View Full Version : Football pet hates
26-06-2021, 01:03 AM
Calling it footy, unless you’re from Australia it’s football.
It’s Footy for me lad.
Bangkok Hibby
26-06-2021, 02:03 AM
"Half a yard" Nobody ever, in any other occupation, from any English speaking country, calls a short distance "half a yard" 😡😡😡
26-06-2021, 09:11 AM
"Half a yard" Nobody ever, in any other occupation, from any English speaking country, calls a short distance "half a yard" 😡😡😡
Used in pro-running circles. Perfectly ok in my book and not open to any misunderstanding as might be the case with "He's gained a foot and a half over the winter." :wink:
Just_Jimmy
26-06-2021, 09:43 AM
"Half a yard" Nobody ever, in any other occupation, from any English speaking country, calls a short distance "half a yard" [emoji35][emoji35][emoji35]except golf?
Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk
Bangkok Hibby
26-06-2021, 10:01 AM
Used in pro-running circles. Perfectly ok in my book and not open to any misunderstanding as might be the case with "He's gained a foot and a half over the winter." :wink:
I'll take your word for it 🙂 in what scenario?
Bangkok Hibby
26-06-2021, 10:03 AM
except golf?
Can you give an example. I've played and watched golf for many years and never heard it.
leithsansiro
26-06-2021, 10:08 AM
Without a doubt, the stupid slang words that have crept into banter about football absolutely annoy me. Stupid words like tekkers, baller and top bins seem so stupid and forced.
And don’t even start me about how annoying is is when folk talk about having put on an acca...
26-06-2021, 10:09 AM
I've always thought that "half a quid" was an even stranger expression, one that was sung in a song that has since been airbrushed from many posters' memories.
Heckys Wheel
26-06-2021, 10:47 AM
The lack of adjectives in players and fans’ vocabularies.
“Buzzing” seems to be the only way players know how to describe their emotions.
“Shambles” is the only way fans know how to describe something they disagree with.
Just_Jimmy
26-06-2021, 11:04 AM
Can you give an example. I've played and watched golf for many years and never heard it.em... "he's half a yard short".
it's a unit of measurement and it's not a big deal [emoji23]
Bangkok Hibby
26-06-2021, 12:28 PM
em... "he's half a yard short".
it's a unit of measurement and it's not a big deal [emoji23]
Nah I'm not having that. 3" 6" 9" 12" a foot, 18"...heard them all but never half a yard. Maybe your preferred commentators are ex football 😄
Newry Hibs
26-06-2021, 12:45 PM
Without a doubt, the stupid slang words that have crept into banter about football absolutely annoy me. Stupid words like tekkers, baller and top bins seem so stupid and forced.
And don’t even start me about how annoying is is when folk talk about having put on an acca...
I'm surprised you didn't mention this early doors.
26-06-2021, 01:12 PM
When the players don't celebrate scoring does my head in.
Just_Jimmy
26-06-2021, 01:25 PM
Nah I'm not having that. 3" 6" 9" 12" a foot, 18"...heard them all but never half a yard. Maybe your preferred commentators are ex football [emoji1]golf is measured in yards.
Bangkok Hibby
26-06-2021, 01:32 PM
golf is measured in yards.
Do you even watch golf? The topic is the phrase "half a yard" yes, "courses" are measured in yards but once the ball is on the green the commentators call the distance in feet and inches. Nobody ever says half a yard....only in football.
CloudSquall
26-06-2021, 03:02 PM
When someone scores and then furiously pushes away their team mates that want to celebrate with them so they can run to the corner by themselves.
CloudSquall
26-06-2021, 03:08 PM
"Why don't you just support a better team?" being asked by glory hunters around the world who simply just choose the most successful team to follow.
The "support your local team" or "support the team of the family" etc logic when having a team in the UK, Europe etc seems to be pretty thin on the ground elsewhere in the world.
Not that I'm saying it's necessarily "wrong" to pick the best team to follow, but after following Hibs through the later Miller years, the Bobby Williamson era, and the dark days of Butcher I can't help but be ****ing riled by it.
EI255
26-06-2021, 04:06 PM
Commentators always saying "Kieffer Moore's" full name. Why? No other player gets it. Bizarre
Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk
26-06-2021, 06:24 PM
"Why don't you just support a better team?" being asked by glory hunters around the world who simply just choose the most successful team to follow.
The "support your local team" or "support the team of the family" etc logic when having a team in the UK, Europe etc seems to be pretty thin on the ground elsewhere in the world.
Not that I'm saying it's necessarily "wrong" to pick the best team to follow, but after following Hibs through the later Miller years, the Bobby Williamson era, and the dark days of Butcher I can't help but be ****ing riled by it.
Try being English and supporting Hibs and living down South :greengrin. Mind you I can play on it, night before the England Scotland game in a pub wearing a Hibs T shirt "do you think you've got a chance mate?" .... "yes fella I think we'll win this Kane to get a double" (didnt happen obviously) Cue a totally confused look on a Chelsea fans face. :wink:
26-06-2021, 08:34 PM
Ahem. An Austrian just called "half a yard offside" v Italy on ITV!
26-06-2021, 10:15 PM
I've always thought that "half a quid" was an even stranger expression, one that was sung in a song that has since been airbrushed from many posters' memories.
The Queen was no happy with that valuation.50p didnae rhyme.
mcohibs
26-06-2021, 10:23 PM
'To a man'. The players were excellent today to a man. Wtf does that mean :greengrin
Bangkok Hibby
27-06-2021, 12:56 AM
Ahem. An Austrian just called "half a yard offside" v Italy on ITV!
Thanks for supplying evidence to back up my point....."only in football"
Not sure you've read my post properly 🙂
27-06-2021, 05:42 AM
'To a man'. The players were excellent today to a man. Wtf does that mean :greengrin
Everybody
27-06-2021, 05:44 AM
Dinnae dangle your dongle at a Dingle.
Dingleton is a suburb of Melrose.
WestCoastHibby
27-06-2021, 06:15 AM
Football "task forces" and "dossiers" that do hee haw about anything
27-06-2021, 07:24 AM
That they were really polite and helpful to a passer by on the street?
27-06-2021, 07:25 AM
“Low block” being some ‘coaching manual’ speak for the much more accurate “park the bus”
27-06-2021, 11:38 AM
Every one of them, pretty straight forward really and a commonly used phrase.
mcohibs
27-06-2021, 01:22 PM
Every one of them, pretty straight forward really and a commonly used phrase.
Aye as opposed to just saying that the players were excellent... Totally naff and pointless phrase that I've never heard elsewhere. Seems to be a favourite with Rio ferdinand as well which is probably why I dislike it so much :greengrin
Key West
27-06-2021, 03:52 PM
Excuses after being hammered, see Wales v Denmark as the latest ones.
EI255
27-06-2021, 04:46 PM
Ally McMoist saying "absolutely" every single *** time!
Key West
27-06-2021, 05:31 PM
Ally McMoist saying "absolutely" every single *** time!
Said it twice in a row 5 minutes ago!
27-06-2021, 06:54 PM
Players who start running about like dafties and kicking folk, once they’re 2-0 down, thinking it makes them look like they’re trying really hard.
The Dutch did that tonight, Gareth Bale did it last night. Try running about before it gets to that stage.
EI255
27-06-2021, 07:34 PM
Said it twice in a row 5 minutes ago!Absolutely
27-06-2021, 09:58 PM
Absolutely
Deaf in Aitly
EI255
28-06-2021, 10:08 AM
Deaf in AitlyAbsolutely
Wakeyhibee
28-06-2021, 06:16 PM
1) This bloody commentator on Spain v Croatia.
Voice/accent doesn't help but jeezo the comments!
2) Comentators who condone cheating by saying, "he had to foul him", "there was contact, he has a right to go down"
EI255
28-06-2021, 08:21 PM
Here goes McMoist again.
I counted 3 "absolutely" inside 60 seconds.
I absolutely did.
JXM73
28-06-2021, 08:24 PM
Here goes McMoist again.
I counted 3 "absolutely" inside 60 seconds.
I absolutely did.
There was a penalty and 2 stunning goals in that time...
EI255
29-06-2021, 07:15 PM
There was a penalty and 2 stunning goals in that time...Absolutely!
29-06-2021, 07:28 PM
Mentioned on the Euros thread but so many teams wearing all one colour now.
Scotland look better with white shorts as do France, England look better with navy shorts, Spain look better with navy shorts, Sweden with blue shorts and so on. Don't even get me started on that phase when Hibs wore all green for a few seasons.
29-06-2021, 07:49 PM
Football "task forces" and "dossiers" that do hee haw about anything
What about a Tzar?
majorhibs
29-06-2021, 09:02 PM
Were you no even watching when Refs were as bent as a nine bob note?
29-06-2021, 09:20 PM
This rule that sees linesman not put their flag up for about 2 hours after a pass is played.
Example being in the Ukraine v Sweden game there. Totally pointless delay of about 15 seconds.
29-06-2021, 09:39 PM
The state of Hampden Park compared to the rest of the stadiums being used in the Euro’s.
CloudSquall
30-06-2021, 01:56 AM
English fans who say things like "Celtic and Rangers would be relegated from the Premiership" without factoring in the millions upon millions they would receive from the TV deal etc.
30-06-2021, 02:38 AM
Mentioned on the Euros thread but so many teams wearing all one colour now.
Scotland look better with white shorts as do France, England look better with navy shorts, Spain look better with navy shorts, Sweden with blue shorts and so on. Don't even get me started on that phase when Hibs wore all green for a few seasons.
Read somewhere that it is a UEFA directive now for no apparent reason at all. Not sure how true that is though.
EDIT: quick Google says it was a FIFA thing, wanting teams to play in either full light or full dark colours...
Brazil still wear Blue shorts though so...
30-06-2021, 06:51 AM
This rule that sees linesman not put their flag up for about 2 hours after a pass is played.
Example being in the Ukraine v Sweden game there. Totally pointless delay of about 15 seconds.
This drives me mad as well. I dont understand why they changed it. If he's offside put the flag up right away.
30-06-2021, 07:28 AM
Over-use and inappropriate use of the word "iconic" as per BBC today "Relive England's iconic win over Germany".
You mean the narrow first round knock out win over one of the poorest German sides for donkeys which happened just yesterday?
The dalmeny
30-06-2021, 07:31 AM
Read somewhere that it is a UEFA directive now for no apparent reason at all. Not sure how true that is though.
EDIT: quick Google says it was a FIFA thing, wanting teams to play in either full light or full dark colours...
Brazil still wear Blue shorts though so...
I’m sure the light/dark thing used to be for folk watching in black and white :faf:
30-06-2021, 07:34 AM
I’m sure the light/dark thing used to be for folk watching in black and white :faf:
Now it's probably for folk watching on their phones with a bad stream.
30-06-2021, 07:39 AM
This drives me mad as well. I dont understand why they changed it. If he's offside put the flag up right away.
They changed it because of VAR. If a linesman flags for a tight call that turns out to be wrong, it may prevent a good chance of a goal. If he doesn't flag immediately but waits for the move to finish, then if the team scored it can be determined afterwards whether it was offside or not without affecting the immediate play.
However it is annoying when someone is clearly miles off and they still don't flag.
The dalmeny
30-06-2021, 08:10 AM
Now it's probably for folk watching on their phones with a bad stream.
Aye, the wee yellow dots v the wee blue dots
30-06-2021, 08:37 AM
The Rangers
Engerlund
Hearts
01-07-2021, 07:13 AM
They changed it because of VAR. If a linesman flags for a tight call that turns out to be wrong, it may prevent a good chance of a goal. If he doesn't flag immediately but waits for the move to finish, then if the team scored it can be determined afterwards whether it was offside or not without affecting the immediate play.
However it is annoying when someone is clearly miles off and they still don't flag.
Thanks for that, makes more sense now.:aok:
01-07-2021, 09:55 AM
The state of Hampden Park compared to the rest of the stadiums being used in the Euro’s.
Absolutely!
OstKurve Hibs
01-07-2021, 03:28 PM
grinds my gears when Cristiano Ronaldo is referred to as CR7, find most of those abbreviations annoying
MSN was another for when messi, Suarez n neymar were Barca forward line,
01-07-2021, 03:36 PM
grinds my gears when Cristiano Ronaldo is referred to as CR7, find most of those abbreviations annoying
MSN was another for when messi, Suarez n neymar were Barca forward line,Aaaahh. I thought it was Craig Rocastle!
01-07-2021, 03:41 PM
Aaaahh. I thought it was Craig Rocastle!
Easy mistake to make.
Bangkok Hibby
02-07-2021, 01:35 PM
Not really a pet hate, but it bugs me a fair bit that one of our players can have his whole (albeit short) career at Hibs having his Scottish, relatively common name mis-spelt by fans even after its continuously pointed out.
Just_Jimmy
02-07-2021, 08:51 PM
"fouls" on the keeper. 90% aren't a foul and it's crap. if a keeper comes and misses it then it's automatically a foul. it's a nonsense.
02-07-2021, 09:39 PM
Players getting themselves needlessly sent off especially in the 1st half does ma heid in.
mcohibs
02-07-2021, 10:13 PM
Yep, embarrassment of a stadium
mcohibs
02-07-2021, 10:14 PM
"fouls" on the keeper. 90% aren't a foul and it's crap. if a keeper comes and misses it then it's automatically a foul. it's a nonsense.
Agreed, keepers get far too much protection from refs. In fact, from corner kicks especially, the defending team get cheap free kicks for next to nothing constantly
03-07-2021, 03:14 PM
Pet hate of mine is, you're attacking the opposition goal with a couple of minutes to go, you're 1-0 down, the opposition win the ball back a few metres from the corner but you have them penned in, we could push everyone forward,but, what do our players do? Aye, foul them just to compound things and the opposition can now run the clock down.
MKHIBEE
03-07-2021, 07:44 PM
Jermaine Jeans, what’s with the first name patter?
03-07-2021, 09:43 PM
England :wink:
04-07-2021, 07:12 AM
People throwing their beer about when a football team scores.
You see the 1 or 2 pints that get chucked spontaneously or instinctively because it's already in someone's hand. Followed a few seconds later by people obviously doing it who have planned to do it and spent a bit of time searching for their pint to join in.
If I'm paying £6+ for a ***** pint in a plastic cup, I'm drinking it.
Bangkok Hibby
04-07-2021, 08:06 AM
You see the 1 or 2 pints that get chucked spontaneously or instinctively because it's already in someone's hand. Followed a few seconds later by people obviously doing it who have planned to do it and spent a bit of time searching for their pint to join in.
Not a pet hate but I always wondered how those hat throwers from yesteryear got their hats back. Must have been some scramble and hundreds going home with the wrong hat 🙂
04-07-2021, 10:42 AM
It was happening at The PL Darts through in Glasgow when I went a few years ago, erseholes!
04-07-2021, 10:54 AM
Not a pet hate but I always wondered how those hat throwers from yesteryear got their hats back. Must have been some scramble and hundreds going home with the wrong hat 🙂
Actually, they all wore identical flat caps, so they just picked up whatever one landed nearest to them and stuck it back on their heads.
04-07-2021, 01:32 PM
Actually, they all wore identical flat caps, so they just picked up whatever one landed nearest to them and stuck it back on their heads.
Just as well they all had identical sized heads.
speedy_gonzales
04-07-2021, 01:52 PM
It was happening at The PL Darts through in Glasgow when I went a few years ago, erseholes!
No word of a lie, 10 years ago I went to see Beady Eye at the Corn Exchange. I was at the back of the gig, I witnessed a young lad walk in from the left, go straight to one of the little bar hatches to the right, buy a pint, go back to the middle of the crowd, and without hesitation, launch it straight towards Liam Gallagher & co.
Unsure what point he was trying to make but what a waste of effort & money.
05-07-2021, 12:35 AM
The list of excuses/reasons that supporters come up with when they just can’t admit that another team are decent
Easy draw
Home advantage
Teams they beat are not as good as they were a couple of years ago
05-07-2021, 06:28 AM
The list of excuses/reasons that supporters come up with when they just can’t admit that another team are decent
Easy draw
Home advantage
Teams they beat are not as good as they were a couple of years ago
��
To hopefully be followed by :
Time wasting
Game management
Teams that score a goal then park the bus
Players trying to get opposition players sent off
Diving
Feigning injury
Running 60 yards to take a throw in then asking someone else to take it with minutes to go
Substitutions two minutes into injury time
Cheating barstewards
Teams having better players on the bench than actually start the game
05-07-2021, 12:15 PM
You can only beat what's in front of you. Beloved of messrs Duffy and Dodds.