 08:59 PM
Cashless outstrips cash now and has done for a couple of years. The balance is swinging massively towards cashless. Maybe in your private hire cash is still king. That’s not reflected in most other businesses across the land. There’s a bit of a challenge ahead to encourage people who continue to prefer to pay in cash to amend their habits. But it’s an exercise that will gain momentum over the next few years.
For starters I am a taxi driver not a private hire driver. While I find myself agreeing with what you’re saying, I find the way you say it pretty disrespectful and a bit insulting.

28-08-2021, 09:00 PM
Definitely staffing issues. Only half the tills were manned. Also noticed Hibs advertising quite a bit on social media and even Indeed looking for staff. Quite a shambles but hopefully the posts will be filled for the next game and with students back on campus i'm sure they will. Also good to see us offering the Living Wage of £9.50 an hour.

davhibby
28-08-2021, 09:00 PM
I agree with this.

I personally don't mind paying by card but I like having the option of paying with cash and I think the option should be there.

In this situation it shouldn’t. Once Hibs get enough staff and stock and use all of the tills as was the case pre covid the queues will be much smaller. Football grounds are unlike most places where the majority of the demand falls in a very short timeframe, so saving the time wasted by the servers faffing around with cash will make a big difference.

I’d also hazard a guess that a lot more people would’ve wanted to buy something but didn’t have cash on them pre covid than people that now won’t be able to buy anything as they only have cash.

28-08-2021, 09:03 PM
You can always use your card in my taxi mate. It’s really funny the amount of people that get in and say is your card machine working, I can say without any shadow of doubt that they always work, if they say it’s not working they are most probably lying. In the past some of the chip and pin machines were unreliable, but these days no one uses them, all you need is a card reader.

Taxi drivers are absolute chancers with the chip and pin machine lets not kid ourselves on. My experience with the black cabs is ask to pay by card and they look at you and treat you as if you've pished all over the back seats. Obviously not all - maybe a generational thing.

monarch
28-08-2021, 09:10 PM
There’s always some right on smart ar*e.
If you’re in business you pander to the customer. The grey pound is still considered considerable currency and cash is still prevalent amongst the older generation. Also those on lower incomes find it easier to budget with cash rather than let their finances run out of control with spend today, pay tomorrow.

Some time in future cash will be obsolete but that moment is not now.

28-08-2021, 09:13 PM
Taxi drivers are absolute chancers with the chip and pin machine lets not kid ourselves on. My experience with the black cabs is ask to pay by card and they look at you and treat you as if you've pished all over the back seats. Obviously not all - maybe a generational thing.
Are all taxi drivers really chancers or are you just making that up? Things have changed massively in the last year or so, it’s gone from waiting a month to be paid for a card payment to having it instantly. Most taxi drivers will happily take your card payment and not be chancers.

28-08-2021, 09:14 PM
I sincerely hope cash isn’t on the way out. There’s still a lot of maroon pounds in circulation that weren’t used last season.

28-08-2021, 09:15 PM
For starters I am a taxi driver not a private hire driver. While I find myself agreeing with what you’re saying, I find the way you say it pretty disrespectful and a bit insulting.

Apologies. I thought you were a private hire driver or maybe used to be.

What did I say that was disrespectful and insulting? The bit about people having to change their habits? It’s a hard fact that it’s going to happen. If someone had told you 15 years ago you’d be struggling to find a bank in any major town or city you’d probably have laughed. There are a handful left now. Cash will go the same way.

28-08-2021, 09:23 PM
There’s always some right on smart ar*e.
If you’re in business you pander to the customer. The grey pound is still considered considerable currency and cash is still prevalent amongst the older generation. Also those on lower incomes find it easier to budget with cash rather than let their finances run out of control with spend today, pay tomorrow.

Some time in future cash will be obsolete but that moment is not now.

The budgeting reason really isn’t really a valid one anymore. Cashless doesn’t mean credit. There’s also excellent budgeting and spending limit tools on most bank or payment apps.

It won’t totally disappear for a while but it will be more and more difficult to transact with cash. Some banks are already discussing becoming cashless and it will be sidelined even beyond the way cheques already are because any remaining branches won’t handle it.

28-08-2021, 09:25 PM
I didn't know the kiosks in the FF upper would be closed and I didn't have time, or the inclination, to go back down to the lower before kick off, probably the first time I've ever been in the ground 10 minutes before kick off and still never got my traditional pie and Bovril.

Hibs need to get a grip on this before the next home game. We have an owner whose background is in American sports and entertainment, like it or not the perception is that in America the experiences being shared on here would be regarded as utterly unacceptable by paying customers in that country and like it or not that is the standard his Hibs is going to be held to when it comes to stuff like this. With a 13 thousand plus crowd in the ground the catering should have been way way better today.

We don't play at home again for 3 weeks .... Get it sorted Hibs.

28-08-2021, 09:33 PM
I didn't know the kiosks in the FF upper would be closed and I didn't have time, or the inclination, to go back down to the lower before kick off, probably the first time I've ever been in the ground 10 minutes before kick off and still never got my traditional pie and Bovril.

Hibs need to get a grip on this before the next home game. We have an owner whose background is in American sports and entertainment, like it or not the perception is that in America the experiences being shared on here would be regarded as utterly unacceptable by paying customers in that country and like it or not that is the standard his Hibs is going to be held to when it comes to stuff like this. With a 13 thousand plus crowd in the ground the catering should have been way way better today.

I usually get a drink before every game. Bit of a superstitious thing more than anything. When I got in today the queues were massive so gave it a swerve. I didn’t bother looking at half-time as suspected it would be carnage so waited until about 55 minutes and the queues were still horrendous. You’re right what you say and I’m surprised this has been allowed to happen on RG’s watch. Toiling to get staff is the only possible thing I can think of.

28-08-2021, 09:55 PM
I usually get a drink before every game. Bit of a superstitious thing more than anything. When I got in today the queues were massive so gave it a swerve. I didn’t bother looking at half-time as suspected it would be carnage so waited until about 55 minutes and the queues were still horrendous. You’re right what you say and I’m surprised this has been allowed to happen on RG’s watch. Toiling to get staff is the only possible thing I can think of.

Whilst I've panned the kiosk experience today, there are extreme labour shortages across the hospitality sector and food and drink sectors in general ( because of Brexit mainly). I remember last full season in 2019 2020 getting served by a few Spaniards - maybe they are also struggling to get people to work there?

28-08-2021, 10:05 PM

If a Charleston Battery fan was to choose to come and watch us, while the atmosphere and ability would be better than what he/she was used to, they'd be penning a letter to Amnesty about our scran arrangements.

28-08-2021, 10:06 PM
If a Charleston Battery fan was to choose to come and watch us, while the atmosphere and ability would be better than what he/she was used to, they'd be penning a letter to Amnesty about our scran arrangements.

28-08-2021, 10:06 PM

I take it we havent introduced the one foot hotdog and pre match BBQ yet then?

28-08-2021, 10:08 PM
I take it we havent introduced the one foot hotdog and pre match BBQ yet then?

Have you seen their scran? I could live on that all week!

mcohibs
28-08-2021, 10:08 PM
Queued 20 mins at half time to get a cup of water. Surely must be fountains or something we can set up or a better arrangement for that kind of thing?

BH1875
28-08-2021, 11:34 PM
My son wanted a juice so went down and the queues were a joke not enough people serving. Missed Nisbet’s goal 🤬 but had a tenner on Nisbet 2-0 so that softened the disappointment 😂 hopefully sort it out for next time

The Baldmans Comb
28-08-2021, 11:44 PM
Nothing ever changes when it comes to food at the kiosks at the football.

Over priced, utter garbage and appalling service and a bunch of total dafties standing in a line for 20 mins to be totally and utterly scammed.

I walk past and just laugh as I have done for the last 30 years as you wouldn't allow this to happen anywhere else in your life but for some reason 3:00pm at the football is acceptable.

Downright weird but if thats what floats your boat then rock on😥

28-08-2021, 11:47 PM
Think there was info in the pre match about the kiosks being closed in the uppers for this game as they are still getting work done on them

What was difference in the famous five today ? After it being closed

The toilets in the FF Upper we’re absolutely stinking.
I’m not sure if someone was dead in a cubicle from a season or two ago, or if someone had been eating rats and dustbins and shat it all up, or the drains were screwed with both of the aforesaid.
Absolutely bogging bogs.

The_Sauz
28-08-2021, 11:53 PM

I think you will find out you are wrong :wink: He said he was more involved with the Spanish media side of things in the US! :agree:

BH1875
28-08-2021, 11:53 PM
My son wanted a juice so went down and the queues were a joke not enough people serving. Missed Nisbet’s goal 🤬 but had a tenner on Nisbet 2-0 so that softened the disappointment 😂 hopefully sort it out for next time

29-08-2021, 12:01 AM

Taxis seem to be the only place I need to have cash on me these days. Tried 5 times on Friday to get a taxi all were cash only. Missing out on a decent bit of money because they won’t take card. Yes there’s card fees but seems to be the only service in Edinburgh at the moment that won’t take card

Hannah_hfc
29-08-2021, 12:17 AM
Whilst I've panned the kiosk experience today, there are extreme labour shortages across the hospitality sector and food and drink sectors in general ( because of Brexit mainly). I remember last full season in 2019 2020 getting served by a few Spaniards - maybe they are also struggling to get people to work there?

Agree completely. I can’t imagine it’s down to Hibs not trying to hire, it’s just a brutal market right now. Might pick up a bit once the unis have started with students needing PT work.

29-08-2021, 12:23 AM
Agree completely. I can’t imagine it’s down to Hibs not trying to hire, it’s just a brutal market right now. Might pick up a bit once the unis have started with students needing PT work.

That said its still completely unnaceptable to pay £3 for a sausage roll that looks like it has been to Chernobyl.:Ummm:

CL0762
29-08-2021, 01:05 AM
Queued ages before the game before me and the wee mans usual pie k coke (I usually get a bovril but it was far too warm for that).

Pies were sub standard that we’ve had for the last few years, and it seemed to take an age to get served. Seen loads of folk coming up the stairs in the east around 60 mins with full scran, never understood missing the game for something but each to their own. H

ozhibs
29-08-2021, 04:02 AM

I saw somewhere on a Hi s Email that they were looking for staff for the kiosks

Crunchie
29-08-2021, 06:43 AM
June last year was the first time that card payments were equal to cash payments in the uk and a lot of that was due to the pandemic. Personally I prefer to pay by card and it’s great that I can use my phone as well, but there’s still a large amount of people that prefer cash.
Cash is king, they'll regret it when it's gone.

29-08-2021, 07:30 AM
I hope the club do read this as it’s not been good enough for years and all with all the recent promotion around the new lions it seems to be not much difference - getting served quickly is one of the most important issues.

Maybe they could introduce barriers or something for better Queue system - having a single Q puts people off.

Lack of staff does seem an issue - surely there are people out there looking for work ?

They should have done the prices on Tv screens and just edit if something is sold out. Not sure how things can sell out before kick off so often?!!

Regarding the toilets - been said before the stadium needs maintenance - again the club should be made aware.

29-08-2021, 08:46 AM
I saw somewhere on a Hi s Email that they were looking for staff for the kiosks

GGTTHYup,they emailed last week... looking for kiosk team members/leaders... £11 odd an hour springs to mind... they clearly are trying to fix the staffing levels but might be in a similar situation to others in the industry.

hibby rae
29-08-2021, 08:50 AM
One thing I'd like to see is free water available. Especially on days like yesterday.

My brother came back with 2 tiny plastic cups filled as they had run out of bigger cups and bottles at the kiosk in the east. Given the heat it lasted about 30 secs 😂

29-08-2021, 08:51 AM

I've hardly used cash in the last 2 years. Luddites be luddites though.

hibby rae
29-08-2021, 08:52 AM
Yup,they emailed last week... looking for kiosk team members/leaders... £11 odd an hour springs to mind... they clearly are trying to fix the staffing levels but might be in a similar situation to others in the industry.

Unis are starting up again in the next couple of weeks so hopefully fill the vacancies quickly.

I wonder if Hibs has been a victim of the shortages many of us have seen in supermarkets etc. as well.

Crunchie
29-08-2021, 08:53 AM
Nothing ever changes when it comes to food at the kiosks at the football.

Over priced, utter garbage and appalling service and a bunch of total dafties standing in a line for 20 mins to be totally and utterly scammed.

I walk past and just laugh as I have done for the last 30 years as you wouldn't allow this to happen anywhere else in your life but for some reason 3:00pm at the football is acceptable.

Downright weird but if thats what floats your boat then rock on😥
I couldn't agree more, back in the day when I was taking 3-5 kids to the games they'd get their sweets and drinks bought before the match and given at HT.

29-08-2021, 09:04 AM
Yup,they emailed last week... looking for kiosk team members/leaders... £11 odd an hour springs to mind... they clearly are trying to fix the staffing levels but might be in a similar situation to others in the industry.

£9.50/hour for service roles, £11.50/hour for managers.

29-08-2021, 09:30 AM

So the rumours of you never buying a round are true? :greengrin

29-08-2021, 09:49 AM

In this case, using cash is throwing away sales. Half time only lasts 15 mins and cash massively slows down the amount of people you can serve. By going cashless the q should move a lot quicker and more people can be sold to.
I wonder if the club are struggling with supply and staffing issue due to brexit? No need for all the kiosks not to be open.

29-08-2021, 10:10 AM
Anything up to 30€ I pay contactless, anything above is with card/pin - I can set the limit I want. I can also pay by phone but, as yet, haven't tried it.

Covid has obviously reduced normal spending habits (pubs, restaurants, etc.) but for years I've withdrawn very little cash and the majority ends up in my daughters' pockets.

hibby rae
29-08-2021, 10:23 AM
In this case, using cash is throwing away sales. Half time only lasts 15 mins and cash massively slows down the amount of people you can serve. By going cashless the q should move a lot quicker and more people can be sold to.
I wonder if the club are struggling with supply and staffing issue due to brexit? No need for all the kiosks not to be open.

Could make most of the stalls card only and have a cash only one as well?

Fuzzywuzzy
29-08-2021, 10:25 AM
Seemed to be training folk on the tills which is a mental time to do it. Pies are still gash

29-08-2021, 10:42 AM
I don’t think I’ve been to any other ground in Scotland where there isn’t a massive half time queue at the kiosks so it’s not unique to Easter Road.
Like others I don't understand why people are happy to spend half time and large chunks of the game standing in a huge line up just to buy over priced and second rate sausage rolls and hot dogs.

29-08-2021, 10:42 AM
When you get told by some ar5ehole steward that you can't take your bottle of water in to the match... which you need for medical reasons... and he tells you you can get water inside, then it's more than a bit disappointing that the only way to get said water is to wait in a 20 min+ queue at a food kiosk.

Not impressed.

29-08-2021, 11:07 AM
When you get told by some ar5ehole steward that you can't take your bottle of water in to the match... which you need for medical reasons... and he tells you you can get water inside, then it's more than a bit disappointing that the only way to get said water is to wait in a 20 min+ queue at a food kiosk.

Not impressed.

Thats not down to the steward though is it. Thats a matter to be taken up with the club as they set the ground rules.

29-08-2021, 11:13 AM
Thats not down to the steward though is it. Thats a matter to be taken up with the club as they set the ground rules.

Yes and no.

The kiosks were a disaster but the Steward was just being a total d1ck.

29-08-2021, 11:17 AM
Yes and no.

Do they have discretion to allow bottles in for medical reasons? If so, you should take it up with the club’s security chief. Bad patter if they’re abusing their “powers”.

29-08-2021, 11:21 AM
No it won’t.

Yes it will I'm afraid. The pandemic has been a perfect excuse to move away from cash sales. That is why the contactless amount is rising to £100 soon.

29-08-2021, 11:22 AM
Do they have discretion to allow bottles in for medical reasons? If so, you should take it up with the club’s security chief. Bad patter if they’re abusing their “powers”.

Yeah mate, that's what I was told previously and I even tried to explain that to him, but he just wouldn't listen.

hibsfan
29-08-2021, 11:31 AM

Cash users in the minority these days!

29-08-2021, 11:36 AM

I think that's largely down to the number of places that stopped taking cash during the pandemic.

I'd be interested to see if that's a permanent thing or if cash sales will take off again.

29-08-2021, 02:51 PM
Yes it will I'm afraid. The pandemic has been a perfect excuse to move away from cash sales. That is why the contactless amount is rising to £100 soon.
What will all the people without bank accounts do? There’s over a million people in the uk without bank accounts. Personally it’s not something that would bother me, but it would be a big problem for some of the most vulnerable in society.

29-08-2021, 02:52 PM
That’s only a very recent thing though and largely due to the pandemic. Last year was the first time in history that card sales were equal to cash sales.

29-08-2021, 02:53 PM
I think that's largely down to the number of places that stopped taking cash during the pandemic.

I'd be interested to see if that's a permanent thing or if cash sales will take off again.

All the pandemic done in that regard is accelerate the phasing out of cash as we move towards a digital cashless society

29-08-2021, 02:55 PM
All the pandemic done in that regard is accelerate the phasing out of cash as we move towards a digital cashless society

Possibly, we'll just have to wait and see.

hibby rae
29-08-2021, 03:07 PM

A guy I worked with went to China and said was completely cashless there.

Even to the extent that folk selling bottles of water at the Great Wall were paid by contactless.

29-08-2021, 03:18 PM

Even to the extent that folk selling bottles of water at the Great Wall were paid by contactless.
It’s so easy to take card payments these days, it only costs around £30 for a card reader. All you need is a smartphone and a reader and you’re good to go. I use the PayPal reader so that I have the money in my account straight away.

29-08-2021, 03:20 PM
Yes and no.

You would think the stewards would have a pile of empty plastic/paper cups to give to fans who have arrived with a bottle so they can pour the liquid in and it doesn’t go to waste. Maybe something for Kieran Power to take to the next meeting?

The Count
29-08-2021, 03:22 PM
Apart from all the hassle getting served and payment in the end of the day was the food better ???

29-08-2021, 03:27 PM
Apart from all the hassle getting served and payment in the end of the day was the food better ???

My Lobster Thermidor was a bit dry but the boy enjoyed his pizza twist thing.

I'm still unsure if there's any difference between an adult and child meal deal mind you (apart from £3)

29-08-2021, 03:36 PM
What will all the people without bank accounts do? There’s over a million people in the uk without bank accounts. Personally it’s not something that would bother me, but it would be a big problem for some of the most vulnerable in society.

Unlikely to be season ticket holders at ER though are they?

Also you can get pre paid debit cards.

And the unbanked will be facing significantly more issues in their life than not being able to get a pie at ER so could probably use their life experience to bring something to the game to eat.

But failing that I’m sure if these most vulnerable people have somehow pitched up at ER and need to pay over the top money for poor food they could always give someone in the queue some cash and politely ask them to pay for something for them.

But in reality it’s not going to be a problem for 99.99% of people and is just reflective of the way these things are going anyway so people had better get used to it!

29-08-2021, 03:48 PM

The only thing better is the chips imo. But the previous chips were like cardboard so thats not a badge of honour.

Getting rid of the half pizzas is a shame too. The new pizza twist thing i got few weeks ago was inedible and overcooked. Not as bad as the pathetic sausage roll yesterday though. :cb

29-08-2021, 04:01 PM
Unlikely to be season ticket holders at ER though are they?

Also you can get pre paid debit cards.

And the unbanked will be facing significantly more issues in their life than not being able to get a pie at ER so could probably use their life experience to bring something to the game to eat.

But failing that I’m sure if these most vulnerable people have somehow pitched up at ER and need to pay over the top money for poor food they could always give someone in the queue some cash and politely ask them to pay for something for them.

But in reality it’s not going to be a problem for 99.99% of people and is just reflective of the way these things are going anyway so people had better get used to it!
I wasn’t talking about buying things from kiosks at Easter Road, I was talking about the possibility of the country going cashless and the problems that would cause.

29-08-2021, 04:04 PM
The only thing better is the chips imo. But the previous chips were like cardboard so thats not a badge of honour.

Getting rid of the half pizzas is a shame too. The new pizza twist thing i got few weeks ago was inedible and overcooked. Not as bad as the pathetic sausage roll yesterday though. :cb

simply not good enough. Needs to be sorted.

29-08-2021, 04:06 PM
I wasn’t talking about buying things from kiosks at Easter Road, I was talking about the possibility of the country going cashless and the problems that would cause.

Ahh got ya.

Well it’s already as good as happened in a few countries so I’m sure it’s manageable but a different conversation for a different forum I suppose [emoji2957]

telford hibbee
29-08-2021, 05:22 PM

Cash no longer accepted at the kiosks as far as I know, card only.

29-08-2021, 10:19 PM

I don't agree with it either. In fact, in my line of work cash is king. Its just that seems to be the way things are going.

30-08-2021, 01:32 PM
Yeah mate, that's what I was told previously and I even tried to explain that to him, but he just wouldn't listen.

To use your own term any ar5ehole can turn up with a bottle claiming a medical issue. Do you carry a note from your quack or like an anti- masker wear a sunflower lanyard?

Works both ways.

G15 Hibs
30-08-2021, 01:38 PM
I've heard murmurs that the Hibee Pie is steak and haggis - can anyone confirm or deny (assuming that anyone managed to get served at all)?

30-08-2021, 01:49 PM
Seemed to be training folk on the tills which is a mental time to do it. Pies are still gash

To be fair to them, they don't have many other options for when to train.

The main issue will more likely be that school leavers these days struggle to count to 10 or follow procedure.

30-08-2021, 01:52 PM

Pre paid contactless cards?

30-08-2021, 02:11 PM
Pre paid contactless cards?

Possibly. I think cash will eventually go, i just don’t think it will be as soon as some think. I think for lots of people cash is completely pointless and for a large number of people it is, but for others it’s still the preferred method of payment. For me personally I only use cash because I’m often still paid that way, if cash payments stop I’d be quite happy and the switch would be seamless. Right now I’m probably 50/50 cash/card payments. If a cashless society was proposed now I think there would be quite a lot of resistance to it.

30-08-2021, 02:13 PM
Possibly. I think cash will eventually go, i just don’t think it will be as soon as some think. I think for lots of people cash is completely pointless and for a large number of people it is, but for others it’s still the preferred method of payment. For me personally I only use cash because I’m often still paid that way, if cash payments stop I’d be quite happy and the switch would be seamless. Right now I’m probably 50/50 cash/card payments. If a cashless society was proposed now I think there would be quite a lot of resistance to it.

My missus prefers to pay with cash and will only use her card if needed. :aok:

30-08-2021, 02:17 PM
My missus prefers to pay with cash and will only use her card if needed. :aok:
She’s not alone, there’s millions of people who prefer cash.

30-08-2021, 02:42 PM

Handling cash costs firms. a lot of time and money. They’ve got used to saving those costs during the pandemic, many will be reluctant to take them back on. We all need to get used to the fact it’s demise has been accelerated. I’ve got comfortable using my card/phone for everything now so am already at the point of not caring if notes and coins were to disappear completely.

30-08-2021, 02:45 PM
Handling cash costs firms. a lot of time and money. They’ve got used to saving those costs during the pandemic, many will be reluctant to take them back on. We all need to get used to the fact it’s demise has been accelerated. I’ve got comfortable using my card/phone for everything now so am already at the point of not caring if notes and coins were to disappear completely.
On the flip side of that it costs small businesses money to take card payments.

30-08-2021, 02:47 PM
On the flip side of that it costs small businesses money to take card payments.

Yeap. But big business will drive this.

30-08-2021, 02:47 PM

And that’s at a place where only a few years back I couldn’t even log on to the BBC!!!
They’ve won the *******s!

30-08-2021, 03:00 PM

Particularly self employed trades people and independent retailers/hospitality venues. Can't think why:greengrin

30-08-2021, 03:03 PM
You would think the stewards would have a pile of empty plastic/paper cups to give to fans who have arrived with a bottle so they can pour the liquid in and it doesn’t go to waste. Maybe something for Kieran Power to take to the next meeting?

Do we even have plastic only bins?

I said they need to do more to encourage fans to recycle and drop less litter around the stadium - which means less litter for seagulls and in the local community.

30-08-2021, 03:11 PM
Particularly self employed trades people and independent retailers/hospitality venues. Can't think why:greengrin
How dare you sir :greengrin

Hibiza
30-08-2021, 03:14 PM
The toilets in the FF Upper we’re absolutely stinking.
I’m not sure if someone was dead in a cubicle from a season or two ago, or if someone had been eating rats and dustbins and shat it all up, or the drains were screwed with both of the aforesaid.
Absolutely bogging bogs.