View Full Version : Football Pundits
19-08-2021, 11:46 AM
Football pundits - results from a latest poll. Think they've got it mostly correct. Any that you would disagree with? Wonder where Michael Stewart, Stephen Craigan, Steven Naismith, Marv Bartley, Kris Boyd etc feature in the list.
Time to go?
Graeme Souness
Garth Crooks
Martin Keown
Tim Sherwood
Danny Murphy
Average at best
Lee Dixon
Robbie Savage
Steve McManaman
Joleon Lescott
Eni Aluko
Decent
Peter Crouch
Ian Wright
Chris Kamara
Chris Sutton
Michael Owen
Jermaine Jenas
Karen Carney
Paul Merson
Robin van Persie
Jamie Redknapp
Owen Hargreaves
Top class
Emma Hayes
Roy Keane
Micah Richards
Alex Scott
Alan Shearer
Glenn Hoddle
Rio Ferdinand
Cesc Fabregas
Ally McCoist
Joe Cole
Best of the best
Gary Neville
Jamie Carragher
https://img-s-msn-com.akamaized.net/tenant/amp/entityid/AANuQqI.img?h=609&w=966&m=6&q=60&o=f&l=f&x=287&y=182
Sioux
19-08-2021, 11:53 AM
Micah Richards top class? He's a circus act.
19-08-2021, 11:57 AM
I'd disagree with having Rio Ferdinand so high. He was like Ian Wright with his level of bias during the Euros.
I don't have any chip on my shoulder and totally get English pundits will favour their own side but he was ridiculous. Any logic and analytical insight went out the window and was replaced by the blindness all fans have towards their own team.
hibee1875
19-08-2021, 12:07 PM
I'd disagree with having Rio Ferdinand so high. He was like Ian Wright with his level of bias during the Euros.
I don't have any chip on my shoulder and totally get English pundits will favour their own side but he was ridiculous. Any logic and analytical insight went out the window and was replaced by the blindness all fans have towards their own team.
He’s the same when he’s at a Utd game. I had to mute pre match and half time on Saturday vs Leeds.
He’s the English Kris Boyd.
19-08-2021, 12:08 PM
Tin hat on but i like Souness. Shearer just annoys me.
Stewart our best by a county mile. Not even close.
19-08-2021, 12:19 PM
Personally can't stand Micah Richards or Rio Ferdinand and will never listen to anything Glenn Hoddle has to say although that's perhaps no reflection on his punditry skills.
Maybe not popular on here but I'd have Ally McCoist in the best of the best category, I really enjoy listening to him.
Key West
Get rid of them all and just have one commentator at the game, like the old days.
Slim Shady
Tin hat on but i like Souness. Shearer just annoys me.
Stewart our best by a county mile. Not even close.
Even Tinnier hat on now…….
I can’t stand watching a game with female co commentary or pundits.
Just spoils the experience for me. I either turn it off altogether or sound down.
19-08-2021, 12:22 PM
Can't stand Garth Crooks, don't mind Martin Keown...I really Like Andy Townsend but he's not on the list, he he only on talk sport now ?
19-08-2021, 12:24 PM
Micheal Owen is dreadful. I don’t mind Keown, savage and Dixon can both drop in to the **** off forever zone.
19-08-2021, 12:27 PM
It’s amazing to me that Micah Richards and Alex Scott could be considered top class in any shape or form … and I do know that many others say the same. Never heard an insightful word out of either of them and Micah Richards is actually guilty of ruining potentially interesting chat with his ridiculous laughing and supposed banter.
Alex Scott is lovely but the most over rated pundit there has ever been.
mcohibs
19-08-2021, 12:28 PM
Just spoils the experience for me. I either turn it off altogether or sound down.
Any particular females you dislike listening to or just females in general? Any reason why?
19-08-2021, 12:30 PM
Martin Keown is the worst. Boring as ****, doesn't bother doing any research and 99% of everything he says is just wrong.
mcohibs
19-08-2021, 12:34 PM
Gary Neville is alright in doses. Likes the sound of his own voice too much though. His squealing over the super league was laughable considering he was happy enough to pick up a pretty packet at United under the Glazers without saying a word. Not to mention the hypocrisy of Sky Sports getting on their high horse about money ruining football.
Also disliked Neville's interview with Kane. Very unprofessional IMO with Kane basically putting a price on his head while still under contract at Spurs. No chance Neville would have done that interview if it was a United player.
AugustaHibs
19-08-2021, 12:36 PM
Alex Scott top class hahahaah. Surely a wind up?
19-08-2021, 12:40 PM
Surprised Pat Nevin isn't mentioned. Always enjoy listening to him.
MartinfaePorty
19-08-2021, 12:43 PM
Not sure I'd have Glenn Hoddle as 'top class'. For a man with such experience, he seems just to state the obvious or just repeat what the commentator has just said. No insight at all.
19-08-2021, 12:48 PM
Alex Scott is very knowledgeable about the game. Talks well.
Neville is streets ahead of most of them. Carragher is decent, but wouldn't say in the best category. McCoist, Richards, Keane and Souness are decent. Shearer and Redknapp are just too bland to care either way.
Michael Owen, Robbie Savage, Rio Ferdinand, Emma Hayes and Steve McManaman are dreadful.
19-08-2021, 12:51 PM
Rio Ferdinand?
Dearie me!
👎
Key West
19-08-2021, 01:27 PM
Gary Neville is alright in doses. Likes the sound of his own voice too much though. His squealing over the super league was laughable considering he was happy enough to pick up a pretty packet at United under the Glazers without saying a word. Not to mention the hypocrisy of Sky Sports getting on their high horse about money ruining football.
Also disliked Neville's interview with Kane. Very unprofessional IMO with Kane basically putting a price on his head while still under contract at Spurs. No chance Neville would have done that interview if it was a United player.
Agree mate, him and Carragher scathing regarding Ben White's debut against Brentford, doubt they would have said the same about a Man U or Liverpool player.
Had to laugh at his stance regarding the breakaway, I thought he was excellent to begin with but has now become unbearable.
19-08-2021, 01:40 PM
Very few of these pundits have been Managers
19-08-2021, 02:00 PM
Very few of these pundits have been Managers
Why does that matter ? We get every single ex-hearts manager shoved down our throats as Scottish football pundits and they are all terrible.
Saint Hibee
19-08-2021, 02:09 PM
Jermaine Jenas is truly awful.
duffers
19-08-2021, 02:15 PM
Jenas, Hoddle, Ferdinand can all go down 1 or 2 levels. I’d happily have McCoist up with Carra and Neville.
19-08-2021, 02:21 PM
Why does that matter ? We get every single ex-hearts manager shoved down our throats as Scottish football pundits and they are all terrible.
To be fair to Sportsound, they give a lot of air time to sacked managers
19-08-2021, 02:22 PM
I always thought that Alan Hansen was a decent pundit when he used to be on Match of the Day and probably getting a fraction of Lineker's salary.
CloudSquall
19-08-2021, 02:23 PM
Not to go full on McGlashan but how anyone can sit through more than 2 seconds of some of those English accents is beyond me.
It's one of the highlights of living abroad not having to hear Ferdinand, Jenas and co..
19-08-2021, 02:25 PM
It’s amazing to me that Micah Richards and Alex Scott could be considered top class in any shape or form … and I do know that many others say the same. Never heard an insightful word out of either of them and Micah Richards is actually guilty of ruining potentially interesting chat with his ridiculous laughing and supposed banter.
Alex Scott is lovely but the most over rated pundit there has ever been.
I like both of them. Richards is quite funny and is a bit different from all the other pundits, Scott is also pretty good imo. I also like Souness, he’s really knowledgeable about the game and is very honest.
19-08-2021, 02:28 PM
I've never heard of Emma Hayes
19-08-2021, 03:13 PM
Jenas, Murphy and McManaman should be on the list for time to go.
hibbydog
19-08-2021, 03:21 PM
The following pundits can bolt
Chris Iwelumo. Just annoying. No analysis or original thought
Shelley Kerr. Maybe I’m a snob but her agricultural accent and basic basic approach puts me right off.
Rio Ferdinand. Entitled, arrogant, biased plonker
Chris Sutton. Nobody can genuinely be that confrontational. You just feel he’s a puppet for the producer telling him to be controversial. Snore!
Need to see more of Michael Stewart and Pat Nevin. I want a pundit to offer some analysis and tell me stuff I don’t know. Really can’t be bothered with trash talk (Sutton) and some likeability or personality is badly needed for some (Shearer, Murphy, Linekar, Keown, Jenas)
Slim Shady
19-08-2021, 04:32 PM
Any particular females you dislike listening to or just females in general? Any reason why?
Partly that, have no place in men’s football, talk nonsense and voice does my nut in…… but the same can also be said for Chris Iwelumo who also gets the same treatment.
I've never heard of Emma Hayes
ITV pundit/commentator for Euro 2020. Hadn't heard of her before, thought she was good and deserves her place on the list.
H18S NX
19-08-2021, 06:33 PM
Get rid of them all and just have one commentator at the game, like the old days...Agree,bring back Ken Wolstenholme.
19-08-2021, 06:46 PM
Maybe 3 on that list any good but I avoid the after match stuff as it generally pointless. Pre match for the games I watch generally end up discussing the old firm even when neither is involved. So also generally avoided.
Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk
19-08-2021, 06:51 PM
Really like Emma Hayes
Just her voice grates a bit
19-08-2021, 06:56 PM
Not to go full on McGlashan but how anyone can sit through more than 2 seconds of some of those English accents is beyond me.
It's one of the highlights of living abroad not having to hear Ferdinand, Jenas and co..
Murdo, Murdo, Murdo, Murdo - up your jacksies, Jam Tarts
19-08-2021, 07:06 PM
I like Souness, Hayes, Neville and McCoist from that list. The rest fluctuate between ok and slavering erse.
Davy Mac
19-08-2021, 07:41 PM
[QUOTE=theonlywayisup;6661825]Football pundits - results from a latest poll. Think they've got it mostly correct. Any that you would disagree with? Wonder where Michael Stewart, Stephen Craigan, Steven Naismith, Marv Bartley, Kris Boyd etc feature in the list.
Time to go?
Graeme Souness
Garth Crooks
Martin Keown
Tim Sherwood
Danny Murphy
Average at best
Lee Dixon
Robbie Savage
Steve McManaman
Joleon Lescott
Eni Aluko
Decent
Peter Crouch
Ian Wright
Chris Kamara
Chris Sutton
Michael Owen
Jermaine Jenas
Karen Carney
Paul Merson
Robin van Persie
Jamie Redknapp
Owen Hargreaves
Top class
Emma Hayes
Roy Keane
Micah Richards
Alex Scott
Alan Shearer
Glenn Hoddle
Rio Ferdinand
Cesc Fabregas
Ally McCoist
Joe Cole
Best of the best
Gary Neville
Jamie Carragher
Opinions eh?
I like all the time to go but can't be bothered with all the decent! lol
Ally McCoist can GTF, frickin fake but agree with Gary & Jamie, but like I said McCoist can do one.
Alex Scott meanwhile.......
19-08-2021, 09:22 PM
Souness was fantastic doing the Euros coverage.
19-08-2021, 10:35 PM
Personally can't stand Micah Richards or Rio Ferdinand and will never listen to anything Glenn Hoddle has to say although that's perhaps no reflection on his punditry skills.
Maybe not popular on here but I'd have Ally McCoist in the best of the best category, I really enjoy listening to him.
I'm the same regarding Hoddle, his comments about disabled people should have meant he never got anywhere near commentary or punditry, but maybe that's just my opinion.
1875Sean
19-08-2021, 11:19 PM
[QUOTE=theonlywayisup;6661825]Football pundits - results from a latest poll. Think they've got it mostly correct. Any that you would disagree with? Wonder where Michael Stewart, Stephen Craigan, Steven Naismith, Marv Bartley, Kris Boyd etc feature in the list.
Time to go?
Graeme Souness
Garth Crooks
Martin Keown
Tim Sherwood
Danny Murphy
Average at best
Lee Dixon
Robbie Savage
Steve McManaman
Joleon Lescott
Eni Aluko
Decent
Peter Crouch
Ian Wright
Chris Kamara
Chris Sutton
Michael Owen
Jermaine Jenas
Karen Carney
Paul Merson
Robin van Persie
Jamie Redknapp
Owen Hargreaves
Top class
Emma Hayes
Roy Keane
Micah Richards
Alex Scott
Alan Shearer
Glenn Hoddle
Rio Ferdinand
Cesc Fabregas
Ally McCoist
Joe Cole
Best of the best
Gary Neville
Jamie Carragher
Opinions eh?
I like all the time to go but can't be bothered with all the decent! lol
Ally McCoist can GTF, frickin fake but agree with Gary & Jamie, but like I said McCoist can do one.
Alex Scott meanwhile.......
Long list but in my opinion Souness is good
However Ian Wright, Jermaine Jenas, Karen Carney, Alex Scott & Alan Shearer are all poor.
Don’t agree with McCoist, have a lot of time for him, very likeable for one of them
20-08-2021, 06:50 AM
[QUOTE=Davy Mac;6662311]
Long list but in my opinion Souness is good
However Ian Wright, Jermaine Jenas, Karen Carney, Alex Scott & Alan Shearer are all poor.
Don’t agree with McCoist, have a lot of time for him, very likeable for one of them
McCoist is excellent calls it as he sees it
20-08-2021, 07:06 AM
Don't mind Danny Murphy and also Keane and mccoist as he keeps his hungry bias in check. In Scotland michael Stewart is way best and I find Naismith listenable. The rest of the scottish pundits very poor.
20-08-2021, 08:28 AM
Football pundits - results from a latest poll. Think they've got it mostly correct. Any that you would disagree with? Wonder where Michael Stewart, Stephen Craigan, Steven Naismith, Marv Bartley, Kris Boyd etc feature in the list.
Time to go?
Graeme Souness
Decent
Michael Owen
Owen Hargreaves
Top class
Rio Ferdinand
You must be a ManUre fan... Ferdinand is dross.. comments re England beating Scotland 3-0, Spain/Italy .. regardless as Engerland will beat either in Euros final... should have had his P45 right after the Euros.
Owen is dross, Hargreaves dull...
Souness is one of the best.. IMHO
20-08-2021, 08:36 AM
Love when Souness and Keane are on the same game. Nods of mutual respect between them when the other is speaking. What a midfield that would have been.
Crunchie
21-08-2021, 11:35 AM
Time to go?
Graeme Souness
Garth Crooks
Martin Keown
Tim Sherwood
Danny Murphy
Average at best
Lee Dixon
Robbie Savage
Steve McManaman
Joleon Lescott
Eni Aluko
Decent
Peter Crouch
Ian Wright
Chris Kamara
Chris Sutton
Michael Owen
Jermaine Jenas
Karen Carney
Paul Merson
Robin van Persie
Jamie Redknapp
Owen Hargreaves
Top class
Emma Hayes
Roy Keane
Micah Richards
Alex Scott
Alan Shearer
Glenn Hoddle
Rio Ferdinand
Cesc Fabregas
Ally McCoist
Joe Cole
Best of the best
Gary Neville
Jamie Carragher
https://img-s-msn-com.akamaized.net/tenant/amp/entityid/AANuQqI.img?h=609&w=966&m=6&q=60&o=f&l=f&x=287&y=182
My picks from that list would be Crooks, Keane and McCoist.
21-08-2021, 11:42 AM
Don't mind Danny Murphy and also Keane and mccoist as he keeps his hungry bias in check. In Scotland michael Stewart is way best and I find Naismith listenable. The rest of the scottish pundits very poor.
Have you seen his waistline:greengrin
21-08-2021, 04:41 PM
I just cannot bear the sound of Alex Scott’s voice. If she didn’t look like she did she would be nowhere near the telly.
Babyshamble
21-08-2021, 08:15 PM
Laura woods is good, like her on talk sport with ally mccoist .
Natalie sawyer as well,
Souness, McCoist, Neville, carragher definite keeps for me, they all bring something to the table
keane is a semi decent, sometimes he falls in love with the sound of his own voice (not the only one). Richards can occasionally bring something interesting but feels like he’s trying too hard to bring some ‘bants’ and also wants to be the Uber positive balance to someone like Keane. Redknapp just wants to be everyone’s pal.
Ferdinand, shearer, Wright, Owen, Hargreaves, mcmanaman, redknapp, joe Cole, Sutton, Hartson, can all get binned.
Savage and Merson are in a whole category of their own for how awful they are
21-08-2021, 08:34 PM
Alex Scott top class hahahaah. Surely a wind up?
Knows her stuff , I’d rate her top class also with Shelly Kerr polar opposite
21-08-2021, 08:38 PM
Love when Souness and Keane are on the same game. Nods of mutual respect between them when the other is speaking. What a midfield that would have been.
Its because they have the same cliched ''could he do it on a cold wednesday night at stoke'' outdated views. Any footballer with an instagram account is evil. No surprise they are both on the couch instead of managing.
21-08-2021, 08:39 PM
I just cannot bear the sound of Alex Scott’s voice. If she didn’t look like she did she would be nowhere near the telly.
You sure it's not got more to do with her 140 England caps, 2012 Olympics appearance, 5 Premier League titles, multiple domestic trophies, a Champions League winning goal, and an MBE for services to football?
21-08-2021, 08:41 PM
You sure it's not got more to do with her 140 England caps, 2012 Olympics appearance, 5 Premier League titles, multiple domestic trophies, a Champions League winning goal, and an MBE for services to football?
and she does look pretty fab.
21-08-2021, 11:28 PM
Aye but apart from that what has she ever done :greengrin
TelaStella
21-08-2021, 11:59 PM
Of course not, what on earth would that have to do with it? That’s the usual view from most on here regarding this subject unfortunately. Fair play to you and the 1 other poster out of 56 for challenging it.
CloudSquall
22-08-2021, 12:12 AM
All within the realm of women's football though, I may as well list my Football Manager accomplishments that have as much weight as that list.
22-08-2021, 02:51 AM
Chris Kamara decent ?
Bletherin numpty
22-08-2021, 02:57 AM
I don't really mind Lee Dixon and I do enjoy listening to Graeme le Saux..
22-08-2021, 06:56 AM
Shearer, McManaman, Redknapp, Ferdinand, Richards, Savage and Merson are absolutely appalling.
Brunswickbill
22-08-2021, 07:23 AM
The following pundits can bolt
Chris Iwelumo. Just annoying. No analysis or original thought
Shelley Kerr. Maybe I’m a snob but her agricultural accent and basic basic approach puts me right off.
Rio Ferdinand. Entitled, arrogant, biased plonker
Chris Sutton. Nobody can genuinely be that confrontational. You just feel he’s a puppet for the producer telling him to be controversial. Snore!
Need to see more of Michael Stewart and Pat Nevin. I want a pundit to offer some analysis and tell me stuff I don’t know. Really can’t be bothered with trash talk (Sutton) and some likeability or personality is badly needed for some (Shearer, Murphy, Linekar, Keown, Jenas)
Agree on Chris Iwelumo. I don’t think he offers any analysis, just speaks in platitudes . Last night he disagreed with Stewart about a foul by Christie as to whether it was a yellow. He kept on saying that Christie touched the ball so it wasn’t a foul. But making contact with the ball doesn’t feature in the rules if football. You expect a pundit to at least know the rules. He clearly hasn’t a clue.
hibee1875
22-08-2021, 07:31 AM
Partly that, have no place in men’s football, talk nonsense and voice does my nut in…… but the same can also be said for Chris Iwelumo who also gets the same treatment.
Jeeso. I best hand my season ticket back and get back in the kitchen. Go’s help anyone who may hear my opinion of the game whilst at the match.
What a caveman viewpoint.
Don Giovanni
22-08-2021, 07:59 AM
Jeeso. I best hand my season ticket back and get back in the kitchen. Go’s help anyone who may hear my opinion of the game whilst at the match.
What a caveman viewpoint.
Neanderthals :agree:
Some folk are really showing themselves up with their small minded views about women in football.
Alex Scott has probably forgotten more about football then these muppets will ever know.
22-08-2021, 08:00 AM
Get rid of them all and just have one commentator at the game, like the old days.
Good evening.
This is Arthur Montford in the Scotsport studio.
We have an exciting and thrilling match for you.
The first Edinburgh Derby of the season from Easter Road.
Your match commentator ... Arthur Montford.
Crunchie
22-08-2021, 08:01 AM
Good evening.
This is Arthur Montford in the Scotsport studio
We have an exciiting and thrilling match for you
The first Edinburgh Derby of the season from Easter Road.
Your match commentator ... Arthur Montford
The good old days :aok: