View Full Version : Scottish government tweet - RE capacity
Continuing restrictions are something that is still popular according to various polls.
I'd argue this is a situation in which there is little downside for the Scottish Govt, or indeed any party in Scotland regardless of the stance they take. Our elections are single issue events. A few thousand football fans being hacked off about ongoing restrictions is irrelevant at any time but even more so a few months into a multi year political term.
FWIW I don't think this is politically motivated. It's just micro management gone mad. So many rules and restrictions have been tweaked, changed, retained, backtracked on and whatever else that the kind of ludicrous contradictions and illogical nonsense we are seeing exposed now is inevitable.
I mostly agree, but there is the political elements of being different to England. The benefits of that seem to be that the core support love that while others find it hard to fathom out the differences,
04-08-2021, 02:15 PM
Basically they just haven't got a clue what they are doing.
In some ways I’d agree.
In some ways I think NS just lacks any sort of conviction and confidence in her decisions.
The messaging is all over the shop, the logic is all over the shop, we routinely announce easements and then realise they make no sense so we clarify* them.
I don’t think she genuinely believes she knows what’s best now.
*by clarify I mean change
04-08-2021, 02:16 PM
I’m looking forward to November’s “beyond beyond level 0” update where clubs with more than 3 vowels in their names can get 71% capacity on every third Tuesday of the month.
That makes as much sense as the government’s regulations!
Total nonsense, again!
04-08-2021, 02:17 PM
Not read anything about it but have transmit applied for above the limit and it's been granted or are have they been granted special dispensation by SG? Also I assume that transmit isn't on this Sunday like the Hibs v Ross County game but is in fact in the middle of September? If so, why are we comparing the two?
04-08-2021, 02:17 PM
In some ways I’d agree.
In some ways I think NS just lacks any sort of conviction and confidence in her decisions.
The messaging is all over the shop, the logic is all over the shop, we routinely announce easements and then realise they make no sense so we clarify* them.
I don’t think she genuinely believes she knows what’s best now.
*by clarify I mean change
Agree and unlike most have a degree of sympathy as this is a once in a lifetime situation that nobody alive has ever had to deal with before.
04-08-2021, 02:18 PM
The thing with the Scottish Gov is that it appears they base most of their decisions around the Indy argument so they have to go against Westminster no matter what.
If Boris was saying for us to stay in lockdown for longer you can bet the SG would be opening stuff up sooner!
Not anywhere close to fact.
04-08-2021, 02:22 PM
We’re almost at the end of restrictions. Do you really think “serious protests and mass civil disobedience” is going to achieve much/anything?
All sounds very Trump and the dafties who idolise him.
04-08-2021, 02:23 PM
Yup. I’d imagine the concourse would possibly even be classed as outdoors with the amount of fresh air that gets in.
A bus shelter that is enclesed on 4 sides apart from the entrance on the pavement side and the exit on the road side is considered a public indoor space for the smoking regulations, there will be more airflow there than in the under stand concourses.
04-08-2021, 02:23 PM
Will the outdoor door event not have enclosed areas . Tents for food, smaller performances , toilets etc ?
No idea, but its not this month anyway By next month we might be backbto full capacity too?
04-08-2021, 02:26 PM
More heavily congested than a nightclub dancefloor?
Dont know How many hundreds or thousands cram into nightclubs?
04-08-2021, 02:27 PM
Not read anything about it but have transmit applied for above the limit and it's been granted or are have they been granted special dispensation by SG? Also I assume that transmit isn't on this Sunday like the Hibs v Ross County game but is in fact in the middle of September? If so, why are we comparing the two?
Because one is orange and the other is pineapple. :wink:
04-08-2021, 02:31 PM
Mr Ellis told the BBC: "I'm delighted to confirm we've got the permission to go ahead with TRNSMT which is amazing, it'll be so emotional. It'll be two years since the last TRNSMT so people will be raring to go.
"We're so excited, we can't wait to welcome 50,000 people at Glasgow Green non-socially distanced and with a great line-up."
Glasgow City Council said DF Concerts had permission to use Glasgow Green for this year's TRNSMT festival, subject to any of the Scottish government's Covid-related restrictions.
A spokesman said: "We will continue to work with the promoter and the Scottish government on the safety of the event, incorporating any Covid-control measures as required."
Mr Ellis said it was "logical" to assume that fans would be required to take a lateral flow test and provide evidence of a negative result before being allowed into the festival.
Following talks with the Scottish government, he said he did not believe vaccination would be a requirement to attend events - but had offered to host a vaccination bus inside TRNSMT.
He said: "I don't think the Scottish government will insist on vaccination for clubs because I don't think they believe in that.
"But I think they want to encourage as many people as possible to get vaccinated and I would say the same. I've even suggested to the Scottish government if they want to put a vaccination bus into TRNSMT we'd be happy to host that, it's on the table.
"But I don't think it'll become a condition of entry in Scotland. It's fraught with legal conditions."
That is a quote from Geoff Ellis on the BBC website. Reading between the lines they have provisional permission from GCC but there are still ongoing discussions about the conditions required for ticket holders to gain access.
04-08-2021, 02:32 PM
A bus shelter that is enclesed on 4 sides apart from the entrance on the pavement side and the exit on the road side is considered a public indoor space for the smoking regulations, there will be more airflow there than in the under stand concourses.
5 a side football pitches at the corn exchange were considered outdoors and opened up when outdoor group exercise was allowed but before indoors was allowed.
04-08-2021, 02:36 PM
5 a side football pitches at the corn exchange were considered outdoors and opened up when outdoor group exercise was allowed but before indoors was allowed.
I don't know what the point is? I've been to the corn exchange but I've not seen 5 a side pitches? And what has that to do with what I posted?
04-08-2021, 02:36 PM
That is a quote from Geoff Ellis on the BBC website. Reading between the lines they have provisional permission from GCC but there are still ongoing discussions about the conditions required for ticket holders to gain access.
A vaccination bus in the festival is a nonsense idea. There's no way getting it at the festival will protect you from catching covid while there. Additionally the vaccines dehydrate you pretty badly so I can't imagine getting boozed up afterwards is wise, nor standing around all day. Just offering it so they can say they're making an effort to work with the government.
04-08-2021, 02:38 PM
A vaccination bus in the festival is a nonsense idea. There's no way getting it at the festival will protect you from catching covid while there. Additionally the vaccines dehydrate you pretty badly so I can't imagine getting boozed up afterwards is wise, nor standing around all day. Just offering it so they can say they're making an effort to work with the government.
If he was serious, it would be there, on Glasgow Green now, as the build for TRNSMT will be beginning soon.
04-08-2021, 02:39 PM
What financial or political gains is there here for the Scottish Government?
I don't know.
But if the decisions aren't based on the science, what are they based on?
04-08-2021, 02:42 PM
Political, wtf yi talkin aboot?
Ah take it yir a tory or someone oot tae score cheap points.
Theres one or two on this board that try that angle tae, SNP Baaad
Don't think I've ever seen you post something written in that style before!
Is it an SNP thing or just to show that you're more Scottish or something?!
04-08-2021, 02:46 PM
So they have applied for an extension to the 5k attendance level and its been provisionally granted for something that is 5 weeks away. As I say why this and games at ER are being compared is a mystery to me. I am pretty certain that by that time we will be allowed into ER for full houses. I expect that every game will be a sell out as well judging by the comments here.
04-08-2021, 02:57 PM
More heavily congested than a nightclub dancefloor?Coming out the west stand at full time is busier and more congested than any nightclub I've been in, and I'm old enough to remember what places like the Calton Studios, the venue etc were like in the rave era :greengrin
04-08-2021, 02:58 PM
I don't know.
But if the decisions aren't based on the science, what are they based on?
They are supposed to be based on science. It’s just very badly.
I suspect that it’s the decisions of ‘jobsworths’ employed by Edinburgh City Council. I can see how a case may be made to restrict attendances. However who came up with the policy that Easter Road be restricted to 5,800 or so with nearly half the stadium closed. If you can fit 5,800 socially distanced supporters in the West and the East, why not allow 9,000 into all four stands?
It is lunacy on a grand scale and cannot be defended.
I just wonder if the restrictions this week are to let each team have one home match under restriction and avoid any suggestions of special treatment for Hibs and Celtic over Hearts and Rangers?
If the restrictions are fully lifted after this coming weekend, that may be the case.
04-08-2021, 03:00 PM
Can't believe the attendances for last weekends matches, some grounds allowed 50% attendance others under 30%, and I think we were the only away fans allowed in?
There has to be a set standard for every ground, not governed by local councils!
The sooner it is allowed to get back to normal the better, even season ticket holders only with double jabs would be a good starting point!!!
TrinityHibs
04-08-2021, 03:03 PM
What financial or political gains is there here for the Scottish Government?
If you have to make an unpopular decision and transfer the responsibility on to others you gain, or more accurately, do not lose politically. By transferring responsibility to the Council it becomes a local issue and central government messages are not tarnished. Any negativity is aimed at the Council not the Scottish Government which is a win politically for the government.
I see no financial benefits to the Scottish Government other than transferring some administration costs but I would assume the Council will have to pick those costs up and pay for their own scientific analysis to determine numbers. Alternatively the Council may just pluck the figures out of thin air. Who knows?
04-08-2021, 03:03 PM
The thing with the Scottish Gov is that it appears they base most of their decisions around the Indy argument so they have to go against Westminster no matter what.
If Boris was saying for us to stay in lockdown for longer you can bet the SG would be opening stuff up sooner!
Is that what’s happening aye?
04-08-2021, 03:05 PM
I don't know what the point is? I've been to the corn exchange but I've not seen 5 a side pitches? And what has that to do with what I posted?
You said bus stops are classes as indoors. I said football pitches at the corn exchange which to all intents and purposes are indoors are classed as outdoors because of the level of fresh air they can let into the pitches.
I wouldn’t be surprised if once the doors are open at all the turnstiles, the entry ways into the stand and the exit doors opened wide that the concourses would also have levels of fresh air which would allow it to be classed as outdoors.
04-08-2021, 03:07 PM
Is that what’s happening aye?
Come on, there's been an element of that since the pandemic began.
The SG have been quite clear that they would go their own way through the crisis.
04-08-2021, 03:08 PM
Don't think I've ever seen you post something written in that style before!
Is it an SNP thing or just to show that you're more Scottish or something?!
Its a Broons thing
Stairway 2 7
04-08-2021, 03:08 PM
Tramlines festival last week and latitude the week before both about 40,000 and both had vaccine buses. It wasn't about protection from the festival it was about getting some stragglers vaccinated
04-08-2021, 03:11 PM
The SG have been quite clear that they would go their own way through the crisis.
And why shouldnt they? Scotland isnt England and health is a devolved matter, its what they are paid for.
04-08-2021, 03:13 PM
Coming out the west stand at full time is busier and more congested than any nightclub I've been in, and I'm old enough to remember what places like the Calton Studios, the venue etc were like in the rave era :greengrin
That could easily be dealt with by evacuating the stand by sections if it was perceived to be a problem.
04-08-2021, 03:15 PM
And they were quite right to want to go their own way. When New Zealand did what they did it was just to annoy Johnson or to be seen to be different. Or perhaps they made the right decisions. We sadly are shackled by Westminster in as much as we can only go so far with restrictions as some are reserved. Closing borders to air travellers would have been something that would have saved lives as seen in NZ but we couldn't do that and the Tories in Engkand refused to as they were still trying to make pals with the rest if the world outside Europe due to the brexit disaster. Anyway seriously verging into Holy Ground territory here so I'm out
Mr Grieves
04-08-2021, 03:16 PM
I mostly agree, but there is the political elements of being different to England. The benefits of that seem to be that the core support love that while others find it hard to fathom out the differences,
The other benefit to being different to England is fewer folk have died from covid in Scotland :rolleyes:
04-08-2021, 03:19 PM
That could easily be dealt with by evacuating the stand by sections if it was perceived to be a problem.
Yes single file row by row exiting but what about half time and hundreds or thousands queuing for food and toilets
04-08-2021, 03:20 PM
And they were quite right to want to go their own way. When New Zealand did what they did it was just to annoy Johnson or to be seen to be different. Or perhaps they made the right decisions. We sadly are shackled by Westminster in as much as we can only go so far with restrictions as some are reserved. Closing borders to air travellers would have been something that would have saved lives as seen in NZ but we couldn't do that and the Tories in Engkand refused to as they were still trying to make pals with the rest if the world outside Europe due to the brexit disaster. Anyway seriously verging into Holy Ground territory here so I'm out
Well said.
04-08-2021, 03:26 PM
Being clear we'll do it our own way is vastly different to "we're going to do the opposite of anything Boris does".
04-08-2021, 03:26 PM
I've been supportive of taking a cautious approach but even I have to agree that this is getting farcical now. There is no way you can claim an event like TRNSMT (or any other gig outdoors or indoors) will be more covid safe/socially distanced if sold out than a football match, particularly if they did limit it to season ticket holders only.
If clubs don't get at least the season ticket holders in then fans and clubs need to all contact local MPs and get this discussed ASAP otherwise we will continue to lose out. If there are genuine, scientific reasons why football differs (and I can't imagine what they'd be) then just tell us what they are.
Why limit to ST holders only? Plenty of walk ups (me) thought we were getting back to normal.
04-08-2021, 03:28 PM
The other benefit to being different to England is fewer folk have died from covid in Scotland :rolleyes:
From what I can see, Scotland has totalled 146 deaths/100k population, compared to Englands 204/100k
Damn Sturgeon & her caution!
04-08-2021, 03:48 PM
Coming out the west stand at full time is busier and more congested than any nightclub I've been in, and I'm old enough to remember what places like the Calton Studios, the venue etc were like in the rave era :greengrin
Risk of infection is correlated with length of exposure to infected individuals. Coming out the west stand you’re moving through an indoors congested area for 5 minutes at the most compared to potentially hours at a time in a congested nightclub.
04-08-2021, 03:56 PM
Yes single file row by row exiting but what about half time and hundreds or thousands queuing for food and toilets
No food sales after kick off tomorrow.
04-08-2021, 03:57 PM
Why limit to ST holders only? Plenty of walk ups (me) thought we were getting back to normal.
That's one hell of a walk up, from england :wink:
Allez Hibs
04-08-2021, 04:08 PM
I've seen this posted a few times.
Why would they want to do it if they didn't think there was a good reason? What do the SG gain from hanging on to these powers?
Think it's pretty obvious. They want to make it appear to their followers to be different to Westminster in every way shape or form.
Rangers and Celtic allowed full capacities but the rest of the clubs don't matter. Why has sectarianism never been properly dealt with by the Scottish Government?
04-08-2021, 04:13 PM
T
From what I can see, Scotland has totalled 146 deaths/100k population, compared to Englands 204/100k
Damn Sturgeon & her caution!
Thats figures with a covid test. Compare the figures with covid on the death certificate and they are a lot closer.
Then compare the excess deaths figures
Scotland 9316 excess deaths with a population of 5.46 million is 171 per 100k
UK. 116,970excess deaths with a population of 67.28 million is 173 per 100k
So much for cautious Sturgeon.
04-08-2021, 04:21 PM
T
Thats figures with a covid test. Compare the figures with covid on the death certificate and they are a lot closer.
You say UK but that presumably includes the Scotland figures???
04-08-2021, 04:22 PM
T
So much for cautious Sturgeon.So Scotland remains lower?
04-08-2021, 04:25 PM
This thread is moving away from football specific discussion towards solid holy ground territory. It is hard to keep on track I know but perhaps we could all try.
04-08-2021, 04:27 PM
Think it's pretty obvious. They want to make it appear to their followers to be different to Westminster in every way shape or form.
Rangers and Celtic allowed full capacities but the rest of the clubs don't matter. Why has sectarianism never been properly dealt with by the Scottish Government?In every way shape or form? I think you're maybe exaggerating a bit.
Rangers, Celtic, their capacities & sectarianism have nothing to do with the question I asked.
I still don't know what the SG are meant to be gaining from this.
04-08-2021, 04:30 PM
Maybe that is because we have a much smaller population in a country roughly the same size .
04-08-2021, 04:31 PM
This thread is moving away from football specific discussion towards solid holy ground territory. It is hard to keep on track I know but perhaps we could all try.
I’m not sure how people can be bothered going on about it all day
04-08-2021, 04:35 PM
No food sales after kick off tomorrow.
Great news. They must believe such precautions to be benificial.
04-08-2021, 04:39 PM
U
So Scotland remains lower?
They are, this week !
04-08-2021, 05:13 PM
Great news. They must believe such precautions to be benificial.
Website has pre order and you can buy in person before taking your seat.
04-08-2021, 05:46 PM
I am not a season ticket holder so I'm as keen as you for walk ups don't get me wrong. We've already sold the season ticket holders their seats so at a minimum we should be able to get them all in to the stadium, but ideally walk ups too. I can't see the sense in restricting football crowds but allowing night clubs, sold out gigs and festivals.
T
You say UK but that presumably includes the Scotland figures???
It's easy enough to calculate the UK with Scotland excluded using those figures.
107654 excess deaths, population 61.82m = 174 per 100k.
Website has pre order and you can buy in person before taking your seat.
My ticket is for west upper but kiosk vouchers are for west lower north or south. How do I know which one ? Seat is in the 60s
04-08-2021, 07:02 PM
My ticket is for west upper but kiosk vouchers are for west lower north or south. How do I know which one ? Seat is in the 60s
Think that will be the South, based on my season ticket in the West Upper South which is #37 and tomorrow's ticket in the same area which is #18.
04-08-2021, 07:11 PM
And why shouldnt they? Scotland isnt England and health is a devolved matter, its what they are paid for.
Correct. Sometimes the obvious things aren't very obvious to others.
Mr Grieves
04-08-2021, 11:47 PM
Maybe that is because we have a much smaller population in a country roughly the same size .
Work it out based on population size ya donut
Mr Grieves
05-08-2021, 12:19 AM
Just to be clear, the differences In death rates based on population can be seen here
https://www.travellingtabby.com/uk-coronavirus-tracker/deaths
Scotlands rate is around 3/4s of England's and wales
But we're just doing it to be different :dunno:
05-08-2021, 05:56 AM
Just to be clear, the differences In death rates based on population can be seen here
https://www.travellingtabby.com/uk-coronavirus-tracker/deaths
Scotlands rate is around 3/4s of England's and wales
But we're just doing it to be different :dunno:
I wonder what Nothern Ireland has done to be quite a bit lower than both Scotland and England.
05-08-2021, 06:30 AM
Population / landmass.
If you take Scotland’s population and cram it into an area the size of London there’s going to be more infections.
Stairway 2 7
05-08-2021, 07:13 AM
T
Are these updated figures, would be interested to see them ta
05-08-2021, 07:31 AM
I'm a long distance lifelong fan down here in England and like to make at least one game a month and I'm hoping to be able to make the St Mirren game on the 18th. Unrealistic?
05-08-2021, 07:40 AM
I'm a long distance lifelong fan down here in England and like to make at least one game a month and I'm hoping to be able to make the St Mirren game on the 18th. Unrealistic?
I’d have thought fingers crossed, we’ll all be ok by then
If we qualify for the Conference group stages, that would would move to the Sunday though
05-08-2021, 08:58 AM
Are these updated figures, would be interested to see them ta
These excess death figures are up to 23/07/2021 , a couple of weeks behind the daily figures .
I don’t know how often they are updated , weekly or monthly.
Blurhibee
05-08-2021, 09:20 AM
I’d have thought fingers crossed, we’ll all be ok by then
If we qualify for the Conference group stages, that would would move to the Sunday though
Yeah should be as long as the safety certificate has come through for the famous five and south stand by then 🤔
Causewayside PR
05-08-2021, 09:27 AM
Apologies if this has been covered elsewhere but because Aberdeen, St Johnstone, Celtic and Rangers All have their first leg of their tie away from home they will have full crowds next for their European ties- that right? While we are the only one whose home tie is first so thousands of fans miss out and Hibs lose a small fortune fin. Very hard to take if so! Wonder if Hibs will make any money once away game travel costs are factored in!?
05-08-2021, 09:30 AM
A few grand in travel costs? Selling Doig for millions?
I think we'll be fine.
Magpie
05-08-2021, 09:31 AM
Rangers just released a statement saying they will be having full capacity from now on.
05-08-2021, 09:33 AM
Rangers just released a statement saying they will be having full capacity from now on.
"RANGERS can confirm there will be a full capacity at Ibrox Stadium going forward, subject to conditions prescribed by the Safety Advisory Group of Glasgow City Council."
05-08-2021, 09:35 AM
"RANGERS can confirm there will be a full capacity at Ibrox Stadium going forward, subject to conditions prescribed by the Safety Advisory Group of Glasgow City Council."
Regardless, Glasgow councils still granted them full capacity?
It’s time for us to be given the same treatment from Ed council starting from next week
05-08-2021, 09:41 AM
This is why it should be a Government decision and not local councils.
The science doesn't change by heading 40 miles along the road.
05-08-2021, 09:44 AM
But if every request is run by the SG they could be dealing with thousands. It makes sense to have decisions made locally as long as everyone is following the same guidelines in the same way
05-08-2021, 09:47 AM
The Scottish Government is just passing the buck on to the Councils.
It’s time for us to be given the same treatment from Ed council starting from next week
The pressure is on Edinburgh council. No excuses for out next home game from monday.
ABZHFC
05-08-2021, 09:51 AM
Great to see Rangers are getting a full house, despise their fans and hope they get pumped rotten by Malmö, but we need greater solidarity between fanbases on this issue. The common enemy we face on this issue are obtrusive councils, not one another. So good for them and hopefully Edinburgh City Council are sensible enough to follow suit. A change in tact from both capital clubs will be needed otherwise.
Blurhibee
The pressure is on Edinburgh council. No excuses for out next home game from monday.
As long as we have our safety certificate processed for the famous five and south stand by then
:agree: We must be granted a full house against Kilmarnock on the 15th. If not then the peaceful protests should begin.
05-08-2021, 09:58 AM
But if every request is run by the SG they could be dealing with thousands. It makes sense to have decisions made locally as long as everyone is following the same guidelines in the same way
:agree: Not sure why Gov is getting a hard time here. Gov is giving the green light for full stadiums as long as Local Authority is content.
If the LA is not content then they should have very good localised reasons for not granting full capacity. I'd be surprised if Edinburgh doesn't follow Glasgow's suit now. They'll be well aware how much backlash they would get.
Rumble de Thump
05-08-2021, 09:58 AM
Great to see Rangers are getting a full house, despise their fans and hope they get pumped rotten by Malmö, but we need greater solidarity between fanbases on this issue. The common enemy we face on this issue are obtrusive councils, not one another. So good for them and hopefully Edinburgh City Council are sensible enough to follow suit. A change in tact from both capital clubs will be needed otherwise.
Surely the virus is the enemy.
05-08-2021, 10:25 AM
Yup full house by next home game.
No excuses.
If folk don’t feel comfortable going that’s fine but let the rest of us sit in fresh air and watch the Hibs.
Helensburghhibs
05-08-2021, 10:28 AM
Especially when a significant number will travel said 40 mile road to get there
05-08-2021, 10:34 AM
:agree: We must be granted a full house against Kilmarnock on the 15th. If not then the peaceful protests should begin.
Sunday is the game we could have done with a decent allowable crowd. 5000 season ticket holders locked out for the sake of a day.
A league cup tie against championship Kilmarnock for £20 admission a week later would normally be poorly attended so every season ticket holder who wants to go will easily get a ticket and the rest will go to a general sale.
Our next home game after that is the 28th by which time allowable crowds are unlikely to be an issue. s The Ross County game is the needlessly lost game for season ticket holders. I still don't get only using 2 stands if crowd density is a Covid issue.
05-08-2021, 10:35 AM
:agree: Not sure why Gov is getting a hard time here. Gov is giving the green light for full stadiums as long as Local Authority is content.
If the LA is not content then they should have very good localised reasons for not granting full capacity. I'd be surprised if Edinburgh doesn't follow Glasgow's suit now. They'll be well aware how much backlash they would get.
Why do the government need to pass the buck to local councils for football games? It’s either safe or it isn’t safe.
Well done to Glasgow Council for allowing full houses back for fans 👏🏼 👏🏼
05-08-2021, 10:43 AM
Why do the government need to pass the buck to local councils for football games? It’s either safe or it isn’t safe.
We like the devolved system in Scotland. Council should 100% be controlling this. If this was Rugby in Edinburgh it wouldnt be an issue.
05-08-2021, 10:49 AM
Health and safety is local authority so I don't get this passing the buck nonsense if I'm being honest.
GCC may have granted the ugly sister full capacity but I'm sure there was huge pressure behind closed doors to do so... Covid-19 is still out there and a very good friend has been floored with it the last 10 days or so, and a ST holder at ER...🤔
Edit and he's been double jabbed...
05-08-2021, 10:52 AM
Apologies if this has been covered elsewhere but because Aberdeen, St Johnstone, Celtic and Rangers All have their first leg of their tie away from home they will have full crowds next for their European ties- that right? While we are the only one whose home tie is first so thousands of fans miss out and Hibs lose a small fortune fin. Very hard to take if so! Wonder if Hibs will make any money once away game travel costs are factored in!?
That's the luck of the draw.
05-08-2021, 10:54 AM
We like the devolved system in Scotland. Council should 100% be controlling this. If this was Rugby in Edinburgh it wouldnt be an issue.
The decision on permitted capacity at the Rugby in Edinburgh was made by the government not the council.
05-08-2021, 10:55 AM
Health and safety is local authority so I don't get this passing the buck nonsense if I'm being honest.
GCC may have granted the ugly sister full capacity but I'm sure there was huge pressure behind closed doors to do so... Covid-19 is still out there and a very good friend has been floored with it the last 10 days or so, and a ST holder at ER...🤔
So I’m guessing there is a lower limit to every single industry and requiring LA intervention if you want more, restaurants, pubs, clubs, mini golf, the lot? Strange that the FM never mentioned this lower limit to any of them.
05-08-2021, 11:04 AM
It's not passing the buck. Its allowing for regional flexibility of decision making to suit local circumstances. It might be safe in one area but not another due to different covid rates.
So I’m guessing there is a lower limit to every single industry and requiring LA intervention if you want more, restaurants, pubs, clubs, mini golf, the lot? Strange that the FM never mentioned this lower limit to any of them.
LA's already decide on certain different things for different regions in these industries. Eg pub and nightclub closing times.
05-08-2021, 11:25 AM
It's not passing the buck. Its allowing for regional flexibility of decision making to suit local circumstances. It might be safe in one area but not another due to different covid rates.
LA's already decide on certain different things for different regions in these industries. Eg pub and nightclub closing times.
There hasn’t been clear guidance from the government given on what is deemed safe or otherwise though in regards to attendances and therefore different councils have had to apply their own interpretations of what is and isn’t acceptable. This has resulted in disparities between local councils which saw Ibrox at 50% capacity last Saturday while Easter Road is only a fraction over 25% capacity tonight. Instead of setting out clear guidance for the return to full capacity stadiums the government has passed the buck onto councils which has lead to football clubs in different regions all heading towards the same destination but at different speeds.
05-08-2021, 11:29 AM
The decision on permitted capacity at the Rugby in Edinburgh was made by the government not the council.
Quite a popular decision amongst Rugby fans I would imagine.
Meanwhile in football grounds the unpopular decisions have to be made by local authorities based on trigger points set by the Scottish Government (5000 fans) and using the national guidelines laid out by the Scottish Government which nobody seems to have had a clear explanation of.
05-08-2021, 11:53 AM
Quite a popular decision amongst Rugby fans I would imagine.
Meanwhile in football grounds the unpopular decisions have to be made by local authorities based on trigger points set by the Scottish Government (5000 fans) and using the national guidelines laid out by the Scottish Government which nobody seems to have had a clear explanation of.What did Glasgow City Council use to make there decision?
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
05-08-2021, 11:57 AM
What did Glasgow City Council use to make there decision?
Special handshakes. :greengrin
05-08-2021, 12:08 PM
We don't know Edinburgh City Council haven't granted Hibs the same. The key part was "....subject to conditions prescribed by the Safety Advisory Group of Glasgow City Council."
Just imagine if Hibs had tweeted the same then failed to meet those safety conditions, the fans would have been enraged at Hibs for getting their hopes up then failing to meet the conditions.
The difference between ourselves (and other clubs) and Rangers is if Rangers fail to meet the conditions laid out by GCC they will just claim they're being discriminated against and their fans will lap it up. Just look at the sponsorship saga going on right now. Forever trying to bully authorities until they get their way.
AugustaHibs
05-08-2021, 12:08 PM
Covid will be out there until the end of time.
Stairway 2 7
05-08-2021, 12:10 PM
These excess death figures are up to 23/07/2021 , a couple of weeks behind the daily figures .
I don’t know how often they are updated , weekly or monthly.
Cheers mate
davhibby
05-08-2021, 12:14 PM
We don't know Edinburgh City Council haven't granted Hibs the same. The key part was "....subject to conditions prescribed by the Safety Advisory Group of Glasgow City Council."
Just imagine if Hibs had tweeted the same then failed to meet those safety conditions, the fans would have been enraged at Hibs for getting their hopes up then failing to meet the conditions.
The difference between ourselves (and other clubs) and Rangers is if Rangers fail to meet the conditions laid out by GCC they will just claim they're being discriminated against and their fans will lap it up. Just look at the sponsorship saga going on right now. Forever trying to bully authorities until they get their way.
It’s quite clear from the Celtic statement that the conditions etc have already been discussed and agreed with the council, Rangers will be the same.
The way Edinburgh Council have been the last few weeks I wouldn’t be surprised if we’re still sitting around waiting towards the end of next week to find out if they’ll allow us a capacity crowd for Killie
05-08-2021, 12:18 PM
My understanding is City of Edinburgh Council are awaiting the detailed updated guidelines before engaging with the clubs re greater stadium capacities.
https://twitter.com/jamiekborthwick/status/1423254520100966405?s=21
05-08-2021, 12:27 PM
Not a popular opinion but one I agree with.
I'd imagine the SG is giving the same scientific evidence to every local authority.
That means it's down to elected councillors to base their decisions on their interpretation of the evidence.
Are they qualified to do so? Unless they have a medical background then probably not.
05-08-2021, 12:28 PM
Exactly, yet the government don’t put maximum amounts on those announcements as it stands. But they do with sporting events.
05-08-2021, 12:57 PM
Not a popular opinion but one I agree with.
I'd imagine the SG is giving the same scientific evidence to every local authority.
That means it's down to elected councillors to base their decisions on their interpretation of the evidence.
Are they qualified to do so? Unless they have a medical background then probably not.
I don’t think the councillors have much of a say in it.
All the power is with the full time officials under the emergency covid legislation.
05-08-2021, 01:06 PM
I don’t think the councillors have much of a say in it.
All the power is with the full time officials under the emergency covid legislation.
Good to know:aok:
We would be even better if the officials from different councils could explain how they come to different conclusions from the same evidence.
There can’t really be that much of a difference for someone living in Edinburgh or Glasgow city centres I wouldn’t have thought?
05-08-2021, 01:22 PM
My understanding is City of Edinburgh Council are awaiting the detailed updated guidelines before engaging with the clubs re greater stadium capacities.
https://twitter.com/jamiekborthwick/status/1423254520100966405?s=21
When will the "detailed updated guidelines" be published?
The rules change in 4 days.
05-08-2021, 01:30 PM
Shambles mate at the moment.
05-08-2021, 02:15 PM
Covid will be out there until the end of time.
Hence the reason why the SG are not taking the Boris strategy...😜
05-08-2021, 02:17 PM
Special handshakes. :greengrin
If, I were a betting man!!...🤔😀
05-08-2021, 03:03 PM
Jason Leitch said weeks ago he expected full capacities in stadiums from 9 th August
He hasn’t made any new statement to contradict this So if it’s good enough for him and for Glasgow to all Old Firm grounds full capacity it goes without saying it’s good enough for us as well
Night clubs are now open with no requirement to wear masks so why would you wear one outside Get rid of them as well
05-08-2021, 03:09 PM
Tomorrow is the last working day before things change.
Imagine trying to run a nightclub that you’re still not sure is worth your while opening and having to decide whether to go for it or not. They’ll have probably had to either take the gamble and order stock/get their staff ready or they’ll have had to decide not to bother opening on Sunday night/Monday morning.
05-08-2021, 04:02 PM
Tomorrow is the last working day before things change.
Imagine trying to run a nightclub that you’re still not sure is worth your while opening and having to decide whether to go for it or not. They’ll have probably had to either take the gamble and order stock/get their staff ready or they’ll have had to decide not to bother opening on Sunday night/Monday morning.I thought the changes happen on the 9th?
05-08-2021, 04:25 PM
I thought the changes happen on the 9th?
They do, on Monday, but the council are closed over the weekend.
05-08-2021, 04:26 PM
I thought the changes happen on the 9th?
They do, hence tomorrow is the last working day.
05-08-2021, 04:27 PM
They do, hence why tomorrow is the last working day.
And I think he was talking about nightclubs, which would potentially open at midnight on Sunday
05-08-2021, 04:28 PM
https://twitter.com/heartscotnews/status/1423304572618133504?s=21
No guidance update until the morn.
05-08-2021, 05:28 PM
And I think he was talking about nightclubs, which would potentially open at midnight on Sunday
Ah yes, the nightclubs will open at 00:00 on the 9th if England is anything to go by.
05-08-2021, 05:36 PM
Ah yes, the nightclubs will open at 00:00 on the 9th if England is anything to go by.
I've heard of a couple of owners saying that they will not open until September and make sure they are safe. Others probably can't afford to wait.