View Full Version : McGinn
Juice-Terry
12-08-2021, 07:58 PM
Ok, I'll start it: Abysmal
(Edit: I should say he's been very good for us since he signed, but the last six months? Dear Lord....)
12-08-2021, 07:59 PM
Ok, I'll start it: Abysmal.
Hopefully you’ll finish it too.
12-08-2021, 08:01 PM
Just send him back to st mirren. Nowhere near good enough.
12-08-2021, 08:02 PM
Mr undroppable
12-08-2021, 08:04 PM
Solid 8/10 every week last season. Hasn't started this season particularly great
Him and Daz will take a fair bit of abuse on social platforms over the coming days
AugustaHibs
12-08-2021, 08:05 PM
Get him to ****. Can’t play in a back 4. Need a proper full back in who can actually stop a cross into the box. We seen it on Sunday too.
12-08-2021, 08:06 PM
He’s been a good signing for us, but he’s had a very poor start to the season, but due to lack of competition he starts every game. Not convinced Cadden is the answer either, don’t remember him being great defensively.
Solid 8/10 every week last season. Hasn't started this season particularly great
Bang on the money. Out of sorts just now but if we can get him back on form he’s a good player for us.
He was appalling tonight. The boy Prince had him on toast.
To say he’s not good enough is one of the daftest things seen said on here. He’s been one of our top performers for the last 18 months
itslegaltender
12-08-2021, 08:07 PM
McGinn has been poor for a few months. We really do need to find a couple of full backs (if Doig goes) and a centre half sharpish. There has to better options than McGinn out there.
Inconsequential
12-08-2021, 08:08 PM
Totally agree! Completely abysmal except I'm referring to the thread posted. No need.
To say he’s not good enough is one of the daftest things seen said on here. He’s been one of our top performers for the last 18 monthsyeh he is okay against crap like Ross county and the likes but he was way out off his depth tonight. It will be a long season if we stick with this defence.
I’m a big fan of him and think he’s been a brilliant signing, last season he was fantastic.
But, this season he’s been very poor defensively.
He’s getting to close to his man and getting skinned, not getting close enough and letting crosses in and then not following his man .
hfc-1875
12-08-2021, 08:09 PM
Unfortunately got to agree. If we want to go the next step we need better.
12-08-2021, 08:09 PM
To say he’s not good enough is one of the daftest things seen said on here. He’s been one of our top performers for the last 18 months
In reality he’s been fairly gash for at least 6 months. It’s not like the criticisms only started this season, been hearing that he ‘needs a rest’ for the most of it.
12-08-2021, 08:11 PM
Him and Daz will take a fair bit of abuse on social platforms over the coming days
I would say a solid 7/10 minimum last season with some games up at 8/10, rarely had a shocker though. Very dependable and his ability to switch from right back tk right if a central 3 was very important last season and will be this season too.
That said, he’s been very very poor so far this season and we need someone to take his place at right back. I hope Cadden is back soon.
12-08-2021, 08:11 PM
Gonna go against the tide here and say he's definitely good enough for us. He's proven that in the main.
What he undoubtedly needs is some real competition for his place, though. Cadden isn't a fullback, he's just covered RWB during his career, and we can't be changing our entire formation just because McGinn is out/dropped. Slightly concerned that we won't be targeting a RB.
12-08-2021, 08:18 PM
Get him to ****. Can’t play in a back 4. Need a proper full back in who can actually stop a cross into the box. We seen it on Sunday too.I think we have one who due back in a week or so
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
12-08-2021, 08:18 PM
To say he’s not good enough is one of the daftest things seen said on here. He’s been one of our top performers for the last 18 monthsTo be fair Prince looked far too good for that level
12-08-2021, 08:20 PM
Horrible thread.
12-08-2021, 08:24 PM
He's a decent SPL player but that's his level. That's not a criticism of him - that's our level as well. But he was exposed tonight and won't be the player to move us forward against the better sides we face. Cadden back from injury will give us good competition and another option.
Weegreenman
12-08-2021, 08:26 PM
Horrible thread.
Why??
Is this North Korea ? Are we not allowed to criticise our own players???
I want to read what other supporters really think and it’s comments like yours that stop those same supporters from posting.
If you don’t agree, let’s hear why??
12-08-2021, 08:27 PM
Why??
I want to read what other supporters really think and it’s comments like yours that stop those same supporters from posting.
If you don’t agree, let’s hear why??I'm guessing it's to mirror some of the same comments from the mcgregor thread
12-08-2021, 08:27 PM
Comical defending at times tonight from the whole defence and Mcginn.
His defending for their 3rd goal was terrible.
He’s been good for us on the whole but think we should be looking to bring in younger & better
12-08-2021, 08:28 PM
Poor tonight but no worse than McGregor, Nisbet, Boyle, Newell, Doig.
He’s not been poor all season though. He created half the chances against Rijeka last week, great assist on Sunday and fine vs Motherwell.
12-08-2021, 08:29 PM
Mr undroppable
Who else is there?
12-08-2021, 08:30 PM
Comical defending at times tonight from the whole defence and Mcginn.
His defending for their 3rd goal was terrible.
He’s been good for us on the whole but think we should be looking to bring in younger & betterWe brought in Cadden.. I'm. Sure he's Mcginns competition if we play 4 at the back
He’s been a good signing for us, but he’s had a very poor start to the season, but due to lack of competition he starts every game. Not convinced Cadden is the answer either, don’t remember him being great defensively.
Is Cadden not more of a right midfielder/wingback.
12-08-2021, 08:32 PM
We brought in Cadden.. I'm. Sure he's Mcginns competition if we play 4 at the back
I’d have said Cadden is more of a RWB as oppose to a RB. Certainly not against putting him in there when he’s fit again
12-08-2021, 08:35 PM
Been an excellent signing at both RB and for right side of a back three. Bad night tonight, had a bit of a drop off in the latter part of last season too.
Unfortunate that Cadden has been injured. He just moved in near a guy I know and he’d said he hadn’t been injured for two years until he arrived with us.
Not writing McGinn off, but tonight wasn’t a good one at all. None of the back four had a good night though.
Macey had one good save but tonight was the first time he made me uncomfortable on a few occasions.
12-08-2021, 08:36 PM
Bang on the money. Out of sorts just now but if we can get him back on form he’s a good player for us.
Yep agree however was very poor tonight and will need to improve
12-08-2021, 08:37 PM
yeh he is okay against crap like Ross county and the likes but he was way out off his depth tonight. It will be a long season if we stick with this defence.
…and Rangers, Celtic, Aberdeen etc
Is Cadden defensively good enough, I remember him more of a right midfielder/wingback.
12-08-2021, 08:38 PM
I would say a solid 7/10 minimum last season with some games up at 8/10, rarely had a shocker though. Very dependable and his ability to switch from right back tk right if a central 3 was very important last season and will be this season too.
That said, he’s been very very poor so far this season and we need someone to take his place at right back. I hope Cadden is back soon.
This. The rewriting of history on this thread is embarrassing.
12-08-2021, 08:39 PM
Is Cadden defensively good enough, I remember him more of a right midfielder/wingback.
That’s how I remember him too. Thought it was a bit of a strange signing at the time.
12-08-2021, 08:41 PM
I'm sure Cadden is now classed as a right back
Sure he likes to go forward which is also what Mcginn does (see his assist last week)
TheCabbage
12-08-2021, 08:42 PM
[Quote] Unfortunate that Cadden has been injured. He just moved in near a guy I know and he’d said he hadn’t been injured for years until he arrived with us.
Motherwell ST holder in work told me when he signed it would be 5 games played15 games out
12-08-2021, 08:42 PM
Good player in a bad patch of form. Hopefully gets it back soon. Not helped by being 2 vs 1 more often that he should be.
I'm sure Cadden is now classed as a right back
Sure he likes to go forward which is also what Mcginn does (see his assist last week)
No point in bombing forward unless you can also defend or at least have a DM in the team that covers for you.
12-08-2021, 08:43 PM
Look forward to him being half decent against championship Killie and he’s back to being excellent again
12-08-2021, 08:47 PM
Why??
If you don’t agree, let’s hear why??North Korea? Funny guy!
People can post what they want - I'm not stopping them. However if I don't agree I have the right to say so.
Paul McGinn has been great for Hibs since he arrived. OK he's been a bit under par (by his own standards) recently, but the whole defence has been iffy, not just him. A thread to rip into him serves no purpose whatsoever.
12-08-2021, 08:48 PM
Good player in a bad patch of form. Hopefully gets it back soon. Not helped by being 2 vs 1 more often that he should be.Correct.
12-08-2021, 08:49 PM
Look forward to him being half decent against championship Killie and he’s back to being excellent againI'm sure you'll be here on the match thread to keep us right.
Crappy snide remark!
12-08-2021, 08:50 PM
McGinn has done us a good turn. Helped us improve from where we were when he came in. If we want to go on another level then we need to replace players like him IMO.
12-08-2021, 08:50 PM
I'm sure you'll be here on the match thread to keep us right.
Crappy snide remark!
Na I’ll be at the game so most likely have my phone in my pocket. Aye it was a bit of a ***** remark from me but my point stands. At the level we’re aspiring to be playing at, we need a lot better & a few games against a ****ty standard in our league won’t change my mind on that.
12-08-2021, 08:51 PM
North Korea? Funny guy!
People can post what they want - I'm not stopping them. However if I don't agree I have the right to say so.
Paul McGinn has been great for Hibs since he arrived. OK he's been a bit under par (by his own standards) recently, but the whole defence has been iffy, not just him. A thread to rip into him serves no purpose whatsoever.
You didn’t engage in any sort of debate though. You just did your usual and criticised folk who were expressing their genuine opinion without giving your own.
12-08-2021, 08:53 PM
Correct.
The post you’ve agreed with was a decent post, I’m not sure I agree with it 100% but at least it’s an opinion.
You should try it some times instead of just criticising folk who do give their opinion.
12-08-2021, 08:54 PM
You didn’t engage in any sort of debate though. You just did your usual and criticised folk who were expressing their genuine opinion without giving your own.Don't make stuff up. Where did I criticise anyone? My opinion is that it's a horrible thread.
If you are having difficulty understanding that, then read my post that you quoted where I explain myself a wee bit.
If you still don't understand then I can't help you.
12-08-2021, 08:58 PM
I said it last week after a nominally positive result. He's a concern, teams target him.
I get it. He was an unfashionable singing who has done OK so people are protective. If we want to progress to be a group stage European team we need better though. A steady Eddie but that's about it. His limitations are obvious for anyone who wants to see them. He was targeted across 2 legs by a decent European side.
12-08-2021, 09:00 PM
Cross came from his side cause he put in a pathetic tackle in the cup final. His side for the 1st well goal. His side for the goal in andorra and his side for the 1st and lost his man for the 3rd. We need better if we are to perform at this level.
12-08-2021, 09:02 PM
Cross came from his side cause he put in a pathetic tackle in the cup final. His side for the 1st well goal. His side for the goal in andorra and his side for the 1st and lost his man for the 3rd. We need better if we are to perform at this level.You do know that teams manage to make crosses against the best defences & defenders in the world?
12-08-2021, 09:04 PM
So we have became a more expansive team and our defence has suffered
I thought that's what everyone wanted!
12-08-2021, 09:07 PM
Sent from my VOG-L29 using TapatalkYeah that plus perfection in every position (+ same again on the bench).
Get it sorted Ross!
12-08-2021, 09:07 PM
Can’t remember anyone wanting us to suffer defensively to be fair.
12-08-2021, 09:09 PM
Not convinced Paul McGinn has had a good 90mins since Tony Watt turned him inside out in the Scottish Cup quarters (and again at Fir Park recently).
Paul seems a decent squad player but not a starter or a leader
12-08-2021, 09:10 PM
Don't make stuff up. Where did I criticise anyone? My opinion is that it's a horrible thread.
If you are having difficulty understanding that, then read my post that you quoted where I explain myself a wee bit.
If you still don't understand then I can't help you.
It’s not a horrible thread through? It’s just people giving their opinion on a player.
You disagree with that but why not just say that and defend the player rather than criticising people for having an opinion again.
If someone says they think Mcginn is poor, explain why you think he’s not instead of being a smart arse. The North Korea comment about you was fair imo as you’d have every thread removed that was even remotely critical given half a chance.
Kim Jong-Peevemor.
He's here!
12-08-2021, 09:11 PM
Horrible thread.
Thread should be deleted. The guy's been a thoroughly decent signing and played a huge part in us getting to Europe.
12-08-2021, 09:11 PM
Good player in a bad patch of form. Hopefully gets it back soon. Not helped by being 2 vs 1 more often that he should be.
He was 1 v 1 time after time after time in the first half and got skinned - it was verging on embarrassing. And then the goal is just horrendous defending.
12-08-2021, 09:12 PM
If we’re playing a more attacking expansive attacking brand of football we will probably need our defenders to be better.
That’s what I want, I can’t speak for anyone else.
12-08-2021, 09:13 PM
It’s not a horrible thread through? It’s just people giving their opinion on a player.
You disagree with that but why not just say that and defend the player rather than criticising people for having an opinion again.
If someone says they think Mcginn is poor, explain why you think he’s not instead of being a smart arse. The North Korea comment about you was fair imo as you’d have every thread removed that was even remotely critical given half a chance.
Kim Jong-Peevemor.I said that I think this is a horrible thread. There are others who agree with me.
You can ram your "smart arse" comment.
12-08-2021, 09:14 PM
He’s deffo lost a yard of pace in 1:1. Also our FBs get away with all lot when we play a back 3. No hiding in a back 4.
12-08-2021, 09:14 PM
Thread should be deleted. The guy's been a thoroughly decent signing and played a huge part in us getting to Europe.
Na it definitely shouldn’t be deleted. You can’t just keep calling for threads to be deleted because you don’t agree with it. He’s not at the standard for the level we want to be at.
12-08-2021, 09:18 PM
He’s been poor, but he’s being expected to play out of this loss of form due to having heehaw competition for his place. Clearly another Ross favourite given he’s been appointed vice captain.
Hopefully it is just a loss of form, not an irreversible decline.
12-08-2021, 09:18 PM
Na it definitely shouldn’t be deleted. You can’t just keep calling for threads to be deleted because you don’t agree with it. He’s not at the standard for the level we want to be at.
If Hanlon put in performances like Daz and McGinn we’d have the busiest board for years.
12-08-2021, 09:19 PM
If we’re playing a more attacking expansive attacking brand of football we will probably need our defenders to be better.
That’s what I want, I can’t speak for anyone else.
Yup. Were we even particularly expansive today? It's not like we've gone full Klopp and are gengepressing and leaving 2 players at the back.
Apart from the last goal we weren't out numbered or carved open. Like with Motherwell we lost goals to average but hardly Beckham-esque balls into the box.
We must surely acknowledge that we've let in some really poor goals not just this season but the tail end of last.
Even against Ross County the two main chances I remember from them were via balls into the box.
12-08-2021, 09:19 PM
I said that I think this is a horrible thread. There are others who agree with me.
You can ram your "smart arse" opinion.
No you didn’t.
You just said “horrible thread” with no further comment.
Give an opinion and then stand by it. Saying everyone and everything is brilliant all the time and then taking the piss out of everyone else who does give an opinion is tiresome and I absolutely stand by the smart arse comment whether you agree with it or not.
12-08-2021, 09:23 PM
No you didn’t.
Give an opinion and then stand by it. Saying everyone and everything is brilliant all the time and then taking the piss out of everyone else who does give an opinion is tiresome and I absolutely stand by the smart arse comment whether you agree with it or not.You're making stuff up again.
I can't be bothered with this. You're right. Just as you will be the next time you pull me up. And the next time. And the next time, etc.
Away and bore someone else.
12-08-2021, 09:24 PM
If Hanlon put in performances like Daz and McGinn we’d have the busiest board for years.
I’m not Paul’s biggest fan but he’s a level or two above McGinn and McGregor
12-08-2021, 09:25 PM
No you didn’t.
Give an opinion and then stand by it. Saying everyone and everything is brilliant all the time and then taking the piss out of everyone else who does give an opinion is tiresome and I absolutely stand by the smart arse comment whether you agree with it or not.
Will guess this won’t be the last thread that goes this way in the next 24 hours or so.
12-08-2021, 09:30 PM
Cross came from his side cause he put in a pathetic tackle in the cup final. His side for the 1st well goal. His side for the goal in andorra and his side for the 1st and lost his man for the 3rd. We need better if we are to perform at this level.
If we’re going to go back to individual moments to have a pop - your namesake was guilty of the same thing you’re trying to pin on McGinn in the cup final. Boyle was first as it was his man.
Thankfully, like Boyle, McGinn has by enlarge been very good in his time with us.
You also realise that you can be expansive and still be solid at the back, other teams manage to do that, it's not just better defenders but better all round players all over the park. Boyle was poor tonight, as was Nisbet, if we want to play a pressing game we'll need better fitter players.
EdinburghHibern
12-08-2021, 09:38 PM
Correct me if I'm wrong but if there are continuous calls for threads to be deleted then what is the point in having a fans forum?
FWIW McGinn hasn't been at the races recently. Was surprised to see him as Captain also.
12-08-2021, 09:46 PM
If we’re going to go back to individual moments to have a pop - your namesake was guilty of the same thing you’re trying to pin on McGinn in the cup final. Boyle was first as it was his man.
Thankfully, like Boyle, McGinn has by enlarge been very good in his time with us.
Correct boyle was equally at fault for that goal and I was fuming with boyles performance in the final. The point I am trying to make is that its becoming an alarmingly regular occurrence that goals are coming from mcginns mistakes or just poor play. He should be dropped but we have no ready replacements and is one of JRs favs so fully expect him to continue costing us goals.
Stokesy's on fire
13-08-2021, 06:39 AM
Paul McGinn is handy squad player to have but in terms of first 11 not so much. If we are to aim to win cups or compete in europe we really need to be morw ambitious when it comes to recruitment.
13-08-2021, 06:42 AM
He’s a good SPL level right back. He’s not particularly in-form, but he’s shown what he’s capable of for us since we signed him.
I thought he’d be a ***** signing, I was wrong.
BobMilne
13-08-2021, 07:04 AM
You're making stuff up again.
I can't be bothered with this. You're right. Just as you will be the next time you pull me up. And the next time. And the next time, etc.
Away and bore someone else.
You got burned!
13-08-2021, 07:46 AM
Correct me if I'm wrong but if there are continuous calls for threads to be deleted then what is the point in having a fans forum?
FWIW McGinn hasn't been at the races recently. Was surprised to see him as Captain also.
He was named vice captain at the start of the season due no doubt to him being an excellent professional. He has served us very well since he came in however hasn't started the season so well though he did well on Sunday including an excellent assist. He did struggle yesterday and he will only know that too well. Looks like he may be carrying a knock of something like that as seems slow and indecisive at present. Hopefully gets back to his best soon.
13-08-2021, 07:51 AM
No competition for a place and it shows
So many goals already this season alone have came in from crosses down his side.
Can’t believe anyone wouldn’t want a right back in purely for competition alone
The vice captain thing I think is a joke
McGinn is never a captain, would have gave it to porteous
EdinburghHibern
13-08-2021, 07:54 AM
Couldn't believe Paul McGinn was captain last night.
I'd have had McGregor as Captain.
13-08-2021, 07:56 AM
You can't live off a good season before and he has started this season poor but no one available at the moment to replace him for a few games.
13-08-2021, 08:18 AM
What difference do you think that would’ve made to the performance? McGinn might have been a minute bit quicker, not having the weight of the armband on his arm, that’s about all.
13-08-2021, 08:20 AM
You got burned!You only make about 3 posts per year yet you use one to have a needless pop at me? I'm humbled.
EdinburghHibern
13-08-2021, 08:26 AM
What difference do you think that would’ve made to the performance? McGinn might have been a minute bit quicker, not having the weight of the armband on his arm, that’s about all.
When you look at McGinn you don't exactly think that's a captain. When you look at McGregor and know hes a fan that loves the club,you then think he'd be a good captain.
13-08-2021, 08:29 AM
When you look at McGinn you don't exactly think that's a captain. When you look at McGregor and know hes a fan that loves the club,you then think he'd be a good captain.
Aye but the armband doesn’t change how they play. McGregor is just as vocal and just as much of a leader without the armband. The naming of a captain is an admin exercise as much as anything.
13-08-2021, 08:56 AM
He is our official vice captain.
13-08-2021, 11:19 AM
I like McGinn but he’s not good enough.
loanheadhibby
13-08-2021, 11:41 AM
He's a decent SPL player but that's his level. That's not a criticism of him - that's our level as well. But he was exposed tonight and won't be the player to move us forward against the better sides we face. Cadden back from injury will give us good competition and another option.
That's how I feel if we want to finish above Aberdeen and Hearts we need better than Paul McGinn.
A previous poster states he has been a brilliant signing and was fantastic last season. Opinions eh that's what a proper fans forum is all about.
13-08-2021, 11:47 AM
That's how I feel if we want to finish above Aberdeen and Hearts we need better than Paul McGinn.
A previous poster states he has been a brilliant signing and was fantastic last season. Opinions eh that's what a proper fans forum is all about.
To play devils advocate I am pretty sure we just did finish above these teams with him in the team.
loanheadhibby
13-08-2021, 11:49 AM
To play devils advocate I am pretty sure we just did finish above these teams with him in the team.
Fair point but Hearts were in the Championship and I'll sure you'll agree it was a very poor Aberdeen team from January onwards culminating in the end of Derek McInnes.
EdinburghHibern
13-08-2021, 12:06 PM
We all know the defence needs rebuilt. Its clear as day.
14-08-2021, 05:00 PM
Hearts really?
Mr. Wonderful
14-08-2021, 08:57 PM
Aberdeen, who have defenders like considine and Hearts who have more or less the same back line they got relegated with?
14-08-2021, 09:03 PM
McGinn's not great. But do we have a choice?
Block
14-08-2021, 09:04 PM
We all know the defence needs rebuilt. Its clear as day.
We need to add a CH no doubt but Hanlon and Porto our first team choices are different class. Paul McGinn has lost a wee bitty form but will be find it again as all good players do.
We're sitting top of the league. Calm doon.