View Full Version : Umbrella to Easter Road?

john18722
08-08-2021, 10:27 AM
Stupid question but does anyone know if they allow umbrellas into the ground? Cheers

08-08-2021, 10:31 AM
As long as it hasn’t got a poisonous tip you should be grand.

john18722
08-08-2021, 10:33 AM
As long as it hasn’t got a poisonous tip you should be grand.

It does. Damn.

08-08-2021, 10:34 AM
Tell them it`s a parasol if they don`t let umbrellas in

08-08-2021, 10:38 AM
Stupid question but does anyone know if they allow umbrellas into the ground? Cheers

You can't bring in a full size one because it could be used as a weapon but a collapsable 10 inch effort would fit in your coat and you wouldn't be tempted to open it at the game because you would look like a weapon, especially if it's your wife's and it has flowers on it. :wink:

08-08-2021, 10:38 AM
Tell them it`s a parasol if they don`t let umbrellas inSectarianism in Scotland is alive and well.[emoji6]

What about souwesters?

08-08-2021, 10:39 AM
Sectarianism in Scotland is alive and well.[emoji6]

What about souwesters?

A ten gallon hat should keep anyone dry, wouldn`t want to be sitting behind it tho

08-08-2021, 10:41 AM
There's a possibility of thunder and lightning today, so you best take a plastic one.

08-08-2021, 10:51 AM

On days like this back in the 1970s they were essential for the east terrace. About 6 people under a green and white golf umbrella ☔😁

08-08-2021, 11:13 AM
A ten gallon hat should keep anyone dry, wouldn`t want to be sitting behind it thoWe really need one of those innovative, unique weather protection facilities like they have in the not at all ever wet media "area" at Tynecastle.

Plastic Screens I think they're called.

leith lynx
08-08-2021, 11:17 AM
A ten gallon hat should keep anyone dry, wouldn`t want to be sitting behind it tho

Always thought we would rue the day when shops stopped the free plastic bags! bring back the ponchos, are you listening Ron?...

Logie Green
08-08-2021, 11:17 AM

Only if it’s wearing a mask.

08-08-2021, 11:19 AM
There's a possibility of thunder and lightning today, so you best take a plastic one.

“Here, Robbie, can you hold my brollie for me?”

08-08-2021, 11:23 AM
Always thought we would rue the day when shops stopped the free plastic bags! bring back the ponchos, are you listening Ron?...

Ha ha - I have a very vague memory of being giving a poncho at a sporting event - was that Easter Rd? Must have been decades ago

Lendo
08-08-2021, 11:25 AM
On days like this back in the 1970s they were essential for the east terrace. About 6 people under a green and white golf umbrella ☔😁

Days like this?! It’s beautiful blue skies over Abbeyhill just now.

08-08-2021, 11:26 AM
Days like this?! It’s beautiful blue skies over Abbeyhill just now.

OK, but what is the forecast for the rest of the day? 🌧️⛈️

08-08-2021, 11:28 AM

Had a golf umbrella with me before, no issues.

Lendo
08-08-2021, 11:31 AM
OK, but what is the forecast for the rest of the day? 🌧️⛈️

I need to go out a run before the game so I’m trying not to look at the weather. It’ll just put me off 🙈

08-08-2021, 11:35 AM
I need to go out a run before the game so I’m trying not to look at the weather. It’ll just put me off 🙈

Just take a brolly

Lendo
08-08-2021, 11:36 AM
Just take a brolly

Bit excessive given I have my ten gallon hat.

08-08-2021, 11:37 AM

That’s a lot of rain that it can hold

08-08-2021, 11:38 AM
Went to U2 at Murrayfield with my sister had tickets on the pitch. Sister had an expensive umbrella. Security said it would have to be put in the bin with the booze as it was an offensive weapon. Rolled up the programme showed how you could use that as an offensive weapon. Got in with it but saw many people with bottles of booze smuggled in.

Lendo
08-08-2021, 11:40 AM
Went to U2 at Murray field with my sister had tickets on the pitch. Sister had an expensive umbrella. Security said it would have to be put in the bin with the booze as it was an offensive weapon. Rolled up the programme showed how you could use that as an offensive weapon. Got in with it but saw many people with bottles of booze smuggled in.

I once witnessed a man at T in the Park smuggle in a single bottle of Becks inside a hollowed out baguette.

08-08-2021, 11:45 AM
Saw people who had wine boxes which had been taken out the box attached to their bodies with tape. They seem to know many people judging by the number of people hugging them. Flares were the best thing that happened to fashion in the 70s hid the booze stuffed into your socks

08-08-2021, 11:51 AM

What about the poncho to go with it, tonto 😉

BFG
08-08-2021, 05:52 PM
Ha ha - I have a very vague memory of being giving a poncho at a sporting event - was that Easter Rd? Must have been decades ago
It happened in the 1980s behind the goals after the roof suffered storm damage everyone sitting near the damaged area was issued with a plastic poncho

08-08-2021, 06:26 PM
It happened in the 1980s behind the goals after the roof suffered storm damage everyone sitting near the damaged area was issued with a plastic poncho

That was before my time supporting Hibs. Now I`m wracking my brain trying to think where on earth I was given a poncho!

08-08-2021, 06:40 PM
Saw a guy getting knocked back for having a small rucksack.

I know that’s the new rules but what is the point in that?

steve75
08-08-2021, 06:50 PM

Covid hides in opaque bags.

08-08-2021, 07:39 PM
That was before my time supporting Hibs. Now I`m wracking my brain trying to think where on earth I was given a poncho!

1994/95, just before they built the FF and South Stands, there were seats on the open terracing and Hibs issued wee plastic ponchos to everybody sitting there.

They were yellow (I think) with thistle logos.

08-08-2021, 08:24 PM
Went to U2 at Murrayfield with my sister had tickets on the pitch. Sister had an expensive umbrella. Security said it would have to be put in the bin with the booze as it was an offensive weapon. Rolled up the programme showed how you could use that as an offensive weapon. Got in with it but saw many people with bottles of booze smuggled in.

With the Pogues in support smuggling would have been on the Rider.

08-08-2021, 08:29 PM

Saw someone getting a chat at East stand - seems a bit excessive. Could they have lockers at back of east for people with bags ? Tricky as I guess it could be a security risk ?

08-08-2021, 09:15 PM
That'd be something.
Hibs and Hearts going at it with furled golf umbrellas. Have at you!

08-08-2021, 10:03 PM
1994/95, just before they built the FF and South Stands, there were seats on the open terracing and Hibs issued wee plastic ponchos to everybody sitting there.

They were yellow (I think) with thistle logos.

That's it exactly, I knew it was at ER. I remember we had games during the daytime because we didn't have floodlights

08-08-2021, 10:37 PM
That'd be something.
Hibs and Hearts going at it with furled golf umbrellas. Have at you!

Sounds very Clockwork Orange

08-08-2021, 10:48 PM
In the early 1990s before the new North and South Stands opened, the plastic ponchos were distributed to those in a number of areas including the North Paddock in front of the old Main Stand whenever it rained.

EI255
10-08-2021, 02:56 PM
On days like this back in the 1970s they were essential for the east terrace. About 6 people under a green and white golf umbrella [emoji299][emoji16]And in the 80s it was Burberry umbrellas in the terracing. Handy weapon of choice iirc.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

11-08-2021, 07:51 AM
Ive had an umbrella taken off me goin intae fitba, got it back fae stewards afterwards, whole pile of them in a corner, maybe bring a collapsable as someone mentioned, oh if its still raining after the game, hope that nobody has said to the stewards "thats my brolly in the corner" as it might go walkies.

11-08-2021, 11:26 AM
Covid hides in opaque bags.

...and explosives