View Full Version : Canon Edward Joseph Hannon

expresso
25-06-2021, 09:58 AM
Very interesting feature in Limerick newspaper on our founder.
https://twitter.com/cksportleader/status/1408015727001538565?s=21

EI255
25-06-2021, 10:05 AM
Great feature. Is there a link to the article / website ?

25-06-2021, 10:20 AM
Cracking read.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

FT'J'Bo's
25-06-2021, 10:37 AM
Great feature. Is there a link to the article / website ?

https://www.limerickleader.ie/news/sport/643568/the-ballingarry-priest-who-founded-famed-scottish-club-hibernian-fc.html

Here ya go!

25-06-2021, 10:40 AM
Great read.

I'm surprised Hibs didn't acknowledge the 130th anniversary of his death yesterday. Of all the great figures in the history of our club he's the one who started it all.

25-06-2021, 10:48 AM
Great read.

I'm surprised Hibs didn't acknowledge the 130th anniversary of his death yesterday. Of all the great figures in the history of our club he's the one who started it all.

Yes, it’s poor really.

The 100th anniversary of Michael Whelehans death will be in 2026. I would hope they remember to mark that one

25-06-2021, 10:54 AM
Great read.

Hibs should have put out a teaser in the morning and acknowledged the anniversary in the afternoon.

25-06-2021, 11:00 AM

https://www.limerickleader.ie/news/sport/643568/the-ballingarry-priest-who-founded-famed-scottish-club-hibernian-fc.html

Here ya go!

Great stuff!

Thanks for posting.

25-06-2021, 11:49 AM
My in laws are about an hour away from Ballingarry - have never made the trip to Ballingarry as it was well known that there was nothing of note there to recognise Canon Hannan, but will definitely do so at some point.

A lot of fans won’t really have a huge amount of interest in the foundation of our club or the social climate in Edinburgh at that time, but for many of us it’s a fascinating history and one that gives us a lot of pride in how the club has evolved through the years from those humble beginnings.

Well done to St Pats for another proactive endeavour :agree:

25-06-2021, 12:00 PM
My in laws are about an hour away from Ballingarry - have never made the trip to Ballingarry as it was well known that there was nothing of note there to recognise Canon Hannan, but will definitely do so at some point.

A lot of fans won’t really have a huge amount of interest in the foundation of our club or the social climate in Edinburgh at that time, but for many of us it’s a fascinating history and one that gives us a lot of pride in how the club has evolved through the years from those humble beginnings.

That was a great read and I agree that knowledge of our history is important, especially as it is reflected in the Club today.

xyz23jc
25-06-2021, 12:06 PM

Good to see them putting the record straight about the 'history' between the first to wear the green and Celtc too! :flag::greengrin

25-06-2021, 12:08 PM
What a great read that was. Really interesting stuff. Interesting the admittance by Jim Craig of his shame of Celtics role in our demise at that time.

xyz23jc
25-06-2021, 12:10 PM
What a great read that was. Really interesting stuff. Interesting the admittance by Jim Craig of his shame of Celtics role in our demise at that time.

25-06-2021, 12:22 PM
Almost saintly by all accounts

andudare2
25-06-2021, 12:27 PM
What a great read that was. Really interesting stuff. Interesting the admittance by Jim Craig of his shame of Celtics role in our demise at that time.Jim Craig said recently in his newspaper column that his dad was a Hibs fan!

25-06-2021, 01:08 PM
Iirc There was a few on here what paid homage a few years back for another Anniversary. I think it was KaiserSauzee and a couple of others if memory serves they may have posted some pics…

25-06-2021, 02:33 PM
Great article, Great Man, well worth a read

The Count
25-06-2021, 03:19 PM
In life you should never forget where you came from although you might not agree totally with it now.

25-06-2021, 03:57 PM
I still maintain that Celtc should pay us reparations for their past thievery. It would save their conscience and is the right thing to do.

With interest, I would accept around £30m.

25-06-2021, 04:09 PM
Interesting and educational read that our whole fan base could do with reading, if only to instil the history and good intentions of a true community club in their minds.

25-06-2021, 04:28 PM
I still maintain that Celtc should pay us reparations for their past thievery. It would save their conscience and is the right thing to do.

With interest, I would accept around £30m.

They’d expect to own our club for that.

25-06-2021, 04:42 PM
They’d expect to own our club for that.

Nuh. As a further condition of us accepting a mere £30m in compensation, they would also need to put up a prominent and permanent plaque at Celtic Park, expressing eternal gratitude for the role that Hibernian played in their formation and early success. I’d also expect all official historical accounts to be updated accordingly.

25-06-2021, 05:05 PM
Nuh. As a further condition of us accepting a mere £30m in compensation, they would also need to put up a prominent and permanent plaque at Celtic Park, expressing eternal gratitude for the role that Hibernian played in their formation and early success. I’d also expect all official historical accounts to be updated accordingly.

I’d accept those terms. Maybe Ron can have a word

GORDONSMITH7
25-06-2021, 05:24 PM
The whole point of this is that yesterday was the 130th anniversary of the Canons death.

St Patrick's Branch wrote that....

St Patrick Branch of the Hibernian Supporters Association have established a relationship with a group of Hibees "The Unfamous Five" who were carrying out their own independent research into the Canon and have now joined forces with us to share information, all of which will be shared with the people of Ballingarry and the wider Hibernian community at next years unveiling of the Harp mosaic in the Canons home village.

They contacted us recently to ask for our assistance in arranging a 130th anniversary mass to commemorate the Canons passing on 24 June 1891.

While we are a Branch of Hibernian Supporters, the largest in the Association, for people of all and no religions, we were happy to use our local connections to do this and the successful mass concelebrated by Monsignor Gerry Hand who is a son of "Little Ireland" and parish priest Father Gerald was an appropriate thank you to our co founder.

BIG G

Roxyhibee
25-06-2021, 05:28 PM
An incredible read - thanks for posting.

I’ve always said the story of Hibernian is one of the most wonderful in the history of all sport. It has everything and I genuinely believe would make a great film if we got the right screenplay and director. The books and stories are all already there and need no more human drama.

Free tickets at the premiere for the likes of Rod Stewart, Snoop Dogg and Lana Del Ray to let them see how their ‘club of the people’ have operated from the very day they were created.

25-06-2021, 05:29 PM
The whole point of this is that yesterday was the 130th anniversary of the Canons death.

St Patrick Branch of the Hibernian Supporters Association have established a relationship with a group of Hibees "The Unfamous Five" who were carrying out their own independent research into the Canon and have now joined forces with us to share information, all of which will be shared with the people of Ballingarry and the wider Hibernian community at next years unveiling of the Harp mosaic in the Canons home village.

They contacted us recently to ask for our assistance in arranging a 130th anniversary mass to commemorate the Canons passing on 24 June 1891.

While we are a Branch of Hibernian Supporters, the largest in the Association, for people of all and no religions, we were happy to use our local connections to do this and the successful mass concelebrated by Monsignor Gerry Hand who is a son of "Little Ireland" and parish priest Father Gerald was an appropriate thank you to our co founder.

BIG G

Brilliant. If this happens next year I’ll definitely make the journey to Limerick

GORDONSMITH7
25-06-2021, 05:32 PM
Brilliant. If this happens next year I’ll definitely make the journey to Limerick

Will happen amigo.I will post arrangements on my home turf,the Bounce and to amigos on here. Cannae wait.

BIG G

Green_one
25-06-2021, 05:55 PM

I think it's the Canon part that confuses but it's common to get his name wrong Its HannAn

25-06-2021, 05:59 PM
Will happen amigo.I will post arrangements on my home turf,the Bounce and to amigos on here. Cannae wait.

BIG G

Nice one, that’s a trip I’d be up for making as well.

25-06-2021, 06:16 PM

BIG G

Looking forward to the trip already Gordon. Gutted it was callled of this year but hardly surprising. The event will be popular with Irish based Hibees as well no doubt, of which there are a good few spread around the Emerald Isle, particularly in Dublin.

GORDONSMITH7
25-06-2021, 07:29 PM
Looking forward to the trip already Gordon. Gutted it was callled of this year but hardly surprising. The event will be popular with Irish based Hibees as well no doubt, of which there are a good few spread around the Emerald Isle, particularly in Dublin.

In St Patrick's Branch we have members from Belfast to Dublin in the east, to County Clare in the West and Cork in the South, all Hibs daft. A lot of interest expressed already.

BIG G

eaststandJJ
25-06-2021, 07:36 PM
I visited his home townn8n 2018. There in no plaque or mention as there is for Brother W and Celtic. I asked Hibernian Historical Trust if there were any plans to commemorate or link with the town but got no reply.

25-06-2021, 09:19 PM

BIG G

Well done G.

I'll hear the details through the branch, and look forward to the trip. 👍

GORDONSMITH7
25-06-2021, 09:20 PM
I visited his home townn8n 2018. There in no plaque or mention as there is for Brother W and Celtic. I asked Hibernian Historical Trust if there were any plans to commemorate or link with the town but got no reply.

St. Pats Branch are going to rectify that amigo.

BIG G

25-06-2021, 09:32 PM

BIG G

Is this something that non-Branch members could donate to?

25-06-2021, 10:44 PM
In St Patrick's Branch we have members from Belfast to Dublin in the east, to County Clare in the West and Cork in the South, all Hibs daft. A lot of interest expressed already.

BIG G

Dublin Hibs arranged a fans forum in the mid-2000s. It was attended by Hibernian FC board member Ken Lewandowski and our Manager Bobby Williamson at the time. We picked them up from the airport. It was held at a pub in Dublin and we had no idea how many would attend on the night. We ended up having to shut the doors as it was rammed. Folk travelled from Galway, Sligo, Wexford and Cork and elsewhere for the event.

Ballingarry next year could be massive Gordon.

26-06-2021, 07:05 AM

BIG G

Well done

adam middlemass
26-06-2021, 08:09 AM
Is this something that non-Branch members could donate to?
Yes, count me in if there’s something we can do to help ! 👍

TheSouthMoroccan
26-06-2021, 09:12 AM
Great wee read. I smiled at the reasons behind starting up the football... "drinking, thieving and other iniquitous pursuits". Not sure about the thieving bit but I'm guilty of the others. I'd been signing up if it was the present day.

26-06-2021, 12:02 PM
Great to read that article, thanks for posting. Would like to hear more about the trip to Ballingarry - good luck with it.

eaststandJJ
26-06-2021, 12:45 PM

BIG G
Thanks for this news! It'd be good to see that. On my trip around Ireland I saw a few Hibs tops being worn and a pub called the Hibernian.

green leaves
30-06-2021, 09:29 PM
Ffs it's Hannan

scousecousin
05-07-2021, 03:57 PM
as the author of the article under my proper name, i did try to muster interest from the IHSC via facebook in helping with the research but the response was pretty poor. maybe now people see how much we have uncovered on our own they will be more inclined to help with the major challenge of fleshing out the details of his time in ireland pre 1855