View Full Version : Croatia v Scotland Tuesday 22nd June 2021

22-06-2021, 05:37 PM
Team lines imminently due, looking forward to see our starting 11

22-06-2021, 05:38 PM
Guessing it will be same team as Friday but with Armstrong in for Gilmour.

22-06-2021, 05:39 PM

Thinking it will be McTominay moving into midfield and Cooper coming in at the back.

22-06-2021, 05:42 PM
Gerra*****intaethem

22-06-2021, 05:44 PM

That’s the team

22-06-2021, 05:47 PM
That’s the team

Armstrong is a decent player. Perhaps not Gilmour level but I don't think it massively weakens us.

22-06-2021, 05:48 PM
Come on Scotland! Give us a display to be proud of. Give us a finals stage to take part in. Give us a team to look forward to watching time and again - once more.

22-06-2021, 06:03 PM
I really like the way Armstrong, Tierney and Robertson combine down the left. Just hope we can get O'Donnell as advanced as he was against England as I think we will create a good few chances from wide. Just need to get our out of goal scoring form strikers to shank one in the bottom corner. C'mon Scotland

22-06-2021, 06:07 PM
John McGinn West Ham manager that’s a new one on me. STV so amateur

22-06-2021, 06:07 PM
4 changes for Croatia

22-06-2021, 06:16 PM
https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.6435-9/204445590_4407346749278391_554106296834300683_n.jp g?_nc_cat=107&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=825194&_nc_ohc=xu8DXajdR3sAX8ZqVVV&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=db7fbdafecf97ddea20531193b40dc83&oe=60D6E8E5

22-06-2021, 06:17 PM
Just turned on and saw him being interviewed in his civvies. Totally **** myself and thought he was out as well. Thankfully it had been recorded earlier

22-06-2021, 06:23 PM

Incredibly poor

22-06-2021, 06:25 PM
Incredibly poor

...also picking the presenters with the most annoying voices to stand outside and shout totally obvious stuff into their mics....

22-06-2021, 06:30 PM
Armstrong is a decent player. Perhaps not Gilmour level but I don't think it massively weakens us.

Maybe me but think he has been a little disappointing for Scotland though definitely an asset when driving forward and providing a goal threat. Huge performance required

22-06-2021, 06:34 PM
I really like the way Armstrong, Tierney and Robertson combine down the left. Just hope we can get O'Donnell as advanced as he was against England as I think we will create a good few chances from wide. Just need to get our out of goal scoring form strikers to shank one in the bottom corner. C'mon Scotland

I don't care how it goes in, as long as we get one more than them. :aok::saltireflag

22-06-2021, 06:35 PM
Incredibly poor

ITV4 down here showing it with Souness, Scott Brown and John Collins, is that the same as stv?

22-06-2021, 06:37 PM
ITV4 down here showing it with Souness, Scott Brown and John Collins, is that the same as stv?
I’m watching it on itv4 too, STV has Stuart McCall, Kenny McLean and strachan

22-06-2021, 06:37 PM
I see the referee is from Argentina, I wonder if that will be a problem for the physical stuff?

22-06-2021, 06:39 PM
I’m watching it on itv4 too, STV has Stuart McCall, Kenny McLean and strachan

I think Souness, Collins and Brown is a better midfield 😁

SJNB Hibby
22-06-2021, 06:42 PM
I see the referee is from Argentina, I wonder if that will be a problem for the physical stuff?

An Argentinian Ref at the Euros? seriously?

22-06-2021, 06:47 PM
An Argentinian Ref at the Euros? seriously?

also refereed the Ukraine v North Macedonia game

22-06-2021, 06:49 PM
Some atmosphere for 12k

22-06-2021, 06:53 PM
Let’s do this Scotland. Buzzing for this.

22-06-2021, 06:56 PM
:saltireflag:saltireflag:saltireflag Please dear lord let us do it for once. Come on boys.

22-06-2021, 06:58 PM
:pray::pray::pray::pray::pray::pray::pray::saltire flag:saltireflag:saltireflag

Just_Jimmy
22-06-2021, 06:59 PM
that shot along the line and every player belting out the words.

go and win it. come on!!!

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

Just do it

Let's boogie into the next round, C'mon Scotland

Head over to ITV4 more professional

Santa Cruz
22-06-2021, 07:05 PM
Head over to ITV4 more professional

Done. :aok:

22-06-2021, 07:05 PM
oooooooooooooooooooohhhhh

22-06-2021, 07:06 PM
Over water the pitch? A couple of slips so far.

Adams so close

22-06-2021, 07:06 PM
Why are the players slipping so much.

Suburban Hibby
22-06-2021, 07:08 PM
What a miss- Adana bottled that header

22-06-2021, 07:09 PM
Why are the players slipping so much.

Lots of slipping ?

22-06-2021, 07:10 PM
Adams is a man possessed

22-06-2021, 07:11 PM
Lots of slipping ?

A couple, McTominay and Armstrong I think.

22-06-2021, 07:13 PM
England 1 up

22-06-2021, 07:13 PM
Czech 0 england 1

22-06-2021, 07:16 PM
Croatia score :rolleyes:

22-06-2021, 07:16 PM
Ah ****

Guy at the far post should never have been allowed to head it back.

22-06-2021, 07:17 PM
Ahh well...

Too easy

So so easy

1-0 Croatia. Soft goal to lose

Standing off them far too much, need to get in about them

Hideous defending at the back post. Was it McTominay or O'Donnell?

Not brilliant defending that

Oh dear . Not much you can do about that .

22-06-2021, 07:18 PM
Soft as *****.

Hideous defending at the back post. Was it McTominay or O'Donnell?

McTominay left his man

Terrible defending

Look forward to the next time 😕

Poor goal to lose. Standing off and watching will be punished at this level.

22-06-2021, 07:19 PM
Awful defending. How O’Donnell gets done there is beyond me. It’s a easy one to defend.

22-06-2021, 07:19 PM
maybe too early for a...that's game over, but

22-06-2021, 07:20 PM
At least the World Cup's only 17 months away.

22-06-2021, 07:21 PM
That'll be us out now, we don't score many goals at this level and I can't see us scoring 2 against this team, maybe not the Croatia of a few years ago but still a very decent team.

CloudSquall
Sorry to be a Debbie Downer for a second but if we go out with 0 points and 0 goals for at the Hampden games that's piss poor.

McTominay left his man

Yep, he got away with it against England.

Croatia look a very good side, unless we get back into this game i fear a right drubbing, we cant get near them at the moment. :boo hoo:

They are so comfortable in possession.

Probably going out without even scoring. That would be tragic.

22-06-2021, 07:22 PM
ref missed that

That's some save by Marshall. That was dipping in.

I’m wondering if it might be tactically astute to get close to Modric?

22-06-2021, 07:23 PM
We looked better when we had a bit of the good old Scottish get in aboot them. Since we have started sitting off we can't get close to them.

The games not over yet.

Sorry to be a Debbie Downer for a second but if we go out with 0 points and 0 goals for at the Hampden games that's piss poor.

We've got 1 point from Friday so that won't be happening

22-06-2021, 07:24 PM

Scoring goals has been a problem for a few years now, the 2 strikers on the pitch aren't what you'd call prolific.

Mcginn close

Didn't connect cleanly enough

We are awful in front of goal

FFS how many chances do we want????!!!!

SJM placed instead of blasting

Really got to take one of these. Good opportunities pass us by again.

Better from Scotland, couple of decent chances in quick succession

22-06-2021, 07:25 PM
Jesus ****ing Christ just ****ing score score for **** sake.

Too early to get Nisbet on? 🤣

I’m wondering if it might be tactically astute to get close to Modric?

Easier said than done, such a top player.

SJM should have scored

O’Donnell back to his usual tonight.

Hampden games

22-06-2021, 07:26 PM
Croatian yellow card

CloudSquall

That was at Hampden aye?

NC1875
We just can’t score

22-06-2021, 07:27 PM
SJM placed instead of blasting

Couldn't really get any power behind it, ball bounced awkwardly

22-06-2021, 07:27 PM
That was at Hampden aye?

Didn't read it properly :greengrin

22-06-2021, 07:28 PM
Easier said than done, such a top player.

The boy Phillips managed it vs them, same in the game vs the Czechs.

22-06-2021, 07:28 PM
Hibs and Scotland have pretty much ended me this year

22-06-2021, 07:29 PM
Are they all wearing the wrong studs??

22-06-2021, 07:30 PM
We could play all night without scoring. Where do we get a goal from?

22-06-2021, 07:30 PM
Adams looks our most likely. He's been a man possessed so far.

22-06-2021, 07:31 PM
Are they all wearing the wrong studs??

Was just thinking the same.

22-06-2021, 07:31 PM
Modric is Another level

To be fair so are croatia but we certainly arnt throwing in the towel yet

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

22-06-2021, 07:32 PM
Hanley looks like he will have to come off

Bring Nisbet on at half time.

We keep slowing it down when we break, get at them quickly and don't let them get back!

Hanley subbed, injured

the stars are not aligning after all

22-06-2021, 07:33 PM
Adams looks our most likely. He's been a man possessed so far.

Dykes by comparison has barely had a touch. Needs to get into the game

McKenna on.

Croatia had a 15 minute spell in which they totally dominated and unfortunately got us they scored in that period.

Beyond that it's been pretty scrappy but we have had a few half chances and held our own in a manner of speaking.

Modric is Another level

To be fair so are croatia but we certainly arnt throwing in the towel yet

Folk have to remember that Croatia are 30 places above Scotland in the fifa rankings

22-06-2021, 07:34 PM
Armstrong's been poor so far, just shows the levels wee Gilmour plays at and how we're missing his composure on the ball.

Folk have to remember that Croatia are 30 places above Scotland in the fifa rankingsIf they were offered the chance to 'beat Scotland and you qualify' they would have taken that pre tournament

just on and yellow card

Hahha mckenna

Booked.

Hibs and Scotland have pretty much ended me this year
Yip, I feel your pain.

22-06-2021, 07:35 PM
Scott McKenna isn’t very good.

just on and yellow card

Yellow card before he has touched the ball 🤣

McKenna on.

Two minutes later - booked!

McKenna 1st challenge is a yellow, how does he gat a game ffs.

Seemed easier for McKenna to win the ball than commit the foul, but gets booked within a minute or two of coming on

That's clumsy from McKenna

McKenna. That’s why he’s not an international defender.

McKenna booked, not even touched the ball.

CloudSquall
22-06-2021, 07:36 PM
If only we could find an international class finisher.

Bring Nisbet on at half time.

Why wait? Bring him on now. We need to score before half time.

Why was Cooper not on instead, he's the Leeds captain and playing in the middle of the 3 doesn't mean a leftie can't play there, bizarre sub from Clarke.

StevesFamau5
3 million quid defender apparently.... Forest have immediately transfer listed him.

Sent from my VOG-L09 using Tapatalk

22-06-2021, 07:37 PM
Why wait? Bring him on now. We need to score before half time.No we don't

We need to score 1 more than them by full time

Why was Cooper not on instead, he's the Leeds captain and playing in the middle of the 3 doesn't mean a leftie can't play there, bizarre sub from Clarke.

I 100% agree

Two minutes later - booked!

Two minutes is generous I don’t think it’s more than one !

Hanley has been great so far this tournament, definitely proved a few folk wrong who think he's a huddy.

22-06-2021, 07:38 PM
Game over already unless Clarke goes for it and I just don’t see him doing that.

Nisbet/Forrest/Fraser on now.

Scotland getting a schooling here.

Copper should've been the sub there. Just don't feel like we're carrying enough of a threat in the final third either.

22-06-2021, 07:39 PM
Who's the co commentator tonight?

One goal would give us such a boost but I just can't see it coming

scottish_sleepy
Armstrong's been poor so far, just shows the levels wee Gilmour plays at and how we're missing his composure on the ball.

I don't think Armstrongs found a man with a pass yet. People are running passed him like he's wearing concrete boots.

22-06-2021, 07:40 PM
Scotland getting a schooling here.

:agree: At this stage I think Clarke would take 1-0 at half time

This isnt working is it, hopefully Clarke has an adventurous half time as we need to go for this

Kevin Gallagher

Our midfield cant get near theirs.

Kevin Gallagher

Ally McCoist 😉

Total domination.

It will mean changing the shape up but getting Forrest and Fraser on in the wide areas may be an option here. We don't look like creating many clear cut chances playing through them so maybe getting it wide and getting it in the box is worth a try. We have looked most likely when we have done that.

Kevin Gallagher on STV

NC1875
22-06-2021, 07:41 PM
Armstrong has been terrible. And Cooper should have come on for Hanley.

Watching McKenna makes me wish I’d stick in at the football. If he can get a Scotland cap…

22-06-2021, 07:42 PM
yasssssssssssssss:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::th umbsup:

Yaaaaas

Yesssssss

How has McGreggor got so many caps again? What a finish.

Finally!!! :thumbsup::thumbsup:

1-1 McGregor :thumbsup:

**** yeasss!!!

That waste of space Callum McGregor

Yaaaaaaaas

Croatia winning almost every loose ball.

Mr Grieves
Finish!

CloudSquall
Hopefully make it to half time without conceding another in order to regroup, but I'm concerned that Croatia could take it up 3 or 4 gears if required.

Edit: I'm miles behind the play, YAAAAAAAAAAAAASSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS :greengrin

Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaas

Brilliant finish

Get it wide and bombard them.

I'm not saying I'm a tactical genius but......

Copper should've been the sub there. Just don't feel like we're carrying enough of a threat in the final third either.

Stupid prick :greengrin

We're losing the midfield battle again, McGregor back to his invisible self, Armstrong not showing nearly enough and as I type, McGregor scored to prove me wrong. :greengrin:greengrin

22-06-2021, 07:43 PM
Yasssss

Dykes offside surley

[emoji23][emoji12][emoji57]

Yeeeeeees

Way too narrow, zero width on the right, feel sorry for O’Donnell as he’s no outlet. Armstrong a total passenger and game is passing him by. Get wee Forrest on.

Well done Callum McGregor terrific goal

i had just been typing if we should bring callum McGregor on

:devil::faf: well done son

Let's see this half out all square

22-06-2021, 07:45 PM
C'mon Scotland . Good finish by McGregor

Kevin Gallagher

Get it ****ing wide and get it in the box. A few good old fashioned stramashes will sort this mob out.

I love you McGregor

22-06-2021, 07:46 PM
The Mc run continues. Scotland's goalscorers at the Euros, McStay, McClair, McAllister, McCoist, McGregor.

22-06-2021, 07:47 PM
I do like McCoist as a co commentator

The Mc run continues. Scotland's goalscorers at the Euros, McStay, McClair, McAllister, McCoist, McGregor.

Get yer money on mcginn 😉

McGregor has a right foot. Who knew?

22-06-2021, 07:48 PM
HT wan-wan

...... and maybe McGinn and McNisbet.:greengrin

I do like McCoist as a co commentator

He is good and almost likeable (for a fat Hun dick).

I'll take that at HT. A chance to regroup and we are still well in this.

When we move it quickly and get at them they don't like it much. We have legs on the bench, both teams have to go for it so there will be chances.

22-06-2021, 07:50 PM
Yeah, I know, but he is good at analysing the game & some of his little asides are funny.

22-06-2021, 07:50 PM
Still a great chance to qualify.croati look very good but we have deserved to be level imo

22-06-2021, 07:52 PM
Every chance fellas. Good luck.

22-06-2021, 07:52 PM
Still a great chance to qualify.croati look very good but we have deserved to be level imo

I think they deserve to be two up, total domination. By far the worst we’ve played in the group. But that’s football. Loving celebrating a Scotland goal finally

Just_Jimmy
22-06-2021, 07:53 PM
I'll take that at HT. A chance to regroup and we are still well in this.

When we move it quickly and get at them they don't like it much. We have legs on the bench, both teams have to go for it so there will be chances.agree with that. we've looked best when we've got into them. letting them play suits them.

22-06-2021, 07:54 PM
Another rollercoaster for us!

22-06-2021, 07:55 PM
agree with that. we've looked best when we've got into them. letting them play suits them.

It’s getting close to them that’s the problem!

Not helped by Armstrong being totally lost.

Credit to the Croats for not sitting in after they scored, they tried to kill us off and were looking very dangerous.

I think we'd be daft to continue to play the way we did in that first half, i know we got our goal, but our midfield is getting run ragged and i think it's only a matter of time before they score again if we continue to stand so far off them.

i'd like us to go to a 4-5-1 with Fraser and Forrest on wide taking them on and also helping out in the middle, i'm sure it would help us get more of the ball.

Armstrong and Dykes off.

I’d be surprised if we don’t make a change soon

22-06-2021, 07:56 PM
For the first 10 mins or so I thought we were the better team and created a couple of opportunities, after that Croatia took over. Modric is a really brilliant wee player even at 35, but we've come right back into it with a really well taken goal. All to play for, C'MON SCOTLAND!!!!

22-06-2021, 07:56 PM

Souness and Collins are very good in the analysis

22-06-2021, 07:57 PM
I think we have played well. They’re a good side and comfortable on the ball but we have got into great positions. We are creating a lot out wide. There are big gaps to exploit.

22-06-2021, 07:58 PM
I think we'd be daft to continue to play the way we did in that first half, i know we got our goal, but our midfield is getting run ragged and i think it's only a matter of time before they score again if we continue to stand so far off them.

i'd like us to go to a 4-5-1 with Fraser and Forrest on wide taking them on and also helping out in the middle, i'm sure it would help us get more of the ball.

Armstrong and Dykes off.

I’d agree with that

22-06-2021, 07:59 PM
Hanley has been great so far this tournament, definitely proved a few folk wrong who think he's a huddy.

I was one of them and tbh he’s been our player of the tournament so far!

Souness spot on, we need another midfielder in there, Croatia had 79% of the ball, we are 3 against 5 in that midfield.

Armstrong and Dykes off.

I agree, Dykes although works hard just isn't good enough, O'Donnell isn't able to get forward as much as Robertson so we have nothing coming from the right. Only problem if we go 4 at the back what happens re Tierney and Robertson?

Only Mcs score for Scotland in the Euros. McStay, McClair and McAllister against CIS in '92, McCoist against Switzerland in '96 and now McGregor.

Just_Jimmy

Armstrong and Dykes off.I agree with that. Armstrong has been poor and dykes doesn't contribute much at all. can always throw on nesbit with 20 to go again if need be

22-06-2021, 08:00 PM
Souness spot on, we need another midfielder in there, Croatia had 79% of the ball, we are 3 against 5 in that midfield.

It’s 69 I think

22-06-2021, 08:02 PM
Worried that we now have McKenna in central defense, but a good recovery from 0-1 down.

Dykes has actually been ok tonight. Winning a lot of balls in the air and he got things moving for the equaliser, but id like to see Nisbet getting a chance. Armstrong doesn’t have long left either id wager: get Forrest or Turnbull on.

79% possession for Croatia at Hampden is more than a bit concerning. :panic:

Only Mcs score for Scotland in the Euros. McStay, McClair and McAllister against CIS in '92, McCoist against Switzerland in '96 and now McGregor.

Time for Kevin McNisbet then :greengrin

22-06-2021, 08:03 PM
I agree, Dykes although works hard just isn't good enough, O'Donnell isn't able to get forward as much as Robertson so we have nothing coming from the right. Only problem if we go 4 at the back what happens re Tierney and Robertson?

O'Donnell McKenna Tierney and Robertson. Push McTominay into the middle and only put one wide player on to start with.

Armstrong and Dykes off.

Agreed, Blue shirts look very thin on the ground compared to the England game. Is the pitch at Hampden much bigger than Wembley?

Dykes hasn't really been at the races, either that or Clarke has told him not to chase back and stay forward.

How are you getting Souness on the telly, what channel is that?

22-06-2021, 08:04 PM
O'Donnell McKenna Tierney and Robertson. Push McTominay into the middle and only put one wide player on to start with.

That was my thinking too, only way you can do it.

22-06-2021, 08:04 PM
how are you getting souness on the telly, what channel is that?
itv4

22-06-2021, 08:05 PM
79% possession for Croatia at Hampden is more than a bit concerning. :panic:

They are listed as the home team 😉

itv4

How are you getting Souness on the telly, what channel is that?

ITV4, with John Collins and Scott Broon

Get yer money on mcginn 😉

Now that we've added McKenna to the side I feel confident of a win. 😆

22-06-2021, 08:07 PM
McTominay owes Marshall a pint or 2 there.

22-06-2021, 08:07 PM
Agreed, Blue shirts look very thin on the ground compared to the England game. Is the pitch at Hampden much bigger than Wembley?

Dykes hasn't really been at the races, either that or Clarke has told him not to chase back and stay forward.

Wembley is a huge 1m wider than Hampden

22-06-2021, 08:08 PM
Got away with that, great goalkeeping but could've been down again.

22-06-2021, 08:08 PM
Was that Armstrong who just let that man run past him? :rolleyes:

22-06-2021, 08:09 PM
how are you getting souness on the telly, what channel is that?
itv4

22-06-2021, 08:09 PM
Great chance for them, should be behind

22-06-2021, 08:10 PM
Came from the keepers aimless boot up the park.

TBF there's not a lot in front of him, tactics seem to be punt to the 2 big forwards and hope for the best.

22-06-2021, 08:11 PM
Dykes is hopeless unless the ball is at his head.

22-06-2021, 08:12 PM
Armstrong is poor.

22-06-2021, 08:13 PM
FFS MAN get another body in that midfield. :rolleyes:

22-06-2021, 08:13 PM
Dykes has a brutal 1st touch on the ball, McBirnie esque and Armstrong looks like he won a competition to play tonight, changes are desperately needed.

22-06-2021, 08:14 PM
Pheeeeew Marshall great save

Jeeez. Living dangerously

Shocking defending again.

Horrific defending again

Armstrong is an average player. No idea how he's playing at the level he is.

they should be outa sight

22-06-2021, 08:15 PM
I don't understand how Clarke has watched almost an hour of this and not proactively added another body in midfield.

Guardiol is fantastic. I thought we were the ones with good left backs?

FFS MAN get another body in that midfield. :rolleyes:

Not so much another body, just a change in bodies, apart from the goal McGregor is invisible and Armstrong has been brutal.

22-06-2021, 08:16 PM
Dykes has a brutal 1st touch on the ball, McBirnie esque and Armstrong looks like he won a competition to play tonight, changes are desperately needed.

Being overrun in middle, what change would we make that is positive in shoring up the middle while also making us more effective in the final 3rd

SJM … no!

Great ball in from Armstrong.

22-06-2021, 08:17 PM
McGinn would have been far better trying to get his right foot on that

McGinn has to score there.

McGinn should have done better there. Went with the wrong foot.

22-06-2021, 08:18 PM
How the hell was that not a foul on mcginn

22-06-2021, 08:19 PM
Too good.

**** that’s a worldie

that's it this time :agree: clarke just wouldn't shake it up earlier

What a goal that is. Sometimes you just have to acknowledge brilliance.

22-06-2021, 08:20 PM
Modric 2-1, super goal

Sitting back like a bunch of ***** again, didn't learn their lesson the first time

It was coming

Just_Jimmy
Clarke has cost us this

Time to get Nesbit on.

Just_Jimmy
how the **** has he watched this and not made a change? he's negative and **** scared

Standing watching them stroll about.

Couldn't clear the ball. That might knock the stuffing from us.

That's a world class midfielder.

Great finish unfortunately.

Game over

22-06-2021, 08:21 PM
They are just better.
Can’t do much about that.

We could have learned from the last 20 minutes and changed things a bit.

22-06-2021, 08:21 PM
Awful, awful defending.