View Full Version : Doidge injury

12-08-2021, 09:17 PM
Sounds like a bad training ground injury. Bad news if so.

12-08-2021, 09:20 PM
We got lucky last season with no injuries to either of our 2 main strikers. .looks like our luck has ran out and the lack of recruitment is now coming back to haunt us ...hope Christian is OK

12-08-2021, 09:25 PM
One of my mates said earlier he was in crutches, unsure how true but certainly sounds more plausible now

12-08-2021, 09:26 PM
That's a real worry. He's looked sharper than Nisbet this year. If he's out for a while we need Mueller in desperately.

12-08-2021, 09:28 PM
Mate said it’s been mentioned on Twitter as torn Achilles. Would be an absolute disaster for us, and the big man of true.

12-08-2021, 09:29 PM
Even if Doidge wasn't injured we need another striker now. If he is injured long term then that need is mulitpled tenfold.

12-08-2021, 09:30 PM
Even if Doidge wasn't injured we need another striker now. If he is injured long term then that need is mulitpled tenfold.

Aye we already needed a striker. My worry is if he’s injured we’ll only bring in one and be back in the same position

12-08-2021, 09:31 PM
This is a disaster.

12-08-2021, 09:33 PM
Aye we already needed a striker. My worry is if he’s injured we’ll only bring in one and be back in the same position

I think you've called it.

12-08-2021, 09:34 PM
I’ve said it far too often now, club our size needs four good strikers - we never learn.

12-08-2021, 09:37 PM
Definitely sounds dire from the comments from Ross. Sounds like he’s expecting the worst, months out.

12-08-2021, 09:40 PM
All has gone silent on Mueller coming in before January. If Orlando want too much money then the club should just be honest and say that he won't be here till January and at the very least we'll be turning to other targets until then.

12-08-2021, 09:41 PM
All has gone silent on Mueller coming in before January. If Orlando want too much money then the club should just be honest and say that he won't be here till January and at the very least we'll be turning to other targets until then.The club don't need to tell us that or make it public

Just cause they haven't doenst mean things arnt happened or been decided

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

12-08-2021, 09:43 PM
Mate said it’s been mentioned on Twitter as torn Achilles. Would be an absolute disaster for us, and the big man of true.

That is an absolute nightmare.

12-08-2021, 09:44 PM
The club don't need to tell us that or make it public

Just cause they haven't doenst mean things arnt happened or been decided

We'll agree to disagree in that case. At the very least the efforts into bringing another striker need to kick up another few gears.

12-08-2021, 09:50 PM
All has gone silent on Mueller coming in before January. If Orlando want too much money then the club should just be honest and say that he won't be here till January and at the very least we'll be turning to other targets until then.

I don’t know how much say Orlando have in it ? I thought the MLS owned a players registration and they had the final say ? Although I could be reading old information or misinterpreting what I am reading.

12-08-2021, 09:56 PM
We'll agree to disagree in that case. At the very least the efforts into bringing another striker need to kick up another few gears.What benefit to hibs would it be to tell the fans what they are doing in terms of brining players in?

Ideally they get some folk in sooner rather than later but they definately shouldnt announce targets or shortfalls in the squad just to appease the fans

mcfly
12-08-2021, 10:01 PM
What benefit to hibs would it be to tell the fans what they are doing in terms of brining players in?

Ideally they get some folk in sooner rather than later but they definately shouldnt announce targets or shortfalls in the squad just to appease the fans

Agree we shouldn’t be announcing targets but Aberdeen got their players in and are 1 game from group stages.

We have needed a centre half since last season and now our top striker is potentially out for months.

Recruitment is needed now - we have wasted an opportunity to do well in Europe with a winnable tie. Very very poor hibs.

Mr. Wonderful
12-08-2021, 10:46 PM
Agree we shouldn’t be announcing targets but Aberdeen got their players in and are 1 game from group stages.

We have needed a centre half since last season and now our top striker is potentially out for months.

Recruitment is needed now - we have wasted an opportunity to do well in Europe with a winnable tie. Very very poor hibs.

Aberdeen got a way easier draw than us. Rijeka are top of their league, have qualified for the group stages of Europe in recent times and have pumped Aberdeen 4-0 in recent seasons too. They also have a player with 35 caps for Switzerland.

No mugs. We were well on course to do them when Daz got his second yellow.

13-08-2021, 02:52 AM
Just like we needed a centre half, we needed a striker. We’ve had months to get a target in, but have failed. The season started a couple of weeks ago, not transfer deadline day.

We have cost ourselves a run in Europe because we are awful at bringing players in. Best teams bring in their players early. Not wait until the end.

13-08-2021, 04:27 AM
I’ve said it far too often now, club our size needs four good strikers - we never learn.

Yet no one can ever name a club with 4 good strikers.

13-08-2021, 05:11 AM
Aberdeen got a way easier draw than us. Rijeka are top of their league, have qualified for the group stages of Europe in recent times and have pumped Aberdeen 4-0 in recent seasons too. They also have a player with 35 caps for Switzerland.

No mugs. We were well on course to do them when Daz got his second yellow.

Bear AC Milan in Europe a couple of seasons ago too. They have a good European pedigree.

GoalsMcGinley
13-08-2021, 06:29 AM

PSG, Chelsea, Man Utd, all got 4 quality players who are strikers.

13-08-2021, 06:29 AM

Cummings, Stokes, Keatings and Dagnall were 4 options we had in a season once. I can see what the original poster means

13-08-2021, 06:44 AM
What benefit to hibs would it be to tell the fans what they are doing in terms of brining players in?

Our manager has already mentioned shortfalls kn squad several times over summer as has Mathie - the reason many of us are a wee bit unhappy is neither of thr glaring issued have been addressed and we are now out of Europe as a direct consequence of having no squad depth last night

13-08-2021, 06:48 AM

Ross/Mathie have spoken openly about the positions they want to fill.

13-08-2021, 06:51 AM
Think we need a "James Keatings" style signing. Someone that just scores goals at a lower level and is happy to be back-up to Nisbet and Doidge.

LeithMike
13-08-2021, 08:17 AM
I know the result is disappointing and I'd agree that, like previous years, we didn't make a big enough effort to get the squad up to speed to win the tie. Still, it looks like we are a bit of a victim of the transfer window and have been expecting some movement with Doig, Nisbet and Porteous. We're not the only club who goes through this but it is a shame we didn't put ourselves in the best position to give Europe a real go

Nonetheless, I'd rather not go back to the days of buying a number of "squad players" and would rather any money available was put towards improving the first eleven and supplementing the squad with youngsters. Let's not forget the lessons of the past when we ended up with a large inflated squad of players under Fenlon/Butcher who cared very little about the club. We don't need 4 good strikers, especially if we are going one up top. We possibly need another if Doidge is out but if youngsters can't even get a game when players are injured then when are they meant to play.

delbert
13-08-2021, 12:23 PM
Cummings, Stokes, Keatings and Dagnall were 4 options we had in a season once. I can see what the original poster means

When you got to naming Dagnall in that list as a striking option, did you manage to say his name with a straight face ?

13-08-2021, 12:35 PM
When you got to naming Dagnall in that list as a striking option, did you manage to say his name with a straight face ?
Good old Daggers, cup winning legend :greengrin

EdinburghHibern
13-08-2021, 12:35 PM
I'd take Cummings back right now.

13-08-2021, 12:37 PM

Did he ever score a goal for us?:confused:

13-08-2021, 12:38 PM
Absolutely brutal news if true.

13-08-2021, 12:52 PM
I'd take Cummings back right now.

Behave. We can do much better.

13-08-2021, 12:57 PM
Beyond gutted if Doidge is out long term. You can't put a price on his attributes.

13-08-2021, 05:10 PM
https://twitter.com/JDHibs/status/1426213499718545409?s=20

13-08-2021, 05:35 PM

This is not great news , however also can’t help but think it’s creepy someone taking a sly photo

13-08-2021, 05:36 PM
This is not great news , however also can’t help but think it’s creepy someone taking a sly photo

I did think something similar, he doesn't look too pleased eh!

13-08-2021, 05:37 PM

Who's taking photos of Doidge on a mobility scooter in Asda!?

Logie Green
13-08-2021, 05:37 PM

13-08-2021, 05:40 PM

His Mrs

13-08-2021, 05:41 PM

Onions, Yankee Candle nae Red Wine that’s no Doidgerinho? :greengrin

13-08-2021, 05:43 PM

No idea, I only seen it on twitter and posted the link. :dunno:

13-08-2021, 05:43 PM
Onions, Yankee Candle nae Red Wine that’s no Doidgerinho? :greengrin

No champers either.

13-08-2021, 05:44 PM
No champers either.

MikeyS
13-08-2021, 05:54 PM
No idea, I only seen it on twitter and posted the link. :dunno:

That pic came from his Mrs Instagram apparently

13-08-2021, 06:02 PM
**** sake. That’s the last thing we needed.

13-08-2021, 06:06 PM
Without being over-dramatic, Doidge out for a very long time, Nisbet not certain to remain and little chance of Muller arriving early, we are nearing crisis level in the striker situation. Huge patch-up job required.

Glass half full
13-08-2021, 06:08 PM
Would he have looked better hopping behind a trolley?

Keeping his foot up seems like the best choice.

We don't know if he's out for a lengthy period.

13-08-2021, 06:12 PM

We don't know if he's out for a lengthy period.

That’s a surprisingly optimistic statement from somebody with your username. :greengrin

13-08-2021, 06:16 PM

We don't know if he's out for a lengthy period.If it was that bad I'd be surprised if he was out at the supermarket when he didn't need to.

13-08-2021, 06:28 PM
Behave. We can do much better.

I’d take him in a heartbeat- easily an SPFL striker who would poach goals. We need four strikers at the club if we are to be serious about challenging in the cups and top 4 season on season. Said it until I’m tired saying it and no doubt others are bored of it. You win games scoring goals and we lack firepower now that Doidge is out and Nisbet will undoubtedly get bids last minute. Cummings is not only a good player at this level, he thrived on big games at Hibs. No brainer for me.

Lee Marvin
13-08-2021, 06:30 PM
Without being over-dramatic, Doidge out for a very long time, Nisbet not certain to remain and little chance of Muller arriving early, we are nearing crisis level in the striker situation. Huge patch-up job required.

Nisbet simply cannot now be sold in this window. It's an absolute necessity that he is kept.

13-08-2021, 06:37 PM
I’d take him in a heartbeat- easily an SPFL striker who would poach goals. We need four strikers at the club if we are to be serious about challenging in the cups and top 4 season on season. Said it until I’m tired saying it and no doubt others are bored of it. You win games scoring goals and we lack firepower now that Doidge is out and Nisbet will undoubtedly get bids last minute. Cummings is not only a good player at this level, he thrived on big games at Hibs. No brainer for me.

Cummings is certainly a no brainer! 🤣 but he can't even get a start for Dundee...

hibby rae
13-08-2021, 08:53 PM
Cummings is certainly a no brainer! 🤣 but he can't even get a start for Dundee...

Neither could Boyle or Jim Leighton!

13-08-2021, 08:57 PM

Irrelevant as far as I'm concerned. He'd thrive on the service he'd get from Boyle, Murphy etc. Big game player as well ..we don't really have these.

13-08-2021, 08:59 PM
Irrelevant as far as I'm concerned. He'd thrive on the service he'd get from Boyle, Murphy etc. Big game player as well ..we don't really have these.

eh. He was okay in big games. Never done anything in playoffs or Hampden games though. Good vs Rangers and Hearts.

I'd take him back without doubt though. Loves scoring goals.

Mr. Wonderful
13-08-2021, 09:00 PM

He'd thrive on nothing. He's finished at this level, in fact, he never really started at it.

Way better options out there. We'll need to replace many things about Doidge's game that we'll lose

13-08-2021, 09:08 PM

The chandelier man

13-08-2021, 09:09 PM

Basically, the work of a ******,

13-08-2021, 09:10 PM
Basically, the work of a ******,

Apparently it was his girlfriend who posted the photo on Instagram.

Tarrahib
13-08-2021, 09:18 PM
If it was that bad I'd be surprised if he was out at the supermarket when he didn't need to.
Why would Hibs let him go to the supermarket on his own . If the injury is bad why didn’t they arrange a home delivery for Doidge??

13-08-2021, 09:19 PM

It was. People need to settle down.

13-08-2021, 09:19 PM
Hibs won’t sign anyone for a couple of weeks yet.
Crazy

13-08-2021, 09:20 PM
Why would Hibs let him go to the supermarket on his own . If the injury is bad why didn’t they arrange a home delivery for Doidge??

He was at Asda with his girlfriend. 😂

13-08-2021, 09:21 PM

😂😂😂😂😂

hhibs
13-08-2021, 09:22 PM

Yep,plus one other striker.

Crazy

You sound sure of that?

I’d hope we’re all over finding a replacement for Doidge right away.

Crazy

??

13-08-2021, 09:24 PM

She’s a ******

13-08-2021, 09:24 PM
He was at Asda with his girlfriend. ��

What are Hibs thinking of, letting him have a girlfriend.

13-08-2021, 09:25 PM
why would hibs let him go to the supermarket on his own . If the injury is bad why didn’t they arrange a home delivery for doidge??

exactly!!!!!!

hhibs
13-08-2021, 09:26 PM
He'd thrive on nothing. He's finished at this level, in fact, he never really started at it.

Way better options out there. We'll need to replace many things about Doidge's game that we'll lose

Start a list of realistic options then,I'm sure it would be of interest.

13-08-2021, 09:27 PM

:agree: Women weaken legs!

13-08-2021, 09:27 PM
She’s a ******
I know, the lucky *******.

et_hibby
13-08-2021, 09:29 PM
what are hibs thinking of, letting him have a girlfriend.Petrie!!!!!

13-08-2021, 09:33 PM
eh. He was okay in big games. Never done anything in playoffs or Hampden games though. Good vs Rangers and Hearts.

I'll admit he was probably our worst player in the 2016 final and he admitted himself that he had a poor game. I'm one of these folk that still classes games v hearts as big games no matter how pish hearts are.

13-08-2021, 09:33 PM
That pic came from his Mrs Instagram apparently

Why would you do that? Or indeed why would he go to a shop when injured when someone could get your order.

13-08-2021, 09:36 PM
Why would you do that? Or indeed why would he go to a shop when injured when someone could get your order.

She’s not only a ******. She’s a sadistic ******.

Mr. Wonderful
13-08-2021, 09:50 PM
Start a list of realistic options then,I'm sure it would be of interest.

Pointless. Even Gullan would be a better option.

13-08-2021, 09:57 PM

To get a hurl in a mobility scooter.

Better fun than sitting in the hoose watching daytime TV.

13-08-2021, 10:03 PM

And I thought I might have a chance, too :-(

13-08-2021, 10:05 PM
What are Hibs thinking of, letting him have a girlfriend.FFS, we dont even know if it's an officially sanctioned trolley we are talking about here.

Would never have happened under Petrie, mainly because he'd never have stumped up the quid for the trolley.

14-08-2021, 04:59 AM

Tinder out

duffers
14-08-2021, 05:43 AM

I’m not sure if I would take him back or not, but Cummings was certainly a big game player. Quick look would suggest that while he was at hibs, he scored 7 times against teams in the league above us. Scored 3 play off goals, despite not playing towards the end of the play offs, scored the winning penalty in the semi, an assist in the final and finished top goal scorer in all 3 of his full seasons with us. His record against both hearts and rangers has got to be up there with the best all time records for goals per game. Who incidentally, we’re hibs’ biggest games at the time.

14-08-2021, 06:40 AM
I’m not sure if I would take him back or not, but Cummings was certainly a big game player. Quick look would suggest that while he was at hibs, he scored 7 times against teams in the league above us. Scored 3 play off goals, despite not playing towards the end of the play offs, scored the winning penalty in the semi, an assist in the final and finished top goal scorer in all 3 of his full seasons with us. His record against both hearts and rangers has got to be up there with the best all time records for goals per game. Who incidentally, we’re hibs’ biggest games at the time.

I would have taken Cummings back before he signed for Dundee and would do so now, if for no other reason than he is better than what we have now or then which is nothing.

Sometimes things just click for a player at certain clubs, eg Craig & St Johnstone, and Cummings does know where the goals are, whether is gallusness or stupidity he brings with him a certain swagger which he backed up with goals with us.

Bangkok Hibby
14-08-2021, 06:51 AM

Injured players aren't prisoners. He was in a shop FFS

14-08-2021, 06:53 AM
I would have taken Cummings back before he signed for Dundee and would do so now, if for no other reason than he is better than what we have now or then which is nothing.

Sometimes things just click for a player at certain clubs, eg Craig & St Johnstone, and Cummings does know where the goals are, whether is gallusness or stupidity he brings with him a certain swagger which he backed up with goals with us.

I hope the management don't bring in player just because they are better than nothing, they should be looking at players they think will enhance us and that they actually want.

14-08-2021, 06:57 AM

Cummings would be a very decent 3rd or 4th choice striker for us imo.

We’d need to replace Doidge with a different type or player (and also a higher standard than JC) but I would be more than happy to see him come in on top of that.

14-08-2021, 07:25 AM
Injured players aren't prisoners. He was in a shop FFS

Thanks for the quality response. Just wondered why even if he had wanted to go the shop why would someone he knew felt the need to photo and publicise it. Personally if I had surfed a potentially serious injury the day or so before then the last place I would want to be was a supermarket. Each to their own I suppose.

14-08-2021, 07:55 AM
Thanks for the quality response. Just wondered why even if he had wanted to go the shop why would someone he knew felt the need to photo and publicise it. Personally if I had surfed a potentially serious injury the day or so before then the last place I would want to be was a supermarket. Each to their own I suppose.

If it was the girlfriend, she doesn’t seem the brightest does she. Was she not responsible for the champagne cup final pic too

14-08-2021, 07:56 AM
You sound sure of that?

I’d hope we’re all over finding a replacement for Doidge right away.

We are!

14-08-2021, 08:55 AM
If it was the girlfriend, she doesn’t seem the brightest does she. Was she not responsible for the champagne cup final pic tooLol.

This place man

14-08-2021, 09:06 AM
We are!

Any idea who?

14-08-2021, 09:07 AM
If it was the girlfriend, she doesn’t seem the brightest does she. Was she not responsible for the champagne cup final pic too

Harsh

Mr. Wonderful
14-08-2021, 09:12 AM

Is it possible that she may just not consider the reactions of some melodramatic hibs fans as important to her?

Bangkok Hibby
14-08-2021, 09:17 AM
Is it possible that she may just not consider the reactions of some melodramatic hibs fans as important to her?

Absolutely, what an incredible thread this is.

14-08-2021, 09:19 AM
Do we know the nature and severity of his injury yet?
It's certainly a game changer on the recruitment front.

14-08-2021, 09:20 AM

Really struggling to see the problem with it. Sone amount of overreaction on here

14-08-2021, 09:22 AM
I hope some of the posts on here are a joke, if not some posters really need to get out more and get a life

MikeyS
14-08-2021, 09:32 AM
Do we know the nature and severity of his injury yet?
It's certainly a game changer on the recruitment front.

A few rumours online that it could be his achilles he had damaged. If true, we won't see him this season.

Really hope it isn't that, terrible injury for anyone to get.

14-08-2021, 09:37 AM
A few rumours online that it could be his achilles he had damaged. If true, we won't see him this season.

Really hope it isn't that, terrible injury for anyone to get.

I heard best case scenario is around 8 weeks. Scan results awaited

MikeyS
14-08-2021, 09:42 AM

Hope so mate! 🙏🏻

14-08-2021, 09:59 AM
The "third striker" saga is turning into a repeat of Heckys refusal to sign a DM.

Walter
14-08-2021, 10:06 AM
What sort of overinflated wages are we paying these days meaning a star player can casually shop at asda,hire a scooter and blow money on a Yankee candle, when there is easy access to the much more frugal Lidl and Aldi!

14-08-2021, 10:13 AM
The "third striker" saga is turning into a repeat of Heckys refusal to sign a DM.

It really isn't. We didn't have any good DM at the time. Although it wasn't really the problem, losing Mcginn and McGeouch and their replacements, Milligan and Mallan being nothing close to the quality was. Its become a bit of a myth. Best midfield Hibs have had in years was Mcginn, McGeouch, Allan. Didn't need a DM. Cup winning midfield of McGinn, Fyvie and McGeouch didn't either. It was quality players we needed. Mallan, Vela, Whittaker etc weren't really quality players in there. If he put Newall in the middle with Whittaker he'd have been okay.

We already have 2 quality strikers. So one joining knows he is going to struggle for a place. We're also only starting 1 striker right now. So he'd really be struggling for a place.

14-08-2021, 10:14 AM
Any idea who?

I've PM'ed you.

14-08-2021, 10:14 AM
It really isn't. We didn't have any good DM at the time. Although it wasn't really the problem, losing Mcginn and McGeouch and their replacements, Milligan and Mallan being nothing close to the quality was. Its become a bit of a myth. Best midfield Hibs have had in years was Mcginn, McGeouch, Allan. Didn't need a DM. Cup winning midfield of McGinn, Fyvie and McGeouch didn't either. It was quality players we needed.

We already have 2 quality strikers. So one joining knows he is going to struggle for a place. We're also only starting 1 striker right now. So he'd really be struggling for a place.

Doidge always struck me as a joss stick man as opposed to Yankee candle

14-08-2021, 10:20 AM

That would be bad but not what we all feared.

14-08-2021, 10:34 AM
I've PM'ed you.

If your sending PM's 😁😁😁

14-08-2021, 10:55 AM
That would be bad but not what we all feared.

I'd bite your hand off for it being 8 weeks out.

When you hear "achilles" you know that it can be very serious indeed.

TBH, the great pessimist in me thought it was going to be another Chris Killen situation - we spend the season getting him back fit only for him to move on for nowt next summer.

14-08-2021, 11:39 AM
If your sending PM's 😁😁😁

Me too also please

14-08-2021, 11:46 AM

What a ridiculous thing to come out with.

14-08-2021, 11:50 AM
If your sending PM's 😁😁😁

I'm not and my info is of a general nature and not from Hibs. Just confirms we're active but i would be surprised if we weren't.

nlandsafchibee
14-08-2021, 12:07 PM
It states on Hibs website preview of match,that he has aggrivated an old ankle injury and achillies tendon is normally classed as seperate condition and perhsps they would have identified it as that .A scan could be looking for any chipped bone or any problems with any of the many tendons supporting the ankle The ankle is one of the best supported joints.In the good old days of 60 s and early 70 s Newcastle and Sunderland players used to plodge in North Sea to take heat out of the injury and get inflamation down quickly so healing process could start quicker .Now ice packs do same job .Perhaps he was shopping for ice ?

GoalsMcGinley
14-08-2021, 12:12 PM
If your sending PM's [emoji16][emoji16][emoji16]

This!

GoalsMcGinley
14-08-2021, 12:13 PM
I'd bite your hand off for it being 8 weeks out.

When you hear "achilles" you know that it can be very serious indeed.

TBH, the great pessimist in me thought it was going to be another Chris Killen situation - we spend the season getting him back fit only for him to move on for nowt next summer.

Christian doesn’t want to leave. That’s the difference. He genuinely loves being here and being at Hibernian.

14-08-2021, 12:14 PM
I'm not and my info is of a general nature and not from Hibs. Just confirms we're active but i would be surprised if we weren't.

Hopefully get some players of quality in soon 👍

14-08-2021, 12:18 PM
No.Felt really sorry for him in one of the games he'd come on, we were two on the goalie, he was standing free and clear on the penalty spot all Cummings (I think) had to do was side foot it over to him but instead he tried a shot from wide right with the goalie changing him down. Nae Goal!

14-08-2021, 12:20 PM
His girlfriend is a lawyer, so little concern about her brightness.

Hi Christian's girlfriend :wink:

14-08-2021, 12:35 PM
His girlfriend is a lawyer, so little concern about her brightness.

Have you seen Lionel Hutz :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

fiolex1
14-08-2021, 12:38 PM
Need Mueller in pronto!

hibby rae
15-08-2021, 08:29 AM
All I want for Xmas is Christian Doidge 😢😢

AugustaHibs
15-08-2021, 08:39 AM
12-16 weeks.

15-08-2021, 08:41 AM
Need Mueller in pronto!

I think he is of more value to Orlando City in their league campaign than a few bob from us to get him early. I don’t think we can count on him to help ease our potential striker problem.

15-08-2021, 08:44 AM
Terrible news for the big man. How we gonna replace him over the next 4 months is a concern for me.

15-08-2021, 08:52 AM
12-16 weeks.

Ouch. That is a major, major blow. We now need x2 strikers/forwards and a CB. The other option is give some of the younger guys a chance but it doesn't seem like there are any standouts ready to break into the first team just yet.

15-08-2021, 09:05 AM
Ouch. That is a major, major blow. We now need x2 strikers/forwards and a CB. The other option is give some of the younger guys a chance but it doesn't seem like there are any standouts ready to break into the first team just yet.

Unless we immediately bring in at least one quality striker and a centre back and Nisbet can stay at the top of his game and injury free till Christmas, I think the best we can expect is to tread water and grind out results to keep us in the top four. I’m really concerned about the recruitment dept.’s ability to deal with a looming ( temporary I hope ) crisis.

15-08-2021, 09:08 AM
Greg Stewart still without a club. 31 years old now and hasn't played much.

Can't make up my mind if he would be decent for Hibs or a total waste of funds.

15-08-2021, 09:09 AM

Right now I'd take him.

15-08-2021, 09:10 AM

Hmmmm. He’s neither a striker nor a wide man ..more of a number 10, who seems to like to drift in from out wide . don’t see him as a replacement for Doidge that’s for sure .

Think his niche role stops him getting as many offers as he may expect …

15-08-2021, 09:13 AM
What is Kyle Lafferty up to? 😉 In all seriousness Doidge is almost impossible to replace and I think we'll miss him badly. A big striker with good feet who is a nightmare for defenders and does a lot of the dirty work. Big blow.

15-08-2021, 09:18 AM
Have you seen Lionel Hutz :greengrin:greengrin:greengrinIs that the guy that represented Hearts and told Saughtonjambo he would save them from being expungulated that time they won relegation when the season ended?

1875Sean
15-08-2021, 09:22 AM
What is Kyle Lafferty up to? 😉 In all seriousness Doidge is almost impossible to replace and I think we'll miss him badly. A big striker with good feet who is a nightmare for defenders and does a lot of the dirty work. Big blow.

Lafferty singed for a team in Cyprus in the summer, list of some free agents
https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/spieler/vertragslosespieler/statistik/1/plus//galerie/0?ausrichtung=Sturm&spielerposition_id=14&land_id=alle&altersklasse=&wettbewerb_id=alle&seit=alle&yt0=Show

Dunno is Robson Kanu or Bony are out of our price range but would be worth a punt until Jan, even someone like Rudy Gestede but I suppose it depends how fit these players are as we need someone ASAP

15-08-2021, 10:07 AM

He really isn't. There are players out there we just need to find them.

15-08-2021, 10:21 AM
What a massive blow - sadly most of us have been predicting something like this since last Jan when we were all amazed we never signed a 3rd striker then - we got lucky last season with no injury to Doidge or Nisbet but it's alarming that here we are 8 months later and still haven't addressed the issue - bad management really from the Club...serious questions now for Mathie and his team to address...2 weeks and counting

15-08-2021, 10:27 AM
What a massive blow - sadly most of us have been predicting something like this since last Jan when we were all amazed we never signed a 3rd striker then - we got lucky last season with no injury to Doidge or Nisbet but it's alarming that here we are 8 months later and still haven't addressed the issue - bad management really from the Club...serious questions now for Mathie and his team to address...2 weeks and counting

Good to see that the I told you so brigade come out to play.

We have agreed terms with Mueller and it's been addressed to a point, we need a replacement for Doidge now but it's not as if the club have been sitting on their hands doing f-all is it?

There will be contingency plans in place as Mathie has stated previously that they have targets in place in case anyone moves on. No need to panic.

15-08-2021, 10:36 AM
Just received an email from Hibs about today's game and in amongst the info is a wee line about CD - saying that Hibs are still awaiting the results of a scan. What is taking so long?

15-08-2021, 10:38 AM
PSG, Chelsea, Man Utd, all got 4 quality players who are strikers.

Manchester City have one senior striker.

Last season they had two and one of them was injured for virtually the whole season.

the tornadoe
15-08-2021, 10:44 AM

We have agreed terms with Mueller and it's been addressed to a point, we need a replacement for Doidge now but it's not as if the club have been sitting on their hands doing f-all is it?

There will be contingency plans in place as Mathie has stated previously that they have targets in place in case anyone moves on. No need to panic.

It was well documented Nisbet could be / have been away this window, if the Club were in a position where this was a possibility his replacement would be identified and NOW is the time to move for him. If we don't get someone in quickly then that scenario is just bad planning and really not where we should be as a Club.

15-08-2021, 10:59 AM

I take no delight in being proven right at all am just saying it was glaringly obvious to most of the fans that we were a striker short - most of us said it at end of last Jan's window - makes u wonder why the Club never had another striker identified and signed earlier in this window - whatbuappens now if Nisbet leaves or also gets injured?

15-08-2021, 11:09 AM
I take no delight in being proven right at all am just saying it was glaringly obvious to most of the fans that we were a striker short - most of us said it at end of last Jan's window - makes u wonder why the Club never had another striker identified and signed earlier in this window - whatbuappens now if Nisbet leaves or also gets injured?

Then why come in with the I was right, the club were wrong? We all know we needed another striker.

The club will be over it, our recruitment strategy has been very good this past few years in spite of a huge loss of income during the pandemic. Have a little faith they will get it right?

15-08-2021, 11:17 AM
Means Nisbet won't be going anywhere before January.
Good quality striker required on loan until then by which time Doidge will be back and Mueller will arrive.

15-08-2021, 11:28 AM
Means Nisbet won't be going anywhere before January.
Good quality striker required on loan until then by which time Doidge will be back and Mueller will arrive.

In the same way that there's no way we'd let O'Connor go to Russia with a big game on the horizon and nobody else fit to play in that position?

If a bid came in for Nisbet I'd be expecting him to want to consider whatever was on offer and behave accordingly.

It's our problem that we're thin in his position, not Nisbet's.

15-08-2021, 11:31 AM
In the same way that there's no way we'd let O'Connor go to Russia with a big game on the horizon and nobody else fit to play in that position?

If a bid came in for Nisbet I'd be expecting him to want to consider whatever was on offer and behave accordingly.

It's our problem that we're thin in this position, not his.

Yep, given the past year, if a decent bid comes in for KN, I don’t think the club would be in a position to turn it down

15-08-2021, 11:36 AM
Anthony Stokes available .....

15-08-2021, 11:50 AM
Yep, given the past year, if a decent bid comes in for KN, I don’t think the club would be in a position to turn it down
They already did, in January

It's his problem he has 3 years left. Won't be going anywhere imo.. Nothing even been linking him with a move recently.

15-08-2021, 12:06 PM
Then why come in with the I was right, the club were wrong? We all know we needed another striker.

The club will be over it, our recruitment strategy has been very good this past few years in spite of a huge loss of income during the pandemic. Have a little faith they will get it right?

U are arguing with yourself here.. u admit we all knew we needed another striker then criticise me for questioning why we haven't signed one yet?? I'm sure we will sign one before the end of month but it's already cost us Europe - yet again we are out early coz our squad was ill prepared for the Euro ties

15-08-2021, 12:14 PM

Nisbet is on a long contract so if an offer comes in the ball is firmly in the clubs court.

The club ownership mindset and importantly the financial position are massively different from the time O'Connor was sold.
At that time we had debt, trained in public parks and the East needed to be built.
We currently have no debt. The ground and HTC currently only need maintenance and tweeks
I read that the pandemic had halved our cash reserves but that we had taken a cheap government loan of a similar size.
All things considered we are in a stable position which will enable the club to always choose what is best for the team and club.
The ownership have clearly showed that short termism and a fat squad is not part of the agenda which means we wait for the right player at the right price with scope for eventual sell on. However, the minimalist squad model will spring a leak and the Doidge injury is a bad one that will need an uneconomic fix in the form of a quality loan striker until January when Doidge and Mueller take over.

15-08-2021, 12:36 PM
Out til at least December, bad news all round

15-08-2021, 12:36 PM
https://twitter.com/hibernianfc/status/1426884997080879106?s=21

Hibs confirm he’s out till December at least

15-08-2021, 12:37 PM
Out till xmas

15-08-2021, 12:56 PM
https://twitter.com/hibernianfc/status/1426884997080879106?s=21

Hibs confirm he’s out till December at least

It’s terrible news for the player and us however I really feared it was the full season. Let’s hope he can come back sooner than Xmas.

15-08-2021, 02:33 PM
Out till xmas

So could be longer and even if that will be end February before anywhere near match fit match fit

Inconsequential
15-08-2021, 02:43 PM
So could be longer and even if that will be end February before anywhere near match fit match fit

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Unfortunately I believe you are correct.

15-08-2021, 02:43 PM

Definitely two strikers required on that basis.

15-08-2021, 02:53 PM
Definitely two strikers required on that basis.

Defo although Mcgennis has nearly scored as many goals in a few games fir us than a whole season with St Mirren

15-08-2021, 08:13 PM
People realise that Mueller is not coming in as a CF right? He plays wide in a front three so will be competition for Boyle/Murphy, could probably do a job there like Boyle can but not his main position.

We need a few strikers now as Nisbet will be gone in the near future leaving us with an injured/on the mend Doidge and no one else.

15-08-2021, 08:24 PM
Still would be looking to offer Doidge a new deal. Probably works in our favour if we're showing that confidence in him despite injury. He is an excellent player.

15-08-2021, 08:28 PM
Still would be looking to offer Doidge a new deal. Probably works in our favour if we're showing that confidence in him despite injury. He is an excellent player.

I’m with you on this…huge loss for us and one of our top players..I’d get him on a three year deal right away …

15-08-2021, 08:29 PM
Nisbet can’t be sold and we now need two strikers. Not an easy task but it’s an absolute must if Hibs are serious about progressing as a club. I’m not expecting that to happen unfortunately.

15-08-2021, 08:41 PM

Totally agree. Such an important player for us and deserves a new deal.

15-08-2021, 09:38 PM
Nisbet can’t be sold and we now need two strikers. Not an easy task but it’s an absolute must if Hibs are serious about progressing as a club. I’m not expecting that to happen unfortunately.
I fully expect us not to sell Nisbet. I’d like two strikers in but I suspect we’ll only get one, Boyle and Mackay can play upfront so I wouldn’t be overly disappointed if we only signed one. Selling Nisbet in this window would be footballing suicide considering Doidge is out for a long time.