View Full Version : Food shortages

20-07-2021, 05:23 PM
Has anyone else noticed food shortages in their supermarkets?

Up till the last few months everything that should be there has been there but recently I've noticed there's been no tomato puree, certain types of vinegar, lazy ginger and garlic, and certain types of pasta. I'm sure there will be other stuff I'm just not looking for at the time.

Today there was no pasta of any type, no tonic and amazingly no 2 ltr semi skimmed milk. All items that are normally stacked high and deep!

Brexit? Covid? Covid and Brexit?

Edit: I shop mid morning when the shelves are normally fully stocked.

20-07-2021, 05:29 PM
Mine has been fine to be honest. Probably a mix of covid and brexit and the fact that people are spending a lot more time at home than previously.

Steven79
20-07-2021, 05:31 PM

Up till the last few months everything that should be there has been there but recently I've noticed there's been no tomato puree, certain types of vinegar, lazy ginger and garlic, and certain types of pasta. I'm sure there will be other stuff I'm just not looking for at the time.

Today there was no pasta of any type, no tonic and amazingly no 2 ltr semi skimmed milk. All items that are normally stacked high and deep!

Edit: I shop mid morning when the shelves are normally fully stocked.Brexit as the shelves in EU countries aren't bare...

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

20-07-2021, 05:32 PM
Supermarkets are putting it down to a lack of Lorry Drivers, hardly unsurprising with Brexit, Covid and new Government rules on driving times

20-07-2021, 05:33 PM

More likely some plank is sitting with a basement full of tomato puree, certain types of vinegar, lazy ginger and garlic, certain types of pasta and 2 litre packs of semi skimmed milk all stacked up alongside all the toilet roll he bought in March 2020.

Our supermarket shelves down here often have huge gaps on them now, shortage of lorry drivers and getting stuff in economically from Europe is often cited. Maybe one of the brexit bonuses we were promised?[emoji16]

20-07-2021, 05:37 PM
Working in the food and drink trade, it’s down to a number of factors.
There is a great shortage of HGV drivers since Brexit/COVID, a lot of drivers have left the UK. Think I read somewhere that they need 100,000, but you can’t train that amount quickly

COVID as well is having an impact. Manufacturing closures in the Far East, has resulted in a lot of products not being harvested, and some products like coconut milk etc, have rocketed during lockdown

There is also a lack of aluminium and CO2 as well just now

Add in the shipping/docking problems etc, and it’s not a very rosey situation at the moment, and it’s not getting much better for a while
Going to see some big price rises on food products due to the situation
My local Morrison’s today had empty shelves in quite a lot of categories

20-07-2021, 05:44 PM
There are def more empty shelves in Tesco Corstorphine.

20-07-2021, 05:52 PM
I've noticed that the "semi-skimmed milk" shelves are often empty at ASDA Newhaven.

That's the only thing I've noticed being missing with any regularity though tbh.

We have had all sorts of issues ordering all sorts of stuff at my work though. Covid and Brexit double-whammy has made my working environment significantly more challenging.

20-07-2021, 05:57 PM
There are def more empty shelves in Tesco Corstorphine.

https://www.retailgazette.co.uk/blog/2021/06/driver-shortage-leads-to-48-tonnes-of-food-waste-tesco-says/

20-07-2021, 06:17 PM
Supermarkets are putting it down to a lack of Lorry Drivers, hardly unsurprising with Brexit, Covid and new Government rules on driving times

Lack of drivers is a huge issue.

Our suppliers in work who usually operate on a 24 hour turnaround are currently on 72+. The supply chain in our industry is close to collapse and the transportation part is the biggest stumbling block. There are also huge surcharges on containers from the far east which is causing a back up as well. That's probably less of an issue for food though. Finally raw materials are scarce, in terms of food that will be impacting the manufacture of packaging (which is my racket so to speak).

20-07-2021, 06:29 PM
Lack of drivers is a huge issue.

Our suppliers in work who usually operate on a 24 hour turnaround are currently on 72+. The supply chain in our industry is close to collapse and the transportation part is the biggest stumbling block. There are also huge surcharges on containers from the far east which is causing a back up as well. That's probably less of an issue for food though. Finally raw materials are scarce, in terms of food that will be impacting the manufacture of packaging (which is my racket so to speak).

There are lots of ambient food products that come from the Far East, Noodles and ingredients for lots of the restaurants like Chinese/Thai/Indian

There’s also going to be a big shortage on tinned tomatoes which is due to poor harvest for last 3 years

20-07-2021, 06:30 PM

Yip - noticed this in two Tesco shops, a Scotmid and Morrisons since last Tuesday. Presumably a combination of warehouse and logistics having high number of staff self-isolating.

20-07-2021, 06:44 PM
The Coop at my bit (balgreen) has been really low on stock for a while. Also, the fridges and freezers keep breaking down. Picked up some lurpack the other day and it was completely soft.

20-07-2021, 10:24 PM
The Coop at my bit (balgreen) has been really low on stock for a while. Also, the fridges and freezers keep breaking down. Picked up some lurpack the other day and it was completely soft.

Spreadable? 😉

20-07-2021, 10:26 PM
There are lots of ambient food products that come from the Far East, Noodles and ingredients for lots of the restaurants like Chinese/Thai/Indian

There’s also going to be a big shortage on tinned tomatoes which is due to poor harvest for last 3 years

I know what ambient music is, struggling a bit with ambient food though.

Santa Cruz
20-07-2021, 10:32 PM

Food of the shelf that doesn't require temperature regulated storage.

There's a shortage of small bottles of water with on-line deliveries. All out of stock. No idea if it's the same in stores.

20-07-2021, 10:33 PM
I dont even know what lazy ginger is!

20-07-2021, 11:28 PM

Definitely. There are some things I used to get regularly which were always available. Now hit or miss if they’re there from one week to the next. Absolutely Brexit related.

20-07-2021, 11:34 PM
I was in the scotmid up from my house and the beer fridge was almost empty, after a moment of panic I noticed that the spirits behind the counter was fully stocked. I didn’t notice if the butter was soft or if they had 2 litre bottles of milk.

20-07-2021, 11:51 PM
Massively, particularly in ASDA Newhaven.

21-07-2021, 12:04 AM

This. Down here in Chippenham a friend of ours is one of the managers in Sainsburys. That’s exactly the issue. Good ole Brexit bonus. There was bugger all bog roll, beer looked like it was a closing down sale, tonic non existent.

Totally avoidable.

21-07-2021, 12:05 AM

Think ginger, but pre peeled and chopped.

21-07-2021, 06:49 AM
Think ginger, but pre peeled and chopped.

Yup, that's what it is.

21-07-2021, 08:39 AM

Basically 3 types of Food storage
Chilled
Frozen
Ambient - anything that can be stored at room temperature, from fresh fruit to tins/cereals etc
Everyday days a school day Hutchy😀

21-07-2021, 11:16 AM
Spreadable? 😉

Must have been a new one, Lurpack Pourable.

Andy Bee
21-07-2021, 12:12 PM
There's a real mass exodus of drivers at the moment, people moving from one company to another with better pay and conditions, it's absolutely mental. My own company have seen drivers on different contracts get a £6k payrise without effort, there's also drivers down south moving to Browers (Mcdonalds deliveries) who offered their own drivers a £7k payrise and an £11k increase for our own drivers off the bat and they weren't that badly paid previously.

The Governments next plan is to scrap the class 2 license before being able to sit class 1 so we'll see wee Jimmy in his Corsa jump straight into a class 1 LGV with what could be a weeks training under his belt.

Lendo
21-07-2021, 12:40 PM

Mentioned to some friends that I tried four supermarkets this week looking for baking potatoes. None in any of them. Tesco also had ran out of tuna.

21-07-2021, 12:51 PM
Mentioned to some friends that I tried four supermarkets this week looking for baking potatoes. None in any of them. Tesco also had ran out of tuna.

Baked tattie with tuna mayo is decent, but you cannae beat beans, cheese and coleslaw.

Santa Cruz
21-07-2021, 12:54 PM
Baked tattie with tuna mayo is decent, but you cannae beat beans, cheese and coleslaw.

As one filling combined together?

21-07-2021, 12:54 PM
Working in the food and drink trade, it’s down to a number of factors.
There is a great shortage of HGV drivers since Brexit/COVID, a lot of drivers have left the UK. Think I read somewhere that they need 100,000, but you can’t train that amount quickly

COVID as well is having an impact. Manufacturing closures in the Far East, has resulted in a lot of products not being harvested, and some products like coconut milk etc, have rocketed during lockdown

There is also a lack of aluminium and CO2 as well just now

Add in the shipping/docking problems etc, and it’s not a very rosey situation at the moment, and it’s not getting much better for a while
Going to see some big price rises on food products due to the situation
My local Morrison’s today had empty shelves in quite a lot of categories

The Morrison’s at the Gyle would be just as well shutting, water pasta medicines all missing, more shelf’s empty than full.

I was on the hunt for bottled water last night and took me a good bit before I got it at Sainsbury’s in Gorgie, shops are starting to look a bit more busy as well, folk stocking up on things maybe, I’m a smoker and Morrison’s have put cigarettes up by a pound, that’s a f***ing joke.

21-07-2021, 01:06 PM

You have a Scotland top on by any chance, good rolls from that Coop. :greengrin

21-07-2021, 01:18 PM
The Tesco in Dunfermline is bad just now, loads of items are unavailable. The staff there said Brexit was the biggest factor.

If only someone has warned people that this kind of thing would happen. Project Fear, apparently.

Lendo
21-07-2021, 01:23 PM

Coleslaw :jamboak:

hate it, awful stuff.

(although I do like all of the individual components)

Santa Cruz
21-07-2021, 01:48 PM
https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-9809593/Pingdemic-crisis-deepens-Supermarket-shelves-food-supply-chains-start-fail.html

Lendo
21-07-2021, 02:09 PM
https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-9809593/Pingdemic-crisis-deepens-Supermarket-shelves-food-supply-chains-start-fail.html

The pandemic is such an easy out for the government and it’ll cover up from the affects of Brexit.

21-07-2021, 02:15 PM
Just back from the monthly shopping in Perth. Lidl, tesco and a quick look in Asda for the only thing I couldn't get.

Shortage is a bit different depending on the supermarket. Very little bottles of water or any soft drink in tesco, seems like pet food is in short supply and toilet rolls. The only thing I couldn't find was preserving sugar, could get all other options, including jam sugar but none of the 3 supermarkets even has an empty shelf where it should be. Don't need the added pectin for blackcurrant jam.

21-07-2021, 02:15 PM
It gets worse, can’t get a sun lounger to buy in Scotland from Argos, nearest store is Blackpool :greengrin tried other stores, b&q b&m but all out of stock.

21-07-2021, 02:17 PM
As for a desk fan. 🙄Bloody heatwave!!!

Santa Cruz
21-07-2021, 02:17 PM
The pandemic is such an easy out for the government and it’ll cover up from the affects of Brexit.

It does say it's a mix, the pingdemic and a shortage of staff and specifically drivers due to a combination of brexit and isolating. It was reported last week that over 200 staff at the Tesco Depot in W. Lothian were isolating. That depot is massive and supplies to a high percentage of places in east/central Scotland. They have huge stockpiles too. If they are running short for any other reason than staff absence that will be all over the media.

21-07-2021, 02:18 PM
There's a real mass exodus of drivers at the moment, people moving from one company to another with better pay and conditions, it's absolutely mental. My own company have seen drivers on different contracts get a £6k payrise without effort, there's also drivers down south moving to Browers (Mcdonalds deliveries) who offered their own drivers a £7k payrise and an £11k increase for our own drivers off the bat and they weren't that badly paid previously.

The Governments next plan is to scrap the class 2 license before being able to sit class 1 so we'll see wee Jimmy in his Corsa jump straight into a class 1 LGV with what could be a weeks training under his belt.

That will definitely devalue the UK Class 1 license abroad and probably make it invalid.

Santa Cruz
21-07-2021, 02:21 PM
It gets worse, can’t get a sun lounger to buy in Scotland from Argos, nearest store is Blackpool :greengrin tried other stores, b&q b&m but all out of stock.

Argos has been like that for ages. I couldn't get garden furniture from a number of places a few months ago. Eventually gave up and went with a website called onbuy, pretty quick delivery.

21-07-2021, 02:27 PM
Is “pingdemic” the new word employed by gammons to disassociate themselves from the consequences of their own Brexit choices?

21-07-2021, 02:28 PM
The Morrison’s at the Gyle would be just as well shutting, water pasta medicines all missing, more shelf’s empty than full.

I was on the hunt for bottled water last night and took me a good bit before I got it at Sainsbury’s in Gorgie, shops are starting to look a bit more busy as well, folk stocking up on things maybe, I’m a smoker and Morrison’s have put cigarettes up by a pound, that’s a f***ing joke.

The problem with Morrison’s at the Gyle, is it’s an Amazon hub. Pickers on the floor all day, taking stocks for deliveries, and none for their walk in customers

21-07-2021, 02:33 PM
On the subject of bottled water, what's wrong with tap water? Think of the environment. There are only so many fleece jackets needed in the world!!

Santa Cruz
21-07-2021, 02:33 PM
Is “pingdemic” the new word employed by gammons to disassociate themselves from the consequences of their own Brexit choices?

I think it is a word used to describe the millions of people receiving a ping through the super sensitive covid app which is hitting every sector right now. So aye it's a pretty new word. That word gammon, is it supposed to be offensive, I'm not sure what it means, it always appears to get used in a derogatory manner?

Santa Cruz
21-07-2021, 02:35 PM
On the subject of bottled water, what's wrong with tap water? Think of the environment. There are only so many fleece jackets needed in the world!!

My wee Mum likes the bottles. My daughter's recently converted and bought a filtered jug.

21-07-2021, 02:36 PM
M&S Gyle getting loads of yellow (short dated) label products to sell, as they couldn’t get them into N.Ireland

21-07-2021, 02:41 PM
I think it is a word used to describe the millions of people receiving a ping through the super sensitive covid app which is hitting every sector right now. So aye it's a pretty new word. That word gammon, is it supposed to be offensive, I'm not sure what it means, it always appears to get used in a derogatory manner?

Gammon deserves a place on the pet peeves thread.

21-07-2021, 02:44 PM

Gammon describes the shade of pink some of the electorate go when they read about immigrants or statue abuse in the Daily Mail.

21-07-2021, 02:47 PM
As one filling combined together?

Cheese on the tattie, then beans, then more cheese, then top with coleslaw.

Santa Cruz
21-07-2021, 02:50 PM

No fancying the sound of that at all tbh, it's the beans in the mix, doesnay seem right. You enjoy anyway :greengrin

21-07-2021, 02:50 PM

Best topping for baked potatoes is butter and a pinch of salt, closely followed by tzatziki. But I guess we could start a thread on this.

21-07-2021, 03:04 PM
A baked potato should only be with cheese only.

21-07-2021, 03:06 PM
Haggis on a baked tattie is decent.

21-07-2021, 03:08 PM
You have a Scotland top on by any chance, good rolls from that Coop. :greengrin

Quite possibly aye.

The rolls are good, so are the steak & haggis pies. Put one of them on a roll. Love it.

21-07-2021, 03:09 PM
Haggis, beans, and cheese. :aok:

21-07-2021, 03:12 PM
The problem with Morrison’s at the Gyle, is it’s an Amazon hub. Pickers on the floor all day, taking stocks for deliveries, and none for their walk in customers

Problem is they have nobody filling the shelves. Easier if the pickers took the stuff that sits through the back all day instead of me having to ask for a loaf of bread. Usually some uninterested member of staff will go and get me one but not bother putting some out for the 90% of people who presume it's out of stock.

21-07-2021, 03:13 PM
Argos has been like that for ages. I couldn't get garden furniture from a number of places a few months ago. Eventually gave up and went with a website called onbuy, pretty quick delivery.

Thanks, ordered something so hopefully it gets here this year :greengrin

21-07-2021, 03:15 PM

Simple answer is I don’t like tap water, I was rattling for highland spring last night. :greengrin

21-07-2021, 03:40 PM

Beans and cheese :aok: but coleslaw also:sick:

21-07-2021, 03:42 PM
Baked tattie with cheese and then egg Mayo

21-07-2021, 03:59 PM

That would be what I got from the wee tattie shop in Stockbridge and a bit cheesecake, lovely so it was. Cheesecake was separate. :greengrin

21-07-2021, 03:59 PM
Went into the Scotmid at Polbeth last night on my way to my night shift. There was quite literally no bottled water or any kind of soft drink to be had.

21-07-2021, 04:02 PM
Simple answer is I don’t like tap water, I was rattling for highland spring last night. :greengrin

The 5th wealthiest land owner in Scotland, former ambassador from the UAE.

21-07-2021, 04:03 PM
Tomorrow night's tea is baked tatties, cream cheese, tomato pasta, Coleslaw and grated cheddar.

21-07-2021, 04:04 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Di5XUh8XoAApphx.jpg

Another promise broken!

21-07-2021, 04:23 PM
Baked potato. Egg mayonnaise + grated cheese.

Close the thread.

21-07-2021, 05:23 PM
If you've got a garden, get some raised beds and grow as much of your own stuff as you can. Everybody with the means to do so, should do this if they can. It'll really save your skin if shortages either continue or get worse.

21-07-2021, 05:26 PM
Noone seems to have told Sainsbury's yet, their frozen desserts bit looked empty but everything else seemed to be fully stocked.

21-07-2021, 05:30 PM

Ryan Mcgivern.

speedy_gonzales
21-07-2021, 05:34 PM
Ryan Mcgivern.

Oh, well done! I was trying to think of one all day yesterday and only came up with Phil Stamp.

21-07-2021, 05:37 PM
Oh, well done! I was trying to think of one all day yesterday and only came up with Phil Stamp.

I was going to say Simon Murray but thought it was cruel.

21-07-2021, 10:04 PM

Pingdemic is to distract folk from the fact that the isolating is a direct result of letting COVID run riot through the population, by blaming it on an app.

Santa Cruz
21-07-2021, 10:15 PM
Pingdemic is to distract folk from the fact that the isolating is a direct result of letting COVID run riot through the population, by blaming it on an app.

Yip, think most clued up folk are well aware what's going on right now the length of the Country.

22-07-2021, 05:34 AM
Baked potato with mushy peas is outstanding.

Give it a try.

22-07-2021, 05:48 AM
Not enough getting imported, not enough drivers to transport the little that gets imported and now they want to add a carbon border tax. Are they deliberately trying to bring the country to its knees?

Crunchie
22-07-2021, 06:01 AM
Not enough getting imported, not enough drivers to transport the little that gets imported and now they want to add a carbon border tax. Are they deliberately trying to bring the country to its knees?

I think you’re being a tad melodramatic here. I’ve been in 3 supermarkets this week and the only shortage was ice cream which I seem to recall is a regular occurrence when there’s a heatwave. And those of you griping there’s no bottled water? I’m lost for words on that one.

patch1875
22-07-2021, 06:03 AM
Maybe need to up security at home. My wife works for highland spring so we have loads 😀

22-07-2021, 06:04 AM

Gammon = red faced white man that is perpetually angry. Usually at the Muslims, snowflakes or cancel culture. Often bald and overweight. Loves Jeremy Clarkson and the Queen. Hates the lazy teachers filling our kids with Gay nonsense. Reads one of The Sun, Daily Mail or Express. Due to his anger, his face is constantly red, like a side of gammon.

22-07-2021, 06:06 AM

You should try the tap water down here!

Terrible stuff. What I’d give for some Edinburgh water.

22-07-2021, 06:41 AM
I think you’re being a tad melodramatic here. I’ve been in 3 supermarkets this week and the only shortage was ice cream which I seem to recall is a regular occurrence when there’s a heatwave. And those of you griping there’s no bottled water? I’m lost for words on that one.

Crunchie's subjective experience v the rest of the world again.

22-07-2021, 06:50 AM
Crunchie's subjective experience v the rest of the world again.It's almost like folks the world over are always wrong on everything,

BBC News - Covid: Shops try to keep shelves stocked as more staff isolate
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-57924264

BBC News - BP: Lorry driver shortages closing some sites temporarily
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-57912922

22-07-2021, 07:04 AM
The 5th wealthiest land owner in Scotland, former ambassador from the UAE.

Met him a few times when i worked in a nearby hotel

22-07-2021, 07:17 AM
Our nearest two superstores are Asda and Aldi and we've noticed empty sections in both of them the last couple of months.

22-07-2021, 07:39 AM
Pingdemic is to distract folk from the fact that the isolating is a direct result of letting COVID run riot through the population, by blaming it on an app.Said this to my Tory supporting friend only last night, he was adamant the government did the best it could ALL other countries are the same or worse, and you'll probably not be surprised to hear it would have been much worse under Corbyn.

There are very few bolt holes left so it's up to the media to create distractions and excuses as comfort blankets.

Santa Cruz
22-07-2021, 07:53 AM
Said this to my Tory supporting friend only last night, he was adamant the government did the best it could ALL other countries are the same or worse, and you'll probably not be surprised to hear it would have been much worse under Corbyn.

There are very few bolt holes left so it's up to the media to create distractions and excuses as comfort blankets.

Nothing I disagree with in your post, but we have the same staff shortages across crucial sectors in Scotland. Both Gov's letting covid rip, both heavily reliant on a highly sensitive app because their contact tracing systems have not coped due to the scale of cases. Yet only one Gov gets criticised.

22-07-2021, 07:58 AM
Nothing I disagree with in your post, but we have the same staff shortages across crucial sectors in Scotland. Both Gov's letting covid rip, both heavily reliant on a highly sensitive app because their contact tracing systems have not coped due to the scale of cases. Yet only one Gov gets criticised.If I lived in Scotland I'd certainly question aspects of the handling of Covid excluding the brexit issue.

I pay attention to what is happening up there and have many friends and family who are affected, my impression of their views and experiences would be Sturgeon C+ must do better and Bozo a solid barrel scraping F and really must stop stealing from the tuck shop.

22-07-2021, 07:58 AM
Nothing I disagree with in your post, but we have the same staff shortages across crucial sectors in Scotland. Both Gov's letting covid rip, both heavily reliant on a highly sensitive app because their contact tracing systems have not coped due to the scale of cases. Yet only one Gov gets criticised.To be fair, increases are expected when rules are relaxed, I don't think though the government up here are wanting to reduce the efficiency of the app to lower the numbers being identified as contacts? Apologies if I missed it though, easily done with all the info flying about!

Crunchie
22-07-2021, 08:02 AM
Nothing I disagree with in your post, but we have the same staff shortages across crucial sectors in Scotland. Both Gov's letting covid rip, both heavily reliant on a highly sensitive app because their contact tracing systems have not coped due to the scale of cases. Yet only one Gov gets criticised.
Sturgeon could take a dump in their garden and they would find some excuse for it, their patter is garbage. I sat amongst them at a few meetings I went to down the dockers club in Leith, even back then as an SNP member I couldn't stand some of their crap.

Santa Cruz
22-07-2021, 08:08 AM
To be fair, increases are expected when rules are relaxed, I don't think though the government up here are wanting to reduce the efficiency of the app to lower the numbers being identified as contacts? Apologies if I missed it though, easily done with all the info flying about!

Fair enough about the app, I don't disagree that's sensible if it's a strategy to reduce potentially infectious cases, it does sound overly sensitive in that it's picking people up who have walked passed closed doors of positive cases. The problem is the lack of planning for this exact scenario of staff shortages due to tolerating the high number of infections. The SG want to release some sectors from mandatory isolation, frontline NHS staff is the main sector being discussed just now. From what I read one of the main unions was fighting this decision in the interests of their members safety.

22-07-2021, 08:21 AM
Staff shortage here is mostly down to Brexit. Hospitality has always relied on European staff. Cafes are only open part of the week due to these shortages.

Soft fruit is rotting in the fields due to lack of pickers.

4 supermarkets I've been in this week, shortage of bottles of water, pet food, cereals, crisps and loo rolls. That is probably delivery issue apart from the water.

22-07-2021, 08:31 AM
Fair enough about the app, I don't disagree that's sensible if it's a strategy to reduce potentially infectious cases, it does sound overly sensitive in that it's picking people up who have walked passed closed doors of positive cases. The problem is the lack of planning for this exact scenario of staff shortages due to tolerating the high number of infections. The SG want to release some sectors from mandatory isolation, frontline NHS staff is the main sector being discussed just now. From what I read one of the main unions was fighting this decision in the interests of their members safety.

Don't disagree with anything you've said, for me though, the App has always been as sensitive as it is, now that it's working (too) well it's going to get dumbed down?

Santa Cruz
22-07-2021, 08:42 AM
Don't disagree with anything you've said, for me though, the App has always been as sensitive as it is, now that it's working (too) well it's going to get dumbed down?

It's fine having an app when your dealing with largely controlled case numbers. It's not a sustainable tool when you open everything up and millions of people are notified. Gov's should have planned for this scenario imo. Going to leave it there now JA, whole country is a joke, they've all allowed this and one Gov gets criticised.

22-07-2021, 10:41 AM
Crunchie's subjective experience v the rest of the world again.

Yip. And his experience is nothing like quite a few of us have encountered. Plenty gaps on shelves of supermarkets I've been to over the past few weeks. And not just heatwave favourites.

22-07-2021, 10:59 AM
To be fair, increases are expected when rules are relaxed, I don't think though the government up here are wanting to reduce the efficiency of the app to lower the numbers being identified as contacts? Apologies if I missed it though, easily done with all the info flying about!

Do we have numbers of people pinged in Scotland?

HY giving out the Test and trace numbers for last week looks like they're handling the cases.

https://twitter.com/HumzaYousaf/status/1418104657839280130

Santa Cruz
22-07-2021, 11:36 AM
Yip. And his experience is nothing like quite a few of us have encountered. Plenty gaps on shelves of supermarkets I've been to over the past few weeks. And not just heatwave favourites.

I think this may be down to lack of staff in the shops to stock the shelves. Reason I say that is 3 members of my family who use home deliveries due to vulnerabilities have just told me they received all items they ordered in the past couple of days with the one exception which is bottled water.

The owner of Iceland has just said he's had to recruit 2,000 staff on a temp contract to cover for staff absence or he'd have to close a number of shops.

22-07-2021, 12:09 PM
Costco has mountains of everything.

22-07-2021, 12:13 PM
I think this may be down to lack of staff in the shops to stock the shelves. Reason I say that is 3 members of my family who use home deliveries due to vulnerabilities have just told me they received all items they ordered in the past couple of days with the one exception which is bottled water.

The owner of Iceland has just said he's had to recruit 2,000 staff on a temp contract to cover for staff absence or he'd have to close a number of shops.

Reading the thing in the Scotsman today about self-isolation causing serious staff shortages thoughout the supply chain, and then you add the different problems caused by Brexit and then chuck in a bit of panic buying given that there are rumours of problems, it's no great surprise that there are empty shelves here and there.

22-07-2021, 12:19 PM
There is no food shortage as such, just a shortage of staff to move it from A to B and fill the shelves of the available stock.

22-07-2021, 12:26 PM
There is no food shortage as such, just a shortage of staff to move it from A to B and fill the shelves of the available stock.

It might not be apparent but soft fruit isn't being picked in the same volume as it used to be. The Berry fields between Perth and Dundee are empty of workers just now, previously they would be hoaching with squads of workers.

22-07-2021, 12:39 PM

Shortage at the point of use, ie the gob.

22-07-2021, 12:48 PM
For those of you who shop at ASDA Newhaven, I'd keep a really close on the dates of the stuff you buy too.

We've bought one or two things that were already out of date from there in recent weeks, and my partner is just back from the shop having had to alert them to another couple of things that were on the shelves but out of date today.

Not sure why this might be, rotating stock and watching dates was certainly important when I was filling shelves in Presto in the early 90s.

Santa Cruz
22-07-2021, 12:58 PM
For those of you who shop at ASDA Newhaven, I'd keep a really close on the dates of the stuff you buy too.

We've bought one or two things that were already out of date from there in recent weeks, and my partner is just back from the shop having had to alert them to another couple of things that were on the shelves but out of date today.

Not sure why this might be, rotating stock and watching dates was certainly important when I was filling shelves in Presto in the early 90s.

It still is important. It's done every day in all Depts. You need adequate staff numbers to carry out the task, they also need to be trained properly, so if they are being recruited quickly they maybe aren't having the importance of the task impressed upon them.

22-07-2021, 01:05 PM
Maybe need to up security at home. My wife works for highland spring so we have loads ��

Will remember this post when things get worse. :greengrin

22-07-2021, 01:07 PM
You should try the tap water down here!

Terrible stuff. What I’d give for some Edinburgh water.

Tap water here is warm. :sick:

22-07-2021, 01:14 PM

Have you thought of putting it in the fridge for a bit before drinking it.

22-07-2021, 01:14 PM
https://www.facebook.com/watch/?extid=SEO----&v=1183809158682140

22-07-2021, 01:34 PM
Have you thought of putting it in the fridge for a bit before drinking it.

No room for it what with all the bottles of water :greengrin

22-07-2021, 01:43 PM
No room for it what with all the bottles of water :greengrin

22-07-2021, 04:42 PM

I'm in Leith and my tap water is excellent. Always cold - even over the last few days.

22-07-2021, 04:50 PM

Top Tip:

Simply replace all the water pipes in your house with proper old lead piping. By the time you've run off and discarded the first few minutes of water to get rid of the lead deposits which have built up since the last time you ran the tap, you'll then be getting nice cool water from underground. Delicious!

22-07-2021, 05:09 PM
Just been in my local co-op and got 3 bags of preserving sugar, but there has been a run on loo rolls. 😉

patch1875
22-07-2021, 06:43 PM
Sainsbury’s murrayfield seemed pretty normal frozen stuff looked a bit low but didn’t notice anything else.

22-07-2021, 07:20 PM
Just stocked up on water, Morrison’s had a pallet at front door, grabbed a trolley and filled it up, few funny looks but hey Ho, I’m happy. :greengrin

22-07-2021, 09:15 PM
Just been announced that key food workers will be able to daily test instead of isolation.

Santa Cruz
22-07-2021, 09:26 PM
Just been announced that key food workers will be able to daily test instead of isolation.

All critical services apparently.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-57937583

Stairway 2 7
22-07-2021, 09:30 PM
Seems sensible 600,000 a week told to isolate for ten days on top of the positive cases isn't sustainable. Scotland can't look down upon it, as our app is so much less sensitive it only pinged 1500 a week last month. If we had about 40 times more people isolating per head we'd be toiling too

22-07-2021, 10:16 PM
Heard on the radio that there is a shortage of HGV Drivers estimated at about 100,000 . That's a big gap to fill without losing numbers to getting pinged.

22-07-2021, 10:19 PM
Seems sensible 600,000 a week told to isolate for ten days on top of the positive cases isn't sustainable. Scotland can't look down upon it, as our app is so much less sensitive it only pinged 1500 a week last month. If we had about 40 times more people isolating per head we'd be toiling too

You post some decent stuff but that's just nonsense.

If the Scottish app was crap covid would still be raging in the community. We've had a bad spell recently, that E&W are going through now a wee bit behind, but we're coming out the other side.

You're trying to suggest the English system is a standard by which others should be measured. Only in a race to the bottom.

England is already admitting their app is too sensitive and back tracking. They're reducing its sensitivity and allowing exemptions all over the place.

Who do you think got it right now?

Stairway 2 7
23-07-2021, 04:12 AM
You post some decent stuff but that's just nonsense.

If the Scottish app was crap covid would still be raging in the community. We've had a bad spell recently, that E&W are going through now a wee bit behind, but we're coming out the other side.

You're trying to suggest the English system is a standard by which others should be measured. Only in a race to the bottom.

England is already admitting their app is too sensitive and back tracking. They're reducing its sensitivity and allowing exemptions all over the place.

Who do you think got it right now?

To think the app or face masks ect change the r rate that much is just wrong. That doesn't decide the pandemic indoor mixing has a much bigger difference for example.

The fact is in June there was a higher prevalence of covid in Scotland than England and ours rose faster that month. At that time if we ha the same app we should have pinged a little more than England. In reality over 30 times less than them. That's a ridiculous difference and obviously less sensitive

Scotland obviously has done better than England over the last year and a half. But it's because tighter restrictions that generally last longer.

23-07-2021, 07:40 AM
Heard on the radio that there is a shortage of HGV Drivers estimated at about 100,000 . That's a big gap to fill without losing numbers to getting pinged.

I was travelling last week and saw an advert for HGV drivers in a service station toilet. They were offering a starting salary of £50-60K a year for fully qualified drivers. They were also offering to pay training costs (repayable over x number of years) and a starting salary of £45K for new drivers. A bit of digging suggests that is above average for the respective levels of experience. That screams desperation.

Another issue is lack of vans (smaller than HGV size). My work has been looking to source 3 new vans and the lead times are ridiculous. We were very keen to go electric but with the loads we carry taken into consideration the range can be as low as 60-80 miles which is no good to us.

Finally I saw toilet paper mentioned above. That's definitely a raw materials issue. My work is on a 10 day lead time for multi pallet quantities of blue roll and toilet rolls (usually a full container of 66 pallets). That used to be 2-3 days. There are similar delays in things like paper straws and cardboard food packaging. The price increases are mental as well. Pizza boxes are up about 25% and foil containers over 30%. We tried to absorb it but we've not had no choice but to pass it on, that's going to see price increases that impact everyone.

23-07-2021, 09:03 AM

Same over here in Germany and why I chose to retrain to HGV 1. They're throwing money at drivers in Germany. The shortage here is similar to the UK in that it has been caused by a lack of drivers from other EU countries. Brexit driven in the UK and driven by stricter implementation of the existing cabotage regulations here in Germany.

Stairway 2 7
23-07-2021, 09:26 AM
Same over here in Germany and why I chose to retrain to HGV 1. They're throwing money at drivers in Germany. The shortage here is similar to the UK in that it has been caused by a lack of drivers from other EU countries. Brexit driven in the UK and driven by stricter implementation of the existing cabotage regulations here in Germany.

Are yous guys having the same isolation problems are the rules same as here if a contact. I know in the US if your double vaccinated you don't need to isolate if in contact with someone positive

23-07-2021, 09:42 AM
Are yous guys having the same isolation problems are the rules same as here if a contact. I know in the US if your double vaccinated you don't need to isolate if in contact with someone positive

Same here, if you have the vaccine pass or have already recovered from covid, then there is no need to isolate after a confirmed contact.

23-07-2021, 09:46 AM

Same here, if you have the vaccine pass or have already recovered from covid, then there is no need to isolate after a confirmed contact.

Nor in France, but only if you test negative.

Stairway 2 7
23-07-2021, 10:00 AM
Cheers. Maybe French way about the best, happy medium between the three

23-07-2021, 10:01 AM
Cheers. Maybe French way about the best, happy medium between the three

Don't admit though - whatever you do! :greengrin

Rocky
23-07-2021, 10:19 AM
Another issue is lack of vans (smaller than HGV size). My work has been looking to source 3 new vans and the lead times are ridiculous. We were very keen to go electric but with the loads we carry taken into consideration the range can be as low as 60-80 miles which is no good to us.

I saw a thing on the news last week saying that three year old vans are currently selling for more than the price of a new one due to lead times on new.

23-07-2021, 02:35 PM
It still is important. It's done every day in all Depts. You need adequate staff numbers to carry out the task, they also need to be trained properly, so if they are being recruited quickly they maybe aren't having the importance of the task impressed upon them.

The worst i've heard about was 3 Tesco shops in Birmingham who were fined £7.5M. After being visited and loads of out of date products being found they sorted everything and invited another check. The re-visit found loads more. It's all down to lack of training and staff who know but can't be bothered doing the job properly.

23-07-2021, 02:39 PM
I was travelling last week and saw an advert for HGV drivers in a service station toilet. They were offering a starting salary of £50-60K a year for fully qualified drivers. They were also offering to pay training costs (repayable over x number of years) and a starting salary of £45K for new drivers. A bit of digging suggests that is above average for the respective levels of experience. That screams desperation.

Finally I saw toilet paper mentioned above. That's definitely a raw materials issue. My work is on a 10 day lead time for multi pallet quantities of blue roll and toilet rolls (usually a full container of 66 pallets). That used to be 2-3 days. There are similar delays in things like paper straws and cardboard food packaging. The price increases are mental as well. Pizza boxes are up about 25% and foil containers over 30%. We tried to absorb it but we've not had no choice but to pass it on, that's going to see price increases that impact everyone.

Do you get your containers loaded 2 euro pallets high?

Andy Bee
23-07-2021, 03:15 PM

This one ? 24913

You've got to watch, there seems to be a recurring theme of job adverts with these headline figures but that figure will probably consist of 60hrs and tramping all week (sleeping in the cab)with overnight money included in the total. You've got to be wary if a job advert doesn't include an hourly rate.

24-07-2021, 03:11 PM
Shelves looking decent again in Morrison’s apart from shampoos deodorants and medicine stuff.

24-07-2021, 03:17 PM
Shelves looking decent again in Morrison’s apart from shampoos deodorants and medicine stuff.

That's a stinker 😉

24-07-2021, 03:22 PM
Today was the first day I’ve noticed anything in our local supermarket but it was primarily beer/cider and mixers (tonic water, soda water, ginger ale etc), so could equally be reflecting bbq weather!

24-07-2021, 03:32 PM
That's a stinker 😉

I did try to complain but the woman kept stepping away from me, I did have my mask on :confused: :greengrin

24-07-2021, 03:54 PM
This one ? 24913

You've got to watch, there seems to be a recurring theme of job adverts with these headline figures but that figure will probably consist of 60hrs and tramping all week (sleeping in the cab)with overnight money included in the total. You've got to be wary if a job advert doesn't include an hourly rate.Same advert on the main roads in Spalding Lincolnshire on Monday this week.

11-08-2021, 08:11 PM
Right that's it. Its time for riots! 😉

There's a shortage of beer in Edinburgh, some pubs running out already.

2 out of 2 pubs I know of already this week.

11-08-2021, 08:56 PM
Right that's it. Its time for riots! 😉

There's a shortage of beer in Edinburgh, some pubs running out already.

2 out of 2 pubs I know of already this week.
Whit!!!! Food shortages I can take but this is getting serious now.

13-10-2021, 06:19 PM
It’s now massive price increases you’ll be seeing soon. Our company are passing on 20% price increases with immediate effect. Expect your Chinese/Indian meal to rocket in price. Cost increases from the Far East in particular are escalating

13-10-2021, 06:56 PM
It’s now massive price increases you’ll be seeing soon. Our company are passing on 20% price increases with immediate effect. Expect your Chinese/Indian meal to rocket in price. Cost increases from the Far East in particular are escalating

Quite a few price rises of 10-20% in supermarkets last few weeks.

13-10-2021, 07:03 PM

In a similar vein the increases on packaging, crockery etc just keep coming.

I have a 16% increase from one supplier coming next week and others are introducing product specific surcharges. It's mental and we can't absorb them anymore.

On that note tin foil is likely to be the next shortage. An issue with raw material apparently but I'm getting no wholesale quantities for at least 3 weeks.

13-10-2021, 07:41 PM
In a similar vein the increases on packaging, crockery etc just keep coming.

I have a 16% increase from one supplier coming next week and others are introducing product specific surcharges. It's mental and we can't absorb them anymore.

On that note tin foil is likely to be the next shortage. An issue with raw material apparently but I'm getting no wholesale quantities for at least 3 weeks.

The tin foil will be for brexiteers heads while telling us this isn’t happening.

13-10-2021, 07:45 PM

We won't have any turkey this year to wrap anyway so no problem on the tin foil front 🙂

Andy Bee
13-10-2021, 11:06 PM
With the impending shortage of bacon now on the horizon my mate and myself have invested in these bad boys, barbecues are going to be interesting next year. :greengrin

14-10-2021, 04:43 AM
Shortage in medical supplies is increasing by the day, I think it’s going to be a winter never witnessed for generations for a different reason this time. 😢

14-10-2021, 05:58 AM
Whit!!!! Food shortages I can take but this is getting serious now.

14-10-2021, 07:41 AM
The tin foil will be for brexiteers heads while telling us this isn’t happening.

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkIt's okay for the privileged few who were annointed with grace and favour Covid contracts, they'll be able to wrap their French turkey in £50 notes at xmas.

14-10-2021, 12:05 PM

Morrison’s prices have risen quite sharply over last couple of weeks, it would seem everything has had a extra 30p added to everything, even there deal prices have went up.

14-10-2021, 12:43 PM
Morrison’s prices have risen quite sharply over last couple of weeks, it would seem everything has had a extra 30p added to everything, even there deal prices have went up.

Not just food prices going up. For my craft business I did an order in June and one on Tuesday, 5% increased in 4 months.

14-10-2021, 01:02 PM

I think places like Morrisons and Tesco have taken advantage of the situation in certain categories
Also less likely to see promotions going forward

14-10-2021, 01:20 PM
It's okay for the privileged few who were annointed with grace and favour Covid contracts, they'll be able to wrap their French turkey in £50 notes at xmas.

Despite probably campaigning for Brexit I'd wager they will be celebrating with bent €500 notes!

14-10-2021, 02:35 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-58895250.amp

Price of chicken to rise.

14-10-2021, 03:32 PM

That's cause it got wings!

14-10-2021, 03:41 PM

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkWait until you see the list of things that have dropped in price though. Bozo said prices would come down, brexit bonus so it's got to be true.

Crunchie
15-10-2021, 06:16 AM
Wait until you see the list of things that have dropped in price though. Bozo said prices would come down, brexit bonus so it's got to be true.

That's me done voting Conservative, dog treats up 50p a bag :grr:

15-10-2021, 07:23 AM
That's me done voting Conservative, dog treats up 50p a bag :grr:Probably a good thing, they're bad for your teeth. Maybe you should get a dog?[emoji6]

21-10-2021, 11:15 AM
Now that the supposed fuel shortage is over, perhaps others have noticed that the prices have increased.

On the 21st July I paid £1.329 a litre for diesel, on the 23rd September it was £1.349 a litre. Yesterday, 20th October it has risen to £1.439!!!

The same tesco each time.

21-10-2021, 11:24 AM
Now that the supposed fuel shortage is over, perhaps others have noticed that the prices have increased.

On the 21st July I paid £1.329 a litre for diesel, on the 23rd September it was £1.349 a litre. Yesterday, 20th October it has risen to £1.439!!!

I suppose at least the price rising is encouraging suppliers to meet the demand.
With domestic energy prices capped, it’s possible some suppliers will just not be able to do that which could see shortages. I think that is a worse situation.
Either way, we are heading into a big recession.

21-10-2021, 12:25 PM
I think places like Morrisons and Tesco have taken advantage of the situation in certain categories
Also less likely to see promotions going forward

I liked a wee bag of chocolate raisins at the weekends for myself, they have been on the same deal for ages, 2 for £1.50, no deal anymore and 95p a packet, won’t be having them anymore :greengrin, but my biggest saving has been from stopping smoking, feel better and bank balance looks better.

Still not buying these pesky expensive raisins though. :greengrin

21-10-2021, 12:51 PM
Noticed the HP sauce I normally buy in Tesco has gone from £2.20 to £2.80 a bottle!

21-10-2021, 02:55 PM

That's definitely not restricted to just the UK, diesel prices have taken a large hike over here too.

21-10-2021, 03:03 PM
That's definitely not restricted to just the UK, diesel prices have taken a large hike over here too.

Yep, it's gone up 0.35€ here in 1 year (29%)

21-10-2021, 04:38 PM
Noticed the HP sauce I normally buy in Tesco has gone from £2.20 to £2.80 a bottle!

Tesco are at it

21-10-2021, 04:55 PM

Seen diesel at £1.63 in Durham today.

31-10-2021, 02:23 PM
Morrison’s at Gyle looking pretty empty of frozen stuff and fruit and vegetables today, there prices are a f***ing joke as well, and don’t get me started on petrol, deary me.

31-10-2021, 04:01 PM
I liked a wee bag of chocolate raisins at the weekends for myself, they have been on the same deal for ages, 2 for £1.50, no deal anymore and 95p a packet, won’t be having them anymore :greengrin, but my biggest saving has been from stopping smoking, feel better and bank balance looks better.

Still not buying these pesky expensive raisins though. :greengrin

You could make them yourself. Eat some, call the rest artisanal chocolate raisins and sell them for £5 a packet.

Chorley Hibee
31-10-2021, 04:30 PM
Seen diesel at £1.63 in Durham today.

£1.65 at Tebay Services today.

31-10-2021, 04:35 PM
Struggling to get marmalade.

31-10-2021, 04:37 PM
I suppose at least the price rising is encouraging suppliers to meet the demand.
With domestic energy prices capped, it’s possible some suppliers will just not be able to do that which could see shortages. I think that is a worse situation.
Either way, we are heading into a big recession.

And raising interest rates won’t have the desired effect. This ain’t a normal recession.

31-10-2021, 04:39 PM
£1.65 at Tebay Services today.

Thanks for the heads up. Going to Shropshire in a couple of weeks. Supermarket fill up before I go.

31-10-2021, 05:04 PM
And raising interest rates won’t have the desired effect. This ain’t a normal recession.

I agree. Raising interest rates is only a good idea if you want to restrict demand. The problem is a lack of supply in the economy.

31-10-2021, 05:14 PM
Morrison’s at Gyle looking pretty empty of frozen stuff and fruit and vegetables today, there prices are a f***ing joke as well, and don’t get me started on petrol, deary me.

Typical in many shops nowadays as they never have enough staff on to get shelves restocked during the day. A lot of them haven't adjusted replenishment hours to get staff in after online shoppers have done their shift

31-10-2021, 05:51 PM
Typical in many shops nowadays as they never have enough staff on to get shelves restocked during the day. A lot of them haven't adjusted replenishment hours to get staff in after online shoppers have done their shift

yeah most supermarkets these days are full of staff picking out the online shopping customers orders, and, from my experience, doing their best to ignore any customers actually in the place

shelves are/have been rarely fully stocked for a long time