View Full Version : This is how it feels (Rijeka 12 08 21)

12-08-2021, 09:06 PM
Where do I start after that? Getting level on the night, looking good for a second goal and then came six minutes of madness that ended with us 3-1 and a man down. We can look back at the first leg and rue all the chances missed but the fact is we went into this second leg in good form and against a team that looked pretty average in that first leg. That all changed following the dismissal of Darren McGregor. I love that man, but his second yellow was a crushing blow to our chances, and we paid a heavy penalty for it.

I apologise now for the following summary of my views on the game itself as I, like anyone watching on Premier Sports, struggled to follow the game well, due to very poor camera coverage. I was on the edge of my seat, not because the game was a thriller but because I had to get closer to my TV screen to see if that would help. Nor, incidentally, was I on the edge of my seat marvelling at the cauldron of noise we were promised. Their fans were barely as loud as the Livingston Ultra’s and if you’d ejected the drummer, you’d have had to turn up the volume on your TV to hear the Rijeka massive.

The game started relatively slowly with both sides offering little in an attacking sense. One thing that did become very apparent early on was the hosts’ liking for a diagonal ball to their wide men. That caused problems for our two full backs whilst our forward forays usually came by playing through the thirds. Ironically, they seemed to like the long ball approach their manager accused Hibs of.

To be fair to Rijeka they were the better side in the first half with Abass causing McGinn all sorts of problems down their left but thankfully his final ball was dreadful for the most part. Hibs created a couple of chances of their own with both Murphy and Nisbet testing their goalkeeper with low curling efforts that were heading for the far post. A couple of poor challenges allowed the hosts to fire in two free kicks, the first just clearing the bar and the second hitting the Hibs wall.

With ten minutes of the first half left, Rijeka took the lead when Abass finally delivered a decent ball into the middle and Pavicic found acres of space in the box to drill the ball home. I have to say I felt McGinn turning his back on the cross and McGregor’s failure to mark the area the ball was delivered into was schoolboy stuff.

Right on half time, Porteous had a rush of blood when trying to cut out a through ball but missing it completely. The ball reached Abass around twelve yards out and only a last ditch tackle by McGinn kept the tricky winger getting a shot on goal. That block spun favourably for the Rijeka man who fired a fierce second effort on target, kept out by a fantastic save by Macey.

Hibs made no changes at half time and started the second period in a positive way. They were winning more of the ball and keeping it better by good movement, especially in the midfield area. Around ten minutes in, a poor attempted clearance by Galovic saw the ball deflect into the path of Kyle Magennis who quickly strode towards goal before firing a lovely left footed drive across their keeper and into the far corner of the net. It was a deserved equaliser and Hibs looked far more engaged at that point, enjoying the better possession for the next ten minutes or so.

Sadly, that’s when the wheels fell off. In the right back position, McGregor dallied in clearing the ball, allowing Pavicic to win the ball and set off to go past the big defender who pulled him back and earned a stupid yellow card which, being his second of the game brought the inevitable red card and reduced Hibs to ten men just when we looked as though we were getting on top. From the resultant free kick, the referee awarded a corner with Macey and his team mates arguing that the keeper had not touched the ball as it sailed beyond the far post. The protests were ignored and from that corner, Hibs conceded again when Abass’ kick slipped into the net at Macey’s front post with no Hibs man covering that area.

Jack Ross decided he had to change things and brought Gogic on to sit in central defence; Murphy giving way but worse was yet to come for the visitors when a cross from the right saw McGinn sleeping when Abass attempted to get in front of him. The Rijeka player didn’t touch the ball which hit McGinn on the head and flew past Macey.

This was becoming painful to watch as the men in green were in total disarray and the final nail in the coffin came when substitute Busnja waltzed past a static Porteous before side stepping Doig and rolling the ball past the diving Macey. Within the space of twenty minutes my hopes turned to despair following the dismissal of McGregor and the total inability of Hibs to avoid capitulating.

The players

Macey – Should be raging at his team mates because he conceded four goals due to their errors. His first half save from Abass was a good one.

McGinn – Paul has been getting a bit of stick of late and I’ve felt that to be largely unfair but tonight I’m afraid he’ll be deserving of the flak. Turned his back for the first goal and fell asleep at the third. It would be unfair of me though not to praise his last ditch challenge right on half time.

Porteous – More than a little bit shaky at times he was culpable of charging forward and then losing the ball on more than one occasion. Also, he was like a statue when the Rijeka man waltzed past him for the fourth goal.

McGregor – For the first half hour I thought he was immense and then he was napping a bit for the first goal. His stupidity and getting a second yellow is simply inexplicable to me. A seasoned professional should not be caught out that way and I’m afraid his rashness basically cost us the game because we were a shambles with only ten men on the park.

Doig – Like McGinn, Josh had to deal with the constant use of the diagonal ball by Rijeka. For the most part he did ok but having said that he, like McGinn, allowed far too many crosses into our box.

Boyle – Martin was starved of possession for large periods of the game but when he did get the chance to create, he made a few worthy contributions. Unusually, he was not targeted for rough treatment tonight.

Doyle-Hayes – The laddie showed up well in that midfield position and demonstrated once again his willingness to give and receive the ball in tight situations.

Newell – I felt our midfield did well until losing a man and a second goal and Joe was in the thick of it throughout. He seems to have picked up a habit of getting booked a lot although I thought tonight’s yellow was a bit harsh.

Magennis – What a sweet strike for the goal. Kyle was involved in most of our positive play tonight and wins my man of the match award.

Murphy – Jamie was so unlucky with his effort on the half hour and I thought he played pretty well throughout.

Nisbet – Kev struggled against their giant centre half and although Magennis did his level best to get up front to help him the central defenders were pretty much in control throughout.

Gogic – I don’t like him as a central defender and thought he demonstrated why tonight.

Campbell – Never got a chance to show much of anything.

Jack Ross – Disappointment should be his main reaction, but I hope too that he is angry with those players who let us down tonight. I should add – 2-1 down and he replaced Murphy with Gogic – bizarre.

The referee – The Lithuanian was largely ok.

12-08-2021, 09:52 PM
Good report Jonnyboy on a difficult night

Difficult to give any players pass marks tbh

I was thinking Magennis indeed I even hailed him as the new McGinn after that glorious strike but feel he might have been culpable defensively but in fairness he was not alone

Like you I love Big Daz to bits and feared for him after being booked in only 13 minutes

The whole game and Big Daz unravelled in 6 awful second half minutes

One game too far methinks

Back to the dark place I was in post Scottish Cup Final

12-08-2021, 09:54 PM
Where do I start after that? Getting level on the night, looking good for a second goal and then came six minutes of madness that ended with us 3-1 and a man down. We can look back at the first leg and rue all the chances missed but the fact is we went into this second leg in good form and against a team that looked pretty average in that first leg. That all changed following the dismissal of Darren McGregor. I love that man, but his second yellow was a crushing blow to our chances, and we paid a heavy penalty for it.

I apologise now for the following summary of my views on the game itself as I, like anyone watching on Premier Sports, struggled to follow the game well, due to very poor camera coverage. I was on the edge of my seat, not because the game was a thriller but because I had to get closer to my TV screen to see if that would help. Nor, incidentally, was I on the edge of my seat marvelling at the cauldron of noise we were promised. Their fans were barely as loud as the Livingston Ultra’s and if you’d ejected the drummer, you’d have had to turn up the volume on your TV to hear the Rijeka massive.

The game started relatively slowly with both sides offering little in an attacking sense. One thing that did become very apparent early on was the hosts’ liking for a diagonal ball to their wide men. That caused problems for our two full backs whilst our forward forays usually came by playing through the thirds. Ironically, they seemed to like the long ball approach their manager accused Hibs of.

To be fair to Rijeka they were the better side in the first half with Abass causing McGinn all sorts of problems down their left but thankfully his final ball was dreadful for the most part. Hibs created a couple of chances of their own with both Murphy and Nisbet testing their goalkeeper with low curling efforts that were heading for the far post. A couple of poor challenges allowed the hosts to fire in two free kicks, the first just clearing the bar and the second hitting the Hibs wall.

With ten minutes of the first half left, Rijeka took the lead when Abass finally delivered a decent ball into the middle and Pavicic found acres of space in the box to drill the ball home. I have to say I felt McGinn turning his back on the cross and McGregor’s failure to mark the area the ball was delivered into was schoolboy stuff.

Right on half time, Porteous had a rush of blood when trying to cut out a through ball but missing it completely. The ball reached Abass around twelve yards out and only a last ditch tackle by McGinn kept the tricky winger getting a shot on goal. That block spun favourably for the Rijeka man who fired a fierce second effort on target, kept out by a fantastic save by Macey.

Hibs made no changes at half time and started the second period in a positive way. They were winning more of the ball and keeping it better by good movement, especially in the midfield area. Around ten minutes in, a poor attempted clearance by Galovic saw the ball deflect into the path of Kyle Magennis who quickly strode towards goal before firing a lovely left footed drive across their keeper and into the far corner of the net. It was a deserved equaliser and Hibs looked far more engaged at that point, enjoying the better possession for the next ten minutes or so.

Sadly, that’s when the wheels fell off. In the right back position, McGregor dallied in clearing the ball, allowing Pavicic to win the ball and set off to go past the big defender who pulled him back and earned a stupid yellow card which, being his second of the game brought the inevitable red card and reduced Hibs to ten men just when we looked as though we were getting on top. From the resultant free kick, the referee awarded a corner with Macey and his team mates arguing that the keeper had not touched the ball as it sailed beyond the far post. The protests were ignored and from that corner, Hibs conceded again when Abass’ kick slipped into the net at Macey’s front post with no Hibs man covering that area.

Jack Ross decided he had to change things and brought Gogic on to sit in central defence; Murphy giving way but worse was yet to come for the visitors when a cross from the right saw McGinn sleeping when Abass attempted to get in front of him. The Rijeka player didn’t touch the ball which hit McGinn on the head and flew past Macey.

This was becoming painful to watch as the men in green were in total disarray and the final nail in the coffin came when substitute Busnja waltzed past a static Porteous before side stepping Doig and rolling the ball past the diving Macey. Within the space of twenty minutes my hopes turned to despair following the dismissal of McGregor and the total inability of Hibs to avoid capitulating.

The players

Macey – Should be raging at his team mates because he conceded four goals due to their errors. His first half save from Abass was a good one.

McGinn – Paul has been getting a bit of stick of late and I’ve felt that to be largely unfair but tonight I’m afraid he’ll be deserving of the flak. Turned his back for the first goal and fell asleep at the third. It would be unfair of me though not to praise his last ditch challenge right on half time.

Porteous – More than a little bit shaky at times he was culpable of charging forward and then losing the ball on more than one occasion. Also, he was like a statue when the Rijeka man waltzed past him for the fourth goal.

McGregor – For the first half hour I thought he was immense and then he was napping a bit for the first goal. His stupidity and getting a second yellow is simply inexplicable to me. A seasoned professional should not be caught out that way and I’m afraid his rashness basically cost us the game because we were a shambles with only ten men on the park.

Doig – Like McGinn, Josh had to deal with the constant use of the diagonal ball by Rijeka. For the most part he did ok but having said that he, like McGinn, allowed far too many crosses into our box.

Boyle – Martin was starved of possession for large periods of the game but when he did get the chance to create, he made a few worthy contributions. Unusually, he was not targeted for rough treatment tonight.

Doyle-Hayes – The laddie showed up well in that midfield position and demonstrated once again his willingness to give and receive the ball in tight situations.

Newell – I felt our midfield did well until losing a man and a second goal and Joe was in the thick of it throughout. He seems to have picked up a habit of getting booked a lot although I thought tonight’s yellow was a bit harsh.

Magennis – What a sweet strike for the goal. Kyle was involved in most of our positive play tonight and wins my man of the match award.

Murphy – Jamie was so unlucky with his effort on the half hour and I thought he played pretty well throughout.

Nisbet – Kev struggled against their giant centre half and although Magennis did his level best to get up front to help him the central defenders were pretty much in control throughout.

Gogic – I don’t like him as a central defender and thought he demonstrated why tonight.

Campbell – Never got a chance to show much of anything.

Jack Ross – Disappointment should be his main reaction, but I hope too that he is angry with those players who let us down tonight. I should add – 2-1 down and he replaced Murphy with Gogic – bizarre.

The referee – The Lithuanian was largely ok.

Would agree with most of this. I actually thought boyle was quite poor tonight as well. When he did have the ball he wasted it more often than not. I’ve seen a few people mention boyles form in bigger/more important games seems to dip a bit and I think tonight might’ve been another example

12-08-2021, 10:10 PM
Agree re Boyle. Tonight was a night when we needed him driving forward at pace but it rarely happened. Magennis plus marks overall this season (thus far), but has to share the blame for the softness of their first goal by not tracking his man's run into the space in front of goal, much like Newell in the last game.
Daz will surely have a sleepless night (or two, or three).
They were no better than us overall. At 1-1 we really looked like we were getting control of the game and the more likely to progress. (Would be interested to know what the live odds were before Daz's brain fart moment.)
But fair play to them and I can see them reaching the group stages. A great chance gone for us to get European group football.
The $64,000 dollar question now (that shows my age!) is will Doig, Nisbet, Boyle and Porto stay?

12-08-2021, 10:18 PM
The biggest positive to our start of this season has been the contributions of Magennis and Doyle - Hayes and they both continued that form tonight, both played a part in anything that was good about us tonight.

Macey ....... 6 ...... Absolutely no chance with anything tonight and made one good save.

McGinn ..... 5 ..... Had a poor game defensively and made little use of what possession he did have.

McGregor ... 4 .... Started the game well, but his first booking was absolutely typical of him in that it was an over robust challenge well outside our box that he probably didn't need to make and his second was an utter calamity purely of his own making.

Porteous ... 5 .... He did just about ok for the most part, but when you are part of a defence that concedes 4 goals there's nowhere to hide. I would say that he appeared to pick up an injury at one point and looked like he was toiling towards the end, probably why their attacker waltzed past him so easily for their 4th.

Doig ... 5 .... Couldn't prevent any crosses coming into our box and posed little attacking threat.

Newell ... 7 .... I thought he played pretty well for the most part and linked up well with Doyle - Hayes and Magennis.

Magennis ... 8 .... His overall play was very good and he took his goal superbly. My only criticism is the number of corners he presented to their keeper for an easy catch.

Doyle - Hayes ... 7 ... He didn't really stand out, but his play was neat and tidy for the most part, he made a couple of decent defensive challenges as well.

Murphy ... 7 .... Did his best to get involved and was unlucky not to score, can be happy with his nights work as they say.

Boyle ... 6 .... Not as effective as he can be and well contained by their defence for the most part, he was always under pressure when he got into the box and at times his final ball was poor.

Nisbet .... 5 .... His play outside of the box wasn't quite up to his usual standard, one thing he isn't is an instinctive striker, how often is he on the spot to first time a cross or low ball across the 6 yard box into the net ... it rarely happens.

SUBS:

Gogic ... 4 .... I'm at a loss to understand what impact he was supposed to make in a game we were chasing with 10 men.

Campbell ... 3 ... Please don't let him be another one of these players who is only always given 10 minutes at the end of a game to show what he can do and sold to Hamilton or Ross County two years later because he cant score 10 goals in a first team career where his total time on the pitch amounted to about 180 minutes.

Jack Ross ..... Baffled me by bringing on Gogic, but you cant blame him for defenders who make calamitous errors and refs who award corners that arent.

12-08-2021, 10:43 PM
I thought it was a mixed bag for Magennis - superb finish at the goal and some great play at times when we were in possession but I thought his set pieces were disappointing and he made a couple of poor contributions at Rijeka goals.

Boyle was anonymous. I thought he was possibly our biggest disappointment of the night, and not for the first time in a big game.

Murphy was the MOTM for me, and by quite a distance. He was a major threat over the course of the first half and it looked like Rijeka were much more worried about him than Boyle.

We had a cracking wee flourish around the time we'd equalised but over the piece I thought it was a poor performance.

Sadly, I thought it was Jack Ross' big game Hibs summed up in 90 minutes. We seemed happy to play it cagey for much of the game before picking a moment to step it up and pursue the victory. On this occasion it actually looked like it might work for us (for a change) but for a moment of madness from a player who has served us with distinction at the red card. In the end it just fell away like the usual big games into excuses about "fine margins" etc when we were simply not good enough in too many departments.

The midfield is looking good though. JDH looks to be the find of the season.

The Pointer
13-08-2021, 09:02 AM
As usual Jonny I really enjoy your articulation when others, myself included, would be making a long-winded, emotionally-biased, description of the night's horrors. Your comments on the "Rijeka Massive" rightly contrasts with Ross's "electric atmosphere" in his post-match comments. Twenty laddies and a drum electric? Aye right.

I agree with others though, that Boyle was poor in that he seemed reluctant to take players on and didn't give us the width we needed, unlike their laddie on the left wing who tormented McGinn many times.

They improved slightly on their ER performance while we regressed a similar amount, meaning we were unlikely to have enough to win against a very average team who demonstrated no particularly outstanding abilities. It isn't just to do with skill and physical strength, it also requires mental aptitude, and lack of that facility accounted for our meltdown after McGregor's moment of stupidity. That didn't appear to affect Malmo the other night (where they were very definitely playing in a hostile atmosphere), but what is worrying is that this is a common occurrence with Hibs, no matter who the manager is.

13-08-2021, 09:18 AM
Good report as always. Have to disagree about the Gogic substitution though. With a McGregor sized hole at the back we could not afford the luxury of two wise men. Maybe Boyle was the more ineffective on the night but one of them had to go.

13-08-2021, 09:18 AM
Macey, Doyle-Hayes and Murphy come away with pass marks. The rest range from shocking to average

We really struggled with their build up play this time around, if the full backs are being exposed and too many crosses are coming in then the wingers need to support more.

I said it before the match, and even after seeing the line up think we should have gone with a back 5. Mcgregor was never lasting the 90 A) at his age at CB B) in that heat C) with so much space to cover

I'd have had Murphy playing off Nisbet (much closer to him than anyone actually got all night) with Magennis getting box to box supporting. Maybe having Boyle deeper with more space to run at would have helped him too as he was really, really bad.

I think some of the comments have been harsh, our opponents last night were a completely different side from that we faced at ER. They had much more intensity to there play and particularly in the 1st half knocked it around with us chasing shadows. We rode our luck in that 1st half (much like Rijeka did in the 90 last week) and when we equalised i genuinely felt we could go on and find a winner.

We look impressive domestically so it's not all doom and gloom. We've got a decent run of fixtures coming up to gain a bit of momentum but signing a CB (Jason Kerr please) and a striker is a must (i'd take a RB too)

13-08-2021, 10:34 AM
I thought it was a mixed bag for Magennis - superb finish at the goal and some great play at times when we were in possession but I thought his set pieces were disappointing and he made a couple of poor contributions at Rijeka goals.

Boyle was anonymous. I thought he was possibly our biggest disappointment of the night, and not for the first time in a big game.

Murphy was the MOTM for me, and by quite a distance. He was a major threat over the course of the first half and it looked like Rijeka were much more worried about him than Boyle.

We had a cracking wee flourish around the time we'd equalised but over the piece I thought it was a poor performance.

Sadly, I thought it was Jack Ross' big game Hibs summed up in 90 minutes. We seemed happy to play it cagey for much of the game before picking a moment to step it up and pursue the victory. On this occasion it actually looked like it might work for us (for a change) but for a moment of madness from a player who has served us with distinction at the red card. In the end it just fell away like the usual big games into excuses about "fine margins" etc when we were simply not good enough in too many departments.

The midfield is looking good though. JDH looks to be the find of the season.

I think this is it. We go into big games looking cagey and too cautious. This maybe affects players like Boyle who are then afraid to take risks and express themselves.

We needed a win tonight, if we’d been more positive from the start might things have turned out better?

13-08-2021, 10:37 AM
I think this is it. We go into big games looking cagey and too cautious. This maybe affects players like Boyle who are then afraid to take risks and express themselves.

We needed a win tonight, if we’d been more positive from the start might things have turned out better?Were we cagey & cautious last Thursday at ER? We could have cuffed them.

I suppose it depends what you want to count as a big game.

13-08-2021, 10:51 AM
Were we cagey & cautious last Thursday at ER? We could have cuffed them.

I suppose it depends what you want to count as a big game.

You’re increasingly having this argument with yourself.

I guess the point is, we went into last nights game at 1-1 on aggregate and needing a win. We needed the right approach for that scenario and we obviously didn’t find it.

I’m genuinely happy for a discussion on this, I’m not really interested in your relentless category discussion about what qualifies as a big game.

EdinburghHibern
13-08-2021, 11:00 AM
Purely from an economic standpoint last nights game was massive for the football club. Indeed,another missed opportunity in an important game.

13-08-2021, 11:21 AM
You’re increasingly having this argument with yourself.

I guess the point is, we went into last nights game at 1-1 on aggregate and needing a win. We needed the right approach for that scenario and we obviously didn’t find it.

I’m genuinely happy for a discussion on this, I’m not really interested in your relentless category discussion about what qualifies as a big game.

What are you on about?

You started with the "big game" stuff, not me.

Was last night a bigger game than the first leg? You've obviously decided that's the case - I disagree.

I posted my opinion, you have a pop at me (again) yet I'm "relentless"?

Grow up!

14-08-2021, 06:07 PM

We needed a win tonight, if we’d been more positive from the start might things have turned out better?

We were very positive in both ties no way could we be considered anything like cautious.

EI255
14-08-2021, 10:58 PM
Riejika are pish poor. Sorry, but sad reflection on us. Perhaps the only positive, they have a bigger budget than us. But I was far from impressed by them and hope PAOK eliminate them.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk