View Full Version : Sportsound

06-08-2021, 10:39 AM
After I'd finished watching the game last night I tuned into Sportsound for the last 15-20 mins, I don't think Hibs were even mentioned, it was all Aberdeen apart from 30 seconds or so about Celtic. Maybe just as well I hardly ever listen to that programme nowadays.

06-08-2021, 10:48 AM
Hearts weren't playing so it defaults to pretty much the Aberdeen Show.

It's a program that's dying on its feet.

bringbackbenny
06-08-2021, 12:01 PM
After I'd finished watching the game last night I tuned into Sportsound for the last 15-20 mins, I don't think Hibs were even mentioned, it was all Aberdeen apart from 30 seconds or so about Celtic. Maybe just as well I hardly ever listen to that programme nowadays.

Spot on. Willie Miller was embarrassing. Slavering incoherent drivel about Aberdeen in general hardly mentioned their game (which was still on). In fact at one point I'm convinced he was going through the Aberdeen team sheet bumming up each and every one of the players. Not a mention of the Hibs score, post match analysis etc.

06-08-2021, 12:04 PM
I stopped listening years ago

Aberdeen love in and likes of Preston and Miller slavering away, well past it’s sell by date

06-08-2021, 12:08 PM
not trying to defend them, god forbid, but they weredoing live commentary of the aberdeen game so it makes sense that was given more coverage.

What I found annoying was there were not seperate text updates for each game on thh BBC Sport web pages. we had all the updates from St Johnstone, Aberdeen and Hibs games all jumbled together. bloody confusing

Prof. Shaggy
06-08-2021, 12:16 PM
not trying to defend them, god forbid, but they weredoing live commentary of the aberdeen game so it makes sense that was given more coverage.

What I found annoying was there were not seperate text updates for each game on thh BBC Sport web pages. we had all the updates from St Johnstone, Aberdeen and Hibs games all jumbled together. bloody confusing

So, if I've got this right: 2 weeks ago their live coverage was the Aberdeen game while Hibs played Santa C; last week their live coverage was the Aberdeen game again while Hibs played Santa C; and last night they provided live coverage of the Celtic game, the St Johnstone game and the Aberdeen game while Hibs played Rijeka. :confused:

loanheadhibby
06-08-2021, 12:21 PM

What bugs me, is that Saints game on tv and radio. Why not have one or the other so they can spread around commentaries.

06-08-2021, 12:21 PM
Show is full of wallopers.

Preston/English/Miller and various slavering guests.

I listen to Super Scoreboard on Clyde 1. Much better laugh.

06-08-2021, 12:27 PM
Preston also said Callum Davidson has never lost a cup tie - he lost one on penalties last year to Dundee United in the league cup groups. They were slavering that much that they never even knew the Aberdeen game had finished.

06-08-2021, 12:27 PM
Every single time they've sent a commentary team to whoever Aberdeen are playing and haven't bothered with us.

If we get through and play PAOK they'll probably still cover the Aberdeen game against whatever team they're up against.

06-08-2021, 12:29 PM

What I found annoying was there were not seperate text updates for each game on thh BBC Sport web pages. we had all the updates from St Johnstone, Aberdeen and Hibs games all jumbled together. bloody confusingWere they? What channel? The dab feed was in the studio as I turned it on to walk to the car. Broadcast finished at 10. 2 weeks back it went after 10 on to ensure it got interviews etc. Guessing big effort for Celtic. Live stream of St J fell into their lap and then minimum for Aberseen and Hibs. With Millar on, edging it towards the Dons for favourites

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk

06-08-2021, 12:31 PM
Haven't listened to it for probably more than a decade now. Used to be essential listening on matchday and part of the routine but it got horrendously bad back then and sounds like it's still as bad, if not worse. It needed a shake up back then and they really should've sorted it by now.

I'll still give 'Off The Ball' a listen if I'm in the car at the time it's on, but I don't go out of my way to listen to that either these days.

The_Sauz
06-08-2021, 12:38 PM
The BBC website is very poor when it come's to teams outside Glasgow! For the past 3 day's all they seemed to care about was both old firm team's playing to a full house and what players they were going to sign.
I was hoping they would have all the team news about the Scottish teams that were due to play in Europe this week, but found nothing but small articles the day of the match.
You had to dig deep on the site to get anything about the conference league scores last night:grr:

MartinfaePorty
06-08-2021, 12:39 PM
The coverage of Scottish Football on the BBC, compared to both the English men's and women's games, is an absolute disgrace. And that's before I start moaning about how my old banger of a car can't get AM, so can't listen to whatever is left of the midweek programme on the drive home! The Scottish Championship should be an exciting, competitive league and it's great that we are getting the odd live game, but how difficult / costly would it be to have a 'Football First' type programme to show highlights of all the games, plus Leagues 1 and 2 (although no Derek Johnstone please!)?

06-08-2021, 12:43 PM

They need to do what sky did and get rid of the old guard. What young kids nowadays know who Wullie Miller is, same with Preston and Ferguson. Jim Spence, another rocket is that Richard Gordon

06-08-2021, 01:02 PM
I wasnt disappointed in the coverage of the Hibs game as I expect nothing from them.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

06-08-2021, 01:13 PM
I wasnt disappointed in the coverage of the Hibs game as I expect nothing from them.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

:agree: I used to get angry with the muppets on this programme as I was convinced there was an anti-Hibs agenda. I’ve mellowed and have come to the conclusion that they simply just have no interest in Hibs whatsoever, unless,of-course, they have nothing else to report on.

06-08-2021, 01:35 PM
:agree: I used to get angry with the muppets on this programme as I was convinced there was an anti-Hibs agenda. I’ve mellowed and have come to the conclusion that they simply just have no interest in Hibs whatsoever, unless,of-course, they have nothing else to report on.

Or if it's something to our disadvantage. I can't quite remember getting the prolonged, fawning treatment like Aberdeen and Hearts get regularly.

06-08-2021, 01:39 PM
Hearts weren't playing so it defaults to pretty much the Aberdeen Show.

It's a program that's dying on its feet.

A once 'must listen' show has become something that id rather not listen to at all and can't remember when i last did.

06-08-2021, 01:44 PM
Were they? What channel? The dab feed was in the studio as I turned it on to walk to the car. Broadcast finished at 10. 2 weeks back it went after 10 on to ensure it got interviews etc. Guessing big effort for Celtic. Live stream of St J fell into their lap and then minimum for Aberseen and Hibs. With Millar on, edging it towards the Dons for favourites

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk

Correct - there was no live commentary of the Aberdeen game, just loads of waffle from Willie Miller - the Hibs game barely got a mention. I thought Aberdeen had won the competition the way they were talking about it

06-08-2021, 02:03 PM
I only caught about ten minutes in my way to work but John Collins was covering the Hibs game and was waxing lyrical. During the ten minutes it was about equal time with Miller covering the Aberdeen game. There was also the start of an interview with the St Johnstone chairman by phone from Turkey. That ten minutes seemed pretty balanced.

06-08-2021, 06:56 PM
The BBC website is very poor when it come's to teams outside Glasgow! For the past 3 day's all they seemed to care about was both old firm team's playing to a full house and what players they were going to sign.
I was hoping they would have all the team news about the Scottish teams that were due to play in Europe this week, but found nothing but small articles the day of the match.
You had to dig deep on the site to get anything about the conference league scores last night:grr:

The BBC website is poor full stop.

There are six games every week in our top flight, yet the BBC can only be bothered to feature four in its "Things To Watch". It happened all last season, and they're at it again this week (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/58089898). How difficult is it to put together a couple of paragraphs on each game?

norhfc
06-08-2021, 07:04 PM
When Gary Lineker gets paid more than the BBC use for covering the whole of Scottish football you just know you are going to get the cheapest of the cheap crap.

06-08-2021, 09:11 PM
I only caught about ten minutes in my way to work but John Collins was covering the Hibs game and was waxing lyrical. During the ten minutes it was about equal time with Miller covering the Aberdeen game. There was also the start of an interview with the St Johnstone chairman by phone from Turkey. That ten minutes seemed pretty balanced.

I got back to the motor in time for the round up to hear a good 5 mins of John Collins talking about Celtic followed by laddish pish from Willie Miller on discotheques and St Johnstone getting home at half 4.

Allez Hibs
06-08-2021, 09:28 PM
Sorry but take the blinkers off, John Collins was full of praise for Hibs and Michael Stewart praising the depth of our squad tonight saying we have greater depth than Aberdeen.

Sportsound coverage is excellent, especially open all mics on a Saturday. Full off personalities. Michael Steward and Leanne Crichton are brilliant on it and very articulate.

07-08-2021, 08:03 PM
It's my only option for Scottish football and it's gone down drastically the past few years. Jane Lewis constantly gets guests names wrong, and can't believe Chic picks up a wage for the little he contributes.

07-08-2021, 08:09 PM
It's my only option for Scottish football and it's gone down drastically the past few years. Jane Lewis constantly gets guests names wrong, and can't believe Chic picks up a wage for the little he contributes.

Agree about both. How Chick has managed to come back from retirement beggars belief. Listened to an older interview he had with arguably the best Scottish player ever Denis Law a few years back absolutely butchered it with his ridiculous awful patter.

07-08-2021, 08:13 PM
Sportsound has its place in my heart. When it’s good it’s excellent, it’s mostly background noise until something Hibs is mentioned, occasionally it’s ****ing dreadful but I have only once thought about writing to the show to complain: when Ferguson and Dodds were trying to claim that the orange kits Rangers wore were tributes to the Dutch contingent that hadn’t kicked a ball for Rangers for 7/8 years at the time.

I will say that they made longs saturdays on a farm at harvest a lot more bearable.

Ron D Hibbie
07-08-2021, 08:15 PM
Sorry but take the blinkers off, John Collins was full of praise for Hibs and Michael Stewart praising the depth of our squad tonight saying we have greater depth than Aberdeen.

Sportsound coverage is excellent, especially open all mics on a Saturday. Full off personalities. Michael Steward and Leanne Crichton are brilliant on it and very articulate.
No more drink for you tonight

loanheadhibby
07-08-2021, 08:24 PM

Totally agree, some of the criticism on here is juvenile and quite frankly pathetic.

Newhaven
07-08-2021, 08:30 PM
Blinkers well and truly off here but the programme and off the ball are well past there sell by date.

They have obvious favourite teams, poor summarisers (Alan Preston anyone?) and a general hate of hibs like the BBC themselves.

Dying a slow death and won’t shed a tear when it gets pulled.

07-08-2021, 08:32 PM
Dont know what we are more obsessed with, The media or Rangers.

07-08-2021, 08:44 PM
I think it is very fair to say that sportsound is running on fumes now.

Sadly, I don’t thing the overhaul it desperately needs will ever happen.

Rumble de Thump
07-08-2021, 08:52 PM

Rangers are dead so let's go with the first option.

07-08-2021, 10:51 PM
I can’t really comment about Sportsound as I stopped listening to it ten years ago. The reason I turned off will be apparent to most here.

It appeared to be running way past its sell-by date along with ‘Off the Ball’ and ‘Only an Excuse’. I used to listen to/watch all three programmes avidly at one stage, but no longer.

The tired old cliches, the total fixation with the old firm, and the recycling of old jokes, we’re probably symptomatic of shows needing a complete revamp or cancellation.

Alan Preston, Tom English, and Willie Miller are three good reasons to avoid the whole thing. The fact Only and Excuse continued to make Frank McAvennie jokes long after most viewers could even remember who he was, summed it up and explains why it was eventually cancelled.

RMQ1967
07-08-2021, 11:07 PM
Totally agree, some of the criticism on here is juvenile and quite frankly pathetic.

Well said. A common theme on too many threads.

07-08-2021, 11:07 PM
I can’t really comment about Sportsound as I stopped listening to it ten years ago. The reason I turned off will be apparent to most here.

It appeared to be running way past its sell-by date along with ‘Off the Ball’ and ‘Only an Excuse’. I used to listen to/watch all three programmes avidly at one stage, but no longer.

The tired old cliches, the total fixation with the old firm, and the recycling of old jokes, we’re probably symptomatic of shows needing a complete revamp or cancellation.

Alan Preston, Tom English, and Willie Miller are three good reasons to avoid the whole thing. The fact Only and Excuse continued to make Frank McAvennie jokes long after most viewers could even remember who he was, summed it up and explains why it was eventually cancelled.

Generally, Off the Ball Talk about anything but the Old Firm, I think it’s a cracking show and comes from a couple of guys who clearly love the game in Scotland.

Sportsound is ridiculous, though. Today we had Dundee United, relegating candidates last week, being talked up as challengers because of one win against Rangers.

The Aberdeen and Hearts love in is nauseating, and the pundits are tired and stale, and in need of a real refresh. There’s potentially a really good show in there, but they need to axe folk like Kenny “I’ll ask for closed questions in a row as part of the same question “ McIntyre and virtually all of their pundits to realise that potential.

EI255
07-08-2021, 11:10 PM
After I'd finished watching the game last night I tuned into Sportsound for the last 15-20 mins, I don't think Hibs were even mentioned, it was all Aberdeen apart from 30 seconds or so about Celtic. Maybe just as well I hardly ever listen to that programme nowadays.All eyes on pensioner Brown.

Fud

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

Allez Hibs
07-08-2021, 11:15 PM
Sportsound is ridiculous, though. Today we had Dundee United, relegating candidates last week, being talked up as challengers because of one win against Rangers.

What is it you're after? They were hyping up the league in a positive way after Hearts beat Celtic and Dundee Utd beat Rangers. Tom English was talking very positively about the league.

People really need to take the blinkers off.

SonOfDavidFrancey
07-08-2021, 11:16 PM
I'm actually a fan of the programmes but the banter between Steven Thompson and Mikey Stewart this afternoon was embarrassing.

08-08-2021, 02:42 AM
If you like listening to Celtic, Hearts and Aberdeen chat and pretty much nothing else, it’s the place to listen.

08-08-2021, 08:36 AM
I'm actually a fan of the programmes but the banter between Steven Thompson and Mikey Stewart this afternoon was embarrassing.

Agreed, I think, in the beginning, there were genuine differences of opinion between the two of them. Now though it almost seems to be scripted, manufactured, because they think we want to hear that.

08-08-2021, 08:43 AM

It really was awful. That kind of manufactured beef is bad enough in the studio at halftime, but during commentary it’s unlistenable, we just want to know what’s going on on the pitch.

08-08-2021, 09:01 AM
I was in the car and had it on for 5 minutes around half time. Switched it off as I couldn't listen to them any longer. Used to be essential listening.

Everyone to their own though.

08-08-2021, 09:01 AM
I’ve found the criticism of it ott in the past but as a listener I have drifted away because I just struggle too much with some of the people and some of the editorial lines.

There are some good people there (Richard Gordon was good in the not too distant past and Michael Stewart is always good) but there are too many numpties now who just make it unlistenable.

It’s a shame because I was an avid listener growing up. Alastair Alexander, David Begg and the young Derek Rae were all excellent commentators. The guys at the grounds were good and the pundits were excellent. It’s a shame that so much of it seems so partisan nowadays, as I can even remember the likes of John Greig managing to be neutral and add worthy comment.

It’ll probably come round to bring decent again but it’s going through “one of those spells” at the moment.

Tom English is probably the head of the snake at the moment, cull him and there might be a fighting chance of getting Scottish football’s BBC coverage back round again.

It probably doesn’t help when you have clubs like Rangers behaving the way they do towards the press.

He's here!
08-08-2021, 09:42 AM
No need for folk to tune in if it just annoys them. I stopped listening years ago because, as others have said, the pundits are just plain crap/irritating. Football pundits annoy me in general. I think it's a lazy gig, with far too many assuming that because they played professionally they just need to show up. At the other end of the scale you have 'intellectuals' like Tom English who seem to think their opinion counts as fact.
If I can't be at a Hibs game I just check the score on my phone then read a report of the game and watch the goals when they become available. No need at all for Sportsound these days.

Crunchie
08-08-2021, 10:00 AM
I’ve found the criticism of it ott in the past but as a listener I have drifted away because I just struggle too much with some of the people and some of the editorial lines.

There are some good people there (Richard Gordon was good in the not too distant past and Michael Stewart is always good) but there are too many numpties now who just make it unlistenable.

It’s a shame because I was an avid listener growing up. Alastair Alexander, David Begg and the young Derek Rae were all excellent commentators. The guys at the grounds were good and the pundits were excellent. It’s a shame that so much of it seems so partisan nowadays, as I can even remember the likes of John Greig managing to be neutral and add worthy comment.

It’ll probably come round to bring decent again but it’s going through “one of those spells” at the moment.

Tom English is probably the head of the snake at the moment, cull him and there might be a fighting chance of getting Scottish football’s BBC coverage back round again.

It probably doesn’t help when you have clubs like Rangers behaving the way they do towards the press.
Back in the day it was a great programme giving you information and updates when there was nowhere else to go.
It had great characters and commentators who concentrated on the games and not their own opinions, unfortunately like their tv equivalent it's gone to the dogs and not worth tuning into.

08-08-2021, 10:13 AM
No need for folk to tune in if it just annoys them. I stopped listening years ago because, as others have said, the pundits are just plain crap/irritating. Football pundits annoy me in general. I think it's a lazy gig, with far too many assuming that because they played professionally they just need to show up. At the other end of the scale you have 'intellectuals' like Tom English who seem to think their opinion counts as fact.
If I can't be at a Hibs game I just check the score on my phone then read a report of the game and watch the goals when they become available. No need at all for Sportsound these days.

I used to like listening to it doing the gardening or driving around when Hibs were away, and now it’s barely listenable. I don’t understand comments like ‘just turn it off if it annoys you’. Well, aye, but a) I want to know how the games are going b) I pay a licence fee c) I’m commenting on the poor quality of the product.

Crunchie
08-08-2021, 10:29 AM
I used to like listening to it doing the gardening or driving around when Hibs were away, and now it’s barely listenable. I don’t understand comments like ‘just turn it off if it annoys you’. Well, aye, but a) I want to know how the games are going b) I pay a licence fee c) I’m commenting on the poor quality of the product.
And d) it's not tailored to suit any one individual. You do realise the amount of comments across all the supporters forums and other social media outlets means it must have a big audience, if everyone that didn't like it switched off instead of tuning in and moaning about it something might be done to change it.

08-08-2021, 10:38 AM
I like Sportsound. Have it on most weeks when going to the game.

Allez Hibs
08-08-2021, 10:41 AM
Always have it on when driving on a Saturday.

08-08-2021, 10:55 AM
The only pundits I listen to are
Michael Stewart
Roy Keane
Chris Sutton
Gary Neville
Micah Richards

The rest meh

08-08-2021, 10:55 AM
Hearts

08-08-2021, 10:59 AM

This is it for me - I want to listen to some football on a Saturday (if I am not there) and the options in Scotland are awful.

Tired BBC coverage, or Clyde...........which fairly obviously caters more for their local audience.

Its a crap situation.

08-08-2021, 12:51 PM
I listen every week and enjoy it.

Sometimes listen to 5 Live and Talk Sport, they're all the same really. Some pundits I like, some I don't.

I don't buy into them being biased against Hibs or having love ins with Aberdeen and Hearts. Their fans say the same about us.

08-08-2021, 12:53 PM
I can't stand some of the pundits but if we play well and win they give us credit. It's not as biased as folk on here make out. Even Craigan was very complimentary last Sunday.

He's here!
08-08-2021, 01:37 PM

I just don't care enough about non-Hibs games to subject myself to the likes of Preston hailing a Hearts goal. If I'm driving or gardening I'll opt for music rather than something that just puts me on edge.

I agree re the licence fee but I guess if we all stopped tuning in they might get the message.

08-08-2021, 02:34 PM
The revolution - if it ever comes - will not be lead or broadcast on Sportsound.

reinforcing the worst in Scottish Football.

08-08-2021, 04:18 PM
No other games today apart from celtic, 20 mins since I got in car and they are still talking about them

rossevenil
08-08-2021, 04:20 PM
Was just gonna post aswell,talk about blinkered 20+ mins and not another team mentioned apart from racellic utterly pathetic coverage

08-08-2021, 04:24 PM
The revolution - if it ever comes - will not be lead or broadcast on Sportsound.

reinforcing the worst in Scottish Football.

You have completely lost me with that one. :confused:

ShadesLongThrow
08-08-2021, 04:36 PM
Was just gonna post aswell,talk about blinkered 20+ mins and not another team mentioned apart from racellic utterly pathetic coverage

Yup. 25 mins and not a mention of any other games. I got out the car so as far as I’m aware they’re still fawning over than. On the plus side, I’m now an expert on the Celtc tactics in case anyone quizzes me at work tomorrow.

08-08-2021, 05:07 PM
It was 25 minutes of wanking sorry waxing lyrical about Celtc . Embarrassing for a national broadcaster

08-08-2021, 05:11 PM
It was 25 minutes of wanking sorry waxing lyrical about Celtc . Embarrassing for a national broadcaster

I tuned in as I was heading to shops. Like you say 25 about celtic, wee segment on Aberdeen then literally just the manager interviews from the St J motherwell game and lastly same for us (league leaders)

Bizarre

08-08-2021, 05:20 PM
It’s been like this for a few years now. It’s so bad James McFadden seems the only one to talk any sense and seems interested in other teams bar the bigot bros. So sad it’s this bad. Plenty of hibs podcasts now to get your fix.

08-08-2021, 05:24 PM
Yup. 25 mins and not a mention of any other games. I got out the car so as far as I’m aware they’re still fawning over than. On the plus side, I’m now an expert on the Celtc tactics in case anyone quizzes me at work tomorrow.

I’m the same, got back to Penicuik at 5:35 as there was trouble on the bypass. Hibs report was just coming on. It really is a disgrace from the BBC considering there were so few games on and they constantly want to talk about Celtic/Sevco all the time. Aberdeen get second billing even though we finished above them in the league and are currently top. Then on comes the Motherwell/Saints report and finally the Hibs afterthought. Terrible broadcasting.

08-08-2021, 05:32 PM
Maybe they were waiting on Jack Ross to get the interview?

08-08-2021, 05:35 PM

It's fairly standard for them. Switching off is the only answer (and I know that's a poor option as there is no alternative).

08-08-2021, 05:38 PM
8 was just getting out the car in Newton Grange and all they talked about was Celtic

08-08-2021, 05:48 PM
Maybe they were waiting on Jack Ross to get the interview?

I would highly doubt that, in fact I would go as far as to say that the manager interviews from the other games where more of an annoyance that they had to broadcast. If they could have gotten away with not broadcasting the interviews then they would have done it

08-08-2021, 05:50 PM
8 was just getting out the car in Newton Grange and all they talked about was Celtic

I had driven from Easter Road to Gowkshill and back to Gilmerton before they discussed another game

08-08-2021, 07:15 PM
The interviews are live.

They stop chatting about whatever to head to whichever manager is ready to speak.

08-08-2021, 07:18 PM

Sportsound rather than challenging the status quo merely reinforce it - as seen from the comment above.

Where’s the call for overhaul and rethinking the Scottish game? So any revolution in the game will come from elsewhere, will not be televised or broadcast but emerge from somewhere else. be nice to imagine such a forum acting as a catalyst for change. The authorities have fallen asleep at the wheel for a generation largely unchallenged. Hardly surprising with that lot.

08-08-2021, 07:50 PM
The interviews are live.

They stop chatting about whatever to head to whichever manager is ready to speak.

That does not stop them discussing another game. They failed on that big time .

08-08-2021, 08:25 PM
Good of Sportsound to give us live commentary of the Celtic warm down.

08-08-2021, 08:29 PM

08-08-2021, 09:34 PM

It would be funny if it wasn’t true, I could not believe they were actually discussing this on the radio

08-08-2021, 10:06 PM
Join us next week on Sportsound when we cover Ange Postecoglou going for a post match dump.

09-08-2021, 07:47 PM

The revolution will not be right back
After a message about a white tornado
White lightning, or white people
You will not have to worry about a dove in your bedroom
The tiger in your tank, or the giant in your toilet bowl
The revolution will not go better with Coke
The revolution will not fight germs that may cause bad breath
The revolution will put you in the driver's seat
The revolution will not be televised

Orchard_Hibs
09-08-2021, 07:54 PM
The revolution will not be right back
After a message about a white tornado
White lightning, or white people
You will not have to worry about a dove in your bedroom
The tiger in your tank, or the giant in your toilet bowl
The revolution will not go better with Coke
The revolution will not fight germs that may cause bad breath
The revolution will put you in the driver's seat
The revolution will not be televised

The revolution will be live

15-08-2021, 01:20 PM
Couldn't make the match so thought I would listen to the commentary. Getting the build up to the Celtic v Hearts game instead.

15-08-2021, 01:20 PM
Couldn't make the match so thought I would listen to the commentary. Getting the build up to the Celtic v Hearts game instead.

Yep, really irritating.

15-08-2021, 01:23 PM
Yep, really irritating.

Bloody disgrace.

15-08-2021, 01:24 PM
Bloody disgrace.

80295 for anyone who wants to text in.

15-08-2021, 01:24 PM

If your a STH get it on HibsTv.

15-08-2021, 01:32 PM

Don't have access to a computer and I have never used my phone for this/got my login details.

That isn't really the point though. The bottom line is BBC should cover/ take an interest in more than old firm, Hearts and Aberdeen.

mixumatosis
15-08-2021, 03:04 PM
The revolution will be live

There will be no slow motion or still lifes of Richard Gordon strolling through Leith in a green and white liberation jumpsuit that he has been saving for just the proper occasion.

The Hibs games will not be televised.

15-08-2021, 07:30 PM
Don't have access to a computer and I have never used my phone for this/got my login details.

That isn't really the point though. The bottom line is BBC should cover/ take an interest in more than old firm, Hearts and Aberdeen.

Absolutely, was just trying to help out.

Juniper Greens
15-08-2021, 08:15 PM
I tuned in for the draw in the car today. Kept saying that hearts won the second half and that jobbie will be very happy with hearts today. Really made it sound like hearts were good.
Celtic had 82% of the ball in the first half, 62% in the second. 11 shots on goal to 2. (7 v 2 in the second half). Yet it sounded like hearts bossed it from their analysis.

Juniper Greens
15-08-2021, 08:16 PM
Also, Craig Levein referred to the game away to celtic as a "money spinner" which made me smile. He went on to say that the money might be worth more than getting through to the next round, so old firm away is a good draw...there really is something wrong with them in Gorgie

15-08-2021, 08:26 PM
Also, Craig Levein referred to the game away to celtic as a "money spinner" which made me smile. He went on to say that the money might be worth more than getting through to the next round, so old firm away is a good draw...there really is something wrong with them in Gorgie

This will definitely go down like a lead balloon, but as much as I disliked Levein as a manager, I like him on the radio ..good contributions and some humour too …

15-08-2021, 08:36 PM
Especially as whatever amount of money they get they waste it. Truly weird individuals.

15-08-2021, 08:37 PM
This will definitely go down like a lead balloon, but as much as I disliked Levein as a manager, I like him on the radio ..good contributions and some humour too …
Naw. If he mentioned Ginelli coming on and being a game changer once he mentioned it a dozen times during and after. It’s as if he had something to do with him signing fir them He’s a balloon. I was shouting at the radio.:greengrin

DickieDastardly
15-08-2021, 09:38 PM
Agreed he is actually ok on the radio and can be quite funny. He certainly does not like hibs though…

15-08-2021, 09:41 PM
Agreed he is actually ok on the radio and can be quite funny. He certainly does not like hibs though…

We don’t like him either though and I’d rather he didn’t pretend to like us even though we knew it not to be true.

15-08-2021, 09:57 PM

Today's game wasn't on Hibs TV unless you live overseas.

15-08-2021, 09:59 PM

Not going to disagree with that. He's a reformed pr*ck.

15-08-2021, 10:01 PM
Can we get Mowbray and Venus signed up as pundits so they can be announced alongside as "With us today, Tony Mowbray, Mark Venus..."

15-08-2021, 10:04 PM
Absolutely, was just trying to help out.
Thanks anyway.

15-08-2021, 10:05 PM
Today's game wasn't on Hibs TV unless you live overseas.

Commentary was, which is a better choice than sportsound even if they did have the game on.

15-08-2021, 10:11 PM
Commentary was, which is a better choice than sportsound even if they did have the game on.

That's true, apologies.

15-08-2021, 10:12 PM
We don’t like him either though and I’d rather he didn’t pretend to like us even though we knew it not to be true.

Don't think he does pretend to like us. Have heard him be complimentary but that's because he's doing his job as a pundit. He'll start it by saying something like "much as I don't like to admit it but..." which is how I'd expect a Hibby pundit to be if the roles were reversed. That's good banter.

In his last spell as their manager he trolled them a lot more than he trolled us. Every time he came out with something like "natural order" it was carefully chosen and designed to appease the Jambos that were wanting him out. He's not daft and it worked every time on the weak minded fools. He kept buying himself more time whilst continuing to run them into ground and it ended up with their glorious relagation/demotion/expulsion followed by months of squealing. 😀

15-08-2021, 10:13 PM
I tuned in for the draw in the car today. Kept saying that hearts won the second half and that jobbie will be very happy with hearts today. Really made it sound like hearts were good.
Celtic had 82% of the ball in the first half, 62% in the second. 11 shots on goal to 2. (7 v 2 in the second half). Yet it sounded like hearts bossed it from their analysis.

Celtic had 36 shots.

15-08-2021, 10:30 PM
Naw. If he mentioned Ginelli coming on and being a game changer once he mentioned it a dozen times during and after. It’s as if he had something to do with him signing fir them He’s a balloon. I was shouting at the radio.:greengrin

He did.
An absolute twat of a man.

15-08-2021, 10:41 PM
Don't think he does pretend to like us. Have heard him be complimentary but that's because he's doing his job as a pundit. He'll start it by saying something like "much as I don't like to admit it but..." which is how I'd expect a Hibby pundit to be if the roles were reversed. That's good banter.

In his last spell as their manager he trolled them a lot more than he trolled us. Every time he came out with something like "natural order" it was carefully chosen and designed to appease the Jambos that were wanting him out. He's not daft and it worked every time on the weak minded fools. He kept buying himself more time whilst continuing to run them into ground and it ended up with their glorious relagation/demotion/expulsion followed by months of squealing. 😀

Think my wording was a bit mixed, I didn’t mean he does pretend to like us, I meant I’m glad he doesn’t pretend to just because of his job, as we would all know that to be ****.

15-08-2021, 10:49 PM
Think my wording was a bit mixed, I didn’t mean he does pretend to like us, I meant I’m glad he doesn’t pretend to just because of his job, as we would all know that to be ****.

Ah, I see what you mean.

Or even worse are the pundits who are never critical of their team and regularly try to defend the indefensible. Funny how most that fall into that category have links with a 9 year old Glasgow club.

15-08-2021, 10:51 PM

I agree. He can be funny. Sometimes.

Selkirkhibs
15-08-2021, 11:08 PM
I agree. He can be funny. Sometimes.

Levein, Ton Englisher, Doddsy, Craigan, and all the other anti Hibernians are about as funny as a long weekend in a Polis Station. Brutal patter imo.

16-08-2021, 06:26 AM
Just watch the football and make your own mind up. Don't listen to the pundits. They're a waste of space and paid to hype things up.

16-08-2021, 06:27 AM
Levein, Ton Englisher, Doddsy, Craigan, and all the other anti Hibernians are about as funny as a long weekend in a Polis Station. Brutal patter imo.

Preston and tubby McLaughlan too also McCann it's honestly like a jambo retirement home

16-08-2021, 11:29 AM
Celtic had 36 shots.

Hearts had 5 and 28% pocession overall.

16-08-2021, 04:58 PM

Exactly. All these guys proclaiming to find them funny are clearly suffering from Stockholm syndrome having been trapped listening to a radio program dominated by Hearts fuds.

16-08-2021, 08:49 PM
He did.
An absolute twat of a man.

:agree: Natural Order and all that

loanheadhibby
16-08-2021, 09:20 PM
Totally agree and he was really funny after predicting Old Firm , Hibs and Dundee would get through to semis.
Levein reckoned that no way would Rangers and Celtic be drawn against each other in the last four.

02-10-2021, 03:27 PM
It’s like a party political broadcast for Jumbo FC this afternoon, tbh I don’t know why I keep tuning in.

Phrases like “steamrolling the league” getting thrown about mind they were third this morning!

Alan Preston is basically a club rep shoutin from the roof tops how amazing they are.

Meanwhile we get Brian McLaughlin at the wind up and throwing passive aggressive question to our manager.

I know folk will say just switch off but the huge publicity that they get goes a long way to building fan bases

02-10-2021, 03:48 PM
It’s like a party political broadcast for Jumbo FC this afternoon, tbh I don’t know why I keep tuning in.

Phrases like “steamrolling the league” getting thrown about mind they were third this morning!

Alan Preston is basically a club rep shoutin from the roof tops how amazing they are.

Meanwhile we get Brian McLaughlin at the wind up and throwing passive aggressive question to our manager.

I know folk will say just switch off but the huge publicity that they get goes a long way to building fan bases
This is their traditional month where they’re crowned as League winners is it not? Let them crack on and we’ll quietly go about our business.

Mrimbetween
02-10-2021, 04:47 PM
Look guys its early doors, form changes as the games go on

And usually the two cheeks move on from the also rans

A win tomorrow and we wont be giving a f uck what the pundits slaver

02-10-2021, 04:56 PM

I choose just to shut them out.

The BBC is a mess right now. Who knows, it might one day have a bunch of our people on it which would be biased in our favour.

I prefer just to worry about us and what we're doing. There's a lot that looks like it is being done right just now, there are things we're not doing great.

We need to be a wee bit careful about our expectations up until January. We have a thin squad that is doing very well to punch above it's weight at the moment and I think we need to seriously rein in the expectations until we can strengthen in January, hopefully with Mathie's replacement properly settled in. Hearts can ride on the crest of their wave all they want, good luck to them. We'll see if there are planes flying over Tynecastle again when they hit their rough patch.

I don't expect this season to be plain sailing, but I expect us to hang in there until January, strengthen then, and have a decent tilt at the second half of the season.

Aberdeen might get better, they've been poor so far. Hearts might drop off, they might keep it going. The OF haven't looked anything special so far.

None of it matters really, we need to worry about playing our own game and not think too much about what other clubs are doing.

02-04-2022, 12:07 PM
Commentary today?

Look at the fixtures and guess what game they have chosen!!!! 🙄

02-04-2022, 12:26 PM
Commentary today?

Look at the fixtures and guess what game they have chosen!!!! 🙄

Let’s me guess, the town starts with a D?

02-04-2022, 12:27 PM
Let’s me guess, the town starts with a D?

It does indee 😉

02-04-2022, 05:29 PM
Eventually covered 2-3 minutes of our game at 1751 1 mainly about how well struggle to make top 6 and little about the match.

The dalmeny
02-04-2022, 05:59 PM

Preston is a horrible wee man

02-04-2022, 06:05 PM
Eventually covered 2-3 minutes of our game at 1751 1 mainly about how well struggle to make top 6 and little about the match.

It was a disgrace for the program that is supposed to be impartial. We listened from 5pm and they spent most of the time working out Aberdeen's top six chances. As long as Hibs lose next week blah blah.

02-04-2022, 06:24 PM
It was a disgrace for the program that is supposed to be impartial. We listened from 5pm and they spent most of the time working out Aberdeen's top six chances. As long as Hibs lose next week blah blah.

:agree: I’m normally more mild in my criticism of them but more and more often out game is covered after I get home but today it was like they done everything they could to not mention it and as you say all hypotheticals about how Hibs can’t/won’t make top 6. Really bad.

02-04-2022, 06:26 PM
:agree: I’m normally more mild in my criticism of them but more and more often out game is covered after I get home but today it was like they done everything they could to not mention it and as you say all hypotheticals about how Hibs can’t/won’t make top 6. Really bad.

They'd completely written us off.

I'm not fussed if we are p!sh and get called out for it, but it's quite rare for any pundit not to do any fence sitting and talk up a team's relative merits. There's never any of that with Hibs at the moment, was like we had zero chance of top six.

02-04-2022, 06:28 PM

Yep that is all I heard did they interview Shaun? They had Craig Easton ex United doing the summary of the game. Heard him before the game ndicating that Lewis Allan was on the bench for Hibs.:greengrin

03-04-2022, 05:24 PM
Meant to say, did they all pick on that Aberdeen player who dived for a penalty prior to McCrorie's goal? Then jumped up from pretending to be injured to celebrate?

Remember the pelters they gave Porteous for the late handball/fake head knoxk during the last derby...

03-04-2022, 06:32 PM
Meant to say, did they all pick on that Aberdeen player who dived for a penalty prior to McCrorie's goal? Then jumped up from pretending to be injured to celebrate?

Remember the pelters they gave Porteous for the late handball/fake head knoxk during the last derby...

Or Dick Gordon having a go at him for being happy when Mugabe was sent off

03-04-2022, 07:11 PM
Stop listening, it's not rocket science.

ionahibby
03-04-2022, 08:10 PM
Stop listening, it's not rocket science.

Would be interesting to know how many folk actually listen to it now. Can’t see most of the young uns listening to it. They must be losing listeners now surely.

03-04-2022, 10:09 PM
Would be interesting to know how many folk actually listen to it now. Can’t see most of the young uns listening to it. They must be losing listeners now surely.

That's what I've been thinking for some time. And also for some time, it sounds so often that Gordon and English spend most of their time sooking up Preston's arse as if they're scared of him, hence the distinct lack of compliments for Hibs.

03-04-2022, 10:18 PM
All set up for anti Hibs over next two weekends. Preston, English, Levein, McLaughlin, Derek Ferguson, Richard Gordon, Willie Miller.

They hate it when we prove them wrong. They can’t wait for us to fail. Yet Hearts have failed to win a trophy for 10 years and it’s been 32 years since Aberdeen won the Scottish cup. We are hardly prolific on that front but you would think they are picking up silverware every couple of years going by the crap that they come out with.

03-04-2022, 10:20 PM
That's what I've been thinking for some time. And also for some time, it sounds so often that Gordon and English spend most of their time sooking up Preston's arse as if they're scared of him, hence the distinct lack of compliments for Hibs.

They definitely do this with. Craig Levein. Terrified to challenge him. It’s almost like they have forgotten he never won a single trophy when a player of manager.

04-04-2022, 08:55 AM

I'd sooner listen to Preston than either of the other 2. I used to like English, but his ravings over the Hearts relegation during Covid really put me off him.

I listen to Open All Mics and can't help but feel the Hibs games get rookie pundits who haven't found their feet and therefor contribute a lot less. We also very very rarely have any Hibs centred contributors on the show. Aberdeen have Gordon and Miller, Hearts have Preston and Levein, Celtic have that windbag Bonner, St Mirren have Young, Hamilton ****ing Accies have Derek Ferguson, Dodds used to cover Ross County whom they've replaced with Kettlewell and the only reason they don't have a Hun on the panel is they're banned from Ibrox - that doesn't stop Off The Ball having a hun guest on every other week though.

So as a team in the top four for size in the country why do we not have fair representation and a resident pundit in the way all these other teams do?

04-04-2022, 01:01 PM
The BBC are refusing to go to Ibrox until they lift a ban on one of their journalists.

04-04-2022, 01:08 PM
Could they not have someone like Kevin Harper, who always comes across well, covering our home games?

04-04-2022, 01:38 PM
Could they not have someone like Kevin Harper, who always comes across well, covering our home games?

Absolutely would be a great choice. They had ex United player Craig Easton on Saturday telling the listeners that Lewis Allan was on the bench for hibs. I mean talk about amateur hour.

04-04-2022, 01:38 PM

He's now working for us as of today in a scouting role so will presumably be busy every weekend but there must be someone they could get on.

04-04-2022, 01:39 PM
He's now working for us as of today in a scouting role so will presumably be busy every weekend but there must be someone they could get on.

How about Archie Lovell?

leith lynx
04-04-2022, 04:22 PM
How about Archie Lovell?

Micky Weir.

04-04-2022, 05:17 PM
Stopped listening in the ‘summer of Jambo’ when their crap team got relegated after the season being curtailed. The whinging and bias that eminated from the radio was intolerable. After being a listener, probably forever, I never went back and can’t say I’ve missed it.

Let’s face it, who really cares what Levein, Preston, English, McGlaughlin, Gordon etc think about things. It might appeal to the Jambo hordes but on a program like that to alienate so many other listeners is a foolish thing to do.

04-04-2022, 07:27 PM
Stopped listening in the ‘summer of Jambo’ when their crap team got relegated after the season being curtailed. The whinging and bias that eminated from the radio was intolerable. After being a listener, probably forever, I never went back and can’t say I’ve missed it.

Let’s face it, who really cares what Levein, Preston, English, McGlaughlin, Gordon etc think about things. It might appeal to the Jambo hordes but on a program like that to alienate so many other listeners is a foolish thing to do.

Basically exactly where I am on it. Once you stop listening, it becomes less of a problem!

04-04-2022, 07:52 PM
Controversial for controversies sake. So transparent you can almost see the cogs whirring.
they stray off piste and bring it back in. The backtracking on Aberdeens new era heralded by the Glass Broony dream ticket was the biggest retreat since Vietnam, the switch to the pre-written narrative after Kyogo inspired win in the cup final again was vom-inducing. Others are simple here to make up the numbers. I thing changes it’s almost a waste to give it too much thought. It would be nice to think we get a fairer crack of the whip would be interesting to hear Craig Patersons take on things.

i think the sad point is tho it builds up perceptions and potentially dents building fan bases. The hounding of our players - Doige was pummelled by in particular Gordon who failed to really acknowledge his raise to prominence and Porteous treatment has been shocking. I feel this is editorial tho. So time to reveal the editor / producer who is pulling the strings.

04-04-2022, 07:56 PM
Controversial for controversies sake. So transparent you can almost see the cogs whirring.
they stray off piste and bring it back in. The backtracking on Aberdeens new era heralded by the Glass Broony dream ticket was the biggest retreat since Vietnam, the switch to the pre-written narrative after Kyogo inspired win in the cup final again was vom-inducing. Others are simple here to make up the numbers. I thing changes it’s almost a waste to give it too much thought. It would be nice to think we get a fairer crack of the whip would be interesting to hear Craig Patersons take on things.

i think the sad point is tho it builds up perceptions and potentially dents building fan bases. The hounding of our players - Doige was pummelled by in particular Gordon who failed to really acknowledge his raise to prominence and Porteous treatment has been shocking. I feel this is editorial tho. So time to reveal the editor / producer who is pulling the strings.

Bang on

Scott brown going to Aberdeen was meant to make them contenders.

Absolute jokers that lot

04-04-2022, 09:26 PM

Certainly was rumours it was a yam.Gordon coming out with the karma comment when we were relegated was a shocker. Can also remember Garry Oconnor getting hounded after he was awarded a pen. Definite agenda imo

04-04-2022, 10:33 PM
I'm sure the karma comment by Gordon was before this:

https://youtu.be/0uJ-zopNKVU

Karma sucks, eh Richard?

30-07-2022, 05:48 PM
Listened to Sportsound this afternoon and it was awful. Leanne Critchton hates Hibs with every breath of her being. On the other hand Preston and her waxing lyricals about how wonderful the Gunts were today. Will go without in the future as this was as bad as sports journalism goes.

Willie Miller was the reporter at our game and was his usual Horrific self.

#2 Double Tap
30-07-2022, 05:51 PM
Listened to Sportsound this afternoon and it was awful. Leanne Critchton hates Hibs with every breath of her being. On the other hand Preston and her waxing lyricals about how wonderful the Gunts were today. Will go without in the future as this was as bad as sports journalism goes.

Did u hear the dic dastardly s******s as the lee Johnson interview was ending, bit weird.

30-07-2022, 05:54 PM

Funny that my jambo mate said they weren't very good apart from a 20 min spell where they scored 2. Some reporters just can't leave their allegiances at the door

30-07-2022, 05:54 PM
The BBC are refusing to go to Ibrox until they lift a ban on one of their journalists.
I thought that had been resolved and BBC back at Ibrox?

30-07-2022, 05:55 PM
I thought that had been resolved and BBC back at Ibrox?

They have.

Torto7
30-07-2022, 05:55 PM

I caught that. She was allowed to say there had been nothing but cutbacks since Ron Gordon had came in which is a complete lie.

30-07-2022, 05:57 PM

The coverage was absolutely fine. Most pundits thought the red card a bit harsh - as did our manager.
WM was clear that we had bossed the game but need to be sharper up front - which is what our manager said.
Preston was actually full of praise for Ross County, saying Hearts were fortunate to get the win...

30-07-2022, 06:00 PM
The coverage was absolutely fine. Most pundits thought the red card a bit harsh - as did our manager.
WM was clear that we had bossed the game but need to be sharper up front - which is what our manager said.
Preston was actually full of praise for Ross County, saying Hearts were fortunate to get the win...
That’s exactly what I heard. Some folk seem a bit sensitive to whatever is said or not said about us on the Beeb. Miller was fine today and echoed what most on here have said about the game.

30-07-2022, 06:00 PM

The coverage was dire, I was listening on the way home from the town and it was radio silence for the Hibs game. I assumed nothing was happening, was surprised to read the match report when I got home and seen how many chances we actually had.

30-07-2022, 06:08 PM
BBC Heartsound do like to camp in at tynecastle for their broadcasts, is that their official base or will they share tynecastle and ibrox now the love affair is back on

loanheadhibby
30-07-2022, 06:11 PM

Are you sure you heard the programme.
Preston reckoned Hearts were poor and lucky to win.

30-07-2022, 06:12 PM
People still listen to Sportsound 🤷🏼

30-07-2022, 06:12 PM
The coverage was dire, I was listening on the way home from the town and it was radio silence for the Hibs game. I assumed nothing was happening, was surprised to read the match report when I got home and seen how many chances we actually had.

Why did they continue the var debate they’d clearly had when we were are the game after 4:50pm? We only heard from a handful of managers on no real meaningful post match discussion. Willie Miller have a summary of our game but when they went back to him for more analysis he spoke about the VAR argument rather than the game.

It was a bit like some Uni students playing with the broadcast kit when I was at uni.

Coach Jon
30-07-2022, 06:15 PM
That’s exactly what I heard. Some folk seem a bit sensitive to whatever is said or not said about us on the Beeb. Miller was fine today and echoed what most on here have said about the game.

I agree the coverage was fine. Unfortunately there is a hard core anti BBC group of nationalist politicos who have an agenda which infests the Hibs net message boards.

30-07-2022, 06:16 PM
I do, before and after the match
What’s the alternative

30-07-2022, 06:18 PM
Got back to the car and listened to them rabbiting on and arguing about VAR for 20 minutes. Possibly even worse now than last season.

30-07-2022, 06:19 PM
Of the first half coverage I heard....

A good ten minutes devoted to each reporter reading out teamlines from Premiership and Championship games. Could easily have been done pre-match.

Seemingly never ending debate about VAR.

Chatting about who'd be top goalscorer.

Steven Fletcher's hair.

Goal updates.

A few near things at various games.

In general though, next to no idea about how games were going aside from Tynecastle and Rugby Park. Pretty sure Willie Miller was asked about Aberdeen halfway through the opening 45 minutes and spoke for about three minutes on anything but the game he was commenting on.

Dmas
30-07-2022, 06:23 PM

He was far from fine the guy can barely string a sentence together absolutely brutal listening to the guy, the high pitched squealing about VAR between Stewart and that broadfoot guy as well, it’s needing a freshen up that’s for sure it beats SSB hands down

LewysGot2
30-07-2022, 06:27 PM

Tuned in hoping to hear Lee Johnson as we drove back. As soon as that was over it was onto 909 for the Charity Shield commentary. Couldn't thole the VAR chat

30-07-2022, 06:33 PM
Kenny Miller in a suit tonight on sportscene - interesting.

30-07-2022, 06:34 PM

Surprisingly we are last on.:rolleyes:

Ron D Hibbie
30-07-2022, 06:42 PM
Got back to the car and listened to them rabbiting on and arguing about VAR for 20 minutes. Possibly even worse now than last season.

Agree. It was shocking having to listen to that all the way down the road.

30-07-2022, 06:45 PM
Surprisingly we are last on.:rolleyes:

Aw ffs are we? I’m away to make the tea then.

30-07-2022, 06:46 PM
Have to listen to miller talk pish for the next half hour before the next highlights.

Where's the fast forward button 😁

30-07-2022, 06:46 PM

Did his Ma knit him his tie?

30-07-2022, 06:47 PM
I agree the coverage was fine. Unfortunately there is a hard core anti BBC group of nationalist politicos who have an agenda which infests the Hibs net message boards.
WTF are you on about 😳

30-07-2022, 06:52 PM

Can the planet you’re on be seen wi that new telescope they’ve built?

30-07-2022, 06:53 PM
I do, before and after the match
What’s the alternative

They hate Hibs and hardly mention us so what's the point.

Would rather listen to the wheels going round on my motor than they clowns to be honest.

30-07-2022, 06:55 PM

That's what I heard too. Plus Leanne Crichton using stats to show we deserved the win, we had something like 35 touches in the opposition box to their 3 or 4.

30-07-2022, 06:55 PM
Should of been at least 0-3 Ross County before hearts opener.

Defence looks Shakey.

DIXIHIBS
30-07-2022, 07:00 PM

Whit?

Torto7
30-07-2022, 07:01 PM
WTF are you on about 😳

He's more a GB news guy I'd say.

30-07-2022, 07:02 PM

Erm, there's no doubt many indy supporters have issues with the balance of BBC news and political reporting mate. But I seriously doubt that extends to Sportsound ........... FFS :faf:

30-07-2022, 07:05 PM

SNPortsound 😂😂

30-07-2022, 07:06 PM
I caught that. She was allowed to say there had been nothing but cutbacks since Ron Gordon had came in which is a complete lie.

Willie Miller, who is a dour individual at the best of times, couldn't have been less emotional when announcing that Hibs had scored.

30-07-2022, 07:11 PM
Watching Sportscene just now, noticed Killie have their fans in the bottom tier of the home stand behind the goals, and stick the Dundee Utd fans in the top tier, well away from the pitch
They’ve done this to Hibs quite a lot, hope we stick them in the top tier too

30-07-2022, 07:15 PM
Watching Sportscene just now, noticed Killie have their fans in the bottom tier of the home stand behind the goals, and stick the Dundee Utd fans in the top tier, well away from the pitch

Not watching it but I bet Hibs are on last. Standard BBC Scotland patter.

30-07-2022, 07:16 PM

It's a no brainer. Been saying for years they should put away fans in the most awkward place possible. We should use our stadium to our advantage.

30-07-2022, 07:20 PM

Meanwhile their own wheelchair users have a shiny new raised platform but away fans are stuck in a crappy shelter.

Absolute disgrace.

30-07-2022, 07:26 PM
They hate Hibs and hardly mention us so what's the point.

Would rather listen to the wheels going round on my motor than they clowns to be honest.

Totally agree and their anti Hibs agenda for years was a massive turn off!

Dmas
30-07-2022, 07:28 PM
There was some great play involving melkerson first half today I was looking forward to seeing it on tv as I was other end didn’t show it instead there spending 5mins highlighting fouls didn’t happen for any other team

Silversand
30-07-2022, 07:31 PM
I agree the coverage was fine. Unfortunately there is a hard core anti BBC group of nationalist politicos who have an agenda which infests the Hibs net message boards.Jeezo, what utter crap [emoji1787][emoji1787][emoji1787]

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

30-07-2022, 07:36 PM
Meanwhile their own wheelchair users have a shiny new raised platform but away fans are stuck in a crappy shelter.

Absolute disgrace.

Contact Gary O’Hagen then, let him know your thoughts
I presume the away wheelchair users at Killie still have that wee shelter at ground level, absolutely dreadful for fans like you that have to sit there, terrible view and freezing in winter

30-07-2022, 07:37 PM
Sportsound is dreadful, and with Kenny McIntyre hosting it is even worse. I only tuned in post match today to hear LJ interview.

I dont listen to the buildup or ever during matches as I am usually watching the match either live or on IPTV.

Most clubs think the BBC hate them, but I can guarantee that if Hibs had sacked their manager in the week before the league campaign started, they would have slaughtered us..............by all accounts today, they did this anyway even though St Johnstone, Motherwell and St Mirren are in much more turnmoil !!

Its all very odd, but it definitely seems that there is an editorial policy that allows Preston to commentate on all Hearts matches, and he "appears" to talk up the players that coincidentally, he also represents. No doubt next week at the derby it will be the impartial coverage from Preston and Levein...............

Willie Miller always seems to be at Pittodrie, and Bonner at any Celtic match. There are several Hun sympathisers too.

The Terrace podcast guys are streets ahead in knowledge and coverage - and even though some on here dislike it, at least they are measured in their Hibs coverage and actually have some knowledge of the game.

30-07-2022, 07:40 PM
Contact Gary O’Hagen then, let him know your thoughts
I presume the away wheelchair users at Killie still have that wee shelter at ground level, absolutely dreadful for fans like you that have to sit there, terrible view and freezing in winter

Yep the same shelter they've had for years there, you can see nothing and if anyone accompanying a wheelchair user is 6ft+ they're unable to stand up straight.

Their own fans used to have the same crappy facilities until last season but it now seems to be vastly superior.

Absolutely unacceptable that every home and away fan has exactly the same facilities and views of the pitch except for away wheelchair users. I'm pretty sure it must be bordering on being illegal.

30-07-2022, 07:43 PM
Yep the same shelter they've had for years there, you can see nothing and if anyone accompanying a wheelchair user is 6ft+ they're unable to stand up straight.

Their own fans used to have the same crappy facilities until last season but it now seems to be vastly superior.

Absolutely unacceptable that every home and away fan has exactly the same facilities and views of the pitch except for away wheelchair users. I'm pretty sure it must be bordering on being illegal.

100% agree with you, should offer good facilities for all fans
I’m sure you’ve taken it up with Hibs, KP posts on here, I’m sure he’ll respond to to you.
Every fan should be welcomed at all grounds in Scotland

30-07-2022, 07:59 PM
SNPortsound 😂😂

😂😂😂

MartinfaePorty
30-07-2022, 08:16 PM
BBC obviously have no one proofreading these days. Please don't head to Easter Road next Saturday, folks!https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220730/36fb6065834c0fa59c82b1fd22af3350.jpg

Sent from my SM-S901B using Tapatalk

30-07-2022, 08:23 PM
Jeezo, what utter crap [emoji1787][emoji1787][emoji1787]

What that BBC have an anti-Hibs agenda or that some Hibs fans have an anti-BBC agenda?

30-07-2022, 09:24 PM
Tuned into Sportsound to kill time before the game on Hibs TV. There was a 30 minute hatchette job on Hibs both on and off the pitch with all gleefully joining in. Stewart kept on about the sacking of Ross - he obviously never saw the boring football or the bad run of results. LJ was put in the category of manager under threat along with Davidson and Robinson. They were all bemoaning us not signing established Scottish players and basically said the running of the club off the field had fallen to pieces since Dempster went. Making out she was pushed rather than leaving for personal reasons. Not mention of all the balls she dropped and the nepotism in some of her appointments. Hope we silence them all which we started in Perth and carry on next Sunday.

30-07-2022, 09:25 PM
Tuned into Sportsound to kill time before the game on Hibs TV. There was a 30 minute hatchette job on Hibs both on and off the pitch with all gleefully joining in. Stewart kept on about the sacking of Ross - he obviously never saw the boring football or the bad run of results. LJ was put in the category of manager under threat along with Davidson and Robinson. They were all bemoaning us not signing established Scottish players and basically said the running of the club off the field had fallen to pieces since Dempster went. Making out she was pushed rather than leaving for personal reasons. No mention of all the balls she dropped and the nepotism in some of her appointments. Hope we silence them all which we started in Perth and carry on next Sunday.

30-07-2022, 09:51 PM
Listened to much of 1st half of Sportsound in the car. I just can't take to the open goal coverage of 'Goallll, ohhhh, ahhh, oh its hit the post, its a goal, not its not...' etc and having no idea what game they're talking about.

They were certainly giving a lot of praise to Ross County at Tynie and Willie Miller was saying it was all Hibs albeit in his usual dour expressions.

Glad though to get home by half time and able to watch the 2nd half of Hibs game on my firestick.

30-07-2022, 10:00 PM
Tuned into Sportsound to kill time before the game on Hibs TV. There was a 30 minute hatchette job on Hibs both on and off the pitch with all gleefully joining in. Stewart kept on about the sacking of Ross - he obviously never saw the boring football or the bad run of results. LJ was put in the category of manager under threat along with Davidson and Robinson. They were all bemoaning us not signing established Scottish players and basically said the running of the club off the field had fallen to pieces since Dempster went. Making out she was pushed rather than leaving for personal reasons. No mention of all the balls she dropped and the nepotism in some of her appointments. Hope we silence them all which we started in Perth and carry on next Sunday.

Funnily enough I listened to the same broadcast and don't agree with a word of what you wrote. They discussed the decline since Leanne left, Stewart repeatedly said it was down to her leaving that standards slipped in Administration. He did not bang on about Ross leaving despite others coming back to that as a root cause. There was a general discussion on exiting the LC and squad rotation. Not signing Scottish players is an interstesting take on moneyball as a strategy as I don't think anyone made that point. Why would they discuss nepotism with in Hibs? I have no clue or evidence thats how Hibs were run under her CEO role so why would a broadcaster speculate on that line? There were some uncomfortable facts but nothing was outside the truth.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

30-07-2022, 10:05 PM

Absolute disgrace.

Almost like making the facilities so poor, that wheelchair users stop turning up, and by default remove the responsibility from the club to take any action. Safety concerns aside, it's quite a bit of an insult.

30-07-2022, 10:10 PM
Almost like making the facilities so poor, that wheelchair users stop turning up, and by default remove the responsibility from the club to take any action. Safety concerns aside, it's quite a bit of an insult.

:agree: If it was any other minority group that was being treated with such contempt the clubs concerned would be in danger of being shut down.

Sadly disability is still a long way behind the other minority groups when it comes to equal rights and respect.

LewysGot2
30-07-2022, 10:25 PM
:agree: If it was any other minority group that was being treated with such contempt the clubs concerned would be in danger of being shut down.

Sadly disability is still a long way behind the other minority groups when it comes to equal rights and respect.

Tomorrow is July 31st. The last day of Disability Pride month. You’d never know.

Silversand
30-07-2022, 10:26 PM
What that BBC have an anti-Hibs agenda or that some Hibs fans have an anti-BBC agenda?"nationalist politicos who have an agenda which infests the Hibs net message boards"

Is as mad & insulting as you can get.

30-07-2022, 10:30 PM
Tomorrow is July 31st. The last day of Disability Pride month. You’d never know.

:agree: It's pretty sad really.

30-07-2022, 10:37 PM
"nationalist politicos who have an agenda which infests the Hibs net message boards"

Is as mad & insulting as you can get.

Ah, okay. I wouldn't know about that as I rarely look at the Holy Ground but I did wonder if either a BBC anti-Hibs agenda or some fans having an anti-BBC agenda was a bit far fetched.

30-07-2022, 10:51 PM
Funnily enough I listened to the same broadcast and don't agree with a word of what you wrote. They discussed the decline since Leanne left, Stewart repeatedly said it was down to her leaving that standards slipped in Administration. He did not bang on about Ross leaving despite others coming back to that as a root cause. There was a general discussion on exiting the LC and squad rotation. Not signing Scottish players is an interstesting take on moneyball as a strategy as I don't think anyone made that point. Why would they discuss nepotism with in Hibs? I have no clue or evidence thats how Hibs were run under her CEO role so why would a broadcaster speculate on that line? There were some uncomfortable facts but nothing was outside the truth.

I think you need to go back and listen to the broadcast again.

31-07-2022, 09:38 AM
Ah, okay. I wouldn't know about that as I rarely look at the Holy Ground but I did wonder if either a BBC anti-Hibs agenda or some fans having an anti-BBC agenda was a bit far fetched.

There are posters who are anti-BBC as I've seen comments about not paying licence fees in threads discussing Sportsound or Sportscene.

Whether that is because they think the BBC is too quick to show Hibs in a negative light, or not supportive enough of their own political views, will vary. But as someone who avoids the Holy Ground I have seen the latter on the football forum. Up to admins to decide when someone is going too far and should be on the Holy Ground.

31-07-2022, 01:05 PM
Richard Gordon back on today, seemingly it’s only when Cove are playing he won’t be presenting

31-07-2022, 01:14 PM
Richard Gordon back on today, seemingly it’s only when Cove are playing he won’t be presenting

I think he was only ever stopping the Saturday shows.

hhibs
31-07-2022, 01:21 PM

That is some brew your taking,so early in the day too.

Paul1642
31-07-2022, 01:25 PM
I normally enjoy listing to Sportsound and catch about 30 minutes of it on my drive to work on a Saturday.

Yesterday it felt like I listened to a 30 minute debate on VAR with the occasional minor update on games thrown in. Talk about issues like that before the games and focus on the games which are on!

MartinfaePorty
31-07-2022, 01:44 PM
I normally enjoy listing to Sportsound and catch about 30 minutes of it on my drive to work on a Saturday.

Yesterday it felt like I listened to a 30 minute debate on VAR with the occasional minor update on games thrown in. Talk about issues like that before the games and focus on the games which are on!

Yep, it all got totally out of control. Wasn't a huge fan of Richard Gordon, but I think he would have acknowledged this and moved things on.

31-07-2022, 02:49 PM

You deffo should go back and listen it was indeed a 30 min hatchet job on Hibs and they all went on about the JR sacking

31-07-2022, 03:20 PM
You deffo should go back and listen it was indeed a 30 min hatchet job on Hibs and they all went on about the JR sacking

How do you listen again, as I missed the start of the show as I was walking to the ground
The podcast only lasts 58mins, so probably won’t be on that

01-08-2022, 09:44 AM
How do you listen again, as I missed the start of the show as I was walking to the ground
The podcast only lasts 58mins, so probably won’t be on that

BBC sounds app maybe mate??

01-08-2022, 09:49 AM

Some people hear what they want and expect to hear.

01-08-2022, 01:07 PM

Thought he had retired ffs. Just like Chic Young did who is now in every week absolute dinosaurs. Young genuinely got Goodwin to read the names of his team out to him. Any other manager would have told him where to go and not a chance would he have the cheek to try that with an old firm coach. Wonder if that Hibs fan has been done yet with using a belt on a Rangers player.

01-08-2022, 01:10 PM
BBC sounds app maybe mate??

Yep on here

https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p0cq4kzv

06-08-2022, 01:39 PM
Just bumping this to let everyone know that Tom English is still a complete fud. Just in case anyone forgot.

Fuzzywuzzy
06-08-2022, 01:43 PM
Tom English acting the **** and Preston bursting his bubble. Got the impression English was desperate to have spent all the money from Boyle moving until Preston said Hibs ha e done very well out of the move

Fratelli
06-08-2022, 01:48 PM
Tom English acting the **** and Preston bursting his bubble. Got the impression English was desperate to have spent all the money from Boyle moving until Preston said Hibs ha e done very well out of the move

English couldn’t wait to ask ‘if the big rebuild job at Hibs was predicated on receiving the Boyle money…’ until Preston reminded him of the Doig £3m…and even then he questioned how much we would have received up front. Complete fool of a man

06-08-2022, 01:52 PM
I stopped listening during the summer of Jambo relegation angst with Tom English frothing at the mouth once too often along with his BBC Maroon tinted cohorts. No balance, no variety just rage, whining and lots of wind and pish.

To be honest I haven’t missed it one iota and I recommend abstinence for cleansing your mental health.

06-08-2022, 02:02 PM

I'm normally okay with Sportsound but this did feel a bit like complaining about a team doing something different even when they've admitted the odd mistake.

What was most bizarre was that they seemed completely unaware of Youan as they ripped our attack apart.

06-08-2022, 02:03 PM

I can’t believe how much I can no longer stand Tom English. I used to find him a refreshing break from the usual suspects.

Fuzzywuzzy
06-08-2022, 02:08 PM
Preston said that someone at hibs had described it as a six month loan which we'd done well out of. I reckon £1.5 up front, zero to pay and Boyle getting a chunk of change from his club to piss off

06-08-2022, 02:32 PM
Rugby Tom and 1.5 million for McGinn. Nothing else to say.

Hibees1973
06-08-2022, 03:02 PM
Yes, English was ready to put the boot in on Sportsound. Interrupted one of the other pundits, said a wee bit of his piece until the others put him back in his box.

Who knows if Boyle will be the player he was before, no reason why he wouldn't. But seems English has a few pre-written bits about Hibs ready to publish at his whim.

06-08-2022, 03:06 PM
Yes, English was ready to put the boot in on Sportsound. Interrupted one of the other pundits, said a wee bit of his piece until the others put him back in his box.

Who knows if Boyle will be the player he was before, no reason why he wouldn't. But seems English has a few pre-written bits about Hibs ready to publish at his whim.

Let’s hope he has to write something positive tomorrow afternoon.

06-08-2022, 03:07 PM

He can write???

Cat Stanton
06-08-2022, 03:08 PM
I'm normally okay with Sportsound but this did feel a bit like complaining about a team doing something different even when they've admitted the odd mistake.

What was most bizarre was that they seemed completely unaware of Youan as they ripped our attack apart.

Likewise I'm usually OK with it, but this bit was pretty dire. English sounded like a sad spoilt wee boy, annoyed that Hibs had done something positive.

Possibly worse though was - in the middle of 'open all mikes' and lots of action happening across games - an indepth investigation and discussion of the penalty The Rangers lost last week in Europe. They are obviously trying to make it up to them big time!

06-08-2022, 03:51 PM
I think we all knew that Tom English was a complete walloper.

I dont listen to him, but the accounts above of his "analysis" of the situation appear to be ludicrously amatuerish.

Although I dislike Alan Preston (Jambo pwick, obvs) he has clearly corrected what English has said.

It says a heck of a lot about our coverage when the BBC Chief sportswriter cant get the basics right, and appears to be running some kind of pathetic vendetta against Hibs.

Hopefully I see him to set him straight in the West tomorrow.:wink:

06-08-2022, 04:05 PM

We could win 4-0 and he'd still find some way to put a negative slant on it.

06-08-2022, 04:16 PM

I dont listen to him, but the accounts above of his "analysis" of the situation appear to be ludicrously amatuerish.

Although I dislike Alan Preston (Jambo pwick, obvs) he has clearly corrected what English has said.

It says a heck of a lot about our coverage when the BBC Chief sportswriter cant get the basics right, and appears to be running some kind of pathetic vendetta against Hibs.

When English hit the Scottish sport scene, I thought he was a knowledgeable breath of fresh air. In the last few years, for whatever reason, he has exposed himself as a blinkered, ignorant and biased fool. I can’t stand the man and I can’t understand how he has wormed his way into his present lofty position.

06-08-2022, 04:20 PM

The bit about him being BBC Chief says it all GD. Like most they always look for the negative when it comes to Hibs. Instead of saying stay a brilliant piece of business it’s slagging us off!

Lucky I’m not the owner as toasters like him would get Told to GTF.

06-08-2022, 04:29 PM
I stopped listening during the summer of Jambo relegation angst with Tom English frothing at the mouth once too often along with his BBC Maroon tinted cohorts. No balance, no variety just rage, whining and lots of wind and pish.

To be honest I haven’t missed it one iota and I recommend abstinence for cleansing your mental health.
I still remember his rant when there was some rumour about the timing of some phone call the Dundee CEO had made to Doncaster. “This isn’t just back page news. This is front page news.” Proclaimed the bold Tom. We barely heard anything more about it. How this guy still earns a wage from the BBC I’ll never know. Absolute clown of a bloke.

06-08-2022, 04:29 PM
The bit about him being BBC Chief says it all GD. Like most they always look for the negative when it comes to Hibs. Instead of saying stay a brilliant piece of business it’s slagging us off!

Lucky I’m not the owner as toasters like him would get Told to GTF.

Sadly he is not a toaster Aldo, as I would have pressed the eject button a long time ago :greengrin

06-08-2022, 04:43 PM
Sadly he is not a toaster Aldo, as I would have pressed the eject button a long time ago :greengrin

FFS. Bloody predictive text. Aye that too

06-08-2022, 04:45 PM

So he's not in it for the bread?

06-08-2022, 04:49 PM
So he's not in it for the bread?

Going to let Aldo reply, he is on a roll.............

06-08-2022, 04:52 PM

Aldo is a bit browned off 😁

06-08-2022, 04:54 PM
Going to let Aldo reply, he is on a roll.............

Looks like I’m toast here and btw there is no knead! [emoji2957]

06-08-2022, 05:53 PM
All the best puns are taken leaving me with the crumbs.

06-08-2022, 08:15 PM
I think you need to go back and listen to the broadcast again.No you do. Stewart did not repeatedly go back to the Ross sacking. Since you didn't get that right you cannot change my mind about anything else just because of how you interpret things. Worse things were being said on this site so suggesting there's a BBC pile on is simply paranoia.

06-08-2022, 09:07 PM
Can’t stand BBC full stop now

Something very sickening about it all

06-08-2022, 11:19 PM
No you do. Stewart did not repeatedly go back to the Ross sacking. Since you didn't get that right you cannot change my mind about anything else just because of how you interpret things. Worse things were being said on this site so suggesting there's a BBC pile on is simply paranoia.

Other posters agree with me that it was a hatchette job. They recommended you listen again. Listen to the tone of most of presenters to. I have a great memory and no need to go back and listen. The anti Hibs agenda continued again today on the Boyle transfer.

07-08-2022, 12:21 AM
Tom English is a ****, end of discussion.

07-08-2022, 07:45 AM
When he first appeared on the scene in Scotland Tom English was a welcome addition with an amiable personality and pragmatic broadcasting style. Was usually the voice of reason on Sportsound.

Has he deliberately changed his style to become more polarising and controversial? While it may well get him more air time and media clicks, I much preferred the older, more interesting to listen to, Tom English.

While it’s no doubt good for work, the downside of being a controversial media figure is that through time everyone sees through your game eventually and very few listeners or readers take you that seriously.

07-08-2022, 08:04 AM
When he first appeared on the scene in Scotland Tom English was a welcome addition with an amiable personality and pragmatic broadcasting style. Was usually the voice of reason on Sportsound.

Has he deliberately changed his style to become more polarising and controversial? While it may well get him more air time and media clicks, I much preferred the older, more interesting to listen to, Tom English.

While it’s no doubt good for work, the downside of being a controversial media figure is that through time everyone sees through your game eventually and very few listeners or readers take you that seriously.
Nah, he was a roaster know-all right from the first day I saw him comment on a rugby match on tv. I recall clearly thinking why the f... is John Beattie fawning over this R Sole's "expertise". I know what Jack and Victor would say to him if they came across him pontificating in his superior manner in The Clansman.
Laughed out loud a few weeks back at the Off The Ball phone-in with the question to the answer. It went something like...if the answer is "Oh you beauty" what's the question? Someone phones in with the question "What did Tom English say the first time he set eyes on Ann Budge?" Tam and Stuart loved it.

07-08-2022, 09:57 AM
Absolutely nothing on the BBC Sport site about the game today, not even team news, and Sportsound doesn't even start until 15 mins before kick off. If this was the OF they'd have already been on for an hour.