View Full Version : Doig done deal
01-08-2021, 03:06 PM
Hibs head coach Jack Ross tells BBC Scotland that Josh Doig - left out of the squad today - is "highly likely" to leave the club soon.
"He's been the subject of a lot of attention and much more concrete interest over the last few days," says Ross.
"For us and for Josh, it needs to reach a head one way or the other.
"I'd like to keep him, but it looks more likely he'll leave the club fairly soon. There's still a number of suitors."
Just a question of who and for how much
Would have liked to have seen the kid play once
Good luck Josh
01-08-2021, 03:09 PM
So... not a done deal 😅
01-08-2021, 03:10 PM
So... not a done deal 😅
It's done, bar the confirmation JR was quite certain in what he said and Hibs don't normally go public with these things...sadly it looks like we've seen the last of Doig
01-08-2021, 03:10 PM
He’s rubbish according to the football experts on Brokeback. Imagine getting even £3m for a player they let go, they won’t even get a development fee lol
01-08-2021, 03:11 PM
It's done, bar the confirmation JR was quite certain in what he said and Hibs don't normally go public with these things...sadly it looks like we've seen the last of Doig
Aye, aat least we should get good money for him though
Fingers crossed for a loan back for the season, would be massive
01-08-2021, 03:12 PM
Aye, aat least we should get good money for him though
Fingers crossed for a loan back for the season, would be massive
Busy August ahead as we now need at least 3 more in the door - a new LB, Striker and a CH - and thats without any further departures
01-08-2021, 03:13 PM
i'm sure hertz get twenty five quid or some incredibly low amount :hmmm:
01-08-2021, 03:13 PM
Busy August ahead as we now need at least 3 more in the door - a new LB, Striker and a CH - and thats without any further departures
Do we have a backup RB?
01-08-2021, 03:14 PM
Just another in the long list of left backs that Stevenson has seen off :greengrin
Doig is a very good young player with the potential to be excellent, so let's hope that wherever he ends up is the right place to continue his development.
As regards the fee, I'd be happy with £3m up front and generous add ons for appearances, caps and a future percentage. Also promotion if he's off to the English Championship (even on loan from the purchaser).
01-08-2021, 03:15 PM
Do we have a backup RB?
Boyle? What a scarey thought!
01-08-2021, 03:15 PM
Boyle? What a scarey thought!
Cadden as a right wb
01-08-2021, 03:16 PM
Cadden as a right wb
Totally forgot about him, what's his injury status?
Really liked the look of him when he came into the team
01-08-2021, 03:18 PM
So... not a done deal 😅
JR never tells us anything in interviews that isn't done.
Doig is gone.
Be interesting to see if he is at Fir Park today.
01-08-2021, 03:18 PM
Good luck to him. Will be a very good move for him us going by what Mathie said recently.
01-08-2021, 03:19 PM
JR never tells us anything in interviews that isn't done.
Doig is gone.
Be interesting to see if he is at Fir Park today.
Not in the squad, doubt he would have travelled tbh
01-08-2021, 03:21 PM
Got a feeling its Leeds he's away to.
01-08-2021, 03:21 PM
So it’s not a done deal?
Deal or No Deal - I may market that as a TV idea....
01-08-2021, 03:24 PM
That was my thoughts too. Seems like a good fit.
01-08-2021, 03:25 PM
We need another LB in if JD leaves
Is Mackie still injured?
Deal or No Deal - I may market that as a TV idea....
Good headline sure enough, if he is going then all the very best to a potential superstar ex Hibs player, an the hertz let him go.............:thumbsup:
Wakeyhibee
01-08-2021, 03:26 PM
If we get a good deal (as has been rumoured) then well done Hibs and a nod to Tierney & Robertson for highlighting the fact Scottish football has been under sold for a long time.
01-08-2021, 03:26 PM
got a few mentions during the january window but the rumours cooled
Junior Firpo was signed from Barca for the LB role a few weeks back
cannastar
01-08-2021, 03:27 PM
good luck to the laddie hope its a decent set up he is off to. certainly if its leeds he will improve playing amongst the standard of players they have and if under bielsas tutorage then he sky could be the limit for him. going by what i have saw of him i think he would fit in as he seems to have copious energy which would be a must for leeds. lets hope the fee is as much as is being predicted on here.
Allez Hibs
Not to worry, we still have Lewy.
got a few mentions during the january window but the rumours cooled
Would suit their style of play, they are a high energy team and Doig has that athleticism to his game.
I hope all the talk of £5m is true and we've stuck to our guns.
01-08-2021, 03:28 PM
5 million plus add-ons would be brilliant business. Hope it's something like that. Even better business getting him on a long contract last season.
01-08-2021, 03:28 PM
Not sure we’ll get the 5 million, certainly not all upfront. I’d imagine 3 with add on’s.
McCart in as replacement. Money plus Wright.
01-08-2021, 03:30 PM
So it’s not a done deal?
Have you seen JR's interviews.
Cagier than a cagey thing that's just been caged.
Tells us nowt.
Doig probably gone pending a medical and Hibs medical team and thus JR will already know his condition which I presume is A1.
01-08-2021, 03:31 PM
Not sure we’ll get the 5 million, certainly not all upfront. I’d imagine 3 with add on’s.
McCart in as replacement. Money plus Wright.
Is McCart not a centre half?
01-08-2021, 03:33 PM
Would suit their style of play, they are a high energy team and Doig has that athleticism to his game.
sorry added to my post, i forgot leeds had signed a barcelona player for the Doig Role :greengrin
01-08-2021, 03:34 PM
sorry added to my post, i forgot leeds had signed a barcelona player for the Doig Role :greengrin
True. Although I think he's at least 18 months away from playing Premier League football so whoever signs him will see him as a long term project.
01-08-2021, 03:36 PM
Have you seen JR's interviews.
Cagier than a cagey thing that's just been caged.
Tells us nowt.
Doig probably gone pending a medical and Hibs medical team and thus JR will already know his condition which I presume is A1.
Not sure. Jack is generally cagey - if he's coming out telling us a player is away then I think we can safely assume it's just a case of dotting i's etc.
Hope we have his replacement lined up soon as we've got games coming thick and fast now.
01-08-2021, 03:37 PM
Not sure. Jack is generally cagey - if he's coming out telling us a player is away then I think we can safely assume it's just a case of dotting i's etc.
Hope we have his replacement lined up soon as we've got games coming thick and fast now.
Agreed. Without actually saying it's a done deal he got as close as you can without saying those words.
01-08-2021, 03:42 PM
Agreed. Without actually saying it's a done deal he got as close as you can without saying those words.
Not really. He said it is likely and wants it done this week one way or another.
Done deal chat should be left for when the deal is, well, done.
01-08-2021, 03:48 PM
Very good movement Kyle Maggenis!
01-08-2021, 04:10 PM
Is Mackie still injured?
Dobosz83
01-08-2021, 04:29 PM
Take the money, entirely new back four needed....
01-08-2021, 04:31 PM
Not really. He said it is likely and wants it done this week one way or another.
Given there are multiple clubs bidding though and it looks like the player wants to leave, it would be a huge surprise if it doesn't go through. No chance Jack is discussing it as openly if we're not close.
01-08-2021, 04:33 PM
Given there are multiple clubs bidding though and it looks like the player wants to leave, it would be a huge surprise if it doesn't go through. No chance Jack is discussing it as openly if we're not close.
Wouldn’t disagree but close isn’t done.
01-08-2021, 04:36 PM
Is Mackie still injured?
01-08-2021, 04:38 PM
Is Mackie still injured?
Think so.
01-08-2021, 04:39 PM
That's what I meant. He normally goes to great lengths to tell us a whole lot of nothing but on this occasion he has all but told us that Doig is moving on.
HendoDelivered
01-08-2021, 04:43 PM
Is Mackie still injured?
He ain’t making it at Hibs.
01-08-2021, 04:45 PM
I'm hearing West Ham and on the back of that 3 new signings coming in.
01-08-2021, 04:46 PM
Ok.
01-08-2021, 05:04 PM
He ain’t making it at Hibs.
Not if he's injured he won't.
01-08-2021, 05:12 PM
Yes please.
01-08-2021, 05:26 PM
You know who?
I’ve been told McCart is coming
01-08-2021, 05:34 PM
West Ham fans (well their message boards) reckon its them or Arsenal. Good luck Josh.
Magpie
01-08-2021, 05:36 PM
West Ham fans (well their message boards) reckon its them or Arsenal. Good luck Josh.
Just read an updated article saying Burnley are leading the race.
Greenio
01-08-2021, 05:38 PM
Nice move by Hibs.
Smart way to whip up a furry of late bids.
If he's guna go, let's get the best bidding war we can.
01-08-2021, 05:39 PM
You know who?
I’ve been told McCart is coming
Afraid not, that's all my source gave me.
01-08-2021, 05:45 PM
This would be in incredible deal for Hibs if rumoured figures are correct. Shame to see a talented young player go but for £4/5m it’s a no brainer. Should allow us to strengthen in various positions all over the park.
01-08-2021, 05:45 PM
This would be in incredible deal for Hibs if rumoured figures are correct. Shame to see a talented young player go but for £4/5m it’s a no brainer. Should allow us to strengthen in various positions all over the park.
After the big screens of course.
JimboHibs
01-08-2021, 05:46 PM
Which one is it 4 or 5 million big difference.
Blurhibee
01-08-2021, 05:50 PM
He’s away to Watford
01-08-2021, 05:51 PM
:hyper
i'm sure hertz get twenty five quid or some incredibly low amount :hmmm:
Naw they don’t. They get a Baw and a bag o monster munch!
01-08-2021, 05:52 PM
Don’t forget the ribbons.
01-08-2021, 05:55 PM
It will be very interesting how we reinvest what we get
I think Doig as he is now is replaceable but obviouosy getting someone with his potential is the challenge
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
01-08-2021, 05:55 PM
And the fancy advertising boards!
01-08-2021, 06:00 PM
McCart
Jamie Robson left back from Dundee Utd. Their manager dropped a wee clue in his post match interview although he didn't name the interested party. Lincoln City apparently have a bid in of £200k plus lots of add ons but Hibs could beat that.
01-08-2021, 06:19 PM
I’d love to have seen Doig stay but the rumoured transfer fee is difficult to resist. What makes it sweeter is the yams let him go.
01-08-2021, 06:19 PM
Papers seem to think Burnley are favourites then out to Forest on loan
01-08-2021, 06:21 PM
Reporters saying it was 5 m then it was 4 m with add ons now its 3 m with add ons.
Reporters desperate for a story
Same reporters said the teams have met hibs asking price. Hibs have asked for 5 million no?
timewilltell
01-08-2021, 06:34 PM
Im guessing around 60% of any transfer fee will go to help valance the books tbh.
01-08-2021, 06:36 PM
If it was just ‘likely’ he would have played today in a huge game. The fact he didn’t tells me it’s all but done.
01-08-2021, 06:38 PM
Im guessing around 60% of any transfer fee will go to help valance the books tbh.
Balance what books? We keep being told we have insurance for last year and the loan we got from the government. We have no debt other than that and that’s paid over a very long period. Would expect some to be ring-fenced for infrastructure projects like stadium improvements/indoor pitch at HTC, would be very disappointed if a large chunk wasn’t made available to take our team to the next level.
01-08-2021, 06:42 PM
How much do St Mirren get? Must be at least the standard 30% yeah?!!
I blame Ben.
01-08-2021, 06:44 PM
And the helipad please.
01-08-2021, 06:46 PM
Hearts fans will be spewing 😂😂😂😂😂
EI255
01-08-2021, 06:53 PM
Hearts fans will be spewing [emoji23][emoji23][emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]Incredible set of sequences that saw Hibs rake in the millions and Hearts lose out.
[emoji28]
Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk
01-08-2021, 06:58 PM
He’s away to Watford
Guy at the game said Doig’s grandfather confirmed it was Watford. No idea if it’s reliable or not.
01-08-2021, 07:04 PM
Sadly, Hearts will be getting a 20-30% through their sell on clause.
What's that you say ?
:rotflmao:
Paul1642
01-08-2021, 07:07 PM
Gutted to be losing him however if the price is right and the player wants to go then unfortunately we will always loose our top young players. For the first time in a long time I actually feel optimistic that a fair amount of the fee received might end up back on the park 🤞🏻. Also hope we negotiate a big sell on clause because he could go far.
01-08-2021, 07:08 PM
Guy at the game said Doig’s grandfather confirmed it was Watford. No idea if it’s reliable or not.
Adam Masina and Danny Rose at Watford he'll be doing very well to get a game at Watford.
1875Sean
01-08-2021, 07:09 PM
Journos online say Watford are not interested, some chat about Forrest or Burnley
01-08-2021, 07:09 PM
Incredible set of sequences that saw Hibs rake in the millions and Hearts lose out.
[emoji28]
Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk
Yep, can't help but remembering the millions they lost out on the Chilean guy they signed for thousands and he racked up millions in transfer fees after being let go by them 😂😂😂🤣
01-08-2021, 07:11 PM
Could potentially be looking at a club record fee (plus hopefully a decent sell on fee too) for a player that has only played one full season for the first team, good deal all round. Lads definitely got a bright future and seems to have his head screwed on too, wish him all the best!
Yep, can't help but remembering the millions they lost out on the Chilean guy they signed for thousands and he racked up millions in transfer fees after being let go by them [emoji23][emoji23][emoji23][emoji1787]
Mauricio Pinilla was the guys name
Paul1642
01-08-2021, 07:12 PM
New left back is a must! Love Stevenson but he’s not the first choice answer IMO
I’d use some of the money and offer Doidge an extended contract
01-08-2021, 07:23 PM
New left back is a must! Love Stevenson but he’s not the first choice answer IMO
Stevenson had a great game today imo.
01-08-2021, 07:25 PM
He was very good and would be first choice LB for most teams outwith Rangers and Celtic. He’sa phenomenal athlete.
shetlandhibee
01-08-2021, 07:26 PM
Stevenson had a great game today imo. yip was solid
Paul1642
01-08-2021, 07:26 PM
Yeah. He still has a part to play at the club and can always put in a consistent shift when called upon. Just don’t see him managing 50 odd games this season and would rather we improve by signing someone better and Stevenson be the back up like last season rather than go backwards from Doig.
01-08-2021, 08:00 PM
Take the money, entirely new back four needed....
It really isn’t.
01-08-2021, 08:04 PM
Naw they don’t. They get a Baw and a bag o monster munch!
5% I think
Mr. Wonderful
01-08-2021, 08:06 PM
5% I think
Don't think it's as simple as a single percentage
01-08-2021, 08:10 PM
JimboHibs
01-08-2021, 08:21 PM
Hmmm not sure great , he had his pants pulled down through his own indecision on the halfway line, luckily didn't cost us a goal
01-08-2021, 08:22 PM
Hmmm not sure great , he had his pants pulled down through his own indecision on the halfway line, luckily didn't cost us a goal
Probably the one time he got caught out…otherwise put in a good shift
01-08-2021, 08:22 PM
Weird.
01-08-2021, 08:27 PM
5% I think
I don`t think they will get anything. Hearts let him go,he was a free agent, he didn`t have a club until Hibs came in for him. You can hardly say, aye, off you go and then suddenly say, he`s our player, you owe us money
01-08-2021, 08:29 PM
I don`t think they will get anything. Hearts let him go,he was a free agent, he didn`t have a club until Hibs came in for him. You can hardly say, aye, off you go and then suddenly say, he`s our player, you owe us money
Been discussed before and has nothing to do with being let go or not offered contracts. In international transfers there is a small percentage that is allocated to all teams that played a part in the development of the player.
01-08-2021, 08:35 PM
Looks like it will be max 2% Hearts would receive as a solidarity payment.
Page 70 here:
https://digitalhub.fifa.com/m/41c272bcbc3b19df/original/c83ynehmkp62h5vgwg9g-pdf.pdf
01-08-2021, 08:36 PM
Page 70 here:
https://digitalhub.fifa.com/m/41c272bcbc3b19df/original/c83ynehmkp62h5vgwg9g-pdf.pdf
Grass roots clubs like Hearts need the support of all big clubs.
Devonhibs
01-08-2021, 08:38 PM
Grass roots clubs like Hearts need the support of all big clubs.
01-08-2021, 08:41 PM
It'll be curtains for Ron if that's the case.
01-08-2021, 08:42 PM
Grass roots clubs like Hearts need the support of all big clubs.Especially after mrs doctor Budge's tireless, singlehanded, selfless efforts to save Scottish football recently.
It's only fair, can't just be left to Hearts fans alone to keep giving her money.
On the basis that Doig and Nisbet leave, one huge question will be answered over the next year.
Is Ron here to line his own pockets?
I’ll be honest - as much as I would like to keep hold of such a promising young asset who made himself a regular last season, if we do end up getting more money for Josh (assuming decent sell-on as well) than what Nisbet was linked for a few months ago, and end up Keeping Nisbet until at least January, I will be delighted.
01-08-2021, 08:43 PM
Yeah. He still has a part to play at the club and can always put in a consistent shift when called upon. Just don’t see him managing 50 odd games this season and would rather we improve by signing someone better and Stevenson be the back up like last season rather than go backwards from Doig.
Totally agree. Lewis being first choice left back would be a step back the way. Hope we reinvest some of what we get in a left back and another centre half.
01-08-2021, 08:45 PM
On the basis that Doig and Nisbet leave, one huge question will be answered over the next year.
If you want to end up with a lot of money from buying a Scottish football club, start with an absolute fortune.
01-08-2021, 08:45 PM
Page 70 here:
Does that not only apply if they ad actually offered him a contract...which Dr Football didn't.
01-08-2021, 08:46 PM
Does that not only apply if they ad actually offered him a contract...which Dr Football didn't.
Nope, applies regardless of whether he was offered a contract.
01-08-2021, 08:47 PM
No, it applies to every club who were involved in the players' development, until the age of 23, iirc.
01-08-2021, 08:47 PM
Surely joking
What about all the good things he did including his involvement on the touch line and pass to Newell which set up equaliser. Then his sprint from one touch line to the other to put in a superb challenge when they broke up field??
He was on the halfway line when he lost the ball but he ended up being fouled?? Why would that have cost us a goal. Plenty of players there to cover. All if what’s and maybes and looking for any excuse to put Lewis down.
Easy to pick some players errors.
Was superb today for me.
01-08-2021, 09:01 PM
Page 70 here:
I may be reading this wrong (and thanks for providing the info) but as far as I am aware, Josh didn`t move during a contract - he didn`t actually have a contract with Hearts or have I got that completely wrong.
Surely that makes the opening sentence redundant
"If a professional moves during the course of a contract, 5% of any
compensation, not including training compensation paid to his former club,
shall be deducted from the total amount of this compensation and distributed
by the new club as a solidarity contribution to the club(s) involved in his training
and education over the years"
All clear as mud but I`m sure we will find out in the next few days. Still funny as ****** that the maroon balloons let a player go and following a season with their biggest rivals, said biggest rivals are going cash in. I wonder how many years FOH contributions that equates too lol
Juniper Greens
01-08-2021, 09:12 PM
I may be reading this wrong (and thanks for providing the info) but as far as I am aware, Josh didn`t move during a contract - he didn`t actually have a contract with Hearts or have I got that completely wrong.
Surely that makes the opening sentence redundant
"If a professional moves during the course of a contract, 5% of any
by the new club as a solidarity contribution to the club(s) involved in his training
and education over the years"
All clear as mud but I`m sure we will find out in the next few days. Still funny as ****** that the maroon balloons let a player go and following a season with their biggest rivals, said biggest rivals are going cash in. I wonder how many years FOH contributions that equates too lol
That's talking about the transfer fee hibs get when he's contracted to hibs.
Hearts will get about 4% from this deal and 3% of any future deals. Hibs will get 1% of any future deals as will his new club as you accrue solidarity shares until age 21
gorgie greens
01-08-2021, 09:16 PM
Just another in the long list of left backs that Stevenson has seen off :greengrin
Doig is a very good young player with the potential to be excellent, so let's hope that wherever he ends up is the right place to continue his development.
As regards the fee, I'd be happy with £3m up front and generous add ons for appearances, caps and a future percentage. Also promotion if he's off to the English Championship (even on loan from the purchaser).
Hardly seen him off if he is going on to better things and a higher standard , Lewis has seen many off as they were not as good as him ,Doig is no ordinary player and will prove this over the years
01-08-2021, 09:17 PM
Pearls before swine. This play on words deserves acknowledgement.
01-08-2021, 09:20 PM
Pearls before swine. This play on words deserves acknowledgement.
Thank Sauzee someone noticed.
Clarence
01-08-2021, 09:22 PM
He’ll certainly have to put on his tin pelmet.
OstKurve Hibs
01-08-2021, 09:22 PM
Anyone think we should spend the money on our very own Plaza ?
nlandsafchibee
01-08-2021, 09:23 PM
Should Josh leave then who will they sign ? .If you remember JR and GM have said several times that they had plans if any of Josh,Kevin or Ryan would leave.
I will throw this situation out there. JR brought through a similar young player at Sunderland Denver Hume who currently is out of contract at Sunderland .He has been offered improved new contract, as their no 1 choice normally but has not signed it surprisingly. Sunderland say he needs to make up mind before August 7th. He is a decent left wing back IMO and JR seems in interview wants Joshs situation to be resolved quickly . Just putting this out there, he does have a hamstring injury at present so you have to ask why he has not signed new contract ,unless another coming in ?
I'm getting ready to go upto Easter Road and clap outside after dark.
Hardly seen him off if he is going on to better things and a higher standard , Lewis has seen many off as they were not as good as him ,Doig is no ordinary player and will prove this over the years
Did you see the smiley? He was joking.
01-08-2021, 09:25 PM
That's talking about the transfer fee hibs get when he's contracted to hibs.
Hearts will get about 4% from this deal and 3% of any future deals. Hibs will get 1% of any future deals as will his new club as you accrue solidarity shares until age 21
It's up age 23. Whether hearts get 4% or not, I don't know. How long was he signed by them?
If a professional moves during the course of a contract, 5% of any
and education over the years. This solidarity contribution reflects the number
of years (calculated pro rata if less than one year) he was registered with the
relevant club(s) between the seasons of his*12th and 23rd*birthdays, as follows:
– Season of 12th birthday: 5% (i.e. 0.25% of total compensation)
– Season of 13th birthday: 5% (i.e. 0.25% of total compensation)
– Season of 14th birthday: 5% (i.e. 0.25% of total compensation)
– Season of 15th birthday: 5% (i.e. 0.25% of total compensation)
– Season of 16th birthday: 10% (i.e. 0.5% of total compensation)
– Season of 17th birthday: 10% (i.e. 0.5% of total compensation)
– Season of 18th birthday: 10% (i.e. 0.5% of total compensation)
– Season of 19th birthday: 10% (i.e. 0.5% of total compensation)
– Season of 20th birthday: 10% (i.e. 0.5% of total compensation)
– Season of 21st birthday: 10% (i.e. 0.5% of total compensation)
– Season of 22nd birthday: 10% (i.e. 0.5% of total compensation)
– Season of 23rd birthday: 10% (i.e. 0.5% of total compensation)
01-08-2021, 09:29 PM
It's up age 23. Whether hearts get 4% or not, I don't know. How long was he signed by them?
If a professional moves during the course of a contract, 5% of any
and education over the years. This solidarity contribution reflects the number
of years (calculated pro rata if less than one year) he was registered with the
relevant club(s) between the seasons of his*12th and 23rd*birthdays, as follows:
– Season of 12th birthday: 5% (i.e. 0.25% of total compensation)
– Season of 13th birthday: 5% (i.e. 0.25% of total compensation)
– Season of 14th birthday: 5% (i.e. 0.25% of total compensation)
– Season of 15th birthday: 5% (i.e. 0.25% of total compensation)
– Season of 16th birthday: 10% (i.e. 0.5% of total compensation)
– Season of 17th birthday: 10% (i.e. 0.5% of total compensation)
– Season of 18th birthday: 10% (i.e. 0.5% of total compensation)
– Season of 19th birthday: 10% (i.e. 0.5% of total compensation)
– Season of 20th birthday: 10% (i.e. 0.5% of total compensation)
– Season of 21st birthday: 10% (i.e. 0.5% of total compensation)
– Season of 22nd birthday: 10% (i.e. 0.5% of total compensation)
– Season of 23rd birthday: 10% (i.e. 0.5% of total compensation)
It`s the bit in bold that causes me confusion (it`s easily done). Josh didn`t move DURING a contract, he didn`t actually have a contract with Hearts. Is that correct? I`m not trying to be pendantic, just don`t want them to get a silly penny from any money we make
01-08-2021, 09:31 PM
I'm getting ready to go upto Easter Road and clap outside after dark.
Due to current restrictions. They should be booking slots available.
01-08-2021, 09:31 PM
It`s the bit in bold that causes me confusion (it`s easily done). Josh didn`t move DURING a contract, he didn`t actually have a contract with Hearts. Is that correct? I`m not trying to be pendantic, just don`t want them to get a silly penny from any money we make
He's moving during the contract he has with us.
loanheadhibby
01-08-2021, 09:34 PM
What about all the good things he did including his involvement on the touch line and pass to Newell which set up equaliser. Then his sprint from one touch line to the other to put in a superb challenge when they broke up field??
He was on the halfway line when he lost the ball but he ended up being fouled?? Why would that have cost us a goal. Plenty of players there to cover. All if what’s and maybes and looking for any excuse to put Lewis down.
Easy to pick some players errors.
Was superb today for me.
He had a sound game. Superb you must be joking.
01-08-2021, 09:35 PM
He's moving during the contract he has with us.
Fair enough. So Hearts get money even though he was on the scrap-heap as far as they were concerned. Maybe we should buy Hickey
01-08-2021, 09:36 PM
Josh signed for us when he was 17 so, using the above table, it looks like hearts are entitled to 1.75% of the total compensation paid for him by the time he reaches the age of 23, if he was there from age 12. Less if he was older when he joined them.
That must mean they get nothing for another 4 years, and if he isn't transferred before 2025, they get 1.75% of the amount we receive. I'm not sure who pays that though.
01-08-2021, 09:38 PM
He had a sound game. Superb you must be joking.
He was excellent. Up and down the park, making goal saving tactics, always available.
01-08-2021, 09:47 PM
Could do that of course, but personally I would like to see us buy a high-rise holiday balcony in Bulgaria and fill it with giant dry-your-eyes tissues and soft gloves for solo-crying hand-clapping.:greengrin
01-08-2021, 10:00 PM
Those puns are really sheet.
Back on topic. If we get £4m then we can use some to cover losses from last year and still reinvest in the team with a replacement LB, another CH and Mueller's early arrival. I think another striker would only be needed if Nisbet is expected to be sold during this window,
01-08-2021, 10:13 PM
Josh signed for us when he was 17 so, using the above table, it looks like hearts are entitled to 1.75% of the total compensation paid for him by the time he reaches the age of 23, if he was there from age 12. Less if he was older when he joined them.
That must mean they get nothing for another 4 years, and if he isn't transferred before 2025, they get 1.75% of the amount we receive. I'm not sure who pays that though.
Says the new club withholds 5% from us for those payments. Would imagine it would get paid straight away.
01-08-2021, 10:25 PM
Should Josh leave then who will they sign ? .If you remember JR and GM have said several times that they had plans if any of Josh,Kevin or Ryan would leave.
I will throw this situation out there. JR brought through a similar young player at Sunderland Denver Hume who currently is out of contract at Sunderland .He has been offered improved new contract, as their no 1 choice normally but has not signed it surprisingly. Sunderland say he needs to make up mind before August 7th. He is a decent left wing back IMO and JR seems in interview wants Joshs situation to be resolved quickly . Just putting this out there, he does have a hamstring injury at present so you have to ask why he has not signed new contract ,unless another coming in ?
Hume is a good player, but he's been part of a team that hasn't done what it set out to do over the past couple of years so he'll be a bit tainted by that. Not sure he's stood out enough at Sunderland to get a much better offer than he's ever going to get from Sunderland, certainly not from us. I'm also not sure how much his injury will be hampering his options right now.
We could do far worse than Hume, but I think we've got to accept that replacing Doig is going to be a tough ask.
Selkirkhibs
01-08-2021, 10:28 PM
Made me laugh.
Nevi_SOL
01-08-2021, 10:31 PM
Seen a few people saying Southampton as well are interested