View Full Version : Doig dropped for Motherwell over speculation.

BegbieHSC
01-08-2021, 12:14 PM
According to the Scotsman

01-08-2021, 12:14 PM
According to the Scotsman

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/josh-doig-left-out-of-hibs-squad-for-motherwell-clash-as-suitors-circle-3330618

Wish we wouldn’t let these things out before the team is announced

01-08-2021, 12:15 PM
Must be away.

BegbieHSC
01-08-2021, 12:17 PM
I notice ‘loan options’ as well in the article. Does that mean loan back I assume, as I can’t imagine it would be in our interest to simply loan him out.

Mr. Wonderful
01-08-2021, 12:22 PM
He's ***** anyway. And a yam.

1 8 7 5
01-08-2021, 12:23 PM

Ridiculous post. 0/10 for effort.

I notice ‘loan options’ as well in the article. Does that mean loan back I assume, as I can’t imagine it would be in our interest to simply loan him out.

Possibly a loan back to Hibs for the season?

Show me the money :greengrin

01-08-2021, 12:24 PM
Show me the money :greengrin

It’s all well Billy getting big money, but will we get a better replacement than Josh, in

01-08-2021, 12:26 PM
It’s all well Billy getting big money, but will we get a better replacement than Josh, in

Doubtful

Mr. Wonderful
01-08-2021, 12:28 PM
Ridiculous post. 0/10 for effort.

Wasn't a troll was just a tongue in cheek reference to what normally happens on here in these scenarios

01-08-2021, 12:29 PM
Wasn't a troll was just a tongue in cheek reference to what normally happens on here in these scenarios

Next time a smiley would help. :greengrin

01-08-2021, 12:32 PM
Young lad, not fully fit, probably a bit scattered with lots of rumours. Nothing really shocking about this. Mathie made it pretty clear he'll only be leaving on our terms.

Mr. Wonderful
01-08-2021, 12:36 PM
Next time a smiley would help. :greengrin

Cant access them on the phone haha

BegbieHSC
01-08-2021, 12:38 PM

£4m-£5m plus a loan back would be sensational business.

01-08-2021, 12:38 PM
I just hope we can come to a resolution soon. Lewis is not getting any younger and doesn't offer anything like the same energy or threat going forward. He's an able back up but not the guy to play 40 games a season now.

01-08-2021, 12:40 PM

Real Hibs.net elite members can remember the codes for smilies for posting on their phone :greengrin

Lol. Nice try

Surely your phone has smileys.

Mr. Wonderful
01-08-2021, 12:44 PM

Aye of course but do they show up here? Didnt think they worked

Mr. Wonderful
01-08-2021, 12:45 PM
Real Hibs.net elite members can remember the codes for smilies for posting on their phone :greengrin

True innovators can quote your post and copy said code :greengrin

01-08-2021, 12:45 PM

They definitely do. 👍😁😉👾

Mr. Wonderful
01-08-2021, 12:47 PM
They definitely do. 👍😁😉👾

🤠

01-08-2021, 12:49 PM

Yep, they do 👍😁

01-08-2021, 12:50 PM

Must be a big club, if they can afford that sort of fee, and don’t need Josh for next season

01-08-2021, 12:55 PM
Wonder if he'll break our transfer record? What was Brown, 4.4 million?

01-08-2021, 01:00 PM
I dinnae really agree with leaving players out because of potential moves. If a deals been agreed, then that’s fair enough, but until then he should be playing and looking to impress.

If your game is going to suffer because teams are interested in you, it doesn’t really look good for you. The pressure is only going to increase as you go up through the levels of football.

I get, though, that it’ll be Jack Ross who’s decided this, not Josh Doig.

01-08-2021, 01:03 PM
Maybe Hibs also sending out a message to suitors waiting in the wing that they are finalising offers of what we value him at so last chance to get your bids in.

01-08-2021, 01:05 PM
I dinnae really agree with leaving players because of potential moves. If a deals been agreed, then that’s fair enough, but until then he should be playing and looking to impress.

If your game is going to suffer because teams are interested in you, it doesn’t really look good for you. The pressure is only going to increase as you go up through the levels of football.

I get, though, that it’ll be Jack Ross who’s decided this, not Josh Doig.

Looks like the lad wanted to play but Ross has decided otherwise, maybe not wanting to put too much pressure on the lad.

01-08-2021, 01:10 PM

If so why pull him out squad
Would rather that sort of deal as think he can improve further with us
But loan back will probably mean less up front and more add on s possibly

01-08-2021, 01:11 PM

Maybe if it gets us a higher transfer fee?

If clubs are reluctant to pay £5m just now it could be an option to allow him to go out on loan for 6-12 months to the buying club with us getting a £500k or so loan fee with the understanding that the asking price is then £5m if they want to make the move permanent.

01-08-2021, 01:15 PM
I’m assuming a deal is about to be concluded as I really don’t think Hibs have the strength in depth in that position to keep Josh out of the squad simply because of the speculation, would expect Josh to give nothing but 100% if called upon. I’d expect us to stick to the flat back 4 then as Lewis offers very little further up the park.

MagicSwirlingShip
01-08-2021, 01:16 PM
Talk of £5million. That would be incredible business.

Glad Mr Dependable Lewis is still around to jump in

HendoDelivered
01-08-2021, 01:18 PM
Forest defo in for him

01-08-2021, 01:19 PM
It takes us >10 years to find someone better than Lewis, then he's so good he's gone within a year. Typical eh.

Key West
Very poor timing regarding the speculation and preparation for our first game, hopefully it will not prove to be an issue.

Forest defo in for him

Didn’t realise they’d be able to afford the sort of money we are after.

01-08-2021, 01:21 PM
Forest defo in for him

Gump?

01-08-2021, 01:23 PM
Gump?

This could run and run.

01-08-2021, 01:25 PM

Talk of £5million. That would be incredible business.

Glad Mr Dependable Lewis is still around to jump in

Dream on guys. It won’t be anything near that.

01-08-2021, 01:26 PM

How much are you thinking?

HendoDelivered
01-08-2021, 01:27 PM
Didn’t realise they’d be able to afford the sort of money we are after.

Was just passing on what I was told from someone who knows him well. Removed from the squad as we are planning without him.

01-08-2021, 01:29 PM

It wouldn't surprise me TBH, especially with Mathie's recent chat. I think the club are sending out the message that we don't have to sell, so unless it's really worth our while then it's not happening.

01-08-2021, 01:29 PM
How much are you thinking?

£3M tops. Less if coming back on loan.

01-08-2021, 01:30 PM

Don’t be so sure Jim

01-08-2021, 01:30 PM

Not the way Mathie has been talking, unless the add ons are very significant.

01-08-2021, 01:39 PM

Why so low? Reporters are all stating he is the next Robertson or Tierney in the reports in England so should be higher if they are serious.

01-08-2021, 01:39 PM
JR did the same thing with Kevin and Ryan and neither went in that window. They don't even look like going this window.

I think Josh Doig is a great prospect but £5M and loaning him back to us for a season seems like wishful thinking. Not to mention some fantastic percentage of a sell on fee when he moves to Real Madrid.

More likely he will still be here as no one is willing to pay what Hibs are asking and all the haggling has unsettled a player, so Jack has sought to shield the player. Good man management.

01-08-2021, 01:40 PM

Very much doubt he'd go for as little as 3m never mind less just to loan him back for a season

01-08-2021, 01:42 PM

Maybe loan him to Brighton for 6 months? If he does well, his value rockets beyond any level we can get it to.

01-08-2021, 01:43 PM

Well you learn something new everyday.
😎😑👌

01-08-2021, 01:45 PM
Well it seems more folk than me think it might be a substantially higher figure than I do and I really hope you’re all correct.

01-08-2021, 01:48 PM
Forest would be a good destination for him, good experienced manager. Just wonder where they are getting the sort of money, we’re looking for

Torto7
JR did the same thing with Kevin and Ryan and neither went in that window. They don't even look like going this window.

I think Josh Doig is a great prospect but £5M and loaning him back to us for a season seems like wishful thinking. Not to mention some fantastic percentage of a sell on fee when he moves to Real Madrid.

More likely he will still be here as no one is willing to pay what Hibs are asking and all the haggling has unsettled a player, so Jack has sought to shield the player. Good man management.

5 million is about the going rate for someone with his profile. If we want to generate funds in Scotland then being stuck in 2003 price wise we will never get better.

Well you learn something new everyday.
😎😑👌

You too huh?😂👀

Calidad
01-08-2021, 01:51 PM
Crap timing for our preparations ahead of the opener.

I actually think Doig is at least a season away from earning a move to a “better” standard or team. I think he’ll struggle if he moves now.

shamo9
01-08-2021, 01:52 PM

We've already knocked back an alleged 2.5 million bid from Watford. Graeme Mathie has described some of the approaches as 'disrespectful' and 'patronising'. Doig is also on a long term contract. We'll see what happens but I'd be surprised if we go lower than our record fee (4.4m I think). The positive PR of a record fee would write itself.

The Baldmans Comb
01-08-2021, 01:55 PM
Hibs are sending out the signal that the valuation has been met or is very close to being met and a wee bidding war would also do nicely.

Its nothing to do with Jack Ross thinking the player might be distracted and not play well.😅

01-08-2021, 01:56 PM
Really bad timing, not just for today but Thursdays game aswell, we'll need a LB in pronto as Stevenson is no longer an option

hibee1875
01-08-2021, 01:59 PM
Really bad timing, not just for today but Thursdays game aswell, we'll need a LB in pronto as Stevenson is no longer an option

He’s a more than capable defensive option. Just doesn’t offer much going forward

01-08-2021, 01:59 PM
Horrendous timing at start of league season and before a massively important and difficult tie in Euro on Thurs...gutted tbh

01-08-2021, 02:03 PM
He’s a more than capable defensive option. Just doesn’t offer much going forward

Not for the entire season and cannot do the attacking aspects we need to progress. Great servant but he's a back up option now

Hibs are sending out the signal that the valuation has been met or is very close to being met and a wee bidding war would also do nicely.

Its nothing to do with Jack Ross thinking the player might be distracted and not play well.😅

I think the agents' network will communicate well enough without Jack Ross needing to play games like that.

Defensively Stevenson is fine and I’d argue probably better than Doig just now.

Longer term we need to replace Doig but for the upcoming European games I think we will be just fine with Lewis there.

yerauldda
Not overly gutted if the rumoured fee is close to what we actually receive. That’s exactly what we are about as a club and this type of deal is the blueprint for how we move forward.

Excellent player, though.

01-08-2021, 02:08 PM

Longer term we need to replace Doig but for the upcoming European games I think we will be just fine with Lewis there.

I don’t think Stevenson is better than Doig defensively. I thought that change was a big part of our defensive improvement, Stevenson had been really poor the season before that.

Not going to be a disaster having to play Stevenson if Doig goes but we need to go and sign a first choice left back IMO.

01-08-2021, 02:08 PM
Forest would be a good destination for him, good experienced manager. Just wonder where they are getting the sort of money, we’re looking for

Brentford have increased their offer to £6m for a striker forest had out on loan to Lincoln last season

01-08-2021, 02:09 PM
Leeds United were certainly interested. Cant see Forest paying out something like £5 mill.

01-08-2021, 02:13 PM
I’m probably in the minority, but if we get £5M or close to that for Doig I think it would be a fantastic bit of business. He’s clearly very good for his age, but it’s no guarantee he will continue to progress, so any team paying that kind of money is taking a bit of a gamble. If he was in his mid twenties playing as he has been we wouldn’t be looking at that kind of fee for him.

Unlike previous times I’d be confident that we’d actually use any money from his sale to bring in a replacement.

01-08-2021, 02:18 PM
Rumours of a £4m plus 10% and loan back bid being made.

Probably a load of *****.

01-08-2021, 02:22 PM
It will be bizarre if we get good money for a player that none of us have been in attendance to see play in a competitive game!

01-08-2021, 02:27 PM
forest are looking for a left back, if it is them they are certainly not going to pay a fee like that for a player just to loan him out again, indeed i'm sure there's only a couple of premiership clubs would do that

01-08-2021, 02:28 PM

Stevenson is still a very good option.

He was very good against Arsenal, and I think it suited him better having Boyle in front of him, cutting in off the left.

It does change the way we set the team up though, to allow for a pretty different set of strengths and weaknesses in that department.

Aim Here
01-08-2021, 02:28 PM
It will be bizarre if we get good money for a player that none of us have been in attendance to see play in a competitive game!

To be fair, 4,697 of us saw him in action against the Andorran gang.

01-08-2021, 02:31 PM

Didn't play in that game don't think

Souter96Mac
01-08-2021, 02:33 PM
I've not seen a great deal of him, but I wonder if we'd be tempted to look at Robson from Dundee United, if we don't get Doig back on loan?

Young left back, who's been getting interest from down south - Lincoln I think

Aim Here
Oops, you're right. Carry on, nothing to see here ...

He didn’t play in the home game

01-08-2021, 02:34 PM
Oops, you're right. Carry on, nothing to see here ...

Quick, edit your previous post lol

01-08-2021, 02:35 PM
Stevenson is still a very good option.

He was very good against Arsenal, and I think it suited him better having Boyle in front of him, cutting in off the left.

It does change the way we set the team up though, to allow for a pretty different set of strengths and weaknesses in that department.

I've no problem whatsoever with Lewis, but I'd be worried going into the season with only him & Mackie as left backs.

01-08-2021, 02:40 PM
I've not seen a great deal of him, but I wonder if we'd be tempted to look at Robson from Dundee United, if we don't get Doig back on loan?

Decent enough player think poor defensively imo

01-08-2021, 02:46 PM
Bidding war please. Hopefully we will use the cash for the squad as Ron has stated.

01-08-2021, 02:48 PM

From what I have read Dundee Utd fans seem to be fairly happy to be getting around 200k for him. Can't remember seeing him play tbh

01-08-2021, 02:49 PM
Bidding war please. Hopefully we will use the cash for the squad as Ron has stated.

Bidding wars don't tend to happen. Clubs meet our valuation and the player chooses.

01-08-2021, 02:53 PM

I would imagine there are a few candidates and they will be young with similar running/physical stats to Josh
. Not sure whether Robson fits into that category or not.

01-08-2021, 02:54 PM
Jack Ross just been on the radio saying josh is highly likely to leave, refused to say if it was Scottish or English clubs.

01-08-2021, 02:57 PM
Jack Ross just been on the radio saying josh is highly likely to leave, refused to say if it was Scottish or English clubs.

I'd be amazed if Celtic or Rangers pay the asking price.

01-08-2021, 02:58 PM
i just don't think it's forest

01-08-2021, 02:59 PM

Neither do I. Can't see it.

01-08-2021, 03:00 PM
Big money coming our way

H18S NX
01-08-2021, 03:01 PM
Absolutely S+++ timing.

01-08-2021, 03:01 PM
Big money coming our way

Hopefully. I’d be disappointed if the fee is fairly low considering the comments by Mathie

01-08-2021, 03:03 PM

They couldn't afford him.

01-08-2021, 03:04 PM
Absolutely S+++ timing.

That's the problem when our season starts with a month and a half of the transfer window left.

01-08-2021, 03:04 PM
A done deal

Hibs head coach Jack Ross tells BBC Scotland that Josh Doig - left out of the squad today - is "highly likely" to leave the club soon.
"He's been the subject of a lot of attention and much more concrete interest over the last few days," says Ross.
"For us and for Josh, it needs to reach a head one way or the other.
"I'd like to keep him, but it looks more likely he'll leave the club fairly soon. There's still a number of suitors."

Hibs never go public unless it's reached at least medical stage

01-08-2021, 03:06 PM
£5M, loan back to us for the season and a good sell on %age and I'll be happy.

JR confirming he's likely to move on soon and we have to prepare for life without him.

Wants it finalised this week.

Giving the timing of "the bid" it must be a good one.

01-08-2021, 03:07 PM
A done deal

Hibs head coach Jack Ross tells BBC Scotland that Josh Doig - left out of the squad today - is "highly likely" to leave the club soon.
"He's been the subject of a lot of attention and much more concrete interest over the last few days," says Ross.
"For us and for Josh, it needs to reach a head one way or the other.
"I'd like to keep him, but it looks more likely he'll leave the club fairly soon. There's still a number of suitors."

Hibs never go public unless it's reached at least medical stage

Yeah, he said virtually the same on Sky. Looks like Doig is away, just hope it’s a suitable deal for us

01-08-2021, 03:07 PM

I hope I don't tempt fate but there is no argument IMO. Lewis is a better defender than Doig.

Offensively Doig is obviously better.

01-08-2021, 03:08 PM
£2m+ and we’ll have done incredibly well out him in the length of time we’ve had him.

As it’s more likely to be closer to £5m than £2m then we’ll have done even better than that.

01-08-2021, 03:09 PM
Could end up getting a record transfer fee for a player that few of us have even seen play n the flesh!!

01-08-2021, 03:10 PM
I may be wrong but I think the guys wanting 5m may be disappointed. I actually reckon 3m with add ons would be an excellent bit of business from Hibs. As long as the money is reinvested wisely

01-08-2021, 03:13 PM
Yeah, he said virtually the same on Sky. Looks like Doig is away, just hope it’s a suitable deal for us

Gutted that i will never see him play in a Hibs strip but his move hopefully means we hold Nisbet, Porteous and Boyle until at least January and have cash to make the couple of good signings we are in need of.

01-08-2021, 03:14 PM
I may be wrong but I think the guys wanting 5m may be disappointed. I actually reckon 3m with add ons would be an excellent bit of business from Hibs. As long as the money is reinvested wisely

Let's hope you are wrong then!

01-08-2021, 03:16 PM
£2m+ and we’ll have done incredibly well out him in the length of time we’ve had him.

As it’s more likely to be closer to £5m than £2m then we’ll have done even better than that.

Given what Mathie said in his interview and then West Ham and Arsenal asking us to half our asking price it will be nearer £4/5 Million we get for him.

Whether it’s upfront or final fee it’ll I think it’ll surpass the fee we received for Scott Brown!

01-08-2021, 03:28 PM
£5M, loan back to us for the season and a good sell on %age and I'll be happy.

The fee will not be disclosed, that would not be to Hibs advantage, they are running a business not football manager game.

USAHibee
01-08-2021, 04:21 PM
Reported it Watford and Burnley, 3m with add ons to 4m, sent on loan straight away to Nottingham Forest..

01-08-2021, 04:29 PM
£4m with add ons.

stu in nottingham
01-08-2021, 10:19 PM
I could see Forest being very interested, they're chronically short of decent full backs and that seems to go from season to season. It's certainly doing the rounds locally. I don't think it would be a great move for Josh though, they seem to be going nowhere at the moment. He'd probably stand a better chance of a game than some of the clubs mentioned though.

05-08-2021, 06:18 AM
This week's episode of Hibee Buzz includes info from Jack Ross on where we are with the Doig situation here:

https://youtu.be/mWSdAyQ74S4?t=465

Sounds like whichever team(s) appeared ready to sign him are either dragging their heels or aren't quite meeting our valuation. I'd have him back in the squad tonight if it was me, but it sounds like he might be back for Sunday v Ross County from what Ross said here.

LNHibs
05-08-2021, 11:02 AM
This week's episode of Hibee Buzz includes info from Jack Ross on where we are with the Doig situation here:

https://youtu.be/mWSdAyQ74S4?t=465

Sounds like whichever team(s) appeared ready to sign him are either dragging their heels or aren't quite meeting our valuation. I'd have him back in the squad tonight if it was me, but it sounds like he might be back for Sunday v Ross County from what Ross said here.

hes in the squad tonight:agree: