View Full Version : Where Will Hibs Finish?

Key West
31-07-2021, 10:25 AM
Please be specific!

For the attention of the grammar inspectors please notice my rapid improvement, where instead of were.

31-07-2021, 10:26 AM
3rd

Newcastlehibby
31-07-2021, 10:27 AM
No better than second, no worse than 4th.

31-07-2021, 10:28 AM
For once I'm reasonably confident we'll finish in a European place.

3rd or 4th

Key West

That is cheating.

hibIBZ
31-07-2021, 10:34 AM

This. If we can improve our consistency on last season, then 3rd and a push for 2nd.

If we drop points in the last minutes and have a few dodgy displays like last year, then 4th

31-07-2021, 10:36 AM
3rd or 4th

Yep

Key West
31-07-2021, 10:37 AM
4th.

31-07-2021, 10:39 AM
No key players leaving, 3rd.

31-07-2021, 10:40 AM
5th

31-07-2021, 10:47 AM
We'll finish 3rd or 4th. Us and Aberdeen will occupy those 2 positions.

(At least) 3rd

I love pre-season optimism and I can enjoy it for another 28 hours.

No better than 3rd, no worse than 3rd.

Allez Hibs
31-07-2021, 10:49 AM
Top Six. 5th.

Bangkok Hibby
31-07-2021, 10:49 AM
3rd

31-07-2021, 10:56 AM
Top 4 in the league .last 4 in 1 cup & top 2 in another .

31-07-2021, 10:58 AM
Hard to judge until we know who is still here or any new additions.

Right now I’d think 3rd.

Any of Nisbet, Boyle, Doig and Porteous leaving could change that massively.

JXM73
31-07-2021, 11:03 AM
Top 6...

31-07-2021, 11:04 AM
3rd after a slowish start we will click and have an unprecedented post christmas set of results..

31-07-2021, 11:04 AM
If we have to pick one position I’ll say 4th.

If we can have a range of positions I’d say no chance of higher than third and I’d expect us to be no lower than 6th. Seeing as that covers a third of the positions in the league though that’s probably cheating :greengrin

31-07-2021, 11:06 AM
I actually think we will have a really good start and be near the top of the table, Celtic will struggle and some fans will think we have a genuine chance of coming second.

Fans will then moan when Celtic improve and knock us down a league position and people will be calling for Ross to get sacked.

31-07-2021, 11:07 AM
Topsy turvy battle with Aberdeen with us coming out on top in 3rd place after beating them at Easter Road after the split.

31-07-2021, 11:12 AM
3rd.

31-07-2021, 11:13 AM
3rd pretty comfortably

31-07-2021, 11:14 AM
I genuinely think 2nd could be o the cards IF we can build on last season. I think Celtic may actually be a bit worse this season and this is as good a time as any to capitalise on that.

Realistically though I'd bit your hand off for 3rd but I don't think we'll finish anything below 4th. No other team will have enough consistency to challenge ourselves or Aberdeen.

31-07-2021, 11:17 AM
5th

31-07-2021, 11:38 AM
5th or 6th. Aberdeen, St Johnstone and/or Hearts will be fired up.

Crunchie
31-07-2021, 11:41 AM
Please be specific!

For the attention of the grammar inspectors please notice my rapid improvement, where instead of were.
4th but hoping for better.

31-07-2021, 11:41 AM

In what way?

31-07-2021, 11:46 AM
3rd

31-07-2021, 11:47 AM
4th

31-07-2021, 11:48 AM
Please be specific!

Fird, sorry Third.😁😁😁

31-07-2021, 11:48 AM
As things stand 3rd or 4th, fighting it out with Aberdeen.

31-07-2021, 11:55 AM
3rd again closer to 2nd than last season

AliboyFC
31-07-2021, 12:00 PM
2nd

hibsfan7
31-07-2021, 12:21 PM
3rd and maybe even 2nd

31-07-2021, 12:24 PM
4th.

31-07-2021, 12:25 PM
4th

31-07-2021, 12:26 PM
Top 4

Wakeyhibee
31-07-2021, 12:29 PM
As it stands 3rd/4th bit hard to predict as key players may change before August is out.

Rick Rude
31-07-2021, 12:30 PM
1st

shetlandhibee
31-07-2021, 12:33 PM
2nd to Aberdeen or celtic close 3rd

TelaStella
31-07-2021, 12:51 PM
All we can do is concentrate on ourselves but I think a lot of it will come down to what Aberdeen we get this season as I don’t see any real challenge from the rest of the league. The sheep are still a bit of a tricky one to figure out so only time will tell. I’ll still say 3rd for the record though.

Key West
31-07-2021, 01:00 PM
Most folk stuck to the rules! I'll break them as well then, it looks like 3rd or 4th for the majority so far, refreshing to see expectations are higher than normal.😬

31-07-2021, 01:04 PM
4th acceptable. 3rd fantastic. 2nd staggering.

Gaffer1875
31-07-2021, 01:04 PM
4th

31-07-2021, 01:06 PM
Anything less than top 4 would be hugely disappointing

31-07-2021, 01:06 PM
3rd or 4th

Seems about right.

31-07-2021, 01:11 PM
Above hertz

31-07-2021, 01:19 PM
5th

Roxyhibee
31-07-2021, 01:25 PM
If Mueller is a player and we get him earlier than January, 3rd. If not, 5th.

Wakeyhibee
31-07-2021, 01:30 PM
Anything less than top 4 would be hugely disappointing

Disagree with "hugely disappointing" it would be more the norm for Hibs to finish 5th. 6th or below would be, seen too many of them. 5th is minimum for me given resources.

gaz1875
31-07-2021, 03:05 PM
I think we will struggle defensively and are in for a mid table battle to get in the top 6. That may change depending on transfers either way.

banarc7062
31-07-2021, 03:25 PM
Please be specific!

Doon at Easter Road as usual.:wink:

Green_one
31-07-2021, 03:50 PM
Hope for 3rd but probably 4th

Depends on transfers and length of time in Europe. I am fairly certain we will lose a key player. Time in Europe impacts a small squad like ours.

I cannot see how we would get 2nd unless Celtic implode and nothing is done. Their transfer budget dwarfs ours and they may buy one of our key players. Classic Old Firm tactic.

hibee316
31-07-2021, 03:59 PM
I think we will struggle defensively and are in for a mid table battle to get in the top 6. That may change depending on transfers either way.

What makes you think we will struggle defensively?

Our defense is the same as last year and was very good.

JammyDoidger
31-07-2021, 04:03 PM
Unless we add a bit more quality particularly upfront and at centre half then I can see the sheep pipping us to 3rd.

31-07-2021, 04:05 PM
I think third.

31-07-2021, 04:14 PM
4th

Blackfordhibby
31-07-2021, 04:58 PM
Exactly where we deserve to finish, neither one place higher nor one place lower.

But some of us will still take time to p**s and moan about bad luck, bad weather, bad decisions.

I will most likely join them.

31-07-2021, 05:03 PM
Exactly where we deserve to finish, neither one place higher nor one place lower.

But some of us will still take time to p**s and moan about bad luck, bad weather, bad decisions.

I will most likely join them.Me too!

I'd love 2nd, looking at Celtc there's a chance!

I'll be really pleased with 3rd though.... 4th is dropping in to the realms of being Happy/OK with it.... anything lower will be a failure :-(

3rd.

31-07-2021, 05:20 PM
Top 4, hoping for 2nd.

31-07-2021, 05:38 PM
4th

Lendo
31-07-2021, 05:51 PM
2nd. We capitalise on a total collapse at Celtic.

(I can dream)

31-07-2021, 06:07 PM
I see us finishing 3rd again, though it will be decided earlier. I reckon we'll be closer to the team in 2nd that the team in 4th.

As always for me too 6 is absolute bare minimum expectation, should be 3rd or 4th based on current squad and at least one good cup run. No expectations in Europe, it's a nice to have, only concern is that the hangover from European games affects the league results

31-07-2021, 06:10 PM
4th I reckon.

31-07-2021, 06:13 PM
Second

31-07-2021, 06:23 PM
Third

31-07-2021, 06:39 PM
I think we will have an unsensational, uninspiring but ultimately consistent season and come 4th or 5th. Not bad really when looking at other seasons over the past 20 years.

Regards cups, Hibs players have proven that they don't have the bottle for the really big games and Jack Ross has shown that he can't fire them up for such occasions.

That suggests we wont do too well against Hearts either.

gaz1875
31-07-2021, 06:47 PM
What makes you think we will struggle defensively?

Our defense is the same as last year and was very good.

The defence started well and then became nervous. DMc was brought back and steadied the ship for the run in. From what I've seen so far this season with Hanlon and Porteous partnership they look shaky again together.

31-07-2021, 07:15 PM
Third or fourth.

If I had to choose, I'll play safe with fourth.

31-07-2021, 07:57 PM

Will Hibs not be fired up?

St Johnstone won't be within 10 points of Hibs.

Wakeyhibee
31-07-2021, 08:30 PM
Will Hibs not be fired up?

St Johnstone won't be within 10 points of Hibs.

All depends if we start beating them on a more regular basis. I wouldnt bet against one of the so called wee teams being up there in the mix again.

31-07-2021, 08:32 PM
3rd with the squad as is plus a couple of players to cover injuries to strikers and centre half although keeping what we have is probably enough for third with a bad run of injuries

31-07-2021, 08:41 PM
If I had to put my mortgage on it I'd say 4th.

cannastar
31-07-2021, 08:49 PM
should be aiming for second at worst after watching celtics poor performance tonight

Allez Hibs
31-07-2021, 08:59 PM
Safe to say it's a tougher league this season.

31-07-2021, 09:16 PM
Third again.

31-07-2021, 09:18 PM
5th.

I think generally the league looks stronger. I'm not totally convinced by us, I don't think we've added enough fresh blood, especially in terms of improving the starting XI and we might yet lose some key players.

I still think we lack a bit of consistency in terms of our performances. I also think our mentality isn't as strong as it should and could be. Not to use a buzz phrase but, big games - it'll be interesting to see how we do, especially with hearts back in the league.

Marciano will be a big miss and although Macey was excellent the other night it's hard to tell if he'll be the same standard.

Massive season for us. I'd take a diminished league position if it meant either silverware or a European run past Xmas.

I think barring a completely disaster, Ross wont have to worry about his job from I side the club and it might be a season where we don't have it as easy as last year, I just hope the support is patient when we hit a rough patch as I feel there's a big section of the fanbase that aren't enthralled with him and I think continuity is important, but we need to see some improvement in our mentality and ability to get big results.

Anyway, got my ticket for Motherwell, let's see how we go.

31-07-2021, 09:30 PM
3rd/4th if we avoid injuries to our 3 goalscoring options and 2 CBs. 5th/6th if we pick up a few injuries early doors.

We are really light in both areas, particularly at the back.

31-07-2021, 09:35 PM
I think we will have an unsensational, uninspiring but ultimately consistent season and come 4th or 5th. Not bad really when looking at other seasons over the past 20 years.

Regards cups, Hibs players have proven that they don't have the bottle for the really big games and Jack Ross has shown that he can't fire them up for such occasions.

I’m surprised you’re not getting hammered for this post but I agree with all of it.

I’m not negative about the season ahead, we’ll probably do alright, I don’t think we’ll do anything brilliant though.

31-07-2021, 09:52 PM
Will never get an opportunity to get second like we have this year. Celtic are shocking. Genuinely, how many of that team would you want in our 11?

Allez Hibs
31-07-2021, 09:54 PM

A realist.

31-07-2021, 09:55 PM
The defence started well and then became nervous. DMc was brought back and steadied the ship for the run in. From what I've seen so far this season with Hanlon and Porteous partnership they look shaky again together.

We’ve played two competitive fixtures and lost one goal (not at our sharpest), albeit against lesser opposition.

Surely a bit early for the shaky assessment? A clean sheet against Motherwell tomorrow would be a nice start.

31-07-2021, 09:56 PM
Will never get an opportunity to get second like we have this year. Celtic are shocking. Genuinely, how many of that team would you want in our 11?

Probably 7 or 8 of them. They’ll get better I think and finish well clear of us unfortunately.

31-07-2021, 09:58 PM

They also just had something like 80% of possession against Hearts at Tynecastle for most of the game. If it wasn’t for 2 outstanding saves from Gordon they were getting something out of that.

By Celtic’s standards they’re miles off where they want or need to be, as the season goes on though they’ll comfortably finish 2nd imo.

All the teams outside the top 2 will take too many points off each other IMO.

31-07-2021, 09:59 PM
Probably 7 or 8 of them. They’ll get better I think and finish well clear of us unfortunately.

7 or 8? Who? Outwith the goalie who you’d obviously take over Macey.

31-07-2021, 10:00 PM

Probably just 2, McGregor and Christie.

31-07-2021, 10:01 PM
Probably just 2, McGregor and Christie.

Okay, so we are clear favourites for 2nd are we?

31-07-2021, 10:01 PM
They also just had something like 80% of possession against Hearts at Tynecastle for most of the game. If it wasn’t for 2 outstanding saves from Gordon they were getting something out of that.

By Celtic’s standards they’re miles off where they want or need to be, as the season goes on though they’ll comfortably finish 2nd imo.

All the teams outside the top 2 will take too many points off each other IMO.

What did their possession get them? They don’t have a goalie, or defence and no strikers who are fit or interested.

I don’t think we’ll finish above them, I just don’t think we’ll get a better chance.

31-07-2021, 10:07 PM

I want to disagree with you as I disagree with your general point about us finishing above them but if you go through it player by player you’ve got a point.

None of their back 5, including the goalie, are better than ours. The new boy from Sweden obviously has a good pedigree but he looked very poor tonight.

The new Israeli winger didn’t look to have anything about him, would rather have Boyle.

Forrest living off reputation as not played well for a long time now, Jamie Murphy more effective.

In the centre Sorro and Mcgregor are better than we’ve got by a good stretch.

Up front there’s no question Edouard is the better player but if I was offered a motivated Nisbet or a disinterested Edouard, I know who I’d take.

Celtics subs contributed nothing either.

31-07-2021, 10:08 PM
3rd must be the target again.

We won't finish 2nd, Celtic will finish at least 10-15 points ahead of us.

Wakeyhibee
31-07-2021, 10:12 PM
What did their possession get them? They don’t have a goalie, or defence and no strikers who are fit or interested.

I don’t think we’ll finish above them, I just don’t think we’ll get a better chance.

There was a much better chance to get 2nd 8 years ago. Unfortunately we got relegated and were the last of the big 3 in that division to get back. Outside of the early 70s that was the biggest missed opportunity in my lifetime.

31-07-2021, 10:12 PM
I want to disagree with you as I disagree with your general point about us finishing above them but if you go through it player by player you’ve got a point.

None of their back 5, including the goalie, are better than ours. The new boy from Sweden obviously has a good pedigree but he looked very poor tonight.

The new Israeli winger didn’t look to have anything about him, would rather have Boyle.

Forrest living off reputation as not played well for a long time now, Jamie Murphy more effective.

Up front there’s no question Edouard is the better player but if I was offered a motivated Nisbet or a disinterested Edouard, I know who I’d take.

They have boys playing that are never Celtic players.

I don’t think we’ll finish above them. Might be down to mentality or something like that we have a chance to get after them at least…

31-07-2021, 10:14 PM
There was a much better chance to get 2nd 8 years ago. Unfortunately we got relegated and were the last of the big 3 in that division to get back. Outside of the early 70s that was the biggest missed opportunity in my lifetime.

Wasn’t a better chance. We started the season with Pat Fenlon in charge.

We’re a much better team now, with a lot more going for us.

31-07-2021, 10:15 PM
2nd

Bookmark this😁

Wakeyhibee
31-07-2021, 10:19 PM
Wasn’t a better chance. We started the season with Pat Fenlon in charge.

We’re a much better team now, with a lot more going for us.

We are, but that can change quickly as we've seen time and time again. Not being pessimistic, I wouldnt underestimate Celtics ability and financial clout to turn things around enough to secure 2nd easily. I hope they make a cods of it but it's unlikely.

31-07-2021, 10:31 PM

I wouldn't take either of their goalies over Macey tbh

As for us 3rd hopefully or maybe 4th

31-07-2021, 10:54 PM
3rd

ElginHibbie
31-07-2021, 11:20 PM
Right now I'd say 4th, but that could easily change for the better or worse by the time the transfer window slams shut

31-07-2021, 11:29 PM
The competition will be stiffer this season but, assuming no departures of key players (big assumption) I think we'll finish 3rd again.

uwxm07
31-07-2021, 11:49 PM
Well I’ve backed Hibs to win the league ( minor investor) and also to win without the cheeks ( slightly larger investment)
No worse than forth and likely third

01-08-2021, 08:05 AM
5th

01-08-2021, 08:15 AM
Third with us also closing the gap to the lessers in second.

01-08-2021, 09:07 AM
5th

Question to yourself and everyone else who said 5th or below. Why do you think we won't be top 4 and who do you think will finish above us?

01-08-2021, 09:40 AM
Question to yourself and everyone else who said 5th or below. Why do you think we won't be top 4 and who do you think will finish above us?

Sevco, Celtic, Aberdeen and St Johnstone. When was the last time we achieved consecutive top 4 finishes? I think we are a decent side but will still struggle to score many goals and break down stubborn teams.

01-08-2021, 09:43 AM
Sevco, Celtic, Aberdeen and St Johnstone. When was the last time we achieved consecutive top 4 finishes? I think we are a decent side but will still struggle to score many goals and break down stubborn teams.

St Johnstone are a good cup team and they have our number but they are nowhere near consistent enough over the course of a season imo

01-08-2021, 09:44 AM

I'd be surprised if St Johnstone finished ahead of us, given that they finished last season 18 points behind and are as likely as us to lose key players, but far less likely to be able to invest in equivalent quality replacements.

We've already added Mackay and Doyle Hayes whereas they've done little in the transfer market. We lost Marciano and Irvine, but have Macey and a fit Magennis as replacements. They've lost Middleton and added a couple of loan defenders.

dchibs
01-08-2021, 09:59 AM
3rd for me, sevco 1st by a distance celts 2nd they will improve even after last night and hertz bottom 6 will only raise their games against us and the cheeks at the smallest pitch in the world.

01-08-2021, 10:01 AM
St Johnstone are a good cup team and they have our number but they are nowhere near consistent enough over the course of a season imo

Possibly. If not them then AN Other.

01-08-2021, 10:03 AM
Possibly. If not them then AN Other.

Just cant see any other team being consistent enough myself. Dundee Utd, St Mirren, Motherwell etc will all take points off each other

01-08-2021, 10:12 AM
4th

Rangers, Celtic, Aberdeen then us.

Aberdeen have improved on last season and Hearts will take some points off us……they always do.

01-08-2021, 10:42 AM
I’d say it all depends on the squad we retain. If we keep Boyle and nisbet and Porto. I can’t see it being outside the top 4 ….

Will be a good league this year though..expecting all teams to be taking points off each other …

hibbydog
01-08-2021, 10:44 AM
5th

I think we’ll lose Nisbet, and maybe one other.

Aberdeen will be better than last year. We’ll drop points against hearts and St Johnstone will give us some stern tests.

01-08-2021, 11:12 AM
3rd

Lith
01-08-2021, 11:55 AM
Top 6 hopefully

LustForLeith
02-08-2021, 07:29 AM
1st

Rangers will concentrate on winning the champions league, Celtic will struggle to finish in the top six, Aberdeen need to settle under Glass and the rest are guff

02-08-2021, 08:03 AM

Soro is a huge downgrade on Brown. Nowhere near good enough for Celtic, just runs about fouling folk all game.

MunsterHibee
03-08-2021, 01:45 PM
1st and automatic qualification for the CL group stage next season :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin. Realistically 3rd spot I think it's between us and Aberdeen.