View Full Version : Match Updates Hibernian vs HNK Rijeka European Conference League 3rd round qualifier

Pages : 1 [2] 3

Dmas
05-08-2021, 08:15 PM
I definitely need to see it again, but it looked like it had barely anything behind it and went right through Macey.

6 yards out he should have been coming for it anyway, defo slow getting down for it for me

05-08-2021, 08:15 PM
McGennis has some delivery , sweet left peg
All put in with his right peg

Dmas
05-08-2021, 08:16 PM
I’m not surprised there manager highlighted high balls before the game now they are hopeless with them

05-08-2021, 08:17 PM
Nisbet down with no one near him.

Nisbet down. Very sporting from the opposition

nisbet down

05-08-2021, 08:18 PM
Nisbet knee went there!

Nisbet doesn't look good.

Looks bad, pulling up like that.

That's a very concerning one. We can't afford to lose striking options.

nisbet back on his feet

6 yards out he should have been coming for it anyway, defo slow getting down for it for meDon't think so, it was a good delivery, pacy and flat

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

05-08-2021, 08:19 PM
He’s not moving too freely tbh!

JimboHibs
05-08-2021, 08:20 PM
We look dominant going forward,though no confidence in our defence keeping a clean sheet.

05-08-2021, 08:21 PM
It's going to be a bit of a challenge going into the away leg needing a win.

05-08-2021, 08:21 PM
Don't think so, it was a good delivery, pacy and flat

Sent from my VOG-L29 using TapatalkMacey could maybe have saved it (almost any attempt can be saved) but I wouldn't say it was his fault either.

05-08-2021, 08:22 PM
It's going to be a bit of a challenge going into the away leg needing a win.

They need a win too and we are better away from home

05-08-2021, 08:23 PM
Gogic and Allan warming up....

Is the referee Paul Hanlon's big brother?

Robin coming on for them.

Dmas
05-08-2021, 08:24 PM
Macey could maybe have saved it (almost any attempt can be saved) but I wouldn't say it was his fault either.

He’s not solely to blame I’m not digging him out the cross should have been stopped CH’s where caught under it and questionable stevenson on the scorer, I feel Macey could have came for the cross it was close to his goal plus it was a soft header defo ‘saveable’ just a poor goal to loose all round

Very good options off the bench

three changes

Mackay
Gogic
Allan

Newell
magennis
Nisbet

Lendo
05-08-2021, 08:25 PM
Three subs at once

Nesbit off / McKay on
Macgennis off / Allan on
Newall off / Gogic on?

wish he had made the changes with at least 15 mins remaining

05-08-2021, 08:26 PM
Mackay booked without touching the ball after coming on

Zambernardi1875
05-08-2021, 08:26 PM
Thought we’ve been excellent tonight, great to watch, Doyle hayes has been fantastic, building a decent squad too. Still need a mclaren and a rob jones

HendoDelivered
05-08-2021, 08:27 PM
We’ve popped it tonight 👏🏼👏🏼

EI255
05-08-2021, 08:27 PM
Be happy enough all even going over there next week. Confident we will score over there.

05-08-2021, 08:28 PM
They’ve had a bit more of the ball in the last 5 or so.

05-08-2021, 08:28 PM
Maggenis is this years Newell, got some pelters (some fairly, some unfairly) when they joined but came good after moving from the left to the centre. Also both commonly misspelt names.

05-08-2021, 08:29 PM
Someone tell Tam how to pronounce Rijeka ffs

Three subs at once

Nesbit off / McKay on
Macgennis off / Allan on
Newall off / Gogic on?

You misspelt Allen and Gogitch

JDH mom

Maggenis is this years Newell, got some pelters (some fairly, some unfairly) when they joined but came good after moving from the left to the centre. Also both commonly misspelt names.

I think JDH and Magennis need to start on Sunday. They’ve both be superb this evening.

05-08-2021, 08:30 PM
JDH mom

With Magennis not far behind him!

I think JDH and Magennis need to start on Sunday. They’ve both be superb this evening.

Agreed. Murphy hasn't done enough for me so I'd like to see Mackay or Doidge in.

2 mins +

05-08-2021, 08:31 PM

JDH another one of those Jack Ross signings that seemed intriguing rather than exciting on paper, but looks to be a great bit of business.

05-08-2021, 08:31 PM
We should have put that out

05-08-2021, 08:32 PM
We should have put that out Yep

05-08-2021, 08:32 PM
We should have put that outYep. Not our proudest moment.

05-08-2021, 08:33 PM
Yep. Not our proudest moment.

Why? The guy was fine and got up.

JDH another one of those Jack Ross signings that seemed intriguing rather than exciting on paper, but looks to be a great bit of business.

Agreed but he looks the sort on this evenings showing. Composed, can tackle and can pass!

Murphy was ok this evening but I’d like us to play with Doidge and Nisbet up top

They did the same for Nisbet when he went down.

05-08-2021, 08:34 PM
Could've put it out but I think it's part of their tactics of time wasting tbh. They've settled for the draw

Why? The guy was fine and got up.Because they played the ball out for us when Nisbet was down.

Yep

why

he just fell to the ground

5 mins. Cmon hibs!!!

Can't be arsed with that to be honest. Play on.

why

he just fell to the groundSo did Nisbet.

4 mins

05-08-2021, 08:35 PM

They're told not to put it out unless the ref says so.

05-08-2021, 08:35 PM
Because they played the ball out for us when Nisbet was down.

He was clearly injured. This guy was clearly faking it.

05-08-2021, 08:36 PM
Well I put a draw in my prediction but 2 2 ffs

poor from lewis

These guy are time wasting pricks.

Allan very poor for first 5 he came on but very good after that. Should have scored

05-08-2021, 08:37 PM
Daniel that should have nestled in the net

Got to be finishing that ffs

e2los
Urgh so close...

poor from lewis

Crap cross.

Mackay one on one keeper saves :(

Mackay HAS to score. What a pass by Allan though

Crap cross.

It was indeed but he’s been good again this evening!

05-08-2021, 08:38 PM
That's awful finishing from Mackay.

Dearie me!

05-08-2021, 08:38 PM
FT wan-wan

05-08-2021, 08:39 PM
Unlucky not to win, great performance all round, finishing cost us though, but it's all looking positive, well done Hibs

Well done Hibs. The result could have been better but we're still in the tie.

Should’ve won that. Good performance but simply have to take our chances a lot better than we did tonight.

05-08-2021, 08:40 PM
Very good tonight. More than a match for them.

We should have won that. They created nothing all game.

That was a really good performance overall.

Unlucky Hibs. Seen enough to suggest we can win over there though

Full time - personally think we needed to win tonight to go through but makes next week interesting.

e2los
Not our night, didn't think we were ever losing this though.

Encouraging game to watch.

Big ask next week now but we go there with a chance.

A lot of positives and 1 or 2 negatives, particularly in terms of individual performances. I'm sure we will be looking to add another couple of faces in the next few weeks.

JoeTortolanoFanClub
A very good performance. I think we will beat them in the second leg.

That's awful finishing from Mackay.

Dearie me!

Young laddie just in the doorLot of pressure on him
Not seen enough of him so far but he won’t get many chances like that

OtleyHibs
Disappointed not to have won that, better team and we should've scored a couple more

We have a really good away record, we can go over there and win this tie

05-08-2021, 08:41 PM
Finishing let us down.

Midfield looked well balanced this evening, JDH outstanding

We're better than them. 2nd Leg is ours to take.

Good performance but disappointing result given the way the game panned out. It will be a different game over there but nothing to fear for us.

Could have been worse, could have been beaten. Could have been better, should have won. Really need to take our chances when presented with them in front of goal.

05-08-2021, 08:42 PM
Disappointed we didn't get the win at home

Unlucky Hibs. Seen enough to suggest we can win over there though

We need to start moving these fine margins in our favour though. We are absolutely still in this tie but will be playing over there in the heat, with their fans backing them.

It should have been a fairly comfortable win for us and after all the hard work from last season, I just want to see us go through rather than another what if.

Hugely frustrating result.

Need to take our chances, this lot are nowhere near the quality I was expecting.

McKay at the end has GOT to score.

Fancy us next week though.

Thought JDH was tremendous.

Winnable tie, disappointing not taking a lead to Croatia though.

Just leaving stadium - really like this Hibs team.

JDH definitely what we need.

Looked a stone wall penalty and massive chance at the end:

Entertaining game and felt we could have won.

Could have been worse, could have been beaten. Could have been better, should have won. Really need to take our chances when presented with them in front of goal.

No more posts required. Said it all.

05-08-2021, 08:43 PM
We're better than them. 2nd Leg is ours to take

If we can stand the heat, we could stay in the conference. :agree:

Incredibly frustrating. Played so well. Just missing that cutting edge. Not confident in players scoring outside Boyle.

Again though well played all around.

Stevenson MotM for me. Never put a foot wrong (pretends not to have seen that cross).

We are the better team. Very much a winnable tie.
Feel we are going to need better at right back this season though. McGinn struggling.

05-08-2021, 08:44 PM
If we can stand the heat, we could stay in the conference. :agree:

:top marks:

StockholmHibs
Piss poor finishing hibs. They had one chance and finished it.

We are out !

Great performance all round,

So frustrating to not be taking a lead over there though, really should have scored a couple more with the chances we had

05-08-2021, 08:45 PM

We are out !

That's the spirit

05-08-2021, 08:46 PM

We are out !

There's a replay :wink:

The_Sauz
05-08-2021, 08:46 PM
So did we play the long ball all the time :confused:

05-08-2021, 08:47 PM
Is the away goals rule already scrapped?

After a couple of goals in pre season I fancied MacKay to tuck that one away at the end there. Laddie will be kicking himself.

We need to sign a decent striker.

Is the away goals rule already scrapped?

Confident of going through. Thought we looked pretty good there. One lapse in concentration cost us a goal but overall we looked to be the better team had decent chances and in another night could have had a penalty. Very winnable game across there

05-08-2021, 08:48 PM
Played brilliantly. I was nervous pre match but we were by far the better side

Expect much more from them in Croatia

No bigger incentive to win though, group stage European football is achievable this season no doubt in my mind

Financially that would be enormous for the club

Cool, ta!

Good performance but deary me our finishing is poor, they're a decent team but we should go there with confidence, we had enough chances to win that by at least 2 goals. Doyle-Hayes had a cracking game with Magennis just behind him.

05-08-2021, 08:49 PM
Spot the jambos in the thread. *cough* Stockholm

Was a very good performance tonight and we just lacked a wee bit cutting edge. They also clearly came for a draw and got it. Will take another mammoth effort next week but it is winnable

05-08-2021, 08:50 PM

We are out !There's that big game mentality [emoji23][emoji23]

05-08-2021, 08:50 PM
Cracking game, disappointing result.

Nothing to fear next week. Expect to us to play the same way and take our chances.

e2los
05-08-2021, 08:51 PM

We are out !

I can't see them beating us, we are much better than them.

Allez Hibs
That will be that then. Can't see Hibs winning over there.

Lewy, with Hibs on break and plenty of space in final 3rd to put the right ball in and goes high and wide to nobody.

Then Mckay misses a 1 on 1.

Thought Nisbet looked decent holding the ball up.

Good performance but deary me our finishing is poor, they're a decent team but we should go there with confidence, we had enough chances to win that by at least 2 goals. Doyle-Hayes had a cracking game with Magennis just behind him.

Apart from the goal the defence were solid. Boyle DH and Magennis were excellent.

We need more from Murphy though. All our best attacking play is coming from the right. I'd also love to squeeze Allan into this team - the ball to Mackay at the end was classic Scottie.

We are out !

What Syndrome are you suffering from

I'm kind of glad we have to take the game to them in the next leg, trying to hold onto a 1 goal lead wouldn't be good for my heart. We've got it all to do but based on that performance it's doable.

We are out !
We’re not out and they had more than one chance. Macey saved when the guy was one on one in the first half. We should’ve won tonight, but we didn’t, crap like you’ve just posted is one of the reasons I hate the internet sometimes.

05-08-2021, 08:52 PM
Concern is that there is more to come from them next week.

We played some good stuff but disappointed not to win. Need another option up front.

Allez Hibs
05-08-2021, 08:53 PM
What Syndrome are you suffering from

Realism.

Missed opportunity tonight. Big time.

I'm kind of glad we have to take the game to them in the next leg, trying to hold onto a 1 goal lead wouldn't be good for my heart. We've got it all to do but based on that performance it's doable.
That’s an excellent point. We’ve got nothing to defend going over there so we’ll have to approach the game in the same way as tonight. Bring it on.

Can’t miss chances like that in the last minute at this level. Terrible finish

05-08-2021, 08:54 PM
Totally agree. I thought the midfield were superb. Think this is what we will go with in a 3 most occasions.

StockholmHibs
That's the spirit

Aye whatever mate. Finishing was dreadful.
Do you really think we will have as nany chances over there?

Our away form was far superior to home form last year and we’ve just beaten Motherwell away..

So, you never know.:thumbsup:

05-08-2021, 08:55 PM
Do you really think we will have as nany chances over there?Possibly, yes

Both are attacking sides and both will give up chances

Overall I think we played well tonight and should have won the game. We gave away another poor goal, which is the frustrating thing. There is everything to play for in the second leg, and I think we can beat them.

Davy Mac
I dunno, we're just too nice a team. i wish we had a right bad ******* in the team.

We're also still missing a true leader imo.

Allez Hibs
05-08-2021, 08:56 PM
Our away form was far superior to home form last year and we’ve just beaten Motherwell away..

So, you never know.:thumbsup:

Fingers crossed but had to take a lead over there I think.

We don’t need as many. We just need to take the ones we get. No point hiding under a rock and hoisting a white flag just because we missed a few chances.

I wouldn’t have gogic anywhere near that team. Came on tonight and looked very poor. He has absolutely 0 technical ability.

Realism.

Realism? You think the only realistic outcome is we're knocked out, even after watching the match tonight? That's a strange take IMO.

Can't see any reason why we won't have, this Hibs team have been better away from home, the onus will be more on them to come out and that will leave even more gaps to exploit, can't see how anyone can come away after watching that performance thinking we have zero chance of going through

Lee Marvin

That's how football.works right enough!!! Ridiculous post..

We should have won tonight but the players will know there is nothing to fear over there. Well in this tie.

All.in all, a hugely promising evening

05-08-2021, 08:57 PM
Definitely enough chances in that first leg to go away with the victory.

Tie is far from over and I'm confident if we can play like that again we will progress to the next round.

Totally agree. I thought the midfield were superb. Think this is what we will go with in a 3 most occasions.

Aye, thought JDH, Newell and magennis worked really well together.

All of them were getting stuck in and also all neat and tidy on the ball, playing some nice two touch passes together.

How the hell did we no win that? After Saturday and tonight this looks a far better Hibs team than last season IMO ... JDH looks a real player and Magennis looks like the player we hoped we had signed. Nisbet was really good outside of the box, but he should have done better with a great chance, as should McKay

We have to get ourselves sorted out defending cross balls and set pieces, but middle to front we look very decent, finishing notwithstanding. On tonight you would hope we can get a result over there, but like many European teams at this level I dare say they will be a different prospect at home.

At the end of the day it was a good performance but hugely disappointing not to be taking a two goal lead over there.

05-08-2021, 08:58 PM
I didn’t think they were a decent team based on that performance. I’ve no doubt they’ll step it up over there, but I don’t think it’s a game we should be scared off. We are a good team away from home playing on the break, and the away leg could really play into our hands.

StockholmHibs
05-08-2021, 08:58 PM
I can't see them beating us, we are much better than them.

Hope you are right mate

05-08-2021, 08:59 PM

Lewy, with Hibs on break and plenty of space in final 3rd to put the right ball in and goes high and wide to nobody.

Then Mckay misses a 1 on 1.

Thought Nisbet looked decent holding the ball up.

Don’t think we can be too harsh on Stevenson for that tbh, he had ran himself into the ground with no help from the midfield player in front of him and that was a tired cross.

I wouldn’t have gogic anywhere near that team. Came on tonight and looked very poor. He has absolutely 0 technical ability.

Poor couple of performances from Goga this last week. He's shown his worth previously, clearly needs to find some form again. I don't think he starts in a fully fit midfield now though, we're more well balanced with JDH and Magennis back.

Tend to agree. He will have a role to play but he gives me the fear anytime he's tackling near our goal.

I was critical of the midfield last season, and I think that was fair. A fit Magennis who is played centrally looks excellent. The early signs of Doyle-Hayes also look very promising. I’d have those two every week and rotate Newell, Gogic & Allan based on opposition and form.

Thought we played well tonight, if still not ruthless enough to be a really top team. I don’t think we’re too far from being a really good team though and the games I’ve seen have been much better to watch than last season.

EI255
05-08-2021, 09:00 PM
We can definitely do it over there. It'll be a tough one, but they'll come out at us and we've got the players to penatrate them. Certainly no fear.

COYBIG

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

Tend to agree. He will have a role to play but he gives me the fear anytime he's tackling near our goal.

Not a risk worth taking for me. He’s a heart attack every time he gets it

St Johnstone have just drawn away to Galatasaray yet some folk think we are out after drawing at home. We can absolutely go over there and beat them. It will take an excellent performance mind you but certainly within our capabilities

Allez Hibs
05-08-2021, 09:01 PM
Realism? You think the only realistic outcome is we're knocked out, even after watching the match tonight? That's a strange take IMO.

Different ball game over there though remember.

Heat, hostile atmosphere and they'll be having a go.

beensaidbefore
Great effort tonight and we should have got more for it. Too many chances spurned. We played some really nice football at times, but we let ourselves down with the final ball and finish too many times. Gonna be a close fought thing away to them. Think they will befar more attacking at home and may cause us a few problems. We need to get te first goal over there.
Overall I'd say an 8/10 performance, despite the fact we drew!

The idea we are out after that tonight is nonsense.

It's going to be harder to qualify than it might have been but we showed plenty tonight to suggest we will be well in the game next week. Of course I'd expect more from them as well but are they a better side than Brondby or Asteras? I'm sceptical. We have to take the chances we get and we can't concede a goal as sloppy as tonight but the tie is very much still alive. Anyone suggesting otherwise is quite frankly talking a lot of pish.

MagicSwirlingShip
05-08-2021, 09:02 PM
I hope we don’t live to regret all those missed chances.

They aren't Real Madrid, they looked very much our level and a team that would be challenging for 3rd or 4th in the SPFL

Expected them to be a lot better to be honest. They enjoyed diving about.

Quite disappointed we didn’t win. Could’ve left tonight having won 3-1 with no arguments

Was an absolute stonewall penalty. Couldn’t believe neither the ref or linesman gave it

05-08-2021, 09:03 PM
I was critical of the midfield last season, and I think that was fair. A fit Magennis who is played centrally looks excellent. The early signs of Doyle-Hayes also look very promising. I’d have those two every week and rotate Newell, Gogic & Allan based on opposition and form.

Thought we played well tonight, if still not ruthless enough to be a really top team. I don’t think we’re too far from being a really good team though and the games I’ve seen have been much better to watch than last season.

Newell was just as good as magennis or JDH tonight imo, gonna be hard for gogic or Allan to displace any of the three of them on recent form.

05-08-2021, 09:03 PM
Nisbet just a dead leg according to JR.

05-08-2021, 09:04 PM
That's a shame but we're still in it.

I totally recognise that the away leg is likely to be more challenging, but I don't think it's unrealistic to suggest we can still win it. Rijeka showed nothing to suggest we should be quivering in our boots about heading to their place.

I recognise that we might get knocked out, but you and a couple others should also recognise that we've got more than a fair chance of winning it - that's all I meant.

I’m still quietly confident.

They’ll no doubt be better across there but we’re still a good side. We were by far the better team tonight so if we play well we’ve still got a really good chance.

I also think playing on the counter attack will suit us.

I think we’ll score next week.

The team in only finding its feet this season, we're getting better with each game.

I think that was pretty much how we will line up in most games if everyone is fit. Allan in for Newell maybe?

Magennis / Doyle-Hayes could do a similar job to McGinn / McGeough.

Play like that most weeks and we'll do fine in the league.

Roxyhibee
05-08-2021, 09:05 PM
Really good performance but so frustrating not to be going over there with a lead. What a chance to progress in Europe.!

But I’m now certain we’ll get decent chances over there - take them Hibs please, ffs.!!

05-08-2021, 09:06 PM
I thought we were excellent. Zero complaints

I hope we don’t live to regret all those missed chances.

Yes, that could come back to hurt us. We missed chances and conceded a poor goal. We could have been out of sight already, but, if we can play that well in Croatia, we can beat them.

StockholmHibs
Spot the jambos in the thread. *cough* Stockholm

Was a very good performance tonight and we just lacked a wee bit cutting edge. They also clearly came for a draw and got it. Will take another mammoth effort next week but it is winnable
We blew a golden opportunity yet again and you accuse me of being a jambo.
Aye right mate 👌 Hope i never bump into you in the pub.

05-08-2021, 09:07 PM

They have a stadium with a capacity of 8,000 so I don't think the atmosphere will be too intimidating.

Could be right about the heat though.

beensaidbefore
05-08-2021, 09:08 PM

He got wired in, but in not sure thats what we need over there.

05-08-2021, 09:08 PM
We look a really mobile and athletic team

Really liking the way we are shaping up

05-08-2021, 09:10 PM
Realism.

Ffs Stockholm Syndrome was what I was getting at Lol
We have N excellent away record so won’t rule is out But yes it’s hugely frustrating not taking chances and giving away a cheap goal

05-08-2021, 09:10 PM
We have a better away record than home record. Not over yet.

05-08-2021, 09:13 PM
Newell was just as good as magennis or JDH tonight imo, gonna be hard for gogic or Allan to displace any of the three of them on recent form.
They did play well but the big difference with Allan is that he came on ,got up to speed and immediately laid on what should have been the winner.A good problem to have.

05-08-2021, 09:14 PM
He got wired in, but in not sure thats what we need over there.

Aye maybe but he gets wired in then gives it away again. So poor on the ball he puts us back in bother

Selkirkhibs
05-08-2021, 09:15 PM
Certainly all still to play for. Hope that we can nick an early goal over there and we can counter on the break with the speed merchants we have. Scotty Allan's ball through for Daniel was inch perfect, thought the keeper did brilliantly to close him down so quickly when making the save. Still in it though.

They did play well but the big difference with Allan is that he came on ,got up to speed and immediately laid on what should have been the winner.A good problem to have.

Definitely, was a great through ball

Magpie
Based on that performance we have a great chance.

05-08-2021, 09:16 PM
We have a real chance of progressing.

05-08-2021, 09:17 PM
Definitely, was a great through ball

ive missed those. Nothing gets me harder than a Scott Allan through ball

05-08-2021, 09:19 PM
They aren't Real Madrid, they looked very much our level and a team that would be challenging for 3rd or 4th in the SPFL

:agree: They're top 6 SPFL level, no better than that. Hibs showed them far too much respect and should have been far more direct. Their defence will ship goals if pushed hard.

In saying the, Hibs desperately need a new, commanding central defender. Losing yet another head goal from the smallest man on the park. Where were our CHs ?

05-08-2021, 09:24 PM
Very unlucky not to win and we need to take more of our chances They hardly created a chance the whole game. Some real positives though. Squad looks stronger, the style of play is much, much better with more movement and quicker passing. If Doig goes I'm confident Lewis has at least another year left as a starter. Doyle Hayes and Magennis looking good and Boyle is so dangerous. I'm no great fan of Scott Allan but I think he is perfect for a last 15 sub, he gave the ball away with a couple of terrible passes when he came on but credit to him he was very good in the last 10 minutes and played one really nice ball. Hope Nisbet is OK

05-08-2021, 09:28 PM
Aye maybe but he gets wired in then gives it away again. So poor on the ball he puts us back in bother

He was poor. Won’t get a start when we have Double Barrell in there. His rotation on the ball was top class today.

05-08-2021, 09:30 PM
:agree: They're top 6 SPFL level, no better than that. Hibs showed them far too much respect and should have been far more direct. Their defence will ship goals if pushed hard.

In saying the, Hibs desperately need a new, commanding central defender. Losing yet another head goal from the smallest man on the park. Where were our CHs ?
We defended very well tonight. One mistake.

Allez Hibs
05-08-2021, 09:31 PM

This. 100% spot on.

Lewy and Hanlon exempt from criticism by some for some reason but can we do better than them? I think so.

A very impressive display from Hibs against a decent side. Should have won the game comfortably. Decent chance of progressing.

H18S NX
Enjoyed that.We really have to take our chances when they fall for us.Could easily have been 3-1 at least,still,onward and upward.

05-08-2021, 09:32 PM
This Hibs team are night and day from last season. We can do this.

05-08-2021, 09:33 PM
We blew a golden opportunity yet again and you accuse me of being a jambo.
Aye right mate 👌 Hope i never bump into you in the pub.

Mate I’m usually one of the most critical people on here when it comes to the manager, the performance and the players but even I can see that was good performance tonight. Just lacked a bit of cutting edge and we lost a sloppy goal. The jambo comment was tongue in cheek, relax.

We are very much still in this.

05-08-2021, 09:35 PM
I actually thought we played really well. The balance of the team looks absolutely spot on.

In terms of the tie I hope I'm wrong but I have a feeling we may regret the missed the chances. We can go over there and win but I suspect they will be a different proposition over there. We'll need a 8 or 9 out of 10 performance to progress.

05-08-2021, 09:36 PM
This. 100% spot on.

Lewy and Hanlon exempt from criticism by some for some reason but can we do better than them? I think so.

Hanlon and Stevenson both played well tonight.

05-08-2021, 09:37 PM
It was great to be back at Easter Road after such a long time…
Frustrating not to have won, especially with that golden chance for MacKay, but we didn’t really build any momentum after the equaliser since Rijeka held possession pretty well and we looked a bit knackered.
We can definitely score in Croatia but I worry about keeping the ball out of our net after another soft concession.

Gordy M
05-08-2021, 09:39 PM
This. 100% spot on.

Are you joking? There are more comments made on here about Hanlon and Stevenson than any other players.....maybe with the exception of Wright last year. To say they are exempt in way of the mark imo

147lothian
05-08-2021, 09:39 PM
On another day we would have been 2 or 3 goals in-front, can't fault the performance

BlackSheep
05-08-2021, 09:43 PM
Anyone know what the applause on 60 mins was for…? I genuinely thought it proved a distraction for the players.

Perd Hapley
05-08-2021, 09:44 PM
Hanlon and Stevenson both played well tonight.
:agree: Stevenson in particular, millimetres away from adding another highlight to his career but had a good game all round

Allez Hibs
Are you joking? There are more comments made on here about Hanlon and Stevenson than any other players.....maybe with the exception of Wright last year. To say they are exempt in way of the mark imo

So we have a more commanding Centre Half in and don't concede and also a better Left Back who can actually cross and we could win 2-0 tonight and be in command to possibly change the trajectory of the club? But we have Hanlon and Stevenson who are shown up time after time when it really matters. I can't think of many good balls Lewy has ever put in, in the final 3rd.

The club is moving forward and we need to move on from Hanlon and Stevenson.

He was poor. Won’t get a start when we have Double Barrell in there. His rotation on the ball was top class today.

Superb player. So busy in the midfield exactly what we’ve missed

05-08-2021, 09:47 PM
Anyone know what the applause on 60 mins was for…? I genuinely thought it proved a distraction for the players.

For the Hibs fan who sadly passed away recently due to MND.

We ought to have won convincingly and are still very much in the tie. They didn’t look that good and really were there for the taking. If that’s all they’ve got then they could be in trouble at home. I suspect it isn’t though and they’ll be a different proposition there. No reason for us to be downcast though - on that showing at least we are the more accomplished side.

So we have a more commanding Centre Half in and don't concede and also a better Left Back who can actually cross and we could win 2-0 tonight and be in command to possibly change the trajectory of the club? But we have Hanlon and Stevenson who are shown up time after time. I can't think of many good balls Lewy has ever put in, in the final 3rd.

This is just getting laughable now. We played very well tonight, it was about as a well rounded, finishing aside, as a European performance from Hibs at home that I can remember but suddenly if Hanlon and Stevenson aren't playing we win 2-0?

Gordy M
05-08-2021, 09:48 PM
So we have a more commanding Centre Half in and don't concede and also a better Left Back who can actually cross and we could win 2-0 tonight and be in command to possibly change the trajectory of the club? But we have Hanlon and Stevenson who are shown up time after time. I can't think of many good balls Lewy has ever put in, in the final 3rd.

If you want to play the "what if" game, then what if we signed a left back who sold the jerseys and was at fault for a goal, or a CH who gets sent off and concedes a penalty?? There is no way you can say that if Hanlon and Stevenson werent playing we would win 2-0.....thats ridiculous.

05-08-2021, 09:48 PM
Stevenson was Stevenson tonight. Absolutely solid in defence but out with his shot that hit the post he was poor going forward. His cross in the 2nd half when he was in acres of space and put it over everyone and out the park springs to mind.

He had a good game though & solid but if Doig I still reckon we should be repacking with another attack minded LB.

Not that we will but I wouldn’t mind the same at RB as well, just not 100% on Mcginn

Agree re CB’s, absolutely have to be move commanding in the box at crossballs as well as the fullbacks stopping the cross. Can’t afford they mistakes.

BlackSheep
05-08-2021, 09:49 PM
For the Hibs fan who sadly passed away recently due to MND.

I see. It’s been so long since we’ve all been in the ground I was genuinely looking for subs warming up etc… Hibs fell asleep at that exact moment.

Allez Hibs
05-08-2021, 09:50 PM
If you want to play the "what if" game, then what if we signed a left back who sold the jerseys and was at fault for a goal, or a CH who gets sent off and concedes a penalty?? There is no way you can say that if Hanlon and Stevenson werent playing we would win 2-0.....thats ridiculous.

Fine margins.

05-08-2021, 09:50 PM

Would have liked to have seen him come on earlier and have a chance to link up with Nisbet. Took him the first five or so minutes to get up with play.

05-08-2021, 09:51 PM
Stevenson was Stevenson tonight. Absolutely solid in defence but out with his shot that hit the post he was poor going forward. His cross in the 2nd half when he was in acres of space and put it over everyone and out the park springs to mind.

He had a good game though & solid but if Doig I still reckon we should be repacking with another attack minded LB.

Not that we will but I wouldn’t mind the same at RB as well, just not 100% on Mcginn

Agree re CB’s, absolutely have to be move commanding in the box at crossballs as well as the fullbacks stopping the cross. Can’t afford they mistakes.

It was the 90th minute, he had ran himself into the ground and it was a tired cross. Don't think we can be overly harsh on him for that considering his performance tonight.

This. 100% spot on.

If you ever came out with some reasoning there would be a discussion. Both were excellent tonight.

Allez Hibs

Yeah spot on. Shipped three goals from headers in last two games.

Allez Hibs
05-08-2021, 09:53 PM
It was the 90th minute, he had ran himself into the ground and it was a tired cross. Don't think we can be overly harsh on him for that considering his performance tonight.

But what if we had a left back who could actually put a good ball in. How many assists does Lewy have for Hibs?

05-08-2021, 09:54 PM
I can't believe some of these posts. Total wind-up.

05-08-2021, 09:55 PM
But what if we had a left back who could actually put a good ball in. How many assists does Lewy have for Hibs?

42 in all comps according to transfermarkt.

Not too bad for a more defensive fullback

05-08-2021, 09:56 PM

But I said he had a good game? I’m not slating his defensive performance, he was solid but I don’t think he gives us much going forward. Doig showed us last season what a proper attacking full back can give you as well as being good at the back.

05-08-2021, 09:56 PM

What if we had a left back who was defensively suspect tonight and we conceded 2 and not 1?

05-08-2021, 09:58 PM

https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/lewis-stevenson/leistungsdatendetails/spieler/42547

43 apparently :aok:

Thought we showed the makings of building a decent team tonight. Thought midfield was a problem last season, it’s going to be stronger this year.

There is loads of good things about us but I think we lack that real edge at both ends of the pitch and that showed tonight. It’s maybe down to lack of proper competition as much as anything but a centre half and a striker are a must for me.

Should have won that game tonight.

Allez Hibs
42 in all comps according to transfermarkt.

Not too bad for a more defensive fullback

Thats too bad to be fair 👍

13 in the top league it's saying.

05-08-2021, 09:59 PM
This. 100% spot on.

Love them both but have gone from being a bit edgy to utterly despondent that we’ve started the season with PH as skipper and first choice CH. How long we expect to do this and still make progress is beyond me.

05-08-2021, 10:00 PM
I see. It’s been so long since we’ve all been in the ground I was genuinely looking for subs warming up etc… Hibs fell asleep at that exact moment.

I don’t think we should have these things during games.

05-08-2021, 10:01 PM
Mixed feelings after that - disappointed that we didn't beat them but full of hope that we can do them over there. They have a few very dangerous players but then so do we - and on that showing we are the stronger team overall. If we show our customary resolve on the road there is no reason we can't go through.

1875godsgift
But I said he had a good game? I’m not slating his defensive performance, he was solid but I don’t think he gives us much going forward. Doig showed us last season what a proper attacking full back can give you as well as being good at the back.

Apart from hitting the post?

Allez Hibs
I can't believe some of these posts. Total wind-up.

Could Lewy have done better with time and space in the final third tonight in the 92nd minute on the break?

05-08-2021, 10:02 PM
Apart from hitting the post?

Which I’d previously mentioned if you’d read my earlier post

Allez Hibs
05-08-2021, 10:02 PM
How long we expect to do this and still make progress is beyond me.

In a nutshell.

05-08-2021, 10:05 PM
Love them both but have gone from being a bit edgy to utterly despondent that we’ve started the season with PH as skipper and first choice CH. How long we expect to do this and still make progress is beyond me.

As long as it keeps working. We’ve been making progress for around 6 years now and he’s been at the heart of it the whole time. Outstanding tonight.

05-08-2021, 10:06 PM

We are making progress. We finished 3rd last season for the first time in how long? Surely that is progress?

05-08-2021, 10:07 PM
Thought we played well. Not sure why the ref refused the pen. Couldn't work out why he let play go on after their 10 had a kick right in front of him as they had the ball and finally pulled it back for a free about 30 seconds later. Their goal was very cheap but we deserved the equaliser. Boyle frustrated me because he always went outside and he got nothing out that side all night. Murphy needed to drop back as there was always an extra man on Stevenson. They reminded me of Molde, playing well within themselves and looking to draw or nick a result. Hope I'm wrong but they'll be a different side next week.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

05-08-2021, 10:09 PM
We are making progress. We finished 3rd last season for the first time in how long? Surely that is progress?

And had our best defensive record in goodness knows how long. Sunday showed we lose a goal and we blame Hanlon, it’s easy to do so, even when he’s nowhere near at fault. Sets up our goal tonight and is outstanding in the main yet gets hung out to dry.

05-08-2021, 10:09 PM
Left the stadium feeling happy with how we played and on another night we win that game by a couple.

But now I see we're trying to work out if Stevenson or Hanlon should be launched again...

Franck Le God
05-08-2021, 10:10 PM
This. 100% spot on.

Hanlon was immense tonight and if you can't see that you weren't watching the same game as me.

05-08-2021, 10:12 PM
Thought we played well. Not sure why the ref refused the pen. Couldn't work out why he let play go on after their 10 had a kick right in front of him as they had the ball and finally pulled it back for a free about 30 seconds later. Their goal was very cheap but we deserved the equaliser. Boyle frustrated me because he always went outside and he got nothing out that side all night. Murphy needed to drop back as there was always an extra man on Stevenson. They reminded me of Molde, playing well within themselves and looking to draw or nick a result. Hope I'm wrong but they'll be a different side next week.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

You’re spot on with your Murphy observation. Was sitting in the east and could see Stevenson had two men every time. Murphy didn’t even have a look behind him, drifted infield and left that pass on every time. He’s very frustrating to watch sometimes.

05-08-2021, 10:13 PM

You can’t be criticising Lewis tonight, surely?

He had an immense first half and a perfectly competent second half.

At the very least he’d earned a bit of leeway for a tired cross late in the game.

05-08-2021, 10:13 PM

His crossing could definitely be better but he does but good balls in the box and they would be more effective with strikers who attacked the front post. He is a defender first and young Doig may be better romping forward but he is a good deal behind Lewis in our own half. Lewis also had to play with Murphy in front of him for an hour and was still charging forward, hitting the post and trying to win the game for Hibs. My MOTM tonight despite one poor cross

05-08-2021, 10:15 PM

No need for despondency as Hanlon is in the form of his career. Doesn't mean we can't strengthen in that area though and there is still time to do so this window. Rather than being worried about Hanlon continuing in the tightest backline outside the OF though, I'm more concerned as to whether the (4 years) older McGreggor can still keep doing it whenever called upon.

Jazza
05-08-2021, 10:15 PM
Mcginn hopeless at tracking back there

He’s hopeless end off

gaz1875
05-08-2021, 10:17 PM
Played well in parts and looked to have a good formation. They never really troubled us bar a 15 minute spell when we seemed to sit on our 18 yard box and not press them. My only gripe was, we never moved the ball quick enough at times especially PMc. If we could just speed things up a bit more we could be in for a good season.

05-08-2021, 10:19 PM
He’s hopeless end offNo he isn't.

05-08-2021, 10:21 PM

Agree was excellent

05-08-2021, 10:22 PM
I was at the game. Thought we played well and made enough chances to win comfortably. Problem was with the attacking players not taking them rather than the goal we conceded. I think we can win over there but it will help if Nisbet is fit. Stevenson and Doyle-Hayes were best for us.

05-08-2021, 10:25 PM
Agree was excellent

Yup. Lewis is a defender. That's his primary responsibility and he did an excellent job. Going forward he is limited but let's not forget he hit the post - a bigger threat than a number of our star forwards today.

05-08-2021, 10:26 PM
I was at the game. Thought we played well and made enough chances to win comfortably. Problem was with the attacking players not taking them rather than the goal we conceded. I think we can win over there but it will help if Nisbet is fit. Stevenson and Doyle-Hayes were best for us.

Defensively good for most of the game but it’s another total lapse in concentration, giving someone a free header in the six yard box just a few days after we did it twice in a game. So frustrating as I never really thought we were in any trouble.

05-08-2021, 10:31 PM
There is loads of good things about us but I think we lack that real edge at both ends of the pitch and that showed tonight. It’s maybe down to lack of proper competition as much as anything but a centre half and a striker are a must for me.
t.

Agreed, and the good news is that JR does too as these are the areas we're still looking to strengthen apparently.

I've no problem with Hanlon or Porteous but we need another in there competing for a start.

Inconsequential
05-08-2021, 10:33 PM
Danny MacKay was the reason Hibs didn't win, him and McGinn. Oh yes, add Stevenson and Hanlon to the list. Macey too, Boyle and Nisbet. Anyone who knows anything about football could see that. It's obvious. The TEAM didn't win but were a bit unlucky. Support the team.... GGTTH.

05-08-2021, 10:33 PM
Was there a singing section tonight ?

The reason I ask is a tear ran down my cheek when I heard a fairly loud rendition of the old Tornadoes classic ‘HIBS for the Cup’ towards the end of the game

It fair took me back to a bygone age

05-08-2021, 10:42 PM
Some proper fuds on this thread.

05-08-2021, 10:45 PM
Was there a singing section tonight ?

The reason I ask is a tear ran down my cheek when I heard a fairly loud rendition of the old Tornadoes classic ‘HIBS for the Cup’ towards the end of the game

It fair took me back to a bygone age

Not one you hear anymore and I did wonder who must have had the stones to start that one in the hope enough got involved. Well played whoever it was.

Allez Hibs
05-08-2021, 10:46 PM
https://twitter.com/Freddie_23_23/status/1423375385157378057

There's the goal. What are McGinn and Lewy doing?

05-08-2021, 10:49 PM
He’s hopeless end off

Bollocks

05-08-2021, 10:50 PM

Will you ever actually support your club.

05-08-2021, 10:51 PM

What I thought originally, no desire to stop the cross and Stevenson flat footed at the back stick. Blaming either of the centre halves is lazy.

Allez Hibs
05-08-2021, 10:52 PM

Yes always, but striving for progression. Sticking with the same culprits isn't progression.

It's possible to be critical but support the club.

05-08-2021, 10:53 PM

Tbf it’s hard to argue with that point. It was poor from Mcginn & Stevenson.

But to suggest they aren’t good enough is way off the mark

05-08-2021, 10:56 PM
Yes always, but striving for progression. Sticking with the same culprits isn't progression.

It's possible to be critical but support the club.

The issue is we have no other options. Doig conceded the same goal in the cup final, so even bringing him in doesn’t guarantee anything. McGinn has no competition on his side either. Stevenson was outstanding tonight outwith that though and although we want better, he’s capable still. McGinn has been off it for a while and I feel we need competition/better in with Cadden out still.

hhibs
05-08-2021, 11:02 PM

I thought exactly the same.

05-08-2021, 11:06 PM
Could Lewy have done better with time and space in the final third tonight in the 92nd minute on the break?

Could Nisbet have done better with his attempt at a volley in the first half that ended up in row Z?:wink:

Stevenson was immense tonight.