View Full Version : Just F*** Right Off BBC
21-08-2021, 10:20 PM
BBC online Things to Watch for Sunday's games. Mulls over Saints v United, Ross Co v The The Huns, and the "top of the table clash" Them v Sheep.
Not a single word, nor even listing for the Dundee v Hibs game. It's about time the Jambo **** who writes or edits for them online is given the boot.
21-08-2021, 10:38 PM
Bet we are last on tomorrow.
21-08-2021, 10:40 PM
i never watch sportscene or whatever it's called but they used to put at least one of the old squirm on last to keep the viewers
21-08-2021, 10:42 PM
Steven Thomson did say he likes the way .. in that weird way he says ‘Hibernian’ ..play attacking football..had us in the top four with the Sheep maybe above us and St Johnstone creeping into sixth
Early days
Prof. Shaggy
21-08-2021, 11:00 PM
BBC online Things to Watch for Sunday's games. Mulls over Saints v United, Ross Co v The The Huns, and the "top of the table clash" Them v Sheep.
Not a single word, nor even listing for the Dundee v Hibs game. It's about time the Jambo **** who writes or edits for them online is given the boot.
I saw that and couldn't believe my eyes.
I tried to find out who to email but ended up sending a comment to the generic "complaints" address. I've received the standard automated reply. Don't expect anything more.
Babyshamble
21-08-2021, 11:06 PM
2moro's game was mentioned loads of times on sportsound today.csnt understand the hatred for the BBC,don't like it ? Don't listen/ watch.simples.👍
21-08-2021, 11:14 PM
I don’t think it’s anything to do with a hearts supporting writer, the bbc is merely a failed organisation desperately trying to cling on to the illusion that it is relevant.
What was once a shining light of professionalism for others to aspire to, has become a dumping ground for those that would struggle to find employment elsewhere.
It is peppered with the clinically stupid masquerading as journalists.
You have to admit that it’s a bit strange not to mention the team that’s top of the league. As for the rest of your post, I couldn’t have put it better myself. What a shambolic organisation they have become.
The Baldmans Comb
21-08-2021, 11:20 PM
2moro's game was mentioned loads of times on sportsound today.csnt understand the hatred for the BBC,don't like it ? Don't listen/ watch.simples.👍
Also don't pay for it.👍✅
Nevi_SOL
21-08-2021, 11:26 PM
Have to admit I never watch sportscene or listen to any bbc radio. Hibs TV or other YouTube channels highlights is enough for me
Block
21-08-2021, 11:58 PM
There's so many Jambo's on the BBC these days its obvious they're employing their old pals act. Nae doubt about it.
Fick them.
Mon the Cabbage.
22-08-2021, 12:09 AM
Some folk need to calm down to a panic. Imagine losing the rag at this.
22-08-2021, 12:15 AM
Talking about a "top of the table" clash after 2 matches is just plain daft regardless.
Block
22-08-2021, 12:19 AM
Talking about a "top of the table" clash after 2 matches is just plain daft regardless.
Guid tae see you back Peevemor. Nae one likes long term obvious Hi bees banned.
Block
22-08-2021, 12:21 AM
Where have you been? The Jambo bias has been ongoing for years now. Have to be blind and deaf not to notice it.
Muchtie me.
22-08-2021, 12:26 AM
If you think their football coverage is bad, pay attention to their coverage of everything else.
22-08-2021, 12:30 AM
Folk going radge at this, really? :faf:
Block
22-08-2021, 12:39 AM
Folk going radge at this, really? :faf:
BBC = Hire every Jambo that we can. Allan Preston, Doddsie, Craig Levien, Brian McGlauglin etc etc.
Hermit Crab + Folk Going radge at this, really?
Fickin Jambos.
Dearie me.
WTF.
22-08-2021, 12:50 AM
BBC = Hire every Jambo that we can. Allan Preston, Doddsie, Craig Levien, Brian McGlauglin etc etc.
Hermit Crab + Folk Going radge at this, really?
Fickin Jambos.
Dearie me.
WTF.
Doddsie? Billy Dodds? Must be the only hearts fan from New Cummnock.
Levein is a Raith Rovers fan is he not?
This really is not worth getting pissed off about.
Richard Gordon - Aberdeen
Chick Young - St Mirren (Rangers)
Derek Ferguson - Hamilton (Rangers)
Liam MacLeod - Aberdeen
Jim Spence - One of the Dundee clubs
Willie Miller - Aberdeen
Every Jambo indeed.
Block
22-08-2021, 01:10 AM
Doddsie? Billy Dodds? Must be the only hearts fan from New Cummnock.
Levein is a Raith Rovers fan is he not?
This really is not worth getting pissed off about.
Richard Gordon - Aberdeen
Chick Young - St Mirren (Rangers)
Derek Ferguson - Hamilton (Rangers)
Liam MacLeod - Aberdeen
Jim Spence - One of the Dundee clubs
Willie Miller - Aberdeen
Every Jambo indeed.
You're trying to kid on the wrong Hi bee here numbnuts.
BBC is full of Jamboism.
Do one ya gorgie flump.
22-08-2021, 01:28 AM
BBC is full of Jamboism.
Do one ya gorgie flump.
Best keep off the mandrax :wink:
Orchard_Hibs
22-08-2021, 06:13 AM
If you think their football coverage is bad, pay attention to their coverage of everything else.
Their news coverage is terrible, apparently they have a requirement of two sources which leads them to slow and minimal information about breaking events. I’ll not go into their bias towards everything pro government- yes they are a government funded institution but they are supposed to be a check and balance not a propaganda machine.
22-08-2021, 06:28 AM
BBC is full of Jamboism.
Do one ya gorgie flump.
Think someone needs to stop posting after a wee irn bru😉
22-08-2021, 07:48 AM
Stopped listening a while ago. Far too much Hearts content on that programme, with a bit Aberdeen chat usually chucked in to keep Richard Gordon happy.
Is that throbber Tom English still doing sport sound.
Crunchie
22-08-2021, 07:58 AM
It's embarrassing tbh.
22-08-2021, 07:59 AM
BBC is full of Jamboism.
Do one ya gorgie flump.
Is there something wrong with you? You only joined five minutes ago yet seem permanently angry. What's the problem?
It's embarrassing tbh.
This “don’t watch” nonsense doesn’t apply to a broadcaster which you are literally forced to pay for. BBC should be held to a higher standard obviously.
22-08-2021, 08:06 AM
Talking about a "top of the table" clash after 2 matches is just plain daft regardless.Especially when everyone knows the thieves had it won by July, even earlier than last time they had it all sewn up.
The only way to deal with Jamboaberdeensound is to finish the day at the top again and simply never listen to them.
Crunchie
22-08-2021, 08:13 AM
This “don’t watch” nonsense doesn’t apply to a broadcaster which you are literally forced to pay for. BBC should be held to a higher standard obviously.
I agree 100% and I think their radio and tv sport coverage is way below par and very amateurish. Do I think they have an agenda against Hibs? far from it and it's embarrassing to say there is imo.
Crunchie
22-08-2021, 08:15 AM
Guid tae see you back Peevemor. Nae one likes long term obvious Hi bees banned.
Agreed, his posts are always good for a chuckle :agree:
22-08-2021, 08:25 AM
We have an awful lot of greeting faced folk that support us.
Forever complaining or moaning about anything and everything to do with football that isn't Hibs.
Throw in an unhealthy dose of hatred for everything non-Hibs and you gotta wonder why folk bother with football at all!
LeithMike
22-08-2021, 08:26 AM
Not a single word, nor even listing for the Dundee v Hibs game. It's about time the Jambo **** who writes or edits for them online is given the boot.Have to say this is probably a fair comment. Quite astonishing that, in a preview of Sunday's Scottish football, there is no mention of the match of the team sitting top of the league. While this might be quite trivial, it is symptomatic of a rotten media's coverage of Scottish football.
Journalism is an important aspect of accountability and the BBC has a prominent role. There was a complete lack of balance in the BBC's coverage of Hearts' relegation and also the review on continued use of Hampden.
Bias seems to be ingrained in Scottish football and I dont recall any action being taken in response to the systemic geographical bias embedded into Scottish refereeing.
https://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/16114571.investigation-referees-blow-whistle-unrest/
I still find that article quite shocking.
Our game needs cleaned up and the media should be an important part of that.
Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk
22-08-2021, 08:32 AM
They completely missed out a game from the preview page of the website. It was our game. You wouldn’t know we were playing at all if you relied on the BBC. That just doesn’t happen with other broadcasters and other sports. They are supposed to promote the product and they do the opposite.
What’s embarrassing is the constant parroting of the ‘if you don’t like it switch it off’ cliche. I want to watch proper coverage of the National sport, what’s hard to understand?
22-08-2021, 08:32 AM
Have to say this is probably a fair comment. Quite astonishing that, in a preview of Sunday's Scottish football, there is no mention of the match of the team sitting top of the league. While this might be quite trivial, it is symptomatic of a rotten media's coverage of Scottish football.
Journalism is an important aspect of accountability and the BBC has a prominent role. There was a complete lack of balance in the BBC's coverage of Hearts' relegation and also the review on continued use of Hampden.
Bias seems to be ingrained in Scottish football and I dont recall any action being taken in response to the systemic geographical bias embedded into Scottish refereeing.
https://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/16114571.investigation-referees-blow-whistle-unrest/
Even the morning after the night before the BBC online Sunday preview still makes me seethe. I am not a regular Sportscene watcher but when I do see it we seem to get a fair crack of the whip. It's the online reporting where there is a definite anti-Hibs slant.
22-08-2021, 08:34 AM
BBC is full of Jamboism.
Do one ya gorgie flump.
I must be the only the only hearts fan getting his games mixed up today and going to Dundee instead of Tynecastle....
22-08-2021, 08:36 AM
I must be the only the only hearts fan getting his games mixed up today and going to Dundee instead of Tynecastle....
Just as well you weren’t relying on the bbc website then.
22-08-2021, 08:39 AM
Here you go....
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/58284504
22-08-2021, 08:52 AM
Why does anyone care.
Crunchie
22-08-2021, 08:57 AM
They completely missed out a game from the preview page of the website. It was our game. You wouldn’t know we were playing at all if you relied on the BBC. That just doesn’t happen with other broadcasters and other sports. They are supposed to promote the product and they do the opposite.
What’s embarrassing is the constant parroting of the ‘if you don’t like it switch it off’ cliche. I want to watch proper coverage of the National sport, what’s hard to understand?
On the flip side if everyone who was disgruntled with the service switched off they would soon know something was wrong :rolleyes:. I'm sure there's a complaints section or a way of letting them know your feelings.
22-08-2021, 09:01 AM
Welcome back m8
22-08-2021, 09:02 AM
Not hatred just utter frustration at just how poor it's become. I've heard better fitba banter in my local. Their reporting is skewed towards the infirm the Hertz and the sheep. It can't just be us whose noticed it. Listening figures i believe are way down. Quel surprise. Very sad to see a grand institution die on its feet. Can't defend this turgid nonsense I'm afraid. It's just excruciating to listen to.
22-08-2021, 09:04 AM
I've pointed this out before.
But the problem here isn't that they've missed out our game, it's that there are only six games each week yet the BBC only ever previews four which is sheer laziness. And it's not like the previews are in depth analysis of match ups - it's just a few bland comments requiring minimal effort.
22-08-2021, 09:08 AM
Unless we get beat
Fuzzywuzzy
22-08-2021, 09:12 AM
Stopped listening a while ago. Far too much Hearts content on that programme, with a bit Aberdeen chat usually chucked in to keep Richard Gordon happy.
Last summer was a summer of (jambo) discontent. Most beautiful moment came when Doncaster had been interviewed about the money coming from the benefactor for the clubs and budges involvement. No involvement from budge required was what he was told and was happy to get in touch. English was apoplectic
22-08-2021, 09:12 AM
I think if hibs won the league and Aberdeen came second
They would still bang on about what an incredible achievement for Aberdeen
22-08-2021, 09:18 AM
I've pointed this out before.
But the problem here isn't that they've missed out our game, it's that there are only six games each week yet the BBC only ever previews four which is sheer laziness. And it's not like the previews are in depth analysis of match ups - it's just a few bland comments requiring minimal effort.
Someone at the BBC has taken the rather odd decision to pick out 4 of the 6 each week when there’s a full card.
It doesn’t look good when the Saturday game is removed and there’s three left standing on a day when four matches are on - but I think it’s a stretch to say it’s indicative of bias against our team.
Crunchie
22-08-2021, 09:19 AM
I think if hibs won the league and Aberdeen came second
They would still bang on about what an incredible achievement for Aberdeen
They'd go on about us for a full day then revert back to how bad the OF were.
22-08-2021, 09:20 AM
22-08-2021, 09:27 AM
It’s a minority programme in Scotland. It’s not the evening news. Pretty much nobody actually cares. That’s why it won’t be held to account.
22-08-2021, 09:35 AM
Here you go....
That seems to start with a review of Dundee v Hibs so what’s all the fuss about. The complaints aren’t from our resident technophobes are they:greengrin?
22-08-2021, 09:37 AM
Why does anyone care.
I’ll give you an actual example; my cousin is in Yorkshire, has a passing interest in Hibs. He whatsapped me yesterday asking who Hibs were playing, I told him and he was baffled why it wasn’t mentioned online (I’m assuming he was looking on the bbc). It’s unlikely he would buy a ticket and go to Dens, admittedly, but he might if he was up there and knew the game was on. In general if there was a better ‘marketing of the Product’ as Gerrard rightly pointed out last season, there’d be more interest all round, awareness, shirt sales etc. That’s why people ‘care’ about media.
22-08-2021, 09:38 AM
That seems to start with a review of Dundee v Hibs so what’s all the fuss about. The complaints aren’t from our resident technophobes are they:greengrin?
That’s not the same one from yesterday.
s2hart
22-08-2021, 09:45 AM
Here you go....
I've been looking for this page for the team news, thanks for the link.
I do rely on the BBC more out of habit than anything else, the standard of journalism all over the whole website has certainly got worse over the years or maybe I'm just old and remember a different era.
22-08-2021, 10:07 AM
We have an awful lot of greeting faced folk that support us.
Forever complaining or moaning about anything and everything to do with football that isn't Hibs.
Throw in an unhealthy dose of hatred for everything non-Hibs and you gotta wonder why folk bother with football at all!
BBC Scotland Sports coverage is often shockingly bad - their output is tinged by a lack of professionalism which belies Scotland's status in the eyes of the corporation as a "region" to be paid lipservice to - and the total blanking of the Dundee vs Hibs game is a good example of this. We are all required by law to pay for this service and deserve better.
Crunchie
22-08-2021, 10:12 AM
BBC Scotland Sports coverage is often shockingly bad - their output is tinged by a lack of professionalism which belies Scotland's status in the eyes of the corporation as a "region" to be paid lipservice to - and the total blanking of the Dundee vs Hibs game is a good example of this. We are all required by law to pay for this service and deserve better.
I don't think many would argue against this but the thread was about BBC bias against Hibs which is utter drivel.
22-08-2021, 10:14 AM
I don’t think it’s anything to do with a hearts supporting writer, the bbc is merely a failed organisation desperately trying to cling on to the illusion that it is relevant.
What was once a shining light of professionalism for others to aspire to, has become a dumping ground for those that would struggle to find employment elsewhere.
It is peppered with the clinically stupid masquerading as journalists.
The ebc becomes more and more irrelevant to the people of Scotland not only with its poor football coverage also politically, woefully inadequate to cover any Scottish topic without bias. F,,, the ebc.
We need a Scottish station to cover Scottish topics.
22-08-2021, 10:22 AM
Here you go....
With 40 minutes to kick off that page still has no team news
This is the real page that has only just appeared
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/live/football/58216389
22-08-2021, 10:37 AM
With 40 minutes to kick off that page still has no team news
This is the real page that has only just appeared
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/live/football/58216389
Shhh, it’s all fine, we should just accept any old rubbish we’re given, you know where the off button is :grr:
22-08-2021, 10:53 AM
Their news coverage is terrible, apparently they have a requirement of two sources which leads them to slow and minimal information about breaking events. I’ll not go into their bias towards everything pro government- yes they are a government funded institution but they are supposed to be a check and balance not a propaganda machine.
Having the corroboration of 2 sources is exactly what news organisations should be doing
Being fast is now ahead of being right
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
22-08-2021, 10:55 AM
Interviewer now accusing Ross of lying about KNs illness. Richard Gordon saying these are the thing managers need to get used to.
22-08-2021, 10:58 AM
^^That's what you took from it??? :faf:
22-08-2021, 10:59 AM
Interviewer now accusing Ross of lying about KNs illness. Richard Gordon saying these are the thing managers need to get used to.
No he didn’t. 😂
22-08-2021, 11:00 AM
I’ll give you an actual example; my cousin is in Yorkshire, has a passing interest in Hibs. He whatsapped me yesterday asking who Hibs were playing, I told him and he was baffled why it wasn’t mentioned online (I’m assuming he was looking on the bbc). It’s unlikely he would buy a ticket and go to Dens, admittedly, but he might if he was up there and knew the game was on. In general if there was a better ‘marketing of the Product’ as Gerrard rightly pointed out last season, there’d be more interest all round, awareness, shirt sales etc. That’s why people ‘care’ about media.
Anyone using the BBC to follow a football team is doing it all wrong.
22-08-2021, 11:00 AM
^^That's what you took from it??? :faf:
Yep. I assume you weren’t listening.
22-08-2021, 11:01 AM
Anyone using the BBC to follow a football team is doing it all wrong.
Clearly, that’s the point. Maybe it should be better.
22-08-2021, 11:59 AM
On the flip side if everyone who was disgruntled with the service switched off they would soon know something was wrong :rolleyes:. I'm sure there's a complaints section or a way of letting them know your feelings.
I know of atleast six people that dont pay their licence ones a family member and the numbers are growing, especially with Indy2 supporters. Paying for a biased anti Scotland corporation are yi nuts.
22-08-2021, 12:02 PM
That will be the same BBC that have the Hibs game live today on sportsound with pundits including ex Hibs manager Duff Jim speaking exclusively about the game at half time. Some right nonsense spoken on here about BBC coverage of Scottish Football.
22-08-2021, 12:05 PM
Amazes me that people actually still listen to they reprobates on Sportsound. Truly awful and has been for years.
22-08-2021, 12:12 PM
That will be the same BBC that have the Hibs game live today on sportsound with pundits including ex Hibs manager Duff Jim speaking exclusively about the game at half time. Some right nonsense spoken on here about BBC coverage of Scottish Football.
2 ex Dundee players, 1 ex hibs player and a hearts supporter co commentating.
22-08-2021, 12:44 PM
2 ex Dundee players, 1 ex hibs player and a hearts supporter co commentating.
It is football coverage not the political debate of our age.
Numptie
22-08-2021, 01:05 PM
After the draw, BBC speculating whether we can stay top, as Hearts and Aberdeen kick off soon. NSS, but they are playing each other, they can’t both go past us. Just poor journalism
22-08-2021, 01:23 PM
The ebc becomes more and more irrelevant to the people of Scotland not only with its poor football coverage also politically, woefully inadequate to cover any Scottish topic without bias. F,,, the ebc.
We need a Scottish station to cover Scottish topics.
What a load of nonsense. Both BBC Scotland and BBC Radio Scotland are produced in Scotland. You even have the Scotland channel now as well with that dreadful and bias news programme The Nine. If you think any Scottish based sport channel isn't going to devote most of its coverage to the Old firm then you are kidding yourself on.
He's here!
22-08-2021, 04:40 PM
What a load of nonsense. Both BBC Scotland and BBC Radio Scotland are produced in Scotland. You even have the Scotland channel now as well with that dreadful and bias news programme The Nine. If you think any Scottish based sport channel isn't going to devote most of its coverage to the Old firm then you are kidding yourself on.
That channel is unwatchably awful.
I see the BBC have acknowledged today that we are actually top in our own right. Couple of weeks back it was about how the yams and sheep were 'sharing top spot' with us despite the fact that if the league had ended that day we'd have been champions. Today's yams report accepts that the sheep are second and the yams third. Nit-picking? Perhaps, but these things matter!
22-08-2021, 04:44 PM
**** the bbc, government propaganda always has been and always will be.
22-08-2021, 05:04 PM
**** the bbc, government propaganda always has been and always will be.
That's a very simplistic statement.
Is Murdochvision your alternative!
Have you watched TV in America?
It's one of the main reasons the masses are so ill informed and ignorant about things like the pandemic and how they are manipulated to vote for a madman like Trump. Only a fool could see commercial TV as an improvement on the BBC.
Lose the BBC and we will see American levels of heavy duty propaganda and influence on our televisions such as we already see online and which we already saw with the gullible being manipulated in the brexit vote by the right wing.
The BBC are not perfect but they are a reliable sane voice in a mad world.
Of course we all need to watch out for government propaganda in their output but thats something an educated person has always done and is no reason to chuck the baby out with the bathwater.
22-08-2021, 05:07 PM
It's one of the main reasons the masses are so ill informed and ignorant about things like the pandemic.
Only a fool would want that as an alternative to the BBC.
Lose the BBC and we will see American levels of heavy duty propaganda and influence on TV such as we already see online.
The BBC are a reliable sane voice in a mad world.
Of course you need to watch out for overnment propaganda in their output but thats something an educated person has always done but no need to chuck the baby out with the bathwater.
Would it be ok to Chuck Laura Keunsberg out with the bath water though?
22-08-2021, 05:08 PM
It's one of the main reasons the masses are so ill informed and ignorant about things like the pandemic and how the masses are manipulated to vote for a madman like Trump.
Only a fool would want that as an alternative to the BBC.
Lose the BBC and we will see American levels of heavy duty propaganda and influence on TV such as we already see online and which we already saw with the gullible being manipulated in the brexit vote.
The BBC are a reliable sane voice in a mad world.
Of course you need to watch out for overnment propaganda in their output but thats something an educated person has always done but no need to chuck the baby out with the bathwater.
I completely agree.
22-08-2021, 05:10 PM
I've had dreams and nightmares about Laura Keunsberg in equal quantity but thats for a different time, well diferent site infact.
22-08-2021, 05:32 PM
Could be worse you could have to watch stv!
22-08-2021, 05:59 PM
Would there be baked beans in the bath?
22-08-2021, 08:45 PM
Why is every Penalty we get not a penalty according to Sportscene. If Martin Boyle went down like GMS did in the Hearts match he would be accused of diving.
Why were the league leaders not first on the show?
Tobias Funke
22-08-2021, 08:49 PM
It's one of the main reasons the masses are so ill informed and ignorant about things like the pandemic and how they are manipulated to vote for a madman like Trump. Only a fool could see commercial TV as an improvement on the BBC.
Lose the BBC and we will see American levels of heavy duty propaganda and influence on our televisions such as we already see online and which we already saw with the gullible being manipulated in the brexit vote by the right wing.
Of course we all need to watch out for government propaganda in their output but thats something an educated person has always done and is no reason to chuck the baby out with the bathwater.
This. The thought of a Tucker Carlson type maniac brainwashing the UK public with lies and propaganda isn’t appealing.
23-08-2021, 01:37 AM
Privileged weegie Laura.
What team does she really support?
As for the bath water, would have it poured over Jacob Reece Mogg
23-08-2021, 03:10 AM
On BBC sounds app sportsounds summary of today's podcast is
Reaction to Rangers and Dundee Utd wins and the Hearts and Aberdeen draw
Must have forgot about the other table topping team playing,they probably did mention it in there podcast but I ain't listening to that bilge
23-08-2021, 06:07 AM
Have to say this is probably a fair comment. Quite astonishing that, in a preview of Sunday's Scottish football, there is no mention of the match of the team sitting top of the league. While this might be quite trivial, it is symptomatic of a rotten media's coverage of Scottish football.
Seen that article before and it is basically corruption. Surprised other refs and associations don't kick up more about it. So basically all the top refs are from Glasgow Lanarkshire and Renfrewshire and can basically do what they want without any recourse and always get the top games. Kind of what we thought was the case anyway especially when Collum Clancy etc can make huge mistake after huge mistake and still get top games. The meteoric rise of Dallas jnr was a perfect case in point so far out of his depth yet got loads of top games. Also maybe creates that entitled arrogant culture which means Madden is comfortable in making up the rules as he did last week.
23-08-2021, 06:44 AM
Just a few to get your teeth into, I apologise its mostly politics, they all come from one paper which supports Indy, when over 95% of MSM are Unionists, its healthy to get another side of the ebc story. There is a football story or two in there.
https://www.thenational.scot/news/19529476.bbc-omits-douglas-rosss-homophobic-dog-whistle-snp-green-attack/
https://www.thenational.scot/news/19325915.wee-ginger-dug-dyson-report-tells-us-bbc-anti-yes-bias/
https://www.thenational.scot/news/19456616.former-chief-blasts-bbc-promoting-misinformation-pandemic/
https://www.thenational.scot/news/19504720.bbc-suffering-credibility-gap-uk-ministers-avoid-scrutiny-news-shows/
https://www.thenational.scot/politics/19507190.bbc-quick-apologise-offended-power/
https://www.thenational.scot/news/19504423.bbc-newsnight-greens-appalled-stanley-johnsons-appearance/
https://www.thenational.scot/news/19529056.fact-check-bbc-presenter-wrong-say-legal-indyref2-powers-lie-uk/
https://www.thenational.scot/news/19510471.bbcs-skewed-focus-nicola-sturgeon-ministerial-code-breach-claims/
https://www.thenational.scot/news/19427368.uk-ministers-get-easy-ride-softball-bbc-news-six-research-finds/
https://www.thenational.scot/sport/19401882.tv-bosses-blasted-completely-england-centric-coverage-euros/
23-08-2021, 09:07 AM
At least with private broadcasters you know that you are getting brainwashed.
I don't agree with your statement that "The BBC are not perfect but they are a reliable sane voice in a mad world." They are a propaganda machine like the rest of them. The most sensible way to follow news is to look at a number of news channels and work out your own opinion on what is reported. Also worth finding out what is happening in the rest of the world as the BBC is far too UK centic.
I personally think Channel 4 news is the best, not perfect but they are not scared to criticise when it is appropriate.
On the football side I think that BBC Radio Scotland are pathetic. Stopped listening to it regularly a while ago and if I do catch it in the car I usually end up switching off after a few minutes. With regard to Sportscene I record it and then fast forward through most of the programme. Not a great fan of the pundits.
23-08-2021, 09:13 AM
Oh no! They seek to corroborate stories before running them? How awful.
For all the problems with the BBC - and there are many - our media would be much much worse without it.
There’s a right wing conspiracy to wreck it and feed the populace a diet of Daily Mail / Telegraph style propaganda instead. If you think that will be Scotland friendly think again.
Don’t fall for it.
Garymcl
23-08-2021, 09:38 AM
Even locally our very own EEN back page headlines not exaggerating when I say (don’t buy it but will pick it up to check back page ) about the wee team across the city even when there is big news coming out of Easter road all is Barry takes over and somehow makes a headline about his own team unbelievable!!!
23-08-2021, 10:24 AM
The podcast had scant mention of the Hibs game yesterday. Result only, no coverage, no interviews, nothing.
23-08-2021, 10:29 AM
The podcast had scant mention of the Hibs game yesterday. Result only, no coverage, no interviews, nothing.
It’s because they simply publish the last 30-40 mins of their show ..so naturally they were discussing the later games …
23-08-2021, 10:52 AM
Jesus Covid has made us a real sensitive bunch. :rolleyes:
If the team keep wining they will have no choice but to talk about us. It's as simple as that.
23-08-2021, 11:06 AM
It’s because they simply publish the last 30-40 mins of their show ..so naturally they were discussing the later games …
They could have edited in 5 minutes from the earlier game surely? Pure laziness.
23-08-2021, 01:31 PM
Per BBC "Hearts Aberdeen was a pulsating draw".
Per my Jambo golf mate this morning "it was a dire watch".
Who to believe?
23-08-2021, 01:50 PM
Is the Holy Ground mounting some Taliban style bid to annex the main forum via this thread?
Who to believe?My Jambo pal at work said everyone arrived happy and full of anticipation and by the end they were all unhappy and full of dread for the rest of the season.
Maybe that got the pulses pulsing.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
23-08-2021, 02:04 PM
There is probably a thread accusing the BBC or Sportscene or whatever of bias on every football forum of every team in Scotland.
There is no anti-Hibs bias or conspiracy. It's pro-Old Firm vs everyone else. That's it.
Who to believe?
You're mate. His description sounds like the match I saw.
28-08-2021, 12:59 PM
Only three games (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/58358322) being previewed this week.
Yet another poor effort.
28-08-2021, 01:15 PM
Only three games (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/58358322) being previewed this week.
Yet another poor effort.
Presumably because there are 3 games today in the Premier league.
28-08-2021, 01:16 PM
I think a “whooooossssshhhh” is applicable here ;)
28-08-2021, 01:54 PM
I think a “whooooossssshhhh” is applicable here ;)Head in the clouds! :greengrin
28-08-2021, 02:09 PM
OK, 3 games in the Premier league, no commentary of any game just the awful open all Mike's!!!!!