View Full Version : Peter Cormack

17-07-2021, 07:29 PM
Shares a birthday with Joe Baker which I’m certain he will always have been happy about.
75 today and still to be seen cutting about Craigentinny and Wakefield Avenue.
Top man.

Happy birthday Peter.

17-07-2021, 07:37 PM
Cormack obviously. What a disrespectful attempt at a thread title.

17-07-2021, 07:37 PM
Shares a birthday with Joe Baker which I’m certain he will always have been happy about.
Top man.

Happy birthday Peter.

What about Peter Cormack?

17-07-2021, 07:38 PM
What about Peter Cormack?

Beat you to it. Admins, apologise for my fingers!

17-07-2021, 07:40 PM
Top man.

Happy birthday Peter.

Would that be corn snack or Cormack. Joking aside, I knew Peter when we were about 14/15 yrs. I think he went to David Kilpatrick’s. We used to play at Victoria Park. He was a bit of a Jambo at that time.

17-07-2021, 07:40 PM
Happy Birthday Peter.

Great memories of you playing for the Hibees.

Liam978
17-07-2021, 07:41 PM
Top man.

Happy birthday Peter.

Totally concur Stevie, two legends sadly Joe no longer with us, but still wish him a happy birthday too. still see Peter a lot on his daily walk and would still be a regular at ER if allowed.

17-07-2021, 07:43 PM
Totally concur Stevie, two legends sadly Joe no longer with us, but still wish him a happy birthday too. still see Peter a lot on his daily walk and would still be a regular at ER if allowed.

17-07-2021, 08:21 PM
My first ever away game....Brockville 1968. I ran to the corner of the sparsely populated terracing to get the ball when it went out for a Hibs throw. "Chop chop son......good man" says Peter as I threw the ball to him. He scored that day as well. He might have been my favourite Hibs player before then but there was no doubt about it after that.

17-07-2021, 08:32 PM
Before my time. How much did Liverpool pay for him?

17-07-2021, 08:39 PM
Before my time. How much did Liverpool pay for him?

Liverpool paid £110,000 for him, not sure what Forest paid for him to take him away from Easter Road.

17-07-2021, 08:41 PM
Liverpool paid £110,000 for him, not sure what Forest paid for him to take him away from Easter Road.

Cheers. How much did Arsenal pay for Marinello?

17-07-2021, 08:44 PM
Cheers. How much did Arsenal pay for Marinello?

Cant help you with that one mate! Must have been about the same??

17-07-2021, 09:07 PM
My first ever away game....Brockville 1968. I ran to the corner of the sparsely populated terracing to get the ball when it went out for a Hibs throw. "Chop chop son......good man" says Peter as I threw the ball to him. He scored that day as well. He might have been my favourite Hibs player before then but there was no doubt about it after that.

Lovely stuff J.

17-07-2021, 11:32 PM
Beat you to it. Admins, apologise for my fingers!

No probs mate, he was one of the best players ever to play for us, will always remember him.

stu in nottingham
17-07-2021, 11:39 PM

Think the fee was a reported £80,000. Peter was brilliant for Forest in what was a declining side. Snapped up by Liverpool.

18-07-2021, 12:54 AM
Lovely guy with great stories. Sadly getting a bit forgetful these days but it comes to us all. Leith legend.

18-07-2021, 05:27 AM
Top man.

Happy birthday Peter.

His son (also Peter) goes about with a few of Craigentinny Bowling Club members so I take it the family come from the Craigentinny area.

18-07-2021, 06:27 AM
One of my all time favourites

A classy player with attitude and a tremendous appetite and intelligence for the game and a desire to be the best he can be

Peter had a distinctive running style He used to run on his toes and was able to launch himself from a running position at crosses into the box with a spring like leap with an uncanny knack to hang in the air scoring a good few goals for the Hibees from headers

I remember him getting sent off versus the Hearts at Easter Road and taking over in goals on more than one occasion

The mud spattered yellow jersey ten sizes too big for his body with his wee skinny legs dangling down below

Making his Scotland debut versus Brazil he could not wait to test himself down South eventually winning an FA Cup two League Championships two Charity Shields and a UEFA Cup with Liverpool and an Anglo Scottish Cup with Bristol City before eventually returning to HIBS as a Coach

Legend

18-07-2021, 06:49 AM
One of my all time favourites

A classy player with attitude and a tremendous appetite and intelligence for the game and a desire to be the best he can be

Peter had a distinctive running style He used to run on his toes and was able to launch himself from a running position at crosses into the box with a spring like leap with an uncanny knack to hang in the air scoring a good few goals for the Hibees

I remember him getting sent off versus the Hearts at Easter Road and taking over in goals on more than one occasion

The mud spattered yellow jersey ten sizes too big for his body with his wee skinny legs dangling down below

Making his Scotland debut versus Brazil he could not wait to test himself down South eventually winning an FA Cup a League Championship Two Charity Shields and a UEFA Cup with Liverpool an Anglo Scottish Cup with Bristol City before eventually returning to HIBS as a Coach

Legend

Think he was very good friends with Keegan when at Liverpool. Was the game when he scored in the friendly v Real Madrid not at the ridiculous age of 17 or 18?

Was at the Bristol City game when he head butted Des Bremner :greengrin

That was some game think the other player sent off was Norman bite yer legs Hunter

18-07-2021, 06:59 AM
Think he was very good friends with Keegan when at Liverpool. Was the game when he scored in the friendly v Real Madrid not at the ridiculous age of 17 or 18?

Was at the Bristol City game when he head butted Des Bremner :greengrin

That was some game think the other player sent off was Norman bite yer legs Hunter
Peter was 18 scored one of the goals in a 2-0 win the other goal being Zoco og

Hibs wore the famous green and white sleeves with green shorts

https://www.hibs.net/londonhibs/hhht/issue22/hibs_2-0.htm

I typed Bristol City Anglo Scottish Cup winners 1978 through gritted teeth they were a disgrace that night

18-07-2021, 07:07 AM
Peter was 18 scored one of the goals in a 2-0 win the other goal being Zoco og

Hibs wore the famous green and white sleeves with green shorts

I typed Bristol City Anglo Scottish Cup winners 1978 through gritted teeth they were a disgrace that night

They certainly were a disgrace. Pity we couldn't get the goals to knock them out.

18-07-2021, 07:50 AM
His son (also Peter) goes about with a few of Craigentinny Bowling Club members so I take it the family come from the Craigentinny area.

Maybe in recent times, but as an ex Craigie resident in the 60s/mid 70s he wasn't there then.

I think he may have lived out Saughton way in late 60's as I bumped into him out there one day.

He was just casually walking down the road in his Hibs blazer.

18-07-2021, 09:41 AM
Everyone used to imitate the Cormack style which was.....er.....balletic shall we say.
I'm sure my father tried to urge me towards rugby after witnessing this!

Roxyhibee
18-07-2021, 02:53 PM
Great memories of a tremendous footballer. My very first game was a night game against St Mirren (maybe a cup game) when Peter had to go in goals following a head injury to Willie Wilson, who came out of goals and played on the right wing with a big WW1 bandage on his head.! Think it was 1964ish, we won 1-0.

Then after his debut against Brazil, my dad read out something complimentary the Brazilian manager said about him along the lines of “Cormack fights like a lion for his country” - and me requoting that to everyone at my primary school (and very probably my teacher.!)

I also recall him getting sent off against Hearts (maybe Rangers) and on the way to the tunnel picking up and slinging a bit mud at the ref or linesman.

But what a class player - Hibs had so much big talent in that mid 60’s to 1970 pre Tornadoes with Cormack, Martin, Stein, Marinello, Stevenson, plus Stanton and O’Rourke coming through. Then the likes of Brownlie and Cropley emerging.!

Happy birthday to Peter Cormack, a true legend.

18-07-2021, 04:58 PM
Great memories of a tremendous footballer. My very first game was a night game against St Mirren (maybe a cup game) when Peter had to go in goals following a head injury to Willie Wilson, who came out of goals and played on the right wing with a big WW1 bandage on his head.! Think it was 1964ish, we won 1-0.

Then after his debut against Brazil, my dad read out something complimentary the Brazilian manager said about him along the lines of “Cormack fights like a lion for his country” - and me requoting that to everyone at my primary school (and very probably my teacher.!)

I also recall him getting sent off against Hearts (maybe Rangers) and on the way to the tunnel picking up and slinging a bit mud at the ref or linesman.

But what a class player - Hibs had so much big talent in that mid 60’s to 1970 pre Tornadoes with Cormack, Martin, Stein, Marinello, Stevenson, plus Stanton and O’Rourke coming through. Then the likes of Brownlie and Cropley emerging.!

Happy birthday to Peter Cormack, a true legend.

A few years ago there was a discussion on here about Peter, and he posted to remind us/me of the name of the Hearts player involved in his sending of at ER I recalled how Peter was getting away from him on the left wing but the Hearts player kicked him three times on the heel. Peter took the first two but let him have it after the third, completely a reflexive reaction but sadly a straight red. It says a lot about him that he was the favourite if si many of us. I read every post in this thread simply because its about Peter.

18-07-2021, 06:54 PM
Heart of a lion. I remember just after he deposited John Greig half way into the crowd asking the Hibs supporting idiot standing next to me who had booed Peter from the start of the game whether he still thought he was a ****ing fancy dan to be told he would never make it.

18-07-2021, 07:09 PM
Wembley 71 I think

https://i.ibb.co/kmML4mT/5-E280-FCB-4276-498-A-8-CA3-F4318-C3-A6-E1-C.jpg (https://ibb.co/6XNKHXS)

18-07-2021, 07:19 PM
Maybe in recent times, but as an ex Craigie resident in the 60s/mid 70s he wasn't there then.

I think he may have lived out Saughton way in late 60's as I bumped into him out there one day.

He was just casually walking down the road in his Hibs blazer.

You are not far away, Fred.
Peter once lived in Broomhall ,during his Hibs days.
I remember as Jimmy had a house there too.
I think they went into training together.
Turnabout with the car,i think.
Or Jimmy drove cos Peter didnae have a motor .
I remember Jimmy's first car. Ford Anglia!

Peter could play fitba awright.
And give as good as he got.
Wisnae a bad singer,either !
He had his own female fan club when at ER.

Happy Birthday,Peter

18-07-2021, 09:08 PM
Wembley 71 I think

https://i.ibb.co/kmML4mT/5-E280-FCB-4276-498-A-8-CA3-F4318-C3-A6-E1-C.jpg (https://ibb.co/6XNKHXS)

England 3 v 1 Scotland

https://youtu.be/MNX36hU7qnw

Full match

Interesting watch some great players on both sides

12.50 first England goal does not cross the line

Where is VAR when you need it ?

Scottish highlight of first half 1-3 down and Tam McNiven having a fly puff o his fag on the bench

18-07-2021, 09:39 PM
Great thread. Makes me pine for the football I watched in my youth.

nice video here of PC playing and scoring for Liverpool in an absolutely brilliant game against Birmingham. Made all the better by Birmingham wearing their Ajax kit.

https://youtu.be/j6LlnvV0y5o

18-07-2021, 09:52 PM
Great thread. Makes me pine for the football I watched in my youth.

nice video here of PC playing and scoring for Liverpool in an absolutely brilliant game against Birmingham. Made all the better by Birmingham wearing their Ajax kit.

https://youtu.be/j6LlnvV0y5o
Me to, none of the wishy washy stuff they play now 😕

18-07-2021, 10:11 PM
England 3 v 1 Scotland

https://youtu.be/MNX36hU7qnw

Full match

Interesting watch some great players on both sides

12.50 first England goal does not cross the line

Where is VAR when you need it ?

Scottish highlight of first half 1-3 down and Tam McNiven having a fly puff o his fag on the bench

Goalkeeper impersenator Greig would have been sent of in the VAR era with a penalty awarded to Engerland.
I prefer the solution from this game.
Justice without ruining the game.
Well played the dutch referee.

18-07-2021, 10:27 PM
Goalkeeper impersenator Greig would have been sent of in the VAR era with a penalty awarded to Engerland.
Normally I would say send the Hun B off Penalty to England but you have a good point :greengrin

You never know Bobby Clark might have saved it even without gloves

stu in nottingham
18-07-2021, 10:47 PM
Peter scored around 14 goals for Forest in his relatively short time at the City Ground. In my memory the majority of them were headed strikes from his well-known aerial ability. Of course who can remember THAT run, almost like a prance with a touch of the young colt kicking his legs high up behind him. It was pretty unique. It was Peter Cormack's run. Loved him.

https://m.media-amazon.com/images/I/41lLVxg4R6L._AC_.jpg

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/En71ZdDWEAEbX1u?format=jpg&name=medium

18-07-2021, 11:05 PM
Just want to wish my first Hibs hero Peter Cormack a very happy 75th Birthday.

He was a great Hibs man and player but was always bound for a bigger english club.

i was gutted when he left for Nottingham Forest and really missed his agility in that no 10 shirt.

I was so pleased to follow his career with Liverpool where he is still held in high regard by the fans.

Hope you have a great day Peter and you and Marion are keeping safe and well.

19-07-2021, 09:19 AM

Of course the joke at the time was Greig complaining to the ref that it wouldn’t even be a penalty in Scotland.

19-07-2021, 10:28 AM
Of course the joke at the time was Greig complaining to the ref that it wouldn’t even be a penalty in Scotland.
Not against Rangers anyway especially with Bobby Davidson refereeing

‘Play on ! ‘

snedzuk
19-07-2021, 03:15 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wYj308F6Aw0

posted before, but this link is to the first of three parts

24-07-2021, 03:41 PM
Seen the great man outside the West on Thursday and great to see him still enjoying the Hibs.

Norrieg
24-07-2021, 07:21 PM
Saw his first game at Airdrie in '62. He was 16 yrs old and my dad said that he didn't exactly look like a football player and that he was so skinny that he feared the first tackle would probably break a leg. He had a giraffe style of running and he scored that day. For all his slight build he could take it and give it. His ability to jump and control and bring down a ball on his chest was uncanny. Oh how I miss those days !!! Happy birhtday Peter and thanks for the memories, you were one of the best.https://www.hibs.net/image/gif;base64,R0lGODlhHQAPANU AAAAACYjATAtAz86AEI9B0lEBUlGEFVOA1BNGFpTB1xVElJRIG FbDGFdJ21lBGhiFXRsAHFsFn10AHNuOnp3RXx6VoF2B4B5K4B WI FDY EFJWJBZ6SAZOOIJKKNJiRN6aZAqKYGbirCr22JJWQS5aTb6OdU KWhdsq6AcC3M9rKA9TQLOjYB/rsCfr5MdvWStnXZf//T/v6b7Sxla6tpLOxpcG/rcvJt///kP//otbVyuPj2 vq5P7 /v///////yH/C05FVFNDQVBFMi4wAwEAAAAh QQJCgA ACwAAAAAHQAPAAAG4UCfcEj00SqPxaNCKzqfwlrFBMvhZK9OpQ btSmE4q0wWi40e3K6z8sJdy66YyyWqqIu0TowMb/UtTXdCFStlZS2Ifoh1gkILLoiQiYkoKgtPOhgZJDc PQaSk6IsBj0 NyQZGDoTICoiFB8TCyyikyotKggTHxQiKiATDCoswCglFSIsKy 0AAIjOlSAVJSiuxQwKkyA2NBAiiCri4y0QEDQ2IJMKNSYdGRok PFIcBQ7jxBYBHA8 PCQaMnQwkcZJjQccEhxwIAHCgQH8GhWRAgEEh4scIGyROPHIAg IImNwJAgAh QQJCgA ACwAAAAAHQAPAAAG/UCfcEj00SqPxaNCKzqfwlrFBMvhZK9OpQbtSmE4q0wWi40e3Ce vFCntfD1f5YW7ll0xl0tUgft2bCVrFigbJTYzNB0xZHctjhY0M zYlGygWJQsiKiIRIQ0VK2UxAAAtLaWnfA0hEZsiCwwqsyAqmS6 nLqmopigqCyUqtbMMDKeqNgZ6K8fNKCgsBjYizQwN0C0sFjcLL CICzccFECoINxYs2SgNOicXDxEnPRUiLAUOKsfaASIgFT0nIjy 4cELHExrkUCQ44EAChAMDOKiA0KQLESkSVaDoB2ITCg4PLDqp8 UDis5MfQ4ocWQECCF8fIWxZ aTGkQUEEDARGQQAIfkECVAAPgAsAAAAAB0ADwAABv5AX WA4fmOSFrlsXhUaEgkD3Oo DAJFWTSM/pqFRMsh5O9OpXakdebQFQJDEKEEkUeiW8FhiPLZDExIw9qCQ8R dCIIBSIqIgkiCkIvOGWBLpguIlYKj40iBQwqoyAqFDQdMYAAAC 4trK4WNBQqpaMMDi26LSglFSuBMay6wy2bJSi7LQ4HyiAnC5gr rsq8KCoLJyDKBwgcKiwqDDUGmgLVugUQLAY1ouEcCDsVCAQGJT 4LLCwFDiq7LCwEaITARwkDBBBU2BEFSQURLFAkOOBAAoQDA76B sNKw4xEab8DVAQGi0SgIUDx2BPNtlEsVKFBweKBSZY0H32LqlE mzphTNChBAXJMJIY3PmjWULEj45GgQAAAh QQJCgA ACwAAAAAHQAPAAAG/UCfcEj00SqPxaNCKzqfwlrFBMvhZK9OpQbtSmE4q0wWi40e3Ce vFCntfD1f5YW7ll0xl0tUgft2bCVrFigbJTYzNB0xZHctjhY0M zYlGygWJQsiKiIRIQ0VK2UxAAAtLaWnfA0hEZsiCwwqsyAqmS6 nLqmopigqCyUqtbMMDKeqNgZ6K8fNKCgsBjYizQwN0C0sFjcLL CICzccFECoINxYs2SgNOicXDxEnPRUiLAUOKsfaASIgFT0nIjy 4cELHExrkUCQ44EAChAMDOKiA0KQLESkSVaDoB2ITCg4PLDqp8 UDis5MfQ4ocWQECCF8fIWxZ aTGkQUEEDARGQQAIfkECQoAPgAsAAAAAB0ADwAABuFAn3BI9NE qj8WjQis6n8JaxQTL4WSvTqUG7UphOKtMFouNHtyus/LCXcuumMslqqiLtE6MDG/1LU13QhUrZWUtiH6IdYJCCy6IkImJKCoLTzoYGSQ3Pj0GkpOiL AY9PjckGRg6EyAqIhQfEwssopMqLSoIEx8UIiogEwwqLMAoJRU iLCstAACIzpUgFSUorsUMCpMgNjQQIogq4uMtEBA0NiCTCjUmH RkaJDxSHAUO48QWARwPPjwkGjJ0MJHGSY0HHBIccCABwoEB/BoVkQIBBIeLHCBskTjxyAICCJjcCQIAIfkEBVAAPgAsAAAAAB0 ADwAABsVAn3BI9NEqj8WjQis6n8JaxQTL4WSvTqUG7UphOKtMF ouNHtyus/LCXcuumMslqqiLtE6MDG/1LU13QhUrZWUtiH6IdYJCCy6IkImJKCoLjT4GkpOcLAaYCyyck yotKgiYFSKipomlKiogdo00ELAssLm5EIGCUhywAADBACgcD1A zHiAfMzo3PjUPwCjV1sdCNzozHyAeMwwquCAoJVEVEOQqxhBbQ iUoIOIqDCUpIyIiHztDNUcLBBAwIbLjQ74RKUoEAQA7https://www.hibs.net/image/gif;base64,R0lGODlhHQAPANU AAAAACYjATAtAz86AEI9B0lEBUlGEFVOA1BNGFpTB1xVElJRIG FbDGFdJ21lBGhiFXRsAHFsFn10AHNuOnp3RXx6VoF2B4B5K4B WI FDY EFJWJBZ6SAZOOIJKKNJiRN6aZAqKYGbirCr22JJWQS5aTb6OdU KWhdsq6AcC3M9rKA9TQLOjYB/rsCfr5MdvWStnXZf//T/v6b7Sxla6tpLOxpcG/rcvJt///kP//otbVyuPj2 vq5P7 /v///////yH/C05FVFNDQVBFMi4wAwEAAAAh QQJCgA ACwAAAAAHQAPAAAG4UCfcEj00SqPxaNCKzqfwlrFBMvhZK9OpQ btSmE4q0wWi40e3K6z8sJdy66YyyWqqIu0TowMb/UtTXdCFStlZS2Ifoh1gkILLoiQiYkoKgtPOhgZJDc PQaSk6IsBj0 NyQZGDoTICoiFB8TCyyikyotKggTHxQiKiATDCoswCglFSIsKy 0AAIjOlSAVJSiuxQwKkyA2NBAiiCri4y0QEDQ2IJMKNSYdGRok PFIcBQ7jxBYBHA8 PCQaMnQwkcZJjQccEhxwIAHCgQH8GhWRAgEEh4scIGyROPHIAg IImNwJAgAh QQJCgA ACwAAAAAHQAPAAAG/UCfcEj00SqPxaNCKzqfwlrFBMvhZK9OpQbtSmE4q0wWi40e3Ce vFCntfD1f5YW7ll0xl0tUgft2bCVrFigbJTYzNB0xZHctjhY0M zYlGygWJQsiKiIRIQ0VK2UxAAAtLaWnfA0hEZsiCwwqsyAqmS6 nLqmopigqCyUqtbMMDKeqNgZ6K8fNKCgsBjYizQwN0C0sFjcLL CICzccFECoINxYs2SgNOicXDxEnPRUiLAUOKsfaASIgFT0nIjy 4cELHExrkUCQ44EAChAMDOKiA0KQLESkSVaDoB2ITCg4PLDqp8 UDis5MfQ4ocWQECCF8fIWxZ aTGkQUEEDARGQQAIfkECVAAPgAsAAAAAB0ADwAABv5AX WA4fmOSFrlsXhUaEgkD3Oo DAJFWTSM/pqFRMsh5O9OpXakdebQFQJDEKEEkUeiW8FhiPLZDExIw9qCQ8R dCIIBSIqIgkiCkIvOGWBLpguIlYKj40iBQwqoyAqFDQdMYAAAC 4trK4WNBQqpaMMDi26LSglFSuBMay6wy2bJSi7LQ4HyiAnC5gr rsq8KCoLJyDKBwgcKiwqDDUGmgLVugUQLAY1ouEcCDsVCAQGJT 4LLCwFDiq7LCwEaITARwkDBBBU2BEFSQURLFAkOOBAAoQDA76B sNKw4xEab8DVAQGi0SgIUDx2BPNtlEsVKFBweKBSZY0H32LqlE mzphTNChBAXJMJIY3PmjWULEj45GgQAAAh QQJCgA ACwAAAAAHQAPAAAG/UCfcEj00SqPxaNCKzqfwlrFBMvhZK9OpQbtSmE4q0wWi40e3Ce vFCntfD1f5YW7ll0xl0tUgft2bCVrFigbJTYzNB0xZHctjhY0M zYlGygWJQsiKiIRIQ0VK2UxAAAtLaWnfA0hEZsiCwwqsyAqmS6 nLqmopigqCyUqtbMMDKeqNgZ6K8fNKCgsBjYizQwN0C0sFjcLL CICzccFECoINxYs2SgNOicXDxEnPRUiLAUOKsfaASIgFT0nIjy 4cELHExrkUCQ44EAChAMDOKiA0KQLESkSVaDoB2ITCg4PLDqp8 UDis5MfQ4ocWQECCF8fIWxZ aTGkQUEEDARGQQAIfkECQoAPgAsAAAAAB0ADwAABuFAn3BI9NE qj8WjQis6n8JaxQTL4WSvTqUG7UphOKtMFouNHtyus/LCXcuumMslqqiLtE6MDG/1LU13QhUrZWUtiH6IdYJCCy6IkImJKCoLTzoYGSQ3Pj0GkpOiL AY9PjckGRg6EyAqIhQfEwssopMqLSoIEx8UIiogEwwqLMAoJRU iLCstAACIzpUgFSUorsUMCpMgNjQQIogq4uMtEBA0NiCTCjUmH RkaJDxSHAUO48QWARwPPjwkGjJ0MJHGSY0HHBIccCABwoEB/BoVkQIBBIeLHCBskTjxyAICCJjcCQIAIfkEBVAAPgAsAAAAAB0 ADwAABsVAn3BI9NEqj8WjQis6n8JaxQTL4WSvTqUG7UphOKtMF ouNHtyus/LCXcuumMslqqiLtE6MDG/1LU13QhUrZWUtiH6IdYJCCy6IkImJKCoLjT4GkpOcLAaYCyyck yotKgiYFSKipomlKiogdo00ELAssLm5EIGCUhywAADBACgcD1A zHiAfMzo3PjUPwCjV1sdCNzozHyAeMwwquCAoJVEVEOQqxhBbQ iUoIOIqDCUpIyIiHztDNUcLBBAwIbLjQ74RKUoEAQA7

24-07-2021, 07:52 PM
I might well be getting this wrong, but was it our relegation year he came back to us? I was just wee, but I picked up from my Dad that he had been brilliant for us first time and based on that I was sure he'd keep us up single-handedly (it was looking like Best wasn't going to do that!).

25-07-2021, 06:41 AM
I might well be getting this wrong, but was it our relegation year he came back to us? I was just wee, but I picked up from my Dad that he had been brilliant for us first time and based on that I was sure he'd keep us up single-handedly (it was looking like Best wasn't going to do that!).

Returned as a Player Coach

In his 16 games that first season back I think we only won 2 League games

He still had the football brain but the legs had gone

It was great watching George Best Ally MacLeod ( great player but never the quickest) and Peter Cormack in the same team

Brilliant football but lacking the urgency and fight that a doomed team required to stave off relegation

Peter was a great player for HIBS scoring 106 goals in 291 appearances from midfield

Anyone remember the game in his first season back when there was a European Cup winner a European Cup Winners Cup winner and a UEFA Cup winner on the pitch at the same time?

25-07-2021, 07:40 AM
Returned as a Player Coach

In his 16 games that first season back I think we only won 2 League games

He still had the football brain but the legs had gone

It was great watching George Best Ally MacLeod ( great player but never the quickest) and Peter Cormack in the same team

Brilliant football but lacking the urgency and fight that a doomed team required to stave off relegation

Peter was a great player for HIBS scoring 106 goals from 291 appearances from midfield

Anyone remember the game in his first season back when there was a European Cup winner a European Cup Winners Cup winner and a UEFA Cup winner on the pitch at the same time?

Shieldfield Park, Berwick. George Best, Dave Smith and Peter Cormack.

I asked Dave Smith this question a few years ago and he didnt get the answer.

25-07-2021, 07:43 AM
Shieldfield Park, Berwick. George Best, Dave Smith and Peter Cormack.

I asked Dave Smith this question a few years ago and he didnt get the answer.
👍🏿

An oldie but goodie

25-07-2021, 12:20 PM
Seen the great man outside the West on Thursday and great to see him still enjoying the Hibs.

Is he a football agent now, sure I have heard his name or possibly his brother being involved in that business.

25-07-2021, 12:59 PM
Is he a football agent now, sure I have heard his name or possibly his brother being involved in that business.

https://quantumsport.co.uk/#team

Possibly his son, Silver

25-07-2021, 11:45 PM
https://quantumsport.co.uk/#team

Possibly his son, Silver

his son Peter junior.