View Full Version : Season Tickets Missing Persons
13-08-2021, 03:53 PM
To date there are a little over 10,500 2021/22 Hibs season ticket holders.
That is 3,000 less than a couple of years ago.
I see lots of folk shouting for Hibs to splash the cash on good players .
Those 3,000 missing season ticket holders represent at least 2 players of the standard we require probably a centre half and a striker.
Most of those missing Hibees will be pals of current season ticket holders and it is probably up to us all to try and persuade them to come back before the 28th August.
They have only missed 1 game which only 5600 of us managed to attend and it was only Ross Co.
On an individual basis we can be more persuasive in our approches to those we know than the club can.
Please give it a go folks.
Caveat - I understand there are good reasons why some folk have not joined us but there must be many many who just need a positive nudge to return.
13-08-2021, 04:19 PM
folk have a right to decide on not renewing and I'm not going to pester anyone into going. COVID uncertainty aside If things went a bit better last season I'm fairly confident the ST numbers would have been better. The numbers are still good though, it wasn't that long ago 10,000 was a good year.
The club needs to push on though IMO but its the clubs turn to show their hand.
my left peg
13-08-2021, 04:26 PM
folk have a right to decide on not renewing and I'm not going to pester anyone into going. COVID uncertainty aside If things went a bit better last season I'm fairly confident the ST numbers would have been better. The numbers are still good though, it wasn't that long ago 10,000 was a good year.
I don’t think we ever had more than 10 k season ticket holders till we won the cup!
13-08-2021, 04:57 PM
I gave mine up due to a number of factors which I hope will be sorted out by the time half Season Tickets go on sale
But I thought we might end up a thousand down from last season which under the circumstances isn’t to bad
13-08-2021, 05:05 PM
I don’t think we ever had more than 10 k season ticket holders till we won the cup!
Sure we had about 13,000 after winning the CIS back in 2007. What happened after that re Collins/budget/signings has been debated to death.
HFC93
13-08-2021, 05:07 PM
Those 3,000 missing season ticket holders represent at least 2 players of the standard we require probably a centre half and a striker.
Most of those missing Hibees will be pals of current season ticket holders and it is probably up to us all to try and persuade them to come back before the 28th August.
They have only missed 1 game which only 5600 of us managed to attend and it was only Ross Co.
On an individual basis we can be more persuasive in our approches to those we know than the club can.
Caveat - I understand there are good reasons why some folk have not joined us but there must be many many who just need a positive nudge to return.
The uncertainty and financial impact of Covid-19.
13-08-2021, 05:19 PM
What does the highlighted section even mean :confused:
13-08-2021, 05:34 PM
Simple in my eyes, the fans have backed the club over the last year or so and if the club wants to continue to grow they need to invest in the squad. If they dont then the support may fall away.
13-08-2021, 06:03 PM
Sure we had about 13,000 after winning the CIS back in 2007. What happened after that re Collins/budget/signings has been debated to death.
Nothing like that many then. Up until a couple of years ago we had never broken 10k.
13-08-2021, 06:04 PM
Simple in my eyes, the fans have backed the club over the last year or so and if the club wants to continue to grow they need to invest in the squad. If they dont then the support may fall away.
I agree.
Season ticket sales were at 9k ahead of the cup final. That day has had a huge impact on a lot of people. Had we won that day I’m convinced the feel good factor would have pushed us towards a new record. Instead, sales dried up after it.
Hibs having in excess of 10k season ticket holders isn’t as common as folk think. You’re only going back 5 and a bit years and we were playing to crowds of 8k or so fairly regularly. Season ticket numbers shouldn’t be taken for granted.
13-08-2021, 06:40 PM
A remarkable 11,000 Hibs fans supported the club last season and this season 10,500 (probably the same folk) are doing it again.
The problem is that football clubs have to be continually fed with vast sums of money to even remain at the same level and in Scotland the vast majority of that money comes through gate receipts.
In the seasons prior to covid Hibs were averaging almost 18,000 fans a game. In effect Hibs lost the income from 7,000 supporters for every home game until now as well as all income associated with supporter spending at each game. Meanwhile the costs of running the football club remained almost unchanged.
In that time the club have invested circa £750k in Nisbet, Magennis and McKay.
Hibs now need more fans to invest in season tickets so that they in turn can further invest in the squad.
P.S. The injury to Doidge will force the club to bring in a striker and I suspect they will also bring in a centre half. That CH will probably come from St Johnstone after their next round of European games is complete.
13-08-2021, 06:48 PM
Nothing like that many then. Up until a couple of years ago we had never broken 10k.
Maybe I was thinking of average attendances which had dropped over the previous seasons. There was huge expectation but as usual it ended in a massive letdown.
13-08-2021, 06:58 PM
I agree.
Season ticket sales were at 9k ahead of the cup final. That day has had a huge impact on a lot of people. Had we won that day I’m convinced the feel good factor would have pushed us towards a new record. Instead, sales dried up after it.
Hibs having in excess of 10k season ticket holders isn’t as common as folk think. You’re only going back 5 and a bit years and we were playing to crowds of 8k or so fairly regularly. Season ticket numbers shouldn’t be taken for granted.
Fair weather fans like fair weather friends cannot be relied upon.
Fortunately for the 11,000 supporters we won't be going back to being a haven for poor players but a lack of returning pre covid supporter investment has and will slow our progress down. Think the club were relying on the transfer of Doig for big bucks to straighten everything out and fund bringing targetted players in.
13-08-2021, 07:29 PM
The fans have backed the club consistently for a long time now. Think Hibs have to step up and bring in more commercial income. Which to be fair to Ron looks like he saw as priority when he came in and has made big strides to address. We look far more proactive and imaginative in terms of the commercial side than we ever have been.
Blurhibee
13-08-2021, 07:40 PM
We’ve had more than 10k season ticket holders before 2 years ago, I think you will find we had 11k season ticket holders in tony mowbrays 2nd season
13-08-2021, 07:51 PM
We had our best finish 16 years, I would say things went pretty well last season. The cup final was hugely disappointing, but being knocked out earlier would’ve been worse.
13-08-2021, 07:58 PM
Fair weather fans like fair weather friends cannot be relied upon.
Fortunately for the 11,000 supporters we won't be going back to being a haven for poor players but a lack of returning pre covid supporter investment has and will slow our progress down. Think the club were relying on the transfer of Doig for big bucks to straighten everything out and fund bringing targetted players in.
To be honest, I don’t think quoting your stats to our mates will make any more difference than calling them fair weather fans will.
Admire your enthusiasm but if folk wanted to buy season tickets they would have. If they now want to invest because full capacity looks to have returned, they will.
13-08-2021, 07:59 PM
The fans have backed the club consistently for a long time now. Think Hibs have to step up and bring in more commercial income. Which to be fair to Ron looks like he saw as priority when he came in and has made big strides to address. We look far more proactive and imaginative in terms of the commercial side than we ever have been.
Yeah, they have the commercial stuff well in hand now.
I think Hibs just need the 1st big transfer out domino to fall to set the moneyball in motion ie money from Doig sale provides the transfer budget for the season. sell a player every season and pull the quality of recruits gradually upwards and drive the club upwards. Same model teams like Rijeka follow
A Rijeka fan with a bit of knowledge posted on here in the lead up to the game and there was a conversation in which he mentioned his clubs main income was from the sale of players including 4 goalkeepers in the last 8 years. When i looked up the keepers they were sold for circa £8 million. In effect they made a million quid a season selling goalkeepers alone. In the same time frame they sold loads of other players including the striker Kramaric for £15 million. This is the golden goose Ron sees and is pushing Ross and Mathie to achieve but despite hyping Doig big time we are still on the launchpad.
13-08-2021, 08:01 PM
Club have been investing in the squad. You think quality like Boyle, Nisbet, Doidge, Newall, Murphy etc is cheap?
Rubbish excuse tbh. Either buy or don't, but blaming the club for not investing is a very weak argument.
13-08-2021, 08:02 PM
To be honest, I don’t think quoting your stats to our mates will make any more difference than calling them fair weather fans will.
Admire your enthusiasm but if folk wanted to buy season tickets they would have. If they now want to invest because full capacity looks to have returned, they will.
Don't call them fair weather fans when you are trying to persuade them :wink: even if they really are.
Will have a similar effect to Daz fatal pull back last night.
13-08-2021, 08:04 PM
Don't call them fair weather fans when you are trying to persuade them :wink:.
It’s cool - they’re used to me calling them far worse 👍
13-08-2021, 08:05 PM
The world has changed.
People who are largely unscathed or indeed are in a better position as a result of those changes tend to be the most vocal. For many though there has been a squeeze on their finances, their free time or both. Most people don't want to publicise that too much because there is an element of embarrassment to it. Who wants to admit they are poorer or have to put in more hours to make ends meet?
Ultimately we are customers of Hibs. The fact that us also being fans means Hibs have a brand loyalty that Tesco or Amazon can only dream of is neither here nor there. Hibs treat us as customers and every now and then people respond as such.
For me I still bought my ST, I still give my wee bit to HSL but beyond that it all has to stop. That means the European games were out, Sunday is out and further cup games that cost over and above are out as well.
My own experience is that my view of how important football is and that of a lot of others I know has changed. As things calm down and the world normalises then that view might change again. For now though I'm comfortable with my decisions. I don't owe Hibs anything.
13-08-2021, 08:06 PM
Club have been investing in the squad. You think quality like Boyle, Nisbet, Doidge, Newall, Murphy etc is cheap?
Rubbish excuse tbh. Either buy or don't, but blaming the club for not investing is a very weak argument.
In fairness tho the club have done very little to reward the loyalty of everyone who bought ST'S last season and this during Covid - no real discounts or sweetners to help nudge people to buy one- we are way behind some other clubs in this. I bought last year and this but I can see why some people haven't bothered and the lack of signings this summer won't have helped the malaise with some after the Cup Final defeat...its entirely up to the Club now to entice them back
13-08-2021, 08:07 PM
We had our best finish 16 years, I would say things went pretty well last season. The cup final was hugely disappointing, but being knocked out earlier would’ve been worse.
That's why I said a bit better, I agree we had a good league campaign but the Hampden performances left a sour taste for me anyway.
Yet we have the same issues we had last season with the lack of depth in key positions and shakey defence. The euro spot we fought so hard for gave us two whole ties. More organised recruitment would have gave us a chance last night.
Gerard
13-08-2021, 08:07 PM
Don't call them fair weather fans when you are trying to persuade them :wink: even if they really are.
There are many people who are trying to cope with the financial uncertainty of COVID and there are many priorities they have to address before buying a season ticket at Hibs.
13-08-2021, 08:14 PM
The world has changed.
People who are largely unscathed or indeed are in a better position as a result of those changes tend to be the most vocal. For many though there has been a squeeze on their finances, their free time or both. Most people don't want to publicise that too much because there is an element of embarrassment to it. Who wants to admit they are poorer or have to put in more hours to make ends meet?
Ultimately we are customers of Hibs. The fact that us also being fans means Hibs have a brand loyalty that Tesco or Amazon can only dream of is neither here nor there. Hibs treat us as customers and every now and then people respond as such.
For me I still bought my ST, I still give my wee bit to HSL but beyond that it all has to stop. That means the European games were out, Sunday is out and further cup games that cost over and above are out as well.
My own experience is that my view of how important football is and that of a lot of others I know has changed. As things calm down and the world normalises then that view might change. For now though I'm comfortable with my decisions. I don't owe Hibs anything.
Great post PB.
My Hibs outlays are the same as yours with the exception that i wanted to go to the Rijeka game badly but a lot of the superfluous Hibs stuff had to go and that meant the likes of Sundays game where I have voted like a customer faced with an overpriced product.
13-08-2021, 08:54 PM
I gave mine up because my Dad stopped going. Only made about 10 games a season at the best of times but was worth paying the extra to have seats together, not so much now but sure I'll be back at some point.
13-08-2021, 09:00 PM
The world has changed.
My own experience is that my view of how important football is and that of a lot of others I know has changed. As things calm down and the world normalises then that view might change again. For now though I'm comfortable with my decisions. I don't owe Hibs anything.
Block
13-08-2021, 09:48 PM
The world has changed.
Not my experience of being a Hibernian Supporter. Back in the seventies when money really was tight Hibernian Supporters would still follow Hibs anywhere and everywhere. We'd find the means somehow, anyhow. Different days, different generations maybe?
13-08-2021, 09:55 PM
Not my experience of being a Hibernian Supporter. Back in the seventies when money really was tight Hibernian Supporters would still follow Hibs anywhere and everywhere. We'd find the means somehow, anyhow. Different days, different generations maybe?
But how many season tickets did we sell then?
13-08-2021, 09:59 PM
And everything was cheaper.
13-08-2021, 10:01 PM
And we'd get 30,000 against Hearts,Celtic and Rangers then two weeks later 4,000 against Arbroath.
Block
13-08-2021, 10:06 PM
Not really, it was still competitively priced relative to earnings back then. There were though discounts for the unemployed, boys, oaps, disabled etc.
G15 Hibs
13-08-2021, 10:09 PM
What happened to you all in the eighties then? When I started going to games the crowds were pish for the most part.
Block
13-08-2021, 10:12 PM
What happened to you all in the eighties then? When I started going to games the crowds were pish for the most part.
We still attended every game no matter how grim the fare was back then. Followed the Hibees everywhere and anywhere. Found the means by hook or by crook. As I said, that was my personal experience.
13-08-2021, 10:47 PM
I'm amazed we are still selling 10K plus given Covid and the kicks in the teeth in some of the big games recently. The football hasn't exactly been sparkling either. This year, if we can win our fair share of the big games, could well see ticket sales increase on the back of some entertaining football, add in a bit of success and we could start to get back to post cup win levels.
tonyrougier123
13-08-2021, 11:16 PM
Heard this argument many times about season ticket numbers.
We’ve brought in 3 players one arriving in January,whilst it’s great to have 13,000 plus season ticket holders,I just don’t think the business we have done represents what the team needs.
It certainly isn’t a supporter issue that we’ve not signed players,don’t think that’s a fair reflection on this occasion.
Maybe back pre 2014 aye I’d agree.
13-08-2021, 11:38 PM
The world has changed.
I’m not disagreeing with you, but I’m starting to find your attempt at finding a middle ground on every subject a bit unrealistic. You must have a strong position either way on some of these topics. I get the impression you’re talking as an admin rather than what you actually think. That’s fair enough and this post is in no way a criticism, I wish I could be the voice of reason and articulate it as well as you do. I’m sure I’m not alone in thinking you’re the best poster on here and I don’t think that’s compatible with being an admin. Release the beast 😂
13-08-2021, 11:47 PM
I was there mate. Like you I started going then. It was pish for the most part until we played Dundee Utd on the last game of the season. I reckon there was only about 3000 hibbys there, I remember the shout going round that Kidd had scored, everyone thought it was Walter Kidd, turned out it wasn’t. The celebrations in the hibs end will live with me until the day I die. I remember Dundee Utd scoring and no one giving a ****. Happy times.
Block
13-08-2021, 11:52 PM
I’m not disagreeing with you, but I’m starting to find your attempt at finding a middle ground on every subject a bit unrealistic. You must have a strong position either way on some of these topics. I get the impression you’re talking as an admin rather than what you actually think. That’s fair enough and this post is in no way a criticism, I wish I could be the voice of reason and articulate it as well as you do. I’m sure I’m not alone in thinking you’re the best poster on here and I don’t think that’s compatible with being an admin. Release the beast
I don't think he has a 'release the beast'. He comes across as a middle of the roader to be honest. Bit bothered is he goes or not. Real supporters as those who know move heaven or earth to be there. Rain or shine, hail or snow.
14-08-2021, 12:05 AM
I don't think he has a 'release the beast'. He comes across as a middle of the roader to be honest. Bit bothered is he goes or not. Real supporters as those who know move heaven or earth to be there. Rain or shine, hail or snow.
You are definitely wrong there mate, but I think it’s totally inappropriate that we should be discussing the actions of another poster without their input. Peace.
That's as maybe but the average salary relative to the cost of living is now more than double what it was in the 70s.
Block
14-08-2021, 12:20 AM
You are definitely wrong there mate, but I think it’s totally inappropriate that we should be discussing the actions of another poster without their input. Peace.
I don't think I am wrong or inappropriate. Get in there and support our club or not. Supporters can easily see the real deal on here or fannies taking the piss. In or out is the question. The positive is that many more recently have secured our club by buying season tickets. Long may it continue.
14-08-2021, 12:39 AM
I believe that the club have secured another 6 month instalment plan for folk who might want to take up a season ticket now and missed it first time. Great news, imho.
CL0762
14-08-2021, 12:50 AM
Real supporters? What do you mean by that exactly?
14-08-2021, 02:23 AM
I don't think I am wrong or inappropriate. Get in there and support our club or not. Supporters can easily see the real deal on here or fannies taking the piss. In or out is the question. The positive is that many more recently have secured our club by buying season tickets. Long may it continue.
I totally agree with all of that, what you’re saying is exactly what I’ve been saying for years. My point was that pb is one of us and doesn’t deserve to be criticised for having his point of view.
14-08-2021, 02:30 AM
We still attended every game no matter how grim the fare was back then. Followed the Hibees everywhere and anywhere. Found the means by hook or by crook. As I said, that was my personal experience.
You did. Personally. The average home attendance was up and down in the 70s. The average attendance dropped in the 80s and was up and down throughout. Just because you went by hook or by crook doesn't mean everyone else did. The stats don't back that up now.
Just as you went - by hook or by crook - some will be doing today. Just as the attendees dropped in the 70s and 80s some will drop out today.
You display an overly romantic notion of the past backed up by only your own claims and not in attendances.
DIXIHIBS
14-08-2021, 05:12 AM
There are many reasons for the slight drop in season tickets numbers. Clearly many people are still affected by covid. The expected clamour for everyone to get back after no fans for 18 months really hasnt happened. Last seasons cup final loss has also left many fans deflated and it can take a while to get the enthusiasm back. Finally the huge bounce we got after 2016 is starting to wear off, winning it last season would have helped that. Ive watched hibs for 50 years and seen huge crowds....and crap ones too. Over the next couple of years only one thing will dictate whether the attendances go up or down and that is the team on the park.
14-08-2021, 05:28 AM
I was there mate. Like you I started going then. It was pish for the most part until we played Dundee Utd on the last game of the season. I reckon there was only about 3000 hibbys there, I remember the shout going round that Kidd had scored, everyone thought it was Walter Kidd, turned out it wasn’t. The celebrations in the hibs end will live with me until the day I die. I remember Dundee Utd scoring and no one giving a ****. Happy times.
yep, great day that was:thumbsup:
14-08-2021, 05:33 AM
You did. Personally. The average home attendance was up and down in the 70s. The average attendance dropped in the 80s and was up and down throughout. Just because you went by hook or by crook doesn't mean everyone else did. The stats don't back that up now.
Just as you went - by hook or by crook - some will be doing today. Just as the attendees dropped in the 70s and 80s some will drop out today.
You display an overly romantic notion of the past backed up by only your own claims and not in attendances.
I,ll back him up, by hook or by crook, I went two years without missing a home or away game on the Hawkhill branch bus, I used to sell my school dinner tickets (cos my mum didnae work and dad low income) I went hungry so I could have money to go to games. I would do it again if I had to.
Probably explains why Im not the tallest or biggest person.
14-08-2021, 06:17 AM
Those 3000 were on the back of the Scottish Cup win and to a lesser extent promotion the following season. They were always going to disappear just as quick as they appeared.
PS as it stands we have 2000 more season ticket holders than Aberdeen.
OstKurve Hibs
14-08-2021, 06:18 AM
I fully understand that some peoples circumstances dictate whether can afford a season ticket or not, or maybe work commitments mean they wont get much use out of it so no point buying one.
What I dont get is why anyone would buy or not buy a season ticket based on the teams performance from the previous season be it good or bad.
14-08-2021, 06:31 AM
As someone who has had a season ticket for many years that statement above is utter pish and insulting to every other Hibs Supporter that doesn't follow your fanaticism or maybe does not have the means to do so.
As the great Lawrie Reilly said I was born a Hibs Supporter and will die a Hibs Supporter, but for a huge chunk of the support the level of that physical support will wax and wane depending on what's going on in their lives or their finances.
Folk have families and other interests or other commitments and in no way does that make them any less a Hibs Supporter, a better-balanced individual undoubtedly but a better Hibs Supporter, not a chance.
Fanaticism like yours breeds only what your posts do, lack of understanding and disdain for others.
14-08-2021, 06:32 AM
Not really, it was still competitively priced relative to earnings back then. There were though discounts for the unemployed, boys, oaps, disabled etc.
Hibs v Leeds 1973 (terracing) was 50p.
Hibs v Celtic 1973 (main stand seating) was 55p
Using beer-economics that's about twice the cost of a pint of beer back then. Those same tickets would be at least 10 pints and more today. How many people had to put their season tickets on credit facilities "in the good old days" to make attending the match more affordable? The cost of living today is far higher than it was in previous generations. That's not made up its fact, the figures are there to see. Rent and mortgages take up far bigger proportions of peoples money today than it has previously. Add into the fact games are played Friday/Saturday/Sunday at whatever time suits Sky, add into the fact back then there was nout much to do compared today, add into the fact we're probably averaging alot more these days than we did previously, then i'd say you're talking pesh.
I'll admit, I used to talk guff like you aswell on here, and apologies for that. Young, free and single, great salary back then I could afford (time and money) to go home and away every week. Never missed a game, euro's, friendlies, domestic's the lot. Now though with a 1 year old what a difference. Time is non-existant and money is as tight as its ever been. Fair play to anyone that still makes the time to go and support their team (any team not just Hibs) as when you have a family it is a rather time consuming and expensive past time.
14-08-2021, 07:34 AM
Are you insinuating I'm not a 'real supporter'?
I could happily list all the things I have done over the years that would disprove that but I find those kind of dick measuring contests utterly tiresome.
You have no idea about my personal situation or that of anyone else so maybe best to keep your ignorance to yourself rather than putting it out there for the world to see.
TrinityHibs
14-08-2021, 08:16 AM
I've got my season ticket. Not been in ballot for Europe or cup. Will probably not be back at ER until October earliest. Possibly December. Just started my second stint of chemotherapy. Sorry I'm not a real supporter.
G15 Hibs
14-08-2021, 08:56 AM
That's good for you. But if it is, as you suggest, a generational thing, what happened to others of your generation in the eighties when crowds plummeted? It seems a lot simply stopped going. Not that much difference between the generations after all maybe.
14-08-2021, 09:02 AM
I've got my season ticket. Not been in ballot for Europe or cup. Will probably not be back at ER until October earliest. Possibly December. Just started my second stint of chemotherapy. Sorry I'm not a real supporter.
Get well soon TH.
Sorry to hear that. Chemo is rubbish to say the least , keep fighting ER will be there when your fit again. :aok:
14-08-2021, 09:29 AM
Hope your treatment goes well. :aok:
14-08-2021, 09:32 AM
Are you insinuating I'm not a 'real supporter'?
I could happily list all the things I have done over the years that would disprove that but I find those kind of dick measuring contests utterly tiresome.
You have no idea about my personal situation or that of anyone else so maybe best to keep your ignorance to yourself rather than putting it out there for the world to see.
Indeed. No need whatsoever.
14-08-2021, 09:32 AM
Are you all setup at home ok to watch on Hibs TV etc? I ask because an extended family member of mine is going through something similar and didn’t have it working and didn’t want to bother anyone.
I hope you make a speedy recovery.
14-08-2021, 09:35 AM
Hibs v Leeds 1973 (terracing) was 50p.
Hibs v Celtic 1973 (main stand seating) was 55p
Using the inflation calculator at the Bank of England the 50p would equate to £6.19 in 2020.
Football is considerably more expensive for the normal working person, even more so for those who take kids.
I suspect most of the huge rise is caused by Bosman and also the redesign of stadiums. The majority of fans being season ticket holders and walk ups getting the lesser viewing positions may come into it too. That and football has so much more competition at the weekend than it did.
14-08-2021, 09:59 AM
I believe that the club have secured another 6 month instalment plan for folk who might want to take up a season ticket now and missed it first time. Great news, imho.
I took that plan out and it’s just about halfway done already. If it’s the one direct to Hibs anyway I don’t understand why the cut off was so early
14-08-2021, 10:16 AM
I took that plan out and it’s just about halfway done already. If it’s the one direct to Hibs anyway I don’t understand why the cut off was so early
New one is with V12 I think.
14-08-2021, 10:18 AM
I've got my season ticket. Not been in ballot for Europe or cup. Will probably not be back at ER until October earliest. Possibly December. Just started my second stint of chemotherapy. Sorry I'm not a real supporter.You're a real Hibs supporter[emoji106]
Get well soon.
14-08-2021, 10:23 AM
New one is with V12 I think.
I think this is a good thing from Hibs, recognising that people might still want to come but might have missed the boat while waiting to see if crowds would be allowed back.
greenlad
14-08-2021, 10:47 AM
Using the inflation calculator at the Bank of England the 50p would equate to £6.19 in 2020.
Football is considerably more expensive for the normal working person, even more so for those who take kids.
I suspect most of the huge rise is caused by Bosman and also the redesign of stadiums. The majority of fans being season ticket holders and walk ups getting the lesser viewing positions may come into it too. That and football has so much more competition at the weekend than it did.
There was certainly a huge inflation in ticket prices through the 90s as we transitioned from watching mostly local players earning not much more than an average salary, in a crumbling stadium to watching lots of "big-money" players, many of them foreigners, in more modern all-seater stadiums.
But here's the part that seems strange, people complain that £20 is too expensive for what's on show. I get that, especially if you're taking a few kids etc it soon adds up. And people's financial situations may have worsened through the pandemic. However it's 21 years since the Hearts fans "boycotted" the 6-2 game due to the £24 cost. I remember paying £19 to get into some First Division games in 1999. And virtually all of the 00s and 10s saw a fairly standard adult ticket price of £20-25 for most Scottish Premiership matches and it hasn't really changed in that time (ignoring the away Cat A games which can top £30). Have people's salaries really remained equally as static for 20 years?
14-08-2021, 10:54 AM
There was certainly a huge inflation in ticket prices through the 90s as we transitioned from watching mostly local players earning not much more than an average salary, in a crumbling stadium to watching lots of "big-money" players, many of them foreigners, in more modern all-seater stadiums.
But here's the part that seems strange, people complain that £20 is too expensive for what's on show. I get that, especially if you're taking a few kids etc it soon adds up. And people's financial situations may have worsened through the pandemic. However it's 21 years since the Hearts fans "boycotted" the 6-2 game due to the £24 cost. I remember paying £19 to get into some First Division games in 1999. And virtually all of the 00s and 10s saw a fairly standard adult ticket price of £20-25 for most Scottish Premiership matches and it hasn't really changed in that time (ignoring the away Cat A games which can top £30). Have people's salaries really remained equally as static for 20 years?
I'd completely agree with that. Ticket prices have stagnated for at least a decade and perhaps even two. Just shows how much we were getting robbed before that. I'm comfortable with adult prices. A game a week is about the same as a cup of coffee a day in one of those horrible coffee shops. My view is we need to do more for families. My kids are now over 16 and one over 18 so it won't help me but I'd love to see us do kids tickets in the same was as St Johnstone. It won't make much difference to the club finances today but it might help in the future
greenlad
14-08-2021, 11:03 AM
I'd completely agree with that. Ticket prices have stagnated for at least a decade and perhaps even two. Just shows how much we were getting robbed before that. I'm comfortable with adult prices. A game a week is about the same as a cup of coffee a day in one of those horrible coffee shops. My view is we need to do more for families. My kids are now over 16 and one over 18 so it won't help me but I'd love to see us do kids tickets in the same was as St Johnstone. It won't make much difference to the club finances today but it might help in the future
Yes IMO the football pricing was at its worst in relative terms around 2000.
Definitely agree with doing more for the kids and families. In the 90s there was a renewed imputus in the Hibs Kids probably about the time the new stands were opened. I think it was something like you were automatically enrolled in the Hibs Kids if you were a kid in the new Family section, and it was packed for years, even through relegation. It was seen as the place to be. And it would have been those kids largely who were young paying adults by the Mowbray era.
But times change and I'm not sure what needs to change now. But getting them hooked as kids is the key for a real long term fan base (brand loyalty as marketing people would say).
14-08-2021, 11:46 AM
That's as maybe but the average salary relative to the cost of living is now more than double what it was in the 70s.
Fair enough, but is the price of football comparative now to then? And all the associated activities? (Drinking, fags, corduroy trousers)
My question has been answered, thanks AH
14-08-2021, 12:24 PM
I think that there are a lot of factors why ticket numbers have dropped, and to be honest, after that last 12 -18 months, I’m surprised we have broke the 10k mark already. I am sure some will have potentially lost their employment, and some will be waiting to see in “normality” would resume.
Maybe even some have found some other hobby/ past time?
Too many factors to think about, and I am sure that walk ups will increase over this season, and I think we can only compare numbers on average match date attendances once we are back to playing with full crowds (and all stands open).
The big tell will be ST sales next season IMHO
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
14-08-2021, 12:28 PM
I remember when I was an uber supporter you just got on with going to the games without feeling the need to tell everyone else how much better a Hibby you are than others, might be a social media thing. 🤔
Gerard
14-08-2021, 05:07 PM
Hope your treatment goes well. :aok:
Get well soon