View Full Version : A view from the terrace - EURO special
AugustaHibs
11-06-2021, 11:06 PM
What a lot of rubbish. Was hoping for something to keep the excitement building for Monday and it was just incredibly cringe and brutal patter
11-06-2021, 11:15 PM
I turned it on by mistake and thought it was a parody of a crap comedy football show. Turned out it was just a crap comedy football show.
11-06-2021, 11:39 PM
It’s one of the worst shows on the box, absolutely garbage and the boy that hosts it gets on ma tits. Some of his facial expressions do ma head in
Stairway 2 7
12-06-2021, 12:27 AM
Absolutely terrible. Whilst I applaud they try something different on there show and don't talk about the old firm much. They have no presence and the worst patter ever. Surely has to be a middle ground between their pish and si banter Ferry and his old firm pish show
Magpie
12-06-2021, 01:44 AM
Not a fan at all, as others have pointed out, terrible patter.
12-06-2021, 05:33 AM
Watched the Peter Crouch attempt .....dismal!
12-06-2021, 05:36 AM
It’s an awful show. The podcast isn’t much better. Far too many Jambos on it, but not sure if that’s changed as it’s been a while since I bothered with it.
12-06-2021, 06:35 AM
Never watched it last night but I’ve made the same point about their normal a view from the terrace tv show.
Great concept and I really really want to like it, I just find the guys on it so irritating. The way they speak, the daft faces they pull, the crap jokes, the fact the camera goes between them 100mph, just everything seems annoying about it. It’s not because of the excessive Hearts influence either, the best of the bunch IMO is that Joel Sked as he seems the most natural while the rest of them are just trying too hard IMO.
I actually don’t mind the podcast though, goes at a far better pace IMO.
One thing I would say for them in their defence is they at least have terrific knowledge of the Scottish game, particularly the lower leagues which are so commonly ignored, the features they do on these sides can be brilliant.
I’m not sure if their knowledge of the teams in the Euros would be as good as I didn’t watch it however I suspect they’d have done their research and will have known what they were talking about. Still annoying though.
12-06-2021, 06:53 AM
Never watched it last night but I’ve made the same point about their normal a view from the terrace tv show.
Great concept and I really really want to like it, I just find the guys on it so irritating. The way they speak, the daft faces they pull, the crap jokes, the fact the camera goes between them 100mph, just everything seems annoying about it. It’s not because of the excessive Hearts influence either, the best of the bunch IMO is that Joel Sked as he seems the most natural while the rest of them are just trying too hard IMO.
One thing I would say for them in their defence is they at least have terrific knowledge of the Scottish game, particularly the lower leagues which are so commonly ignored, the features they do on these sides can be brilliant.
I’m not sure if their knowledge of the teams in the Euros would be as good as I didn’t watch it however I suspect they’d have done their research and will have known what they were talking about. Still annoying though.
Agree with this summary.
12-06-2021, 06:58 AM
Agree with all of this. I really wanted to like it but I find it unwatchable unless it’s one of the features they do which are fantastic.
12-06-2021, 07:08 AM
I think the whole show is a good concept. I think you also have to be quite forgiving because it is ultimately a bunch of amateurs chucked in front of a camera and all the nerves that go with that. A lot of the people we see on TV have been primed for it for much of their lives.
It's all just a bit forced though. Too many people involved and too many attempts to force humour rather than letting it occur naturally. Nothing kills a joke more than someone changing their voice and pulling a daft face to let you know it was a joke.
Drop a couple of the guys in the studio, do another feature per episode and it would improve the show massively.
12-06-2021, 07:15 AM
Not watched last nights yet, but I really enjoy the normal show. Just a group of lads having a look at Scottish fitba. Something we get very little of on the telly. They all know their stuff and the short films are brilliant. Yes it’s a bit cringe but it’s deliberate. Surely folk realise the budget they are on if they tried to make some really slick football analysis show it would be terrible.
I just view it like it’s intended. Not to be taken too seriously. The fact it deliberately stays away from being all about the Old Firm is a plus and I’ve become more knowledgeable about the lower leagues from watching it too.
My 16 year old son absolutely loves it so that maybe tells you where’s it’s aimed.
12-06-2021, 07:15 AM
I think the whole show is a good concept. I think you also have to be quite forgiving because it is ultimately a bunch of amateurs chucked in front of a camera and all the nerves that go with that. A lot of the people we see on TV have been primed for it for much of their lives.
It's all just a bit forced though. Too many people involved and too many attempts to force humour rather than letting it occur naturally. Nothing kills a joke more than someone changing their voice and pulling a daft face to let you know it was a joke.
Drop a couple of the guys in the studio, do another feature per episode and it would improve the show massively.
Yeah I agree with that.
It’s almost like they need an experienced presenter to calm things down a bit.
Someone to put the foot on the ball and just tell them to stop panicking to use a football analogy.
12-06-2021, 07:44 AM
I've not watched it, and if i'm honest i just dont like the way we do programmes about Scottish football in such an amateurish way.
I know this is about the Euros, but if it is in the same way as we produce the Scottish game, it wont be for me.
I'm fed up with the laddish way we present the game in Scotland, i feel it needs to be taken by the scruff of the neck and promoted much more professionally, if we dont take our game serious, why would others?
Maybe it's because i'm older, and this is the way younger people enjoy their fix of football, but for me if you treat things as a joke all the time, eventually nobody will take it serious.
12-06-2021, 07:46 AM
I've not watched it, and if i'm honest i just dont like the way we do programmes about Scottish football in such an amateurish way.
I know this is about the Euros, but if it is in the same way as we produce the Scottish game, it wont be for me.
I'm fed up with the laddish way we present the game in Scotland, i feel it needs to be taken by the scruff of the neck and promoted much more professionally, if we dont take our game serious, why would others?
Maybe it's because i'm older, and this is the way younger people enjoy their fix of football, but for me if you treat things as a joke all the time, eventually nobody will take it serious.
While certainly slicker, is that not what Soccer AM has been doing with English football for the last 20 years?
12-06-2021, 07:51 AM
While certainly slicker, is that not what Soccer AM has been doing with English football for the last 20 years?
Main stream coverage on BBC or STV should in my opinion be more professional, a soccer AM style programme does have it's place, i used to love it when Lovejoy was in charge with Helen Chamberlain, but as i mentioned in my last post, maybe it is an age thing, as i never watch it these days? :confused:
The Charlotte Church sketch was one of my favourite pieces of tv ever. :wink:
12-06-2021, 07:56 AM
I get your point and I agree there are some areas in which Scottish football could present itself far better.
Equally though I don't think any amount of polish and glitter is going to disguise the fact that in terms of the on field product we just don't have a great product, particularly when compared to England, which is an unfair but inevitable comparison.
There is certainly room for us to push and promote our game more seriously but taking an irreverent look at the game has it's place as well. The issue for me is the lack of a high quality, well researched serious show to sit alongside something like A View From The Terrace on TV or Off The Ball on the radio rather than it being a direct replacement for either. Something akin to Gazzetta Italia, which was years ahead of it's time, would be perfect.
Stairway 2 7
12-06-2021, 07:58 AM
Don't compare the two ha. When soccer am started it was completely amateurish homemade signs would fall down people in homemade costumes. Difference is your no going to crack a smile with anything on avftt when soccer am was hilarious at the start.
Even though I wasn't a fan of the boys fantasy football was the same at the start. It had tiny budget talked about all the teams in England but grew as was really funny. I've met two from avftt and patter is as crap in real life, although one was sound and a decent journalist
12-06-2021, 08:12 AM
Wouldn't even go that far. Change of presenter would work for the show. Current guy is just terrible.
12-06-2021, 08:13 AM
I get your point and I agree there are some areas in which Scottish football could present itself far better.
Equally though I don't think any amount of polish and glitter is going to disguise the fact that in terms of the on field product we just don't have a great product, particularly when compared to England, which is an unfair but inevitable comparison.
There is certainly room for us to push and promote our game more seriously but taking an irreverent look at the game has it's place as well. The issue for me is the lack of a high quality, well researched serious show to sit alongside something like A View From The Terrace on TV or Off The Ball on the radio rather than it being a direct replacement for either. Something akin to Gazzetta Italia, which was years ahead of it's time, would be perfect.
I think you have hit the nail on the head about our product not being as good compared to the English game, although perhaps if we were more professional in the way we presented our game, it would look a little better.
I feel we need to stop comparing ourselves with England, we just cant compete there, but we can make our game look better by presenting it more professionally and talking our game up at every opportunity.
There is a place for what we are getting at the moment, but for me our mainstream channels should be much more professional in their coverage, although i suppose it's quite cheap to present things as they do now and finance and giving the folk what they want, i suppose this is what the younger people want?
I just think it should maybe be on a sky channel and not our sole programme promoting and showing our product.
12-06-2021, 10:25 AM
I don’t mind it at all, it is what it is - as has been pointed out, they’re not natural TV presenters or comedians but they make a decent go at doing both, and it’s a fairly authentic look art Scottish football from fans’ perspectives. .
12-06-2021, 11:24 AM
Good thread.
Most of the views about how Scottish football are covered.
Consider this,
without BBC Scotland all we would have is pay to view companies showing Rangers and Celtic games.
That's scary.
STV have zero Scottish football shows which is a major gap in their service and a bit of an outrage.
Channels 4 & 5 Scottish football is not even on their radar.
BBC Scotland give us:
TV:
A View from The Terrace
Sportscene - Premier Highlights
Live Premier matches on ALBA
Live Friday Championship matches
Ladies Premier Highlights Programme
Live Ladies Premier matches on Alba
Mens domestic league play off matches other than Championship play off final
Scotland International Highlights
Scotland Euro Finals games Live
Radio
Sportssound - Nightly magazine programme
Sportssound - Saturday, Sunday, Midweek coverage of almost every Scottish domestic, European and International games
Off The Ball
That is a great service to Scottish football fans.
P.S. The Terrace podcast is much better than the TV programme. The guys are relaxed, natural, engaging and funny with their football knowledge to the fore. Try it.
Renfrew_Hibby
12-06-2021, 11:39 AM
Anybody been watching the Scotland feed on youtube? Not particularly good in anyway but I've had it on in the background as I do some work.
The boy Smart (hibs fan ex sun I believe) was presenting this morning.
12-06-2021, 11:42 AM
Anybody been watching the Scotland feed on youtube? Not particularly good in anyway but I've had it on in the background as I do some work.
The boy Smart (hibs fan ex sun I believe) was presenting this morning.
Is it not a different Smart who’s presenting?
Renfrew_Hibby
12-06-2021, 12:19 PM
You could be right I don't read the sun but he did mention he was a massive hibs fan
12-06-2021, 12:23 PM
It was certainly Gordon first thing this morning.
12-06-2021, 12:25 PM
It was certainly Gordon first thing this morning.
Ok Callum
vuefrom1875
12-06-2021, 12:26 PM
What a lot of rubbish. Was hoping for something to keep the excitement building for Monday and it was just incredibly cringe and brutal patter
Amateurish sh### from jambo oriented tramps.
12-06-2021, 01:21 PM
They're not really a bunch of amateurs, they're all professional journalists. I've met a couple of them, Sked and the curly dark haired one whose name I've forgotten. Decent enough blokes (despite being yams) and very much football nerds. I haven't often watched it but it seems ok to me. There's another similar 'banter' show tho which features four Scottish blokes sitting on a couch and trying to be funny which is genuinely unwatchable.
What was that long ago forerunner of these types of show that Baddiel and Skinner used to host?
12-06-2021, 05:49 PM
Didn't see it, but I understand a lot of the criticism others have posted.
It is certainly sometimes cringeworthy and amateurish, but I would say be careful what you wish for. If it gets pulled indefinitely, it will be replaced by a tv version of the Daily Record which will only cover Rangers and Celtic stuff.
I think the concept is good as is a lot of the content. A couple of the presenters need replaced though. Too much bias towards one club (Hearts) and I'd say that if it were any other club.
Amateurish sh### from jambo oriented tramps.Someone had to say it.
Unwatchable bilge.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
19-06-2021, 10:24 PM
I liked it.
20-06-2021, 07:47 AM
They're not really a bunch of amateurs, they're all professional journalists. I've met a couple of them, Sked and the curly dark haired one whose name I've forgotten. Decent enough blokes (despite being yams) and very much football nerds. I haven't often watched it but it seems ok to me. There's another similar 'banter' show tho which features four Scottish blokes sitting on a couch and trying to be funny which is genuinely unwatchable.
What was that long ago forerunner of these types of show that Baddiel and Skinner used to host?
they are professional journalists if you can call writing click bait list articles for the Evening News journalism.
w pilton hibby
25-06-2021, 04:02 PM
On BBC Scotland at 22:40 tonight.
Guest is Paul McGinn.
Repeated at midnight in BBC ONE Scotland.
HFC93
25-06-2021, 05:46 PM
they are professional journalists if you can call writing click bait list articles for the Evening News journalism.
Aye, almost every article the two Jambos write for the Evening News is essentially - 'Top five reasons why Hibs/Hearts *insert theme of the day*'. It's borderline 'journalism'.
25-06-2021, 08:02 PM
Don’t get the criticism levelled at this show. It’s odd.
These guys steep themselves in Scottish football and have created a show that shows our game in an equitable way.
Some may find it funny or other not, but this kind of show is subjective. It’s a well organised outfit regardless.
I think it’s great. Love all the little quirky isms of Scottish football and how perceptive these guys are.
I know the reason they created it is they were collectively sick of the usual drivel. Let’s just go back to that…
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
25-06-2021, 08:02 PM
Aye, almost every article the two Jambos write for the Evening News is essentially - 'Top five reasons why Hibs/Hearts *insert theme of the day*'. It's borderline 'journalism'.
Don’t read them then?
25-06-2021, 08:05 PM
Didn't see it, but I understand a lot of the criticism others have posted.
It is certainly sometimes cringeworthy and amateurish, but I would say be careful what you wish for. If it gets pulled indefinitely, it will be replaced by a tv version of the Daily Record which will only cover Rangers and Celtic stuff.
I think the concept is good as is a lot of the content. A couple of the presenters need replaced though. Too much bias towards one club (Hearts) and I'd say that if it were any other club.
Totally disagree, I think the two jambos are really diplomatic.
They really took the piss of the state of the Jambos last season.
Challenges the embarrassing tribalism in football and injects an element of humour into football supporting. Folk take themselves too seriously.
nickwhibs
25-06-2021, 08:06 PM
These guys steep themselves in Scottish football and have created a show that shows our game in an equitable way.
Some may find it funny or other not, but this kind of show is subjective. It’s a well organised outfit regardless.
I think it’s great. Love all the little quirky isms of Scottish football and how perceptive these guys are.
I know the reason they created it is they were collectively sick of the usual drivel. Let’s just go back to that…
Absolutely. I’m a big fan of it too.
25-06-2021, 08:38 PM
The content overall is excellent. Takes us into many an overlooked corner of our game. I've said it before, but it's a TV version of the still much-missed The Absolute Game. Lang may its lum reek.
25-06-2021, 08:53 PM
25-06-2021, 09:16 PM
Absolutely. I’m a big fan of it too.
Same here.
HFC93
25-06-2021, 10:58 PM
Don’t read them then?
I've given up reading the publication they write for and I presume I'm not alone given it's readership numbers these days.
ShinyFantastic
26-06-2021, 05:50 AM
Utter trash, under-funded tripe, just like most of the coverage of our game…
26-06-2021, 06:10 AM
I enjoyed it. It’s great to have non Glasgow-sentric football coverage. I find all the presenters offer something different. Even the jambos on it aren’t too jambo. The humour is typically Scottish, self deprecating and dry. The short films over the last few years have been excellent and has taught me a lot about the lower leagues/non league football in Scotland and some of the great characters we have in our game. Is some of it a bit cringy? Aye. Does that matter? Naw and if it does matter to you then don’t watch it, it’s probably not the show for you.
26-06-2021, 06:25 AM
They all need to accept the receding hairlines rather than going for the frankly ludicrous cover up jobs. 😂
26-06-2021, 07:00 AM
Enjoyed their wee film on Corby
Noticed Paul McGinn quickly moved on from the Scottish Cup Final :greengrin
One of the jambos - don’t know which one - had one of the worst imitation replica Scotland tops I have seen
Enjoyable pish
soul_driver
26-06-2021, 09:24 AM
Totally agree. Streets ahead of all the other Celtic/Rangers yawnfests on Scottish TV and radio.
He's here!
26-06-2021, 10:51 AM
They all need to accept the receding hairlines rather than going for the frankly ludicrous cover up jobs. 😂
Yep, I'd noticed that too. The sort of thing you can get away with in a draught-free studio but an outside broadcast could prove challenging :greengrin
Fenriz
26-06-2021, 03:34 PM
I saw Jim Delahunt complaining about this show a few weeks back, lamenting the lack of content aimed at middle aged men. A sentiment echoed by a few posts on this thread. Typical negativity for the sake of it.
It’s easy to tear folk down for trying to do something new and positive, but I think the guys deserve a lot of credit. They’ve effectively carved out a TV slot for themselves after spending the best part of a decade producing two to three hours worth of free podcasts every week, covering all levels of Scottish football. The many podcasters on here will recognise the hard work involved in consistently getting shows out over such a long period. Think the main presenter used to have an incredibly detailed blog covering the lower leagues too.
People might have individual quibbles regarding their approach, but they’re essentially a group of regular football fans whose passion for the Scottish game has earned them a wider platform. I think their celebratory approach should be lauded.
26-06-2021, 05:23 PM
I saw Jim Delahunt complaining about this show a few weeks back, lamenting the lack of content aimed at middle aged men. A sentiment echoed by a few posts on this thread. Typical negativity for the sake of it.
It’s easy to tear folk down for trying to do something new and positive, but I think the guys deserve a lot of credit. They’ve essentially carved out a TV slot for themselves after spending the best part of a decade producing two to three hours worth of free podcasts every week, covering all levels of Scottish football. The many podcasters on here will recognise the hard work involved in consistently getting shows out over such a long period. Think the main presenter used to have an incredibly detailed blog covering the lower leagues too.
People might have individual quibbles regarding their approach, but they’re essentially a group of regular football fans whose passion for the Scottish game has earned them a wider platform. I think their celebratory approach should be lauded.
Absolutely. The main presenter, Fowler, is a fairly intelligent guy who seems very natural in front of the camera. I really enjoy listening to him. Better than Steven Thompson and that drivel.
26-06-2021, 05:37 PM
I've a friend who's a middle aged man, and he really likes it.
26-06-2021, 05:37 PM
It’s easy to tear folk down for trying to do something new and positive, but I think the guys deserve a lot of credit. They’ve essentially carved out a TV slot for themselves after spending the best part of a decade producing two to three hours worth of free podcasts every week, covering all levels of Scottish football. The many podcasters on here will recognise the hard work involved in consistently getting shows out over such a long period. Think the main presenter used to have an incredibly detailed blog covering the lower leagues too.
adam middlemass
26-06-2021, 05:39 PM
Don’t think the jambo’s are that bad, I like it :thumbsup:
St.Kristopher
27-06-2021, 01:35 AM
I saw Jim Delahunt complaining about this show a few weeks back, lamenting the lack of content aimed at middle-aged men. A sentiment echoed by a few posts on this thread. Typical negativity for the sake of it.
It’s easy to tear folk down for trying to do something new and positive, but I think the guys deserve a lot of credit. They’ve essentially carved out a TV slot for themselves after spending the best part of a decade producing two to three hours worth of free podcasts every week, covering all levels of Scottish football. The many podcasters on here will recognise the hard work involved in consistently getting shows out over such a long period. I think the main presenter used to have an incredibly detailed blog covering the lower leagues too.
People might have personal quibbles regarding their approach, but they’re essentially a group of regular football fans whose passion for the Scottish game has earned them a more comprehensive platform. I think their celebratory approach should be lauded.
Agree. The pod is great and has been a big part of my return to a love for the Scottish leagues beyond Hibs. If the c.15 plus guys involved in the terrace pod were consulted on how to market our leagues, I believe we could offer a real alternative to the EPL.
The TV show may not be to everyone’s liking but it is still top TV for Scottish football fans. I regularly well up with the VT’s and always end up feeling the show was a worthwhile watch.
Big shout out for Tony Anderson(on the pod) one of the strongest talkers, his friendship with Fowler (the boy who started it all) is much like my own with my best mate, who was front and centre for the foundation of Hearts. We both give as much as we take. His pod shows are tremendous and unashamedly gives Hibs top fan coverage. If he got a wee segment on the TV show, I’m sure the descenders on here would be appeased. (Tony I don't know you but I'm 100% certain your screen shot-img this and sending it on 😉😂).
27-06-2021, 10:26 AM
Absolutely. The main presenter, Fowler, is a fairly intelligent guy who seems very natural in front of the camera. I really enjoy listening to him. Better than Steven Thompson and that drivel.
Firstly, a quick correction for you.
Telfer is the main presenter of the TV offering
Fowler is the guy on the left of your screen when you watch the show.
Other than that you are on beam with your assessments.
Re their Euro shows.
I enjoyed the 1st one but the 2nd one on Friday was a bit tired with the Scotland wash up pretty boring other than a funny mock up of Marshall saving the 2nd Czech goal with amazing acrobatics.
Their free online podcasts are really good and i would recommend them without reservation to any Scottish football fan.
The content of the TV show is more hit and miss and although the main presenter Telfer trying too hard to be funny can be very irratating and get in the way I appreciate they feel under pressure to entertain, something which they don't face in their podcast when they can be themselves.
I agree with how the limited budget of the show is spent I.e. on the wonderful short films rather than in the studio sections.
27-06-2021, 11:16 AM
The content overall is excellent. Takes us into many an overlooked corner of our game. I've said it before, but it's a TV version of the still much-missed The Absolute Game. Lang may its lum reek.
Nail on the head, loved TAG, still got a couple of T-shirts, including one with a photo of a mostly toothless Joe Jordan & wee Jinky J hugging each other with the banner reading 'a thing of great beauty.':cool2:
09-07-2021, 09:26 PM
The gang pick their highs and lows from the Euros tonight at 10.30 pm
10-07-2021, 05:44 AM
Quite enjoyed it despite a poor start and the absentee presenters
Liked the Hibby barman who said no way would he support Hearts if HIBS folded :greengrin
Worth a watch on catch up if you get bored