View Full Version : Brighton
AL-Qaholik
29-06-2021, 06:42 AM
Since we announced our “partnership” with Brighton, they have loaned players to Aberdeen and now Hertz!
Get this “partnership” to absolute f***!
29-06-2021, 06:43 AM
Since we announced our “partnership” with Brighton, they have loaned players to Aberdeen and now Hertz!
So Brighton should never send players to anyone other than Hibs, whether we're interested in them or not?
29-06-2021, 07:01 AM
It does seem strange that both clubs make announcements on this “partnership” yet B&HA lend players to our direct two rivals. Whether either player is any good or not it does leave questions about the arrangement. If either has a good season Graeme Mathie is going to look a bit daft and will get criticised by the support again.
29-06-2021, 07:12 AM
I've no idea what positions these players play, or how good they are. Are they players in positions we are light in, are they better than what we currently have? :dunno:
29-06-2021, 07:15 AM
It does seem strange that both clubs make announcements on this “partnership” yet B&HA lend players to our direct two rivals. Whether either player is any good or not it does leave questions about the arrangement. If either has a good season Graeme Mathie is going to look a bit daft and will get criticised by the support again.
I appreciate that, but it'd be nice if people would give the club(s) and the agreement a chance, instead of moaning without knowing the details.
29-06-2021, 07:16 AM
I think it's the fact they've been loaned to direct rivals in Aberdeen and the yoyo club that has some people a bit miffed.
If they'd gone to Livi and St Mirren I don't think anyone would be too bothered, but for them to be strengthening rivals for 3rd place seems strange. I hope they're both Daniel Boateng level loanees anyway.
29-06-2021, 07:20 AM
I think it's the fact they've been loaned to direct rivals in Aberdeen and the yoyo club that has some people a bit miffed.
If they'd gone to Livi and St Mirren I don't think anyone would be too bothered, but for them to be strengthening rivals for 3rd place seems strange. I hope they're both Daniel Boateng level loanees anyway.
The guy that's gone to Hearts is an apparently injury prone 21 year old left back who's only played 7 or 8 first team games - including 5 in the Belgian 2nd tier last season. Would we be ecstatic about him coming to us?
29-06-2021, 07:20 AM
I've no idea what positions these players play, or how good they are. Are they players in positions we are light in, are they better than what we currently have? :dunno:Doesn't matter
Our partnership should ban them operating in Scotland for any purpose outwith Hibernian.
Apparently.
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
29-06-2021, 07:22 AM
Have you read the press release?
29-06-2021, 07:23 AM
Doesn't matter
Our partnership should ban them operating in Scotland for any purpose outwith Hibernian.
Apparently.
That won’t be the case. Would be ridiculous to request that ..it’s simply a case of collaborating on player development , sharing best practices five , learning together ….
There is no commitment from either side on not trading with other clubs ..
29-06-2021, 07:24 AM
That won’t be the case. Would be ridiculous to request that ..it’s simply a case of collaborating on player development , sharing best practices five , learning together ….
There is no commitment from either side on not trading with other clubs ..In that case it's a joke, disgrace etc etc
[emoji57]
29-06-2021, 07:38 AM
Petrie out, or send him to Brighton.
29-06-2021, 07:43 AM
So Brighton should never send players to anyone other than Hibs, whether we're interested in them or not?
Shouldn't be sending to our rivals In the same league. 😂😂😂😂😂
29-06-2021, 07:48 AM
Grow up. Do you know anything about the players? The partnership may focus on other things than loaning players.
Stonewall
29-06-2021, 07:50 AM
Have you read the press release?
I think I can answer that one for you.
Maybe the players chose not to work under our management & opted for elsewhere
29-06-2021, 08:00 AM
Maybe the players chose not to work under our management & opted for elsewhere
Yes, that’ll be exactly it 🙄
The players in question either don’t look very good or play in a position that we have plenty cover. That’s all there is to it. We can’t dictate to Brighton where they send their players just like they can’t insist that we only sell Josh Doig to them and don’t deal with their Premier League rivals.
29-06-2021, 08:01 AM
I appreciate that, but it'd be nice if people would give the club(s) and the agreement a chance, instead of moaning without knowing the details.
Correct. However it might therefore be interesting to find out from Hibs at the first opportunity the circumstances of these coincidental signings. As previously suggested, Mathie might reveal that we got first dibs on the players and declined.
29-06-2021, 08:04 AM
Correct. However it might therefore be interesting to find out from Hibs at the first opportunity the circumstances of these coincidental signings. As previously suggested, Mathie might reveal that we got first dibs on the players and declined.
It is not a player exchange programme.
29-06-2021, 08:05 AM
Possibly but I'd be surprised, unless it was very politically put.
29-06-2021, 08:07 AM
I actually agree with the OP, and as a goodwill gesture I think we should offer to host and play the entire Brighton under 19’s squad every week regardless of how good they are. It will good for cover too, because if we sell Doig for example, we will have Mackie, Stevenson and probably 2 more left backs in as part of the deal for cover.
29-06-2021, 08:10 AM
Grow up. Do you know anything about the players? The partnership may focus on other things than loaning players.
Aye?
29-06-2021, 08:12 AM
Great interview with Graeme Mathie with one of the guys from Not The Old Firm m talks of the strategic partnerships amongst other things ⬇️
My chat w/ Hibs sporting director Graeme Mathie is online.
☑️Transfer window
☑️Ready for interest
☑️Strategic partners
☑️Easter Road success
☑️John McGinn sell-on
☑️Youth academy + more
Available to read - https://t.co/0pzL28cIKt
Or via YouTube - https://t.co/SJyk3a4KUf https://t.co/bAdCcTe70V
29-06-2021, 08:13 AM
So why bother with some 'partnership', if you have a chance of getting them on loan without some stupid link between the clubs? Seems no benefit at all. Hearts and Aberdeen don't have this and have managed to get a player each
Brighton could have loaned them elsewhere down south instead of it being to our two biggest rivals for 3rd place. I'm not having no one else would have been interested.
The whole 'partnership' thing seems a stupid idea in the first place and this just backs it up.
29-06-2021, 08:19 AM
So why bother with some 'partnership', if you have a chance of getting them on loan without some stupid link between the clubs? Seems no benefit at all. Hearts and Aberdeen don't have this and have managed to get a player each
Brighton could have loaned them elsewhere down south instead of it being to our two biggest rivals for 3rd place. I'm not having no one else would have been interested.
The whole 'partnership' thing seems a stupid idea in the first place and this just backs it up.
There's obviously been a lot of time and effort put into setting up these partnerships with different clubs. Like others, I'm not sure how much benefit they will be to Hibs but I'm willing to wait and see.
You've already decided that they're "stupid". That's up to you, but I'd say that Graeme Mathie deserves the benefit of the doubt for the time being.
29-06-2021, 08:21 AM
I dont know the benefits we will get from this relationship, so i wont call it stupid, and players going to other clubs in our league does not back it up as being stupid.
29-06-2021, 08:24 AM
The benefits are not yet obvious to me. But I don't see what goes on behind the scenes and don't work in the football industry.
And I can't see how there are any negatives with any of these partnerships.
29-06-2021, 08:26 AM
I’d be underwhelmed if we were signing either of these players. As to the strategic partnership, let’s wait and see what, if any, benefits we get.
29-06-2021, 08:35 AM
The partnership:
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/hibernian-confirm-brighton-partnership
This issue is probably a mountain out of a molehill, but, reading the article, you might understand both sides of the argument.
29-06-2021, 08:35 AM
Sometimes you’ve just got to roll your eyes, shake your head, close the thread and move on. This is one of those times.
Caversham Green
29-06-2021, 08:36 AM
Why are people so angry about this when they have no idea what's gone on? The very worst thing this "partnership" can be is neutral - those players would still have gone to Aberdeen and Hearts if the "partnership" didn't exist. Maybe we suggested to Brighton that those two clubs were a good place to offload their dross. Or maybe they'll be reporting to us through Brighton about tactics and training methods*.
And why are we putting "partnership" in inverted commas.
*Before anyone gets even angrier, these suggestions aren't entirely serious.
29-06-2021, 09:16 AM
I'm pretty sure these players would have been offered to us first. If we don't rate them than i'm delighted we've said no. Don't want us just taking anyone from Brighton.
29-06-2021, 09:41 AM
I wonder if Stenhousemuir feel the same about us loaning players to the likes of Edinburgh City?
29-06-2021, 09:48 AM
Why are people so angry about this when they have no idea what's gone on? The very worst thing this "partnership" can be is neutral - those players would still have gone to Aberdeen and Hearts if the "partnership" didn't exist. Maybe we suggested to Brighton that those two clubs were a good place to offload their dross. Or maybe they'll be reporting to us through Brighton about tactics and training methods*.
My thoughts but going a little further, Mathie acting as an in-between agent sort of thing to advise and funnel Brighton players onto interested clubs. I’m sure that would be a useful part of any partnership agreement.
29-06-2021, 09:56 AM
Have you read anything about it? Read the press release and the interview with Graeme.....its pretty clear why we do these things.
29-06-2021, 10:00 AM
"We want to share ideas and knowledge, with a focus on player development opportunities for both clubs, which could include training or playing opportunities for younger players, and friendly matches between various age groups."
It's got nothing to do with signing their players on loan!
29-06-2021, 10:13 AM
"We want to share ideas and knowledge, with a focus on player development opportunities for both clubs, which could include training or playing opportunities for younger players, and friendly matches between various age groups."
It's got nothing to do with signing their players on loan!
Okay, but wouldn't 'player development opportunities' and 'playing opportunities for younger players' mean some kind of loan deal? Apologies if I'm not grasping it properly.
29-06-2021, 10:24 AM
Okay, but wouldn't 'player development opportunities' and 'playing opportunities for younger players' mean some kind of loan deal? Apologies if I'm not grasping it properly.
It could but it hardly means we have an exclusive deal.
29-06-2021, 10:25 AM
They are talking about youth development. So sending young players down for training or games at 15 to 18. Not getting first dibs on 22 year old LBs that have only played 8 games in the last season. It look like far too many people assumed it was some sort of player exchange setup. Its about the clubs learning from each other and picking up on the good practices that they have obviously seen in each other.
29-06-2021, 10:25 AM
It still seems some Hibs supporters want to spend every moment slating Hibs at every opportunity, it must get pretty exhusting.
29-06-2021, 10:32 AM
Hibs have already stated what it's all about. I don't see the need to put out a communication re every Brighton loan signing up here that doesnt come to us.
29-06-2021, 10:36 AM
If either of these Brighton loan players scores single goal this season, or gets a rating of over 65 on Fifa 22, I'm going to be absolutely raging.
We should sign every player that Brighton want rid of. Just makes sense.
29-06-2021, 10:37 AM
Who else was interested in those players and what were the players preferences? Brighton can’t just refuse to put a player out on loan somewhere and sit them in the reserves if we don’t want them just because they have a strategic partnership with us
29-06-2021, 10:38 AM
This could apply as a general comment on the state of public discourse right now, in all areas of life.
29-06-2021, 10:43 AM
Does the agreement not just mean that Hibs have first refusal on any of Brighton's youngsters and vice versa?
If the players being offered to us aren't deemed good enough or we have no need for them then they will get offered out elsewhere?
Of course if they end up being good at Aberdeen or Hearts or they actually weren't offered to us in the first place then there's maybe grounds for questions being asked about the partnership but I don't think a Brighton player ending up at one of our rivals is automatically grounds for concern.
29-06-2021, 11:45 AM
We do have a couple of Brighton academy players on trial at the moment.
Without names any ideas what positions Matty?
29-06-2021, 11:45 AM
We do have a couple of Brighton academy players on trial at the moment.
If you mean the picture of the 2 lads on twitter, I don’t think they’re from Brighton.
29-06-2021, 11:46 AM
Hibs have already stated what it's all about. I don't see the need to put out a communication re every Brighton loan signing up here that doesnt come to us.
I’ve already said in another post that this is probably a mountain out of a molehill but I’m sure that even the most indifferent folk here raised an eyebrow at the news of their players going to two of our nearest rivals. That’s all. No knickers twisting, honest. :greengrin
29-06-2021, 11:51 AM
If you mean the picture of the 2 lads on twitter, I don’t think they’re from Brighton.
That’s who I meant, must have misread the tweet!
29-06-2021, 12:03 PM
That’s who I meant, must have misread the tweet!
Haha yeah says BHCFA , but that’s Brooke House College in Leicestershire
29-06-2021, 12:10 PM
Haha yeah says BHCFA , but that’s Brooke House College in Leicestershire
:aok: that’s what happens when i try to multi-task! I should have learned by now that is asking for trouble!
Stanton Spence
29-06-2021, 06:35 PM
*Before anyone gets even angrier, these suggestions aren't entirely serious.I would imagine that folk are getting so angry because Hibs and Brighton kinda went out of their way to convince us the fans that we both had some type of agreement and deal that would benifit both clubs. Now we are reading that Aberdeen have signed a player on loan from Brighton and then Brighton go and loan another player to Them (hertz)
For what it's worth I didn't give this so called partnership with Hibs and Brighton any real consideration and at best maybe hoped we could end up with a couple of decent loans from them and they would basically get first refusal on any of our talents at an agreeable fee. This now looks like pure bull **** and now kinda looks like Brighton were looking for an outlet in the Scottish Premier league to develop their youth players etc and really don't care what Scottish club that is
Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk
29-06-2021, 06:58 PM
Did we have any interest in either player?
That's arguably the most important question in all this. We have a strategic link up with Brighton that covers a number of areas. Nothing I have read suggests we have the right to dictate to them where they send players we have no interest in (or even where they send players we are interested in for that matter).
Of course it would be a bit annoying if one or both these players have a brilliant season but that's the same with any player we don't pursue who signs for another club. I wouldn't be abandoning a partnership in it's infancy over a couple of loan moves.
29-06-2021, 07:55 PM
Why the hell are folks getting angry about this?
29-06-2021, 07:59 PM
Why the hell are folks getting angry about this?I'm wondering what people would be like had we signed a 21 year old, injury prone left back with only 7 or 8 first team appearances, especially with the speculation about Doig.
29-06-2021, 08:06 PM
Why the hell are folks getting angry about this?
Anger and entitlement seems to be the default setting for far too many folk these days.
It's not healthy.
29-06-2021, 08:14 PM
I'm wondering what people would be like had we signed a 21 year old, injury prone left back with only 7 or 8 first team appearances, especially with the speculation about Doig.
I think new signings are normally met with positivity and some form of excitement, even if their careers to date doesn’t warrant it. I’m sure you’ll correct me on the players I’ve forgotten about getting a hard time but it’s not something that happens regularly.
I agree with the general point and I don’t get the anger about this deal. We’re clearly not going to sign every young player from
Brighton and the idea we could stop them sending players to other Scottish clubs is ridiculous.
29-06-2021, 08:20 PM
I think new signings are normally met with positivity and some form of excitement, even if their careers to date doesn’t warrant it. I’m sure you’ll correct me on the players I’ve forgotten about getting a hard time but it’s not something that happens regularly.
I agree with the general point and I don’t get the anger about this deal. We’re clearly not going to sign every young player from
Brighton and the idea we could stop them sending players to other Scottish clubs is ridiculous.People would have taken him as a potential replacement for Doig and gone mental.
29-06-2021, 08:22 PM
Anger and entitlement seems to be the default setting for far too many folk these days.
It's not healthy.
I wonder if Brighton fans are livid we didn't sell Callum Yeats (spelling?) to them 🤣
29-06-2021, 11:12 PM
Partnership can mean a lot of things. We could be sharing scouting information on players in each others league, if Brighton were interested in Jason Kerr for example they might ask for the stuff we've gathered on him, likewise if we're interested in a player who has played against Brighton or their youth sides on numerous occasions down there.
Of course as well Hearts and Aberdeen could be paying their loanees full wages or even a loan fee on top. Whoever we pick might end up being free for us.
Brighton don't have a care in the world if we win anything, nor should we care if they do. We're not owned by them. As long as Graham Mathie and the staff pick the right players from Brighton to come play at Hibs I couldn't care who the other teams pick.
30-06-2021, 05:37 AM
It is not a player exchange!! Just read the details and chill out.
30-06-2021, 08:22 AM
Partnership can mean a lot of things. We could be sharing scouting information on players in each others league, if Brighton were interested in Jason Kerr for example they might ask for the stuff we've gathered on him, likewise if we're interested in a player who has played against Brighton or their youth sides on numerous occasions down there.
Of course as well Hearts and Aberdeen could be paying their loanees full wages or even a loan fee on top. Whoever we pick might end up being free for us.
Brighton don't have a care in the world if we win anything, nor should we care if they do. We're not owned by them. As long as Graham Mathie and the staff pick the right players from Brighton to come play at Hibs I couldn't care who the other teams pick.
Exactly
Allez Hibs
30-06-2021, 08:23 AM
Thought we have a partnership with Brighton in place? Why are Aberdeen and Hearts signing players on loan from Brighton???
30-06-2021, 08:26 AM
Thought we have a partnership with Brighton in place? Why are Aberdeen and Hearts signing players on loan from Brighton???
Good point. Nobody has made it yet on this thread.
30-06-2021, 08:38 AM
Good point. Nobody has made it yet on this thread.
30-06-2021, 08:54 AM
Hey, has anyone noticed the club we have a partnership with is sending players to Hearts and Aberdeen?
30-06-2021, 08:58 AM
Hey, has anyone noticed the club we have a partnership with is sending players to Hearts and Aberdeen?
What, Charleston Battery are sending players to Aberdeen and Hearts? :greengrin
30-06-2021, 08:58 AM
Agree wholeheartedly
30-06-2021, 09:19 AM
Why are Hearts and Aberdeen taking players from Stenhousemuir?
Caversham Green
30-06-2021, 01:22 PM
I would imagine that folk are getting so angry because Hibs and Brighton kinda went out of their way to convince us the fans that we both had some type of agreement and deal that would benifit both clubs. Now we are reading that Aberdeen have signed a player on loan from Brighton and then Brighton go and loan another player to Them (hertz)
For what it's worth I didn't give this so called partnership with Hibs and Brighton any real consideration and at best maybe hoped we could end up with a couple of decent loans from them and they would basically get first refusal on any of our talents at an agreeable fee. This now looks like pure bull **** and now kinda looks like Brighton were looking for an outlet in the Scottish Premier league to develop their youth players etc and really don't care what Scottish club that is
Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk
Sorry, but that really doesn't make much sense. Brighton didn't need to enter into any sort of relationship with Hibs or any other club to loan these players out to Scottish clubs. The two clubs created the partnership because they felt there were mutual benefits to be gained from it. No-one on this forum knows exactly what those benefits will be or when they will arise but it should be obvious that the loan of these two players is a completely separate issue - in fact they might well have been arranged before the partnership was agreed. It's really rather insulting to the management at Hibs to suggest they've entered into an agreement that will bring us no benefits. It's also rather foolish to question whether the partnership exists when both clubs have stated that it does and utterly brainless to call the agreement stupid (as another poster has done) when we don't have full details of what it contains.
My own opinion is that Brighton are probably one of the best clubs in the country to have a strategic partnership with.
30-06-2021, 01:26 PM
What, Charleston Battery are sending players to Aberdeen and Hearts? :greengrin
Don't be so stupid.............................. Isn't it the Civil Service Strollers that are doing it :na na:
30-06-2021, 01:39 PM
In terms of specific interest to fans, this Brighton thing is a bit meh. If it’s of any material or abstract benefit to the clubs, fair enough, but the essence of the partnership seems a bit nebulous. That being the case, I’m not sure why they publicly announced it in the first place. They could have organised their wee comfy arrangement and got on with it without sewing seeds of expectation and discontent.
30-06-2021, 01:54 PM
Sorry, but that really doesn't make much sense. Brighton didn't need to enter into any sort of relationship with Hibs or any other club to loan these players out to Scottish clubs. The two clubs created the partnership because they felt there were mutual benefits to be gained from it. No-one on this forum knows exactly what those benefits will be or when they will arise but it should be obvious that the loan of these two players is a completely separate issue - in fact they might well have been arranged before the partnership was agreed. It's really rather insulting to the management at Hibs to suggest they've entered into an agreement that will bring us no benefits. It's also rather foolish to question whether the partnership exists when both clubs have stated that it does and utterly brainless to call the agreement stupid (as another poster has done) when we don't have full details of what it contains.
My own opinion is that Brighton are probably one of the best clubs in the country to have a strategic partnership with.
I think anyone who has read what’s been said about the partnership will be quite comfortable with what’s happening with it.
30-06-2021, 01:59 PM
In terms of specific interest to fans, this Brighton thing is a bit meh. If it’s of any material or abstract benefit to the clubs, fair enough, but the essence of the partnership seems a bit nebulous. That being the case, I’m not sure why they publicly announced it in the first place. They could have organised their wee comfy arrangement and got on with it without sewing seeds of expectation and discontent.
People complain if the club don't announce things.
When the Brighton arrangement was announced, it was accompanied by a fair bit of detail on the official site (you provided a link earlier in the thread).
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/hibernian-confirm-brighton-partnership
It includes -
“We will work towards offering a number of different experiences for players and staff, whether training together or swapping best practices, staff idea sharing across all departments at both clubs, friendly matches and potential player exchanges.
For some people the whole thing seems to have grown arms and legs. Chill pills required methinks.
30-06-2021, 02:03 PM
Based on what?! Unless you know what kind of relationship we could have had with 19 other clubs then that's a bit of a stretch no?
We've read about various partnerships with clubs over the years and they've never come to anything.
A few years from now there will be a thread asking if we still have a link with Bourenmouth!
30-06-2021, 02:05 PM
Brighton and the idea we could stop them sending players to other Scottish clubs is ridiculous.
Unfortunately the news of Jake Doyle-Hayes on the rumours thread has shown that these days we've as many fans who are desperate to be "underwhelmed" by signings before they've kicked a ball as there are those ready to give them the benefit of the doubt.
30-06-2021, 02:16 PM
Based on what?! Unless you know what kind of relationship we could have had with 19 other clubs then that's a bit of a stretch no?
We've read about various partnerships with clubs over the years and they've never come to anything.
A few years from now there will be a thread asking if we still have a link with Bourenmouth!
Which other similar partnerships are you referring to?
Caversham Green
30-06-2021, 02:30 PM
Based on the fact that I have a high regard for Brighton as a club and respect the way and degree to which they have progressed in recent years. I think they try to do things the right way in the context of the English leagues and believe they will continue to develop into a bigger club than they currently are. Of course that's just my opinion, but it's shared with many in this neck of the woods - Reading fans hate them because they're everything Reading currently are not.
I think that at least 12 of the other Premier League clubs would consider themselves too big to deal with Hibs and several others are run by charlatans - I don't believe Brighton are.
30-06-2021, 03:18 PM
A Brighton fan’s perspective:
https://youtu.be/voFbj0RxmcQ
30-06-2021, 03:39 PM
Based on the fact that I have a high regard for Brighton as a club and respect the way and degree to which they have progressed in recent years. I think they try to do things the right way in the context of the English leagues and believe they will continue to develop into a bigger club than they currently are. Of course that's just my opinion, but it's shared with many in this neck of the woods - Reading fans hate them because they're everything Reading currently are not.
I think that at least 12 of the other Premier League clubs would consider themselves too big to deal with Hibs and several others are run by charlatans - I don't believe Brighton are.
A Brighton fan’s perspective:
https://youtu.be/voFbj0RxmcQ (https://youtu.be/voFbj0RxmcQ)
From what I remember, he had nothing but good things to say about how Brighton are being run.
30-06-2021, 04:13 PM
Cool, i was just teasing really.
You said no one on this forum knows about Brighton - you clearly do!!
30-06-2021, 05:31 PM
Who needs Brighton when we have St Mirren
01-07-2021, 10:29 AM
Who needs Brighton when we have St Mirren
Good point, just out of curiosity how many players have we signed from them in recent years?
01-07-2021, 10:51 AM
Good point, just out of curiosity how many players have we signed from them in recent years?
Five in the last seven years. It feels like more.
01-07-2021, 11:04 AM
If we sell Josh Doig to Watford I wonder if there will be a thread on the Brighton forums questioning why they didn't get to sign him
01-07-2021, 11:07 AM
If we sell Josh Doig to Watford I wonder if there will be a thread on the Brighton forums questioning why they didn't get to sign him
There will if we sell him to Crystal Palace.
01-07-2021, 02:06 PM
Chief Operating Officer of Charleston Battery Tweets
Great couple of days @HibernianFC - thank you for your hospitality. Partnership still strong with @Chas_Battery looking forward to moving a number of projects forward in a post pandemic world…. 🏴🏴🇺🇸🇺🇸 https://t.co/g7WZpWPR7u
Allez Hibs
01-07-2021, 02:18 PM
Too many, along with the manager.
01-07-2021, 02:20 PM
Manager was unemployed
01-07-2021, 02:25 PM
Constructive input!
01-07-2021, 02:30 PM
Five in the last seven years. It feels like more.
Two McGinns, Magennis, and Doyle-Hayes. Struggling to think of the other?
Mallan was signed from Barnsley iirc.
01-07-2021, 02:30 PM
Two McGinns, Magennis, and Doyle-Hayes. Struggling to think of the other?
Mallan was signed from Barnsley iirc.
3 McGinns no?
01-07-2021, 02:31 PM
3 McGinns no?
Of course. D'oh!
BegbieHSC
07-07-2021, 10:11 AM
I see the Huns have a friendly with them on July 24th. It would seem odd for them not to have a friendly with us while they’re up. Maybe our schedule is too packed.
24-07-2021, 10:37 AM
Making a bid for Edouard, think they will loan him to hibs? 😉
22-06-2022, 02:53 PM
Still yet to be persuaded there is any value in having a tie up with Brighton where they sell a decent player to our biggest rivals - and in a position we are crying out for reinforcement.
As far as I am aware Brighton are yet to loan any players to us but have helped out Hearts and Aberdeen.
I would not mind a look at the contract that Hibs have with Brighton for this "arrangement"
My gut feel is there are one or two clauses missing from it...ie. don't help our competitors, or, at worst, if our competitors make an offer, we have the right to match it
Otherwise, it's not worth the paper it's written on.
22-06-2022, 03:08 PM
Still yet to be persuaded there is any value in having a tie up with Brighton where they sell a decent player to our biggest rivals - and in a position we are crying out for reinforcement.
As far as I am aware Brighton are yet to loan any players to us but have helped out Hearts and Aberdeen.
I would not mind a look at the contract that Hibs have with Brighton for this "arrangement"
My gut feel is there are one or two clauses missing from it...ie. don't help our competitors, or, at worst, if our competitors make an offer, we have the right to match it
We don't have any tie up with Brighton
22-06-2022, 03:09 PM
And then they'd be quite right to ask us not to sell our players to any other English sides.
Brighton are looking after their players and serving themselves, like all clubs do. It's not a big deal
Although you're right in saying we've not benefitted yet. It is probably a pointless linkup.
22-06-2022, 03:15 PM
And then they'd be quite right to ask us not to sell our players to any other English sides.
Brighton are looking after their players and serving themselves, like all clubs do. It's not a big deal
Although you're right in saying we've not benefitted yet. It is probably a pointless linkup.
There is no link up.
22-06-2022, 03:18 PM
Yep Ben confirmed this back when he joined.
22-06-2022, 03:25 PM
Yep Ben confirmed this back when he joined.
Ben confirmed that there is no link up?
22-06-2022, 03:30 PM
Ben confirmed that there is no link up?
It was all very strange. Hibs made quite a big deal of announcing it then a new CEO was appointed and only a couple of months later said there was no formal link up with Brighton and never had been.
22-06-2022, 03:34 PM
It was all very strange. Hibs made quite a big deal of announcing it then a new CEO was appointed and only a couple of months later said there was no formal link up with Brighton and never had been.
I thought I had heard or read recently that he was going to pick up on this again? Could be totally wrong because I can't for the life of me think where I heard it.
22-06-2022, 03:39 PM
It was a weird one.
22-06-2022, 03:58 PM
Could be on the look out for a new left back.
22-06-2022, 04:25 PM
There is no link up.
There you go then. Buck Frighton
22-06-2022, 08:35 PM
Was it not a Mathie link up?
It’s almost as pivotal as our previous partnership with Chelsea.
I think it maybe just involves the directors swapping homes for a wee holiday once in a while.
23-06-2022, 08:06 PM
Great club Brighton. Smart new ground and a clever manager.