View Full Version : Sheep £500k for Boyle knocked back!
Slim Shady
16-08-2021, 09:37 PM
Red top rag reporting Hibs knock back £500k bid from Aberdeen
No danger we should be selling Boyle at all never mind to a direct competitor. Worth more than 500k to stay and get us 3rd again and another cup run or 2.
16-08-2021, 09:48 PM
We should offer £300k for Lewis Ferguson
16-08-2021, 09:48 PM
Absolute chancers if that's true
16-08-2021, 09:49 PM
He wouldn’t go
16-08-2021, 09:53 PM
Thought he was supposed to have a £500k buyout clause so how can Hibs have knocked it back? Maybe either Boyle knocked it back, the DR has its story wrong or the info re the £500k buyout clause is wrong.
16-08-2021, 09:56 PM
We should offer £300k for Lewis Ferguson
Think.
16-08-2021, 09:56 PM
Thought he was supposed to have a £500k buyout clause so how can Hibs have knocked it back? Maybe either Boyle knocked it back, the DR has its story wrong or the info re the £500k buyout clause is wrong.
Only applies to teams down south was the rumour
RossScott1991
16-08-2021, 09:58 PM
He is an Aberdeen fan is he not hopefully personally wouldn’t want the move at this stage
16-08-2021, 10:01 PM
Boyle should be insulted that they're only willing to offer that for him.
16-08-2021, 10:03 PM
He's worth more to us than that. 500,000 would be robbery.
I suspect he would only move for money that Aberdeen can't afford.
davhibby
Thought they’d given everyone enough laughs this week after their performance on Saturday
£500k opening bid, like they would come back with anything remotely close to the value we will see him as :faf:
They know we've turned down bids for Porto and Nizzy in the last year or so well in excess of that, what makes them think they could get our most important player for cheaper?
If I was Hibs I wouldn't have even responded
16-08-2021, 10:07 PM
I’m amazed there hasn’t been any bigger clubs than Aberdeen coming in with an offer for Martin Boyle. One of the best players in the league and still improving. Surely his sights will be set higher for progressing his career than a sideways/step down move to Aberdeen.
16-08-2021, 10:10 PM
Agent getting the story out there to force the hand of a club down south who can benefit from the £500k buy out clause is my bet.
I suspect this could just be the beginning of a saga that might not end well.
Just a hunch though, hope I’m wrong.
16-08-2021, 10:10 PM
Agent getting the story out there to force the hand of a club down south who can benefit from the £500k buy out clause is my bet.
He goes and Mueller replaces him. Can see it happening, just not to Aberdeen. Like you say it’s probably a play to get him down south for a big payday.
16-08-2021, 10:15 PM
£500K plus Ryan Hedges.
16-08-2021, 10:16 PM
£500K plus Ryan Hedges.
Ryan Hedges is injured isn't he? This could be a goer then...
16-08-2021, 10:20 PM
£500K plus Ryan Hedges.
There was talk that there was interest in Hedges from down South, not sure what his injury is like.
16-08-2021, 10:31 PM
I wonder if they waited for Jack Ross to stop laughing before they realised £500k isn’t nearly enough.
16-08-2021, 10:47 PM
Front it out. Gallagher, Ramirez and Hedges plus £500K to get the conversation started seriously. If not, ram it.
Sometimes I wonder who has the most severe delusions of grandeur, these jumped up clowns or Hearts.
16-08-2021, 10:53 PM
Well with doidge out we can’t let him go unless it’s down south so they can keep upping Thier bids without trying to throw in injured players It’s an insult to think we would even entertain it
16-08-2021, 11:10 PM
They wouldn't even get Susan Boyle for £500k, never mind Martin.
MJ hibs
16-08-2021, 11:34 PM
If thats the buyout then surely someone comes in for him. Seems a low buyout given he's an international and looks like he hasn't reached his 'ceiling' in terms of improving his game.
17-08-2021, 05:09 AM
Aberdeen win a couple of easy games in Europe and at home and now think they're part of the OF, able to cherry-pick the best players from their peers. Summer heat gone to their heads.
17-08-2021, 05:21 AM
Aberdeen lol
17-08-2021, 05:47 AM
We can be amused, insulted and aggrieved all we like but this could be the start of something we could well do without. I hope JR and Mathie are preparing for an interesting climax to the summer transfer window.
hibee316
17-08-2021, 06:20 AM
Is this 500k buy out actually real? Has it been seen officially anywhere?
17-08-2021, 06:24 AM
Yup. For all those laughing at it, if they’ve put a bid in then I have a feeling there’s a reason they think it was a suitable bid.
Slightly concerning..
17-08-2021, 06:27 AM
Yup. For all those laughing at it, if they’ve put a bid in then I have a feeling there’s a reason they think it was a suitable bid.
Slightly concerning..
The only way I can see him at Aberdeen is if Atlanta meet this supposed release clause that only applies outwith Scotland then loan him back. Would Boyle be a big enough **** to do that? I’d hope not but you never know.
17-08-2021, 06:45 AM
Boyle probably has one move in him to test himself at a higher level, even as an impact sub, so I can't see him going to the Sheep, at least not just now. Maybe if he flops wherever he goes (and I think we all need to accept the likelihood he will go at some stage this season), he will then come back to Scotland as a Sheep. By then we will have moved on.
Stokesy's on fire
17-08-2021, 06:46 AM
Sheep would be a massive downwards step for him.
Rumble de Thump
17-08-2021, 06:47 AM
Aberdeen won't be spending 500k on any player.
Ray Donovan
17-08-2021, 06:49 AM
Aberdeen would know we would never sell to a direct rival for 500k. Boyle is worth so much more than that to us. He is the most dangerous and effective player in the league outwith Celtic and Rangers.
If the release clause thing is true then Aberdeen are being disrespectful to us with their derisory bid. Atlanta United should get on with meeting the release clause instead of Aberdeen making a silly bid first.
For that reason and assuming the release clause thing is correct then we should be trying to offload him anywhere else other than Atlanta United (then subsequently Aberdeen). I include both the OF clubs in that.
I may be getting ahead of myself and there may be no release clause. However I will never accept Aberdeen getting Hibs best player for a derisory sum.
If this happens I would be extremely disappointed.
17-08-2021, 06:50 AM
Nope. Probably just yet another hibs.net myth.
He was asked about it once in an interview and because he didn't answer that part of the question some have taken that as proof.
17-08-2021, 06:53 AM
Surely a sideways step.
17-08-2021, 06:59 AM
We won't be selling to Aberdeen unless he forces a move which I doubt he would
17-08-2021, 07:06 AM
I suspect this is just newspapers stirring it, possibly on behalf of his agent.
17-08-2021, 07:06 AM
The only way I can see him at Aberdeen is if Atlanta meet this supposed release clause that only applies outwith Scotland then loan him back. Would Boyle be a big enough **** to do that? I’d hope not but you never know.
Boyle wouldn’t qualify for a work permit for the USA.
timewilltell
17-08-2021, 07:08 AM
Think this might be tactical from Aberdeen. Given our centre forward is out for 4 months, removing Boyle would, they believe, reduce Hibs capability of finishing 3rd.
RossScott1991
17-08-2021, 07:09 AM
I’m not being soo quick to write it off, the bid would need to be more. But boyle is an aberdeen fan is he not ? We may all see it as sideways step.. but Boyle getting likely a better wage and playing for his boyhood club as he hits his late 20s might not see it like that….
Though surely Hibs shouldn’t entertain this. If we lost Boyle this stage in a window with a season underway we’d need to really try get Mueller in and hope he turns out great. Boyle is crucial , we have no ball carriers / pace like him.
17-08-2021, 07:11 AM
Slightly concerning..
I don’t think anyone would agree it’s a credible bid for our best player when on form A match winner goal scorer with pace to burn
Its an insult
Whether they have been given encouragement to bid as Boyle wants back up north to be closer to family ,Who knows
But they need to be realistic if they are serious
With Doidge out Boyle is a priceless asset just now
They clearly see us as a threat fir third place again and are trying to unsettle us
17-08-2021, 07:11 AM
I think us supporters view being a supporter is a bigger draw to sign for a team than it usually is…..it would be a side step move at best for Boyle. Can’t see there being much, if any, career motivation from him for this move …
17-08-2021, 07:16 AM
I think us supporters view being a supporter is a bigger draw to sign for a team than it usually is…..it would be a side step move at best for Boyle. Can’t see there being much, if any, career motivation from him for this move …
unless Aberdeen are offering a huge, life-changing salary it would be a strange move for Boyle to even think about.
17-08-2021, 07:17 AM
I don’t think anyone would agree it’s a credible bid for our best player when on form A match winner goal scorer with pace to burn
Its an insult
Whether they have been given encouragement to bid as Boyle wants back up north to be closer to family ,Who knows
But they need to be realistic if they are serious
With Doidge out Boyle is a priceless asset just now
They clearly see us as a threat fir third place again and are trying to unsettle us
I think there must be a reason they’ve bid what they did.
They’ll have known there’s no way we would accept that offer.
Hopefully it’s just to appease their fans after Sunday’s result but it seems a bit unlikely to me. Trying and failing to sign someone wouldn’t generate the best PR once the initial excitement calmed down.
hibby rae
17-08-2021, 07:24 AM
I think there must be a reason they’ve bid what they did.
They’ll have known there’s no way we would accept that offer.
Hopefully it’s just to appease their fans after Sunday’s result but it seems a bit unlikely to me. Trying and failing to sign someone wouldn’t generate the best PR once the initial excitement calmed down.
I had a look at a Sheep forum and Pie and Bovril last night. Most of the comments were about the ambition their club were showing. 🙄🙄
Don't recall any saying it was ludicrious to begin with.
17-08-2021, 07:25 AM
Aberdeen win a couple of easy games in Europe and at home and now think they're part of the OF, able to cherry-pick the best players from their peers. Summer heat gone to their heads.
While I absolutely agree that it would be at best a sideways step for Boyle, let's not be too critical of clubs cherry picking the best players from their peers considering we're apparently after three from St Johnstone, and have been quick to take players from clubs like St Mirren of late.
17-08-2021, 07:27 AM
While I absolutely agree that it would be at best a sideways step for Boyle, let's not be too critical of clubs cherry picking the best players from their peers considering we're apparently after three from St Johnstone, and have been quick to take players from clubs like St Mirren of late.
Aye but we aren’t and don’t expect to be direct rivals with st mirren or st johnstone in terms of league place. The only comparable situation would be us bidding for an aberdeen player.
Stokesy's on fire
17-08-2021, 07:29 AM
Surely a sideways step.
Downwards thwy are a small club
hibby rae
17-08-2021, 07:30 AM
As far as I can tell, it was reported a while back amd seems to be gospel now. Sheep must have thought so anyway 😂
If I was at Hibs I wouldn't have even bothered responding to a bid like that.
17-08-2021, 07:32 AM
Scott Burns saying there is no Automatic release clause that Aberdeen or any other 'Scottish' club can trigger regarding Boyle.
Someone is also saying Atlanta can't bid because the MLS summer transfer window is closed ?
17-08-2021, 07:35 AM
Give him a new contract and the promise of a testimonial. Job done
17-08-2021, 07:35 AM
I think you're less of a supporter of a particular club when you're playing and competing against them. He may very well be a childhood Aberdeen fan but he's settled at the club, he has a young family, his Mrs plays for Hibs ladies and presumably they live in the area. Would you give up all that for a small increase in salary?
17-08-2021, 07:38 AM
Think this might be tactical from Aberdeen. Given our centre forward is out for 4 months, removing Boyle would, they believe, reduce Hibs capability of finishing 3rd.
I agree, they’re getting his name out there to alert English clubs he’s available in order to weaken us. They’ve no intention or any chance of buying him. **** bag tactics from a poorly supported ramshackle stadium club. Pitiful tactics.
I had a look at a Sheep forum and Pie and Bovril last night. Most of the comments were about the ambition their club were showing. 🙄🙄
Don't recall any saying it was ludicrious to begin with.
And more importantly for Aberdeen, not talking about their disastrous result against Raith.
Stinks of a publicity stunt, kinda like us bidding £1m for Naismith back in the day.
17-08-2021, 07:42 AM
I agree, they’re getting his name out there to alert English clubs he’s available in order to weaken us. They’ve no intention or any chance of buying him. **** bag tactics from a poorly supported ramshackle stadium club. Pitiful tactics.
They are using their puppet in the press to do it. Same reason there was all sorts leaking out about us during the start of the pandemic. Talk us down and talk up Aberdeen.
17-08-2021, 08:15 AM
My initial reaction was rolling on the floor laughing. But as others have alluded to, I wonder if there is something else going on here.
It's a very odd thing to do out of the blue. I still don't think he'll end up there but I have concerns it might be an agent causing trouble or something else that leaves me a wee bit concerned.
17-08-2021, 08:31 AM
Sorry, but I find that idea a bit of a stretch too far to take credibly.
hibstag
17-08-2021, 08:38 AM
Sometimes I wonder who has the most severe delusions of grandeur, these jumped up clowns or Hearts.
for a fanbase that to be fair have known a period of real success in the recent past, they got very excited under Macinnes about becoming a brutal and pragmatic team where being second in a one horse race and a penalty shoot out win against the footballing giants of ICT were the high points.
(they may have also led the 17 SCF for a bit)
17-08-2021, 08:41 AM
Why, Aberdeen know full well we’ll not sell to them for that price? If there’s any truth in the bid it’s either them trying to cause us harm or his agent working with Aberdeen to get his name out there. It’s ridiculous to think we’re turning down multi million pound bids for other players but we’d be willing to sell our arguably best player to our main rival for a pittance. If there’s any truth in the bid, then there’s definitely something not right here.
17-08-2021, 08:54 AM
A lot of gnashing of teeth on here over this.
Don't see what Aberdeen have done wrong. They made an offer, we knocked it back. Sounds like business as normal to me.
If they come back with an offer acceptable to us, then fair enough, we move on.
Ron Gordon and Dave Cormack appear to work quite closely together so I'm not buying into any conspiracy theories.
I wonder if St Johnstone fans think we have delusions of grandeur or whatever for trying to sign McCart?!
17-08-2021, 08:57 AM
Don't see what Aberdeen have done wrong. They made an offer, we knocked it back. Sounds like business as normal to me.
Ron Gordon and Dave Cormack appear to work quite closely together so I'm not buying into any conspiracy theories.
I wonder if St Johnstone fans think we have delusions of grandeur or whatever for trying to sign McCart?!
Nah, something's not right here. They are aware we'd never in a million years accept 500k for our best player especially from our biggest rival for 3rd place.
I suspect it's a combination of trying to unsettle Boyle, take the heat away from being dumped out the cup by a lower league team and trying to hammer home they are a bigger club by even attempting to take our best player.
Fortunately for us Boyle is from Aberdeen and will already know what a dump the place is so will likely not be in any rush to return.
Torto7
17-08-2021, 08:58 AM
A lot of us wont just move on if we sell our best player to a team with a smaller support in our league. St Johnstone are a tiny club, that comparison is silly.
17-08-2021, 09:01 AM
A lot of us wont just move on if we sell our best player to a team with a smaller support in our league. St Johnstone are a tiny club, that comparison is silly.
Exactly. St Mirren/St Johnstone are smaller clubs than Hibs. Aberdeen and Hibs are on a par these days.
17-08-2021, 09:07 AM
You're right and serious questions would need to be asked if we sold to Aberdeen. I don't think we're as naïve as a club to do so. Remember Scott Allan and Rangers? Aberdeen are no bigger than Hibs so just isn't going to happen.
17-08-2021, 09:11 AM
Why, Aberdeen know full well we’ll not sell to them for that price? If there’s any truth in the bid it’s either them trying to cause us harm or his agent working with Aberdeen to get his name out there. It’s ridiculous to think we’re turning down multi million pound bids for other players but we’d be willing to sell our arguably best player to our main rival for a pittance. If there’s any truth in the bid, then there’s definitely something not right here.
I think his name is already out there and I very much doubt his agent needs to work with Aberdeen to get his client publicity.
17-08-2021, 09:11 AM
Nah, something's not right here. They are aware we'd never in a million years accept 500k for our best player especially from our biggest rival for 3rd place.
Let's wait and see.
In most transactions, the buyer will go in with an offer and then have to up it, if it's refused.
Imagine it was the other way around and we were trying to sign a player from them. You would expect us to do exactly the same to begin with no?
Why pay more than you have to?
What sort of bid do you think it would it take to tempt us to sell?
17-08-2021, 09:13 AM
Let's wait and see.
In most transactions, the buyer will go in with an offer and then have to up it, if it's refused.
Imagine it was the other way around and we were trying to sign a player from them. You would expect us to do exactly the same to begin with no?
upwards of a million
17-08-2021, 09:16 AM
Let's wait and see.
There is no bid big enough (that they can afford) for us to sell our best player with 3 years left on his contract to Aberdeen. The club would suffer hugely if they did.
Someone is at it here.
17-08-2021, 09:18 AM
Let's wait and see.
If its real the bid is an insult and extremely unprofessional. I'd value Boyle at £3m personally. He's our best player and we're asking for £5m for Doig, and turned down £3m+ for Nibset in January. There's also the fact the bidder are our main rival as well.
We might as well bid £5 and a bag of footballs for Hedges then - afterall why bid more than you have to?
If this is real then Aberdeen are either at it or there is something else going on. Time will tell I suppose.
I think his name is already out there and I very much doubt his agent needs to work with Aberdeen to get his client publicity.
The BBC are now reporting as fact that the £500k clause exists but only if the bid comes from outside Scotland. Maybe it's about getting that fact out there?
17-08-2021, 09:19 AM
There is no bid big enough (that they can afford) for us to sell our best player with 3 years left on his contract to Aberdeen. The club would suffer hugely if they did.
Someone is at it here.
Is there 3years left on his contract?
17-08-2021, 09:19 AM
upwards of a million
Would pay for the screens :duck:
17-08-2021, 09:21 AM
I thought he signed a 4 year deal last summer, I could be wrong but his contract still has a while to go.
The Sundance Kid
17-08-2021, 09:21 AM
I think it’s 2 years left
17-08-2021, 09:22 AM
The BBC are now reporting as fact that the £500k clause exists but only if the bid comes from outside Scotland. Maybe it's about that fact out there?
Yes, Aberdeen outing that fact. Pitiful
17-08-2021, 09:22 AM
If its real the bid is an insult and extremely unprofessional. I'd value Boyle at £3m personally. He's our best player and we're asking for £5m for Doig, and turned down £3m+ for Nibset in January. There's also the fact the bidder are our main rival as well.
We might as well bid £5 and a bag of footballs for Hedges then - afterall why bid more than you have to?
If this is real then Aberdeen are either at it or there is something else going on. Time will tell I suppose.
Debatable if he's our best player.
Doig and Nisbet have huge potential.
That's just silly.
Club bids for player and gets knocked back. Noting 'at it' about it. As I say, biz as usual.
17-08-2021, 09:26 AM
Debatable if he's our best player.
Doig and Nisbet have huge potential.
That's just silly.
Club bids for player and gets knocked back. Noting 'at it' about it. As I say, biz as usual.
They will know we would never accept anything less than 1.5 million at an absolute minimum from them. They will also know they could never pay that or the wages associated to a player at that value.
They are 100% at it.
17-08-2021, 09:28 AM
The BBC are now reporting as fact that the £500k clause exists but only if the bid comes from outside Scotland. Maybe it's about that fact out there?
The clause has been "out there" for a good while now. If it does exist, in the format as discussed on here, why has no English Championship club took a very affordable punt, tripled his wages and signed him up.
IMO at 500k he would be long gone.
17-08-2021, 09:29 AM
Or get a better deal from Hibs
17-08-2021, 09:29 AM
It's a bit of ****housery from Aberdeen and fair play to them. If it unsettles our best player even a bit and creates further interest in him from other clubs then job done. They are our biggest rivals for 3rd and in all likelihood the lucrative group stages of Europe. They will have known fine well we wouldn't sell to them. They've shown their mindset now though so **** them. We're in a battle if we didn't already know it. Makes me more determined to get it right up them.
mcfly
17-08-2021, 09:32 AM
Excellent work by boyles agent to get him better terms.
There’s no way hibs would sell him to Aberdeen. All the goodwill from fans that Ron has got would evaporate as fans would question our ambition.
Won’t happen in my view.
17-08-2021, 09:33 AM
What do you “we move on”? Sell our best/most exciting player to Aberdeen?
Certainly wouldn’t be a move on situation for many. I’d be ****ing fuming if we sold boyle to them. It would show a huge lack of ambition from us.
JXM73
17-08-2021, 09:38 AM
Aberdeens bid is a sham, now the world knows of the clause...expect Peterborough or the likes to try their luck.
Aberdeen weaken a rival no matter what...
17-08-2021, 09:40 AM
Aberdeens bid is a sham, now the world knows of the clause...expect Peterborough or the likes to try their luck.
Correct
inglisavhibs
17-08-2021, 09:40 AM
Contracted till 2023, so 2 seasons left. He will be 30yo by then.
17-08-2021, 09:43 AM
Contracted till 2023, so 2 seasons left. He will be 30yo by then.
Was it last summer he signed a new/extended 3 year deal or was it a 4 year deal signed the summer before. I keep missing out 2020!
17-08-2021, 09:44 AM
Deliberate ploy from Aberdeen. Alerts other clubs, weakens us potentially and causes drama.
Like I said, Hibs should offer them 500k for Ferguson in retort as a laugh.
17-08-2021, 09:50 AM
I'm not sure about the sh**housery angle.
Do we really think that there's any club out there who would likely be in a position to take advantage of the release clause whose scouting systems won't be sufficiently advanced as to know all about it?
ie - have they alerted anyone to anything? I think not.
They might nudge someone who was "thinking about it" a bit closer to acting, but I'm not sure I go for the Machiavellian angle here.
More they were just chancing their arm trying to get a very good player at our level on the cheap.
Yes, Aberdeen outing that fact. Pitiful
Every team will already know that.
I don't believe for a second that Aberdeen bid somehow alerts clubs to Boyles clause
If Boyles keen to move clubs will already be well aware.
Its why players have agents
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
17-08-2021, 09:51 AM
any teams interested in Boyle will be well aware of this clause , id heard about it before so its not exactly a secret
17-08-2021, 09:52 AM
I'm not sure about the sh**housery angle.
Do we really think that there's any club out there who would likely be in a position to take advantage of the release clause whose scouting systems won't be sufficiently advanced as to know all about it?
ie - have they alerted anyone to anything? I think not.
They might nudge someone who was "thinking about it" a bit closer to acting, but I'm not sure I go for the Machiavellian angle here.
More they were just chancing their arm trying to get a very good player at our level on the cheap.
Exactly. all these details are already available on the transfer black box system.
17-08-2021, 09:53 AM
I don't believe for a second that Aberdeen bid somehow alerts clubs to Boyles clause
If Boyles keen to move clubs will already be well aware.
Its why players have agents
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
Interest creates interest, it’s a well known fact.
17-08-2021, 09:55 AM
Our two Chairmen apparently get on very well and have the same ideas for Scottish football. Can't imagine Ron will be too chuffed about this particular effort at unsettling us from his mate.
17-08-2021, 09:59 AM
What do you “we move on”? Sell our best/most exciting player to Aberdeen?
Certainly wouldn’t be a move on situation for many. I’d be ****ing fuming if we sold boyle to them. It would show a huge lack of ambition from us.
It's hardly the end of the world if he leaves. We carry on as normal just as we have when any other player left us.
Yeah i get that, but assuming you trust JR, you might be delighted with whoever we bring in to replace him!
Or, if Chris Mueller arrives early and take the place by storm, Bolye will quickly be forgotten.
I don't agree that selling players shows a lack of ambition.
We got him for nowt, have had a good few years out of him, and can potentially sell him on for a profit.
Sounds like a pretty good way to go about our business.
17-08-2021, 10:02 AM
Boyle’s reaction.:greengrin
17-08-2021, 10:03 AM
It's hardly the end of the world if he leaves. We carry on as normal just as we have when any other player left us.
Yeah i get that, but assuming you trust JR, you might be delighted with whoever we bring in to replace him!
Or, if Chris Mueller arrives early and take the place by storm, Bolye will quickly be forgotten.
We got him for nowt, have had a good few years out of him, and can potentially sell him on for a profit.
If Boyle was to move say down south for say a couple million, I don’t think anyone would be fuming, but we’d be gutted to lose him.
However if we sold him to Aberdeen, in any way shape or form, then the fans would be quite rightly absolutely fuming and questioning the clubs ambitions.
17-08-2021, 10:05 AM
Selling Martin Boyle, arguably our best player, to our direct rivals in the league would be a massive lack of ambition.
Since we’ve been back this season there’s still no other player, maybe apart from Murphy on a good day, who makes me sit on the edge of my seat like boyle does when he gets the ball. He’s a massive player for us.
There also no chance of us replacing Boyle with better than what he gives us imo for the kind of money we’d be looking to spend. Not the instant impact we’d need anyway.
I’m not arguing that selling players is a lack of ambition. In this case it would be who we were choosing to sell to.
JXM73
17-08-2021, 10:08 AM
If the clause is so well known why are aberdeen offering the release clause amount?
It's **** stirring...
BegbieHSC
17-08-2021, 10:09 AM
Given Ron has set the short-term target of being the best of the rest, there’s no way he’d risk the progress on that by selling our best player to the team most likely to hinder that ambition.
Aberdeen could double the bid, and I have every faith our owner would reject.
The only story here is Aberdeen are wasting our club’s email storage space, and someone’s time who would be replying with a simple **** off.
Hopefully Boyle will give Dylan a call to ask how it was moving from Hibs to Aberdeen.
LeithMike
17-08-2021, 10:18 AM
I would have thought before most bids are lodged these days that the bidding club has at least sounded out the player's agent on whether the player would make the move. I wouldn't, therefore, rule out the possibility of Boyle wanting to make the move.
It would also give Hibs an issue if say a club in England bid £500k and Aberdeen offer to up their bid to, say, £750k, with a veiled threat that if not accepted they could use an outside club as an intermediary as has been proposed. Particularly, if Boyle says he wants the Aberdeen switch.
Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk
17-08-2021, 10:23 AM
I'm struggling with the idea of selling Boyle, for the price we have in our heads, shows any lack of ambition even If is a team in Scotland - or anywhere else. We will have already identified what we'd do with that money. Transfer window still a while to run.
It would be interesting on what we'd do on the final day but suspect that bid is about 1/4 of what we want.
Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
17-08-2021, 10:23 AM
I would have thought before most bids are lodged these days that the bidding club has at least sounded out the player's agent on whether the player would make the move. I wouldn't, therefore, rule out the possibility of Boyle wanting to make the move.
It would also give Hibs an issue if say a club in England bid £500k and Aberdeen offer to up their bid to, say, £750k, with a veiled threat that if not accepted they could use an outside club as an intermediary as has been proposed. Particularly, if Boyle says he wants the Aberdeen switch.
Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk
"Sources close to the club say the forward remains ‘very happy’ at Hibs, where he has played since 2015, and is not seeking a move away despite the offer to take him back to his birthplace."
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-instantly-reject-aberdeen-bid-for-martin-boyle-player-settled-and-not-agitating-for-move-3348796
Stokesy's on fire
17-08-2021, 10:24 AM
Plenty to take from this. Aberdeen view Hibs as a threat to them and a move such as this one rattles a few cages. If we did sell to them then it would be a sign that we simply aren’t intending on competing with them. Aberdeen are trying to lay down a marker here and we must respond by A. Rejecting the offer and B. We should be offering our star asset a longer and improved contract minus any minimum release clauses. Now isn’t the time to be grippy now is the time to prove we are ambitious. Let's not allow the likes of Aberdeen to push us about they need to get put back in their place.
17-08-2021, 10:24 AM
I’d be really disappointed in Martin if he wanted this move.
17-08-2021, 10:30 AM
Plenty to take from this. Aberdeen view Hibs as a threat to them and a move such as this one rattles a few cages. If we did sell to them then it would be a sign that we simply aren’t intending on competing with them. Aberdeen are trying to lay down a marker here and we must respond by A. Rejecting the offer and B. We should be offering our star asset a longer and improved contract minus any minimum release clauses. Now isn’t the time to be grippy now is the time to prove we are ambitious. Let's not allow the likes of Aberdeen to push us about they need to get put back in their place.
And that place is 5th in terms of support with one of the worst stadiums in the top flight, stuck out on a limb in the sticks. They think they’re big though.
BegbieHSC
17-08-2021, 10:34 AM
Hopefully he signs that new contract, and hopefully we’ll manage one without a release clause for any league.
I know Boyle signed one last year, but I’d say he’s improved, and really in his prime. He deserves it.
Torto7
17-08-2021, 10:35 AM
Yeah selling him to a direct rival for peanuts would be great business. Thankfully the club arent stupid.
Torto7
17-08-2021, 10:36 AM
And that place is 5th in terms of support with one of the worst stadiums in the top flight, stuck out on a limb in the sticks. They think they’re big though.
Remember the Tory town angle and the fact Aberdeen smells of cod.
17-08-2021, 10:38 AM
If the clause is so well known why are aberdeen offering the release clause amount?
It's **** stirring...
Does seem a rather strange coincidence.
17-08-2021, 10:41 AM
Remember the Tory town angle and the fact Aberdeen smells of cod.
I don’t mind Aberdeen as a town but it’s time as a financial draw is up. People and industry are leaving in their droves. Shame for the town but the football club will undoubtedly suffer too due to the declining wealth.
Hopefully he signs that new contract, and hopefully we’ll manage one without a release clause for any league.
I know Boyle signed one last year, but I’d say he’s improved, and really in his prime. He deserves it.
The contract with a release clause (if it exists) was only negotiated a year ago and was clearly intended to limit the barriers to a big money move for Boyle when the right opportunity presents itself given he could have just walked away for nothing this summer after seeing out his contract.
Even if we do offer a new deal on improved terms I doubt it would be signed without the release clause continuing to be included. I think the best we could do would be to make him our top-earner on a new three year deal with a higher clause value (£1m) included.
17-08-2021, 10:47 AM
I’d be really disappointed in Martin if he wanted this move.
Says in the EEN article he is happy here and not looking for a move.
17-08-2021, 11:00 AM
If the EEN article said he was keen on a move we'd trash it as a rag going down the pan.
But because it's good news, we believe it?!
17-08-2021, 11:04 AM
If the EEN article said he was keen on a move we'd trash it as a rag going down the pan.
But because it's good news, we believe it?!
Would we?
If Boyle was to move say down south for say a couple million, I don’t think anyone would be fuming, but we’d be gutted to lose him.
However if we sold him to Aberdeen, in any way shape or form, then the fans would be quite rightly absolutely fuming and questioning the clubs ambitions.
The fall out if he moved to Aberdeen a direct rival would be off the scale even by Hibs fans levels. Hibs.net might need to close down for a few days.
17-08-2021, 11:21 AM
The fall out if he moved to Aberdeen a direct rival would be off the scale even by Hibs fans levels. Hibs.net might need to close down for a few days.
The club will know that which is why it won't happen.
Why would Boyle want to move anyway? Playing in a more expansive team, he's loved by the fans, playing infront of bigger crowds, living in Edinburgh rather than Aberdeen and a very good chance of being back at Hampden in atleast one of the cups.
If he moves it will be to a more attractive club than Aberdeen and a club who can pay substantially more.
17-08-2021, 11:31 AM
More than a few days I imagine. :greengrin
17-08-2021, 11:32 AM
I wonder if the fans of St Mirren and St Johnstone react in the same way as this when we are constantly linked with their players?
It’s not the same though is it
17-08-2021, 11:48 AM
I think most of them accept that Hibs are a much bigger club and wouldn't begrudge the players advancing their careers. A bit like we would be losing players to the old firm. Hibs to Aberdeen? Not a chance.
17-08-2021, 11:55 AM
We are a bigger club than them both.
Aberdeen are not a bigger club than Hibs. You should know that.
17-08-2021, 11:56 AM
Is Boyle an Aberdeen fan?
Red top rag reporting Hibs knock back £500k bid from Aberdeen
I smell deflection from the sheep worriers.
17-08-2021, 12:10 PM
I thought a release clause would make him able to speak to them once the 500k was met
17-08-2021, 12:11 PM
Looking at a St Johnstone fan forum it's exactly what happens.
"Tricky6
Posted 2 hours ago
Classic that Aberdeen have bid £500k for Boyle….Hibs getting a taste of their own derisory type offers! :0 "
https://www.weareperth.co.uk/wapforum/index.php?/topic/29260-saints-summer-transfers-2021/page/59/#comments
17-08-2021, 12:14 PM
I thought a release clause would make him able to speak to them once the 500k was met
Only applicable to non-Scottish clubs apparently.
NC1875
17-08-2021, 12:22 PM
Aberdeen thinking they’re a big giant club again I see. Sheep pumping weirdos
Stokesy's on fire
17-08-2021, 12:38 PM
Yup deluded beyond belief
17-08-2021, 12:47 PM
Yes, a club on the outer fringes of the Arctic Circle, isolated from civilisation They play in a ‘stadium😂’ built from driftwood on the very beach where it was gathered. The paltry amount of patrons who turn up thought they were going to the harem (sheep auction) and only had one song, ‘get into them’ before pilfering 2 more songs from other teams. but rarely ever sung. Yes, the big club from a gelaxy fer fer awa where a new faster road to get them out of their misery quicker is being constructed. 😂👍
17-08-2021, 01:02 PM
Bid incoming from Hibs for Ferguson - a bag of footballs and 2 of Edinburgh's prize sheep.
Inconsequential
17-08-2021, 01:07 PM
It’s not the same though is it Why isn't it the same? Because it's Hibs? It's the same for every club that has to sell to a bigger rival imo.
17-08-2021, 01:07 PM
Why isn't it the same? Because it's Hibs? It's the same for every club that has to sell to a bigger rival imo.
Since when were Aberdeen bigger than us?
Why isn't it the same? Because it's Hibs? It's the same for every club that has to sell to a bigger rival imo.Are Aberdeen bigger?
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
17-08-2021, 01:10 PM
We should bid 500k for Ramirez. Sure he'd jump at the chance to play infront of bigger crowds in a decent stadium and get to live in a half decent city.
Inconsequential
17-08-2021, 01:17 PM
Since when were Aberdeen bigger than us? I wasn't referring to Aberdeen and yes they aren't bigger than Hibs. But Aberdeen fans would argue they are and do in fact have a bigger turnover. My point was Hibs are considered bigger than St.Mirren or St.Johstone whose fans must feel the same way about losing players to Hibs as we do when players get signed by bigger rivals eg Old Firm.
17-08-2021, 01:18 PM
Are Aberdeen bigger?
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
No chance. They had smaller crowds than us when they were in finals and 2nd in the league.
17-08-2021, 01:21 PM
I wasn't referring to Aberdeen and yes they aren't bigger than Hibs. But Aberdeen fans would argue they are and do in fact have a bigger turnover. My point was Hibs are considered bigger than St.Mirren or St.Johstone whose fans must feel the same way about losing players to Hibs as we do when players get signed by bigger rivals eg Old Firm.
The difference here is we are competing directly with Aberdeen. We don’t compete with Rangers and Celtic. While we don’t like it, if we get the going rate the players will go to them. Same goes for st mirren > Hibs, the fans don’t like it but it’s a step up for the player. Aberdeen to Hibs would never happen thankfully.
17-08-2021, 01:23 PM
Why isn't it the same? Because it's Hibs? It's the same for every club that has to sell to a bigger rival imo.
Aberdeen bigger?
17-08-2021, 01:24 PM
No chance. They had smaller crowds than us when they were in finals and 2nd in the league.
We had bigger crowds than them in the Championship
HendoDelivered
17-08-2021, 01:37 PM
Don’t think bigger crowds automatically mean bigger/smaller clubs tbh. Base it more on history and trophies
17-08-2021, 01:43 PM
Don’t think bigger crowds automatically mean bigger/smaller clubs tbh. Base it more on history and trophies
I think it's a bit if both.
St Johnstone are the most successful Scottish club outside the old firm in the last decade but they're no more than 8th or 9th biggest club in the country if they are lucky.
17-08-2021, 01:44 PM
Third Lanark, the giants of Scottish football.
17-08-2021, 01:46 PM
They've won less than Hibs over the last 30 years. Their history only started in the 1980's really. Nothing club before and nothing club since.
17-08-2021, 01:52 PM
I think it's a bit if both.
St Johnstone are the most successful Scottish club outside the old firm in the last decade but they're no more than 8th or 9th biggest club in the country if they are lucky.
Some folk for some reason don't like admitting it but Hibs, Hearts and Aberdeen are all of similar size, it may vary over time as who's on top but anyone claiming each other are bigger is just a pissing contest imo
Torto7
17-08-2021, 01:58 PM
Some folk for some reason don't like admitting it but Hibs, Hearts and Aberdeen are all of similar size, it may vary over time as who's on top but anyone claiming each other are bigger is just a pissing contest imo
Exactly. The gunts and Sheep have delusions ive never seen from Hibs fans. Most of it built on the establishment Craig Levein toley thought process.
Stokesy's on fire
17-08-2021, 02:02 PM
We are a bigger club than them both.
Aberdeen are not a bigger club than Hibs. You should know that.
Hibs are far far bigger than the sheep they have absolutely no soul
17-08-2021, 02:06 PM
Haha this seems to be turning into a who’s tadgers bigger contest.
Boyle won’t leave directly to Aberdeen. It would take an incredible amount of money for hibs to even think about entertaining it
Imo I reckon he’ll sign a new improved deal here
17-08-2021, 02:07 PM
Aberdeen got horsed out if the League Cup, fans unhappy, make ridiculously low bid for Boyle, placate fans and unsettle the league leaders biggest asset, don't follow up bid cause their skint, job done...except neither Hibs'nor Boyle's heads button up the back.
BegbieHSC
17-08-2021, 02:10 PM
Given on the sheep forum they have a thread titled “inferior clubs transfer news” or “inferior clubs games” tells you everything you need to know about the delusions of grandeur these fannies have.
I’m not saying in a modern context we are substantially bigger, but at the end of the day they were a nothing club until they got lucky getting a manager who turned out to be one of the best ever in the 80s, and have done little of note since he left over 30 years ago. We’ve had more domestic success in the more recent decades, and we’ve spent time in the championship.
They’re financed by a dying oil industry, and it won’t be long till the funds start to dry up.
It is utter delusion for anyone to think Aberdeen would be a step up from us. At most, it would be a sideways step to a club with no tradition, no derbies or rivalries, in a substantially less attractive location in the country.
It’s basically a non-story because this transfer is never going to happen. I’m that confident it won’t happen, if it does I’ll buy a Hearts kit, and wear it about town for a week.
Aberdeen board simply playing up to their deluded fans after their utter embarrassment in getting emptied from yet another cup.
17-08-2021, 02:14 PM
Anyone interested would've known about the clause. This isn't news at all. Boyle either doesn't want to leave, or isn't in demand.
17-08-2021, 02:26 PM
Anyone interested would've known about the clause. This isn't news at all. Boyle either doesn't want to leave, or isn't in demand.
Definitely.
If Boyle wanted to leave then his agent would be out there letting clubs down south know that he’s available for £500k, and finding out if they’re interested.
EI255
17-08-2021, 02:36 PM
Good Hibs told the sheep interferes where to go.
My estimations of Glass have went down too. He can do one. Along with his pathetic outfit.
Raith done ye and now ye are desperate lol
17-08-2021, 02:47 PM
Definitely.
If Boyle wanted to leave then his agent would be out there letting clubs down south know that he’s available for £500k, and finding out if they’re interested.
Maybe MB does not want the upheaval of moving down south but would be happy to return home and play for his boyhood team. That is most professional players dream. If MB wants to go it will happen, maybe not this window but probably the next.
17-08-2021, 02:49 PM
Or there has been interest in him but the clubs involved are not somewhere Boyle would consider moving to. That's atleast as likely a scenario as the other 2 you've mentioned IMO.
17-08-2021, 02:50 PM
Personally I think this might come back to haunt Aberdeen. I don't think the Hibs players will take to kindly to their games.
17-08-2021, 03:05 PM
https://www.footballinsider247.com/sources-hibernian-star-boyle-in-advanced-contract-talks-after-aberdeen-bid/
Sorry if already been mentioned I'm at work and just come across this so hopefully true.
I think Boyle is happy at Hibs.
17-08-2021, 04:38 PM
Definitely.
Have to agree with this. The notion that Aberdeen's alleged bid was intended to alert other clubs to Boyle's supposed clause is pretty laughable really.
17-08-2021, 04:59 PM
Have to agree with this. The notion that Aberdeen's alleged bid was intended to alert other clubs to Boyle's supposed clause is pretty laughable really.
Exactly ....... a clear case of *****-stirring by the mutton lovers.
BegbieHSC
17-08-2021, 05:12 PM
Sun reporting club sources are saying we won’t sell Boyle to the sheep under any circumstances. Regardless of how much more they want to bid. It also reports we’re doing well with negotiations for a contact extension to ward off any other suitors.
That’s that then.
17-08-2021, 05:29 PM
I find it difficult to believe that Hibs would end up being hung out to dry by a team with around two thirds of Hibs’ support?
Where are Aberdeen supposed to be getting their money from?
17-08-2021, 05:32 PM
Sun reporting club sources are saying we won’t sell Boyle to the sheep under any circumstances. Regardless of how much more they want to bid. It also reports we’re doing well with negotiations for a contact extension to ward off any other suitors.
That’s that then.
Basically reporting what every Hibs fan already knew. Sometimes I wonder if the Sun and the Record are in cahoots. The Record report the bid and the Sun say it isn't happening almost 24 hours later. The only news I have any interest in is the news directly from Hibs.
17-08-2021, 05:33 PM
That’s that then.
I am sure there will be money going to Boyler to get rid of the £500k clause.
17-08-2021, 05:35 PM
I don't think Aberdeen really believed we would accept such a bid for Boyle.
It's about unsettling him and tempting others to bid. They might not have him but they'll do their best to make sure we don't either.
Weegreenman
17-08-2021, 05:41 PM
Aberdeen showing a wee bit ambition. How very dare they! Two can play that game! C’mon Ron, stick a bid in for one of their star players 😂😂😂😂
BegbieHSC
17-08-2021, 05:47 PM
Aberdeen showing a wee bit ambition. How very dare they! Two can play that game! C’mon Ron, stick a bid in for one of their star players 😂😂😂😂
Aye, since their fans were talking about a flawed plan to use their partners Atlanta to sign Boyle then loan to them, why don’t we ask our partners, Brighton to sign Ferguson, then loan him to us? ;).
Aye, since their fans were talking about a flawed plan to use their partners Atlanta
anyone who thought that was happening needs their heid looked
Weegreenman
17-08-2021, 06:02 PM
Aye, since their fans were talking about a flawed plan to use their partners Atlanta to sign Boyle then loan to them, why don’t we ask our partners, Brighton to sign Ferguson, then loan him to us? ;).
I was thinking more like Scotty Broon 😂😂😂
17-08-2021, 06:04 PM
I was thinking more like Scotty Broon 😂😂😂
Nah, well past it.
BegbieHSC
17-08-2021, 06:09 PM
Thing is, outwith Ferguson and Ramirez, they don’t have a player I reckon who would improve our squad.
Wee £50k bid for Ramirez to replace Doidge while he’s out ;)?
17-08-2021, 06:22 PM
Thing is, outwith Ferguson and Ramirez, they don’t have a player I reckon who would improve our squad.
Wee £50k bid for Ramirez to replace Doidge while he’s out ;)?
I'd take Joe Lewis over macey.
Bay Area Hibees
17-08-2021, 06:25 PM
Hibs are far far bigger than the sheep they have absolutely no soul
How do you define big?
Average attendances we are quite close? May be Hibs bigger turnout for hampden days
But they have been more successful for 30 + years sadly
17-08-2021, 06:25 PM
I'd take Joe Lewis over macey.
No for me what would we want a 33 year old over a younger keeper who will only get better more games he plays? Lewis is ok but not any or much better IMO
17-08-2021, 06:39 PM
Sellng Club !Nae ambition!
Even Barca are a selling club:greengrin
Catching up on Billy's History thread a 1968 game V Falkirk caught my eye and had me thinking on the topic of selling our best players.
The mid/late sixties Hibs side under Bob Shankly played some of best football i saw at ER
Bob was a terrific manager.
Had Bob not resigned for lack of ambition from the club (selling players) we may not have had Turnbulls Tornadoes,but certainly would have had a side worthy of success and certainly progression.
Something Jack and Ron speak about now,....progress.
The club got a load of cash when selling Brown, Whittaker, Thomson, Fletcher, etc
It said those sales(one or two anyway) paid for the East and the training ground.
Was that the right thing to do back then?
Anyway, just thinking aloud :hmmm:
I hope we can keep those players that are attracting other clubs for a wee while longer.
But history (and drop in finance due to the virus) may not suggest that we will.
NC1875
17-08-2021, 06:40 PM
It’s more likely his agent trying to get Boyle a better deal at Hibs IMO
17-08-2021, 06:48 PM
No sure Aberdeen would just do what his agent said and asked them to make a bid to get a better deal at Hibs
17-08-2021, 06:49 PM
It worked.
17-08-2021, 06:58 PM
It worked.
Is a new deal signed and delivered?
17-08-2021, 07:16 PM
How do you define big?
Average attendances we are quite close? May be Hibs bigger turnout for hampden days
But they have been more successful for 30 + years sadly
Their average attendance is 4/5k less than ours over the last few seasons. They also closed off a section of their stadium to try and improve their atmosphere. Not the sign of a big club. They've won less than Hibs over the last 30 years.
NC1875
17-08-2021, 08:42 PM
No sure Aberdeen would just do what his agent said and asked them to make a bid to get a better deal at Hibs
I meant his agent making it public.
majorhibs
17-08-2021, 08:44 PM
Why?
17-08-2021, 08:47 PM
I meant his agent making it public.
What difference would that make to Hibs offering him a new deal, the would have got the offer from Aberdeen.
17-08-2021, 08:48 PM
Maybe those of us that were :faf: ing were right to laugh.
There is no chance one of the most dynamic game changers in this country is going to be sold to a competitor.
Aberdeen lol. I forgot to say thanks for Paul Wright and Stevie Cowan.
Their average attendance is 4/5k less than ours over the last few seasons. They also closed off a section of their stadium to try and improve their atmosphere. Not the sign of a big club. They've won less than Hibs over the last 30 years.
They also have a raft of spending to do on stuff we did ages ago. If they get stuck with pittodrie they'll be like a fossil.
17-08-2021, 09:08 PM
So when Aberdeen move on to their next target the selling club knows that Aberdeen have a fair few quid to splash?
majorhibs
17-08-2021, 09:13 PM
Cannae actual believe the amount ae anti Hibs best interests posts here, ye know who ye are, ye know obv what ye’ve posted, but why are supposed Hibees comin out wi this tripe? I’m glad you supposed Hibs fans weirdos are so big on yer internet, means when back near normalcy & able to get a bit crack & a beer after games, hopefully I’m wi some real fans rather than anything that’s offerin anythin like appeasement on how Boyle goin from Hibs to sheep for a pittance is anything like good for Hibs.
17-08-2021, 09:19 PM
Cannae actual believe the amount ae anti Hibs best interests posts here, ye know who ye are, ye know obv what ye’ve posted, but why are supposed Hibees comin out wi this tripe? I’m glad you supposed Hibs fans weirdos are so big on yer internet, means when back near normalcy & able to get a bit crack & a beer after games, hopefully I’m wi some real fans rather than anything that’s offerin anythin like appeasement on how Boyle goin from Hibs to sheep for a pittance is anything like good for Hibs.
:faf: You’re my favourite poster on here by a mile. Haste ye back.
Could admins change the title of this thread to Sheep £500k for Boyle knocked baaahck!
Stokesy's on fire
17-08-2021, 09:31 PM
They dont have any
majorhibs
17-08-2021, 09:38 PM
:faf: You’re my favourite poster on here by a mile. Haste ye back.
Limited edition these days. Spain & Heineken eywis assist tae quality & quantity ae posts, right enough
loanheadhibby
17-08-2021, 10:00 PM
How would it be a massive step down?
Obviously I want him to stay but at worst it would be a sideways step for him.
How would it be a massive step down?
Obviously I want him to stay but at worst it would be a sideways step for him.
A small downwards step then but it could be a slippery slope.
NC1875
17-08-2021, 10:27 PM
What difference would that make to Hibs offering him a new deal, the would have got the offer from Aberdeen.
His agent hears Aberdeen are interested. His agent knows Hibs want to keep him, his agent makes it public to get Hibs moving.
Don’t know what you find so hard to understand ?
Strange we are now hearing he’s close to signing a new deal within hours of Aberdeen’s bid being made public
17-08-2021, 10:42 PM
His agent hears Aberdeen are interested. His agent knows Hibs want to keep him, his agent makes it public to get Hibs moving.
Don’t know what you find so hard to understand ?
Strange we are now hearing he’s close to signing a new deal within hours of Aberdeen’s bid being made public
I don’t understand it as your missing the point the his agent didn’t need to make it public as Aberdeen made a bid, that’s what’s possibly prompted Hibs to speed up the offer to MB nothing to do so the anyone going public?
Even if the agent did make it public what’s that going to materially achieve, Hibs know what we have with MB as do everyone else in Scotland. I think your being to paranoid about any agent leaking things.
Torto7
17-08-2021, 11:04 PM
100 per cent. Same thing with Doigs fee. Reeking of Jambos.0
17-08-2021, 11:08 PM
100 per cent. Same thing with Doigs fee. Reeking of Jambos.0
i don't see any jambos, just hibs fans with different opinions
what a low blow calling them jambos
18-08-2021, 04:40 AM
New deal probably announced within 24 hours, says the Scotsman.
Part of a wider 'why on earth would Boyle or Hibs agree to this' piece.
18-08-2021, 05:54 AM
New deal probably announced within 24 hours, says the Scotsman.
Part of a wider 'why on earth would Boyle or Hibs agree to this' piece.
I’d imagine there will be some kind of testimonial as part of the driver/package
18-08-2021, 06:01 AM
Glad Hibs are trying to lock Boyle down to a longer contract. IMO he's the most important player we have at the club, bar none and despite the £Multi-M tags on Nesbit and Doig
NC1875
18-08-2021, 06:22 AM
I don’t understand it as your missing the point the his agent didn’t need to make it public as Aberdeen made a bid, that’s what’s possibly prompted Hibs to speed up the offer to MB nothing to do so the anyone going public?
Even if the agent did make it public what’s that going to materially achieve, Hibs know what we have with MB as do everyone else in Scotland. I think your being to paranoid about any agent leaking things.
I’m not being paranoid about anything. I gave a suggestion as to why IMO we are now seeing Boyle sign a new deal.
We’ve presumably been speaking to Boyle and his agent about a new deal. Then all of a sudden he’s almost signed it after Aberdeen’s supposed bid is made public. It’s safe to assume there could be something his agent has made public to force hibs hand.
“Give Boyle x amount, Aberdeen are willing to pay him that”
Was just a suggestion and you know about as much as me as to whether that’s the case or not so don’t get you dismissing it completely.
Lee Marvin
18-08-2021, 07:02 AM
The way his has played out, it looks to me like it could have been Hibs who leaked the Aberdeen bid.
Dons have come out looking silly, and Hibs have come out looking strong.
18-08-2021, 07:09 AM
Delighted to see this happening. He has been simply magnificent for us and gets better every year.
18-08-2021, 07:11 AM
The way his has played out, it looks to me like it could have been Hibs who leaked the Aberdeen bid.
Dons have come out looking silly, and Hibs have come out looking strong.
That’s the way it’s worked out but I think this was Aberdeen, very effectively, deflecting attention away from their poor performance at the weekend. All the press has been about their bid for Boyle instead of the “Aberdeen Crisis” headlines we might have seen.
18-08-2021, 07:11 AM
Delighted to see this happening. He has been simply magnificent for us and gets better every year.
I think he also brings a lot to the table in terms of the team spirit at the club.
Would have been a huge loss if he moved on.
18-08-2021, 07:19 AM
I don’t think hibs couldn’t give Boyle any money he asked for within reason just now
We are so reliant of him
If he’s out the team we’d be very disjointed
Agent clearly knows this and playing the game
Glad to see Ron backing the manager and not doing anything silly that forces a move etc
18-08-2021, 07:51 AM
The only issue I could see with giving Boyle another improved contract is you might then get guys like Nisbet, Porteous and Doig saying you value me at 3/4/5 million then pay me the equivalent wage of that player.
18-08-2021, 07:57 AM
The only issue I could see with giving Boyle another improved contract is you might then get guys like Nisbet, Porteous and Doig saying you value me at 3/4/5 million then pay me the equivalent wage of that player.
Fair enough if they ask the question, I would, and they'd be right to. The only way we can keep these guys for longer is by paying them appropriately and if Ron is true to his word about doubling the player budget we will be able to do that.
Just_Jimmy
18-08-2021, 08:00 AM
Fair enough if they ask the question, I would, and they'd be right to. The only way we can keep these guys for longer is by paying them appropriately and if Ron is true to his word about doubling the player budget we will be able to do that.that's not how it works at all. they know that. that's why when a bid of that value comes in the player is sold, in order that they can then earn that much at a club willing and able to value them at it.
villa had a £100m release clause in Grealish contract, they certainly weren't paying him the wages of a £100m player. City now are.
Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk
Just in case it hasn’t been posted.
EEN thinks we will announce new contract in next 24 hours
https://twitter.com/edinburghsport/status/1427884301488623616?s=21
18-08-2021, 08:16 AM
that's not how it works at all. they know that. that's why when a bid of that value comes in the player is sold, in order that they can then earn that much at a club willing and able to value them at it.
villa had a £100m release clause in Grealish contract, they certainly weren't paying him the wages of a £100m player. City now are.
Of course we aren't going to suddenly start paying out millions a year to players, but if we double the wage budget then surely that allows us to attract better talent and keep the talent we do have for longer.
Using Grealish to Man City is slightly hyperbolic don't you think when comparing to Hibs selling to Birmingham or Millwall.
18-08-2021, 08:28 AM
It’s a fair point but IMO he’s our most important player, we look much less of a team when he isn’t having a good game. The one player, who if we lost, I think we’d struggle the most to replace.
18-08-2021, 08:31 AM
It’s a fair point but IMO he’s our most important player, we look much less of a team when he isn’t having a good game. The one player, who if we lost, I think we’d struggle the most to replace.
I agree he's our best player but especially Nisbet and Porteous might not see it that way, they both indicated they wished to leave to earn substantially more money and the club, who were completely within their rights to, rejected those bids. I just have a naggin feeling it might not sit well with 1 or 2 members of the squad that he's given another improved contract when he was likely the highest earner anyway.
Will be an interesting couple of weeks at the club and JR will need to keep an eye on things I suspect.
18-08-2021, 08:35 AM
I agree he's our best player but especially Nisbet and Porteous might not see it that way, they both indicated they wished to leave to earn substantially more money and the club, who were completely within their rights to, rejected those bids. I just have a naggin feeling it might not sit well with 1 or 2 members of the squad that he's given another improved contract when he was likely the highest earner anyway.
Will be an interesting couple of weeks at the club and JR will need to keep an eye on things I suspect.
Or it shows that if you put in the performances and make yourself invaluable then it will be rewarded
RossScott1991
18-08-2021, 08:37 AM
Boyle is possibly the most improved player I’ve ever seen at Hibs. He’s literally gone up levels year in and year out. I think this will be his best goal scoring return also especially now that he takes penalties. He could easily reach 20 goals in all competitions currently being on 5.
18-08-2021, 08:39 AM
Of course we aren't going to suddenly start paying out millions a year to players, but if we double the wage budget then surely that allows us to attract better talent and keep the talent we do have for longer.
Using Grealish to Man City is slightly hyperbolic don't you think when comparing to Hibs selling to Birmingham or Millwall.
There’s a place for hyperbole, and the point about any club only being able to afford what they can afford is a valid one.
18-08-2021, 08:41 AM
Agree to a certain extent but they are more replaceable than Boyle in my opinion and already have high price tags.
The problem with Boyle is the alleged 500k release clause.
As we did with the other three a decent long term deal for Boyle to yield a big pay day IF clubs down south want him.
Hope he stays for another few years
18-08-2021, 08:42 AM
There’s a place for hyperbole, and the point about any club only being able to afford what they can afford is a valid one.
Hence my point about doubling the wage budget allowing us to afford more.
18-08-2021, 08:44 AM
Think Macey is on a very big wage.
The young boys will get their bog wages soon
18-08-2021, 08:48 AM
I appreciate an extreme example here, but at Barcelona I bet the other players understood why Messi was their highest paid player. The top player in the team should always receive the top salary IMO. I think players understand and accept that. Nisbet would have a better case in wanting more money I’d agree having improved since he’s joined us, Porteous I’m not so sure about. At times he looks like he is becoming a more mature, rounded player, then he’ll do something rash that costs us a goal.
18-08-2021, 08:51 AM
History shows us that is not really a very good football business strategy.
18-08-2021, 09:26 AM
History shows us that is not really a very good football business strategy.
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/ron-gordon-aims-double-hibs-player-budget-three-years-1996308
You better tell Ron sharpish
18-08-2021, 09:29 AM
Boyle is possibly the most improved player I’ve ever seen at Hibs. He’s literally gone up levels year in and year out. I think this will be his best goal scoring return also especially now that he takes penalties. He could easily reach 20 goals in all competitions currently being on 5.
I generally thought he was poor overall when on loan and thought we could do better when it came to signing him on a permanent deal.
How wrong could I be?
18-08-2021, 09:53 AM
https://twitter.com/edinburghsport/status/1427927808878206976?s=19
18-08-2021, 09:59 AM
Aberdeen lol. I forgot to say thanks for Paul Wright and Stevie Cowan.
Pedant alert. We didn’t get Paul Wright from Aberdeen.
BegbieHSC
18-08-2021, 10:00 AM
Hhahahah, how’s that working out for them?
Delusions of grandeur from the top then. They can be ***** on the park, but if they spend more on wages for average players, they can be considered Scotland’s third force?
Weirdos
Just_Jimmy
18-08-2021, 10:02 AM
paying them more, even doubling what they are on currently isn't paying them like a 3/4/5 million pound player though.
and no, using the grealish example isn't hyperbolic considering it is current and relevant. Villa themselves have said they put that clause in as they didn't believe anyone would actually pay it.
I don't remember the last time we sold to Birmingham or Millwall for 3m+, or at all recently to be honest.
18-08-2021, 10:04 AM
Oh how I’ve missed your posts :greengrin
18-08-2021, 10:10 AM
If they’re prepared to commit long term then I’d give them more money. I suspect all 3 would happily leave if a decent bid came in for them, Nisbet has already tried to do that. I’ve nothing against them wanting a big move, but they can’t expect us to commit more money if they’re not prepared to do the same in return.
18-08-2021, 10:15 AM
[QUOTE=AlbertK86;6660723]Think Macey is on a very big wage.
The young boys will get their bog wages soon
Still be on crap pay then?
BegbieHSC
18-08-2021, 10:38 AM
Do Aberdeen even get £15m turnover? If they don’t, how can they possibly justify proposals to spend that much on wages? They wanting to go the same way as their old pals, the Huns?
BegbieHSC
18-08-2021, 10:41 AM
Do Aberdeen even get £15m turnover? If they don’t, how can they possibly justify proposals to spend that much on wages? They wanting to go the same way as their old pals, the Huns?
From Aberdeen’s accounts last year. They’ll go bust with those proposals…
Making a loss paying £9m a year in salaries pre-Covid.
“ The annual accounts show a decrease in turnover of £1.59m from £15.928m to £14.335m with an operating loss of £2.92m compared to £1.03m the previous year. Wages rose from £9.24m to £9.77m during the period, increasing the wages‐to‐turnover ratio from 58% to 68%.
However, the longer‐term impact of fans continuing to be locked out of the game was revealed by the Club’s projections for the current financial year, with turnover expected to drop to £10m, with an operating loss of £5m, and a wages‐to turnover ratio of 90%.”
NC1875
18-08-2021, 10:44 AM
Dave Cormack comes across as a bit of a knob to be honest.
From Aberdeen’s accounts last year. They’ll go bust with those proposals…
Making a loss paying £9m a year in salaries pre-Covid.
“ The annual accounts show a decrease in turnover of £1.59m from £15.928m to £14.335m with an operating loss of £2.92m compared to £1.03m the previous year. Wages rose from £9.24m to £9.77m during the period, increasing the wages‐to‐turnover ratio from 58% to 68%.
However, the longer‐term impact of fans continuing to be locked out of the game was revealed by the Club’s projections for the current financial year, with turnover expected to drop to £10m, with an operating loss of £5m, and a wages‐to turnover ratio of 90%.”
Banking on getting through to the Conference League group stages. He'd have been better off waiting 9 days before coming out with that.
18-08-2021, 10:52 AM
Absolutely. It’s the sort of bluster I’d expect from Budge.
18-08-2021, 11:05 AM
I don’t think hibs couldn’t give Boyle any money he asked for within reason just now
We are so reliant of him
If he’s out the team we’d be very disjointed
Agent clearly knows this and playing the game
Glad to see Ron backing the manager and not doing anything silly that forces a move etc
I think this would have happened with or without his agent
18-08-2021, 11:10 AM
They'd need to overtake Hibs before they pulled away from us. Delusional mutton molesters.
18-08-2021, 11:11 AM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/ron-gordon-aims-double-hibs-player-budget-three-years-1996308
You better tell Ron sharpish
Ron wasn't talking about just doubling the budgets though, it was part of a, long term strategy that included increasing the revenues coming in to the club to ultimately allow us to do so. He commented on how poor we were doing commercially compared to what he believed we could achieve. This is where the big screens and the advertising revenue they will generate come in to play.
18-08-2021, 11:21 AM
I'm starting to develop a strong dislike for Aberdeen. For someone who wasn't around in the 1980's I've always seen them a bit of a banter club with a small support and rickety stadium who continually lose to lower league teams in cup competitions and who managed to escape a couple of relegations on technicalities. They got very lucky with McInnes at a time Hibs, Hearts and Rangers were on their knees.
They are now becoming as deluded as that lot across the city with their bigliness. I will take great pleasure in finishing above them again.
Absolutely. It’s the sort of bluster I’d expect from Budge.
Exactly. Very Budge like!
Look at us look at us blah blah.
Dad on Dave!
18-08-2021, 11:33 AM
Ron wasn't talking about just doubling the budgets though, it was part of a, long term strategy that included increasing the revenues coming in to the club to ultimately allow us to do so. He commented on how poor we were doing commercially compared to what he believed we could achieve. This is where the big screens and the advertising revenue they will generate come in to play.
Of course he wasn't, everything needs to work together to achieve that. I never suggested that we just double the budget, I suggested that if we were able to double the budget then this would help us retain better players for longer, such as Nisbet and Doig.
dalkeith stu
18-08-2021, 11:38 AM
100%!!! They have no intention of signing him, they just want to try and get another club to jump in. Very similar to to what the H#ns did with Scott Allan and we all know who came out on top in theat deal!!
18-08-2021, 11:39 AM
Fair enough if they ask the question, I would, and they'd be right to. The only way we can keep these guys for longer is by paying them appropriately and if Ron is true to his word about doubling the player budget we will be able to do that.
Of course he wasn't, everything needs to work together to achieve that. I never suggested that we just double the budget, I suggested that if we were able to double the budget then this would help us retain better players for longer, such as Nisbet and Doig.
The club seeking growth and increasing revenue is an aspiration for just about any professional team. The article you posted is from Feb 2020. I imagine Covid will have changed the clubs plans somewhat. I think Ron will know that too.
18-08-2021, 11:46 AM
The club seeking growth and increasing revenue is an aspiration for just about any professional team. The article you posted is from Feb 2020. I imagine Covid will have changed the clubs plans somewhat. I think Ron will know that too.
I think you are taking what I said as immediate. All I suggested was that if it was possible we could retain our players better, whether that's in 2022, 24, 27 etc.
18-08-2021, 11:54 AM
If Aberdeen have inadvertently pushed through a contract renewal for Boyle in their incredibly stupid attempt to sign or unsettle him, I will laugh for an entire week straight.