View Full Version : 2021 Wimbledon

25-06-2021, 06:36 PM
My favourite two weeks of the year is almost here and after last year's tournament was cancelled due to the pandemic I'm looking forward to it more than ever.

The draw was made today and Andy Murray, who has received a wildcard, plays 24th seed Nikoloz Basilashvili in round one.

Murray is playing at Wimbledon for the first time since 2017 when he lost in 5 sets to Sam Querrey in the quarter finals.

I'm not expecting much but hopefully Murray can put on a good performance in a tournament that he says he will play as if it's his last Wimbledon.

Elsewhere Novak Djokovic starts against young British player Jack Draper and Roger Federer plays Adrian Mannarino.

Can't wait!

28-06-2021, 09:32 AM
Starting now on BBC2 - can't wait!

:hyper

28-06-2021, 11:01 AM
Can't really see past Djokovic for this , he looks back to his best form again . Nadal , wawrinka are out and Federer , Murray can't keep up with him anymore . None of the rest can beat him at grand slams

28-06-2021, 11:25 AM
It wouldn't be Wimbledon without a rain delay. :greengrin

Ah well we've waited two years so what's another 35 minutes?

Play scheduled to start on No.1 Court at 1pm and Centre Court at 1:30pm.

Murray probably on around 5pm.

28-06-2021, 01:18 PM
Jack Draper takes the opening set v Djokovic, 6-4!

Still a long way to go and Djokovic still the favourite but what a start!

28-06-2021, 01:45 PM
Djokovic takes the second set 6-1.

28-06-2021, 02:42 PM
Djokovic wins 3 sets to 1.

All quite easy after the opening set.

28-06-2021, 03:39 PM
There could be a shock result on day 1.

Number 3 seed and French Open finalist Stefanos Tsitsipas is two sets and a break down to Frances Tiafoe.

28-06-2021, 03:43 PM
This event is still tainted by Cliff Richard, Union Jacks & Henman Hill for me...Cant abide it but each to their own & hopefully the tournament is a classic for those who love it.

28-06-2021, 04:04 PM
This event is still tainted by Cliff Richard, Union Jacks & Henman Hill for me...Cant abide it but each to their own & hopefully the tournament is a classic for those who love it.

Love Wimbledon, I don't think you can beat it outside of a Hibs match.

28-06-2021, 04:04 PM
Tsitsipas out!

Bangkok Hibby
28-06-2021, 04:32 PM

This tournament has had some incredible moments and players over the years. For this reason its always been a must watch for me.
I agree with you though...the strawberries and cream Britishness gives me the dry boak.

28-06-2021, 04:42 PM
Andy Murray coming up next!

28-06-2021, 05:12 PM
Here he comes, come on Andy! :thumbsup:

28-06-2021, 05:59 PM
First set Murray 6-4.

Get in!

28-06-2021, 06:36 PM
He's doing alright . Considering how little he's played hes hitting the ball well and doesn't look too rusty . Boy he's playing is 24th seed too so he's no mug

28-06-2021, 06:44 PM
Murray takes 3rd set 6-3 . Go on Andy

2nd set! Hope the old legs hold out.

Murray wins the second set 6-3. :thumbsup:

28-06-2021, 06:48 PM
Murray breaks at the start of the third set.

28-06-2021, 06:53 PM
Murray coasting.

28-06-2021, 06:54 PM
Absolutely sublime return.

28-06-2021, 07:00 PM
Easy street now for Murray.

28-06-2021, 07:02 PM
Outstanding stuff here. 😍

28-06-2021, 07:08 PM
Comeback's on - Basilashvili breaks!

28-06-2021, 07:17 PM
Another break. 🤦

28-06-2021, 07:17 PM
Comeback's on - Basilashvili breaks!

As I said earlier . 3rd set is 6-3 Murray

28-06-2021, 07:22 PM
Never easy with Andy. Like a certain football team I know.

28-06-2021, 07:24 PM
Great win for Liam Broady beating 2018 French Open semi-finalist Marco Cecchinato in straight sets.

28-06-2021, 07:26 PM
I can't believe what I'm watching here!

28-06-2021, 07:27 PM
5 games in a row for Basilashvili.

28-06-2021, 07:29 PM
Would be the most Scottish thing ever for Murray to lose this match. His opponent just isn't making mistakes now

28-06-2021, 07:30 PM
Murray's gone.

He's here!
28-06-2021, 07:30 PM
This is agony. And I fear Andy's not moving too freely.

It was magical until 20 mins ago. Like old times.

28-06-2021, 07:38 PM
If only he had an Ivanisovic first serve Andy would have won more titles. It constantly lets him down.

28-06-2021, 07:40 PM
Third set Basilashvili 7-5, 7 games in a row.

It's hard to see Murray recovering from here to be honest - hopefully I'm wrong.

28-06-2021, 07:43 PM
Roof being closed - resuming in 10 minutes.

28-06-2021, 08:00 PM
Right here we go, come on Andy!

28-06-2021, 08:05 PM
Murray wins the opening game of set 4.

28-06-2021, 08:13 PM
Basilashvili breaks straight back!

28-06-2021, 08:13 PM
Murray breaks again!

Murray leads 2-1 4th set.

28-06-2021, 08:27 PM
Even at this age with a metal hip Murray is still box office . Always has you on the edge of your seat .

28-06-2021, 08:39 PM
He needs to control his emotions a lot better. All the shouting and gesturing after a bad shot just gives his opponent a little lift.

28-06-2021, 08:42 PM
He needs to control his emotions a lot better. All the shouting and gesturing after a bad shot just gives his opponent a little lift.

He's done that his whole career, I don't see him changing now.

28-06-2021, 08:45 PM
He's done that his whole career, I don't see him changing now.

He controlled it a bit better under Ivan Lendl and had the most successful time of his career. Think he needs someone who doesn’t take on anything off the court.

28-06-2021, 08:49 PM
Never in doubt! :thumbsup:

Murray wins 6-4 6-3 5-7 6-3.

So much admiration for this guy.

He plays Oscar Otte or Arthur Rinderknech in round two, which I'd suggest is a very favourable draw. They're 9-9 in the final set and they will return tomorrow.

28-06-2021, 08:58 PM
Great interview at the end there too.

28-06-2021, 08:58 PM
Great interview at the end there too.

I'll need to watch it turned it onto the football as soon as he won.

28-06-2021, 09:09 PM
Brilliant! He doesnae half get you nervous!! What an athlete and tennis player. Scotland's and arguably maybe even Britain's greatest ever sportsman

28-06-2021, 09:12 PM
Thank god he got through. He'll be suffering after that though.

28-06-2021, 09:13 PM
I'll need to watch it turned it onto the football as soon as he won.

Great interview.

Went to the toilet...just a number one though. 😂😂

28-06-2021, 09:16 PM
That was a superb watch. Very emotional. I'm a football fanatic, but had France game on mute on the telly in the kitchen while watching Andy's 4th set on the mobile.
Love sport. Wife thinks I'm mad. I probably am.

28-06-2021, 09:55 PM
Brilliant! He doesnae half get you nervous!! What an athlete and tennis player. Scotland's and arguably maybe even Britain's greatest ever sportsman

He has to be , he's had to go through 3 of the best ever players to win what he has in singles . He carried the team through the Davis cup with a bit of help from.his brother . The 2 gold medals , the year end No1 after beating Djokovic at the tour finals . 1st elite male player to hire a female coach . He really has had a massive impact on the sport globally , not just in the UK

He's here!
28-06-2021, 10:23 PM
Never in doubt! :thumbsup:

Murray wins 6-4 6-3 5-7 6-3.

So much admiration for this guy.

He plays Oscar Otte or Arthur Rinderknech in round two, which I'd suggest is a very favourable draw. They're 9-9 in the final set and they will return tomorrow.

I had to switch the telly off for a wee bit after he lost that third set. I love the guy and couldn't bear to watch what was happening to him. However, I knew that even a depleted Andy Murray can never be written off and when I saw they were getting a break for the roof coming on I had a feeling he'd compose himself.

I don't think even somebody with the determination of Andy Murray can overcome the injuries/operations he's been through and get back to anywhere near where he once was but watching him tonight you understand why he could never just compromise and perhaps see out his career on the doubles circuit. The guy is guts personified and remains brilliant box office.

He's here!
28-06-2021, 10:26 PM
If only he had an Ivanisovic first serve Andy would have won more titles. It constantly lets him down.

It's his second serve that's almost always been his one genuine weak point. He picked up the pace on it under (I think) Lendl for a while but more often than not it's simply not been bold enough.

Stairway 2 7
28-06-2021, 10:37 PM
It's his second serve that's almost always been his one genuine weak point. He picked up the pace on it under (I think) Lendl for a while but more often than not it's simply not been bold enough.

Yep but on the upside the best return of serve in the last 20 years plus and as McEnroe said the best backhand lob ever in tennis

He's here!
28-06-2021, 10:44 PM
Yep but on the upside the best return of serve in the last 20 years plus and as McEnroe said the best backhand lob ever in tennis

Perhaps best illustrated with the shot that won the Davis Cup:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZScPRvzQwRo

You're right, he's got a wonderfully inventive game and plays tennis with a free-flowing spirit that's always been great to watch. Part of the reason I can't stand seeing Djokovic suck the life out of tennis with his automaton approach.

28-06-2021, 10:45 PM

He's certainly up there as one of the greatest British athletes of all time.

28-06-2021, 10:55 PM

You're right, he's got a wonderfully inventive game and plays tennis with a free-flowing spirit that's always been great to watch. Part of the reason I can't stand seeing Djokovic suck the life out of tennis with his automaton approach.

His creative talent is very under-rated. I don't think you appreciate the variation in his shots until you see him play live and he's a fantastic watch. Djokovic is machine like with his accuracy and endurance but can actually be a bit boring.

We all know that the big 3 of Federer, Nadal and Djokovic have been slightly ahead of him most of the time but he's done incredibly well to achieve the many things he has in their era. 3 Grand Slams, 2 Olympic golds, a Davis Cup, World No 1 ranking and a good bit more is an amazing career at any time.

Stairway 2 7
29-06-2021, 04:17 AM

Cheers for that happy memories

29-06-2021, 08:39 AM
Turned the tv over for the football when he lost the 3rd set, woke up this morning thinking he'd lost assuming his body had just had enough.

Once again he found something from the depths of despair to win again, i should have had more faith in him. :top marks

29-06-2021, 11:03 AM
Turned the tv over for the football when he lost the 3rd set, woke up this morning thinking he'd lost assuming his body had just had enough.

Once again he found something from the depths of despair to win again, i should have had more faith in him. :top marks

I really thought he was done after losing that third set - a lesser player would have crumbled under such circumstances.

Says a lot for him.

29-06-2021, 11:07 AM
I really thought he was done after losing that third set - a lesser player would have crumbled under such circumstances.

Says a lot for him.

He's not gonna go much further though is he?

Retirement must be looming.

Stairway 2 7
29-06-2021, 11:22 AM

He's just beat a top 30 player in the world in a major, some professionals that is as best as it gets in their career. Retirement looms for everyone it's personal choice when you take it. If he's still making millions and beating top players now and then and enjoying himself he'll go on. If the pain goes up and he no longer enjoys it he'll give up like everyone does eventually

29-06-2021, 11:49 AM

I doubt he'll win another Grand Slam and at 34 he's certainly coming towards the end of his career but whilst Nikoloz Basilashvili won't be the most recognisable name in tennis, he was the 24th seed and Murray beat him fairly comfortably.

He now plays a qualifier in round two which you would think he'll win and then he's into the last 32.

If he could make at least the quarter finals I'd say that would be a good tournament all things considered.

He appears to just enjoy competing and playing tennis, I think he could be around for 2 or 3 more years yet.

29-06-2021, 12:47 PM
Great win for Venus Williams at 41 years old.

29-06-2021, 03:46 PM
Lovely stuff from Federer to take the 1st set 6-4 .

29-06-2021, 05:21 PM
Federer in trouble two sets to one down v Adrian Mannarino.

29-06-2021, 05:48 PM
Federer wins the 4th set and Mannarino now injured so looks like Federer will win from here.

29-06-2021, 05:55 PM
Mannarino retires, Federer through.

29-06-2021, 06:56 PM
Serena's out, ankle injury. What a pity.

29-06-2021, 07:40 PM
Murray will play Oscar Otte in round two tomorrow after he eventually saw off Arthur Rinderknech 13-12 in the final set.

30-06-2021, 02:39 PM
Players slipping and sliding all over the place. Definitely something wrong.

30-06-2021, 03:11 PM
The number of falls so far is a joke, another two today for Nick Kyrgios and also John Isner which looked nasty - thankfully both able to carry on.

30-06-2021, 05:43 PM
Murray takes an early break first set - 3-2.

30-06-2021, 05:59 PM
Murray takes an early break first set - 3-2.

This otte guys something else . He hits his second serve almost as hard as his 1st serve . He's going for broke . Lucky for Murray he misses alot

30-06-2021, 06:03 PM
First set Murray - 6-3 :thumbsup:

30-06-2021, 06:35 PM
Murray struggling now.

30-06-2021, 06:42 PM
Déjà vu from the other night, lost 4 games in a row from 3-1 up to 5-3 down.

Looks like one set all.

30-06-2021, 06:50 PM
Otte takes the second set 6-4, Murray threw that away.

30-06-2021, 06:54 PM
It's as if Otte just decided to start playing. He was awful before then.

30-06-2021, 07:07 PM
Pain in the arse trying to record it on the BBC. At least on Sky. They move channels but then BBC1 didn’t have it on the schedule in advance to switch to. Anyway, caught up now.

30-06-2021, 07:17 PM
Body language is not good.

30-06-2021, 07:24 PM
Otte breaks to go 4-3 up.

I think he'll go on to win now, Murray's looking very negative.

30-06-2021, 07:34 PM
Third set Otte, 6-4.

Murray's in trouble.

30-06-2021, 07:46 PM
Nasty fall there for Murray, thankfully looks ok.

30-06-2021, 07:55 PM
Going to be another late finish for Murray if he's going to get through this one.

30-06-2021, 07:58 PM
Roof being closed.

30-06-2021, 07:58 PM
People applauding double faults is my biggest tennis pet peeve.

I think he can do this, he doesn't look to be in too much pain, just not match fit....

30-06-2021, 07:59 PM
Roof closing now.

He's here!
30-06-2021, 08:00 PM
People applauding double faults is my biggest tennis pet peeve.

I think he can do this, he doesn't look to be in too much pain, just not match fit....

Yep I think the lack of competitive action (just two matches this year?) is catching up with him after Monday night.

30-06-2021, 08:14 PM
Here we go, come on Andy.

30-06-2021, 08:24 PM
Murray breaks! :thumbsup:

30-06-2021, 08:27 PM
5-2 Murray.

He's here!
30-06-2021, 08:35 PM
Come on Andy. He looks exhausted to me but then who can really tell when it comes to Andy Murray?

30-06-2021, 08:36 PM
Otte breaks back. :rolleyes:

30-06-2021, 08:37 PM
Aw Andy come oooooon.

Just make it easy.

30-06-2021, 08:40 PM
Two sets all. :thumbsup:

30-06-2021, 08:48 PM
Murray breaks!

CloudSquall
30-06-2021, 08:56 PM
I forgot how much of a roller-coster it is following Murray.

30-06-2021, 08:58 PM
3-0 Murray.

30-06-2021, 08:58 PM
I forgot how much of a roller-coster it is following Murray.

Yeah, it's brilliant, Didn't think i would ever feel it again.

30-06-2021, 09:00 PM
This is just fantastic. A few more twists and turns to come no doubt!

McSwanky
30-06-2021, 09:01 PM
You can't beat a late night Andy Murray match!

30-06-2021, 09:04 PM
F**** me says Murray 😩

He should have left that one.

30-06-2021, 09:12 PM
I dunno how he does it. He's put that many in the net he should be nicknamed Lawrie Reilly!

30-06-2021, 09:15 PM
Anyone else notice the drunk blonde woman in the front row with 2 hats on?!!?

30-06-2021, 09:16 PM
Vintage Murray!

30-06-2021, 09:22 PM
Brilliant.

30-06-2021, 09:22 PM
Nearly there...😀

30-06-2021, 09:23 PM
Brilliant to see him moving so freely

30-06-2021, 09:25 PM
Anyone else notice the drunk blonde woman in the front row with 2 hats on?!!?
Her pal's emptied the food outlets I reckon!

30-06-2021, 09:26 PM
Murray wins in 5 sets and plays Denis Shapovalov on Friday in round 3.

Much bigger test.

Great win!

30-06-2021, 09:26 PM
What a man 💚

30-06-2021, 09:27 PM
The thing with Murray is that his injury and fitness looks fine.

It's match practice he needs. He picked it up as that match went on.

30-06-2021, 09:31 PM
Otte lost the will to carry on in the end and I know how he feels!

30-06-2021, 09:33 PM
Really can't beat men's Grand Slam tennis when it goes to 5 sets - great drama and excitement.

He's here!
30-06-2021, 09:38 PM
Superb stuff. Well done Andy. Quite probably my favourite sportsman ever.

hibeg
30-06-2021, 10:05 PM
Love the man but think the run ends here. Shapalov will expect to win in last 32 and think that will be the outcome unfortunately

30-06-2021, 10:57 PM
Love the man but think the run ends here. Shapalov will expect to win in last 32 and think that will be the outcome unfortunately

It's definitely a step up in class for him but Shapovalov does not have a good record at Wimbledon so far in fact third round this year is his best result so far.

He's also left handed and Murray has a good record against left handed players.

I do think he'll need to step it up from his first two matches though.

01-07-2021, 07:09 AM
You can just tell he loves the one on one combat when he can get the crowd into the game. Such a warrior in these ding dong battles. Would be great if he can keep playing for a few more years. Bottom line is he has absolutely nothing to prove to anybody however is brilliant to see the drive he still has and obviously the quality of some of his shots. A fantastic sportsman and great to see one of our own revelling still at the top level in his sport.

01-07-2021, 09:54 AM

Shapovalov is a cut above what Andy's faced so far naturally enough. I wouldn't put it past him though!

It'll be a bumpy ride as usual, I imagine.

01-07-2021, 10:04 AM
Great wins yesterday for Cameron Norrie, who's now into round 2, and Dan Evans, who's into round 3.

Also in the ladies event, 18 year old Emma Raducanu is through to round 2.

hibeg
01-07-2021, 01:15 PM
Great wins yesterday for Cameron Norrie, who's now into round 2, and Dan Evans, who's into round 3.

Also in the ladies event, 18 year old Emma Raducanu is through to round 2.

Cam Norrie looks like he has this in the bag. When was the last time we had 3 GB players in round 3 ???

Maybe Henman, Rudseksi and another :dunno:

01-07-2021, 01:43 PM
Great win for Cameron Norrie through to round 3 in straight sets.

01-07-2021, 01:51 PM
Cam Norrie looks like he has this in the bag. When was the last time we had 3 GB players in round 3 ???

Maybe Henman, Rudseksi and another :dunno:

1999 - Tim Henman, Greg Rusedski and Danny Sapsford.

01-07-2021, 05:09 PM
First set Federer on a tiebreak v Gasquet.

Gasquet hasn't even won a set against Federer for 10 years (11 matches).

01-07-2021, 05:45 PM
Federer racing through this match.

It's mental how good he still is - he'll be 40 next month!

01-07-2021, 06:04 PM
Federer racing through this match.

It's mental how good he still is - he'll be 40 next month!

Norrie v Fed next!

01-07-2021, 06:07 PM
Federer wins in straight sets, plays Norrie on Saturday.

01-07-2021, 07:25 PM
This Canadian dude Aliassime has a very distinctive grunt. Actually sounds like a lion from an Attenborough programme.

01-07-2021, 07:37 PM
Emma Raducanu wins again to reach round 3!

Great run for her at just 18.

02-07-2021, 05:51 PM
Dan Evans goes out to Sebastian Korda in 4 sets.

02-07-2021, 06:18 PM
Murray slipping around already.

02-07-2021, 06:22 PM
Shapovalov breaks.

02-07-2021, 06:27 PM
I’m not as well informed about tennis as many on this thread, but it appears from the first 15 minutes that Murray’s opponent has a power that Murray just doesn’t have any more.

02-07-2021, 06:30 PM
a power that Murray just doesn’t have any more.

I was quite surprised how apparent that was in his first couple of games. He'll always be a star though.

02-07-2021, 06:35 PM
Shapovalov breaks again, 4-1.

First set's done.

02-07-2021, 06:36 PM
I was quite surprised how apparent that was in his first couple of games. He'll always be a star though.

Would also help if he could get a first serve in…

02-07-2021, 06:43 PM
Would also help if he could get a first serve in…

I always say if Murray had a Goran Ivanisovic serve he'd have won more titles. It's so unreliable.

One things for sure. It ain't over yet.

02-07-2021, 06:48 PM
One of the break's back, serving at 3-5.

02-07-2021, 06:49 PM
I always say if Murray had a Goran Ivanisovic serve he'd have won more titles. It's so unreliable.

One things for sure. It ain't over yet.

Breaks to love,
You are correct :greengrin

02-07-2021, 06:51 PM
Easy hold, pressure on Shapovalov to serve it out at 5-4.

02-07-2021, 06:55 PM
He's starting to play a bit now.

02-07-2021, 07:01 PM
First set to Shapovalov 6-4.

Murray could have made that 5-5.

02-07-2021, 07:01 PM
I quite like Shapovalov.

He's playing the pantomime villain well and the atmosphere is all the better for it.

02-07-2021, 07:03 PM
I quite like Shapovalov.

He's playing the pantomime villain well and the atmosphere is all the better for it.

He's a very good player. Athletic. I'm not altogether sure about his first serve.

02-07-2021, 07:05 PM
He's a very good player. Athletic. I'm not altogether sure about his first serve.

Becker was saying he’s the fastest player on the tour? Seems likely.

02-07-2021, 07:11 PM
Shapovalov breaks in the opening game of the second set - not looking great.

02-07-2021, 07:18 PM
Another break for Shapovalov - 3-0.

He's going out tonight I'm afraid.

02-07-2021, 07:21 PM
Not looking great but it's good to see the big Scots unit back in something like healthy shape.

You just never know.

02-07-2021, 07:42 PM
5-1 Shapovalov, Murray had to win that game.

02-07-2021, 07:44 PM
Roof being closed at the end of this set, can that help Murray again?

02-07-2021, 07:47 PM
Shapovalov goes two sets up.

Long way back but maybe the roof being closed can help Murray.

02-07-2021, 08:00 PM
They're back out.

02-07-2021, 08:08 PM
The roof's not helping this time, Shapovalov breaks at the start of the third set.

All over I think.

02-07-2021, 08:36 PM
Shapovalov wins 6-4 6-2 6-2.

Very comfortable win in the end.

02-07-2021, 08:37 PM
That's that then.

Think we may have just seen a future grand slam winner in action.

02-07-2021, 09:13 PM
Goodnight sweet prince -

And flights of angels sing thee to thy rest.

He's here!
03-07-2021, 10:01 AM
That's that then.

Yep, finally somebody who looks like they might be the real deal. It's crazy how long the old guard have gone almost unchallenged.

Shapovalov's the one who hit the umpire in the eye with a bad tempered whack of the ball a few years back isn't he? Looks to have matured a great deal since then and has become a very impressive player.

I thought Murray did well to get through most of the first week and gave us a couple of great matches. That's about as much as he could realistically expect, but he's so uncompromising that nothing but a return to his best form is likely to satisfy him - and sadly that would seem an impossible ask. There are plenty of journeymen players who have been around a long time making a living out of the game, but having hit the extraordinary heights he did you just can't see Murray hanging around if he comes to the conclusion his body just isn't up to doing what his mind tells it any more.

03-07-2021, 01:45 PM
Yep, finally somebody who looks like they might be the real deal. It's crazy how long the old guard have gone almost unchallenged.

Shapovalov's the one who hit the umpire in the eye with a bad tempered whack of the ball a few years back isn't he? Looks to have matured a great deal since then and has become a very impressive player.

I thought Murray did well to get through most of the first week and gave us a couple of great matches. That's about as much as he could realistically expect, but he's so uncompromising that nothing but a return to his best form is likely to satisfy him - and sadly that would seem an impossible ask. There are plenty of journeymen players who have been around a long time making a living out of the game, but having hit the extraordinary heights he did you just can't see Murray hanging around if he comes to the conclusion his body just isn't up to doing what his mind tells it any more.

:agree: He is indeed.

03-07-2021, 01:48 PM
Great win for Emma Raducanu, into the last 16 against a tough opponent Sorana Cirstea.

18 years old!

03-07-2021, 01:49 PM
Great win for Emma Raducanu, into the last 16 against a tough opponent Sorana Cirstea.

18 years old!

Great game of tennis! Some outrageous shots from the 18 year old!

03-07-2021, 01:51 PM
Great game of tennis! Some outrageous shots from the 18 year old!

She's very talented, I'd never heard of her prior to last week but she's done so well so far.

He's here!
03-07-2021, 02:10 PM
She's very talented, I'd never heard of her prior to last week but she's done so well so far.

Every chance of going even further if she keeps that level of play up. Fingers crossed.

Got a feeling Norrie could give Federer a decent match.

03-07-2021, 02:27 PM
I'm conflicted here, on one hand I'd love to see Norrie progress but I'm a huge Federer fan and seeing him win Wimbledon at nearly 40 years old would be incredible.

03-07-2021, 02:37 PM

She had never won a WTA match until this week. Incredible! Think she had made around £30k in prize money until now, she’s won something like £200k this week alone.

03-07-2021, 02:50 PM
First set Federer 6-4.

03-07-2021, 03:00 PM
Nice touch from Norrie handing a towel to a wee boy he accidentally hit with a serve.

03-07-2021, 04:11 PM
Norrie takes the third set!

Federer leads two sets to one.

He's here!
03-07-2021, 05:28 PM
I'm conflicted here, on one hand I'd love to see Norrie progress but I'm a huge Federer fan and seeing him win Wimbledon at nearly 40 years old would be incredible.

Norrie played well. If he could have taken it to a fifth I'd have fancied him to spring a major shock. But yes I'd love to see Federer win another slam too. He used to annoy me when he was beating Andy Murray in finals but I've come to have massive respect for him and it was devastating to see him miss those match points against Djokovic a couple of years ago. Bit like when Tom Watson had the Open in his grasp aged 59.

Unless Djokivic malfunctions in some way it's hard to imagine him not maintaining his machine-like progression to the title I'm afraid.

03-07-2021, 05:29 PM
Norrie played well. If he could have taken it to a fifth I'd have fancied him to spring a major shock. But yes I'd love to see Federer win another slam too. He used to annoy me when he was beating Andy Murray in finals but I've come to have massive respect for him and it was devastating to see him miss those match points against Djokovic a couple of years ago. Bit like when Tom Watson had the Open in his grasp aged 59.

Unless Djokivic malfunctions in some way it's hard to imagine him not maintaining his machine-like progression to the title I'm afraid.

Agreed I can't see past Djokovic either but if Federer could do it, it would surely be one of the greatest ever stories in sport.

03-07-2021, 09:30 PM
There's no way anyone is beating Djokovic in men's draw. Unless there's someone else who develops abnormal levels of fitness after discovering they have a 'celiac allergy'

04-07-2021, 07:59 AM
There's no way anyone is beating Djokovic in men's draw. Unless there's someone else who develops abnormal levels of fitness after discovering they have a 'celiac allergy'

Correct , Title 20 for ND incoming

No far away from the GOAT

hibeg
04-07-2021, 11:44 AM

I can’t see past him either. He has the easier side of the draw. I reckon he will play Shapovalov in the semi
Bottom half of draw is more wide open I think. Admire Federer greatly but think he may fall short, hope I’m wrong. . I will predict a Berrettini v Hurkacz semi final. :greengrin

04-07-2021, 04:28 PM
Correct , Title 20 for ND incoming

No far away from the GOAT

He's already the GOAT , he has a winning record against the other 2 goats . The only thing he can't beat those 2 at is the popularity contest . On the court hes peerless

He's here!
04-07-2021, 09:43 PM
He's already the GOAT , he has a winning record against the other 2 goats . The only thing he can't beat those 2 at is the popularity contest . On the court hes peerless

That's because he's a complete and utter tool.

Federer and Nadal are still ahead of him in the GOAT race in terms of slams won but Djokovic could win another 20 and most folk would still regard the other two (particularly Federer) as the greatest.

04-07-2021, 10:23 PM

Federer and Nadal are still ahead of him in the GOAT race in terms of slams won but Djokovic could win another 20 and most folk would still regard the other two (particularly Federer) as the greatest.

They could if they want but most folk would be completely wrong in that scenario. I say that as a vey big Nadal fan.

Of course if anyone wins 20 more slams than any of the above they would obviously and rightly be consisted the greatest player by almost any tennis fan. I’m sure you know that yourself and were just exaggerating slightly.

04-07-2021, 10:24 PM

Federer is the GOAT in my opinion, outstanding tennis player and great ambassador for the sport.

To still be amongst the world's top players at 40 is incredible.

04-07-2021, 10:29 PM
That's that then.

Possibly PB, but I’m not sure. He’s been a likely player for a few years now but is still behind Thiem, Zverev, Medvedev and Tsitsipas to name a few (as well as a few upcoming young players now). Not to say he can’t win a slam, but he’s no new kid on the block (admittedly 22 is younger than I thought he was) and I fully expected him to put Murray away based on Andy’s first couple games 👍

Although I think the slightly more conservative haircut makes him look more of a player now 😁

04-07-2021, 11:55 PM
Possibly PB, but I’m not sure. He’s been a likely player for a few years now but is still behind Thiem, Zverev, Medvedev and Tsitsipas to name a few (as well as a few upcoming young players now). Not to say he can’t win a slam, but he’s no new kid on the block (admittedly 22 is younger than I thought he was) and I fully expected him to put Murray away based on Andy’s first couple games 👍

Although I think the slightly more conservative haircut makes him look more of a player now 😁

Yeah I'm not too sure if he will be a Grand Slam champion to be honest.

It's hard to say as there's so few youngsters at the top of the game right now.

More than a third of the players currently ranked in the top 200 are aged over 30. Having said that Shapovalov is the second youngest player currently ranked in the top 20 - behind Felix Auger-Aliassime.

He's got a good game but I do think a lot of the younger generation are just very similar to one another and it wouldn't surprise me if one or more of them went without winning a Grand Slam.

In the current top 30 you've got Jannik Sinner, Felix Auger-Aliassime, Denis Shapovalov, Alex de Minaur, Casper Ruud, Stefanos Tsitsipas, Ugo Humbert, Andrey Rublev, Alexander Zverev, Hubert Hurkacz who are all yet to reach their 25th birthday.

Out of those above I'd say Zverev is the best placed to become a Grand Slam champion followed by Tsitsipas and Rublev.

Daniil Medvedev has just turned 25 and therefore isn't on the above list but I'd expect him to win at least one as well.

He's here!
05-07-2021, 09:57 AM
They could if they want but most folk would be completely wrong in that scenario. I say that as a vey big Nadal fan.

Of course if anyone wins 20 more slams than any of the above they would obviously and rightly be consisted the greatest player by almost any tennis fan. I’m sure you know that yourself and were just exaggerating slightly.

He'd have the stats to back him up, sure, there's no argument there. However, the reasons he lacks the love and respect that tennis fans have for Federer and Nadal are numerous. It was discussed on another thread, but I'm not the only one who found his almost overnight transformation into a near unbeatable automaton questionable, while his on court 'injury' antics down the years when a match is going against him do him no favours. His self-pitying reaction to his disqualification from the US Open last year summed him up.

His playing style is also a turn-off compared to the thrill of watching Nadal or the aesthetic delight Federer offers. Djokovic appears programmed to suck the life and joy out of the game with his grinding one-man wall approach. Highly effective but soul-sapping to watch.

Off court he comes across as not the full shilling. Witness his absurd decision to host his own tournament last year, featuring a packed night club dance floor and competitors playing basketball with their shirts off. Result? He, his wife and guests all got Covid. He also drew ridicule for his comments while 'isolating' in his luxury complex prior to the Australian Open, suggesting that the lesser ranked players holed up in hotel rooms be moved to residential properties with tennis courts (as though such properties are ten a penny). Just an all-round er*e in my view.

05-07-2021, 02:38 PM
Comfortable wins for Djokovic and Shapovalov so far on "Manic Monday".

05-07-2021, 04:28 PM
Berrettini safely through, Khachanov and Fucsovics through in 5 sets.

hibeg
05-07-2021, 04:48 PM
Berrettini safely through, Khachanov and Fucsovics through in 5 sets.

Berrettini looks the part and as I stated yesterday I think he may go through to the semi final stage from the bottom half of the draw. He won Queens so looks comfortable on grass

hibeg
05-07-2021, 05:07 PM
Medvedev and Hurkacz are having a good game at the moment. 2 sets to 1 to the Russian

05-07-2021, 06:42 PM
He'd have the stats to back him up, sure, there's no argument there. However, the reasons he lacks the love and respect that tennis fans have for Federer and Nadal are numerous. It was discussed on another thread, but I'm not the only one who found his almost overnight transformation into a near unbeatable automaton questionable, while his on court 'injury' antics down the years when a match is going against him do him no favours. His self-pitying reaction to his disqualification from the US Open last year summed him up.

His playing style is also a turn-off compared to the thrill of watching Nadal or the aesthetic delight Federer offers. Djokovic appears programmed to suck the life and joy out of the game with his grinding one-man wall approach. Highly effective but soul-sapping to watch.

Off court he comes across as not the full shilling. Witness his absurd decision to host his own tournament last year, featuring a packed night club dance floor and competitors playing basketball with their shirts off. Result? He, his wife and guests all got Covid. He also drew ridicule for his comments while 'isolating' in his luxury complex prior to the Australian Open, suggesting that the lesser ranked players holed up in hotel rooms be moved to residential properties with tennis courts (as though such properties are ten a penny). Just an all-round er*e in my view.

A completely agree he’s at best a bit of an odd ball off court. It doesn’t change that he’d be regarded as the greatest if he won another 20 slams.

Also would argue the analysis of his hame is harsh. He’s an incredible player. Murray has always been more defensive than Djokovic and we all enjoy watching him.

05-07-2021, 06:43 PM
Yeah I'm not too sure if he will be a Grand Slam champion to be honest.

It's hard to say as there's so few youngsters at the top of the game right now.

More than a third of the players currently ranked in the top 200 are aged over 30. Having said that Shapovalov is the second youngest player currently ranked in the top 20 - behind Felix Auger-Aliassime.

He's got a good game but I do think a lot of the younger generation are just very similar to one another and it wouldn't surprise me if one or more of them went without winning a Grand Slam.

In the current top 30 you've got Jannik Sinner, Felix Auger-Aliassime, Denis Shapovalov, Alex de Minaur, Casper Ruud, Stefanos Tsitsipas, Ugo Humbert, Andrey Rublev, Alexander Zverev, Hubert Hurkacz who are all yet to reach their 25th birthday.

Out of those above I'd say Zverev is the best placed to become a Grand Slam champion followed by Tsitsipas and Rublev.

Daniil Medvedev has just turned 25 and therefore isn't on the above list but I'd expect him to win at least one as well.

I think I agree with about every word of that 👍

05-07-2021, 07:13 PM
Everyone’s favourite Radacanu looking nervous early doors. 1-1 in the 1st. I’ve just spotted the least rock n roll sporting sign ever… ‘Cmon Emma! We’re from Sidcup’ it reads.

05-07-2021, 07:51 PM
Raducanu drops the first, despite playing very well.

05-07-2021, 07:53 PM
Big step up for her against an experienced opponent but she's gutsy as hell. She can still do this but I fear she might run out of steam.

05-07-2021, 08:09 PM
Big step up for her against an experienced opponent but she's gutsy as hell. She can still do this but I fear she might run out of steam.

We’ll hear more afterwards, but seems to be some sort of medical issue, looked like some sort of anxiety issue at first

05-07-2021, 08:16 PM
Raducanu retires such a shame.

05-07-2021, 08:22 PM
Berrettini looks the part and as I stated yesterday I think he may go through to the semi final stage from the bottom half of the draw. He won Queens so looks comfortable on grass

Yeah I think he might be a Wimbledon winner at some point. He also wasn't on my list from yesterday as he's just turned 25 as well but I do think he's great on grass.

He's here!
05-07-2021, 10:35 PM
A completely agree he’s at best a bit of an odd ball off court. It doesn’t change that he’d be regarded as the greatest if he won another 20 slams.

Also would argue the analysis of his hame is harsh. He’s an incredible player. Murray has always been more defensive than Djokovic and we all enjoy watching him.

Murray is erratic, unpredictable, magnificent one moment, maddening the next, but has always played the game with wonderful spontaneity and his heart on his sleeve. He's also capable of pulling one-off shots out of the bag that set him apart from pretty much anyone. Bascially he's a great entertainer.

Djokovic's style, built on perma-scrambling along the baseline on impossibly bending rubber limbs is maintained through every game he plays from start to finish, a kind of subversion to the elegance the likes of Federer bring to tennis. It works wonders for him, but it can become mind-numbing and robotic and it sees him often compared to some sort of machine. Or as I once heard him described 'a Bond villain tennis cyborg' :agree:

07-07-2021, 05:34 PM
So is that the end for Federer.

07-07-2021, 08:00 PM
So is that the end for Federer.

Gutted think that may be the end for him at Wimbledon. 😭

He's here!
07-07-2021, 11:00 PM
Gutted think that may be the end for him at Wimbledon. 😭

Simply the greatest. A joy to watch, a consummate pro and utterly beloved by the crowd. He says he was pleased to get as far as he did after so much time out but, like Andy Murray, if he doesn't feel he can get back to the level he wants I think he may finally bow out.

hibeg
08-07-2021, 06:32 AM
I can’t see past him either. He has the easier side of the draw. I reckon he will play Shapovalov in the semi
Bottom half of draw is more wide open I think. Admire Federer greatly but think he may fall short, hope I’m wrong. . I will predict a Berrettini v Hurkacz semi final. :greengrin

If you want Saturdays winning lottery numbers , drop me a PM :greengrin:greengrin
Would love either Berrettini or Hurkacz to win the tournament but just can’t see past Novak the machine !

09-07-2021, 03:04 PM
I’m not a huge tennis fan but I could listen to John McEnroe talk all day.

09-07-2021, 03:37 PM
I’m not a huge tennis fan but I could listen to John McEnroe talk all day.

You can not be serious

09-07-2021, 03:44 PM
Matteo Berrettini is into his first Wimbledon final beating Hubert Hurkacz 6-3 6-0 6-7 6-4.

Djokovic v Shapovalov starting now.

09-07-2021, 04:07 PM
Crowd are with shapovalov . Djoko will be raging inside . He just wants to be loved like Rog n Raf .
He's brought a level of tennis that's never been seen before but more often than not the crowd get behind his opponent wherever he plays .

09-07-2021, 05:09 PM
Shapovalov clearly dominating the play but Novak winning the key points at the right times.

09-07-2021, 05:23 PM
…and again. He’s emotionally frail on the big points. Infuriating.

09-07-2021, 05:23 PM
If only he could cut out the unforced errors, he's got Djokovic on toast here. So frustrating. Think PB could be right as regards a potential champion.

hibeg
09-07-2021, 05:51 PM
If only he could cut out the unforced errors, he's got Djokovic on toast here. So frustrating. Think PB could be right as regards a potential champion.

This is a great match. Expected Novak to dominate but Shapovalov as stated has been the better tennis player.
I wouldn’t write him off yet but does he have the mentality to beat Novak over 5 sets ?

09-07-2021, 06:00 PM
…and again. He’s emotionally frail on the big points. Infuriating.

Got to love how positive he is. Very hit and miss but doesn't seem to get disappointed and gets up and goes again. Certainly deserves a set but not sure he will get it.

09-07-2021, 06:06 PM
Shapovalov playing well but won't beat Djokovic if he can't convert some of these many break points.

hibeg
09-07-2021, 06:09 PM
That was some seventh game in the set. Brilliant points from both players. Come on Dennis son, you can do this 👍

hibeg
09-07-2021, 06:12 PM
Then an easy hold for Novak 😥

hibeg
09-07-2021, 06:27 PM
All over. Novak is the ultimate competitor, so mentally strong.
Can’t see Berrettini troubling him at all

He's here!
09-07-2021, 06:32 PM
Crowd are with shapovalov . Djoko will be raging inside . He just wants to be loved like Rog n Raf .
He's brought a level of tennis that's never been seen before but more often than not the crowd get behind his opponent wherever he plays .

That's because tennis fans don't enjoy watching a pre-programmed robot.

09-07-2021, 06:36 PM
Big task for Berrettini on Sunday, can't see how he can win personally.

hibeg
09-07-2021, 06:38 PM
[QUOTE=He's here!;6615101]That's because tennis fans don't enjoy watching a pre-programmed robot.[/QUOTE

Bollox. I can see you don’t like the guy from previous posts, but he is some tennis player with natural talent that the vast majority in the history of the game, can only dream about

09-07-2021, 06:57 PM

He has to hope Djokovic plays like he did today . Still don't fancy his chances but he has the weapons with that serve and forehand . Its all down to how he handles the pressure , and Djokovic knows how to apply pressure in finals.

10-07-2021, 08:36 AM

Tend to agree however a more consistent player than shapavalova and better server just don't think he is a good enough returner to trouble Djokovic however if he were to get ahead of Novak would be interesting to see how he reacts as get the impression he is feeling the heat a bit. Novak definitely using what he perceives as the fans not being for him as a motivation.

He's here!
10-07-2021, 09:34 AM
[QUOTE=He's here!;6615101]That's because tennis fans don't enjoy watching a pre-programmed robot.[/QUOTE

Bollox. I can see you don’t like the guy from previous posts, but he is some tennis player with natural talent that the vast majority in the history of the game, can only dream about

I've always thought the guy was a bellend, but it's his relentless, grinding 'anti-tennis' that I find such a turn-off. It's immensely effective for sure but it drains the life out both his opponents and the crowd and (as this article makes a decent stab at explaining) is the main reason he'll only ever elicit polite applause rather than the adulation he craves:

https://www.joe.co.uk/sport/everybody-hates-novak-236650

10-07-2021, 10:49 AM
I’ve got a bet on Berrettini at 25/1 but I can’t see him winning. Djokovic is a machine.

10-07-2021, 10:55 AM
[QUOTE=hibeg;6615107]

I've always thought the guy was a bellend, but it's his relentless, grinding 'anti-tennis' that I find such a turn-off. It's immensely effective for sure but it drains the life out both his opponents and the crowd and (as this article makes a decent stab at explaining) is the main reason he'll only ever elicit polite applause rather than the adulation he craves:

https://www.joe.co.uk/sport/everybody-hates-novak-236650

Nadal plays relentless grinding tennis and folk cant get enough of him .

10-07-2021, 02:26 PM
Cracking women's final, 1 set all.

Quite nervy mind you but good entertainment.

10-07-2021, 03:05 PM
Well done Ash Barty, really likeable character and especially good as she chucked the sport a few years back.

10-07-2021, 03:17 PM
Kate's awfy thin. When she stands sideways there's nothing there. Nice green dress.

He's here!
10-07-2021, 03:37 PM
Well done Ash Barty, really likeable character and especially good as she chucked the sport a few years back.

Great final, which has so often not been the case with the women's singles. A real rollercoaster. As you say, much to like about Barty.

He's here!
10-07-2021, 03:51 PM
[QUOTE=He's here!;6615445]

Nadal plays relentless grinding tennis and folk cant get enough of him .

I don't think that's the case. Sure, in his pomp he blew a lot of opponents away with his power and pace (that whipped forehand was a thing of beauty), but it was a thrilling, not suffocating experience to watch him action. Obviously his swarthy Spanish brigand look added a pin-up element but he was a real heart on the sleeve, often injured character, unlike the metronomic Djokovic who, as the article I linked to suggests, seems only likely to break down if his central processing unit malfunctions.

As I said, it's a method/discipline that works for him but I'm far from the only one who finds his presence in a match a major turn-off.

Bangkok Hibby
10-07-2021, 04:40 PM
I can't watch Nadal because of all the twitching and picking his shorts out his arse before he serves. Drives me mad, don't dislike him at all but just can't watch his pre serve routine.

10-07-2021, 04:54 PM
I can't watch Nadal because of all the twitching and picking his shorts out his arse before he serves. Drives me mad, don't dislike him at all but just can't watch his pre serve routine.

I can sympathise with that, it's manky! 😲

hibeg
10-07-2021, 06:48 PM

😂😂😂😂. That is a classic.

11-07-2021, 08:57 AM
Djokovic win takes him to 20 Majors then for me he surpasses that and ends up with 4 or 5 majors MORE than Federer & Nadal imo

GOAT

11-07-2021, 01:11 PM
Final's just starting.

Hoping Berrettini can win but don't see it.

11-07-2021, 01:59 PM
Djokovic served for the first set at 5-3 but Berrettini breaks back - 4-5.

11-07-2021, 02:12 PM
First set tiebreak - Berrettini must win I would suggest.

11-07-2021, 02:20 PM
First set Berrettini - 7-6.

I didn't see that coming when Djokovic was 5-2 up!

11-07-2021, 02:22 PM
Can anyone remember a more unpopular champion than Novak? I’m listening on the radio and I can tell how each points gone by the crowds reaction before the commentator tells me.

11-07-2021, 02:22 PM
First set Berrettini - 7-6.

I didn't see that coming when Djokovic was 5-2 up!

Dont think anyone did , he looked like he'd shat it big time but what a turnaround . If he can keep serving and returning like this another 2 hours he's in with a good shout .

11-07-2021, 02:27 PM
Djokovic breaks at the start of the second set.

11-07-2021, 02:29 PM
Come on Matteo.

11-07-2021, 02:36 PM
Djokovic with a double break - 3-0.

That's the second set done.

11-07-2021, 02:50 PM
What a point!

11-07-2021, 02:55 PM
Berrettini gets one of the breaks back - he's serving at 3-5.

11-07-2021, 03:00 PM
Berrettini saves three set points - 5-4 Djokovic.

11-07-2021, 03:02 PM
Second set Djokovic - 6-4.

11-07-2021, 03:18 PM
Djokovic is playing at about 75% of his best Tennis whilst Berrettini is playing his best And Novak still winning

11-07-2021, 03:18 PM
Djokovic breaks in the third set - 2-1.

Looks ominous now.

11-07-2021, 03:28 PM
Wish Andrew Castle would STFU!!! And stop bringing the ****ing game tonight up at every opportunity , Helmet!!!

11-07-2021, 03:50 PM
Third set Djokovic 6-4, only one winner from here.

11-07-2021, 04:11 PM
At no time has Novak completely dominated yet his victory seems almost inevitable.

11-07-2021, 04:15 PM
Point of the tournament.

11-07-2021, 04:17 PM
Point of the tournament.

How on gods earth did Novak win that point !!!

11-07-2021, 04:19 PM

How on gods earth did Novak win that point !!!

He’s just relentless. He gets angry and his laser focus kicks in.