View Full Version : Boyle has broke a spl record

cam75
28-08-2021, 06:22 PM
Was listening to the radio pre match and they mentioned that if he scored to today he would be the 1st player since the league was formed 8years that a player had scored in the 1st 4 games,what a record to hold and here is hoping that he gets a couple in the next game👍

28-08-2021, 06:28 PM
Such good news that he has signed a new contract !

28-08-2021, 06:29 PM
Worlds sexiest man too*

*I choose not to enter that particular contest this year to give someone else a chance

28-08-2021, 06:37 PM
It's absolutely remarkable that we've managed to retain Martin for so long. One of the best players in Scotland.

28-08-2021, 06:37 PM
I’m not complaining, but I’m amazed that there has been no major transfer offer for Martin Boyle in the last year or so. Still ever improving and on of the best and most dangerous players in the league?

I suppose it’s testament to how the club has grown that we are able to hold onto such a talent for longer than we might have done a decade ago and beyond.

I have absolutely no idea why a championship side haven’t waved £4-5m in front of our noses, he’s clearly strides above this league. I’m very glad they haven’t as he’s a player we will talk about decades down the line.

He’s phenomenal.

28-08-2021, 06:40 PM
Worlds sexiest man too*

*I choose not to enter that particular contest this year to give someone else a chance[emoji848]

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210828/f64d30773886a3f09d67b8fa413fcbeb.jpg

28-08-2021, 06:42 PM
Dundee swapt him for Alex Harris, let that sink in.

28-08-2021, 06:42 PM
[emoji848]

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210828/f64d30773886a3f09d67b8fa413fcbeb.jpg

Get that filth off .net.

Selkirkhibs
28-08-2021, 06:43 PM
I have absolutely no idea why a championship side haven’t waved £4-5m in front of our noses, he’s clearly strides above this league. I’m very glad they haven’t as he’s a player we will talk about decades down the line.

He’s phenomenal.

Totally agree. Martin will be very fondly remembered long after he has departed ER. One of my favourite ever players already.

As you say, he's phenomenal. Different class.

As an aside note. I'm moving down near the border between East Lothian and Berwickshire so will have to change my name to Southernhibs in a couple of months or so.

28-08-2021, 06:48 PM
Totally agree. Martin will be very fondly remembered long after he has departed ER. One of my favourite ever players already.

As you say, he's phenomenal. Different class.

As an aside note. I'm moving down near the border between East Lothian and Berwickshire so will have to change my name to Southernhibs in a couple of months or so.

Good. I thought you were replying to yourself for a second.

Selkirkhibs
28-08-2021, 06:54 PM
Good. I thought you were replying to yourself for a second.

28-08-2021, 08:12 PM

He’s phenomenal.

This is exactly what I think and what it equally amazing is that some Hibs fans still say he’s not that great technically or has no end product.

He’s anything but a one trick pony, he can jink inside and outside, has great awareness and has brilliant skill.

I’ve no idea why clubs aren’t banging our door down.

28-08-2021, 08:52 PM
This is exactly what I think and what it equally amazing is that some Hibs fans still say he’s not that great technically or has no end product.

He’s anything but a one trick pony, he can jink inside and outside, has great awareness and has brilliant skill.

I’ve no idea why clubs aren’t banging our door down.IMO it's unusual for a player to develop & improve so much in his mid to late 20s.

He was 22 when he first came to us but it was a couple of years before he became a first pick. What was it he said last week? - he was like a speedboat without a driver - which summed him up perfectly.

Since then he's added so much to his game and now keeps a far cooler head when it comes to finishing, which in turn has increased his options. For example I don't think he'd have scored today's goal 3-4 years ago (if that makes sense).

I also suspect he's almost as important to us off the pitch as on it. Personalities like that are often the glue that can bond a group and make them feel like they're part of something special. There's also his hyperactive, up-beat side which, although it might sometimes get on folks' nerves, will definitely also rub off on them.

Characters like Boyle also bring the fans closer to the team. We need that or everything becomes too sterile - it's even better when the bampot(s) can play a bit.

Long may it continue.

28-08-2021, 09:09 PM
Martin Boyle was sensational today , he's actually faster now ! Unplayable

Juniper Greens
28-08-2021, 09:25 PM
Time to get him on a longer deal?! 🤣

28-08-2021, 09:28 PM

Boyle has a very, very good first touch imo. One of the best in the squad. You rarely see him miscontrol a pass.

Like you said, I just don’t understand why nobody seems to be desperate to buy him but I’m not complaining.

I reckon he’ll break 20 goals this season comfortably.

28-08-2021, 09:59 PM

He’s phenomenal.

Absolutely.

Mental that no one (Aberdeen don’t count) has tried to buy him. A rare breed of player that you would think would have many a manager rather keen to add it their squad.

But its delightful no one has and long may that continue!

28-08-2021, 10:07 PM
Was listening to the radio pre match and they mentioned that if he scored to today he would be the 1st player since the league was formed 8years that a player had scored in the 1st 4 games,what a record to hold and here is hoping that he gets a couple in the next game[emoji106]

It’s also incorrect unfortunately.

Scott Sinclair scored in celtics opening 6 league games in 2016/17

Mr. Wonderful
28-08-2021, 10:13 PM
IMO it's unusual for a player to develop & improve so much in his mid to late 20s.

He was 22 when he first came to us but it was a couple of years before he became a first pick. What was it he said last week? - he was like a speedboat without a driver - which summed him up perfectly.

Since then he's added so much to his game and now keeps a far cooler head when it comes to finishing, which in turn has increased his options. For example I don't think he'd have scored today's goal 3-4 years ago (if that makes sense).

I also suspect he's almost as important to us off the pitch as on it. Personalities like that are often the glue that can bond a group and make them feel like they're part of something special. There's also his hyperactive, up-beat side which, although it might sometimes get on folks' nerves, will definitely also rub off on them.

Characters like Boyle also bring the fans closer to the team. We need that or everything becomes too sterile - it's even better when the bampot(s) can play a bit.

Long may it continue.

I think he's improved his touch a lot but the rest of his game was always there, it was just about him maturing, learning more positionally and really believing in himself.

The_Sauz
28-08-2021, 11:28 PM
And to think Alex McLeish (Scotland manager 2nd time around) told him he was not what Scotland needed! :faf:
No wonder he can't get a job in football :brickwall

29-08-2021, 12:06 AM
And to think Alex McLeish (Scotland manager 2nd time around) told him he was not what Scotland needed! :faf:
No wonder he can't get a job in football :brickwall

I'm no McLeish fan, but in fairness to him the improvement in MB over the last few years has been incredible. At times he is completely unplayable.

The most important player in the Hibs team by a mile. If he's on it, we win.

Bridge hibs
29-08-2021, 07:48 AM
It's absolutely remarkable that we've managed to retain Martin for so long. One of the best players in Scotland.Saw his finish on tv this morning, classy, he just doesnt have pace he is also turning into a very accomplished finisher too. Very surprised that no big club have chapped our door enquiring about him, Im glad they havent btw

29-08-2021, 07:49 AM
Does anyone know if he’s away with Australia in the international break?

29-08-2021, 07:50 AM
Does anyone know if he’s away with Australia in the international break?He's certainly been called up.

29-08-2021, 07:57 AM
He's certainly been called up.

Just read, Australia are playing China in Doha on Thursday 2nd Sept, and away in Vietnam on Tuesday 7th Sept.
Thankfully the Derby is on the Sunday

29-08-2021, 08:16 AM
Boyle has a very, very good first touch imo. One of the best in the squad. You rarely see him miscontrol a pass.

Like you said, I just don’t understand why nobody seems to be desperate to buy him but I’m not complaining.

I reckon he’ll break 20 goals this season comfortably.

Strangely enough I think there was (unusually) a slight bad touch with his goal yesterday which actually took him away from the defender & helped make his mind up about going for goal. The finish was exquisite however & we're privileged to have him at ER

29-08-2021, 08:29 AM

Probably the same folk that thought SJM wisnae worth 5 mill?
To be honest, Boyle done my nut in at times and I didnae think he was any good, what a mistaka to maka

hibby rae
29-08-2021, 08:33 AM
Absolutely.

Mental that no one (Aberdeen don’t count) has tried to buy him. A rare breed of player that you would think would have many a manager rather keen to add it their squad.

But its delightful no one has and long may that continue!

I think a lot of it is down to several factors and the stars have kind of alligned.

His age means there would be probably not be much sell-on value. He's obviously very settled here, and his wife plays for us too. Also, the pandemic may have played a part, clubs tightening their belts for a while alongside players looking for a greater guarantee of certainty in an uncertain world. There are probably other reasons too.

The last reason is probably why Marciano stayed another year too.

Although there has been interest apparently before, Alan Temple said on a Terrace patreon podcast that Celtic did cobtact Hibs in the past, though no formal bid was made.

29-08-2021, 08:35 AM
Just read, Australia are playing China in Doha on Thursday 2nd Sept, and away in Vietnam on Tuesday 7th Sept.
Thankfully the Derby is on the Sunday

Aye..only 1 Oz based player in the depleted squad…will be a tough gig.

Oz quarantine restrictions mean they would be holed up at a hotel for 2 weeks after their return, so home players not picked

China game is actually a ‘home’ game for Oz which they had to move, again because of quarantine restrictions the Chinese side would have had to face…plus the Covid scene in general

Mr. Wonderful
29-08-2021, 08:36 AM
It’s also incorrect unfortunately.

Scott Sinclair scored in celtics opening 6 league games in 2016/17

Non OF?

29-08-2021, 11:01 AM
Probably the same folk that thought SJM wisnae worth 5 mill?
To be honest, Boyle done my nut in at times and I didnae think he was any good, what a mistaka to maka

Funnily enough I used to sit close to where the scouts would sit in the West Upper and almost every week I used to query what it was they WEREN’T seeing in SJM and why we didn’t have a big auction going on … which was probably what eventually cost us the chance of £5 million or whatever.

Boyle - equally as baffling. Levels above most of the opposition most weeks. Blatantly capable of playing and causing damage at a higher lecel. Pace, productivity and skill are normally premium qualities.

29-08-2021, 11:05 AM
Funnily enough I used to sit close to where the scouts would sit in the West Upper and almost every week I used to query what it was they WEREN’T seeing in SJM and why we didn’t have a big auction going on … which was probably what eventually cost us the chance of £5 million or whatever.

Boyle - equally as baffling. Levels above most of the opposition most weeks. Blatantly capable of playing and causing damage at a higher lecel. Pace, productivity and skill are normally premium qualities.

Maybe they've enquired but Boyle has said his family are happy and settled? Only thing that really makes sense of it tbh.

29-08-2021, 11:11 AM
Let's just be happy our Starman loves Hibs as much as we love him - I'm hopeful he will finish his career with us and get a much deserved testimonial

29-08-2021, 11:20 AM
TBF, his crossing is a bit questionable at times.

29-08-2021, 12:42 PM
He was ridiculous yesterday, glided past their defenders effortlessly time and time again