View Full Version : Favourite Scottish band / artist
06-08-2021, 06:05 PM
For a daft country wee have produced some great signers/bands AWB
Gallagher & Lyle Gerry Raffety Big country Part of AC/DC and many others and of course The Proclaimers . Any others
06-08-2021, 06:15 PM
All those you mentioned plus off the top of my head..
Nazareth
SAHB
The Skids
The Rezillos
Orange Juice
Hue and Cry
Aztec Camera
Thats up to the early 90s, hunners more 🏴
06-08-2021, 06:18 PM
The Beltanes
Jesus and Mary Chain
The Associates
06-08-2021, 06:43 PM
Scotland does indeed punch above its weight in terms of bands. Some bands I like not yet been mentioned.
Teenage Fanclub
Belle & Sebastian
Camera Obscura
Sons & Daughters
Mull Historical Society
Franz Ferdinand
Travis
Del Amitri
Texas
Neon Waltz
Should also shout out to We Were Promised Jet Packs as they’re decent and I play football with them.
06-08-2021, 07:02 PM
Just a few from me
70’s Pilot
80’s Hipsway/Blue Nile/Hue and Cry
And let’s not forget Rod😀
06-08-2021, 07:11 PM
Scotland does indeed punch above its weight in terms of bands. Some bands I like not yet been mentioned.
Teenage Fanclub
Belle & Sebastian
Camera Obscura
Sons & Daughters
Mull Historical Society
Franz Ferdinand
Travis
Del Amitri
Texas
Neon Waltz
Should also shout out to We Were Promised Jet Packs as they’re decent and I play football with them.
And not forgetting The Delgados.
06-08-2021, 07:20 PM
Just a few from me
70’s Pilot
80’s Hipsway/Blue Nile/Hue and Cry
And let’s not forget Rod😀oj
patch1875
06-08-2021, 07:29 PM
Gun
Teenage Fanclub
The Jesus & Mary Chain
The Vaselines
Primal Scream
The Cinematics
Buffy Clyro
Hue and Cry
Annie Lennox
Simple Minds
Big Country
The Skids
Ultravox
06-08-2021, 08:55 PM
Wet Wet Wet
TTF
Horse
Callum Beattie
Just_Jimmy
06-08-2021, 09:11 PM
idlewild
Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk
06-08-2021, 09:12 PM
Bay City Rollers, obviously.
Block
06-08-2021, 09:19 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qWEFNFsFrgE
Classic from Jim Diamond.
Block
06-08-2021, 09:28 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UAhRs9ZfLj4
Belter fae the Corries.
06-08-2021, 09:31 PM
Edinburgh born genius
https://youtu.be/dmSZ4gdv4KA
06-08-2021, 09:33 PM
I remember watching this.
https://youtu.be/FGT0A2Hz-uk
Block
06-08-2021, 09:34 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XfaZuIM3Ehc
Andy Chung singing a well known scots folk tune.
06-08-2021, 09:40 PM
Anyone but Biffy f***ing Clyro for me 😁
Plenty already mentioned but:
The snuts
Deacon blue
Runrig
Emilie Sande
I won’t count Rod Stewart 😉
Key West
06-08-2021, 09:48 PM
Dick Gaughan
Kevin Gore
Rabbie Burns
Kris Drever
Not in any order.
06-08-2021, 09:48 PM
If you're old enough you might remember the Incredible String Band, Donovan, Maggie Bell, Marmalade, Maggie Riley. More recent favourite Love and Money.
06-08-2021, 09:54 PM
All these posts and no David Byrne? 😮
Personal favourites would be James Grant, Roddy Frame, the Cocteau Twins, Goodbye Mr Mackenzie . More to follow....
In terms of influence, Bert Jansch (without whom there might not have been Led Zeppelin) and Ian Stewart (ditto for the Stones)
Key West
06-08-2021, 09:56 PM
Forgot Michael Marra.
Santa Cruz
06-08-2021, 09:58 PM
No particular order
Deacon Blue
Gerry Rafferty
Goodbye Mr Mackenzie
Marti Pellow
Annie Lennox
Texas
06-08-2021, 09:59 PM
Fags n Matches
06-08-2021, 10:01 PM
Forgot Michael Marra.I have to lump in Rod Paterson & the late Davy Steele & Andy M Stewart (RIP the pair of them).
Key West
06-08-2021, 10:03 PM
I have to lump in Rod Paterson & the late Davy Steele & Andy M Stewart (RIP the pair of them).
I plead ignorance, I’ll give them a listen.
Key West
06-08-2021, 10:07 PM
Kevin Gore, a friend and an excellent Edinburgh singer/songwriter and a good Hibby, very talented and extremely underrated.
06-08-2021, 10:17 PM
I plead ignorance, I’ll give them a listen.Rod
https://youtu.be/5EjdptVBFdE
Davy
https://youtu.be/-5NQX9KvMT4
Andy M. Stewart
https://youtu.be/Pu2pz1qc1uc
Dougie McLean merits a mention too.
06-08-2021, 10:25 PM
The View
Stairway 2 7
06-08-2021, 10:39 PM
The View
The view the view the view are on fire. Unbelievable band
A fair amount of guff above, I think we've underperformed as a nation, compare us to London or Liverpool or Manchester and its a massacre. Sensational Alex Harvey were great tbf and obvious class like procs primal scream but nothing earth shattering. Our intentions and literature make it not matter though
06-08-2021, 11:35 PM
Big Country
Chvrches
TTF
07-08-2021, 12:41 AM
A fair amount of guff above, I think we've underperformed as a nation, compare us to London or Liverpool or Manchester and its a massacre. Sensational Alex Harvey were great tbf and obvious class like procs primal scream but nothing earth shattering. Our intentions and literature make it not matter though
When you consider what a backwater Scotland was in the post-war years it's hardly surprising that London, Liverpool, Manchester and even Birmingham had huge musical movements in the 50s and 60s while we had Kenneth McKellar and Lulu. Anybody who wanted to do anything had to move south and their Scottishness was diluted or even ignored. Guys like Jack Bruce and John Martyn were huge names in London in the early 60s but they weren't lauded as great Scottish musicians, just great musicians. Even now people like Jesse Rae are more appreciated around the world than in their own country. The Fire Engines are still influencing musicians 40 years after their last album. I think we've produced a lot of great musicians and great music. It's just that most people haven't heard it all.
07-08-2021, 12:56 AM
Fags n Matches
Haha legends. :greengrin
07-08-2021, 12:58 AM
Ultra Sonic
Q Tex
QFX
The Frattelies
The View
The Proclaimers.
07-08-2021, 05:39 AM
Arab Strap
Kathryn Joseph
Mogwai
Idlewild
Belle & Sebastian
Ballboy
Camera Obscura
Meursault
King Creosote
07-08-2021, 07:10 AM
Bert Jansch (and Pentangle)
Cocteau Twins
Jesus and Mary Chain
Think they may have all been mentioned before but they would be my personal favourites. Also The Proclaimers are massively underrated by a lot of people. They seem to have been dismissed as almost a novelty act by some but they are anything but.
Bridge hibs
07-08-2021, 07:43 AM
The Silencers
07-08-2021, 08:14 AM
Stairway 2 7
07-08-2021, 08:23 AM
First three albums were tremendous, only a shedload of the wally dugs stopped them from being more productive. Sung in Scottish also which should ban half of the above from the list.
https://youtu.be/oBEa7MgwiR8
Bridge hibs
07-08-2021, 09:09 AM
The 10:04s (think thats what they are called) Edinburgh band with a couple of hibs fans in the line up, wonder if they are still on the go
Memory cells kicking in again
Average White Band
Del Amitri
Marmalade
Sensational Alex Harvey Band
The Water Boys
Belle and Sebastian
Lewis Capaldi
Garbage
Paolo Nutini
Frightened Rabbit
Fish
Colin Hay (Men at Work)
Stiltskin
The Supernaturals
Geneva
Pilot
The Soup Dragons
We were Promised Jetpacks
Josef K
The Delgados
Fatherson
Dogs Die in Hot Cars
OK Social Club
I used to do an internet radio show a few years back doing Indie/Rock and alternative 80's, had to get the old grey matter working to remember most of these.
07-08-2021, 10:32 AM
The Proclaimers are massively underrated by a lot of people. They seem to have been dismissed as almost a novelty act by some but they are anything but.
The Proclaimers Live at Stirling Castle is on BBC Scotland @ 2230 tonight.
07-08-2021, 10:37 AM
Geneva
Tranquillizer is a classic.
I used to know Andrew the singer through work when he was temping to get some extra cash after Geneva had split. Nicest guy you could meet but put him on a 5s pitch and he was a crazed lunatic, don't think there was a single game where ne never got into a scrap!
Don't think The Scars have been mentioned, I was never a big fan but knew Paul and John at at school. Very influential band.
07-08-2021, 10:38 AM
Mogwai
The Beta Band
Arab Strap
Boards of Canada
Proclaimers
Goodbye Mr MacKenzie
Silencers (well 1st album anyway)
Lanark Artefax (live more than recorded)
07-08-2021, 12:22 PM
Marillion Fish era, for me, released 4 perfect albums.
07-08-2021, 12:28 PM
Average White Band
Del Amitri
Marmalade
Sensational Ale Harvey Band
The Water Boys
Belle and Sebastian
Lewis Capaldi
Garbage
Paolo Nutini
Frightened Rabbit
Fish
Colin Hay (Men at Work)
Stiltskin
The Supernaturals
Geneva
Pilot
The Soup Dragons
Josef K
The Delgados
Fatherson
Dogs Die in Hot Cars
OK Social Club
I used to do an internet radio show a few years back doing Indie/Rock and alternative 80's, had to get the old grey matter working to remember most of these.
The View not make the cut?
Dogs Die In Hot Cars...not thought about them for a long time. Good album they had, dunno if they had more than one though. I’m going to listen to them today 👍
Men at Work - Who can it be now? is a great song. Play it all the time.
The View not make the cut?
Dogs Die In Hot Cars...not thought about them for a long time. Good album they had, dunno if they had more than one though. I’m going to listen to them today 👍
Men at Work - Who can it be now? is a great song. Play it all the time.
The View was mentioned earlier in the thread, I was just trying to think of ones not been mentioned yet, there's so many more too like the Rising Souls, singer has a brilliant voice, he's from Penicuik but I think they've split now, seen them in LA Belle Angele a couple of years ago.
07-08-2021, 02:40 PM
Average White Band
Del Amitri
Marmalade
Sensational Alex Harvey Band
The Water Boys
Belle and Sebastian
Lewis Capaldi
Garbage
Paolo Nutini
Frightened Rabbit
Fish
Colin Hay (Men at Work)
Stiltskin
The Supernaturals
Geneva
Pilot
The Soup Dragons
Josef K
The Delgados
Fatherson
Dogs Die in Hot Cars
OK Social Club
My cousin was the guitarist in Geneva. They are reforming, but he can’t join as he now lives in California
07-08-2021, 06:14 PM
Lewis Capaldi
Garbage
A very apt review 😂
07-08-2021, 08:24 PM
The View was mentioned earlier in the thread, I was just trying to think of ones not been mentioned yet, there's so many more too like the Rising Souls, singer has a brilliant voice, he's from Penicuik but I think they've split now, seen them in LA Belle Angele a couple of years ago.
A couple of bands from the 90s that made cracking first albums and pretty dreadful follow-ups - The Big Dish and The River Detectives.
07-08-2021, 09:29 PM
A few tenuous connections there. Couldnt claim Ultavox were Scottish just because Mijure joined, as well claiming Thin Lizzy. [emoji6] Slik, however, no mention. If the Waterboys are in then Another Pretty Face are missing, Scott's Edinburgh Band. The Fire Engines missing off the Postcard set. Mowgli and the Doughnuts, Bilbo Baggins had no hits but were around for ages. M&TD had a get together on the death of a member a couple of years back. The Poets had hits in the 60s. Lonnie Donnegan kicked it all off. Not sure I saw (Meet) Danny Wilson in the list or Gary Clark as himself or King L.. Apart from a few solo, almost novelty hits, Brian (BA) Robertson has eked out a huge career as a songwriter.
Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk
07-08-2021, 09:29 PM
A couple of bands from the 90s that made cracking first albums and pretty dreadful follow-ups - The Big Dish and The River Detectives.I still love Saturday night and Sunday morning. Gets a regular rotation
07-08-2021, 09:40 PM
I still love Saturday night and Sunday morning. Gets a regular rotation
Yep me too, still love it.
07-08-2021, 09:45 PM
Primal Scream
Teenage Fanclub
BMX Bandits
The Pastels
Cocteau Twins
Shop Assistants
There are probably plenty of good indie/punk bands I've never heard of.
07-08-2021, 09:56 PM
Mogwai
The Beta Band
Arab Strap
Boards of Canada
Proclaimers
Goodbye Mr Mackenzie
Silencers (well 1st album anyway)
Lanark Artefax (live more than recorded)
Cracking
https://youtu.be/92DLh1WJUY4
07-08-2021, 10:01 PM
Was it the Shop Assistants who did the original, or was theirs the cover? Quality Edinburgh band.
https://youtu.be/ZSJs9SO1nEw
07-08-2021, 11:10 PM
The 10:04s (think thats what they are called) Edinburgh band with a couple of hibs fans in the line up, wonder if they are still on the go
Not forgetting The Nature Boys - "they look like the Clash, but sound bloody terrible" I think the lyrics were.
08-08-2021, 12:12 AM
This thread just seems like an exercise in naming the most obscure band you can think off.
1875godsgift
08-08-2021, 12:19 AM
Was it the Shop Assistants who did the original, or was theirs the cover? Quality Edinburgh band.
https://youtu.be/ZSJs9SO1nEw
Shop Assistants originally.
A few tenuous connections there. Couldnt claim Ultavox were Scottish just because Mijure joined, as well claiming Thin Lizzy. [emoji6] Slik, however, no mention. If the Waterboys are in then Another Pretty Face are missing, Scott's Edinburgh Band. The Fire Engines missing off the Postcard set. Mowgli and the Doughnuts, Bilbo Baggins had no hits but were around for ages. M&TD had a get together on the death of a member a couple of years back. The Poets had hits in the 60s. Lonnie Donnegan kicked it all off. Not sure I saw (Meet) Danny Wilson in the list or Gary Clark as himself or King L.. Apart from a few solo, almost novelty hits, Brian (BA) Robertson has eked out a huge career as a songwriter.
You're correct about Ultravox, when racking my brain Midge Ure popped into my head and I immediately wrote down Ultravox, funny though as I put down Annie Lennox as her musical partner Dave Stewart wasn't Scottish.
08-08-2021, 08:46 AM
Blue Rose Code.
Good Hibby as well as a talented guy. Do not a bad Sunshine on Leith.
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=hEAqShvKHNg
patch1875
08-08-2021, 09:28 AM
Don’t think we have had Altered Images yet.
Also Young Fathers
H18S NX
08-08-2021, 09:45 AM
Sensational Alex Harvey band
The writing on the wall
Three's a crowd
Stone the crows
Ayrshire Hibee
08-08-2021, 12:44 PM
SkidS
Goodbye Mr Mackenzie
Big Country
Simple Minds
Idlewild
Proclaimers
08-08-2021, 04:31 PM
Rod
https://youtu.be/5EjdptVBFdE
Davy
https://youtu.be/-5NQX9KvMT4
Andy M. Stewart
https://youtu.be/Pu2pz1qc1uc
Dougie McLean merits a mention too.
I’ve actually met and blethered with Andy M Stewart in his later life. Sort of a friend of friends. Always remember him scoffing at my appreciation of North Sea Gas, who I always liked, and did a great rendition of Andy’s ‘ramblin’ rover’ which I didn’t realise he’d wrote at this time. In fact, I didn’t know who the guy was when we sat, had a drink and he gave us a song or two. Believe he was good pals with Dougie McLean too.
08-08-2021, 05:32 PM
I’ve actually met and blethered with Andy M Stewart in his later life. Sort of a friend of friends. Always remember him scoffing at my appreciation of North Sea Gas, who I always liked, and did a great rendition of Andy’s ‘ramblin’ rover’ which I didn’t realise he’d wrote at this time. In fact, I didn’t know who the guy was when we sat, had a drink and he gave us a song or two. Believe he was good pals with Dougie McLean too.He was a great talent. His voice was a wee bit too nasal for my liking but it's power, range and accuracy more than made up for it.
He wrote some great songs and as part of Silly Wizard he influenced a whole generation of traditional musicians - still does in fact.
Just remembered another one
We Were Promised Jetpacks
08-08-2021, 07:06 PM
Don’t think we have had Altered Images yet.
Also Young Fathers
Good call, i’ll add Young Fathers to my list..Especially live.
08-08-2021, 08:34 PM
Mull Historical Society
Admiral Fallow
The Trashcan Sinatras
Peanut Shaz
09-08-2021, 07:15 AM
I have to lump in Rod Paterson & the late Davy Steele & Andy M Stewart (RIP the pair of them).
I worked with Davy Steeles Son for a few years. He was very proud of his Dad.
10-08-2021, 05:53 PM
I worked with Davy Steeles Son for a few years. He was very proud of his Dad.I knew Davy pretty well but don't think I ever met his son, although one of my pals was best of mates with him when he arrived in Edinburgh from the states in the mid 80s.
I could listen to Davy singing all night - and sometimes did. We had some fantastic lock-ins/sessions at folkie events all over the place and he could sing everything from Burns to AC/DC, passing by Sinatra. One of my favourite ever voices.
Peanut Shaz
10-08-2021, 06:03 PM
I knew Davy pretty well but don't think I ever met his son, although one of my pals was best of mates with him when he arrived in Edinburgh from the states in the mid 80s.
I could listen to Davy singing all night - and sometimes did. We had some fantastic lock-ins/sessions at folkie events all over the place and he could sing everything from Burns to AC/DC, passing by Sinatra. One of my favourite ever voices.
His Son David now lives in the Wirral and is a teacher.
Occasionally comes up to Prestonpans to see family.We keep saying we should meet up but it never happens.
06-09-2021, 08:04 PM
Primal Scream
Teenage Fanclub
BMX Bandits
The Pastels
Cocteau Twins
Shop Assistants
There are probably plenty of good indie/punk bands I've never heard of.Early Soupdragons stuff is really good, heavily influenced by the buzzcocks. The hang ten compilation album picks up most of that stuff from around 85/86.
In terms of punk, there's plenty. Toxik Ephex, the Threats, Newtown grunts, Distorted Truth are all worth checking out.