View Full Version : Hibs v Livi tickets

thebausburst
22-08-2021, 08:37 PM
What’s the story with Hibs v Livi tickets, are they on general sale?

22-08-2021, 08:44 PM
What’s the story with Hibs v Livi tickets, are they on general sale?Guessing they are waiting for the safety certs after the work on the North and South stands

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk

thebausburst
22-08-2021, 09:39 PM
Guessing they are waiting for the safety certs after the work on the North and South stands

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk

Ah ok, be good if there was some sort of update for fans.

Hibees1973
23-08-2021, 11:53 AM
I've been in touch with the ticket office and tickets for the Livi game will be available to buy from tomorrow (Tuesday 24/8) morning.

jakedance
23-08-2021, 12:11 PM
They could really be doing with communicating when tickets go on sale. If you didn’t know better it would look on the ticketing site like a sell out.

Renfrew_Hibby
23-08-2021, 12:14 PM
They could really be doing with communicating when tickets go on sale. If you didn’t know better it would look on the ticketing site like a sell out.

Agree with this. Should be an easy fix.

23-08-2021, 01:38 PM
KP is all over Twitter replying to people asking which is great, but the communications team at ER need a hard boot up the arse. KP knows we are at full capacity so we obviously know what the script is behind the scenes, let the fans know and get the tickets on sale. No need to wait until tomorrow. Seriously don’t help ourselves at times.

23-08-2021, 02:06 PM
I've been in touch with the ticket office and tickets for the Livi game will be available to buy from tomorrow (Tuesday 24/8) morning.

Cheers mate.

23-08-2021, 02:06 PM
KP is all over Twitter replying to people asking which is great, but the communications team at ER need a hard boot up the arse. KP knows we are at full capacity so we obviously know what the script is behind the scenes, let the fans know and get the tickets on sale. No need to wait until tomorrow. Seriously don’t help ourselves at times.

:agree: there’s some work needed on the off field side of the club.

23-08-2021, 02:25 PM

Shouldn't have to fall on a fan to do it.

I don't know how he's got time for it all tbh!

Hibeewilly
23-08-2021, 02:41 PM
:agree: there’s some work needed on the off field side of the club.I posted on another thread that Ron and Ben walked round the Hibs Club last week talking to everybody. Ben (the new Chief Executive) said he couldn't believe we only had 5/6 staff so that probably explains the poor communication being delivered to the fans from the Club. He is aware though and hopefully we'll receive better updates soon

Sent from my POT-LX1 using Tapatalk

23-08-2021, 02:42 PM
Shouldn't have to fall on a fan to do it.

I don't know how he's got time for it all tbh!

Agreed. I’d also hope that we aren’t still at two members of staff in the ticket office considering we now have thousands of tickets that we are able to shift for each home game.

23-08-2021, 07:22 PM
Silly question right, but other than the West Red Zone are all STs back in their own seats for this game does anyone know?

23-08-2021, 08:02 PM
Silly question right, but other than the West Red Zone are all STs back in their own seats for this game does anyone know?

Was gonna ask the same , I'm in the FF upper just need clarification we are good to go ?

23-08-2021, 08:41 PM
Silly question right, but other than the West Red Zone are all STs back in their own seats for this game does anyone know?Should be.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

23-08-2021, 08:58 PM
I was wondering too what was happening. Still no confirmation yet that all 4 stands will be open. Assuming they must be, a bit late to have to go through another ballot. Although it maybe said if you entered the first one you were automatically put into them all ?

jakedance
23-08-2021, 09:16 PM
It’s (maybe/probably/definitely) the first full capacity game in 17 months and the club is making a bit of an arse of promoting it. I can’t be the only one that has been desperately looking forward to this game for a very long time. Hopefully all sorted tomorrow.

hibees59
24-08-2021, 09:18 AM
No tickets for the Livvi game available online:confused:

24-08-2021, 09:19 AM
No tickets for the Livvi game available online:confused:

They’ve been on and back off a couple of times but when on there’s not been an option to buy.

Who knows if / when they’ll be available.

Hibees1973
24-08-2021, 10:54 AM
Still no update on the Hibs website regarding tickets for Saturday.

Our first home game with a potential crowd of 17,000 - 18,000 for a year and a half and you would think it is not taking place.

Is it just me or are there issues with the game being played in front of all of us who want to be there?

24-08-2021, 10:56 AM
Still no update on the Hibs website regarding tickets for Saturday.

Our first home game with a potential crowd of 17,000 - 18,000 for a year and a half and you would think it is not taking place.

Is it just me or are there issues with the game being played in front of all of us who want to be there?

It’s totally vanished from the website now and when I called the (old?) TO number I’m told it’s no longer in use.

24-08-2021, 11:05 AM
Was gonna ask the same , I'm in the FF upper just need clarification we are good to go ?

A couple of weeks ago Hibs stated that they were aiming to get the FF up and running for the European tie we might have had this week ( not to be as we all know ) but that it would definitely be available for the Livvi game.

24-08-2021, 11:20 AM
It’s totally vanished from the website now and when I called the (old?) TO number I’m told it’s no longer in use.

I don't think there is any point in phoning any of the ticket numbers given out. Nobody ever answers.

24-08-2021, 11:24 AM
Sorry I can’t find anywhere that Hibs have said, they are on sale today?
A friend texted me yesterday asking when they were going on sale, I said just keep checking the Hibs website

24-08-2021, 11:29 AM
A friend texted me yesterday asking when they were going on sale, I said just keep checking the Hibs website

They’ve removed it from the page.

All other games are listed but you can’t add any of those to your basket either.

24-08-2021, 11:34 AM
They’ve removed it from the page.

All other games are listed but you can’t add any of those to your basket either.

It was always on the ticket page, but you couldn’t buy any!

What I asked was where have Hibs said they are on sale today, as I can’t see anything

24-08-2021, 11:36 AM
It was always on the ticket page, but you couldn’t buy any!

What I asked was where have Hibs said they are on sale today, as I can’t see anything

I’ve not seen any comms either - I think someone on here said they’d spoken to the TO though and they had said on sale Tuesday.

24-08-2021, 11:39 AM
Pretty poor this

24-08-2021, 11:55 AM
I think Hibs are likely to be waiting on the safety certificate for the FF in case they need to be reallocated seats elsewhere

Doesn’t mean they can’t communicate whatever it is thats happening

thebausburst
24-08-2021, 12:52 PM
I think Hibs are likely to be waiting on the safety certificate for the FF in case they need to be reallocated seats elsewhere

Tuesday pm on game week and not even an update or holding statement from the club, very poor indeed!

24-08-2021, 12:59 PM

Hibs said they would "certainly" be able to accommodate fans in the Famous Five and South stands by this Saturday.

Not sure if something's gone wrong but would be good to get some sort of update either way.

24-08-2021, 01:00 PM

KP said on Twitter. Full capacity (minus red zone) available. But heehaw from the club officially. It really is a shambles. Chucking money away!

24-08-2021, 01:12 PM
Hibs said they would "certainly" be able to accommodate fans in the Famous Five and South stands by this Saturday.

Not sure if something's gone wrong but would be good to get some sort of update either way.

I agree. Some sort of update should have been given

24-08-2021, 04:00 PM
It is rare that I choose to criticise the club as I feel they always do their best. The silence over a match that is just 4 days away is shocking. If they cannot give the whole story then they should tell us why and what is known.

soul_driver
24-08-2021, 04:06 PM
On sale. Just got an email. Would assume will be on twitter etc any minute.

Daniel 1875
24-08-2021, 04:07 PM
Just had an email from the club confirming full capacity and linking to general sale tickets.

soul_driver
24-08-2021, 04:07 PM
Season ticket holders in their own seats confirmed too.

Mark05
24-08-2021, 04:14 PM
Just bought 4 tickets for the family happy days cant wait

24-08-2021, 04:14 PM
Just announced

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

24-08-2021, 04:15 PM
Prices look to be different depending on where sit. In line with season tickets.

28 quid looks highest. Is there cat A and B this season?

24-08-2021, 04:17 PM
KP said on Twitter. Full capacity (minus red zone) available. But heehaw from the club officially. It really is a shambles. Chucking money away!

So it was said that we would find out on Tuesday what was happening and on Tuesday that is what happens and yet you consider that a shambles.

24-08-2021, 04:26 PM
Be good to see a decent crowd for this one. The team are playing entertaining fitba and scoring plenty so they deserve a good turnout.
Weather forecast looks good too.

24-08-2021, 04:32 PM
I wonder if Hibs TV will be available to season ticket holders unable or choosing not to go or is that finished now ground is fully open?

24-08-2021, 04:36 PM
Ticket office open on Saturday 10-3 for anyone that would prefer to collect a ticket that doesn't have a printer at home

24-08-2021, 04:43 PM
Got the one I was looking for - no e-ticket option so £2.50 for postage (and admin).

24-08-2021, 04:55 PM
Got the one I was looking for - no e-ticket option so £2.50 for postage (and admin).

No e-ticket option?

24-08-2021, 05:00 PM
No e-ticket option?

Not in the drop down I was offered.

It was a student ticket but they still had a postal option available - the T&Cs say you have to collect and show matric card - so I’d have thought if they can tinker with the list they would’ve done.

24-08-2021, 05:00 PM
No cheap for a walk up ticket this year. £28 for a decent seat against Livi is steep.

Garymcl
24-08-2021, 06:32 PM
Just got 4 in east absolutely cannot wait first home game in a while like for many hibbys so looking forward to seeing my team get a win and still top of the league :thumbsup::flag:

ABZHFC
24-08-2021, 07:15 PM
£28 for the most expensive adult ticket and £24 for the cheapest for a game against Livingston at home. Is this this 'ambition' that Leeann Dempster once told us about? An absolute ****ing disgrace and I hope fans vote with their feet

24-08-2021, 07:19 PM
£28 for the most expensive adult ticket and £24 for the cheapest for a game against Livingston at home. Is this this 'ambition' that Leeann Dempster once told us about? An absolute ****ing disgrace and I hope fans vote with their feet

Do you expect the prices to get cheaper every year?

What do you expect the prices to be?

24-08-2021, 07:27 PM
Season ticket holders in their own seats confirmed too.

About
****ing
Time

ABZHFC
24-08-2021, 07:29 PM
Do you expect the prices to get cheaper every year?

What do you expect the prices to be?

For a game like Livi at home? £20 at most for an adult, it's an absolute joke that we've all accepted paying any more than that. We will price out generations to come at this rate and become a sanitised support as a result. Hope Easter Road is very empty this season as a result, **** the club for even daring to try put up the prices after 18 months of us being not able to go

24-08-2021, 07:31 PM
For a game like Livi at home? £20 at most for an adult, it's an absolute joke that we've all accepted paying any more than that. We will price out generations to come at this rate and become a sanitised support as a result. Hope Easter Road is very empty this season as a result, **** the club for even daring to try put up the prices after 18 months of us being not able to go

Then how do you expect us to afford better players, or to hold out for better fees for those we do have if you cut the club's main source of income?

24-08-2021, 07:33 PM
So it was said that we would find out on Tuesday what was happening and on Tuesday that is what happens and yet you consider that a shambles.

It was said, in a reply on Twitter by KP, that the tickets would go on sale the following day. While this is correct, there was no need to wait as he already knew we were at full capacity. Why wait an extra day? There was also no official confirmation from the club of this, from the clubs official accounts, and it was an email that confirmed they were on sale on the Tuesday afternoon, nothing on the official social media channels.

It is a shambles. On the back of the killie fiasco (that KP has acknowledged privately but nothing from the club officially) then it’s one ****show after another off the pitch just now.

24-08-2021, 07:36 PM
£28 for the most expensive adult ticket and £24 for the cheapest for a game against Livingston at home. Is this this 'ambition' that Leeann Dempster once told us about? An absolute ****ing disgrace and I hope fans vote with their feetAnother protest?

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

24-08-2021, 07:36 PM

So you want them to either slash the season ticket price, or shaft the season ticket holders by making it cheaper for walk ups? Interesting. The club were always moving towards tiered pricing and rightly so. I’d imagine there is no increase for the worst seats.

Mikey_1875
24-08-2021, 07:37 PM

ST for gold seats work out at just over £22 a game so it will never be that low. While I agree with your sentiment that football as a whole is overpriced you cannot have a pop at Hibs and punish them when Dundee Utd are charging £28. St Js, Dundee all charging 25/26 as well. Hibs need to set the price to keep competitive in the market we are in otherwise we will fall behind. Blame the overall football market, not hibs.

ABZHFC
24-08-2021, 07:37 PM
Then how do you expect us to afford better players, or to hold out for better fees for those we do have if you cut the club's main source of income?

The same way they did the past 18 months when they didn't get a single gate receipt whatsoever bar the season ticket money. Genuinely pathetic that there are people defending the club for this. It would cost a parent and their two children £48 to go on Saturday in the worst seats in the stadium, £56 if they wanted the 'best' seats. Honestly tell me how that is excusable in anyway? I would rather we finished bottom six with Hibs fans still being able to attend games than finish top 4 every season with £30 tickets for walk-ups.

That's where it's all going. It's time to stand up and protest, even if we have a better deal as season ticket holders. Enough is enough

24-08-2021, 07:40 PM

Try and buy a Season Ticket and come back with your grumble rather than “hoping the place is empty”. Emptiness would be the sanitisation you fear.

24-08-2021, 07:41 PM
The same way they did the past 18 months when they didn't get a single gate receipt whatsoever bar the season ticket money. Genuinely pathetic that there are people defending the club for this. It would cost a parent and their two children £48 to go on Saturday in the worst seats in the stadium, £56 if they wanted the 'best' seats. Honestly tell me how that is excusable in anyway? I would rather we finished bottom six with Hibs fans still being able to attend games than finish top 4 every season with £30 tickets for walk-ups.

That's where it's all going. It's time to stand up and protest, even if we have a better deal as season ticket holders. Enough is enoughWhen do we protest? Before or after we besiege the City Chambers?

ABZHFC
24-08-2021, 07:42 PM
Try and buy a Season Ticket and come back with your grumble rather than “hoping the place is empty”. Emptiness would be the sanitisation you fear.

I have bought a season ticket, because I am lucky enough to be living in Edinburgh and have enough disposable income to afford it. I recognise not everyone is in the same position, and I am therefore outraged at the club (albeit in line with boards across Scotland) hiking prices up like this. There is no world, whatsoever, where £28 for a ticket at Easter Road against Livingston is acceptable. It is up to all of us to call our own clubs out when this kind of **** happens, not just pretend it's a price worth paying to be 'successful' (i.e. possibly finish third behind the Old Firm in a good year)

24-08-2021, 07:43 PM
Can u still collect tickets before game? If bought on Friday

24-08-2021, 07:43 PM
I have bought a season ticket, because I am lucky enough to be living in Edinburgh and have enough disposable income to afford it. I recognise not everyone is in the same position, and I am therefore outraged at the club (albeit in line with boards across Scotland) hiking prices up like this. There is no world, whatsoever, where £28 for a ticket at Easter Road against Livingston is acceptable. It is up to all of us to call our own clubs out when this kind of **** happens, not just pretend it's a price worth paying to be 'successful' (i.e. possibly finish third behind the Old Firm in a good year)

You’ve bought a Season Ticket yet hope the place is empty? Take a wee minute and stop getting outraged.

24-08-2021, 07:44 PM

Why is it not acceptable? If I went to a boxing match I wouldn’t sit in the most expensive seats, why? Because I couldn’t afford to. But I can afford to sit in worse seats. It would be outrageous if those in the best seats got to get in for the same price as me.

I hope the place is filled to the brim (although I know that won’t happen due to the late notice of tickets) which will increase our budget accordingly.

ABZHFC
24-08-2021, 07:50 PM
You’ve bought a Season Ticket yet hope the place is empty? Take a wee minute and stop getting outraged.

I bought a season ticket not knowing what the walk-up prices were going to be set at this season. The club have decided (again, I understand this is in line with most other greedy, venture capitalist boards across Scotland) to raise prices after a long pandemic that has seen many folk laid off, to a point where now an adult ticket (in 36% of Easter Road's seats) is £28 for a game against clubs like Livingston. How the **** can you justify that? It's unacceptable

24-08-2021, 07:51 PM
I bought a season ticket not knowing what the walk-up prices were going to be set at this season. The club have decided (again, I understand this is in line with most other greedy, venture capitalist boards across Scotland) to raise prices after a long pandemic that has seen many folk laid off, to a point where now an adult ticket (in 36% of Easter Road's seats) is £28 for a game against clubs like Livingston. How the **** can you justify that? It's unacceptable

For all those that have been laid off, there is probably a load more who are far better off in real terms than they were pre Covid.

ABZHFC
24-08-2021, 07:52 PM
Why is it not acceptable? If I went to a boxing match I wouldn’t sit in the most expensive seats, why? Because I couldn’t afford to. But I can afford to sit in worse seats. It would be outrageous if those in the best seats got to get in for the same price as me.

I hope the place is filled to the brim (although I know that won’t happen due to the late notice of tickets) which will increase our budget accordingly.

Until very recently there was no different pricing at Easter Road, all seats cost the same (the best way to do it). The bit I've highlighted is an absolute Tory mentality and it holds our society back as far as I'm concerned. And on your last point, I genuinely hope there are 12,000 folk there at best and the board start to realise that setting walk-up prices that high is ****ing mental and they have to back down. I will continue to be vocal on here about the outrageous prices until they are lowered

ABZHFC
24-08-2021, 07:52 PM
For all those that have been laid off, there is probably a load more who are far better off in real terms than they were pre Covid.

Remind me, who were our club founded to support? The wealthiest in society or the most vulnerable?

24-08-2021, 07:56 PM
Until very recently there was no different pricing at Easter Road, all seats cost the same (the best way to do it). The bit I've highlighted is an absolute Tory mentality and it holds our society back as far as I'm concerned. And on your last point, I genuinely hope there are 12,000 folk there at best and the board start to realise that setting walk-up prices that high is ****ing mental and they have to back down. I will continue to be vocal on here about the outrageous prices until they are lowered

How is it a Tory mentality? Your having a shocker. Holds society back for having to pay different levels depending on the view and seat quality 😂 as for your last post, if that’s the case let’s swing the doors open and let everyone in for free, cater for the worst off.

24-08-2021, 07:57 PM
Remind me, who were our club founded to support? The wealthiest in society or the most vulnerable?Do you honestly think there's an economic comparison to be made - almost 150 years later?

ABZHFC
24-08-2021, 07:58 PM
How is it a Tory mentality? Your having a shocker. Holds society back for having to pay different levels depending on the view and seat quality 😂 as for your last post, if that’s the case let’s swing the doors open and let everyone in for free, cater for the worst off.

I unironically agree with your last point, and Motherwell are quite literally doing this for unemployed people right now

24-08-2021, 08:00 PM
I unironically agree with your last point, and Motherwell are quite literally doing this for unemployed people right now

😂😂 superb. Pay the best part of £400 for a season ticket and then complain tickets aren’t £20 max. You are all over the shop.

24-08-2021, 08:01 PM
Do you honestly think there's an economic comparison to be made - almost 150 years later?

I always thought the C in our name was for club, turns out it’s actually charity.

ABZHFC
24-08-2021, 08:03 PM
😂😂 superb. Pay the best part of £400 for a season ticket and then complain tickets aren’t £20 max. You are all over the shop.

Season tickets should be cheaper to you absolute dolt. I get the reason why tickets are so high is because season ticket prices are expensive, but the answer is for season ticket holders to constantly campaign for cheaper prices, not to increase walk-up prices to a mental rate and then tell ST holders they're getting a good deal comparatively. I cannot see how you don't get you're being played when you're spewing this *****. You sound like a young conservative talking about trickle-down economics.

24-08-2021, 08:04 PM
I always thought the C in our name was for club, turns out it’s actually charity.Yeah. Thankfully the players & staff work for free.

24-08-2021, 08:06 PM
Season tickets should be cheaper to you absolute dolt. I get the reason why tickets are so high is because season ticket prices are expensive, but the answer is for season ticket holders to constantly campaign for cheaper prices, not to increase walk-up prices to a mental rate and then tell ST holders they're getting a good deal comparatively. I cannot see how you don't get you're being played when you're spewing this *****. You sound like a young conservative talking about trickle-down economics.

You just said you have bought a season ticket, now you want to protest against the price, after paying it, and want walk ups not to walk up in protest, completely going against your own stance. Crazy.

Nothing Tory here. Simple - better quality seats, higher price.

24-08-2021, 08:06 PM
Yeah. Thankfully the players & staff work for free.

Regardless of whether we trade or not, we should apply for the restricted trade insurance payout and furlough scheme.

24-08-2021, 08:07 PM
Remind me, who were our club founded to support? The wealthiest in society or the most vulnerable?

I agree with your general point, I think it’s too expensive. Always think, with us, even more so for concession tickets.

But you can’t make everything accessible to everyone. I do think the club could have made more effort to really promote this, push it and get a big crowd in with it being the first game we can get full capacity in a year and a half.

24-08-2021, 08:08 PM

But many of our fans contribute cash to Hibs for nothing monthly through HSL. They have also bought STs. Some Hibs fans clearly can afford the situation. If we want to compete in Europe and therefore at the top end of our league that costs more than not maximising your potential income. Livi wont bring many but I would be disappointed considering how well the team has played so far, if we dont have atleast thirteen k at the match.

ABZHFC
24-08-2021, 08:09 PM
I agree with your general point, I think it’s too expensive. Always think, with us, even more so for concession tickets.

But you can’t make everything accessible to everyone. I do think the club could have made more effort to really promote this, push it and get a big crowd in with it being the first game we can get full capacity in a year and a half.

You know what mate, I am even willing to say I'd accept that. I get we are (regrettably) run as a business, and so I am not seriously expecting the club to drop season ticket and walk-up prices tomorrow - though I strongly believe they should. But what honestly sticks in my craw is that after 18 months away, when they have been able to run without a penny from ticket gates outwith season tickets, they're now deciding to go straight to charging £24-£28 for an adult for a game like Livi at home.

Even if folk disagree with my general point, how can *anyone* honestly justify the fact we are charging that much for this game? I'd love to know

24-08-2021, 08:10 PM

So many trolls on this site it is unreal. What was last season 23 so a pound increase for not the best seats but there are no bad seats at ER unlike some other tips in the same city.

ABZHFC
24-08-2021, 08:13 PM
But many of our fans contribute cash to Hibs for nothing monthly through HSL. They have also bought STs. Some Hibs fans clearly can afford the situation. If we want to compete in Europe and therefore at the top end of our league that costs more than not maximising your potential income. Livi wont bring many but I would be disappointed considering how well the team has played so far, if we dont have atleast thirteen k at the match.

I'd love for you to look up how much HNK Rijeka charge their fans to get in to games. It's an absolute falsehood that higher ticket prices are a requisite for challenging in Europe etc. It might be our club's highest source of income but they can rely on a solid 10,000 supporters attending games on a regular basis no matter what the prices are, so the idea that they *have* to set prices astronomically high is rubbish. They are simply looking at what other boards (namely Hearts, Aberdeen and the Dundee clubs) are doing and then seeing if they can get away with it. It is up to our fans, who I'd like to believe are mostly fair, right minded people, to tell our owners that isn't acceptable, and that we do not want to see our club doing this

24-08-2021, 08:14 PM

Why do you care so much if you have bought a season ticket? Or have you?

24-08-2021, 08:14 PM
20:43 on a Tuesday evening - the club finally tweet regarding tickets for Saturday. Impressive!

24-08-2021, 08:15 PM
So many trolls on this site it is unreal. What was last season 23 so a pound increase for not the best seats but there are no bad seats at ER unlike some other tips in the same city.

There are hardly any £24 tickets. It’s the tiny end sections in the east and west. Majority of the east is a fiver increase for an adult ticket.

24-08-2021, 08:15 PM

Hearts have charged more than us for years now. Every year there's a thread bemoaning the fact that their turnover is higher than ours yet you want a boycott when we put our prices in line with them. Incidentally, if £24 is too high but £20 is ok we're talking the price of a pint as the difference.
I have huge sympathy for those struggling, hopefully there's discounted pricing available there.

24-08-2021, 08:16 PM
I'd love for you to look up how much HNK Rijeka charge their fans to get in to games. It's an absolute falsehood that higher ticket prices are a requisite for challenging in Europe etc. It might be our club's highest source of income but they can rely on a solid 10,000 supporters attending games on a regular basis no matter what the prices are, so the idea that they *have* to set prices astronomically high is rubbish. They are simply looking at what other boards (namely Hearts, Aberdeen and the Dundee clubs) are doing and then seeing if they can get away with it. It is up to our fans, who I'd like to believe are mostly fair, right minded people, to tell our owners that isn't acceptable, and that we do not want to see our club doing this

What is their TV deal like? Their commercial income?

You bought a season ticket so don’t preach to the rest to ‘vote with their feet’ when you never yourself. Hypocritical nonsense.

loanheadhibby
24-08-2021, 08:16 PM

I agree with the general point also. The pricing for Hibs v Livingston is horrendous. £28 to watch a game of football.

Appreciate it is an issue across Scotland but I’m only interested in the Hibs. I get £28-30 for cat A games but not cat C.

I feel for any families having to go with a couple of kids.

ABZHFC
24-08-2021, 08:17 PM
Why do you care so much if you have bought a season ticket? Or have you?

Because folk keep asking me if I have bought one, as if it somehow invalidates my argument. I also despise how much the club have ramped up the prices for season tickets in recent seasons (i.e. student season tickets going from £120 in our first season in the top flight to £190 in the last one before COVID-19 struck). All of these snide increases have been happening on the sly and unless fans call them out when they see them, it will just continue to happen.

For me, 36% of tickets on Saturday being £28 is 'enough is enough' territory. If it's not for you, fine, but I'd love to know where your high water mark actually is in that regard

24-08-2021, 08:20 PM
I'd love for you to look up how much HNK Rijeka charge their fans to get in to games. It's an absolute falsehood that higher ticket prices are a requisite for challenging in Europe etc. It might be our club's highest source of income but they can rely on a solid 10,000 supporters attending games on a regular basis no matter what the prices are, so the idea that they *have* to set prices astronomically high is rubbish. They are simply looking at what other boards (namely Hearts, Aberdeen and the Dundee clubs) are doing and then seeing if they can get away with it. It is up to our fans, who I'd like to believe are mostly fair, right minded people, to tell our owners that isn't acceptable, and that we do not want to see our club doing thisTelevision and sponsorship revenue pays player wages in most leagues. In Scotland ticket sales account for the bulk of the clubs' incomes.

Rijeka have an 8k capacity stadium but a higher turnover than us.

It's not as simple as you seem to think.

ABZHFC
24-08-2021, 08:21 PM
Hearts have charged more than us for years now. Every year there's a thread bemoaning the fact that their turnover is higher than ours yet you want a boycott when we put our prices in line with them. Incidentally, if £24 is too high but £20 is ok we're talking the price of a pint as the difference.
I have huge sympathy for those struggling, hopefully there's discounted pricing available there.

I agree, Hearts have led the way in terms of being disgraceful when it comes to ticket prices. For the derby after the international break it will cost adults between £29 and £31 for a ticket, for a game that will be at 12pm on a Sunday on Sky Sports. Again, I simply ask all of you, when is it enough? It's not a problem exclusive to Hibs, it is something that can be found at nearly every top flight club in Scotland. But until fans actually start calling out their boards for it, when will it change? If they keep on believing it's a price worth paying for success (something that statistically very few teams outwith the Old Firm can even realistically achieve in terms of silverware), then how high do prices have to go before fans start protesting on a mass basis?

24-08-2021, 08:22 PM
The singing section has moved back to the east hasn’t it? Notice they have section 25 in the Famous Five listed as singing section on eticketing.

ABZHFC
24-08-2021, 08:23 PM
Television and sponsorship revenue pays player wages in most leagues. In Scotland ticket sales account for the bulk of the clubs' incomes.

Rijeka have an 8k capacity stadium but a higher turnover than us.

It's not as simple as you seem to think.

All this means is that we as fans should have MORE power than those abroad have, and yet somehow we have less. Do you not see how ****ed up it all is? In most European countries they'd simply run mass protests until owners agreed to lower ticket prices, I only wish we had the nerve to do the same here. Especially for away fans, it is starting to get far, far too costly to support your club in Scotland

24-08-2021, 08:25 PM
I agree, Hearts have led the way in terms of being disgraceful when it comes to ticket prices. For the derby after the international break it will cost adults between £29 and £31 for a ticket, for a game that will be at 12pm on a Sunday on Sky Sports. Again, I simply ask all of you, when is it enough? It's not a problem exclusive to Hibs, it is something that can be found at nearly every top flight club in Scotland. But until fans actually start calling out their boards for it, when will it change? If they keep on believing it's a price worth paying for success (something that statistically very few teams outwith the Old Firm can even realistically achieve in terms of silverware), then how high do prices have to go before fans start protesting on a mass basis?

What barometer is used for what’s right, what’s cheap and what’s too expensive? We keep hearing it’s too expensive for families yet I see loads of families at games. We keep hearing it’s too expensive compared to other countries yet have a higher attendance per population than any other country. I think we’d all like it to be cheaper, just like I’d like petrol, shopping, meals and other forms of entertainment to be cheaper, and wages to be higher, but that’s not the reality.

It’s obviously not enough for you yet as you’ve dived straight in and paid it.

ABZHFC
24-08-2021, 08:30 PM
What barometer is used for what’s right, what’s cheap and what’s too expensive? We keep hearing it’s too expensive for families yet I see loads of families at games. We keep hearing it’s too expensive compared to other countries yet have a higher attendance per population than any other country. I think we’d all like it to be cheaper, just like I’d like petrol, shopping, meals and other forms of entertainment to be cheaper, and wages to be higher, but that’s not the reality.

Once again, and I feel like at this point you are being deliberately obtuse, it is not the fault of fans who keep paying to go to games. We all know on the basis of the last 18 months that missing the football is an almost visceral feeling, and it is very, very hard to stay away once given the chance to go back. Why does this mean clubs should exploit our passion? And you're right, we are one of the best supported leagues in Europe per capita, but this is *in spite* of the prices boards are starting to charge, and eventually it will not be the case if we continue to go down this road.

The barometer, in my opinion, is simply that we all know that £28 for Livi at home is far, far too expensive, and none of us would want to pay it if we weren't ST holders. So how about showing solidarity, demanding the club stop increasing our season tickets, demanding they scrap zoned pricing at Easter Road (something that wasn't a thing until 3 or 4 seasons ago) and then demanding they bring walk-up prices in line with the newly reduced season ticket prices.

And before you all pipe up, I do not care if this makes us a worse team (although the correlation between marginally less income and success is in no way perfect whatsoever)

24-08-2021, 08:30 PM
All this means is that we as fans should have MORE power than those abroad have, and yet somehow we have less. Do you not see how ****ed up it all is? In most European countries they'd simply run mass protests until owners agreed to lower ticket prices, I only wish we had the nerve to do the same here. Especially for away fans, it is starting to get far, far too costly to support your club in Scotland

How then will the owners pay players? What level of football do you want to watch?

If I decided that cars are too expensive and refuse to pay more than £200 to buy one. What do you think I'd end up with?

And I'm sorry, but your calls for protest every second post don't do much for your credibility.

24-08-2021, 08:32 PM

I do have sympathy but there is the conundrum between retaining and buying talent which requires maximising income. Our TV deal is rubbish and as usual is heavily skewed towards the uglies. As a result our club and most of our league is highly geared towards match day income. You mention people buying season tickets during Covid. That includes me and it was an admirable response but we were still down about £700k on the prior season. We have to recover those losses somehow.

ABZHFC
24-08-2021, 08:33 PM
How then will the owners pay players? What level of football do you want to watch?

If I decided that cars are too expensive and refuse to pay more than £200 to buy one. What do you think I'd end up with?

And I'm sorry, but your calls for protest every second post don't do much for your credibility.

Do you seriously think our board are sitting there at the end of the month thinking 'thank **** we charged 2000 folk an extra £6 each for a category B game, otherwise the players wouldn't be getting paid'. Of course they don't, all these decisions are not remotely life or death for the club, they are philosophical and quite literally an exercise in seeing how far clubs will go in rinsing the very people who keep their club afloat. Again, it's not a specific dig at Hibs, almost every board in Scotland are responsible for this. But it is up to fans of clubs to tell their boards that we do not want this any longer

24-08-2021, 08:38 PM
Do you seriously think our board are sitting there at the end of the month thinking 'thank **** we charged 2000 folk an extra £6 each for a category B game, otherwise the players wouldn't be getting paid'. Of course they don't, all these decisions are not remotely life or death for the club, they are philosophical and quite literally an exercise in seeing how far clubs will go in rinsing the very people who keep their club afloat. Again, it's not a specific dig at Hibs, almost every board in Scotland are responsible for this. But it is up to fans of clubs to tell their boards that we do not want this any longer

I agree that football is too expensive in Scotland, but I also understand why.

For the rest I honestly think that you couldn't be more wrong.

We'll see soon enough the nick of Hibs' accounts for last year and I'm fairly certain that it won't be pretty.

It's good that we're not looking to make a quick buck on our star players, but the knock on effect is that every penny will be very much a prisoner.

loanheadhibby
24-08-2021, 08:40 PM

You are correct that lots of families go but there will also be lots of families that will be excluded. If you’re a low income family, £56 for 3 people to attend is a lot of money.

I do wonder if inadvertently, the club are excluding future fans, ie youngsters. It pains me to see empty seats when they could be filled by youngsters.

When I started going, it was £1.80 for the father and son gate (circa 1978). My old man lifted me over plenty times as well.

ABZHFC
24-08-2021, 08:42 PM
You are correct that lots of families go but there will also be lots of families that will be excluded. If you’re a low income family, £56 for 3 people to attend is a lot of money.

I do wonder if inadvertently, the club are excluding future fans, ie youngsters. It pains me to see empty seats when they could be filled by youngsters.

When I started going, it was £1.80 for the father and son gate (circa 1978). My old man lifted me over plenty times as well.

They absolutely are mate, in my opinion. I really would love nothing more than for the club to come out and do a deal for unemployed/low income folk like Motherwell have done. Like you say would rather see seats filled than empty ones

24-08-2021, 08:43 PM
Up to £30 to watch top level football in Scotland is not expensive.

24-08-2021, 08:44 PM
Once again, and I feel like at this point you are being deliberately obtuse, it is not the fault of fans who keep paying to go to games. We all know on the basis of the last 18 months that missing the football is an almost visceral feeling, and it is very, very hard to stay away once given the chance to go back. Why does this mean clubs should exploit our passion? And you're right, we are one of the best supported leagues in Europe per capita, but this is *in spite* of the prices boards are starting to charge, and eventually it will not be the case if we continue to go down this road.

The barometer, in my opinion, is simply that we all know that £28 for Livi at home is far, far too expensive, and none of us would want to pay it if we weren't ST holders. So how about showing solidarity, demanding the club stop increasing our season tickets, demanding they scrap zoned pricing at Easter Road (something that wasn't a thing until 3 or 4 seasons ago) and then demanding they bring walk-up prices in line with the newly reduced season ticket prices.

And before you all pipe up, I do not care if this makes us a worse team (although the correlation between marginally less income and success is in no way perfect whatsoever)

You. Bought. A. Season. Ticket. Don’t tell others to protest when you never done so yourself. It’ll be too expensive when people can’t/won’t pay it. As it is people do in their droves therefore it’s affordable to many.

Tiered pricing is absolutely fine by me and long overdue.

24-08-2021, 08:46 PM
They absolutely are mate, in my opinion. I really would love nothing more than for the club to come out and do a deal for unemployed/low income folk like Motherwell have done. Like you say would rather see seats filled than empty ones

Motherwell do that coz they can’t sell seats not for some kind of moral reason.

ABZHFC
24-08-2021, 08:47 PM
You. Bought. A. Season. Ticket. Don’t tell others to protest when you never done so yourself. It’ll be too expensive when people can’t/won’t pay it. As it is people do in their droves therefore it’s affordable to many.

Tiered pricing is absolutely fine by me and long overdue.

I am not 'telling' anyone to protest, I am saying that I sincerely hope people vote with their feet and stay away if they think £28 is too much, which it is. You seem to be very out of touch if you think folk will continue to turn up 'in their droves' at those prices. We will be lucky to see more than 2,000 walk-ups on Saturday at £28 a pop with short notice, I sincerely believe that. If the crowd is any more than 13,000 then by all means get back to me

24-08-2021, 08:50 PM
I agree that child prices are too high but the fact you have bought a season ticket and are asking others to vote with their feet strikes me as odd.

Looks to me that walk up prices are about £3 dearer than a season ticket. Seems fair enough to me.

24-08-2021, 08:51 PM
Can someone please confirm or deny that season ticket holders can use their season tickets to get in or do we still need paper copies?

Earlydelivery
24-08-2021, 08:53 PM
Any takers for the annual Dot count .. Lol

ABZHFC
I agree that child prices are too high but the fact you have bought a season ticket and are asking others to vote with their feet strikes me as odd.

Looks to me that walk up prices are about £3 dearer than a season ticket. Seems fair enough to me.

It would be fair enough if season tickets were closer to the £250/£300 mark, and not the ~£400 they currently are. Again, everyone seems to fall for this. It's not a good deal for walk-ups just because season ticket prices are also ridiculously high (even if they are easier to stomach with the various payment plans offered).

Also, how do insanely high walk-up prices fit in with the constant rhetoric we are told by the club about wanting to become Edinburgh's team? Why the **** would a tourist visiting Edinburgh for the weekend even consider going to Easter Road - or indeed Tynecastle - for the prices we are both currently charging?

Any takers for the annual Dot count .. Lol

ABZ seems keen. 😁

Hibee ultra
24-08-2021, 08:55 PM
Can someone please confirm or deny that season ticket holders can use their season tickets to get in or do we still need paper copies?

Back to normal seats so yes as far as I know

24-08-2021, 08:56 PM
It would be fair enough if season tickets were closer to the £250/£300 mark, and not the ~£400 they currently are. Again, everyone seems to fall for this. It's not a good deal for walk-ups just because season ticket prices are also ridiculously high (even if they are easier to stomach with the various payment plans offered).

Also, how do insanely high walk-up prices fit in with the constant rhetoric we are told by the club about wanting to become Edinburgh's team? Why the **** would a tourist visiting Edinburgh for the weekend even consider going to Easter Road - or indeed Tynecastle - for the prices we are both currently charging?

Please could you answer - what do we pay the players & other staff with if prices are slashed?

ABZHFC
24-08-2021, 08:56 PM
ABZ seems keen. 😁

:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

24-08-2021, 08:57 PM
I am not 'telling' anyone to protest, I am saying that I sincerely hope people vote with their feet and stay away if they think £28 is too much, which it is. You seem to be very out of touch if you think folk will continue to turn up 'in their droves' at those prices. We will be lucky to see more than 2,000 walk-ups on Saturday at £28 a pop with short notice, I sincerely believe that. If the crowd is any more than 13,000 then by all means get back to me

‘ That's where it's all going. It's time to stand up and protest, even if we have a better deal as season ticket holders. Enough is enough’

‘An absolute ****ing disgrace and I hope fans vote with their feet’

‘Hope Easter Road is very empty this season as a result, **** the club for even daring to try put up the prices after 18 months of us being not able to go’

Yeah you never told people to protest 😂 the crowd will be lower due to the short notice of tickets. It would be slightly higher with lower prices, but not by much as we’ve seen for years now, a winning team will fill the stands regardless of cost.

ABZHFC
24-08-2021, 09:00 PM
‘ That's where it's all going. It's time to stand up and protest, even if we have a better deal as season ticket holders. Enough is enough’

‘Hope Easter Road is very empty this season as a result, **** the club for even daring to try put up the prices after 18 months of us being not able to go’

Yeah you never told people to protest 😂 the crowd will be lower due to the short notice of tickets. It would be slightly higher with lower prices, but not by much as we’ve seen for years now, a winning team will fill the stands regardless of cost.

Let's see, I strongly doubt there are genuinely 7,000 folk in Edinburgh with enough disposable cash and a big enough interest in Hibs to justify those prices on a biweekly basis

24-08-2021, 09:02 PM
Sniff?

24-08-2021, 09:03 PM

Disagree with that last bit. Stands will be far from full on Saturday and we’re top of the league and just had our best season in a long time.

24-08-2021, 09:10 PM
Disagree with that last bit. Stands will be far from full on Saturday and we’re top of the league and just had our best season in a long time.

Depends on who we are playing, Livingston will bring 2 men and a dug, if we were playing Dundee United as an example we would get about 15000. I am guessing 13000 on Saturday

24-08-2021, 09:11 PM

And tickets have just went on sale today, with an official announcement tonight. 4 days notice to sell 7000 tickets was never going to happen, especially when it was only yesterday (unofficially) confirmed that walk ups would be allowed so other plans would already have been made. Our average attendance has been fairly decent for 5 years now with prices way above what ABZ thinks folk can afford.

24-08-2021, 09:11 PM
How are folk not grasping that the club arent gaining any more money out of charging £28 a ticket than they would £20 a ticket? Less tickets will be bought at a higher price.

We pride ourselves as being a club for the working class from Edinburgh, yet we are pricing so many adults and kids out of attending and supporting their club, myself included.

Also as a non-ST holder I’m still wondering where the thank you incentives have been for those who stayed loyal to the club during lockdowns with ST purchases, as every other big club in Scotland has managed to do for their fans.

I’m absolutely embarrassed by this from the club and we only seem to be going in one direction at the moment, pricing fans out and making sure we have a half empty stadium every week.

24-08-2021, 09:12 PM

I paid 42euro years ago to watch a league game at Roma. Didn’t seem to be any lack of walk ups.

loanheadhibby
24-08-2021, 09:13 PM
Motherwell do that coz they can’t sell seats not for some kind of moral reason.

I’ve been to plenty games where FF lower has loads of empty seats. Why can we not donate these to school kids to come along in groups with their pals? Give them a safe area to sit and get them in the way of coming to games.

24-08-2021, 09:14 PM
And tickets have just went on sale today, with an official announcement tonight. 4 days notice to sell 7000 tickets was never going to happen, especially when it was only yesterday (unofficially) confirmed that walk ups would be allowed so other plans would already have been made. Our average attendance has been fairly decent for 5 years now with prices way above what ABZ thinks folk can afford.

We would never have got close to selling that number of tickets had they been on sale longer. Might have shifted a few more but nothing significant IMO.

Think average attendance will be down a fair bit this year. Already down a fair few season tickets and demand has hardly been overwhelming for the games at ER so far.

24-08-2021, 09:15 PM
I’ve been to plenty games where FF lower has loads of empty seats. Why can we not donate these to school kids to come along in groups with their pals? Give them a safe area to sit and get them in the way of coming to games.Most of these empty seats were unused STs.

24-08-2021, 09:15 PM
How are folk not grasping that the club arent gaining any more money out of charging £28 a ticket than they would £20 a ticket? Less tickets will be bought at a higher price.

We pride ourselves as being a club for the working class from Edinburgh, yet we are pricing so many adults and kids out of attending and supporting their club, myself included.

Also as a non-ST holder I’m still wondering where the thank you incentives have been for those who stayed loyal to the club during lockdowns with ST purchases, as every other big club in Scotland has managed to do for their fans.

I’m absolutely embarrassed by this from the club and we only seem to be going in one direction at the moment, pricing fans out and making sure we have a half empty stadium every week.

Drop the price to £20 and a lot of STH’s would be very unhappy, we’d lose far more that way. We wouldn’t sell a ****load more Season tickets to offset the £50 drop in those prices to accompany the drop in walk ups.

24-08-2021, 09:19 PM

That's where it's all going. It's time to stand up and protest, even if we have a better deal as season ticket holders. Enough is enough

I'd be happy paying those prices for top 4 every season.

24-08-2021, 09:19 PM
I’ve been to plenty games where FF lower has loads of empty seats. Why can we not donate these to school kids to come along in groups with their pals? Give them a safe area to sit and get them in the way of coming to games.

They are owned by STs.

loanheadhibby
24-08-2021, 09:21 PM
There are hardly any £24 tickets. It’s the tiny end sections in the east and west. Majority of the east is a fiver increase for an adult ticket.

Fans could purchase a £24 ticket and then wait 15 mins in to the game and move to a gold standard seat.

24-08-2021, 09:23 PM
I just logged in to see how many WOKE netters are outraged tonight......one in particular is sticking out a mile.

24-08-2021, 09:24 PM
Fans could purchase a £24 ticket and then wait 15 mins in to the game and move to a gold standard seat.

For the sake of £2.

loanheadhibby
They are owned by STs.

Would be a great gesture for any season ticket who could not attend to donate to Helping Hands or similar charity?

If FF not a possibility, then the south. It’s hardly going to be sold out.

We would never have got close to selling that number of tickets had they been on sale longer. Might have shifted a few more but nothing significant IMO.

Think average attendance will be down a fair bit this year. Already down a fair few season tickets and demand has hardly been overwhelming for the games at ER so far.

We’ve just had a game where only 5000 were allowed to attend, and we will still struggle to get the Covid hibernators along. Of course the average will be down.

ABZHFC
They are owned by STs.

"Owned" hahahahahaha

tmb1875
24-08-2021, 09:25 PM
Concession walk ups for me should be £5 excluding hearts,Celtic, rangers. Also think we should be doing more to encourage and help groups of kids to get to games. Going into schools and youth centres with free tickets etc.

I have to say I think £28 is far too much. That's a big increase from last season I think.

loanheadhibby
For the sake of £2.

Apologies, thought the gold was £28. My bad.

Listen if money is tight for someone who wants to go to game, it’s an option for them.

24-08-2021, 09:27 PM
"Owned" hahahahahahaDo they not buy the seat for the season?

24-08-2021, 09:27 PM
Apologies, thought the gold was £28. My bad.

Listen if money is tight for someone who wants to go to game, it’s an option for them.

The bovril is maybe £2. Should they just help themselves to that too.

ABZHFC
24-08-2021, 09:28 PM
I'd be happy paying those prices for top 4 every season.

Two things. 1) There is absolutely zero guarantee whatsoever that paying those ticket prices gets us top four football, especially Celtic, Rangers, Aberdeen and Hearts all charge as much/more. 2) Have you considered that it isn't about what *you* are happy paying to get into games? You might well be fortunate enough to afford these prices no bother, many others aren't, especially in the midst of a pandemic when so many have been laid off/furloughed

loanheadhibby
24-08-2021, 09:29 PM
Most of these empty seats were unused STs.

Yes someone pointed that out. It’s a pity as it seems a waste to me. As I said, I really got in to following the Hibs in cowshed when I was going with school pals at 12-14.

We did not have much between us but we got in to Easter Riad by hook or by crook.

loanheadhibby
24-08-2021, 09:31 PM
The bovril is maybe £2. Should they just help themselves to that too.

Truth of matter is, if they are struggling to buy tickets, they may forsake a tasty meaty drink.

24-08-2021, 09:31 PM
Two things. 1) There is absolutely zero guarantee whatsoever that paying those ticket prices gets us top four football, especially Celtic, Rangers, Aberdeen and Hearts all charge as much/more. 2) Have you considered that it isn't about what *you* are happy paying to get into games? You might well be fortunate enough to afford these prices no bother, many others aren't, especially in the midst of a pandemic when so many have been laid off/furloughed

Again, we’d all love to attend for free and still have what we do in front of us. Start charging less and end up worse off on the pitch due to this and we’d soon be toppling down the leagues in front of next to no fans. Works both ways with the ‘no guarantees’ stuff. Should make the prices free, millionaires should leave the clubs, players should only come to us if they are happy to play for free.

You keep repeating the people are worse off line, I’d bet more people are better off now than are worse off from 18 months ago.

24-08-2021, 09:32 PM

Players should just play for free then. Best way to get the tickets prices lower. Stop paying the leccy too. Why is it that Hearts seem to have all these fans that can afford the prices but we can’t?

ABZHFC
24-08-2021, 09:33 PM
Again, we’d all love to attend for free and still have what we do in front of us. Start charging less and end up worse off on the pitch due to this and we’d soon be toppling down the leagues in front of next to no fans. Works both ways with the ‘no guarantees’ stuff. Should make the prices free, millionaires should leave the clubs, players should only come to us if they are happy to play for free.

You keep repeating the people are worse off line, I’d bet more people are better off now than are worse off from 18 months ago.

Not being funny but you are quite literally living in another world if you think this is even remotely true

24-08-2021, 09:35 PM
Not being funny but you are quite literally living in another world if you think this is even remotely true

Why? Hibs fans that attend games and have been paid off vs Hibs fans who are now working from home, no travel costs etc, haven’t been able to go to the pub and waste money, kids haven’t been able to go on days out etc. Majority of folk I know are far better off this year.

tmb1875
24-08-2021, 09:35 PM
Your last sentence has just triggered 90% of .net [emoji23]

24-08-2021, 09:36 PM
I think it was mentioned earlier in this thread but Scottish football is far more reliant on match day/ticket income than a lot of other leagues, including those that may not be considered 'top tier'.

As fans we stump up and pay it because we want to see the best team on the park we can. It is worth questioning though. Fans are essentially being asked to plug a funding gap because of commercial failures on the part of the clubs as individuals and collectively. If that was just ticket prices it would be palatable but then we have the extra schemes that the likes of us, Hearts, Aberdeen and Motherwell have asking for a wee bit more again. Same reasoning 'you want a better team on the park put your hand in your pocket'. In theory a lot of it's voluntary. In reality it quickly becomes something else, the sneering tone of a few on this thread is proof of that.

There comes a breaking point. For some that breaking point might well be £24 or £28 for a game v Livingston.

24-08-2021, 09:38 PM
Back to normal seats so yes as far as I know

That’s what i thought too, but doesn’t seem to be anything to tell us. Suppose we’ll find out this weekend.

loanheadhibby
24-08-2021, 09:44 PM
Depends on who we are playing, Livingston will bring 2 men and a dug, if we were playing Dundee United as an example we would get about 15000. I am guessing 13000 on Saturday

Clubs missed a trick tho mate. This should have been the big coming home party. 1st game for many in 18 months. Jumbos got circa 18k on Sunday. No reason we should not be same if club had got their finger oot and done a big build up.

24-08-2021, 09:47 PM

Doesn't work like that with Football tickets in general though. Tickets for football are, in the main, price inelastic - which means the change in price does not significantly impact demand enough to make it worthwhile reducing the price.

24-08-2021, 09:50 PM
Clubs missed a trick tho mate. This should have been the big coming home party. 1st game for many in 18 months. Jumbos got circa 18k on Sunday. No reason we should not be same if club had got their finger oot and done a big build up.

That wasn’t to do with pricing though, Aberdeen brought a big support, hearts have (through hook or by crook) about 2k more season tickets than us, and they had a big tribute to Zaliukas.

We have pondered and stuttered to the point where tickets are finally on sale less than 4 days before the game.

loanheadhibby
24-08-2021, 09:59 PM
That wasn’t to do with pricing though, Aberdeen brought a big support, hearts have (through hook or by crook) about 2k more season tickets than us, and they had a big tribute to Zaliukas.

We have pondered and stuttered to the point where tickets are finally on sale less than 4 days before the game.

I agree with you. As soon as final whistle went at Dens, our PR should have been all over this. Appreciate club May have had to wait on certain safety certificates etc but should have been on front foot.

Guaranteed at some point during lockdown, fans would have been itching to get to a game.

Where’s the razzmatazz? Where’s the piper leading us up St Claire street? Where’s the advert, the day we’ve all been waiting for? The Twitter advert with the club song etc. Granted I’m going a bit it but hopefully you get the drift.

24-08-2021, 10:01 PM
I agree with you. As soon as final whistle went at Dens, our PR should have been all over this. Appreciate club May have had to wait on certain safety certificates etc but should have been on front foot.

Guaranteed at some point during lockdown, fans would have been itching to get to a game.

Where’s the razzmatazz? Where’s the piper leading us up St Claire street? Where’s the advert, the day we’ve all been waiting for? The Twitter advert with the club song etc. Granted I’m going a bit it but hopefully you get the drift.

I think you are spot on.

It's not just a run of the mill game. It's the 1st game with something resembling normality in a long, long time. It should have been treated as a huge event.

24-08-2021, 10:02 PM
Concession walk ups for me should be £5 excluding hearts,Celtic, rangers. Also think we should be doing more to encourage and help groups of kids to get to games. Going into schools and youth centres with free tickets etc.

I think the complete opposite.

I wouldn't give out any free tickets and would charge concessions more. Ok, maybe a few freebies to charity now and again.

Next time your at ER have look around the crowd, we have way too many people paying concession prices as it is, the price gap should be closed or age range changed.

24-08-2021, 10:06 PM

Completely agree. The fact the first we knew about it was a reply from KP on his personal Twitter is crazy. The first the club socials mentioned it was late tonight. Nothing to mention it being the first game back with ‘normality’ - just a ‘tickets for Saturdays home game with Livingston are now on sale’ as if that’s going to get the juices flowing for those unsure.

24-08-2021, 10:08 PM
I think the complete opposite.

I wouldn't give out any free tickets and would charge concessions more. Ok, maybe a few freebies to charity now and again.

Next time your at ER have look around the crowd, we have way too many people paying concession prices as it is, the price gap should be closed or age range changed.

How many full paying adults do you think got hooked when they attended as children at concession prices?

My daughter just turned 4 and I bought her a ST because it was something like £75. If it was £200 I wouldn't have bothered because of the number of games she will miss.

She might sack it after one season. Alternatively she could love it and Hibs have someone who will graduate to the next level of concession and then finally a full priced adult ST for 5, 10 or 20 years. Remove the concession and you remove that opportunity for a lot of families. It's bad business hence why so many industries offer various concessions.

24-08-2021, 10:09 PM

I’m not in the know and I’m just having an educated guess but I think the club let a lot of folk go and they’re short of staff. Motivating fans to get the habit back of going to Easter Road should be one the PR priorities. It’s been a bit flat and haphazard so far but we don’t really know all the problems they’re dealing with. The pricing does seem a bit OTT though.

24-08-2021, 10:09 PM

If you're going to compare prices from 43 years ago then you should also compare average salaries, cost of living etc to give a proper comparison.

If ticket prices were so cheap comparatively in 1978 then why did your old man not just pay it instead of lifting you over?

24-08-2021, 10:11 PM

Maybe doesnt guarantee you top four but payingng less might guarantee you dont get top four.

ABZHFC
24-08-2021, 10:14 PM
This will be my final point on this topic. There is no guaranteed on field success that comes from hiking up ticket prices, all it is near certain to do is put off new and occasional fans alike from coming to Easter Road on a regular basis. Quite literally, the boards of Hibs, Hearts and Aberdeen have all (gradually over the past five years) begun to increase season ticket and ticket prices at their respective stadiums. This is often justified with comments of 'well, it's what is needed to be regularly finishing in the top 4 and competing'. Not only is this a total falsehood, but it is mathematically illogical, given that us, Hearts and Aberdeen can't all finish in the top 4 - assuming the Old Firm will occupy the top two spots.

All three clubs have enjoyed near identical domestic success in our histories, and the Old Firm are currently on a duopoly of league success that has lasted since 1985. So why do we honestly think that increasing our ticket prices will actually give us a better chance of challenging them? Especially when it's done in line with the other two clubs anyway? Surely, the more honest pursuers of this line of argument would say that we have to charge *more* than Aberdeen and Hearts to guarantee regular success in the top four places of Scotland, which would see our ticket prices rise to about £35/£40.

Simply put, season ticket prices and walk-up prices are far too high across Scotland. This isn't a controversial point, they near objectively are. I don't think it is up to solely Hibs to reduce them, it is up to all clubs in Scotland. But what I do think is important is that fans of all clubs call their own boards out for being chancers with this kind of thing, and that they don't swallow PR nonsense about 'ambition' and 'competitiveness'. We all know that a family of 2 adults and 2 kids paying £84 for Livingston at home is an absolute joke, now let's try and make sure we let know the club know this, and hope that they see the errors of their way and think about reducing it

24-08-2021, 10:22 PM
How many full paying adults do you think got hooked when they attended as children at concession prices?

My daughter just turned 4 and I bought her a ST because it was something like £75. If it was £200 I wouldn't have bothered because of the number of games she will miss.

She might sack it after one season. Alternatively she could love it and Hibs have someone who will graduate to the next level of concession and then finally a full priced adult ST for 5, 10 or 20 years. Remove the concession and you remove that opportunity for a lot of families. It's bad business hence why so many industries offer various concessions.

Very few, is my view!

I don't think it has any bearing on kids that age. Once they're maybe 10 - 15 and taking an interest themselves, that's when they either get hooked or drift away.

At the other end of the scale, someone turning 65 back in the 60s or 70s really did need help. Very few people had private pensions and pensioner poverty was a very real thing.

It's entirely different for someone turning 65 in 2021. This generation of pensioners is the wealthiest the country has ever known. (Obviously there are exceptions before anyone jumps on me, but the general point stands.)

So, I'd raise the concession age in line with the state pension age for starters. If you're driving to ER in your Jag or Merc you can afford to pay full price.

tmb1875
24-08-2021, 10:22 PM

Pretty much same for me, I take both my girls and if it was any dearer it might not be possible for us to have season tickets. I know a few who didn’t renew for this year due to cost and a few walk ups that have simply lost interest or felt like there no good to hibs if there not a season ticket holder. Hibs are competing with a whole load of other places to grab your attention on a Saturday afternoon. Dropping the cost a wee bit and making people feel involved and part of the club especially after a long while away could see us get back to the high attendances of recent seasons.

24-08-2021, 10:26 PM
This will be my final point on this topic. There is no guaranteed on field success that comes from hiking up ticket prices, all it is near certain to do is put off new and occasional fans alike from coming to Easter Road on a regular basis. Quite literally, the boards of Hibs, Hearts and Aberdeen have all (gradually over the past five years) begun to increase season ticket and ticket prices at their respective stadiums. This is often justified with comments of 'well, it's what is needed to be regularly finishing in the top 4 and competing'. Not only is this a total falsehood, but it is mathematically illogical, given that us, Hearts and Aberdeen can't all finish in the top 4 - assuming the Old Firm will occupy the top two spots.

All three clubs have enjoyed near identical domestic success in our histories, and the Old Firm are currently on a duopoly of league success that has lasted since 1985. So why do we honestly think that increasing our ticket prices will actually give us a better chance of challenging them? Especially when it's done in line with the other two clubs anyway? Surely, the more honest pursuers of this line of argument would say that we have to charge *more* than Aberdeen and Hearts to guarantee regular success in the top four places of Scotland, which would see our ticket prices rise to about £35/£40.

Simply put, season ticket prices and walk-up prices are far too high across Scotland. This isn't a controversial point, they near objectively are. I don't think it is up to solely Hibs to reduce them, it is up to all clubs in Scotland. But what I do think is important is that fans of all clubs call their own boards out for being chancers with this kind of thing, and that they don't swallow PR nonsense about 'ambition' and 'competitiveness'. We all know that a family of 2 adults and 2 kids paying £84 for Livingston at home is an absolute joke, now let's try and make sure we let know the club know this, and hope that they see the errors of their way and think about reducing it

What does lowering the price do? Serious question, it doesn’t guarantee higher attendances, it may therefore result in a bigger gap in finances, we would then have to cut our cloth accordingly. Risky, majority of cases it’s more money = more success. If we started slipping down the table it wouldn’t matter how little we charged, nobody would come.

Without the commercial backing from both the league and the club itself, lowering ticket prices is always going to have an adverse affect on what a club can do transfer wise. While it doesn’t always stack up, majority of the time it does. Those with the biggest budget and squad will finish near the top, and those with the smallest at the bottom.

Biggest budgets - Rangers and Celtic - top 2 last year.
Next band - Hibs and Aberdeen - 3/4.
Hamilton - lowest budget - bottom.

Man City biggest budget - won league 3 out of last 4 years.

24-08-2021, 10:27 PM

Celtic gave their ST ticket holders a £50 voucher for the shop and Motherwell very generously offered their 4500 season ticket holders a refund. What did all the other big clubs give their fans? Genuine question as I don't remember any others.

24-08-2021, 10:31 PM

If Hibs reduce prices, how are wages and other bills going to be paid?

If you don't have an answer then calling the board "chancers" is out of order.

Revolutionaries normally propose alternatives, you don't. You make a lot of noise but keep dodging the most important question.

24-08-2021, 10:32 PM
Admins, can we just change the title of this thread for every home game this season and the next and the next and so on. That will save the whingers making the same arguments ad Infinitum

24-08-2021, 10:33 PM
If Hibs reduce prices, how are wages and other bills going to be paid?

If you don't have an answer then calling the board "chancers" is out of order.

Revolutionaries normally propose alternatives, you don't. You make a lot of noise but keep dodging the most important question.

We take a Covid loan from the government, put our staff on furlough, tell the players to take massive cuts, and claim insurance for loss of business…. I mean that’s what we done last year with no income, this year is the same…

loanheadhibby
24-08-2021, 10:33 PM
If you're going to compare prices from 43 years ago then you should also compare average salaries, cost of living etc to give a proper comparison.

If ticket prices were so cheap comparatively in 1978 then why did your old man not just pay it instead of lifting you over?

I was not making point about comparative difference, it was just an observation of the difference in real terms.

Back in day, all the young lads got lifted over. Turnstile was waste high. It was done thing.

24-08-2021, 10:34 PM

😀 Is that the modern day equivalent of your old man not wanting to pay the full price and lifting you over?

loanheadhibby
24-08-2021, 10:37 PM
😀 Is that the modern day equivalent of your old man not wanting to pay the full price and lifting you over?

Too right. I’m aboot 20 stone so god help him lifting me! And he’s 73 now.

loanheadhibby
24-08-2021, 10:42 PM
Admins, can we just change the title of this thread for every home game this season and the next and the next and so on. That will save the whingers making the same arguments ad Infinitum

That’s a bit harsh for the fiscally challenged people within our support. Are they not entitled to a voice? Should club not try to be inclusive of all portions of our support?

Keep the poorly paid, low income whingers on the same thread and away from me as I can afford a ticket….

24-08-2021, 10:48 PM
That’s a bit harsh for the fiscally challenged people within our support. Are they not entitled to a voice? Should club not try to be inclusive of all portions of our support?

Keep the poorly paid, low income whingers on the same thread and away from me as I can afford a ticket….

I’d love for those in dire straits financially to fall under a concession banner but I’m not sure how easy that is to police. Similar to students I suppose.

24-08-2021, 10:51 PM

I know that. I was replying to your post where you suggested it.
You said:
"I would rather we finished bottom six with Hibs fans still being able to attend games than finish top 4 every season with £30 tickets for walk-ups."

Why not take it up with the Scottish Football Supporters Association? They are looking for fans' opinions on this very subject.

https://www.instagram.com/p/CSzUYDuIxxZ/

24-08-2021, 10:56 PM
I’d love for those in dire straits financially to fall under a concession banner but I’m not sure how easy that is to police. Similar to students I suppose.

I don't think it just falls down to people struggling financially.

There is a huge middle ground that is often overlooked in these black and white arguments that become increasingly polarised. 'Shut up, pay your money or you are actively harming the team' on one side v 'the club are robbing us blind' on the other. I daresay most people accept that £80+ is a decent chunk of money for a family of 4 to spend on half a day out. For some it's easily affordable, others unaffordable and for some it might mean something else has to be cut.

I'd argue it's important that all sides voices are heard. People dismissing the circumstances of others and guilt tripping people isn't conductive to a good discussion. Equally calling for slashed ticket prices without accepting there are consequences is equally naive. It's too easy for some just to label people who disagree with you rather than understanding that their argument might be coming from a completely different set of circumstances that shapes their viewpoint differently.

24-08-2021, 11:01 PM
You are missing the point that many of the empty seats are unused season ticket holders seats. Are you advocating taking away the seat from someone who fails to show up for a couple of matches?

I missed the Ross County match and did not apply for a ticket, although I have been to the Arsenal friendly and all the Europa Conference matches plus the Kilmarnock match.

I will also miss the Livingston game. I have not been able to sit in my seat once so far yet. Some idiot want to give my seat away despite the fact that even if everyone turned up there would still most of the South Stand plus huge chunks of the East, West, and FF stand vacant.

24-08-2021, 11:30 PM

Yep agreed.

25-08-2021, 03:02 AM
In 1988 I went to see Hibs vs Aberdeen with Archibald playing. I paid £3 at the gate. The UK Retail Price Index was about 100. Now it is about 300. So my equivalent price now is £9. Up 200% but at £28 it is up 833%!

The club needs to do something more scientific about pricing. If we get 3,000 paying £28 then we need 4,200 at £20. We need to properly test what this price/demand relationship is for Hibs - the so called price elasticity. Hopefully, the new CEO is smart enough to carry this our.

25-08-2021, 06:12 AM

Pretty cheap shot calling folk with genuine worries whingers. Seems its the norm on here nowadays, if you dont like what you read just call them whingers. Although, there are genuine whingers on the board, no matter what Hibs/club/team do they complain, may be an idea to get stuck into them instead? They are easy to find.

25-08-2021, 06:26 AM

That’s just your opinion. We don’t ALL know and we don’t all agree. If you took your kids to watch a pop concert you’d pay a lot more. It’s costs more for a round of golf. Why should watching Hibs cheaper.

25-08-2021, 06:33 AM
That’s just your opinion. We don’t ALL know and we don’t all agree. If you took your kids to watch a pop concert you’d pay a lot more. It’s costs more for a round of golf. Why should watching Hibs cheaper.

Not many folk go to a pop concert every second Saturday though.

25-08-2021, 06:34 AM
In 1988 I went to see Hibs vs Aberdeen with Archibald playing. I paid £3 at the gate. The UK Retail Price Index was about 100. Now it is about 300. So my equivalent price now is £9. Up 200% but at £28 it is up 833%!

The club needs to do something more scientific about pricing. If we get 3,000 paying £28 then we need 4,200 at £20. We need to properly test what this price/demand relationship is for Hibs - the so called price elasticity. Hopefully, the new CEO is smart enough to carry this our.

I think it’s long been understood by clubs that there is no direct correlation with prices and demand. There is more of a “points” elasticity. If we are winning games - more people will start to go to games. Doesn’t mean we are getting pricing right though . For the last 6+ years Hibs have taken a decision to largely be on the high side of any prices . It’s not very community minded .

25-08-2021, 06:43 AM
Not many folk go to a pop concert every second Saturday though.

If you go every second Saturday then it would be a bit silly not to get yourself a season ticket.

25-08-2021, 06:50 AM
Just for some balance, a non-ST at Ibrox on Sunday is £50, adult or child. No concessions.

25-08-2021, 06:56 AM
Just for some balance, a non-ST at Ibrox on Saturday is £50, adult or child. No concessions.

What balance? Unless you're trying to compare Rangers v Celtic as a similar match to Hibs v Livi and Rangers' fanbase to Hibs' fanbase.

I've no issue with Hibs charging what ever they want to charge. Just drop the community club pish please. It's an enterprise that wants to maximise revenue and profit. It's about as interested in the local community as much as wetherspoons, asda or shell.

25-08-2021, 06:57 AM
What balance? Unless you're trying to compare Rangers v Celtic as a similar match to Hibs v Livi and Rangers' fanbase to Hibs' fanbase.

I've no issue with Hibs charging what ever they want to charge. Just drop the community club pish please. It's an enterprise that wants to maximise revenue and profit. It's about as interested in the local community as much as wetherspoons, asda or shell.

The community side is nothing to do with giving cheap tickets.

25-08-2021, 06:59 AM

Hibs try and maximise profits? Christ were absolutely hopeless at it if that’s the case.

25-08-2021, 07:00 AM
If you go every second Saturday then it would be a bit silly not to get yourself a season ticket.

Exactly. I’ve no issue with people saying they can’t afford to go every week but when you do go you cannot expect it to be the same or even cheaper than a ST pays. That’s just daft.

25-08-2021, 07:01 AM
It seems to me that the prices are set to encourage more people to purchase a season ticket rather than buying tickets on a game by game basis, 2 adults and 2 children in the FF stand would cost £50 per game with a ST and £75 on a game by game basis. If a family can afford it a season ticket is still the best option. For adults a season ticket can be bought for £385 in the bronze areas this would still be a saving of about £4-6 a game

mcohibs
25-08-2021, 07:05 AM
Just for some balance, a non-ST at Ibrox on Sunday is £50, adult or child. No concessions.

Aye for a sell out old firm game. Their fans would pay four times that for a ticket if it got them in. We're talking about Hibs v Livi

25-08-2021, 07:06 AM

Finally Hibs are being run properly.

The balance is that some games in our league are being charged at £50 for concessions. Pesky capitalists.

25-08-2021, 07:07 AM
Aye for a sell out old firm game. Their would pay four times that for a ticket if it got them in. We're talking about Hibs v Livi

So half that price to watch another game in the league really isn't that bad is it.

Hibs don't pay their players less for playing Livi than Hearts, and the leccy isn't off-peak for Cat B games either.

25-08-2021, 07:10 AM
Finally Hibs are being run properly.

The balance is that some games in our league are being charged at £50 for concessions. Pesky capitalists.

But there's no balance. Ibrox is at about 95% occupancy with season ticket holders wereas Easter Road is about 55%. Rangers could sell 20,000 tickets alone to dafties in Belfast and Derry for matches v Celtic. Then another 20,000 to gloryhunters over Scotland etc etc.

For balance compare us to Dundee Utd v Hearts and Aberdeen v Ross County and I daresay we're actually in line with them.

Greed isn't in a Hibs problem its a football/Scottish football problem.

25-08-2021, 07:13 AM
But there's no balance. Ibrox is at about 95% occupancy with season ticket holders wereas Easter Road is about 55%. Rangers could sell 20,000 tickets alone to dafties in Belfast and Derry for matches v Celtic. Then another 20,000 to gloryhunters over Scotland etc etc.

For balance compare us to Dundee Utd v Hearts and Aberdeen v Ross County and I daresay we're actually in line with them.

Greed isn't in a Hibs problem its a football/Scottish football problem.

Unfortunately it doesn't matter what the price is on Saturday, we still won't fill the stadium. Someone has already pointed out the inelasticity of demand of football tickets in Scotland (outwith the Old Firm)

I don't think you're being fair on Scottish football either. We have nowhere near the TV deals and sponsorships that other leagues have to be able to subsidise ticket prices. If we did, I'd be joining you in your comments.

25-08-2021, 07:42 AM
Unfortunately it doesn't matter what the price is on Saturday, we still won't fill the stadium. Someone has already pointed out the inelasticity of demand of football tickets in Scotland (outwith the Old Firm)

I don't think you're being fair on Scottish football either. We have nowhere near the TV deals and sponsorships that other leagues have to be able to subsidise ticket prices. If we did, I'd be joining you in your comments.

Surely your 2nd paragraph brings us back to a point I made earlier. Why don't we as clubs collectively and individually have those deals? Someone pointed out earlier that Rijeka have a higher turnover than us despite having an 8K capacity stadium. Is the Croatian league a glamour league that is obviously attractive to outside investment? I don't think I could name 4 teams in it without using Google.

I don't think it's at all unfair to criticise Scottish football when ticket prices are plugging shortfalls in commercial income though. It's not just ticket sales either. For years it was go to games and you are a 'real' fan, then it was buy a ST because that allows us to set a budget more clearly in advance and now it's morphed into buy a ST and also give a few pounds extra to HSL, FoH, AberDNA or whatever.

It's fundamentally unsustainable to keep going back to the fans asking for more. For me it's not about the ticket prices for one game, it's about an entire culture of expecting fans to stump up whilst our game collectively continues to fail to attract the commercial deals other potentially comparable leagues can attract. I think it's quite a sad indictment of our game that people are openly suggesting that a fan being unable or even unwilling to pay £28 to watch a game is direct causation for a weaker team on the park.

25-08-2021, 07:57 AM
How did Motherwell get on a few years back when they dropped their prices? I assume with them giving free tickets away this year that Fir Park will be creaking at the seams every week? It's really not as simple as dropping prices and then more folk turn up.

It's a football wide problem at the moment, driven by players being paid a ****ing ridiculous amount if money to play football. Players have always been paid more than your ordinary punter but at the moment it is obscene. And I do include our players in that. The average salary in Scotland in 2020 was 25k, what's the average footballers salary? Not even in the same ballpark. At a guess I'd say hibs is 100k on average. 4 times the national average. Football is pretty disgusting when it comes to finances and I'm not sure if I would be interested in it if it wasn't for my love of Hibs.

25-08-2021, 08:12 AM
Surely your 2nd paragraph brings us back to a point I made earlier. Why don't we as clubs collectively and individually have those deals? Someone pointed out earlier that Rijeka have a higher turnover than us despite having an 8K capacity stadium. Is the Croatian league a glamour league that is obviously attractive to outside investment? I don't think I could name 4 teams in it without using Google.

I don't think it's at all unfair to criticise Scottish football when ticket prices are plugging shortfalls in commercial income though. It's not just ticket sales either. For years it was go to games and you are a 'real' fan, then it was buy a ST because that allows us to set a budget more clearly in advance and now it's morphed into buy a ST and also give a few pounds extra to HSL, FoH, AberDNA or whatever.

It's fundamentally unsustainable to keep going back to the fans asking for more. For me it's not about the ticket prices for one game, it's about an entire culture of expecting fans to stump up whilst our game collectively continues to fail to attract the commercial deals other potentially comparable leagues can attract. I think it's quite a sad indictment of our game that people are openly suggesting that a fan being unable or even unwilling to pay £28 to watch a game is direct causation for a weaker team on the park.

In 2017 (it's all I could find) ticket revenue accounted for only 10% of Croatia's top 10 clubs' income.

https://www.obserwatorfinansowy.pl/in-english/croatian-risky-football-economy/

25-08-2021, 08:12 AM
How did Motherwell get on a few years back when they dropped their prices? I assume with them giving free tickets away this year that Fir Park will be creaking at the seams every week? It's really not as simple as dropping prices and then more folk turn up.

It's a football wide problem at the moment, driven by players being paid a ****ing ridiculous amount if money to play football. Players have always been paid more than your ordinary punter but at the moment it is obscene. And I do include our players in that. The average salary in Scotland in 2020 was 25k, what's the average footballers salary? Not even in the same ballpark. At a guess I'd say hibs is 100k on average. 4 times the national average. Football is pretty disgusting when it comes to finances and I'm not sure if I would be interested in it if it wasn't for my love of Hibs.

They didn’t give away free tickets - they honoured the tickets bought last year that weren’t used.

25-08-2021, 08:27 AM

You judge me because I have an opinion? As someone who has not been able to earn a penny throughout covid and not received any government assistance I feel competent to comment on the present fiscal struggles. There are many worse off than me but many more better off. However, when retail outlets, cinemas, pubs, legal firms, etc., start to introduce giveaway prices because some people earn less than others, then I’ll have a go at other businesses like our football club

25-08-2021, 08:32 AM

You're absolutely right PB. We really should have the investment and you could lay the blame at the door of the SPFL & Hibs, I understand why. However, I'd caveat that in two ways;

1) The lack of investment is historic (back to original Sky fallout, SPFL TV & Setanta) and we are now held to ransom by TV Companies. Unfortunately our league just doesn't attract the viewership that the English leagues do and we share an island with them (see Also Welsh League & NI League which are way behind us). In Croatia, the Croatian TV companies & big business will be paying to support the league & clubs, we don't have a purely Scottish broadcaster willing to do so and we are suffering from lack of BBC/Sky/BT investment as a result. We are just not the attractive league(s) in the UK.

2) There are clear improvements being made as you allude to with HSL, FOH, AberDNA etc. Commercially, Hibs seem to be a completely different beast now with ambitious plans for the future, including wanting to double the player budget. However, short term we will need the ticket prices to be in line with our expenditure. If they keep increasing prices along with massively increased commercial income I'll start to question the club, which is your last point and one I agree with.

25-08-2021, 08:34 AM
In 2017 (it's all I could find) ticket revenue accounted for only 10% of Croatia's top 10 clubs' income.

https://www.obserwatorfinansowy.pl/in-english/croatian-risky-football-economy/

That's a sobering read and feed into the point I'm making.

Our reliance on ticket sales as a driver of turnover is every bit as risky as some of the issues faced by Croatian teams as pointed out in the article.

25-08-2021, 08:35 AM
There seems to be a different tone from
Hibs fans on returning to the games than we are seeing at Aberdeen and Hearts (for example). These guys seem to be coming back in Hibees, eager to get a ticket . Hearts/Aberdeen game was sold out I believe (or thereabouts)..

We seem to have a number of fans still not going back to the match. I’ll be surprised if we get over 11k on Saturday ..

Wonder why there seems such a difference …

Largshibby
25-08-2021, 08:41 AM

We're playing good football at the moment and sitting top of the league with every chance of still being there after the weekend. How often can we say that? Saturdays a chance to see our new signings and "star" players for the first time in the flesh so anyone not attending because there isnt any razzmatazz or campaign promoting the game is looking for any excuse IMO. Its not as if we don't know the game is coming up. Season ticket holders and club sponsors have done their bit big time over the last 18 months with little return so now its the turn of the walk ups/ irregular attenders to do theirs - me included. 5 of us are heading over on saturday (one is a sevco fan - don't ask) instead of the normal 2 so I would say drop everything on saturday get the tickets bought and we can easily get 17/18k in the ground. There's plenty time.

25-08-2021, 08:55 AM
They didn’t give away free tickets - they honoured the tickets bought last year that weren’t used.
I thought they were giving free tickets to unemployed folks this season

25-08-2021, 09:10 AM

I didn’t know that - if that’s the case well done to them.

25-08-2021, 09:15 AM
I didn’t know that - if that’s the case well done to them.

They are, but sure it was from money raised by supporters, like our kids tickets that we buy. Could be wrong but don’t think it’s as simple as the club just handing free tickets out Willy Nilly.

25-08-2021, 09:16 AM

That’s 50% correct. They are asking for fans to donate and they will match all donations. Unemployed Fans can then apply for a season ticket.

Hibees1973
25-08-2021, 09:43 AM
Wonder if Ron & Ben have read the posts on this thread. Hopefully they do, as it is clear they and other staff at Hibs have had their heads in the sand regarding the game on Saturday. Earlier in the week I had to email Hibs to get any kind of information because they were saying nothing.

Here is the moan.

1. No build up to the game on Saturday, even with us being top of the league.
2. No communication from Hibs to fans giving a reason why the tickets went on general sale very late
3. Other clubs, i.e Rangers, Celtic, Aberdeen and Hearts have already played games with full capacity with the tickets on sale well in advance
4. £28 for a standard adult ticket. Way to much for a home game against Livingston.

What an opportunity missed to drum up interest for the first capacity game, particularly with us being top of the league.

Any competent marketing division of a company would have been all over this event to maximise profits. This is not greed, it's business. The points I have made are basic marketing point. Hibs also seldom advertise events/hospitatilty on local radio to get their message out which would really help.

Think if Leeann had still been at the helm at Hibs all this would have been done so much better.

Hope this is not the shape of things to come from the people now in charge at Hibs.

Moan over.

ABZHFC
25-08-2021, 09:48 AM
Here are the ticket prices for adults who attend both last weekend's and this coming weekend's round of Premiership fixtures

Matchday 3
Livingston vs Motherwell £25
Celtic vs St Mirren £30
Dundee vs Hibernian £26
St Johnstone vs Dundee United £25/£24
Hearts vs Aberdeen £31/£29
Ross County vs Rangers £25

Matchday 4
Dundee United vs Hearts £28
Hibernian vs Livingston £28/£26/£24
Motherwell vs Dundee £24/£20
Rangers vs Celtic £50
Aberdeen vs Ross County £30/£20/£18*
St Mirren vs St Johnstone £22

*Aberdeen have reduced their ticket prices for this game as a way of saying thank you to their fans

So in Scotland, a country where nearly 2% of its population attend a football match every weekend, it is near impossible to buy an adult walk-up ticket for less than £20. Most aren't even low twenties either, with more and more creeping up towards £30. It just isn't on, and yes I get that clubs have to protect the value of season tickets, but then surely the answer is for season ticket prices to come down too (as they are also steep), rather than just continuing to increase walk-up prices in order to make ST holders feel like they're getting a good deal. Factors ranging from time to affordability mean that nowhere near every football supporter can have a season ticket, so how about we as fans encourage our boards to stop fleecing us

25-08-2021, 09:54 AM
I’m at a loss why anyone would think it would be less than £20 to watch a game in the top Scottish league.

25-08-2021, 09:57 AM
Btw it is £23 to watch Cheltenham town who have just gone up to league 1 down south. And people think we should be cheaper than that?

25-08-2021, 09:58 AM
I’m at a loss why anyone would think it would be less than £20 to watch a game in the top Scottish league.

To make it more accessible for many people ??

I’m fortunate that I’ve got my season ticket and it’s not a barrier to me, but I think the “20s plenty” slogan has a lot of truth in it. Football is now an expensive day out for a family, when it used to be very easy to access .

ABZHFC
25-08-2021, 09:59 AM

It should absolutely be £20 at a maximum for any category B game in Scotland, if you maybe wanted to charge £25 for Category A games then fine, but no more than £20 for any category B game should become a league-mandated rule. We pride ourselves on being different to the money down south (the SPFL even ran a 'this is real football' campaign after the failed European Super League breakaway), so how about we actually start doing things to show it? And like I say, this is not at all an impossibility, clubs would not in anyway go bust if you forced them to do this, the prices have gone up because it is all about maximising profits for these owners

25-08-2021, 10:00 AM
We get out football cheap. Hibs should be charging a minimum of £40. If this deters the riff-raff and the more unsavory elements, then so be it.

ABZHFC
25-08-2021, 10:02 AM
Btw it is £23 to watch Cheltenham town who have just gone up to league 1 down south. And people think we should be cheaper than that?

I'll quite literally never understand this kind of attitude that you have displayed routinely throughout this thread. What do you think folk who protest against our high ticket prices think? That all other clubs are highly reasonable and their boards should be allowed to crack on with it? No. We want, football-wide, a decrease in ticket prices in order to make going to the football affordable for nearly everyone again. £20 seems to me like a fair maximum price, and it's a goal we can work towards

25-08-2021, 10:06 AM
To make it more accessible for many people ??

I’m fortunate that I’ve got my season ticket and it’s not a barrier to me, but I think the “20s plenty” slogan has a lot of truth in it. Football is now an expensive day out for a family, when it used to be very easy to access .

Honestly I’m a family man, but there is barely any cheap days out nowadays. I’ve just spent the summer holidays shelling out money left right and centre for trips and days out. To think football is somehow different to all that is wrong.

Hibee ultra
25-08-2021, 10:09 AM
We get out football cheap. Hibs should be charging a minimum of £40. If this deters the riff-raff and the more unsavory elements, then so be it.

Bro wtf is that take

25-08-2021, 10:11 AM
Honestly I’m a family man, but there is barely any cheap days out nowadays. I’ve just spent the summer holidays shelling out money left right and centre for trips and days out. To think football is somehow different to all that is wrong.

Yep. Understand that experience. Just because many other things are also expensive, Does it make it right ?

25-08-2021, 10:15 AM
Yep. Understand that experience. Just because many other things are also expensive, Does it make it right ?

It makes it normal. I don’t know how you quantify what is expensive or not. Surely if folk are paying it then it isn’t expensive? Like I said earlier, I’d love for prices to be next to nothing, but that’s not the reality.

25-08-2021, 10:16 AM
Wonder if Ron & Ben have read the posts on this thread. Hopefully they do, as it is clear they and other staff at Hibs have had their heads in the sand regarding the game on Saturday. Earlier in the week I had to email Hibs to get any kind of information because they were saying nothing.

Here is the moan.

1. No build up to the game on Saturday, even with us being top of the league.
2. No communication from Hibs to fans giving a reason why the tickets went on general sale very late
3. Other clubs, i.e Rangers, Celtic, Aberdeen and Hearts have already played games with full capacity with the tickets on sale well in advance
4. £28 for a standard adult ticket. Way to much for a home game against Livingston.

What an opportunity missed to drum up interest for the first capacity game, particularly with us being top of the league.

Any competent marketing division of a company would have been all over this event to maximise profits. This is not greed, it's business. The points I have made are basic marketing point. Hibs also seldom advertise events/hospitatilty on local radio to get their message out which would really help.

Think if Leeann had still been at the helm at Hibs all this would have been done so much better.

Hope this is not the shape of things to come from the people now in charge at Hibs.

Moan over.

:agree: On the football side of the club we’re doing well. Off the field needs a lot of work done.

25-08-2021, 10:18 AM
It makes it normal. I don’t know how you quantify what is expensive or not. Surely if folk are paying it then it isn’t expensive? Like I said earlier, I’d love for prices to be next to nothing, but that’s not the reality.

Nobody is asking for next to nothing…..And as I’ve said before I’m in a fortunate position that it doesn’t stop me, but some 20 quid adult tickets and 10 quid child tickets for match days would make it more accessible for many people . It’s not as if people are asking for free/ next to nothing entry.

25-08-2021, 10:26 AM
I read a post on Facebook today advertising tickets for the Scotland V Moldova game next month. Priced from £20 adults, £5 concessions.

It caught my attention and I am now in possesion a 2 seats for a total of £25. Had it been £25 and £15 I wouldn't have bothered. First Scotland game I will attend in about a decade, who knows it might get me hooked again.

25-08-2021, 10:27 AM

No it doesn’t BUT it doesn’t make it wrong either. The prices we are charging start at £20 per game if you are an adult and have a season ticket. The club have done everything they can to help supporters regardless of their financial position to buy Season tickets. This allows the club to budget accordingly. Fans paying at the gate does not and for that they pay a premium. Maybe not fair but is done by all clubs

25-08-2021, 10:31 AM

It's £21.00 to watch FC Halifax town I'm told in yhe conference league.

Football prices are too high but compared to others £26.00 is about right.

ABZHFC
25-08-2021, 10:32 AM
Nobody is asking for next to nothing…..And as I’ve said before I’m in a fortunate position that it doesn’t stop me, but some 20 quid adult tickets and 10 quid child tickets for match days would make it more accessible for many people . It’s not as if people are asking for free/ next to nothing entry.

Yep, we are not demanding the earth. I believe that £20 maximum for adults and £10 maximum for concessions would be fair and reasonable. It would then cost you £380 if you did every game as a walk-up, and then you could set season tickets at something like £340-£360 so there is still marginally better value for money in buying a season ticket (£17.90 or £18.95 per game)

25-08-2021, 10:36 AM

ABZ literally did earlier on. However, has there been any analysis done on that? What if £15/£5 was the maximum thousands would pay? How low does it go to include everyone? That’s the hard place for the club.

25-08-2021, 10:36 AM
Yep, we are not demanding the earth. I believe that £20 maximum for adults and £10 maximum for concessions would be fair and reasonable. It would then cost you £380 if you did every game as a walk-up, and then you could set season tickets at something like £340-£360 so there is still marginally better value for money in buying a season ticket (£17.90 or £18.95 per game)

You are demanding that Hibs reduce their turnover though, which they won't ever do. I understand everyone's reasonings, but it won't change so we better get used to it quickly.

If there is a winning team on the park consistently this season our attendances will be fine whatever the cost.

25-08-2021, 10:37 AM
ABZ literally did earlier on. However, has there been any analysis done on that? What if £15/£5 was the maximum thousands would pay? How low does it go to include everyone? That’s the hard place for the club.

At £20/£5 for Scotland v Moldova, the crowd will still be pitiful because the demand isn't there.

25-08-2021, 10:38 AM

£360 so miss one game and it’s not worth getting a season ticket, that would destroy our ST sales. Folk would pay as they go.

mcohibs
25-08-2021, 10:42 AM
I read a post on Facebook today advertising tickets for the Scotland V Moldova game next month. Priced from £20 adults, £5 concessions.

It caught my attention and I am now in possesion a 2 seats for a total of £25. Had it been £25 and £15 I wouldn't have bothered. First Scotland game I will attend in about a decade, who knows it might get me hooked again.

Says it all really. On the flip side to that, couple of my mates have decided against going on Saturday based on ticket price. Non ST holders but they'd usually go to games throughout the season as walk ups. I'm still going and buzzing for it as haven't been since pre-covid but can totally understand their decision

ABZHFC
25-08-2021, 10:43 AM

Even if you think that club would be adversely affected by dropping prices, do you not see how the fact we are protesting against them doing so is down to them increasing it in the first place? They don't increase ticket prices because the club is in financial hardship, they do so because they are looking to make more profit.

As an example, on the 23rd of November 2019, we played our first ever game at home under Jack Ross, against Motherwell. Tickets that day (there were no 'zones' back then) were £23 for an adult. Now, less than two years later, in over 80% of the ground, it will cost you between £26 and £28 for a home against Livingston. And all this after a pandemic that has hit many of our low income supporters hard in the pocket. So even if you disagree with us on how low the prices can/should go, can we not agree that prices should be reversed back to how they were when Ross first came in, which was £23 for an adult walk-up at a category B game

25-08-2021, 10:48 AM
Surely needs to be some context in terms of the millions lost to clubs during Covid. I think the season ticket prices and pay up options were very good and allows fans to have their own seat plus pay up rather than a larger one off payment. It is undoubtedly a balancing act in terms of walk up prices however it makes sense to try and make revenue from walk up fans.

25-08-2021, 10:48 AM
How did you arrive at the £20 max figure? Just cause it's a nice round number?

What about folk that think £10 is the absolute max that we should have to pay? Are they wrong?

25-08-2021, 10:50 AM

What about folk that think £10 is the absolute max that we should have to pay? Are they wrong?

Yep the setting of pricing is always a balancing act. Our prices look to be in line with our peers let's see how it works out. Will be great to get back to ER in a Saturday that is for sure especially when we are top of the league.

25-08-2021, 10:57 AM
At £20/£5 for Scotland v Moldova, the crowd will still be pitiful because the demand isn't there.

The lack of available seats when I went on to purchase tickets this morning suggests otherwise.

North Stand completely sold out as is much of the South Stand. Limited availability in the corner sections is all that is really left and even then getting 2 seats together in a few of them was a struggle.

25-08-2021, 10:59 AM
Even if you think that club would be adversely affected by dropping prices, do you not see how the fact we are protesting against them doing so is down to them increasing it in the first place? They don't increase ticket prices because the club is in financial hardship, they do so because they are looking to make more profit.

As an example, on the 23rd of November 2019, we played our first ever game at home under Jack Ross, against Motherwell. Tickets that day (there were no 'zones' back then) were £23 for an adult. Now, less than two years later, in over 80% of the ground, it will cost you between £26 and £28 for a home against Livingston. And all this after a pandemic that has hit many of our low income supporters hard in the pocket. So even if you disagree with us on how low the prices can/should go, can we not agree that prices should be reversed back to how they were when Ross first came in, which was £23 for an adult walk-up at a category B game

It won’t though as the majority of that 80% will be season ticket holders. Clubs aren’t in it to make profit (well most), how many years have Hibs been in profit recently? We do it to pay higher wages and afford better players. If Ron reckons he’s going to make massive profits from Hibs currently then hes mad.

25-08-2021, 11:00 AM

That’s my issue, someone’s £20 is another’s £10 and another’s £30. I’ve no issue with people wanting lower prices, but to say it’s all for profit and not because clubs rely on it after the past 18 months is hard to fathom.

25-08-2021, 11:04 AM

I did the same for the Israel game in October 👍

25-08-2021, 11:07 AM
Yep the setting of pricing is always a balancing act. Our prices look to be in line with our peers let's see how it works out. Will be great to get back to ER in a Saturday that is for sure especially when we are top of the league.

In a nutshell :aok:

I'm fortunate in that I have a season ticket, so I maybe shouldn't comment on walk up prices, but £28 for Livvi feels steep.

If that's the new norm for the smaller league games I can see why folk are concerned.

soul_driver
25-08-2021, 11:12 AM

That is also 2 seasons ago. So 2 seasons ago it was £23. This season you can get Bronze seats for only £1 more. With Silver seats only £3 more. Doesn't sound that bad to me. Nothing wrong with either of these seat areas. I've sat in Bronze areas before and there is nothing wrong with those seats.

loanheadhibby
25-08-2021, 11:12 AM

I sincerely hope this comment is tongue in cheek. If not, it’s a sad day in life. Denying under privileged people the right to watch football.

A working class game taken over by the middle/upper classes.

Next you’ll be suggesting that anyone who lives in a council house should not be allowed to attend.

ABZHFC
25-08-2021, 11:14 AM
In a nutshell :aok:

I'm fortunate in that I have a season ticket, so I maybe shouldn't comment on walk up prices, but £28 for Livvi feels steep.

If that's the new norm for the smaller league games I can see why folk are concerned.

Aye, this is the thing mate, it's not a bad deal for season ticket holders. Even if you buy a non-early bird ST in a gold seat, it still only costs £23 per match on average. That's pretty decent and the club should be commended for that, especially when there are good payment options for staggering the cost over 6 or 10 months. But like you say, this will be the new norm for Category B league games, and that is worrying. I don't know how we are meant to attract new fans if that's the cost of an adult ticket for even the most bog-standard of Hibs games? And for those saying 'you can still get them for £24!', you can, but in something like 16% of the ground, with existing season ticket holders already there too. So I don't really buy this idea that it's somehow a good deal for walk-ups, it isn't at all, and I think it's incumbent on all of us (ST holders and non-ST holders alike) to try and make the club rethink this

ABZHFC
25-08-2021, 11:17 AM
That is also 2 seasons ago. So 2 seasons ago it was £23. This season you can get Bronze seats for only £1 more. With Silver seats only £3 more. Doesn't sound that bad to me. Nothing wrong with either of these seat areas. I've sat in Bronze areas before and there is nothing wrong with those seats.

I know there isn't, my season ticket is in a 'bronze' seat. But what the introduction of zones resulted in was effectively stealth price increases. They can now say 'it's only a £1 increase from two seasons ago!'. Maybe, but that's in 16% of the ground, where season ticket holders already are located. So in reality, it will be £26 for most folk, and then maybe even £28 if the demand is high and you don't have much choice as to where you get a ticket. Although given these prices, I doubt demand will be high for a good while

25-08-2021, 11:21 AM
Aye, this is the thing mate, it's not a bad deal for season ticket holders. Even if you buy a non-early bird ST in a gold seat, it still only costs £23 per match on average. That's pretty decent and the club should be commended for that, especially when there are good payment options for staggering the cost over 6 or 10 months. But like you say, this will be the new norm for Category B league games, and that is worrying. I don't know how we are meant to attract new fans if that's the cost of an adult ticket for even the most bog-standard of Hibs games? And for those saying 'you can still get them for £24!', you can, but in something like 16% of the ground, with existing season ticket holders already there too. So I don't really buy this idea that it's somehow a good deal for walk-ups, it isn't at all, and I think it's incumbent on all of us (ST holders and non-ST holders alike) to try and make the club rethink this

I have it on good authority that Ron the Con has planted some magic money trees behind the East Stand and as soon as the first harvest is in there will be mo need to charge anyone anything to watch any game and still have a team on the park playing the football we all demand.

You'll be able to watch the magic money trees growing on the nice new big screens too all for free...

25-08-2021, 11:29 AM
I know there isn't, my season ticket is in a 'bronze' seat. But what the introduction of zones resulted in was effectively stealth price increases. They can now say 'it's only a £1 increase from two seasons ago!'. Maybe, but that's in 16% of the ground, where season ticket holders already are located. So in reality, it will be £26 for most folk, and then maybe even £28 if the demand is high and you don't have much choice as to where you get a ticket. Although given these prices, I doubt demand will be high for a good while

I doubt there are many gold tickets in the West which go on general sale. Mostly filled with season tickets. This means that most patg fans will pay the lower price.

With regards to averaging out season ticket costs over the season I suspect the majority of season ticket holders will miss at least one game a season.

Not so simple.

I agree with your sentiments about cheaper tickets but we would lose out on income. It is a very difficult one.

25-08-2021, 11:33 AM

There’s been a general campaign for limiting ticket costs over a few years now across European football. 20 pounds was seen as a reasonable level for a ticket price that avoided ticket prices becoming too high.

It is a difficult balancing act as many have said, as in Scottish football ticket prices remain an important revenue stream - in England top leagues they are less important these days. I’d be an advocate for the bronze seats to be priced at that level. To give access for as many as we practically can afford . I appreciate it’s a complex topic, equally though don’t think our club has for this right at the moment.

soul_driver
25-08-2021, 11:38 AM
There’s been a general campaign for limiting ticket costs over a few years now across European football. 20 pounds was seen as a reasonable level for a ticket price that avoided ticket prices becoming too high.

It is a difficult balancing act as many have said, as in Scottish football ticket prices remain an important revenue stream - in England top leagues they are less important these days. I’d be an advocate for the bronze seats to be priced at that level. To give access for as many as we practically can afford . I appreciate it’s a complex topic, equally though don’t think our club has for this right at the moment.

That could be an idea. A small number at an accessible price.

Fact of the matter is Hibs want you to buy a season ticket. Has been this way for years. As far as I know you can get an adult and child season ticket for about the same price as a gold season ticket. That's less than £40 a month.
Probably what most pay for their Sky TV.

25-08-2021, 11:39 AM
I doubt there are many gold tickets in the West which go on general sale. Mostly filled with season tickets. This means that most patg fans will pay the lower price.

With regards to averaging out season ticket costs over the season I suspect the majority of season ticket holders will miss at least one game a season.

Not so simple.

I agree with your sentiments about cheaper tickets but we would lose out on income. It is a very difficult one.

Was just looking at that, the majority of tickets are available in bronze area’s, even less available in silver and hardly any available in gold. The vast majority will pay £24/£26 . A 4% rise since 2020 for the majority of PATG tickets

Hibee ultra
25-08-2021, 12:02 PM

25-08-2021, 12:20 PM
Can someone tell me what seats are gold silver and bronze because I don’t buy my ST I give my dad the money and he gets all four of hours so I have no idea what the zones are

If you imagine half way line as gold and go towards corner flag. Bronze is last block before corner flag.