View Full Version : Football apology

CJHibby
25-05-2021, 05:58 PM
Kilmarnock F.C. have issued an apology to its fans after being relegated last night. In my opinion, Hibs should have done the same.

25-05-2021, 05:58 PM
Would that have made you feel better?

All that would have achieved here was 25 threads a day on how soft we are.

25-05-2021, 06:00 PM
Oh my god.

This is becoming ridiculous.

An apology for losing a cup final issued by the club?

Relegation and losing a cup final is similar right enough.

25-05-2021, 06:00 PM
Kilmarnock F.C. have issued an apology to its fans after being relegated last night. In my opinion, Hibs should have done the same.

Are they apologising for one game or for a full season of being poor?

McSwanky
25-05-2021, 06:01 PM
Kilmarnock F.C. have issued an apology to its fans after being relegated last night. In my opinion, Hibs should have done the same.Seriously?

25-05-2021, 06:02 PM

Jeez, got my 2nd jag this afternoon and didn't realise that going back in time 7 years was a side effect.

25-05-2021, 06:02 PM
I really want to join in this thread but don’t want to get accused of trolling. :greengrin

25-05-2021, 06:03 PM
I think everyone at Hibs should be wearing itchy undergarments and spikey belts between now and the return for pre-season training.

25-05-2021, 06:05 PM

We didn't get relegated though?

25-05-2021, 06:05 PM
This has probably appeared elsewhere, but, Jackson Irvine on Twitter:

“After a tough and emotional couple of days I think it’s important to recognise the achievements of the team this season despite the overwhelming disappointment of Saturday. I wish we were able to give the fans and everyone at the club the day we all so desperately wanted.”

25-05-2021, 06:06 PM
Jesus wept. Get a life FFS.

CloudSquall
25-05-2021, 06:08 PM
I won't be even mildly content until they do a walk of shame down Leith Walk with thousands of Hibees chanting "SHAME.....SHAME....SHAME" with a wide variety of rotten fruits on hand to throw at them.

25-05-2021, 06:08 PM
Don't want apology for the cup final but Hibs probably are due to give an admittance/apology for standard of HibsTV service.

The post match interviews seem to have become shorter as we've gone through the season.

Also no extra content. I understand covid restrictions but they've managed to do silly things with Drey Wright and sponsors recently. I really wish the club did more footage around HTC.

25-05-2021, 06:09 PM
Why would Hibs say sorry to us for Kilmarnock being relegated?

25-05-2021, 06:11 PM

You need to toughen up a bit CJ, time to get off the pity potty.

25-05-2021, 06:12 PM
The owner down to the tea lady should all be dunked in a bath full of beans, that will teach them.

25-05-2021, 06:13 PM
I think everyone at Hibs should be wearing itchy undergarments and spikey belts between now and the return for pre-season training.

Why should they be rewarded?

Mr. Wonderful
25-05-2021, 06:15 PM
Nowt to apologise for, frankly.

25-05-2021, 06:16 PM
I really want to join in this thread but don’t want to get accused of trolling. :greengrin

Reported.

25-05-2021, 06:17 PM

CJHibby
25-05-2021, 06:17 PM
I think saying sorry would have been more apt than repeating the 'fine margins' line. After the Hearts semi defeat, I agreed with JR's response but we weren't close to winning that game Saturday. As many posters say, we accept mediocrity too easily as Hibs supporters. This year was our best chance at silverware I can remember in 50 years of Hibs. Can we expect any better soon?

25-05-2021, 06:19 PM

I didn’t realise we got relegated too...

As a child of Miller time onwards theres a number of candidates but this one - I’m not sure. And how do you even begin to qualify other than the obvious.

Like others, in one of the first if not the first meeting of LWT, I was there post the 2012 debacle to listen to Scott Lindsay take it on the chin.

The thing is words are cheap action is what’s called for. Anyone can throw you a line - just look at Johnson for example.

25-05-2021, 06:20 PM
I think saying sorry would have been more apt than repeating the 'fine margins' line. After the Hearts semi defeat, I agreed with JR's response but we weren't close to winning that game Saturday. As many posters say, we accept mediocrity too easily as Hibs supporters. This year was our best chance at silverware I can remember in 50 years of Hibs. Can we expect any better soon?

They can stuff any apology up their arse. I don’t want an apology, because I don’t need an apology.

To be clear, if they apologise then I want an apology because they apologised.

25-05-2021, 06:23 PM
Can you imagine our reaction if Sevco had apologised to their fans for letting Hibs beat them in a one off game?

Condescending in the extreme.

Please close this thread.

They can stuff any apology up their arse. I don’t want an apology, because I don’t need an apology.

I'm sorry you feel that way.

25-05-2021, 06:26 PM
Did Petrie/Hibs apologies in 2014, I honestly can’t remember

25-05-2021, 06:29 PM
Apology aside. People were rightly or wrongly fine with players going out for a drink at the end of the season funded by the club by the looks of it.

If it were funded by the club. Can fans expect some thank you beyond that THANK YOU sign? People have had a tough time through covid and gone extra mile for the club.

Before people jump on this. Look at what Motherwell did, even if it proves merely to be for PR. The THANK YOU sign came out when Leeann was at Hibs, seems to just get carried out of storage these days...loses it's meaning each time they drag it out.

25-05-2021, 06:31 PM
This thread went well.

25-05-2021, 06:32 PM
We lost a cup final 1-0. We weren't relegated.

25-05-2021, 06:35 PM
Apology aside. People were rightly or wrongly fine with players going out for a drink at the end of the season funded by the club by the looks of it.

If it were funded by the club. Can fans expect some thank you beyond that THANK YOU sign? People have had a tough time through covid and gone extra mile for the club.

Before people jump on this. Look at what Motherwell did, even if it proves merely to be for PR. The THANK YOU sign came out when Leeann was at Hibs, seems to just get carried out of storage these days...loses it's meaning each time they drag it out.

So we need an apology from the club and not a thank you because the more times Hibs say thank you it loses it’s meaning?

Sorry, wait, thank you.. I’m confused.

CJHibby
25-05-2021, 06:36 PM
I'm still sore about Saturday sorry :rolleyes:

25-05-2021, 06:36 PM
I'm still sore about Saturday sorry :rolleyes:

You’re welcome.

25-05-2021, 06:37 PM

Before people jump on this. Look at what Motherwell did, even if it proves merely to be for PR. The THANK YOU sign came out when Leeann was at Hibs, seems to just get carried out of storage these days...loses it's meaning each time they drag it out.Maybe there's something they could do with anagrams...

"KU NT AHOY" maybe?

25-05-2021, 06:37 PM
We were miserable on Saturday - as bad as it gets ...but cmon OP...we often don’t get to finals , or semis. Maybe next year we won’t get near at all. Would that be regular apologies then ??

25-05-2021, 06:41 PM
Maybe there's something they could do with anagrams...

"KU NT AHOY" maybe?

Yo u Kahnt ?

25-05-2021, 06:41 PM

“After a tough and emotional couple of days I think it’s important to recognise the achievements of the team this season despite the overwhelming disappointment of Saturday. I wish we were able to give the fans and everyone at the club the day we all so desperately wanted.”

Now where do I sign Mr Glass. I’m too good to play for Hibs.

25-05-2021, 06:43 PM
So we need an apology from the club and not a thank you because the more times Hibs say thank you it loses it’s meaning?

Sorry, wait, thank you.. I’m confused.

You are confused as I clearly said "apology aside".

I think I made my point pretty clearly. PR since Leeann left has just been rehashing old stuff as I think they don't know how to build on it. I may be wrong but the THANK YOU sign coming out of storage suggests I'm not, at the moment at least.

If Motherwell are offering boils down to free STs then I think there is a clear difference in narratives between the clubs. Free ST ticket offer vs. Thank You sign out of storage.

My point for clarity is I think after covid season with fans unable to attend any games the club should be planning a special thank you for when we return. Not an apology, a tangible thanks beyond that verging on pointless sign.

25-05-2021, 06:48 PM
You are confused as I clearly said "apology aside".

I think I made my point pretty clearly. PR since Leeann left has just been rehashing old stuff as I think they don't know how to build on it. I may be wrong but the THANK YOU sign coming out of storage suggests I'm not, at the moment at least.

If Motherwell are offering boils down to free STs then I think there is a clear difference in narratives between the clubs. Free ST ticket offer vs. Thank You sign out of storage.

My point for clarity is I think after covid season with fans unable to attend any games the club should be planning a special thank you for when we return. Not an apology, a tangible thanks beyond that verging on pointless sign.Hanky out!

Inconsequential
25-05-2021, 06:49 PM
I think everyone at Hibs should be wearing itchy undergarments and spikey belts between now and the return for pre-season training. With undersize balaclavas made from steel wool. That will teach them.

1875Sean
25-05-2021, 06:51 PM
Snowflakes everywhere

CJHibby
25-05-2021, 06:52 PM
I just would've preferred JR to say "we let ourselves down" or something similar instead of trotting out old cliches like we left it all out there/fine margins, etc.

25-05-2021, 06:55 PM
Hanky out!

Struggle to get the hanky out my pocket. Wallets bulging with £420.

I just would've preferred JR to say "we let ourselves down" or something similar instead of trotting out old cliches like we left it all out there/fine margins, etc.

So not an apology?

Jack's ego won't allow him to say anything that acknowledges his, or the teams failings, on Saturday.

25-05-2021, 06:56 PM

Do you mean apologise after Saturday or back when we were relegated?

25-05-2021, 06:58 PM
PR since Leeann left has just been rehashing old stuff as I think they don't know how to build on it.

Or alternatively, PR during Covid has just been rehashing old stuff as we have a skeleton staff who have been stretched thin covering their colleagues on furlough.

25-05-2021, 06:58 PM

CJ didn’t get where he is today by not needing an apology that he was going to stuff up his arse. He wanted an apology that wasn’t needed because someone else had apologised.

AliboyFC
25-05-2021, 07:02 PM

Doig did one aswell.

25-05-2021, 07:04 PM
Or alternatively, PR during Covid has just been rehashing old stuff as we have a skeleton staff who have been stretched thin covering their colleagues on furlough.

Maybe, thanks for sensible debate. They may just make "KU NT AHOY" and walk in front of me. Only have to watch what you put online when it's to do with football players it seems.

This place can be shocking at times. Genuinely feel people enjoy hounding down fellow fans on here. Sick of it so I'm out of here. Celebrate that, you know who you are.

25-05-2021, 07:06 PM
Maybe, thanks for sensible debate. They may just make "KU NT AHOY" and walk in front of me. Only have to watch what you put online when it's to do with football players it seems.

This place can be shocking at times. Genuinely feel people enjoy hounding down fellow fans on here. Sick of it so I'm out of here. Celebrate that, you know who you are.

I certainly wasn't trying to hound anyone down (even though I disagree with the OP). I was making an attempt at humour which honestly wasn't aimed at anyone.

The idea of the "thank you" letters in disorder tickles me, but the anagrams are guff.

25-05-2021, 07:06 PM
Hanky out!

The hanky is the last one to blame from Saturday.

25-05-2021, 07:07 PM
The owner down to the tea lady should all be dunked in a bath full of beans, that will teach them.

Aye, but that’s Heinz sight for you.

25-05-2021, 07:08 PM
Aye, but that’s Heinz sight for you.

Reported for patter abuse.

CJHibby
25-05-2021, 07:09 PM
Hadn't realised that some players had shown some contrition..well done those guys :clapper:

25-05-2021, 07:10 PM

Hahahaha

Apologies for reaching a Cup Final and losing. We hope you’re happy with our fifth 3rd place finish and European football as a consolation.

Honestly - just leave and go support one of the OF.

25-05-2021, 07:10 PM
Hadn't realised that some players had shown some contrition..well done those guys :clapper:

Quite an act.
Let us pray.

25-05-2021, 07:12 PM
Quite an act.
Let us pray.

Well, you are the pope, but I've already done Mass today.

25-05-2021, 07:15 PM
Would that have made you feel better?

All that would have achieved here was 25 threads a day on how soft we are.
It's a game of football for goodness sake, people have major problems in their life, his apologies for failing to win a cup final is neither here or there.

25-05-2021, 07:16 PM
Well, you are the pope, but I've already done Mass today.

You’ve done it my son? Such a calling.

CJHibby
25-05-2021, 07:18 PM
Spaceman-we had a pretty easy passage to the final and then totally underperformed. It hurt, that performance. Every single Hibs fan knew how St. Johnstone would play-and did- yet we were clueless to overcome it. Ross saying sorry for not getting tactics better would have been welcome.

25-05-2021, 07:23 PM
Spaceman-we had a pretty easy passage to the final and then totally underperformed. It hurt, that performance. Every single Hibs fan knew how St. Johnstone would play-and did- yet we were clueless to overcome it. Ross saying sorry for not getting tactics better would have been welcome.

An official statement for losing the cup final 1-0? What would be the point?

In fairness, an apology in advance should be part of the season ticket terms and conditions, with the club pre-empting the heartbreak and rage it is about to cause us yet again :greengrin

25-05-2021, 07:24 PM

Ross post match interview was almost as crap as his tactics and that is saying something.

Not to mention his crap players excluding Macey.

Some people on here have just got over it quicker than others.

25-05-2021, 07:26 PM

So you do want an apology again?

CJHibby
25-05-2021, 07:34 PM
Ross saying sorry, he got his tactics wrong is an apology dear boy, capisce?? .:confused:

25-05-2021, 07:44 PM
May be it’s about what we learned (I know, I know) over an apology.

I heard that after the cup semi exits there was a review. Which I’m told was something that would have unlikely have happened under previous regimes. We then moved on and got results in some key games. Albeit St Js still one to crack....

Now you’d have thought that such lessons from the review would have been taken onboard....

I’d imagine there will be a reflection on what went down at the weekend. Continuous improvement should become just part of what we do. But things like this can take time to bed in. Sounds like we’ve trying to do things the right way there’s no guarantees when the football Gods are involved BUT we need to learn!

CJHibby
25-05-2021, 07:53 PM
Josh Taylor could be used as a motivator as he knows how to win..that's the mentality we need to develop going forward..

25-05-2021, 07:58 PM
Josh Taylor could be used as a motivator as he knows how to win..that's the mentality we need to develop going forward..

Does he apologise every time someone lands a punch on him though?

CJHibby
25-05-2021, 07:59 PM
You're a funny guy :greengrin

25-05-2021, 08:05 PM

His family were watching the game in a city centre hostelry and I'm pretty sure they would have motivated the side, never mind Josh :casper::greengrin

25-05-2021, 08:06 PM

Ah yes, boxing where a guy never loses and fights once a year is the same as football.

We need to build a squad and consistently improve.

Lendo
25-05-2021, 08:08 PM

Genuinely lol’d at that. :not worth

25-05-2021, 08:09 PM
Ah yes, boxing where a guy never loses and fights once a year is the same as football.

We need to build a squad and consistently improve.

In all seriousness MW, if players like Porto and Murray use Andy Murray as a template for success, the whole squad should be absolutely getting Josh and his training team in for an insight into hard work, dedication, and will to win. And I'm being serious.

25-05-2021, 08:13 PM
Can you imagine our reaction if Sevco had apologised to their fans for letting Hibs beat them in a one off game?

No, they were so disgusted and ashamed they refused to come out to collect their losers medals (zero to do with Hibs fans invading the pitch).

Most can accept Hibs being beat in a Cup Final. We're pretty used to it. However the manner of the defeat and circumstances around it took this one to a new level.Think some Hibs fans are just looking for a little recognition that the club, players and manager understand that. To date, we've seen nothing, just photos of players supping champaign patting each others the back for getting 3rd in the league. Oddly, that's not enough for everyone :cb

25-05-2021, 08:14 PM
In all seriousness MW, if players like Porto and Murray use Andy Murray as a template for success, the whole squad should be absolutely getting Josh and his training team in for an insight into hard work, dedication, and will to win. And I'm being serious.

Do we not already have guys in place doing that?

I'm being serious. Ryan is doing it and still loses games and plays ****, like everyone else.

CJHibby
25-05-2021, 08:15 PM
A fighter..never loses..yeah, a terrible idea as someone to motivate other sportsmen :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

25-05-2021, 08:17 PM

You say absolutely, but do you actually know that Josh Taylor and his training team put more work and dedication in and have a bigger will to win than all our squad?

And yes I’m aware of how bad Saturday was.

CJHibby
25-05-2021, 08:18 PM
Well said Onion. I like JR but a little more humility never goes amiss..

CJHibby
25-05-2021, 08:21 PM
Wee Russell- 'will to win' is the perfect expression for what we lacked at the weekend. We DO have the ability to have beaten St.Johnsone but never really showed it, that was my biggest bugbear.

25-05-2021, 08:23 PM
You say absolutely, but do you actually know that Josh Taylor and his training team put more work and dedication in and have a bigger will to win than all our squad?

And yes I’m aware of how bad Saturday was.

I think that in elite sport, and psychology, you should glean anything you can from other top sportsmen/women to try and gain an advantage. Especially the transition from solo to team sport. Players could possibly learn from Josh and his regime. And to be honest, to do what he has done in such a single minded fashion in a brutal sport, yes, I think the squad could learn a few things.

25-05-2021, 08:42 PM
Wee Russell- 'will to win' is the perfect expression for what we lacked at the weekend. We DO have the ability to have beaten St.Johnsone but never really showed it, that was my biggest bugbear.

I can’t argue with any of that 👍

CJHibby
25-05-2021, 08:42 PM
I need to get back to my marking but thanks to all replies guys. We all want the same thing..Hibs to win the next Scottish Cup 😁

He's here!
25-05-2021, 09:41 PM
I need to get back to my marking but thanks to all replies guys. We all want the same thing..Hibs to win the next Scottish Cup 😁

I get where you're coming from with your orginal post. Sure, losing a cup final is a far cry from getting relegated but the utterly anonymous showing we put in surely merits some sort of acknowledgement/explanation from staff and players? It put a significant dampener on the season and sent us into the close season feeling frustrated and a bit bewildered as to how the manager seemed to have watched a different game to the rest of us.

25-05-2021, 09:49 PM
I couldn’t care less about apologies. And you can be sure that any statement the club put out would have been ripped apart anyway. Let lessons be learned behind the scenes and action taken to ensure we never see a performance as poor as that in a final again.

25-05-2021, 11:11 PM
CJ didn’t get where he is today by not needing an apology that he was going to stuff up his arse. He wanted an apology that wasn’t needed because someone else had apologised.

Iggy, I would like to apologise to you for the swine posters inability to identify your cultural pearls.
A simple great or super would have been sufficient but regrettably even that level of acknowledgement was not forthcoming.

LongJohnBanger
25-05-2021, 11:27 PM

CJ, this genuinely isn't directed at you, I've just seen "accepting mediocrity" too many times now and I've ripped my knitting.

What does "accepting mediocrity" even mean when there is next to nothing we can tangibly do to influence the outcome of a Hibs game?

Secondly, for the people who throw that line around, what are they doing that those who "accept mediocrity" aren't? Demanding success? How do they propose delivering that success they demand? I'm really going to need more than "erm, get a new manager in, ken?".

Callum Davidson lost 7 out of his first 10 games in charge of St. Johnstone. I can only imagine the outrage the Hibs support would display if Hibs new manager had those results given that we finished 3rd in the league, have shown a demonstrable improvement on the season before and there are people wanting the manager who's spearheaded that gone.

It isn't accepting mediocrity to point to the fact that St. Johnstone have outperformed us in the league more often than not in the last ten years. Whatever they're doing with their smaller budget we should be trying to emulate and better rather than being a bunch of snobby ***** looking down our noses because we're seemingly a bigger club than them. How very Club 1874 of us.

St. Johnstone have had four managers since November 2007, Hibs have had TEN. That works out at less than 17 months in charge on average for a Hibs manager to deliver silverware - and I say silverware because as we've seen this season, 3rd in the league is "Not Good Enough".

Guess what? They've won three trophies during that spell, we've won one. And we have the audacity to behave like the spoiled bairns in Willie Wonka and the Chocolate Factory thinking we're due something.

Our support needs to change. We are due nothing, we are guaranteed nothing, we should expect nothing and we build from there. That's not accepting mediocrity, that's the first step in building towards something better and responding to the disappointments along the way in a mature, adult fashion.

25-05-2021, 11:37 PM
CJ, this genuinely isn't directed at you, I've just seen "accepting mediocrity" too many times now and I've ripped my knitting.

What does "accepting mediocrity" even mean when there is next to nothing we can tangibly do to influence the outcome of a Hibs game?

Secondly, for the people who throw that line around, what are they doing that those who "accept mediocrity" aren't? Demanding success? How do they propose delivering that success they demand? I'm really going to need more than "erm, get a new manager in, ken?".

Callum Davidson lost 7 out of his first 10 games in charge of St. Johnstone. I can only imagine the outrage the Hibs support would display if Hibs new manager had those results given that we finished 3rd in the league, have shown a demonstrable improvement on the season before and there are people wanting the manager who's spearheaded that gone.

It isn't accepting mediocrity to point to the fact that St. Johnstone have outperformed us in the league more often than not in the last ten years. Whatever they're doing with their smaller budget we should be trying to emulate and better rather than being a bunch of snobby ***** looking down our noses because we're seemingly a bigger club than them. How very Club 1874 of us.

St. Johnstone have had four managers since November 2007, Hibs have had TEN. That works out at less than 17 months in charge on average for a Hibs manager to deliver silverware - and I say silverware because as we've seen this season, 3rd in the league is "Not Good Enough".

Guess what? They've won three trophies during that spell, we've won one. And we have the audacity to behave like the spoiled bairns in Willie Wonka and the Chocolate Factory thinking we're due something.

Our support needs to change. We are due nothing, we are guaranteed nothing, we should expect nothing and we build from there. That's not accepting mediocrity, that's the first step in building towards something better and responding to the disappointments along the way in a mature, adult fashion.Well said.

25-05-2021, 11:43 PM
Secondly, for the people who throw that line around, what are they doing that those who "accept mediocrity" aren't?
Demanding success? How do they propose delivering that success they demand?

The second sentence is great.
The answer is bleeting endlessly and pointlessly.

25-05-2021, 11:47 PM

Our support needs to change. We are due nothing, we are guaranteed nothing, we should expect nothing and we build from there. That's not accepting mediocrity, that's the first step in building towards something better and responding to the disappointments along the way in a mature, adult fashion.
What a refreshing change from the "wur pish" posts. Level headed and sensible, I hope it catches on but I fear the worst. Bravo mate.....

25-05-2021, 11:56 PM

You need to apologise for this thread and give yourself a kick up the erse.

McSwanky
26-05-2021, 01:04 AM
This year was our best chance at silverware I can remember in 50 years of Hibs.

Including the 4 times we actually did win major silverware?

I can't believe the outpouring of angst on here, people do actually realise that in order to lose a cup final you have to get to a cup final, yes?

26-05-2021, 06:05 AM

Very good post.

26-05-2021, 06:16 AM

Agree with this. Certainly don't want any sort of apology however the manager should imo have recognised in his after match comments how disappointed the fans would be. Bottom line is we have done well in the league no doubt however the mentality of players and probably coach does need to be be recognised as no way that was anywhere near good enough for a final. Jason Kerrs interview at the end he clearly said they wanted it more than Hibs and to be honest he was 100 per cent right.

26-05-2021, 06:32 AM
Agree with this. Certainly don't want any sort of apology however the manager should imo have recognised in his after match comments how disappointed the fans would be. Bottom line is we have done well in the league no doubt however the mentality of players and probably coach does need to be be recognised as no way that was anywhere near good enough for a final. Jason Kerrs interview at the end he clearly said they wanted it more than Hibs and to be honest he was 100 per cent right.

Has perhaps Jack taken one for the team in this respect?

One misplaced line in the heat of the moment could have undone much of what had been achieved - he’s talked about building a culture - a lot of that will be behind the scenes the fruits of which may appear only further down the line.

However losing was a scenario that you can have some words prepped for to counter. Maybe he just couldn’t figure out what he’d just seen.

Crunchie
26-05-2021, 06:50 AM

At least they made a game of it , I don’t think it’s too much to ask our captain on the day to apologise for what we all agree was an abject performance . I can’t think of a performance like that from any team I’ve ever watched in a cup final

GibbytheHibby2
26-05-2021, 06:54 AM

That’s the best thing I’ve seen from Irvine since he joined. Thinks he’s better than he is.

adam middlemass
26-05-2021, 07:02 AM
Very good post.
Agree 100% 👍

Key West
26-05-2021, 07:12 AM
It’s too late for an apology, you would like to think that a harsh but basic lesson was learned in that you have to work as hard as your opponents in an era where football has become much more scientific and eventually comes down to percentages and moments. We don’t have the quality just to turn up or not turn up as was the case on Saturday.

26-05-2021, 07:29 AM

I say when Fletcher scored our 5th goal against Kilmarnock we had a higher chance

26-05-2021, 07:32 AM

Absolutely fantastic post. :thumbsup:

Hannah_hfc
26-05-2021, 07:36 AM

Great post, well said [emoji1376][emoji1376]

26-05-2021, 07:45 AM

Cracking post.

26-05-2021, 07:49 AM

Outstanding post.
Thank you.

26-05-2021, 07:51 AM
Very good post.

Absolutely fantastic post. :thumbsup:

Great post, well said [emoji1376][emoji1376]

Cracking post.

Outstanding post.
Thank you.

26-05-2021, 07:51 AM

Brilliant post

Still have my doubts about Jack Ross though and the players need their backsides booted into next week

Spoilt brat or not 😃

Ten out of ten Sir!

EI255
26-05-2021, 07:53 AM
Ridiculous thread.

Really?

Can I get an apology from Lothian Buses for my bus being late?

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

26-05-2021, 08:02 AM

You don't understand the fine margins thing then.

As I've posted before, I think that had Irvine scored with his chance in the first half we would have went on to win. He didn't and ultimately St Johnstone merited the victory.

26-05-2021, 08:02 AM

Has there been much about "accepting mediocrity"? Sorry, I may have missed that because each thread is getting quite long with posts on a similar topic.

Our support is honestly not that different to any others. Fans are fickle, they are emotional and passionate. Football dies without that.

I genuinely think our fans get a really tough time: media agenda, club flattering to achieve and phrases like "Hibsed it". Adding to that, we also get grief and in-fighting between fellow fans while people are emotional.

I was brought up to be prepared to witness Hibs failing, not from external media. From Hibs supporting relatives. So, I don't think it's about people accepting mediocrity, it is more that some people are more fed up with witnessing mediocrity. That's not a dig at anyone, that's just the way it is. Some people are more emotional, some are more analytical with spreadsheets and graphs, and some are just mental.

People are different. Acceptance of that is the greatest problem in our support.

We are Hibs isn't We are the Borg.

26-05-2021, 09:33 AM

Amazing. Close the thread.

26-05-2021, 12:49 PM

What a ****in great post. :top marks

26-05-2021, 01:08 PM
That’s the best thing I’ve seen from Irvine since he joined. Thinks he’s better than he is.Lol

'thinks he's better than he is' falls right in with 'accepting mediocrity'

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

26-05-2021, 01:11 PM

What a great post. You should be on a podcast. :wink:

He's here!
26-05-2021, 02:43 PM
I couldn’t care less about apologies. And you can be sure that any statement the club put out would have been ripped apart anyway. Let lessons be learned behind the scenes and action taken to ensure we never see a performance as poor as that in a final again.

What tangible action could be taken to ensure better performances? New players? New manager? New club mentality? If that latter, how do you instill it? When you consider that as a club we've lost 19 of the 25 major cup finals we've reached throughout our history, it seems that failing at the final hurdle is a deep-rooted affliction no matter who's in the team or who the manager is. The explosion of sheer euphoria and relief which greeted the 2016 cup win was accompanied (I think) by a sense that we've finally cracked how to handle these occasions. Last Saturday was so utterly demoralising that, for me at least, it stripped a lot of that belief away.

26-05-2021, 02:54 PM
Lol

'thinks he's better than he is' falls right in with 'accepting mediocrity'

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

I know, although i'm guessing he must know Jackson and how much he rates himself. :greengrin

26-05-2021, 02:57 PM

What action could be taken?

In the last 10 years, some big sides have taken batterings or not turned up in finals.

Italy lost the Euro 2012 final 4-0. Juventus lost the 2017 CL final 4-1.

We made massive strides from 2012 to 2016. We've now had a setback. There is no need for this nonsense. Progress has been made, a setback has happened, more progress is needed.

McSwanky
26-05-2021, 03:35 PM
What action could be taken?

In the last 10 years, some big sides have taken batterings or not turned up in finals.

Italy lost the Euro 2012 final 4-0. Juventus lost the 2017 CL final 4-1.

We made massive strides from 2012 to 2016. We've now had a setback. There is no need for this nonsense. Progress has been made, a setback has happened, more progress is needed.

Yep, good perspective. You could also add Brazil in the 2014 WC semi to the list!

Let's not forget that St Johnstone have only EVER won three major honours. Two of them happen to have been in the last 12 months. Does this mean they're doing things way better than everyone else? Or have the stars just aligned this season? Did they plan for their keeper to go up the field and score a last minute equaliser against the Huns? Or did they just get lucky?

For comparison, I remember many on here a few years back bemoaning why Scotland were so far behind Iceland, Iceland clearly had the right strategy etc etc. Where are we today? Euros about to start, Scotland in them, Iceland not. Scotland 8 places above Iceland in the world rankings. Nobody much mentioning Iceland as an example for others any more.

Everyone likes to create a narrative around events. Let's see where St Johnstone are next season, and let's see where Hibs are.

To all those calling for the manager's head since Saturday: had we scored first, and held on in a dire game and won the cup, have a think about how you would be feeling about Jack Ross now. Still calling for his head?