View Full Version : Yogi Hughes

AT8
08-08-2021, 04:15 PM
I know he’s not everyone’s cup of tea but I’m really enjoying his input and could listen to him talk about football all day long.

Lendo
08-08-2021, 04:17 PM
Seems like a really nice down to earth guy. Used to see him in the Persevere having lunch with his family often.

08-08-2021, 04:21 PM
Think he’s a top man and hope to see him back in a decent job soon.

08-08-2021, 05:15 PM
Think he’s a top man and hope to see him back in a decent job soon.

He's an arse whose traducing of Martin Boyle last season should have meant he'd never again be an honoured guest of the club. Hope we're not paying him for these appearances.
Gtf Yogi.

08-08-2021, 05:19 PM
He has endless enthusiasm, but I can't be the only one who is always left wondering if he is playing with a full deck?

08-08-2021, 07:09 PM
I think what you are trying to say is, if you can’t say something nice about someone, don’t say anything at all.

No, what I'm trying to say is, he's an arse.

08-08-2021, 07:14 PM
He's an arse whose traducing of Martin Boyle last season should have meant he'd never again be an honoured guest of the club. Hope we're not paying him for these appearances.
Gtf Yogi.

It’s almost as if he was the manager of another club at the time.

Clarence
08-08-2021, 07:18 PM
Yogi folk ken whit’s gaun oan.

08-08-2021, 07:20 PM
Gtf Yogi.

He’d not have a clue what this excellent use of the verb meant. I like him mind you.

08-08-2021, 10:04 PM
No, what I'm trying to say is, he's an arse.

And a slaver!

Deek01
09-08-2021, 06:33 AM
Gtf Yogi.

Clear dive to be fair.

CJHibby
09-08-2021, 09:33 AM
Deek01 is right. I personally found his assessment of Martin going down easily was given in a jocular way and so came across less embittered.

09-08-2021, 09:36 AM
And a slaver!

Now that he undeniably is, regardless of anyone’s opinion on him 😁

pundy man
09-08-2021, 09:53 AM
I know he’s not everyone’s cup of tea but I’m really enjoying his input and could listen to him talk about football all day long.
Shocking that folk on this rip him the way he speaks , he ain’t a professor of at a uni , he’s a leither who has had a great career and most we would all envy .
He’s excellent in the studio and knows the game inside out.

09-08-2021, 09:57 AM
I remain a fan of Yogi the man but my respect for him did take a wee dent for his remarks about Boyle and they did rather open the door for the Sportsound brigade and the rest of the anti Hibs mob to put the boot in on Scotlands most fouled player.

09-08-2021, 09:58 AM
It’s almost as if he was the manager of another club at the time.

Got to be said his verbal attack on Boyle last season was totally out of order imo and a wee bit surprised he still got back on to Hibs tv quite so easily.

09-08-2021, 09:59 AM
I remain a fan of Yogi the man but my respect for him did take a wee dent for his remarks about Boyle and they did rather open the door for the Sportsound brigade and the rest of the anti Hibs mob to put the boot in on Scotlands most fouled player.

Agree with that completely

09-08-2021, 10:11 AM
Shocking that folk on this rip him the way he speaks , he ain’t a professor of at a uni , he’s a leither who has had a great career and most we would all envy .
He’s excellent in the studio and knows the game inside out.Lochender, surely.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

CJHibby
09-08-2021, 10:17 AM
We're a sensitive lot, no? Boyle tumbled easily and Yogi made a quip about needing speedos..

09-08-2021, 02:33 PM
I thought that he would have been a decent candidate for the Dunfermline job. Might have reinvented himself as a temporary fixer rather than a long term option.

Earlydelivery
09-08-2021, 02:37 PM
Lochender, surely.

Us Lochenders can speak properly.

09-08-2021, 02:45 PM
He was supposedly getting the Celtic colts job not sure what happened.

09-08-2021, 02:53 PM
I thought that he would have been a decent candidate for the Dunfermline job. Might have reinvented himself as a temporary fixer rather than a long term option.

That seems to be exactly what he’s become these days.

Still plenty of Scottish clubs he’s not worked at mind so I imagine he will be back in the dug out sooner or later.

09-08-2021, 04:18 PM
I've met him and been in his company a few times. He's a cracking guy and don't have a bad word to say about him.

Martin Boyle is prone to the odd dive and going down rather easily. My words and opinion for what it's worth. Better ban me from Easter Rd.

09-08-2021, 04:25 PM
I've met him and been in his company a few times. He's a cracking guy and don't have a bad word to say about him.

Martin Boyle is prone to the odd dive and going down rather easily. My words and opinion for what it's worth. Better ban me from Easter Rd.

As you desire sir.

Banned:greengrin

09-08-2021, 04:34 PM
As you desire sir.

Banned:greengrinHe's OUR diver tho! Lol.

To be fair, it does feel like he goes down 'easy' sometimes... I've watched the replays and quite often he was definitely brought down, unfortunately the refs now lean on the 'totally, 1 million percent definitely was impeded' before they'll give the benefit of the doubt. Flip side if its not one million % they'll book him... I end up raging half the time!

09-08-2021, 04:35 PM
Not sure I worded that previous post right, hopefully you know what I mean .

EI255
09-08-2021, 05:16 PM
Yip. I agree. He's really good on Hibs TV. Keep it up son

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

09-08-2021, 05:19 PM
Lochender, surely.

I thought he was from the Banana flats. Maybe it’s just the banana bit.

09-08-2021, 05:34 PM
I thought he was from the Banana flats. Maybe it’s just the banana bit.Growing up I had a cousin living in Lochend. Played football on the corner greens more than a few times and Yogi was there on occasion. I might be wrong, maybe he was visiting his cousin too. [emoji848]

09-08-2021, 06:22 PM
I missed the match yesterday so have been watching bits & pieces today.

I thought Yogi was great and his knowledge of County added interest.

I've enjoyed Dougie Donelly as anchor, but I thought Gordon Smart was excellent and the chat between Yogi & him was interesting but above all really natural.

Not that it matters much now that the supporters are being allowed back. I don't know if they'll be continuing the studio set up.

pundy man
09-08-2021, 06:22 PM
Lochender, surely.

No from the kirkgate

09-08-2021, 06:35 PM
No from the kirkgateCheers

EI255
09-08-2021, 08:56 PM
Like Gordon Smart too.

In fact, the whole Dougie D, Smartie boy and Yogi are a decent line up [emoji106]

09-08-2021, 09:17 PM
Like Gordon Smart too.

In fact, the whole Dougie D, Smartie boy and Yogi are a decent line up [emoji106]

Yup, the Kirkgate boy done good....

10-08-2021, 04:08 AM
No from the kirkgate
Giles Street.