View Full Version : Is There Much Of a Difference?

Key West
30-07-2021, 10:41 AM
Having watched the games so far is there much of a difference, or is it still a heavy reliance on Boyle to come up with the goods?:whistle:

30-07-2021, 10:43 AM
Boyle barely kicked a ball for the first half of last season and we went on to finish third.

If not much of a difference means we have the same cup runs and third place then I’ll be very happy.

I’m actually pretty optimistic about the upcoming season and really fancy us to finish at least as high as last season.

30-07-2021, 10:51 AM
Hopefully not. We have more options. McKay and Murphy coming on and scoring last night is a good sign. Allan should offer goals if playing.

Still think midfield is the key bit, need to make sure we get the ball forward to these guys quickly enough.

30-07-2021, 10:52 AM
Early days.

From what I’ve seen Nisbet is imposing himself more in games. This is a natural part of his progression and another reason I really want him to stay for another season - for his benefit as much as ours.

I was delighted we brought in Jackson Irvine in January but happy to admit it didn’t quite work out as hoped. He was ok but not spectacular. I think our midfield looks stronger, especially if Kyle Magennis is back to his best.

Mueller and Mackay are both potential match winners. I think Murphy can give us a lot more.

There are reasons to be optimistic.

Cat Stanton
30-07-2021, 11:23 AM
For the grammatically anal among us (very possibly only me!), any chance of an admin fixing the title of the thread? It's doing my head in every time I see it 'their'...

Sorry.

30-07-2021, 11:25 AM
Still too early to say but I think Ross now has far more options available to him. Even more so if we bring another striker in.

Key West
30-07-2021, 11:40 AM
For the grammatically anal among us (very possibly only me!), any chance of an admin fixing the title of the thread? It's doing my head in every time I see it 'their'...

Sorry.

Schoolboy error!

Key West
30-07-2021, 11:41 AM

Sorry.

Hope Boil keeps his form up from last seeson.

30-07-2021, 12:24 PM

Sounds like Zitelli. 😉

30-07-2021, 12:26 PM

Inconsequential
30-07-2021, 12:30 PM

Sorry. I'm afraid you're (notice how I spelt it right) one of the old school like me. It's the digital age good grammar is no longer required. Ignore the ridicule that comes your way and keep up the good fight Cat! Surely it's Pat? :wink:

30-07-2021, 12:40 PM
Hopefully not. We have more options. McKay and Murphy coming on and scoring last night is a good sign. Allan should offer goals if playing.

Still think midfield is the key bit, need to make sure we get the ball forward to these guys quickly enough.

I think this is the key difference to last season where (I may be wrong) I felt there were some positions without enough of a challenge and the odd match where certain players phoned in a performance.

Having more (fit) players challenging in key spots in and around midfield will keep them all on their toes.

We still need more defenders in imo

Key West
30-07-2021, 01:29 PM
I'm afraid you're (notice how I spelt it right) one of the old school like me. It's the digital age good grammar is no longer required. Ignore the ridicule that comes your way and keep up the good fight Cat! Surely it's Pat? :wink:

No intent regards ridicule, a genuine mistake, can do better, will do better.

30-07-2021, 01:33 PM

I was pleased with the half hour display I saw from Hayes-Doyle last night.
He looked very comfortable picking the ball up from the back four and the one thought on his mind seemed to be to move the ball forward quickly. He also demonstrated a range of accurate long passes.
A big change from the short cross field/ back passes we have become used to!

30-07-2021, 01:36 PM
When have Hibs ever not relied in 2/3 quality players to make the real difference? All teams at this level do IMO. We have 3 proven goalscorers in this league, with the potential for a couple more in Murphy and MacKay. Coupled with increased creativity in Allan, I'm not worried.

wandering_hibee
30-07-2021, 01:37 PM

Sorry.
Me too.

30-07-2021, 01:42 PM
Other than central defence, the strength in depth of this squad is a considerable asset. We need to use the squad to mix things up in terms of players and set-up so we are not as predictable to the opposition as last season.

Cat Stanton
30-07-2021, 01:51 PM
No intent regards ridicule, a genuine mistake, can do better, will do better.

You've let your spelling down, your school down, and hibs.net academy down. But most of all, you've let yourself down...

No offence/ridicule intent taken. And apologies for being an annoying smart-arse.

30-07-2021, 02:00 PM
Hope all u OCD chaps are feeling better :tee hee:

Cat Stanton
30-07-2021, 03:04 PM
Hope all u OCD chaps are feeling better :tee hee:

I certainly am - thanks very much for changing it. As a token of my appreciation, I'll even overlook your ridiculous use of "u" and the lack of a full stop in your sentence...

30-07-2021, 03:57 PM
You've let your spelling down, your school down, and hibs.net academy down. But most of all, you've let yourself down...

No offence/ridicule intent taken. And apologies for being an annoying smart-arse.

Dear oh dear. Three full stops after the second "down" :wink:

30-07-2021, 04:00 PM

Disgraceful, no full stop on the end of your second sentence.
😁

30-07-2021, 04:02 PM

THIRD!!!! :rolleyes:

Wee Scottie Dug
30-07-2021, 04:14 PM
THIRD!!!! :rolleyes:

4th:greengrin

30-07-2021, 04:20 PM

Sorry.

So what difference does it make?

30-07-2021, 04:22 PM

All the difference in the world.

The correct version makes sense, the other doesnae…

30-07-2021, 04:26 PM
4th:greengrin

:thumbsup::greengrin

Corstorphine Hibby
30-07-2021, 04:38 PM

The i before the r is removed and replaced with an e after the r

30-07-2021, 04:47 PM
:thumbsup::greengrin

We both got caught lol

30-07-2021, 09:08 PM

Sorry.
See it all the time on social media, their and there being used incorrectly does ma heid in.

Key West
30-07-2021, 11:33 PM
See it all the time on social media, their and there being used incorrectly does ma heid in.

Trust ewe to poot the boot in just when I was beginning too recuver.

31-07-2021, 02:03 AM
Trust ewe to poot the boot in just when I was beginning too recuver.
Sorry should not have gone their. 😊😊

31-07-2021, 08:13 AM
Getting back on topic the ball is being moved quicker on the games seen so far but there is not enough pressing when we don't have the ball. If we give teams the space we gave to the Santa Coloma especially in Europe we will be punished.

dchibs
31-07-2021, 08:25 AM
I was pleased with the half hour display I saw from Hayes-Doyle last night.
He looked very comfortable picking the ball up from the back four and the one thought on his mind seemed to be to move the ball forward quickly. He also demonstrated a range of accurate long passes.
A big change from the short cross field/ back passes we have become used to!

I've always wanted an Alex Edwards type of player in our midfield is he that type? not seen mutch of him.

31-07-2021, 08:29 AM
I've always wanted an Alex Edwards type of player in our midfield is he that type? not seen mutch of him.

No..he’d be more of a Des Bremner I’d say (in his dreams) than an Alex Edwards