View Full Version : Parking at home games

supershotmo
25-08-2021, 07:38 PM
I'm going to start taking my car to the home games. Where is the best places to park your car?

25-08-2021, 07:46 PM
I'm going to start taking my car to the home games. Where is the best places to park your car?

Depends where you coming from/going to and what stand you are in

supershotmo
25-08-2021, 07:49 PM
Depends where you coming from/going to and what stand you are in

Coming from West Side and in the FF.

hibee1875
25-08-2021, 07:50 PM

Until the roadworks for the trams are away you’ll struggle with the traffic. Best getting a bus/tram in till that all goes away

25-08-2021, 07:51 PM

We tend to park on Lochend Road - or in one of the side streets around there!

25-08-2021, 07:53 PM
Can you still cut through from Sainsbury’s?

supershotmo
25-08-2021, 07:56 PM
We tend to park on Lochend Road - or in one of the side streets around there!

Cheers. Was thinking about Leith Links then head towards Portobello to get on the bypass back home.

Fuzzywuzzy
25-08-2021, 07:57 PM
I normally park in Jane street 10 min walk or so.

25-08-2021, 07:58 PM
Can you still cut through from Sainsbury’s?

Yes now more substantial path.

25-08-2021, 08:01 PM
Bit of a pain holyrood park closed to traffic both Saturday and Sunday now as used to come from west via west approach then cowgate through park.

supershotmo
25-08-2021, 08:02 PM
Bit of a pain holyrood park closed to traffic both Saturday and Sunday now as used to come from west via west approach then cowgate through park.

Can't cut through Grassmarket either now.

25-08-2021, 08:36 PM
Yes now more substantial path.

Cheers.

Forgot the park was closed on a Saturday.

25-08-2021, 08:38 PM

Yep nightmare

Green Man
25-08-2021, 08:52 PM
I’m coming from the west on Saturday and just going to park at Ingliston and get the tram. Trying to drive and park around Easter Road is a pain at the best of times, but with the roadworks on Leith Walk I don’t fancy it at all.

25-08-2021, 08:53 PM
I normally park in Jane street 10 min walk or so.

Coming in from Bonnington end presumably?

Dumfrieshibs
25-08-2021, 08:55 PM
Used to park on Leith Links but tried to get parked facing out towards Portobello to save a bit of hassle after the game . By the time we walked down to the car a lot of the traffic was gone

25-08-2021, 08:55 PM
I know a great place to park, but its taken years of trial and error, and If I reveal where it is then it will likely no longer be a great place to park. :devil:

25-08-2021, 09:02 PM
Ron’s Helipad opposite the Big Screens

25-08-2021, 09:07 PM
I think that you can park on London Road near Meadowbank after 1.30 on a Saturday. You can then cut through at Sainsbury's.

25-08-2021, 09:31 PM
I know a great place to park, but its taken years of trial and error, and If I reveal where it is then it will likely no longer be a great place to park. :devil:

I have no idea who you are, but I wonder if you're the guy that parks in that space I never would have thought of, which is a brilliant place to park?

25-08-2021, 09:33 PM
I have no idea who you are, but I wonder if you're the guy that parks in that space I never would have thought of, which is a brilliant place to park?

Naa that’s me [emoji12]

25-08-2021, 09:35 PM
Am I imagining things or did I hear that they have started ticketing cars on Saturdays now?

25-08-2021, 09:46 PM
I’m coming from the west on Saturday and just going to park at Ingliston and get the tram. Trying to drive and park around Easter Road is a pain at the best of times, but with the roadworks on Leith Walk I don’t fancy it at all.If you havent travelled from there on the tram it'll take you about 40 mins either way to York Place. Traffic can make it longer. Getting the tram at Saughton House on Broomhouse road halfs that time easily and is about another 5 minute drive. ( caveat - no idea if theres road or cabling works in the district)

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk

25-08-2021, 09:47 PM
Am I imagining things or did I hear that they have started ticketing cars on Saturdays now?No. Sundays too.

25-08-2021, 09:50 PM
Am I imagining things or did I hear that they have started ticketing cars on Saturdays now?

Depends what you mean?

Central parking zones (George St etc ) have always operated on a Saturday and if you park in the zone you will get a ticket.

Those 4 central zones now include some Sunday hours too.

All outer zones (mine, for example is S1 - Grange / Marchmont / bits of Bruntsfield) are 8.30 Mon to 5.30 Fri only. Outside those times anyone can park.

25-08-2021, 09:54 PM
Just park in the retail park Sainsburys. 4hrs free

25-08-2021, 10:18 PM

:hilarious You've hit the nail on the head. Honestly though, it is a tremendous spot :smug:

Green Man
25-08-2021, 10:36 PM
If you havent travelled from there on the tram it'll take you about 40 mins either way to York Place. Traffic can make it longer. Getting the tram at Saughton House on Broomhouse road halfs that time easily and is about another 5 minute drive. ( caveat - no idea if theres road or cabling works in the district)

We do it fairly regularly, it can be quite slow but not too bad, plus the P&R is only 10 minutes from home and always plenty of spaces though. Thanks for the suggestion though, worth a try if we find the tram is taking too long.

25-08-2021, 11:22 PM

You can still get through the park, from Cowgate to the Scottish Parliament is still open just can’t go any further into park.

St.Kristopher
25-08-2021, 11:59 PM
You can still get through the park, from Cowgate to the Scottish Parliament is still open just can’t go any further into park.

So can you get round the back of dynamic earth and past Hollywood. Then head under the bridge?

26-08-2021, 12:06 AM
So can you get round the back of dynamic earth and past Hollywood. Then head under the bridge?

Yeah can still do that.

St.Kristopher
26-08-2021, 12:08 AM
Yeah can still do that.

👍🏻

26-08-2021, 04:49 AM

Might take you a wee while though 😉

26-08-2021, 05:40 AM

Yes that bit gets commonly gridlocked though and parking Abbeyhill can be difficult.

Fuzzywuzzy
26-08-2021, 05:46 AM
Coming in from Bonnington end presumably?

Yeah, I'd normally come ferry road or lower granton. Lower granton is closed just now and ferry road mental with traffic

26-08-2021, 08:09 AM
I think that you can park on London Road near Meadowbank after 1.30 on a Saturday. You can then cut through at Sainsbury's.
Any charge for London Road Brunswick Street end?

26-08-2021, 08:16 AM
Most of the streets round Hawkhill and Alemoor are now residents only parking which is a bummer.

Fuzzywuzzy
26-08-2021, 08:21 AM
If they weren't working on Leith walk plenty of parking behind the row where the Leith depot is as all the units are closed

26-08-2021, 10:56 AM
Any charge for London Road Brunswick Street end?Used to be P&D and free Sat Sun. Last used it in 2019 though...

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

26-08-2021, 11:05 AM
Cheers. Was thinking about Leith Links then head towards Portobello to get on the bypass back home.

Great parking in housing estate opposite the tun pub in lochend. 5 mins walk to game ( North stand area).

26-08-2021, 11:06 AM
Any charge for London Road Brunswick Street end?

A fair chunk of that end of London Road is coned off for the beloved spaces for people bike lanes. The parking bays have been removed city bound.

Juniper Greens
26-08-2021, 12:37 PM
A fair chunk of that end of London Road is coned off for the beloved spaces for people bike lanes. The parking bays have been removed city bound.

Good news for the cyclists.

26-08-2021, 12:55 PM
I gave up driving to Easter Road years ago. The clincher was closing Holyrood Park on Saturdays added to the tram works making it a very long way around. With Cowgate closed during the Festival it has become next to impossible.

It’s not that easy on the bus either with Leith Walk being closed northbound. That means getting off at Elm Row and walking through.

For the Killie match I needed a sharp getaway so went by motorbike. It is a nightmare to get to Easter Road from Bruntsfield at the moment with all the closures. I ended up travelling via Cameron Toll and Duddingston. Coming back I went via Hollyrood and the Pleasance and that was a bit quicker but by no means ideal.

26-08-2021, 01:07 PM

The Council has taken advantage of the situation over the last 18 months and pushed through a lot of stuff they wouldn't have done previously. I was driving round and round in circles in Cluny yesterday, it's mental what they've done in there.

Nanny state bampots.

26-08-2021, 02:35 PM
The Council has taken advantage of the situation over the last 18 months and pushed through a lot of stuff they wouldn't have done previously. I was driving round and round in circles in Cluny yesterday, it's mental what they've done in there.

Nanny state bampots.
Couldn't agree more. How it helps the environment by making cars sit in traffic spewing fumes I don't know. Not all of us want to get on a bike.

26-08-2021, 02:40 PM
I gave up driving to Easter Road years ago. The clincher was closing Holyrood Park on Saturdays added to the tram works making it a very long way around. With Cowgate closed during the Festival it has become next to impossible.

It’s not that easy on the bus either with Leith Walk being closed northbound. That means getting off at Elm Row and walking through.

For the Killie match I needed a sharp getaway so went by motorbike. It is a nightmare to get to Easter Road from Bruntsfield at the moment with all the closures. I ended up travelling via Cameron Toll and Duddingston. Coming back I went via Hollyrood and the Pleasance and that was a bit quicker but by no means ideal.

Most of the buses now go down Easter Road, surely better staying on board until then.

EI255
26-08-2021, 03:03 PM
Can you still cut through from Sainsbury’s?I used to park in Sainsburys car park. You get 2 hours, just be mindful of that.

You can always try Lower London Road and Abbeyhill too. Not all of it is zonal on a Saturday.

26-08-2021, 03:37 PM
I used to park in Sainsburys car park. You get 2 hours, just be mindful of that.

You can always try Lower London Road and Abbeyhill too. Not all of it is zonal on a Saturday.

Have they reduced the time? It used to be 4 hours (presumably cos the bingo lasts more then 2 hours?)

skyehibee
26-08-2021, 03:40 PM
Are trains running fine on Saturday? No strikes? Coming from Musselburgh way, planning just taking the train and walking from Waverley.

Renfrew_Hibby
26-08-2021, 03:48 PM
Great parking in housing estate opposite the tun pub in lochend. 5 mins walk to game ( North stand area).

That's where I head. Don't live in Edinburgh and haven't been to a game in 18 months. Hope there has been no changes to the area I to go on Saturday

26-08-2021, 04:00 PM
Most of the streets round Hawkhill and Alemoor are now residents only parking which is a bummer.

Since when? Can't say I've noticed and I walk round that area regularly

ACLeith
26-08-2021, 04:09 PM
Couldn't agree more. How it helps the environment by making cars sit in traffic spewing fumes I don't know. Not all of us want to get on a bike.

I asked that very question of the Green Councillor for Leith last Christmas, still waiting on a reply. I might ask my wife to write telling him he is doing a great job (she doesn't think that BTW) I bet he replies to that.

26-08-2021, 04:43 PM
Are trains running fine on Saturday? No strikes? Coming from Musselburgh way, planning just taking the train and walking from Waverley.

You'll be fine, it's only Sundays where there's a problem.

mcohibs
26-08-2021, 05:19 PM

Depends what hours its enforced between. I used to stay on Hillside St off London Road and it was permit holders only parking Mon-Fri. Outwith those hours, anyone can park in one of the permit spaces, which I'm not sure most people know. There used to be loads of free spaces on match days

26-08-2021, 05:20 PM
That's where I head. Don't live in Edinburgh and haven't been to a game in 18 months. Hope there has been no changes to the area I to go on Saturday

No changes whatsoever. I drive in from Dunbar past L
Kinnaird park on A1. At kings rd Portobello turn left them immediately right through hawkhill area, load of free parking there, however, have parked in estate opposite the Tun pub, for years & park near health centre. Only 5 min to ff/ East stands.

26-08-2021, 05:34 PM
Have they reduced the time? It used to be 4 hours (presumably cos the bingo lasts more then 2 hours?)

I work there and its been 4 hours for years but i will check again as they are building a costa coffee drive through so may have changed hours

26-08-2021, 06:18 PM
Depends what hours its enforced between. I used to stay on Hillside St off London Road and it was permit holders only parking Mon-Fri. Outwith those hours, anyone can park in one of the permit spaces, which I'm not sure most people know. There used to be loads of free spaces on match days

Theres no permit holders or anything at Alemoor and I'm sure there's none at Hawkhill either. Walked through today to have a look

26-08-2021, 06:22 PM
Theres no permit holders or anything at Alemoor and I'm sure there's none at Hawkhill either. Walked through today to have a look

None at Hawkhill as far as I know.

There are new bins which take up quite a few parking spaces in Hawkhill and Lochend area.

26-08-2021, 07:28 PM
No changes whatsoever. I drive in from Dunbar past L
Kinnaird park on A1. At kings rd Portobello turn left them immediately right through hawkhill area, load of free parking there, however, have parked in estate opposite the Tun pub, for years & park near health centre. Only 5 min to ff/ East stands.

Sorry, but where’s this Tun pub you mention? Nothing by that name in Lochend. The Mash Tun is on Easter Road though. Is it the Tor you mean?

And if you turn right past Kings Road, you’re into Craigentinny. Hawkhill’s right next to the ground on the approach towards the East.

26-08-2021, 08:50 PM
Sorry, but where’s this Tun pub you mention? Nothing by that name in Lochend. The Mash Tun is on Easter Road though. Is it the Tor you mean?

And if you turn right past Kings Road, you’re into Craigentinny. Hawkhill’s right next to the ground on the approach towards the East.

Bloody computer, yes it is indeed the Tor I mean. Thanks for pointing that out.

26-08-2021, 09:24 PM
Most of the buses now go down Easter Road, surely better staying on board until then.
Not the 7, 11 and 16 from Bruntsfield which seem to go the other way around the road works. I haven’t checked the 15 bus route but they seem to be infrequent on Saturdays.

26-08-2021, 09:27 PM
Not the 7, 11 and 16 from Bruntsfield which seem to go the other way around the road works. I haven’t checked the 15 bus route but they seem to be infrequent on Saturdays.

The 7 and the 16 do, the 11 goes down Annandale Street.

EI255
27-08-2021, 01:27 PM
Have they reduced the time? It used to be 4 hours (presumably cos the bingo lasts more then 2 hours?)Here right now. You are spot on. It is indeed 4 hour maximum stay. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210827/d18737372b883460bfafb1e283556258.jpg

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

27-08-2021, 01:51 PM
Definitely worth parking and walking around 10-15 mins to games rather than trying to get really close. With the road closures and tram works etc not worth the hassle.

Will be interesting once they open the new McDonald Road tram stop how many get the tram to games.

27-08-2021, 02:07 PM
Here right now. You are spot on. It is indeed 4 hour maximum stay. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210827/d18737372b883460bfafb1e283556258.jpg

Cheers mate

27-08-2021, 02:12 PM
I think Edinburgh needs some kind of combined transport card that means you can get on a combination of public transports without paying through the nose for short journeys on each one.

I.E. getting a train and then a short bus for a few stops could be feasible for lots of folk if it wasn't so expensive to do so. I'm all for reducing the amount of folk needlessly driving around in separate cars to help the environment but there has to be a reasonable alternative for most folks.

I'm happy to get a train and walk from Waverley but not most folk will be and that's understandable

27-08-2021, 02:19 PM
Definitely worth parking and walking around 10-15 mins to games rather than trying to get really close. With the road closures and tram works etc not worth the hassle.

Will be interesting once they open the new McDonald Road tram stop how many get the tram to games.

I used to go up early so I could get close and then just nip into "Behind the Goals". I don't think it's open just yet tho

27-08-2021, 02:19 PM
Nae wonder residents cannae get a space.

27-08-2021, 02:24 PM
Not telling.

27-08-2021, 02:27 PM
The 7 and the 16 do, the 11 goes down Annandale Street.
Well I took a 7 or 16 to the Arsenal match and it went up McDonald Road and it seemed to be heading away from the stadium along Bonnington Road. I jumped off and had a very long walk along Pilrig Street to the ground. It’s no problem getting back as they do use Leith Walk southbound.

ACLeith
27-08-2021, 07:04 PM
For those coming from West of the city, lower Granton Road closed, temp lights near bottom of Ferry Road, no access to
Leith Walk from Pilrig Street, avoid foot of leith walk like the plague. Other than that plain sailing, good luck!

28-08-2021, 09:51 AM
Well I took a 7 or 16 to the Arsenal match and it went up McDonald Road and it seemed to be heading away from the stadium along Bonnington Road. I jumped off and had a very long walk along Pilrig Street to the ground. It’s no problem getting back as they do use Leith Walk southbound.

www.lothianbuses.com/live-travel-info/service-update/?alert_id=c687bf4c3bd0e9168030b487a8232811

28-08-2021, 10:43 AM
I work there and its been 4 hours for years but i will check again as they are building a costa coffee drive through so may have changed hours
Oh is that what they're building? I wondered what was going to be there.

h1bs4life
28-08-2021, 11:13 AM
Been at all competitive home games , travelling in from D Mains area .
Getting parked is a nightmare with all the work taking place on Leith Walk . Jane street is not a bad shout although closed at Leith Walk you can get in via Bonnington Road plenty of parking.
Things have changed since 1st game Pilrig street now closed and I think you can get onto Leith Walk via McDonald road but not the other way about.
If you are coming in from same way stay this side of Leith Walk if you cross it and try to park between the Walk and Easter Road it is an absolute nightmare to get back , will take for ever to get out.

28-08-2021, 11:28 AM
Bloody computer, yes it is indeed the Tor I mean. Thanks for pointing that out.

As I posted earlier nearly all that scheme is residents only now.

28-08-2021, 01:02 PM

Is that Alemoor? Don’t think there’s any exclusive residents only parking there. Unless they put it in during the week.

28-08-2021, 01:15 PM
Is that Alemoor? Don’t think there’s any exclusive residents only parking there. Unless they put it in during the week.

Lots of places stick up “Residents Parking Only” but unless it’s backed by some kind of permit scheme, it means diddly squat. How is any enforcing agency supposed to know if a car belongs to a home owner or some random

28-08-2021, 01:52 PM
Lots of places stick up “Residents Parking Only” but unless it’s backed by some kind of permit scheme, it means diddly squat. How is any enforcing agency supposed to know if a car belongs to a home owner or some randomBe aware though, my work have some properties in that situation we have to register the reg numbers, I believe the parking company just scan all the numbers as they walk/drive past.

28-08-2021, 05:05 PM

It's not. There's signs saying residents parking only but they are there to deter people. Theres no enforcement. My uncle lives in the street and I've parked outside his house before home games loads of times

28-08-2021, 09:24 PM
It's not. There's signs saying residents parking only but they are there to deter people. Theres no enforcement. My uncle lives in the street and I've parked outside his house before home games loads of times

Right. I spoke to a local the other week who said there was enforcement so I moved my car, wasn't going to risk it. The signs got put up some time between the last game with fans and the beginning of this season.

28-08-2021, 10:01 PM
Right. I spoke to a local the other week who said there was enforcement so I moved my car, wasn't going to risk it. The signs got put up some time between the last game with fans and the beginning of this season.

An angry local said that to me once in that same estate. But they were at it. Its amazing how angry people get when people park in front of their house.

Football has been played at Easter Road since 1893 so anyone buying a house in that estate might have figured out that there might be a few folk parking there on match day:greengrin

28-08-2021, 10:40 PM
An angry local said that to me once in that same estate. But they were at it. Its amazing how angry people get when people park in front of their house.

Football has been played at Easter Road since 1893 so anyone buying a house in that estate might have figured out that there might be a few folk parking there on match day:greengrin

People park in front of my house every day but I don't own the street so just have to accept it.
I presume the angry people you are talking about own the street or do they just think they do.

28-08-2021, 10:46 PM
People park in front of my house every day but I don't own the street so just have to accept it.
I presume the angry people you are talking about own the street or do they just think they do.

:agree: Its strange

28-08-2021, 10:49 PM
The traffic, roadworks and road closures today were off the scale. And wow, great idea shutting Holyrood park 🤬🤬🤬

28-08-2021, 10:50 PM
Nae wonder residents cannae get a space.
Not down to me betty, I park in the medical centre car park, centre closed at weekends. lol

28-08-2021, 10:56 PM
:agree: Its strange

In all seriousness I can't see how folk parking outside your house for a couple of hours 20 times a year is such a big deal unless they are dicks and block your driveway.

29-08-2021, 09:07 AM
If it's on street parking, then fair enough.

But the grounds of a residential development are normally private property owned by the residents and the parking places are usually allocated, so parking there is the equivalent of parking in someone's driveway.

29-08-2021, 09:17 AM
It might help if Hibs had a tie up with Lothian buses, if you have a match/season ticket you could travel to and from ER for free? May also help reduce congestion on the roads.

29-08-2021, 09:29 AM
It might help if Hibs had a tie up with Lothian buses, if you have a match/season ticket you could travel to and from ER for free? May also help reduce congestion on the roads.

This is actually another good idea.

If Hibs want more greenest club credentials then have pick up points around Edinburgh and fans can get reduced rate bus fares or even free bus to the games in return for some sponsorship at stadium.

I know they have done this at major tournaments and worked out really well - surely couldn’t be that hard to organise.

29-08-2021, 10:16 AM
It might help if Hibs had a tie up with Lothian buses, if you have a match/season ticket you could travel to and from ER for free? May also help reduce congestion on the roads.If you're a Hibs fan over 60 you can already travel on the buses for free. :na na:

29-08-2021, 10:19 AM
I know it’s not parking, but they need to do something with York Place, eastbound
Right hand lane, then you’re in the left hand lane, then depending where you’re going, could be back on the right hand lane
And you also get stuck behind a bus on the left, if you are heading to Leith

nlandsafchibee
29-08-2021, 11:02 AM
Here right now. You are spot on. It is indeed 4 hour maximum stay. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210827/d18737372b883460bfafb1e283556258.jpg

Thank you for confirming this option .We drove up from Middle Northumberland yesterday and used this car park .Ideal little walk to ground .A tip is too not park too far in the park away from the exit .We parked away in the corner next to KFC and took 2o mins to get out and very close to expiry time . There was plenty of spaces when we parked at 1.25 pm

29-08-2021, 11:14 AM
I know it’s not parking, but they need to do something with York Place, eastbound
Right hand lane, then you’re in the left hand lane, then depending where you’re going, could be back on the right hand lane
And you also get stuck behind a bus on the left, if you are heading to Leith

They’ve spent millions redeveloping that junction and it is pretty confusing if you’re not used to it.

29-08-2021, 11:35 AM
Thank you for confirming this option .We drove up from Middle Northumberland yesterday and used this car park .Ideal little walk to ground .A tip is too not park too far in the park away from the exit .We parked away in the corner next to KFC and took 2o mins to get out and very close to expiry time . There was plenty of spaces when we parked at 1.25 pm

Even better if you park on London Road outside. No restrictions after 1.30 and the bus lanes are not in operation.

29-08-2021, 11:56 AM

Aye there’s a few good spots for a quick(er) exit. Not telling you where they are though. :hilarious

29-08-2021, 03:31 PM
Having got the heads up from my brother about an accident on the M8 and the snails pace on the bypass I got the tram in.

On at Ingliston at half one and in the ground just after half two.

Got back to the tram stop about quarter past six.

Might become a more regular option

29-08-2021, 05:24 PM
Slightly longer walk to Portobello Road or Willowbrae and you could been well on your way home by that time.

SerenityGreen
29-08-2021, 09:16 PM
I parked in my usual place, behind the flats in Easter Road, just opposite Albion Road. Been parking there for few years as do many others. Got back to my car after the game to be met with a parking ticket. Haven't read the ticket in full yet but it was for parking without a relevant permit. I must admit I didn't notice any signage stating anything and when I think about it now, it was fairly quiet but I just put that down to me arriving early.

29-08-2021, 11:03 PM
I parked in my usual place, behind the flats in Easter Road, just opposite Albion Road. Been parking there for few years as do many others. Got back to my car after the game to be met with a parking ticket. Haven't read the ticket in full yet but it was for parking without a relevant permit. I must admit I didn't notice any signage stating anything and when I think about it now, it was fairly quiet but I just put that down to me arriving early.

The ticket won't be enforcable.

SerenityGreen
30-08-2021, 06:00 AM

Yes, I've had parking tickets before from store car parks that I have rightly ignored however this one I was not so sure about. It was in official yellow wrapper but having not had a real parking ticket from council in a very long time I do not know if it was from them. Like I said I will look in more detail and decide.

30-08-2021, 06:30 AM
Yes, I've had parking tickets before from store car parks that I have rightly ignored however this one I was not so sure about. It was in official yellow wrapper but having not had a real parking ticket from council in a very long time I do not know if it was from them. Like I said I will look in more detail and decide.Just a heads up on how some of the operators are taking things forward these days.

Parking on private land is not criminal so goes through as a civil case, you'll be 100% fine to still ignore the ticket at the moment as long as there were other spaces around in the development,

if you (and others incorrectly parked there) have used up the last spaces and therefore deprived the landowners use of their land (driveway as someone put it earlier) then these firms do tend to take it further if they can prove the place was full which can end up more expensive.

Citizens Advice Scotland had wee bit about it on their website recently.

30-08-2021, 06:43 AM

Maybe not but the signs act as a deterrent for folk like me who tend to mostly go by any rules that are available as they can't be bothered with any potential hassle in their life (well these days anyway).

glenberviehibee
30-08-2021, 06:46 AM
I take car from Larbert to Ingleston P&R and get the tram. it saves the hassle of any traffic issues and wondering if I'm going to get parked im normally back on tram for 20 past 5 and back in car for 6pm and find it hassle free.

Crunchie
30-08-2021, 06:47 AM
That'll be resident parking only surely?

30-08-2021, 09:31 AM
Maybe not but the signs act as a deterrent for folk like me who tend to mostly go by any rules that are available as they can't be bothered with any potential hassle in their life (well these days anyway).

Yeah agreed it would put me off parking there.

30-08-2021, 10:49 AM
I parked in my usual place, behind the flats in Easter Road, just opposite Albion Road. Been parking there for few years as do many others. Got back to my car after the game to be met with a parking ticket. Haven't read the ticket in full yet but it was for parking without a relevant permit. I must admit I didn't notice any signage stating anything and when I think about it now, it was fairly quiet but I just put that down to me arriving early.I've a friend in the development opposite Leith Walk Primary. Their contractor enforce the ticketing. His issue is other visitors using his space.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

30-08-2021, 03:11 PM
This is actually another good idea.

If Hibs want more greenest club credentials then have pick up points around Edinburgh and fans can get reduced rate bus fares or even free bus to the games in return for some sponsorship at stadium.

I know they have done this at major tournaments and worked out really well - surely couldn’t be that hard to organise.

I can’t see that being a goer. It would cost the club a fortune. Back of a fag packet calculations but let’s say we have 10k season ticket holders and 25% of those ST holders are concessionary bus pass holders (no idea of the percentage of concession bus pass age ST holders but it’s an example). £1.80 each way for a bus fare. That’s £27k a match! So we either pay Lothian Buses £27k or give them free advertising to that effect. Would they even want advertising? What about the cost and hassle of administering it?

30-08-2021, 03:18 PM
I can’t see that being a goer. It would cost the club a fortune. Back of a fag packet calculations but let’s say we have 10k season ticket holders and 25% of those ST holders are concessionary bus pass holders (no idea of the percentage of concession bus pass age ST holders but it’s an example). £1.80 each way for a bus fare. That’s £27k a match! So we either pay Lothian Buses £27k or give them free advertising to that effect. Would they even want advertising? What about the cost and hassle of administering it?
I don’t think it’s a goer either, but it wouldn’t cost anything like that amount. Most people wouldn’t use it and lots of regular bus travellers will already have a pass. Bus travel is going to be free for all under 21s in January(I think) so there wouldn’t be a cost for them. Even at a quarter of your estimate it wouldn’t be a goer.

SerenityGreen
30-08-2021, 06:08 PM
Just a heads up on how some of the operators are taking things forward these days.

Parking on private land is not criminal so goes through as a civil case, you'll be 100% fine to still ignore the ticket at the moment as long as there were other spaces around in the development,

if you (and others incorrectly parked there) have used up the last spaces and therefore deprived the landowners use of their land (driveway as someone put it earlier) then these firms do tend to take it further if they can prove the place was full which can end up more expensive.

Citizens Advice Scotland had wee bit about it on their website recently.

Thanks for updates. Tbh, I was actually in a space and not parked kerb side as usual. normally, all the spaces are already taken and I would just park at the kerb. My earliness made me lazy and choose the nearest spot. There were however still plenty of other spaces.

30-08-2021, 07:06 PM

Maroon adverts could also be an issue.

30-01-2022, 01:10 PM
Wasn’t sure if anyone was aware, that trams will cease at the west end until April, as works on the next stage takes place
Not sure if York place will completely be closed to all traffic