View Full Version : Jason Cummings

22-08-2021, 01:13 PM
Absolutely tragic and disgusting way to treat a Scottish Cup Winner at the club. Far as I’m aware he’s never said a bad word about us since leaving the club and that song was utterly pathetic.

Dinnae drink on an empty head.

22-08-2021, 01:18 PM
What song

22-08-2021, 01:22 PM
What song

Several “paedo” chants and songs. Pathetic.

22-08-2021, 01:25 PM

Yep. ****ing disgusting.

Chorley Hibee
22-08-2021, 01:25 PM
Said as much at the game.

Shameful stuff and thoroughly undeserved. Guy worked his socks off for Hibs and has never had a bad word to say about us.

22-08-2021, 01:27 PM
This saddens me

A true Hibs legend and loved scoring against them lot

Shan times

22-08-2021, 01:28 PM
Apologies to Jase from the majority of decent Hibs fans. Hopefully the rest will stay the **** away or shut the **** up.

Chorley Hibee
22-08-2021, 01:29 PM
I still think I'd have him back too, he'd eat up some of our chances.

CL0762
22-08-2021, 01:30 PM
Yup, at a Dundee corner Jason went 🤷🏼*♂️ to Lewis and pointed up at the stand. Absolutely zero need for it as well.

Also, those that tried to start an ‘Irish republican army’ shout take that ***** away to parkhead.

22-08-2021, 01:30 PM
Disappointing

We are better than that

A Scottish Cup winning legend

:not worth

:cup:

Bangkok Hibby
22-08-2021, 01:32 PM
Huge swathes of football fans are weak willed, utter morons who get caught up in the mob nonsense. All teams suffer as do we. It won't ever change.

Green-Hibee-7
22-08-2021, 01:33 PM
Absolutely tragic and disgusting way to treat a Scottish Cup Winner at the club. Far as I’m aware he’s never said a bad word about us since leaving the club and that song was utterly pathetic.

Generally not bothered by giving any of our ex players a bit stick. Cup winning team included. I agree though the couple of chants aimed at him were cringeworthy and distasteful.

For what is worth he isn’t the type of boy who is going to lose sleep over it and when he was walking down towards the tunnel were the Dundee team went in, he gave the Hibs fans in that corner a clap.

For a boy who is generally a bit of a wind-up merchant, he kept it respectful throughout.

22-08-2021, 01:34 PM
We should get him back. He'd have converted one chance we had late on no problem.

22-08-2021, 01:39 PM
Absolutely nae need. 🙄

Alex1875
22-08-2021, 01:42 PM

Dinnae drink on an empty head.Completely agree - daft behaviour by a few [emoji2359]

Sent from my SM-G981B using Tapatalk

Daniel 1875
You could see him looking around wondering what was going on. Didn’t deserve that today - a cup winner and has done his bit for the club.

I wasn't there today but that's utterly deplorable behaviour.

22-08-2021, 01:46 PM
yer still loved jase :flag:

:giruy2:the morons in our support, tw@ts

22-08-2021, 01:53 PM
Whoever sung that can go and support someone else.

22-08-2021, 01:57 PM
I noticed on tv he clapped the Hibs fans as he walked off

22-08-2021, 01:59 PM
Was no need for that song. Really hope your proud of yourself.

22-08-2021, 02:02 PM
I noticed on tv he clapped the Hibs fans as he walked off

He was getting applauded by the Hibs fans in that corner as he left. He really didn’t deserve the treatment some gave him today. It’s a pity some went down that road, apart from that our support was pretty damn good today.

hfc-1875
22-08-2021, 02:29 PM
Sad to hear that, silly wee laddies no doubt. Noticed on the tv he seemed to give the away end a wee clap as he was walking off too.

22-08-2021, 02:41 PM

I agree, disgusting behavior from a section of the crowd. A Scottish cup legend

22-08-2021, 02:48 PM
What happened? Didn't pick anything up on TV.

Thought he was brilliant today. Would have him back in green and white in a heartbeat.

Lith
22-08-2021, 02:51 PM

Thought he was brilliant today. Would have him back in green and white in a heartbeat.

Let’s look forward and not backwards…

22-08-2021, 02:57 PM
Let’s look forward and not backwards…

True. I'd never take back a player that's been good for Hibs before. That John McGinn, no thanks!

Cummings would thrive at Hibs. I'll stand by that.

22-08-2021, 03:10 PM
Yup, at a Dundee corner Jason went 🤷🏼*♂️ to Lewis and pointed up at the stand. Absolutely zero need for it as well.

Also, those that tried to start an ‘Irish republican army’ shout take that ***** away to parkhead.

didn’t hear anything like that but it’s rank if it’s true.

it didn’t take off anyway so rest easy that there’s no appetite in the larger Hibs support for that type of pish.

22-08-2021, 03:20 PM
Done nothing but good for Hibs, a bit of a character and he would have been on the end of some of our chances today for sure.

Good to see him focussed today. I'd be happy if we signed him again.

22-08-2021, 03:25 PM
There was a few 'questionable' songs sung today by so called Hibs fans. The Paedo one about Cummings was a shocker. One guy tried to start an IRA chant but nobody joined in. The forever and ever song with all the lyrics got several airings and a guy behind me was screaming at the ref calling him a masonic bstrd. Pretty poor stuff today actually.

22-08-2021, 03:33 PM
Sad to hear that, silly wee laddies no doubt. Noticed on the tv he seemed to give the away end a wee clap as he was walking off too.

Yep daft laddies. Absolutely pathetic. They were even trying to start the Craig Thomson song and were calling McMullan a hearts barsteward for some reason. Hopefully will be drowned out when we have a bigger away crowd.

22-08-2021, 03:36 PM
I'm sure Jason is grown up enough to know that football crowds can be cruel, however much of a hero he was at ER. We do seem to have some unusually moronic types following at the moment.

22-08-2021, 03:42 PM
Yup, at a Dundee corner Jason went ����*♂️ to Lewis and pointed up at the stand. Absolutely zero need for it as well.

Our away support always seems to be split between the very best Hibees and the hateful ignorant dregs.
Sadly most of us don't seem to have the inclination to do anything to address the nasties.
As for the use of the word paedo, every person I have ever heard use it has not been the most enlightened. Coincidence? Nah.

22-08-2021, 03:56 PM
Sad to hear absolutely moronic

22-08-2021, 04:00 PM
I was going to start a thread when I got home, but glad it’s been raised
Felt really embarrassed to be a Hibs fan today, some of these chants were disgusting, never naught against one of our cup winning team. Spoke to someone from Hibs at the end, they were disgusted too. Young lads who’d been drinking heavily, dragging the whole club down!
Looks like we’re going to have self police at away games

Thankfully at the end JC got a few claps from the Hibs fans

22-08-2021, 04:06 PM
Wasn't there today but this is pretty disgusting and really not what JC deserves..sad to hear but u can tell on twitter some of the "younger brigade" that call themselves Hibs fans these days are not sharpest tools in the box shall we say - Cummings was a great player for us who deserves much better

22-08-2021, 04:11 PM
I was going to start a thread when I got home, but glad it’s been raised
Felt really embarrassed to be a Hibs fan today, some of these chants were disgusting, never naught against one of our cup winning team. Spoke to someone from Hibs at the end, they were disgusted too. Young lads who’d been drinking heavily, dragging the whole club down!
Looks like we’re going to have self police at away games

Thankfully at the end JC got a few claps from the Hibs fans

Drinking heavily? It was a midday kick off. 3 can wonders and a low IQ?

Mikey_1875
22-08-2021, 04:15 PM
Yep some poor stuff today. Found myself inadvertently in the vicinity of it and although some of it helped to create good atmosphere some songs were well over the top. Couple with some punching the stand and kicking seats towards the end it’s as if they had never seen Hibs drop points before!

22-08-2021, 04:21 PM
Yep some poor stuff today. Found myself inadvertently in the vicinity of it and although some of it helped to create good atmosphere some songs were well over the top. Couple with some punching the stand and kicking seats towards the end it’s as if they had never seen Hibs drop points before!

Makes me sound like am an old fart but I can't ever remember behaving like that when I was a teenager early 20s at the matches...bizarre stuff

22-08-2021, 04:25 PM
Didnt hear it on the tele but sad to hear about. Jase gave his all for Hibs, is a real character and of course is a 2016 hero. Just shaking my head here. Sounds like we had one or two idiots at the game today.

22-08-2021, 04:27 PM
Makes me sound like am an old fart but I can't ever remember behaving like that when I was a teenager early 20s at the matches...bizarre stuff

Certainly not to one of our own ex-players, even the ones that went to the dark side, but history is full of terrible examples of what happens when the non independent thinker (sheep) are manipulated and they follow a few nasty bassa's.
I would take J.C. back at Hibs any day of the week, we should have done it when he was around for next to nothing.

22-08-2021, 05:11 PM
Disappointing to hear this. We wouldn't have won the Cup without Jason.

22-08-2021, 05:18 PM
Paedo chants are chronic no matter who they’re aimed at

EdinburghHibern
22-08-2021, 05:23 PM
We need a striker. I'd happily take him back.

22-08-2021, 05:27 PM

Absolutely. No excuse for it.

22-08-2021, 05:28 PM
The lads singing these songs don't give a toss what we think.

They are a different demographic. That's not condoning it, it's just the reality of the situation. If anything a thread like this will just confirm they are doing something right. Young lads have always loved nosing up the old fogies.

For me JC is a Hibs legend, excusing his unfortunate stint in Glasgow, and I wouldn't be joining in with such pish.

22-08-2021, 05:31 PM

They are a different demographic. That's not condoning it, it's just the reality of the situation. If anything a thread like this will just confirm they are doing something right. Young lads have always loved nosing up the old fogies.

Don't think that's true.

22-08-2021, 05:35 PM
Power, if you’re on here, can’t have this going on
Needs addressed and quickly

hibsmad
22-08-2021, 05:41 PM
That’s disgusting.

Jason is a Hibs legend. Love the guy, as is the case with every player involved in the cup winning squad.

I’m proud to be a Hibs fan due to the fact that I genuinely feel that, on the whole, our fans represent our club far better than those who support the old firm or hearts. This sort of stuff depresses me.

22-08-2021, 05:42 PM

what do you suggest? Banning them all?

22-08-2021, 05:43 PM

I wouldn’t shed a tear if that happened.

Maybe a last warning.

spikeymike
22-08-2021, 05:44 PM
Why not hit them with bans?? They are definitely bringing a bad image to the club.

22-08-2021, 05:47 PM
That’s disgusting.

Jason is a Hibs legend. Love the guy, as is the case with every player involved in the cup winning squad.

I’m proud to be a Hibs fan due to the fact that I genuinely feel that, on the whole, our fans represent our club far better than those who support the old firm or hearts. This sort of stuff depresses me.

We (IMO) Would not have won the holy grail if it wasn't for JC , Truly saddens me the stick he got today , Totally deflated me

22-08-2021, 05:48 PM

Where have i suggested this? What do you suggest?

Think it’s about Education, as they are lowering the name of our great club
All for a loud and vocal support, but we can’t have what was going on today

22-08-2021, 05:49 PM
Sad to hear Dylan mcgeogh got booed by some fans at pittordrie just before lockdown as well strange.

22-08-2021, 05:50 PM
Hibs away matches seem to bring out the worst. Just **** off ya *****. Imagine chanting that at a Scottish cup winning legend.

22-08-2021, 05:51 PM

Absolutely no issues with that at all.

22-08-2021, 05:54 PM

I remember once at St. Mirren, decent banter with Jamie Langfield, and then the paedo chants started.
WTF, why?

22-08-2021, 05:56 PM
Such a bad thread. Nothing to do with the posts, but to do with the (hopefully small proportion of) moronic away fans.

I've said it for years but Cumming's would thrive at Hibs. He's a really good striker.

tmb1875
22-08-2021, 06:03 PM
What are folk expecting kp to do about it!? Does he know the 20 or so young team shouting the pedo chants, I doubt it. Better not to give these things oxygen and instead focus on another very good, noisy away support who done there best to lift the team.

22-08-2021, 06:06 PM
What are folk expecting kp to do about it!? Does he know the 20 or so young team shouting the pedo chants, I doubt it. Better not to give these things oxygen and instead focus on another very good, noisy away support who done there best to lift the team.

So we should just ignore it? That’s condoning it in my book. KO could arrange for a statement from the club. I see reminder that such behaviour is not the fabled ‘hibs class’.

22-08-2021, 06:06 PM

22-08-2021, 06:07 PM

Don’t know what really needs addressed. Reflects poorly on the numpties singing it. Abusing a Scottish Cup winner is bad enough, referring to them in that manner even worse. But it’s just stupidity. If clubs were to try and address every daft chant or shout at games it would take up an awful lot of time.

22-08-2021, 06:07 PM
Why not hit them with bans?? They are definitely bringing a bad image to the club.

How you going to identify them? Impossible.

22-08-2021, 06:08 PM

How do we do this and who are they?

22-08-2021, 06:08 PM

It’s not KP personally, but he’s our SLO, our 1st point of contact as fans to the club

22-08-2021, 06:11 PM
Where have i suggested this? What do you suggest?

Think it’s about Education, as they are lowering the name of our great club
All for a loud and vocal support, but we can’t have what was going on today

I would suggest a combination of education as you say, and warnings that if it continues they will be banned.

tmb1875
22-08-2021, 06:12 PM
So we should just ignore it? That’s condoning it in my book. KO could arrange for a statement from the club. I see reminder that such behaviour is not the fabled ‘hibs class’.

Hibs do nothing to improve the atmosphere as it is without any other measures. They already say at every opportunity what won’t be tolerated. Your always going to have a small minority of bams at every club at everytime. These folk don’t care. Think Cummings deserves better but he knows what fans are like and won’t lose any sleep over it.

22-08-2021, 06:12 PM

We managed to identify people who ran into the Hampden pitch to hug each order easily enough.

22-08-2021, 06:15 PM

We sold them tickets, so dead easy to identify

loanheadhibby
22-08-2021, 06:16 PM

Chanting was disgusting.
He took his one chance well although defending poor.
Not convinced he was brilliant.

22-08-2021, 06:20 PM
Chanting was disgusting.
Not convinced he was brilliant.

He had a very tidy first half. Dropped off nicely, kept possession and linked play well, took his chance when it came.

It was a good performance from someone I’ve got an awful lot of time for.

It won’t be news to him that we have some right cretins within our support.

22-08-2021, 06:40 PM
We sold them tickets, so dead easy to identify

How so? Do you have their seat numbers, did you film them? (I’d hope it’s a no to both questions)

22-08-2021, 06:41 PM
We managed to identify people who ran into the Hampden pitch to hug each order easily enough.

No. We didn’t, not we. Definitely not we.

Argylehibby
22-08-2021, 07:10 PM

For me JC is a Hibs legend, excusing his unfortunate stint in Glasgow, and I wouldn't be joining in with such pish.

I think they do give a toss what others think but in the way that they’re enjoying the fact they’ve riled so many. Difficult to rid them from the club but would be good if we could.

22-08-2021, 07:23 PM
I think they do give a toss what others think but in the way that they’re enjoying the fact they’ve riled so many. Difficult to rid them from the club but would be good if we could.

You're probably right but it amounts to the same thing. I daresay they'll get a bit of a kick out of a thread like this.

EI255
22-08-2021, 08:25 PM
There was a few 'questionable' songs sung today by so called Hibs fans. The Paedo one about Cummings was a shocker. One guy tried to start an IRA chant but nobody joined in. The forever and ever song with all the lyrics got several airings and a guy behind me was screaming at the ref calling him a masonic bstrd. Pretty poor stuff today actually.Did you ever go to a Hibs game in the 80's? Songs were way, way worse than today's. I've got a dvd of Dundee Utd v Hibs (1983?) and Hibs fans clearly singing "Roamin' in the Gloamin" when our team came out.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

EI255
22-08-2021, 08:26 PM
Chanting was disgusting.
Not convinced he was brilliant.He missed a decent chance. Wouldn't have him back. Still a legend though.

#2 Double Tap
22-08-2021, 08:34 PM
i think he looks a much improved player. Fontaine still looks decent tae.

22-08-2021, 08:40 PM
i think he looks a much improved player. Fontaine still looks decent tae.

For the first time in a while I looked at Jason and thought "that's a player who would have a place in the new look Hibs". Much harder working, much less selfish and still had that knack of finding a half yard of space and getting a shot away. I thought he was way off the level we needed but if he can do what he did today consistently then I'll have been totally wrong.

Fonts was solid at the back as you've said.

#2 Double Tap
22-08-2021, 08:43 PM
For the first time in a while I looked at Jason and thought "that's a player who would have a place in the new look Hibs". Much harder working, much less selfish and still had that knack of finding a half yard of space and getting a shot away. I thought he was way off the level we needed but if he can do what he did today consistently then I'll have been totally wrong.

Fonts was solid at the back as you've said.

get them signed JR, get them signed........:gwa:

22-08-2021, 08:48 PM
Terrible was to treat a Hibs Hero. These will be the same mindless, morons who felt it more important to noise up a few Huns at Hampden after the final whistle than celebrate the most famous of cup wins. Club would be better of without them.

22-08-2021, 09:00 PM

I'd be quite happy if they were banned but not really possible. Singing that to a Cup Legend, that extended his contract so we got some money, and has never bad mouthed Hibs is sick. No doubt it will be the same half wits that block the toilet cubicle snorting coke. No idea if they are in the singing section but it came from the area that the songs were starting from. They are they are not welcome at ER or Hibs games in my opinion. Total low-lifes.

22-08-2021, 09:31 PM

Don’t think it is impossible. Every team in the league has CCTV use this to identify them. Just the same as it can be used to stop sectarian/ racist abuse.

vercol36
22-08-2021, 10:43 PM
Lots of folk blaming it on the booze. Problem I've noticed in last decade or so is fans becoming dependent on coke. When I was younger, coke was something you could afford two or three times a year, and you'd take it at a party. Now kids can seemingly buy the ***** every single weekend.

Lads - word of advice. It might feel *****ing ace, but it makes you into a *****.

23-08-2021, 05:59 AM

Tom Hart more or less put a stop to pro IRA chants simply by bringing representatives of some fan groups in to ER and explaining his wishes. Maybe a personal, grown up, approach to AST holders would be worth a punt? A spoon full of sugar and all that 🤔

23-08-2021, 06:10 AM
Groups of young lads drinking too much and indulging in questionable chants at Scottish football games…after a global pandemic, brexit and forty years of neoliberalism, I have my limits. I won’t be back at will stay at home watching games on TV with the sound from now on in.

23-08-2021, 06:26 AM
Lots of folk blaming it on the booze. Problem I've noticed in last decade or so is fans becoming dependent on coke. When I was younger, coke was something you could afford two or three times a year, and you'd take it at a party. Now kids can seemingly buy the ***** every single weekend.

Lads - word of advice. It might feel *****ing ace, but it makes you into a *****.

Never seen so many youngsters wearing Stone Island and CP Company gear at the football either. God knows how they can afford it all.

23-08-2021, 06:41 AM
Did you ever go to a Hibs game in the 80's? Songs were way, way worse than today's. I've got a dvd of Dundee Utd v Hibs (1983?) and Hibs fans clearly singing "Roamin' in the Gloamin" when our team came out.

"With a shamrock in my hand", jeeze not hear that for a long long time.

The Count
23-08-2021, 06:53 AM
Not a bad song but used to like in the 70s when some fans sang "The famous Edinburgh Hibees took a holiday to Rome to see what the Pope would say.And what did he say He said Glory to the Hibees there us never been a team like the Hibees etc.Now that was harmless but against the Huns many made a Pope Blessing sign which was wrong.

23-08-2021, 06:59 AM
Never seen so many youngsters wearing Stone Island and CP Company gear at the football either. God knows how they can afford it all.

If young lads are still anything like they were when I was their age I doubt they are paying full price for all of it. There's always someone who can get their hands on that kind of stuff at a questionable price. It's usually best not to ask the questions.

23-08-2021, 07:00 AM
Standing on a corner swinging ma chain

Along came a Ranger’s fan and asked ma name .....

I’ll get ma coat ! :greengrin

Na Na Na Na Na Na Na Na Na

ABZHFC
23-08-2021, 09:17 AM
Daft laddies singing stupid songs, and I agree there should be some level of self-policing within our support (i.e. folk telling them to ram the IRA stuff etc). But as others have said, they'll get a kick out of seeing that they've succeeded in winding up .net users/older Hibs fans, and I doubt they care about 'representing' Hibs in the best light possible.

As a side note, grounds like Dens Park usually see poor atmospheres from us, we sometimes take a couple of thousand of us through but literally everyone sits down and barely sings unless we score. I do think this feeds into it, as all the singing is left to a small group of drunk/coked-up young boys who are all determined to outdo each other in outrageousness. I really wish we had an away end on their feet for 90 minutes and roaring the team on a bit more, would be far easier to then drown out anyone trying to start questionable chants. Wasn't the singing section's doing by the way, weren't at Dens in any official capacity yesterday

Dee in peace
23-08-2021, 09:26 AM
Not usually in the habit of registering to other teams forums, but did so just to say that I couldn't believe the chants yesterday and have found this thread a refreshing read.

No moral high ground either as our support has sung some shocking stuff over the years too like most supports.

Glad to hear that Cummings seemed to take it well as I genuinely felt embarrassed at what a section of your support were repeatedly singing at him.

That aside, thought it was a good atmosphere from both sets of fans despite the noon kick off, on Sky Sports and ticket prices taking a hit on the size of both supports.

Decent game of football. Kind of a game of two halves. Thought you got lucky with the penalty but the Boyle one on one has to end in a goal so got off with that one.

All the best for the season.

23-08-2021, 10:10 AM
Not usually in the habit of registering to other teams forums, but did so just to say that I couldn't believe the chants yesterday and have found this thread a refreshing read.

No moral high ground either as our support has sung some shocking stuff over the years too like most supports.

Glad to hear that Cummings seemed to take it well as I genuinely felt embarrassed at what a section of your support were repeatedly singing at him.

That aside, thought it was a good atmosphere from both sets of fans despite the noon kick off, on Sky Sports and ticket prices taking a hit on the size of both supports.

Decent game of football. Kind of a game of two halves. Thought you got lucky with the penalty but the Boyle one on one has to end in a goal so got off with that one.

Cheers Buddy, if Cummings gets game time he scores goals ..we all know that . Could be a huge player for you guys. All the best too.

23-08-2021, 10:16 AM
It's a pretty pathetic thing to chant at any player, and I don't care who they are or who they play for. But to aim it at a Scottish Cup winning legend is as low as it gets. Also the IRA stuff is decades old and should be left there, or at Parkhead where I'm sure they'd be much better recieved.

I'm Spartacus
23-08-2021, 10:38 AM
Anyone who lifted the cup that day should only be held up by us as a support and club. We'd not have won it if it wasn't for him.

23-08-2021, 10:51 AM

You are not the only one who couldn't believe it personally was watching on the box so didn't really pick it up till logged on here. Embarrassing.

Thought you were good yesterday important you keep Charlie fit. Like Paul McMullan very skilful and tenacious and was superb in your play off games. Good to have the Dundee derbies back as one of the best games on the calendar. Good luck for the rest of the season. :aok:

23-08-2021, 11:14 AM
https://twitter.com/sonofange1/status/1429439232645505028?s=21

… this is the ‘why’ around the club doing something about the chants. Sort it out in private or publicly but don’t allow the sense of entitlement to grow

23-08-2021, 11:36 AM

It's their uniform. Grey trackys through the week and Stone Island at the fitba.
Coke up the beak. Indestructible!

LeithMike
23-08-2021, 11:52 AM
Interesting to see a fair few comments attributing offensive comments/songs effectively to "daft young laddies". I'm not sure there would be the same reaction if similar comments/songs came from fans of Hearts, Rangers or Celtic.

I know people like the tribal atmosphere of football and while modern day is becoming a bit too sanitised there are still lines that shouldn't be crossed.

Football rivalry can still be enjoyed without it becoming toxic.

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

AndyM_1875
23-08-2021, 11:56 AM
I remember a few years ago telling a guy behind me to give it a rest as he shouted "Orange ba*****" every 5 minutes at opposition players.
It seemed to be the only thing he could shout. Also we were playing Aberdeen which left most people nearby somewhat bemused at his verbal slaverings. .:LOL:

23-08-2021, 02:37 PM
Did you ever go to a Hibs game in the 80's? Songs were way, way worse than today's. I've got a dvd of Dundee Utd v Hibs (1983?) and Hibs fans clearly singing "Roamin' in the Gloamin" when our team came out.

And that sort of stuff belongs in the 80’s. As a support we moved on long ago from singing such rubbish. It has no place in today’s Hibs support.

Fuzzywuzzy
23-08-2021, 02:57 PM
I had a look at the bears den thread earlier and the outrage at being grassed out is priority over the racist element. Mental

23-08-2021, 02:58 PM
Jason C scored a scrappy goal but he isnt good enough for even a top Scots side.

23-08-2021, 03:36 PM
https://twitter.com/sonofange1/status/1429439232645505028?s=21

… this is the ‘why’ around the club doing something about the chants. Sort it out in private or publicly but don’t allow the sense of entitlement to grow

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210823/9cb0a22a3ab1c5133ee6bd8279ad574c.png

23-08-2021, 03:42 PM

Well done to Rangers. The kind of firm action all clubs need to take with it having an impact on those that sat by and watched it as well.

They’ll know for future that they’ll need to call it out or else they’ll end up getting punished to some degree as well.

23-08-2021, 03:45 PM

Excellent approach from them for a change, too often it's written off as the actions of 1 or 2 idiots who can't be controlled. Punishing the supporters club they belonged to and who they travelled with should make them all think harder about self-policing this kind of crap in the future.

mcohibs
23-08-2021, 03:53 PM

Fair play

23-08-2021, 03:53 PM
Excellent approach from them for a change, too often it's written off as the actions of 1 or 2 idiots who can't be controlled. Punishing the supporters club they belonged to and who they travelled with should make them all think harder about self-policing this kind of crap in the future.Yep, fair play Sevco. Got to wonder what the now defunct Glasgow rangers would make of all this[emoji16]

23-08-2021, 03:56 PM

Seriously well done to them for this. As much as I detest them that is a good strong response on racism. Now to tackle the religious bigotry...............

23-08-2021, 04:03 PM

Good. Now do the same with all the fans singing about Fenian blood up at Ross County. Shouldn't be hard to pinpoint then.

23-08-2021, 04:12 PM
Good. Now do the same with all the fans singing about Fenian blood up at Ross County. Shouldn't be hard to pinpoint then.Yep, Sevco confirming they have the technology to track down and ban throwbacks who do this sort of thing can only be good for a modern forward looking society.

Can't wait for more news.

23-08-2021, 04:15 PM
Rangers doing the right thing for a change. Will be interesting to see what they do when a similar one with sectarian chants goes viral. Those going to Ibrox on 2nd Oct, have your smart phones at the ready.

23-08-2021, 05:04 PM
Good. Now do the same with all the fans singing about Fenian blood up at Ross County. Shouldn't be hard to pinpoint then.

As much chance of that as us pinpointing our Stone Island Massive at Dundee

23-08-2021, 05:40 PM
Jason C scored a scrappy goal but he isnt good enough for even a top Scots side.

He barely touched the ball second half. Happens every time an ex players scores against us, they're suddenly brilliant. Dundee is about his level.

23-08-2021, 05:48 PM
I think Cummings would be a useful option to bring off the bench if you need a goal. He's a very natural and instinctive finisher.

His all round game is nowhere near good enough to be a starter for us though if we are aiming to finish 3rd again.

23-08-2021, 05:51 PM
He barely touched the ball second half. Happens every time an ex players scores against us, they're suddenly brilliant. Dundee is about his level.

Couldn't we apply the Lawrence Shankland rule and say Jase would see more of the ball and get more goals in a better team?

Saying Dundee is about his level seems quite funny to me. Perhaps because they just scuppered our chance of being alone at the top of the league.

JammyDoidger
23-08-2021, 06:18 PM
Has the nack of scoring in big games, he thrives on it, absolute stick on to score yesterday. Would love to have him in our side, every time we played hearts i thought he would score.

23-08-2021, 06:26 PM
Charlie Adam calling out Hibs fans for there behaviour against Cummings yesterday on sportscene just now

23-08-2021, 06:28 PM
Has the nack of scoring in big games, he thrives on it, absolute stick on to score yesterday. Would love to have him in our side, every time we played hearts i thought he would score.

He did seem to score near enough every time we played them . His goals in the 2-2 and the money spinning replay were priceless

There it’s on the radio now. Well done ya bunch of total *****. GTF and stay the **** away.

Charlie Adam calling out Hibs fans for there behaviour against Cummings yesterday on sportscene just now

And quite right too!
Absolutely nothing from Hibs on this!

To be fair he was ripping into Celtic fans too, for songs they sang when Dundee played at Parkhead. Songs about his sister and family

23-08-2021, 06:35 PM
I have to admit that as I get older these hateful chants , such as on Kyogo, Cummings abuse and some of the Mercer stuff from our fans, and many of the other hate filled stuff from other teams we hear at and around games puts me off football at times…

It depresses me that we have to put up with this garbage, and chat about it, rather than focussing on and enjoying the actual game . Despite our disappointment in the result, it was a good football game at the weekend, and there’s lots of good things happening in Scottish Football.

23-08-2021, 07:17 PM

theyll have no one left if they do

23-08-2021, 07:20 PM
I have to admit that as I get older these hateful chants , such as on Kyogo, Cummings abuse and some of the Mercer stuff from our fans, and many of the other hate filled stuff from other teams we hear at and around games puts me off football at times…

It depresses me that we have to put up with this garbage, and chat about it, rather than focussing on and enjoying the actual game . Despite our disappointment in the result, it was a good football game at the weekend, and there’s lots of good things happening in Scottish Football.

I personally dont have a problem with mercer stuff, I’d be lying if I said I did. If anyone deserves abuse from a particular set of football fans it’s him from us. That’s what you get when you try to kill a club.

the other stuff you mention, I absolutely agree.

Just_Jimmy
23-08-2021, 07:28 PM
it's a snapshot of a wider horrible society.

we're at an all time low.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

23-08-2021, 07:31 PM

im not sure about that. Some horrible stuff was chanted at football grounds decades ago

23-08-2021, 07:45 PM

Nonsense, much worse was sung years ago, and nobody paid much attention, were probably more concerned about the flying bottles, mass brawls etc that were a normal part of the matchday experience.

23-08-2021, 08:01 PM
That’s really sad that he’s been singled out by a minority of utter morons.

He is and always will be a Scottish Cup Winning Legend. He was also huge in getting us back to where we belong and gave us so much joy and laughter along the way. Always welcome back at Easter Road.

To those chanting at him - don’t come back.

23-08-2021, 08:03 PM
The CumDog will always be a Hibees legend in my eyes - the fannys that are dishing out abuse to him need their brains scrubbed out with Brillo pads

23-08-2021, 08:03 PM
I personally dont have a problem with mercer stuff, I’d be lying if I said I did. If anyone deserves abuse from a particular set of football fans it’s him from us. That’s what you get when you try to kill a club.

23-08-2021, 09:37 PM
Fair playCall me a cynic but the supporters club will be disbanded and a new club will appear as if by magic. A bit like the tribute act they would kill for. They'll struggle for tickets for a bit but some of those faces will be in the crowd again.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

mcohibs
23-08-2021, 10:23 PM
Call me a cynic but the supporters club will be disbanded and a new club will appear as if by magic. A bit like the tribute act they would kill for. They'll struggle for tickets for a bit but some of those faces will be in the crowd again.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

More than likely yes. But the important thing is that the morons who were involved in the racist songs have been given lifetime bans. Not everyone on that bus participated in the singing but regardless, the supporters club will now have to be disbanded and that will have made those numpties singing public enemy number one within a section of their support. A good thing, as it shows the consequences of racism.

What I hope it will also lead to is folk on supporters buses calling out such behaviour in future, with the implications for the supporters club being so severe.

I'd be the first to criticise sevco for anything tbh but in fairness they've handled this pretty well.

23-08-2021, 10:32 PM
And quite right too!
Absolutely nothing from Hibs on this!

To be fair he was ripping into Celtic fans too, for songs they sang when Dundee played at Parkhead. Songs about his sister and family

Did he say anything about the Rangers fans and Kyogo?

23-08-2021, 10:34 PM
More than likely yes. But the important thing is that the morons who were involved in the racist songs have been given lifetime bans. Not everyone on that bus participated in the singing but regardless, the supporters club will now have to be disbanded and that will have made those numpties singing public enemy number one within a section of their support. A good thing, as it shows the consequences of racism.

What I hope it will also lead to is folk on supporters buses calling out such behaviour in future, with the implications for the supporters club being so severe.

I'd be the first to criticise sevco for anything tbh but in fairness they've handled this pretty well.

Rangers have left the door open for them to return at some stage - they've been given "indefinite" bans rather than "lifetime" bans.

24-08-2021, 08:36 AM

This is disgusting. What is wrong with people. Cummings contribution to the greatest achievement of this club should make him welcome at any point in the future. Makes me sick to hear this.

24-08-2021, 08:45 AM
Did he say anything about the Rangers fans and Kyogo?

Let's not get into whataboutery here. He's Dundee's captain commenting on a disgusting chant aimed at one of his team mates. I'm not sure why he'd be commenting on some Sevco fans signing songs on a bus.

24-08-2021, 08:49 AM
Let's not get into whataboutery here. He's Dundee's captain commenting on a disgusting chant aimed at one of his team mates. I'm not sure why he'd be commenting on some Sevco fans signing songs on a bus.

Absolutely. He went on to say Cumming’s was taken aback by it as they discussed it in dressing room after and Monday’s training. Cummings was hoping for a a good reception. How pathetic are some of our fans.

24-08-2021, 08:52 AM
Rangers have left the door open for them to return at some stage - they've been given "indefinite" bans rather than "lifetime" bans.

Seems about right that ..a few years of exclusion feels about the right level of punishment . Won’t go down well this, but there isn’t much difference between what they were chanting and the Skacel song that has previously been popular with some of our crowd …both racist and using stereotypical racist references in an offensive way ..

24-08-2021, 09:36 AM

His initial comments were whataboutery in the extreme. They came about due to talk about the Kyogo stuff and is literally saying “what about the songs about my sister”

He’s just a hun trying to deflect criticism of his beloved rangers.

24-08-2021, 10:09 AM
His initial comments were whataboutery in the extreme. They came about due to talk about the Kyogo stuff and is literally saying “what about the songs about my sister”

Nah, he’s rightly highlighting other offensive chants showing its wider than one incident, and we are caught up in the mix.

24-08-2021, 10:15 AM

I think he had every right to say what he did if his family had to listen to that and also expressing his disgust at how Hibs fans treated one of his current players who helped us win the cup.

24-08-2021, 10:24 AM

Who is this song being aimed at? The guy is long dead and individual Jambos are not to blame for his deeds. Time to move on I feel.

24-08-2021, 10:28 AM
I think he had every right to say what he did if his family had to listen to that and also expressing his disgust at how Hibs fans treated one of his current players who helped us win the cup.

Why say it now instead of after they played Celtic then if the songs were being sung at Parkhead? Purely because the huns are being criticised that’s why.

24-08-2021, 10:29 AM
Why say it now instead of after they played Celtic then if the songs were being sung at Parkhead? Purely because the huns are being criticised that’s why.

Maybe didn't want to raise it at the time. Personally don't have any issue in what he said.

24-08-2021, 10:32 AM
Maybe didn't want to raise it at the time. Personally don't have any issue in what he said.

Yeah ok

24-08-2021, 10:36 AM
Absolutely. He went on to say Cumming’s was taken aback by it as they discussed it in dressing room after and Monday’s training. Cummings was hoping for a a good reception. How pathetic are some of our fans.

Very pathetic and hopefully he understands that he's still held in high regard by the vast majority of Hibs fans.

The idiots chanting that to him on Sunday as well as the moronic IRA chants are not welcome at any Hibs match.

24-08-2021, 10:50 AM
Who is this song being aimed at? The guy is long dead and individual Jambos are not to blame for his deeds. Time to move on I feel.

Yeah maybe but football fans of all clubs love nostalgia. Also, many younger folk probably have no idea what happened.

Trying to buy your city rivals to effectively shut them down is a ****my move. I’ve no problem reminding people that Hibs was the club that wouldn’t have it.

F*** Mercer and all he stood for.

1875Sean
24-08-2021, 10:50 AM
Charlie Adam was on sportssound last night, didn’t name Cummings but it was clear that who he was on about, said he expected a good reception from the Hibs fans and he was gutted about the chants, poor show

mcohibs
24-08-2021, 10:51 AM

Nor are his family. I fully understand the sentiment against mercer but some of the chants on that topic are pretty vile tbh and doesn't show us in a good light whatsoever. Cringe when I hear some of them now

24-08-2021, 11:13 AM
I don't really do social media but I would hope Jason has had a stream of Hibs fans telling him how the vast majority of us feel about him, and it is overwhelmingly positive. The folk chanting abuse at him are morons

24-08-2021, 11:17 AM
I don't really do social media but I would hope Jason has had a stream of Hibs fans telling him how the vast majority of us feel about him, and it is overwhelmingly positive. The folk chanting abuse at him are morons

I would imagine just going about his everyday life in Edinburgh, he will realise he is still held in good regard …unfortunately the morons won’t care about what he thinks, or frankly what we think - they will enjoy the notoriety…

Most will grow out of it …

24-08-2021, 11:34 AM
If he has a good season this year I'd take him back

24-08-2021, 03:39 PM
Yeah maybe but football fans of all clubs love nostalgia. Also, many younger folk probably have no idea what happened.

Trying to buy your city rivals to effectively shut them down is a ****my move. I’ve no problem reminding people that Hibs was the club that wouldn’t have it.

F*** Mercer and all he stood for.

Absolutely. I’ve no issue with the Mercer song and will never forgive or forget what he tried to do to our club. **** the FTB.

24-08-2021, 04:21 PM
I'll not apologise for anything I've said or sung about Mercer. Because of him I've seen my proud father reduced to tears for the one and only time and it's ingrained in my memory. The mention of his name raises my hackles. I've struggled to forgive Heart of Midlothian as a club to be honest. Not sure I have.

loanheadhibby
24-08-2021, 04:22 PM
This is disgusting. What is wrong with people. Cummings contribution to the greatest achievement of this club should make him welcome at any point in the future. Makes me sick to hear this.
Are the three league titles in the 50s rated below the cup win of 2016.
Or are you talking in your life time ?

24-08-2021, 05:12 PM
Nor are his family. I fully understand the sentiment against mercer but some of the chants on that topic are pretty vile tbh and doesn't show us in a good light whatsoever. Cringe when I hear some of them now

Yeah agreed.

He's dead, we're not. Time to move on in my view and in particular bin the songs against his wife.

24-08-2021, 05:23 PM
Yeah agreed.

He's dead, we're not. Time to move on in my view and in particular bin the songs against his wife.

I don’t think you were around at the time. Many of us were and the feelings still run deep. Mercer is still fair game. Agree that the more recent songs about his wife are in poor taste.

24-08-2021, 06:51 PM
I don’t think you were around at the time. Many of us were and the feelings still run deep. Mercer is still fair game. Agree that the more recent songs about his wife are in poor taste.

I agree feelings run deep, I just feel it's time to move on.

He's not around to hear the chants, it's only going to hurt his family now, which I don't think is fair, so I think it's time we move forward as a support and take comfort from the fact that his plan failed and we're still going strong 31 years later.

25-08-2021, 07:36 AM

"All the Hearts you know" :wink:

25-08-2021, 07:39 AM
If he has a good season this year I'd take him back

Hope we get a striker in before next season starts

25-08-2021, 10:49 AM
I agree the people who think it's OK to sing the Mercer song and any of the songs sung at players like Cummings have no place at Easter Road. Let's rise above this and show what, "Hibs Class" means.

25-08-2021, 10:50 AM
I agree the people who think it's OK to sing the Mercer song and any of the songs sung at players like Cummings have no place at Easter Road. Let's rise above this and show what Hibs class means.

Mercer songs are fair game IMO so you think I have no place at ER?

25-08-2021, 10:51 AM
Mercer songs are fair game IMO so you think I have no place at ER?
Yes

25-08-2021, 10:52 AM
I agree the people who think it's OK to sing the Mercer song and any of the songs sung at players like Cummings have no place at Easter Road. Let's rise above this and show what Hibs class means.

Personally don't think there is an equivalence between singing a song about a person who tried to put us out of existence to a popular former player who helped us win the Scottish cup.

25-08-2021, 10:55 AM
Yes

Don’t talk pish

25-08-2021, 10:56 AM
Personally don't think there is an equivalence between signing a song about a person who tried to put us out of existence to a popular former player who helped us win the Scottish cup.

there’s no equivalence whatsoever

25-08-2021, 11:03 AM
Don’t talk pish
So Rangers fans think singing songs which are anti Catholic are fair game. Some fans on here need to grow up. The point I am making is that as a support we need to rise above this.
Stop living in the past.

25-08-2021, 11:09 AM
So Rangers fans think singing songs which are anti Catholic are fair game. Some fans on here need to grow up. The point I am making is that as a support we need to rise above this.
Stop living in the past.

You’re comparing Rangers singing anti-catholic songs to Hibs fans singing about Mercer? Wow

25-08-2021, 11:10 AM
Stop living in the past.

again what is the equivalence between a guy who literally tried to end us, and songs about people of a different religion?

25-08-2021, 11:18 AM
You’re comparing Rangers singing anti-catholic songs to Hibs fans singing about Mercer? Wow
Yes any offensive song has no place in football. You clearly hate Wallace Mercer some Rangers fans hate Catholics. If you think singing offensive songs is OK that's fine. My point is you are no better than the bigot brothers. I find the Mercer song offensive as I do songs sung by the bigot brothers.

25-08-2021, 11:26 AM
again what is the equivalence between a guy who literally tried to end us, and songs about people of a different religion?
They are both offensive IMO.

25-08-2021, 11:34 AM

Celebrating someone’s death and derogatory comments about his wife has nothing to do with the values of our club …..

25-08-2021, 11:42 AM
I won’t let it be

allmodcons
25-08-2021, 11:49 AM
Yes any offensive song has no place in football. You clearly hate Wallace Mercer some Rangers fans hate Catholics. If you think singing offensive songs is OK that's fine. My point is you are no better than the bigot brothers. I find the Mercer song offensive as I do songs sung by the bigot brothers.

There is world of difference between hating an individual for his wrongdoings and hating a group of people because they happen to practice a different religion to you.

25-08-2021, 11:54 AM
There is world of difference between hating an individual for his wrongdoings and hating a group of people because they happen to practice a different religion to you.

Exactly.

Can’t believe I’ve been compared to the “Bigot Brothers” for singing a song about a guy who tried to kill off my football club

25-08-2021, 11:59 AM
Gives you justification for what you perceive to be OK to sing.

25-08-2021, 12:03 PM
Exactly.

Can’t believe I’ve been compared to the “Bigot Brothers” for singing a song about a guy who tried to kill off my football club
Rise above it, if a song is deemed offensive by some Hibs fans don't sing it and move on.

25-08-2021, 12:08 PM
This thread about Jason Cummings is going well 🙄

25-08-2021, 12:12 PM
This thread about Jason Cummings is going well 🙄
Would certainly like him back in a Hibs shirt.

25-08-2021, 12:24 PM
Would certainly like him back in a Hibs shirt.

He’s an upgrade on bringing on Gullan so he would improve our options.

25-08-2021, 12:34 PM
His movement has improved got involved in a lot more link up play than in the past.

25-08-2021, 01:18 PM
Would love to see him back. He's only 17 months older than Nisbet. No reason he couldn't kick start his career again with us.

25-08-2021, 01:26 PM

Singing about hating Wallace Mercer isn't a hate crime, Singing about hating Catholics is. There is no right to not be offended.

By your logic, we'd have to start singing "The referee is a jolly bad chap" because some prude is terribly upset by naughty words.

25-08-2021, 01:37 PM
Singing about hating Wallace Mercer isn't a hate crime, Singing about hating Catholics is. There is no right to not be offended.

By your logic, we'd have to start singing "The referee is a jolly bad chap" because some prude is terribly upset by naughty words.
Top hole old boy!
I find both of them offensive kids are at football games just think we need to move on, or are we still living in the past.

25-08-2021, 02:42 PM

By your logic the rangers fans who sung we thought you were dead we hoped you dead to Neil Lennon at Easter Road was OK and not a hate crime because it was an individual not the religion.

25-08-2021, 03:55 PM
By your logic the rangers fans who sung we thought you were dead we hoped you dead to Neil Lennon at Easter Road was OK and not a hate crime because it was an individual not the religion.

if Neil Lennon had liquidated Rangers instead of their own financial cheating then you’d have a point.

as he didn’t though it’s not the same thing at all.

25-08-2021, 05:07 PM
Mercer offered to buy shares did not liquidate the club. Duff and Gray getting into bed with Rowland was the problem. Surely we are better than that.

The difference is that Duff & Gray genuinely wanted to improve Hibs, Mercer wanted to kill us off.

Davy Mac
25-08-2021, 05:31 PM
There was a few 'questionable' songs sung today by so called Hibs fans. The Paedo one about Cummings was a shocker. One guy tried to start an IRA chant but nobody joined in. The forever and ever song with all the lyrics got several airings and a guy behind me was screaming at the ref calling him a masonic bstrd. Pretty poor stuff today actually.

Wasn't at the game but can't believe some of the old 70's 80's stuff was getting an airing. Drama queen's looking for a reaction. Thanks for the memories Jason and wish all the very best in you career. I will forgive Mercer but will never forget.

GRA
25-08-2021, 05:38 PM
Do these attention seeking morons not realise no Cummings means no cup win in 2016? They can GTF.

25-08-2021, 05:52 PM
Yes

Absolute nonsense.

25-08-2021, 06:07 PM
Wasn't at the game but can't believe some of the old 70's 80's stuff was getting an airing. Drama queen's looking for a reaction. Thanks for the memories Jason and wish all the very best in you career. I will forgive Mercer but will never forget.
I just think we are better than singing songs about Mercer.
Hated what he was trying to do but it's all in the past let's move on.

MunsterHibee
25-08-2021, 06:08 PM
Why are people trying to start IRA chants at football??? If you want to be political etc join a political party. When you go to the football you're supporting your club and the 11 players representing them. None of them have anything to do with the IRA. Absolute clowns bringing this rubbish to a football match.

Sent from my SM-A515F using Tapatalk

25-08-2021, 06:24 PM
Why are people trying to start IRA chants at football??? If you want to be political etc join a political party. When you go to the football you're supporting your club and the 11 players representing them. None of them have anything to do with the IRA. Absolute clowns bringing this rubbish to a football match.

they have no real Understanding or concern for these issues …..they just want to be notorious, stand out from the crowd

MunsterHibee
25-08-2021, 06:29 PM
they have no real Understanding or concern for these issues …..they just want to be notorious, stand out from the crowdI'm Irish I fully understand and I'm 100% proud of my countries history fighting an empire and the people who fought for an independent Ireland but it has absolutely nothing got to do with a football match played in Scotland or football in Ireland for that Matter. Fans that support Irish clubs don't sing chants about the IRA so why in Scotland??? By all means express these views by becoming politically active in a political party but keep it away from football. Hibs were founded by Irish immigrants. Our name is HIBERNIAN, our colours are GREEN AND WHITE and the HARP is on our crest. That's more than enough to celebrate our identity. Leave the political stuff to the bigot brothers in Glasgow.

25-08-2021, 06:32 PM
I'm Irish I fully understand and I'm 100% proud of my countries history fighting an empire and the people who fought for an independent Ireland but it has absolutely nothing got to do with a football match played in Scotland or football in Ireland for that Matter. Fans that support Irish clubs don't sing chants about the IRA so why in Scotland??? By all means express these views by becoming politically active in a political party but keep it away from football. Hibs were founded by Irish immigrants. Our name is HIBERNIAN, our colours are GREEN AND WHITE and the HARP is on our crest. That's more than enough to celebrate our identity. Leave the political stuff to the bigot brothers in Glasgow.

I agree Cork…if they had your depth of understanding they wouldn’t be singing those songs …and yes, nothing wrong with wanting a unified Ireland…but do it where it matters and not on the terracing

MunsterHibee
25-08-2021, 06:35 PM
I agree Cork…if they had your depth of understanding they wouldn’t be singing those songs …and yes, nothing wrong with wanting a unified Ireland…but do it where it matters and not on the terracing100%. Join a political party as I said and campaign actively. Don't bring it to a football stadium ffs. We support Hibs and the players playing for Hibs. They have nothing to do with Irish politics. They aretrying to win 3 points for our club that's it. Easter Road isn't the place for our fans to turn into wannabe Celtic fans.

loanheadhibby
25-08-2021, 09:23 PM
Do these attention seeking morons not realise no Cummings means no cup win in 2016? They can GTF.
I agree with you 're the fans chants but not convinced his absence would have stopped us winning the cup.
I remember him stupidly getting sent off against the Hearts in the replay at Easter Road and his penalty in the semi v Dundee Utd.
He did of course score a very important goal at Tynecastle.
Did pretty well for us a few years ago but not so sure he is good enough to strengthen us these days.

The Rebel
25-08-2021, 09:37 PM
I’m sure, and I hope, that Jason will receive a warm welcome befitting of his cup winning status when Dundee come to Easter Road.

25-08-2021, 09:42 PM
I agree with you 're the fans chants but not convinced his absence would have stopped us winning the cup.
I remember him stupidly getting sent off against the Hearts in the replay at Easter Road and his penalty in the semi v Dundee Utd.
Did pretty well for us a few years ago but not so sure he is good enough to strengthen us these days.

we would absolutely have been knocked out of the cup at tynecastle that day if it wasn’t for Jason Cummings. Don’t forget he scored the winner at Easter Road too before getting sent off

25-08-2021, 09:46 PM
we would absolutely have been knocked out of the cup at tynecastle that day if it wasn’t for Jason Cummings. Don’t forget he scored the winner at Easter Road too before getting sent off

Not to mention the winning penalty in the semi too, plus the assist for Stokes' 1st in the final.

Played a massive part in our cup win.

Some people like to highlight the negatives.

25-08-2021, 09:58 PM

He was pivotal to the cup win no doubt to suggest otherwise is attempting to rewrite history.

25-08-2021, 10:00 PM
I'm Irish I fully understand and I'm 100% proud of my countries history fighting an empire and the people who fought for an independent Ireland but it has absolutely nothing got to do with a football match played in Scotland or football in Ireland for that Matter. Fans that support Irish clubs don't sing chants about the IRA so why in Scotland??? By all means express these views by becoming politically active in a political party but keep it away from football. Hibs were founded by Irish immigrants. Our name is HIBERNIAN, our colours are GREEN AND WHITE and the HARP is on our crest. That's more than enough to celebrate our identity. Leave the political stuff to the bigot brothers in Glasgow.

26-08-2021, 12:00 AM

No, Wallace Mercer is dead. You can't really incite violence against the dead.

26-08-2021, 06:34 AM

He got sent off in the 3-1 win not the 1-0 win.

They also had someone sent off

26-08-2021, 06:46 AM

Fantastic post.

Hopefully the wee fannies singing the IRA pish find their way to Celtic Park because there’s no place for them at Easter Road. They’ll be wearing khaki parkas and getting smashed off Hearts das like their heroes the Green Brigade next.

26-08-2021, 06:46 AM
He got sent off in the 3-1 win not the 1-0 win.

They also had someone sent off

no, it was the 1-0 in 2016

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/35535920 (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/35535920)

26-08-2021, 06:47 AM
no, it was the 1-0 in 2016

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/35535920 (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/35535920)

There you go.

I knew they got someone sent off as well

Crunchie
26-08-2021, 07:11 AM
This saddens me

A true Hibs legend and loved scoring against them lot

Shan times

Unfortunately all clubs have them and we're not immune.
I sang some stupid stuff as a kid at the games but NEVER at a former player and where the sick chants come from aimed at a guy who was at the heart of us winning the cup is beyond me.
Why doesn't anyone take videos of it and post them publicly on you tube or something a bit publicity might embarrass them into thinking before spouting their bile.

loanheadhibby
26-08-2021, 07:45 AM
Unfortunately all clubs have them and we're not immune.
I sang some stupid stuff as a kid at the games but NEVER at a former player and where the sick chants come from aimed at a guy who was at the heart of us winning the cup is beyond me.
Why doesn't anyone take videos of it and post them publicly on you tube or something a bit publicity might embarrass them into thinking before spouting their bile.

It’s not a new thing. Tommy Macintyre came back to ER playing for Airdrie and was given a hero’s welcome during warm up.

10 minutes in to the game he was getting all sorts of dogs abuse and songs sung about him.

26-08-2021, 06:43 PM

Top post fella