View Full Version : London pub availability for Scotland v England

Nevi_SOL
09-06-2021, 08:09 PM
Anyone know of any

EI255
09-06-2021, 08:20 PM
Good luck. I honestly don't think it'll be anywhere near what it was like in the past and I'd certainly not be wearing colours either.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

Nevi_SOL
09-06-2021, 08:35 PM
Heading down with the missus, agree with you mate won’t be the same as before.

Brummie_Hibs
09-06-2021, 08:36 PM
I know a group of ticketless fans from Edinburgh are booked into the White Swan in Pimlico

09-06-2021, 08:36 PM
Let us know if you find a place that works!

Nevi_SOL
09-06-2021, 08:38 PM
I know a group of ticketless fans from Edinburgh are booked into the White Swan in Pimlico

You any idea what bar mate?
Sorry just properly read your reply

Nevi_SOL
09-06-2021, 08:38 PM
Let us know if you find a place that works!

Will do Iain 👍🏼

Brummie_Hibs
09-06-2021, 08:39 PM
You any idea what bar mate?

...White Swan...

Nevi_SOL
09-06-2021, 08:42 PM
...White Swan...

Fully booked. Thank you for the recommendation though. Appreciate it

09-06-2021, 09:24 PM
Will do Iain 👍🏼

What about Philomena's Irish bar in covent garden?

BegbieHSC
09-06-2021, 09:29 PM
Not a single pub in Edinburgh got a space for the England game, so I’d be surprised if there was one in London. Good luck!

09-06-2021, 09:37 PM
I think Old Change beside St Paul's will be showing it. It's not the most exciting of pubs but I think that's the point (and it does have Camden Hell's on draft 🙂).

09-06-2021, 10:38 PM
Anyone know of any

5 of us booked in to the Phoneix in Cavendish Square. Quite a few Scots going there but think its full up now though.

You'll be doing well to get somewhere now mate, but keep looking you never know.

Some people have been offering up their cancelled bookings on the Pie and Bovril forum so maybe worth checking here over next few days:
https://www.pieandbovril.com/forum/index.php?/topic/267397-scots-in-london/page/17/#comments

09-06-2021, 10:58 PM
There’s been a few people I know cancelled their trip down last minute who were booked into O’Neills Carnaby Street where me and my mates are heading. Unsure if they’ve cancelled their booking there though.

Brummie_Hibs
09-06-2021, 11:10 PM
What about Philomena's Irish bar in covent garden?
Probably the most popular 'sports bar' currently in London. No chance.

Maybe try some of the big casinos around Leicester Sq. or Stratford (if desperate)

10-06-2021, 05:36 AM
Would go on tamb site Tartan army.message board as occasionally get tips for pubs there

10-06-2021, 07:09 AM
Probably the most popular 'sports bar' currently in London. No chance.

Maybe try some of the big casinos around Leicester Sq. or Stratford (if desperate)

Ah well, telly at home with a bottle of whisky open it is then 😁

10-06-2021, 07:58 AM
Not a single pub in Edinburgh got a space for the England game, so I’d be surprised if there was one in London. Good luck!

There's plenty. I've just booked 22 seats in a beer garden in Central London.

Brummie_Hibs
10-06-2021, 08:30 AM
Which pub is that. Not many pubs in Central London with beer gardens.

10-06-2021, 08:45 AM
Which pub is that. Not many pubs in Central London with beer gardens.

I would rather not say because some boys are still trying to book. This place holds 150 in the garden and has a screen up.

micksoo
10-06-2021, 09:38 AM
Booked into Fox and Goose in Ealing no idea if it’s any good.

10-06-2021, 10:55 AM
Edinburgh Tartan Army have a venue in Soho booked from 10am with a party bus to take those of us with tickets to Wembley and back. It’s a gig venue under a pub. Fully booked but the pub upstairs is first come, first served and they’ll be showing the game. The boss is happy for it to be Scottish for the day. I won’t post the name but a wee wander around Soho on Friday morning and it’ll be obvious.

Rumble de Thump
10-06-2021, 11:31 AM
The Garratt Tavern (https://www.thegarratttavernwandsworth.co.uk/index) in Wandsworth is first come first served.

Nevi_SOL
10-06-2021, 11:37 AM
Edinburgh Tartan Army have a venue in Soho booked from 10am with a party bus to take those of us with tickets to Wembley and back. It’s a gig venue under a pub. Fully booked but the pub upstairs is first come, first served and they’ll be showing the game. The boss is happy for it to be Scottish for the day. I won’t post the name but a wee wander around Soho on Friday morning and it’ll be obvious.

Thanks for that mate. Appreciate it

Nevi_SOL
10-06-2021, 11:37 AM
Thanks for all the replies 👍🏼👍🏼

penihibs
10-06-2021, 01:33 PM

Any chance you could give me details we need somewhere for 4 o us.

EI255
16-06-2021, 08:38 PM
Hearing Hyde Park is gonna be a meeting place

EI255
16-06-2021, 08:39 PM
Edinburgh Tartan Army have a venue in Soho booked from 10am with a party bus to take those of us with tickets to Wembley and back. It’s a gig venue under a pub. Fully booked but the pub upstairs is first come, first served and they’ll be showing the game. The boss is happy for it to be Scottish for the day. I won’t post the name but a wee wander around Soho on Friday morning and it’ll be obvious.The boss is happy because the boss will be counting the pounds for days!

16-06-2021, 09:15 PM
Booked into Fox and Goose in Ealing no idea if it’s any good.

I think i stayed there a few years ago. If its the place Im thinking of the food is decent and had a really good beer garden

16-06-2021, 09:27 PM

A handy small place to find people 🤣

16-06-2021, 10:10 PM
We are booked into the Greene Man on Euston Rd. Know of some that are booked into Marquis of Westminster in Pimlico.

Will head to Hyde Park first if that's where Scotland fans are congregating.

16-06-2021, 10:10 PM
The boss is happy because the boss will be counting the pounds for days!

I’m sure he’d be busy without us. He’s been very helpful and accommodating. Unlike many others we contacted.

HibeeEmma
17-06-2021, 09:40 PM
Got a pub in shoreditch booked no problem for the game

18-06-2021, 06:56 AM

Better than a sweaty pub. Stay healthy.
Protect the NHS.

18-06-2021, 05:05 PM
Loads of Scottish boys quietly waiting to get into N1 at London Bridge station

EI255
20-06-2021, 03:32 PM
Covid rife amongst Scotland fans returning from London

Well done to one and all!

20-06-2021, 03:36 PM

Where are you getting this from? Seems a bit quick for positive tests to be showing up at this stage.

20-06-2021, 03:40 PM
Where are you getting this from? Seems a bit quick for positive tests to be showing up at this stage.

Yip. If and it's a big IF you've caught covid down there, it's unlikely you'd be showing symptoms yet.

20-06-2021, 03:59 PM

Get emptied. Spreading false info about COVID not ok.

20-06-2021, 04:04 PM
Get emptied. Spreading false info about COVID not ok.

Probably some pish from a FB group or some other unsubstantiated place. Bad patter posting it here.

20-06-2021, 07:45 PM

Proof?

20-06-2021, 07:46 PM
Probably some pish from a FB group or some other unsubstantiated place. Bad patter posting it here.

Yep no way it would be showing this soon. Horrifically poor patter.

20-06-2021, 07:58 PM

Away.

I can confirm I got back a couple of hours ago. Lateral flow test says nae covid.

20-06-2021, 08:16 PM

You don’t work for the daily record do you ?

NC1875
20-06-2021, 09:59 PM

That was quick!

21-06-2021, 07:39 AM
To be fair to the poster, I know of two large groups, one of fifteen the other of eighteen, who have mostly tested positive yesterday. Also another two individuals too. All at London for the match and based in Edinburgh / Midlothian / West Lothian. Most are the antigen tests though so not convinced they all are, as they are unreliable.

EI255
21-06-2021, 08:18 AM
Get emptied. Spreading false info about COVID not ok. Sorry to spoil the parade, but I know of at least 2 who have tested positive. And that ain't false info.

Presumably you disagree with government advice etc / just plain ignorant?

Some wise words for ya. Get a grip.

EI255
21-06-2021, 08:18 AM
That was quick!That's what superspreaders do.

As I said. Well done to one and all. Hopefully for the rest of the train patrons you maybe didn't catch covid. Fingers crossed for ya

21-06-2021, 08:34 AM
Sorry to spoil the parade, but I know of at least 2 who have tested positive. And that ain't false info.

2 people means it's rife within Scotland supporters? 2?

21-06-2021, 08:37 AM
Sorry to spoil the parade, but I know of at least 2 who have tested positive. And that ain't false info.

Don’t make assumptions about me, you are clearly wrong.

I simply pointed out that it is wrong to spread false information or rumours about the pandemic.

Get a grip yourself.

21-06-2021, 08:38 AM
To be fair to the poster, I know of two large groups, one of fifteen the other of eighteen, who have mostly tested positive yesterday. Also another two individuals too. All at London for the match and based in Edinburgh / Midlothian / West Lothian. Most are the antigen tests though so not convinced they all are, as they are unreliable.

You know of 35 people who have tested positive for Covid since Friday night? A bit hard to believe, sorry

EI255
21-06-2021, 08:57 AM
Don’t make assumptions about me, you are clearly wrong.

I simply pointed out that it is wrong to spread false information or rumours about the pandemic.

Get a grip yourself.Erm. It wasnt false. I know of 2 others awaiting results but they already think they have covid. That's just people I know of and I've heard of more.

I am correct in what I say.

People like you who are happy to forget the misery covid brings.

Well done though. Just carry on eh

EI255
21-06-2021, 09:00 AM
You know of 35 people who have tested positive for Covid since Friday night? A bit hard to believe, sorryFFS. Why is that hard to believe?? Deary me.

21-06-2021, 09:01 AM
Erm. It wasnt false.

I am correct.

Well done

You are a piece of work.

I’d ask for you to provide some evidence to back up your claims, but as you are repeatedly and falsely accusing me of downplaying the seriousness of the pandemic I think it’s pointless.

Bye.

21-06-2021, 09:04 AM
You are a piece of work.

I’d ask for you to provide some evidence to back up your claims, but as you are repeatedly and falsely accusing me of downplaying the seriousness of the pandemic I think it’s pointless.

Bye.

They are best ignored.

21-06-2021, 09:05 AM
They are best ignored.

21-06-2021, 09:07 AM
FFS. Why is that hard to believe?? Deary me.

Does Mr Rhoades also double up as a Covid test centre?

21-06-2021, 09:07 AM
Erm. It wasnt false. I know of 2 others awaiting results but they already think they have covid. That's just people I know of and I've heard of more.

I am correct in what I say.

Well done though. Just carry on eh

What makes them think they’ve got Covid?

21-06-2021, 09:45 AM
Covid outbreak or not, going down to London for a big party wasn't exactly the smart move. Don't think anyone can deny that.

21-06-2021, 09:45 AM
Were any of them in close proximity to Billy Gilmour?

EI255
21-06-2021, 09:50 AM
One of guys I know who has it now off to hospital. Unbelievable.

21-06-2021, 09:50 AM
Covid outbreak or not, going down to London for a big party wasn't exactly the smart move. Don't think anyone can deny that.

Maybe but that’s a different conversation. Spreading rumours about the pandemic is utterly unacceptable.

I’d imagine at least half the travelling fans were vaccinated, which would change the risk profile a lot.

21-06-2021, 09:51 AM

Stop lying.

21-06-2021, 09:53 AM

Aye very unbelievable.

21-06-2021, 09:53 AM
Maybe but that’s a different conversation. Spreading rumours about the pandemic is utterly unacceptable.

I’d imagine at least half the travelling fans were vaccinated, which would change the risk profile a lot.

I doubt even close to half were vaccinated. Plenty of under 25s who went and they have only been getting vaccinated for 10 days or so.

21-06-2021, 09:59 AM

21-06-2021, 10:09 AM

Already? Jeez, those symptoms came on pretty quick

21-06-2021, 10:11 AM
You know of 35 people who have tested positive for Covid since Friday night? A bit hard to believe, sorry

Correct - “know of” so many a friend of a friend. One group travelled on a coach together from Midlothian and were back Sat / tested Sun. The other flew and the two individuals I also know directly. Really have no reason to post this otherwise to be honest. Would love to be wrong, given how poorly some of them are feeling.

As I also stated, I am not convinced how accurate the results from an antigen test are.

EDIT - should also keep this in the context of how many people travelled. An absolute fraction. Not intending to cause dramas or throw digs like EI with the “well done to you all” - I was in London too and arrived home yesterday evening. Great time had, no regrets.

21-06-2021, 10:11 AM

Probably not, but I had a great time and wouldn't change it.

I guess I can file it away along with - went on the pitch at Hampden in 2016.

21-06-2021, 10:14 AM

Same. Negative test this morning as well

21-06-2021, 10:16 AM

I guess I can file it away along with - went on the pitch at Hampden in 2016.
Give it a week or so before you say it wouldn't change it. Hopefully you and those you were in close contact with are okay then.

21-06-2021, 10:17 AM
Give it a week or so before you say it wouldn't change it. Hopefully you and those you were in close contact with are okay then.

That could apply to anyone who went out and watched the game in a pub on Friday.

21-06-2021, 10:24 AM
That could apply to anyone who went out and watched the game in a pub on Friday.

Yes, of course it could. London clearly a bigger risk, though. Many more people, outside of local area, many more chances to spread it (multiple pubs, hotels, transport) etc.

21-06-2021, 10:28 AM
Yes, of course it could. London clearly a bigger risk, though. Many more people, outside of local area, many more chances to spread it (multiple pubs, hotels, transport) etc.

Edinburgh has far higher rates per capita than London at the moment. Most of the fans in London were also outside for the majority of the day.

21-06-2021, 10:57 AM
Correct - “know of” so many a friend of a friend. One group travelled on a coach together from Midlothian and were back Sat / tested Sun. The other flew and the two individuals I also know directly. Really have no reason to post this otherwise to be honest. Would love to be wrong, given how poorly some of them are feeling.

As I also stated, I am not convinced how accurate the results from an antigen test are.

EDIT - should also keep this in the context of how many people travelled. An absolute fraction. Not intending to cause dramas or throw digs like EI with the “well done to you all” - I was in London too and arrived home yesterday evening. Great time had, no regrets.

Fair enough, that at least gives a bit more context to what you said.

21-06-2021, 10:59 AM
FFS what a car crash this thread has become.

21-06-2021, 11:17 AM
FFS what a car crash this thread has become.

Hopefully this will turn it round a bit, I was in your boozer for the Czech and England game, had an absolutely fantastic time, food was amazing and your staff are exceptional, pass on my thanks to them, they are a credit to you

21-06-2021, 11:35 AM
Hopefully this will turn it round a bit, I was in your boozer for the Czech and England game, had an absolutely fantastic time, food was amazing and your staff are exceptional, pass on my thanks to them, they are a credit to you

Which boozer is that? Sounds like somewhere I'd be happy to try.

EI255
21-06-2021, 12:34 PM
Already? Jeez, those symptoms came on pretty quickWhy? Most travelled last midweek. So, 5 days is quick? I'm sure it's 3 days before symptoms arrive.

Believe what you want. I won't apologise for telling truths.

What an ignorant lot. Staggering ignorance. Wow!

21-06-2021, 02:06 PM
Why? Most travelled last midweek. So, 5 days is quick? I'm sure it's 3 days before symptoms arrive.

Believe what you want. I won't apologise for telling truths.

What an ignorant lot. Staggering ignorance. Wow!

Your story has more holes in it than Turkey’s defence.

Maybe go easy on chucking around the insults eh? Not a good look.

21-06-2021, 03:31 PM

Travel to London was allowed. So of course people were gonna go down.

21-06-2021, 03:33 PM

Maybe go easy on chucking around the insults eh? Not a good look.

Just ignore him.

21-06-2021, 04:13 PM
Travel to London was allowed. So of course people were gonna go down.

Many things are allowed that are selfish, unsafe or both.

21-06-2021, 05:00 PM

Farting in the jacuzzi at the gym.

21-06-2021, 05:08 PM

IF things were unsafe. Restrictions should still be in place for travelling. :aok:

EI255
21-06-2021, 05:47 PM

Maybe go easy on chucking around the insults eh? Not a good look.Nor is your utter contempt or sheer ignorance. But hey, you'll know better eh.

Take it you haven't been touched by the misery of Covid?

21-06-2021, 07:19 PM

Thanks mate, I will. Glad you enjoyed it.

EI255
30-06-2021, 12:07 PM
Oh look!

BBC News - Football linked to 2,000 Scottish Covid cases
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-57667163

30-06-2021, 12:39 PM
Over 30,000 cases in the same period not related to football.

beensaidbefore
30-06-2021, 12:41 PM
Over 30,000 cases in the same period not related to football.

The double jab seems to be working wonders in that case!:confused:

30-06-2021, 02:39 PM

The jabs don't stop you catching it.

vercol36
30-06-2021, 03:05 PM
Farting in the jacuzzi at the gym.

That's neither selfish nor unsafe. In fact, it's probably the politest place to do it.

30-06-2021, 04:03 PM

My wife and I have both been double jabbed and both tested positive yesterday after a PCR test. Feel pretty crap so goodness knows how I’d be feeling without the jab. Definitely caught from my son who was down at Wembley and was positive a week ago.

30-06-2021, 04:27 PM
My wife and I have both been double jabbed and both tested positive yesterday after a PCR test. Feel pretty crap so goodness knows how I’d be feeling without the jab. Definitely caught from my son who was down at Wembley and was positive a week ago.

Might have been better off without the jab. Nobody seems to be able to say for certain.

30-06-2021, 04:34 PM
Might have been better off without the jab. Nobody seems to be able to say for certain.

Absolute bollocks.

Stairway 2 7
30-06-2021, 04:54 PM

What 😆

vercol36
30-06-2021, 05:11 PM

Jaysus.

beensaidbefore
30-06-2021, 05:30 PM

Or passing it on to others. So I'm led to believe.

beensaidbefore
30-06-2021, 05:31 PM

Sorry to hear that.

Had your son had any of his jabs yet?

30-06-2021, 05:48 PM
Sorry to hear that.

Had your son had any of his jabs yet?

Thanks.

No he hasn't had any jabs yet. Due to get his first at the end of this month.

Brummie_Hibs
30-06-2021, 05:59 PM
3 of my group caught it, 2 of which are single vaccinated, the other not vacinated at all.

Based on sharing symptoms and feelings on Whatsapp, there doesn't seem to be much difference between the 3.

beensaidbefore
30-06-2021, 05:59 PM
Thanks.

No he hasn't had any jabs yet. Due to get his first at the end of this month.

Sorry for prying. Hopefully he will be feeling better by the time his turn comes round. 👍🏻

30-06-2021, 06:02 PM

Yep, but some eejit on the covid thread said that if you have been vaccinated then you only get "good" symptoms. Whatever the **** that means!!!!! /

30-06-2021, 07:01 PM
Double jabbed means you are less likely to get covid & much less likely to have severe problems if you do catch it.
Not getting the jab means you are wandering about with a much greater chance of getting covid and therefore a much greater chance of spreading it to people you live with and meet.
Not getting the jab means you are much more likely to help spread new variants, including ones which may be resistant to current vaccines. It's what viruses do, it's what mass vaccination stops.
Anything else is fantasy, conspiracy & bxllocks.

30-06-2021, 07:03 PM
Yep, but some eejit on the covid thread said that if you have been vaccinated then you only get "good" symptoms. Whatever the **** that means!!!!! /

I'm guessing they mean you generally get mild symptoms from it as opposed to potentially severe illness or even death without the vaccine? I suppose in a way that is good.

30-06-2021, 09:04 PM
Or passing it on to others. So I'm led to believe.

Indeed.

beensaidbefore
01-07-2021, 07:04 AM
Double jabbed means you are less likely to get covid & much less likely to have severe problems if you do catch it.
Not getting the jab means you are wandering about with a much greater chance of getting covid and therefore a much greater chance of spreading it to people you live with and meet.
Not getting the jab means you are much more likely to help spread new variants, including ones which may be resistant to current vaccines. It's what viruses do, it's what mass vaccination stops.
Anything else is fantasy, conspiracy & bxllocks.

Do have any links to articles explaining why the double jab stops the spread? We've just had 6 cases of isolation at my work and all of their contacts were doubles jabbed. Im also keen to learn more about the vaccines stopping new variants, I'm not convinced the science is there to back up the claim.

01-07-2021, 07:34 AM

Pffft, I said this on the covid thread a couple of months ago. Got absolutely slaughtered for it by quite a few posters. Batten down the hatches.

01-07-2021, 07:44 AM
Pffft, I said this on the covid thread a couple of months ago. Got absolutely slaughtered for it by quite a few posters. Batten down the hatches.

Over 65s (who are all pretty much double vaccinated) now make up less than 2% of cases I believe.

That's either a sheer coincidence, over 65s are not leaving the house or the vaccine cuts the majority of transmission.

01-07-2021, 08:01 AM
I'm not sure if I picked it up wrong but one newspaper said that 400 of the 2,600 Scotland fans that actually attended the game at Wembley have now tested positive for Covid.

That sounds like an incredibly high percentage.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2021/jun/30/surge-in-scottish-covid-cases-raises-euro-2020-safety-concerns

Lendo
01-07-2021, 09:43 AM
I'm not sure if I picked it up wrong but one newspaper said that 400 of the 2,600 Scotland fans that actually attended the game at Wembley have now tested positive for Covid.

That sounds like an incredibly high percentage.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2021/jun/30/surge-in-scottish-covid-cases-raises-euro-2020-safety-concerns

I’d be surprised if it’s as low as 400 given how much of a spike there has been.

Both my girlfriend and I tested positive this week for it after I was in the proximity of some guys that had been in London for the football whilst I was out for the Croatia game.

01-07-2021, 09:50 AM
I’d be surprised if it’s as low as 400 given how much of a spike there has been.

Both my girlfriend and I tested positive this week for it after I was in the proximity of some guys that had been in London for the football whilst I was out for the Croatia game.

That was just the ones with tickets for the game, so 15% of actual attendees.

There's obviously hundreds* more that travelled down and didn't go to the game that have caught Covid as well.

* That last count I read was over 1,600, but that figure was from last week.

EI255
01-07-2021, 09:51 AM

Both my girlfriend and I tested positive this week for it after I was in the proximity of some guys that had been in London for the football whilst I was out for the Croatia game.Bring in the 'R' number and start multiplying the fans who returned with covid. This is super-spreading.

I read this morning that Edinburgh has some of the highest rates in Scotland now.

01-07-2021, 09:51 AM
You are a piece of work.

Bye.

https://calgaryherald.com/news/world/nearly-2000-scots-attended-euro-2020-events-with-covid-health-agency-says/wcm/e7860cf6-824f-41c5-9851-625e85244c14/amp/

01-07-2021, 06:08 PM
Bring in the 'R' number and start multiplying the fans who returned with covid. This is super-spreading.

I read this morning that Edinburgh has some of the highest rates in Scotland now.

Every train in to Edinburgh on Saturday afternoon will be heaving. Every pub will be full to the capacity allowed. It’s no exactly a surprise that Covid rates are growing but it was happening well before any of us went to London.

01-07-2021, 06:18 PM
Bring in the 'R' number and start multiplying the fans who returned with covid. This is super-spreading.

Nothing to do with the rugby on Saturday, many of whom travelled from throughout the British Isles?

01-07-2021, 09:02 PM
Nothing to do with the rugby on Saturday, many of whom travelled from throughout the British Isles?

The infections from that game will start to show up over the next few days given the incubation period for the virus. So things are set to get worse.

02-07-2021, 10:18 AM
More evidence of the impact of the Wembley trip :

SCOTLAND’s travelling Tartan Army who ventured to London for the Euro 2020 match against England were “very clearly” acting as super-spreaders, a public health expert has warned. http://www.heraldscotland.com/politics/19414806.covid-rise-scotland-cases-clearly-linked-super-spreader-euro-2020-tournament/?ref=appshr

02-07-2021, 10:19 AM
The infections from that game will start to show up over the next few days given the incubation period for the virus. So things are set to get worse.

The game was 14 days ago. The average incubation period for symptoms to show is 5.2 days.

02-07-2021, 11:02 AM
The game was 14 days ago. The average incubation period for symptoms to show is 5.2 days.

Those that came back infected can infect others who can infect others and so on. Can't be quantified so simply I fear.

02-07-2021, 11:07 AM
More evidence of the impact of the Wembley trip :

SCOTLAND’s travelling Tartan Army who ventured to London for the Euro 2020 match against England were “very clearly” acting as super-spreaders, a public health expert has warned. http://www.heraldscotland.com/politics/19414806.covid-rise-scotland-cases-clearly-linked-super-spreader-euro-2020-tournament/?ref=appshr

Wonder if there’ll be articles about all the ‘super spreaders’ all over the country getting trains and buses to reach pubs this weekend. There will be tens of thousands heading in to Edinburgh alone no doubt. Or the 16,000 who went to Murrayfield last week.

02-07-2021, 11:20 AM
I was watching the German News show 'Tagesschau' last night and there was an item about the concern the German Govt have about the spread of the Delta variant because of the mass gatherings in and around the Euros games, particularly in the UK.

They (Tagesschau, not the Govt) highlighted the concern by showing videos of the masses of Scotland fans travelling to Wembley plus large groups watching the games in pubs and then discussed the massive increase in the numbers of positive tests in Scotland as a result of these gatherings.

Merkel's viewpoint was that UEFA are cynically putting profit, and their reputation, ahead of people's health.

02-07-2021, 11:23 AM
Those that came back infected can infect others who can infect others and so on. Can't be quantified so simply I fear.

But at what point does it end? Are we going to be saying in 2 months time the spike is caused by the person who originally went to London?