View Full Version : England win Euros or Hertz win Scottish Premiership

01-07-2021, 09:18 PM
We used to have threads saying "if you could only have one outcome, would you prefer Scotland to win the Euros/World Cup or Hibs to win the Scottish Cup".

Well, here's the same question but with a more negative outcome.

Which would you prefer (I know, not the most appropriate word) England win Euros or Hertz win Scottish Premiership? There's no sitting on the fence.

01-07-2021, 09:20 PM
England winning the Euros. Definitely!

01-07-2021, 09:24 PM
England. Not even a contest. A bit of OTT jingoism for a few weeks then some commentators who are easy to ignore bringing it up every couple of years.

The alternative is far, far worse.

01-07-2021, 09:25 PM
I can't believe that I voted for the Hertz, but I couldn't cope with all the endless smugness from the English. We (the Scottish Nation) would never hear the end of it.

If Hertz won the Scottish Premiership, I hope that the Hibees would try and go one better. With Scotland, there's no way that we could compete with them.

01-07-2021, 09:25 PM
England by a mile, I wouldn't want those manky maroon gits to win a raffle.....

01-07-2021, 09:30 PM
Has to be England winning the Euros. I can screen that out easily enough, unlike the alternative which I don't even want to mention.

darwenhibby
01-07-2021, 09:37 PM
It’s too late. With this Poll
Living down here for 22 years you’d think they’ve already won it

01-07-2021, 09:38 PM
I’d cheer in England on in the final, will them to win and sing, happily sing “3 Lions” before wanting those ***** to win a league title.

shamo9
01-07-2021, 09:40 PM
England without hesitation.

01-07-2021, 09:45 PM
Always liked England.....

01-07-2021, 09:50 PM
England. In fact, I couldn’t really care less if they manage to win it. I don’t have the same level of hatred others seem to.

CloudSquall
01-07-2021, 10:20 PM
England, a SPFL win would be accompanied by a Champions League appearance for Hearts, we'd never hear the end of it.

HFC93
01-07-2021, 10:25 PM
I would rather England won the next World Cup than Hearts winning anything. Easy answer.

01-07-2021, 10:26 PM
I really don't want England to win the Euros (or the World Cup for that matter) but if they do then so be it.

I don't even want Hearts to win a pre-season friendly never mind a league title.

01-07-2021, 10:33 PM
I really don't want England to win the Euros (or the World Cup for that matter) but if they do then so be it.

I don't even want Hearts to win a pre-season friendly never mind a league title.

01-07-2021, 10:36 PM
England don’t bother me in the slightest and sort of half hoping they win it. I’ve said that before and then end up enjoying their failure to do so just as much!
Hearts is different though - can’t bear them even winning a point against anyone.

Key West
01-07-2021, 10:39 PM
England.

01-07-2021, 10:41 PM
Hearts already won the league in September 2018 lest we forget

01-07-2021, 10:46 PM
I’m absolutely astounded that two people would rather see hearts win the league. Just can’t get my head around that

01-07-2021, 11:34 PM
I’m absolutely astounded that two people would rather see hearts win the league. Just can’t get my head around that

Some men just wanna watch the world burn.

cocteautwin
02-07-2021, 02:05 AM
Come on England! (only within the context of this thread).

02-07-2021, 06:06 AM
England win the Euros.

I'd rather England won every single tournament for the rest of my life than Hearts winning even one trophy.

02-07-2021, 06:20 AM

Well that's because I'm a patriotic Scotsman who wouldn't want England to win at anything. My in-laws are already hyper about them winning the Euros, whilst wee Scotland get bumped out in the group stages at the first time of asking.

Whereas,I know very few Hertz fans so don't have a problem with them winning it - obviously, I wouldn't want it. In fact, I'd hope that it would inspire Hibs to do better. The media story would be short too - in the grand scheme of things, them winning it is minor news. However, if England were to win the Euros, I really don't think I can cope with that, hence my vote.

02-07-2021, 06:28 AM
I can't believe that I voted for the Hertz, but I couldn't cope with all the endless smugness from the English. We (the Scottish Nation) would never hear the end of it.

If Hertz won the Scottish Premiership, I hope that the Hibees would try and go one better. With Scotland, there's no way that we could compete with them.

I can't believe you voted that way either!

02-07-2021, 06:34 AM

I wonder if either of them would care to explain? Or mibbie just caught the odd yam (aren’t they all) or wind-up merchant…

02-07-2021, 06:51 AM
Let's be honest here one has a fairly good chance of happening and the other one zero chance.

Hearts are a wee yo-yo club who will be lucky to finish top 6 next season.

02-07-2021, 07:01 AM
I don't like hearts to win the coin toss at tye start if a match never mind the league. So with gritted teeth it would need to be England.

02-07-2021, 07:07 AM
England winning the Euros or a World Cup would be annoying, but not much more than that. Hearts winning the league would be catastrophic.

02-07-2021, 07:12 AM
I'd get an England tattoo on my face before Hearts winning the league

AltheHibby
02-07-2021, 07:40 AM
With an English granny it has to be England.

02-07-2021, 07:45 AM
I couldn’t care less if England win the Euros or not though I’d be delighted for my English family and friends.
Hearts winning anything on the other hand……:grr:

He's here!
02-07-2021, 08:08 AM
No contest. England winning a tournament wouldn't actually bother me. I don't hate them, but I despise Hearts with every fibre of my being.

02-07-2021, 08:19 AM
England all day long.

**** Hearts.

02-07-2021, 08:42 AM
England all day long.

**** Hearts.

Nail on head.

02-07-2021, 09:10 AM
I've got the St George's flag and an admiral era Engerlund top at the ready.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

norhfc
02-07-2021, 09:19 AM
In the event of either of those scenarios we would need to shut down all our social media and TV media channels. For herts a month or so, for England, forever.

02-07-2021, 09:35 AM
If both happen then we can run the poll again when they have the inevitable play off for the best team ever. Robbie might need new word for money-spinner.

02-07-2021, 01:01 PM
I don't find this thread amusing at all.

02-07-2021, 03:04 PM
I don't find this thread amusing at all.

:rolleyes:Lol :agree:

And England.

I've loads of family down south and I often start out watching an England game wishing them the best, unfortunately after a while listening to the commentary I fall right back into the ABE camp... sigh...

Sorry guys, I know there a good few of 'you' on here that support Hibs! :greengrin

To be open and honest, I also have family (and best friend) that support the Gorgie lot... they just don't count in my eyes :agree:

03-07-2021, 01:41 AM
I wonder if either of them would care to explain? Or mibbie just caught the odd yam (aren’t they all) or wind-up merchant…

I wasn’t one of the original two, a “yam” or a wind-up merchant. Not that anyone should have to explain themselves on a poll clearly expected to have votes on both sides.

I love hibs and I love Scotland. Never made it a secret when it comes down to it I’m one of the minority on here that, if pushed, will admit to being country before club.

Pretty simple logic therefore that, while I would strongly prefer neither, that Scotland (and most of the football world’s) biggest rivals winning a tournament would irritate me more.

03-07-2021, 02:49 AM
England- you can keep them at the arms length of the TV.

03-07-2021, 07:15 AM
England- you can keep them at the arms length of the TV.

Difficult when your married to one. I always dread Euros and World Cups because, one day, football is coming home.

03-07-2021, 07:30 AM
I wasn’t one of the original two, a “yam” or a wind-up merchant. Not that anyone should have to explain themselves on a poll clearly expected to have votes on both sides.

I love hibs and I love Scotland. Never made it a secret when it comes down to it I’m one of the minority on here that, if pushed, will admit to being country before club.

Pretty simple logic therefore that, while I would strongly prefer neither, that Scotland (and most of the football world’s) biggest rivals winning a tournament would irritate me more.

I'm glad that someone sees it the same way as me. I had expected a vote in favour of England, but I'm actually surprised by the strength of support.

I fully understand that, as football rivals, we hate our neighbours winning at anything. But, at what point does it become just simply daft. Would a Linlithgow Rose fan really prefer England to win the Euros to prevent Bo'ness United winning the Lowland League. Or a Dunfermline fan not wanting Raith Rovers (or Falkirk) winning the Scottish Premiership and would prefer England to win the Euros. Or a Dundee fan being asked the same question about Dundee United.

But, England winning the Euros, we will not hear the end of it. My dad once told me that in the 60s, he actually wanted Scotland to win the World Cup final against West Germany but the downside was that they never stopped going on about it. That was in the days before internet, social media and 100s of TV channels. If England won the Euros, it would be endless coverage.

I hope posters understand my view, rather than the LTYF comments.

03-07-2021, 07:31 AM
No contest. Don't want Hearts to win anything, EVER

03-07-2021, 07:53 AM
If Scotland get beat I really don't have any feelings either way. I'd of course prefer them to win but if they lose a big game I'm over it in about 5 minutes. With Hibs it takes days.

03-07-2021, 08:24 AM
It’s a hard choice…………

Two boys were born in England and X wife is English.
My Auld boy is a jambo….. ( However I dinny believe he’s mine as I reckon my ma was on the game the night I was conceived, well that’s less embarrassing than admitting you’ve got a Jambo as a dad).

England by a country mile and then some…..

03-07-2021, 09:03 AM
England, without question, hesitation or even drawing a breath. Never mind even beginning to get to any possible positive reasons for choosing England, the suggestion of a Hearts title is just an abomination.

03-07-2021, 09:08 AM
We used to have threads saying "if you could only have one outcome, would you prefer Scotland to win the Euros/World Cup or Hibs to win the Scottish Cup".

Well, here's the same question but with a more negative outcome.

Which would you prefer (I know, not the most appropriate word) England win Euros or Hertz win Scottish Premiership? There's no sitting on the fence.

On reflection I think you should report yourself for posting this, or even contemplating it in the first place.

03-07-2021, 09:11 AM
Folk on here won't like it and if it happened it we wouldn't hear the end of it but I would love for a team outside the old firm to win the top league before I die.
If that team happened to be Hearts I would just have to suck up the downside of it.

P.S. I do now feel more uncomfortable having written the above but it still kind of stands that I need a team outside the old firm to win our league before I die but I can't see it happening the way things are which is pretty sad.

03-07-2021, 09:14 AM
Difficult when your married to one. I always dread Euros and World Cups because, one day, football is coming home.Yep, one day China might well win the Euros, finally bringing football, or Cuju (kick ball) to give it it's original name, home to its roots some time during the Han dynasty around 206 BC - 220 AD. Just before SKY and the EPL reinvented the beautiful game.

I know this because a Welsh guy was explaining it to a loud coming home singer in the pub last night and if Man in Pub says it that's good enough for me on this occasion [emoji16]

03-07-2021, 09:15 AM
Folk on here won't like it and if it happened it we wouldn't hear the end of it but I would love for a team outside the old firm to win the top league before I die.
If that team happened to be Hearts I would still be delighted and would just have to suck up the downside of it.

You will certainly be in the minority with that one.

Tobias Funke
03-07-2021, 09:17 AM
I honestly don’t think I’d be that bothered with England winning the Euros, I still don’t think they’ll reach the final though. If they win, I’ll feel pain for a couple of hours then get over it and get on with life.

If they lost the final I’d have to hook up two TVs so I could watch Ian Wright crying on one and Linekar sobbing on the other!

Hearts winning the SPFL would be unbearable.

03-07-2021, 09:23 AM
You will certainly be in the minority with that one.

Yeah, I have removed the word delighted. That was a step to far :agree:
It's not happening anyway especially as they keep shooting their own feet off at every turn.

03-07-2021, 09:36 AM
If that team happened to be Hearts I would just have to suck up the downside of it.

P.S. I do now feel more uncomfortable having written the above but it still kind of stands that I need a team outside the old firm to win our league before I die but I can't see it happening the way things are which is pretty sad.

Each to their own but I'd want Rangers to win their 155th title and Celtic to win 100 in a row before I'd ever consider wanting Hearts to win one league title.

He's here!
03-07-2021, 09:53 AM

Different days now, but when my dad was a kid Celtic didn't win a title for nearly 10 years after the war. They were all shared between Rangers and Hibs. He was also around when Hearts, Kilmarnock and Dundee were winning titles. In my younger days Rangers weren't really at the races when it came to winning the title, with Aberdeen, Celtic and Dundee United the dominant forces. The financial gulf simply wasn't as vast between the Old Firm and the rest (or more accurately you didn't earn a lot more playing for Rangers and Celtic than you did for Hibs or Hearts and I've read that the win bonuses the Famous Five were on were the reason that amazing forward line stayed together for a lot longer than they would nowadays).

As you say, it's pretty much impossible to imagine any team outwith Celtic or Rangers winning a title ever again unless someone with the financial clout to 'buy' their way to a title-winning squad appears on the scene. You do wonder why by and large we tend to just shrug and accept this situation. I'd certainly like to see more variety in our game and while most seem to be against it I'd be in favour of more cross-border competitions and maybe even a UK-wide league.

03-07-2021, 09:55 AM
I've got the St George's flag and an admiral era Engerlund top at the ready.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

Yep had a dream last night about England players in their admiral tops with Keegan Waddle and Hoddle in wonderful mullets. Seem to now be enjoying the build up to the England game and caught myself singing along to Footballs coming home. All has happened since this thread started. The world has gone mad. :greengrin

03-07-2021, 09:56 AM
The sharing of gate receipts was also a factor. Never the same after that ended. Bosman hammered another nail in the coffin.

03-07-2021, 10:14 AM
The sharing of gate receipts was also a factor. Never the same after that ended. Bosman hammered another nail in the coffin.Bosman has had an effect, but it works both ways. I'm sure there are plenty players that we could never have signed had we been obliged to pay transfer fees.

I'd say TV money, both at domestic & European level, has changed how things work more than anything else.

03-07-2021, 11:01 AM
Bosman has had an effect, but it works both ways. I'm sure there are plenty players that we could never have signed had we been obliged to pay transfer fees.

And I'm sure there are plenty of players we lost that we might have kept - look how long the Famous Five stayed together. And at the squads Ferguson and McLean were able to build.

BegbieHSC
03-07-2021, 11:19 AM
Anyone but England (except Hearts)

03-07-2021, 11:44 AM
And I'm sure there are plenty of players we lost that we might have kept - look how long the Famous Five stayed together. And at the squads Ferguson and McLean were able to build.I agree. As I said, it works both ways.

03-07-2021, 11:50 AM
How can anyone pick between them? **** the both of them I say.

03-07-2021, 11:50 AM
ABE :agree:

and

ABHeartz

03-07-2021, 11:56 AM
I'm confused, didn't Hearts save Englandland?