View Full Version : Hibernian FC Cup Final Record - beware contains depressing analytics
23-05-2021, 07:02 AM
Being of an analytical mindset, thought I would look at our cup final trends. It's depressing, but as is often stated "Past performance is no guarantee of future results".
Since our cup final win in 1973 we lose three cups finals that we play, winning the 4th. Sad to say, but we may have to have another two days like yesterday before we win the next!!! Also, we win a Scottish Cup once in every century!!! And we win a League Cup once after every two losses!!!
Both competitions
1973 LC Win
1975 LC Loss
1979 SC Loss
1986 LC Loss
1991 LC Win
1994 LC Loss
2001 SC Loss
2004 LC Loss
2007 LC Win
2012 SC Loss
2013 SC Loss
2016 LC Loss
2016 SC Win
2021 SC Loss
It's similarly depressing when you look at our record in each cup.
Scottish Cup, 15 finals, 3 wins, 12 losses including 10 in a row. We win a Scottish Cup once in every century!!! For our record to be symmetrical, we'll win the next final we're at!
League Cup, 10 finals, 3 wins, 7 losses. We win a League Cup once after every two losses!!!
Scottish Cup
1887 SC Win
1896 SC Loss
1902 SC Win
1914 SC Loss
1923 SC Loss
1924 SC Loss
1947 SC Loss
1958 SC Loss
1972 SC Loss
1979 SC Loss
2001 SC Loss
2012 SC Loss
2013 SC Loss
2016 SC Win
2021 SC Loss
League Cup
1951 LC Loss
1969 LC Loss
1973 LC Win
1975 LC Loss
1986 LC Loss
1991 LC Win
1994 LC Loss
2004 LC Loss
2007 LC Win
2016 LC Loss
23-05-2021, 07:05 AM
I’m guessing a career with The Samaritans isn’t in your immediate future...
23-05-2021, 07:07 AM
We are really made to suffer as fans of this club!
The Green Sea
23-05-2021, 07:08 AM
And even more depressing to think St Johnstone have won 3 Cups in 7 years to my record of 3 in 40 years of supporting Hibs.
It also highlights how poor both Edinburgh teams have been with 3 trophies each in 40 years. Why, with the resources and support is our respective records so terrible.
23-05-2021, 07:17 AM
So the only way is up?
23-05-2021, 07:31 AM
We have been in 15 Scottish cup finals winning 3. A 20% win rate, pretty shocking.
In contrast Hearts and Aberdeen have both beeen in 16 Scottish cup finals winning 8 and 7 respectively. About a 50% win rate which you would kind of expect, all things being equal.
Can’t really explain our win rate except to say that’s sport and luck. Kilmarnock have won 3 cup finals in only 5 attempts ffs.
23-05-2021, 07:35 AM
So going by those stats we have to endure another 2 losses before we win again. 😒
23-05-2021, 07:35 AM
We will be back at hampden next season for another rollercoaster ride.
23-05-2021, 07:51 AM
To be honest, I researched the "lose three cup finals before winning the next" trend whilst depressed on the bus after the League Cup final loss to Ross County. It was maybe why I was so confident that we would beat The Rangers, though not being a betting man I didn't place any bets on it. I'm pretty sure I posted something about it on here just after one of the cup finals in 2016. I also had this trend in the back of my mind on the lead up to yesterday, but thought that surely every mathematical sequence can be broken at some point.
The joys of being a Hibs fan :rolleyes:
23-05-2021, 08:20 AM
You have missed out the Dryburgh Cup We won that twice in a couple of years
leith lynx
23-05-2021, 03:15 PM
That is painful.
23-05-2021, 03:29 PM
Because I was seduced by the dark side between the ages of 7 and 15 I don't count those years in my personal tale of cup woe. But here's my sad litany of Hibs cup finals since the first one I attended in 1979.
1979 SC ....... Hibs 2 Rangers 3 .... 2nd replay.
1985 LC ....... Hibs 0 Aberdeen 3
1991 LC ....... HIBS 2 DUNFERMLINE 0
1993 LC ....... Hibs 1 Rangers 2
2001 SC ....... Hibs 0 Celtic 3
2004 LC ....... Hibs 0 Livingston 2
2007 LC ....... HIBS 5 KILMARNOCK 1
2012 SC ........Hibs 1 Hearts 5
2013 SC ....... Hibs 0 Celtic 3
2016 LC ....... Hibs 1 Ross County 2
2016 SC ....... HIBS 3 RANGERS 2
2021 SC ....... Hibs 0 St Johnstone 1
12 finals in 40 years with 3 wins and 9 defeats and what makes it worse is that only 4 of those 9 defeats were against the Ugly Sisters, though to be fair the 1985 final was against a very good Aberdeen side who would almost certainly wipe the floor with anything the current Scottish league has to offer.
That's why it's so bloody hard to follow this club. Can there be a club anywhere that takes it's fans to the brink so often and then lets them down? Most fans in the world either follow sides who even if they lose a final will follow it up with success the following season or clubs who might make a final once every 20 years or who never expect to make a final. Hibs are part of a small band of clubs who are regular participants in finals but who are singularly incapable of winning them ... chuck in the fact that for a club of our size we consistently under perform in the league, this season notwithstanding, 3 relegations in that timeand F knows how many semi final disappointments and it's a sodding hard shift being a Hibby at times :rolleyes:
23-05-2021, 03:34 PM
Because I was seduced by the dark side between the ages of 7 and 15 I don't count those years in my personal tale of cup woe. But here's my sad litany of Hibs cup finals since the first one I attended in 1979.
12 finals in 40 years with 3 wins and 9 defeats and what makes it worse is that only 4 of those 9 defeats were against the Ugly Sisters, though to be fair the 1985 final was against a very good Aberdeen side who would almost certainly wipe the floor with anything the current Scottish league has to offer.
That's why it's so bloody hard to follow this club. Can there be a club anywhere that takes it's fans to the brink so often and then lets them down? Most fans in the world either follow sides who even if they lose a final will follow it up with success the following season or clubs who might make a final once every 20 years or who never expect to make a final. Hibs are part of a small band of clubs who are regular participants in finals but who are singularly incapable of winning them ... chuck in the fact that for a club of our size we consistently under perform in the league, this season notwithstanding, and F knows how many semi final disappointments and it's a sodding hard shift being a Hibby at times :rolleyes:
Mine isn't much better, from 2001 and on. 2 wins from 8 finals is brutal, especially because 3 of those (RC, Livi and STJ) were very winnable. Rough as ****.
Thing is, cups are what its all about. I don't support Hibs for them to win every week, but in 20 years supporting, I've seen as many cup wins as a St Johnstone fan would've this season. Thats terrible no matter how you dress it up.
23-05-2021, 03:36 PM
Just reflects where Hibs lie in the order of Scottish Football. Good enough to progress through to final stages of Cups but not enough money to convert into success. Has always been and unless something fundamentally shifts, will always be the case.
23-05-2021, 03:37 PM
Just reflects where Hibs lie in the order of Scottish Football. Good enough to progress through to final stages of Cups but not enough money to convert into success. Has always been and unless something fundamentally shifts, will always be the case.
Money didn't cost us the match yesterday. Or Ross County one.
snedzuk
23-05-2021, 04:07 PM
Thank you for a smile there. :-)
23-05-2021, 04:11 PM
Compare how much we get to Hampden compared to other clubs outwith the old firm.
23-05-2021, 04:13 PM
Compare how much we get to Hampden compared to other clubs outwith the old firm.
Our cup record would be great, if we were a plucky little side who always lost to the big boys. Its the fact we're one of the bigger boys who loses to the plucky underdogs that ruins it.
23-05-2021, 04:21 PM
If Hibs were your girlfriend or boyfriend, you wouldn't put up with that sort of treatment. Mad what club loyalty means you tolerate.
23-05-2021, 04:35 PM
Makes you wonder how to address it, there must be something inherently as a club we are doing (or not doing) that makes our win record in finals/semis so dire?
For that record to be sustained over such a long period of time it can't just come down to random chance. The players change every couple of years so what is it?
23-05-2021, 04:42 PM
Mine isn't much better, from 2001 and on. 2 wins from 8 finals is brutal, especially because 3 of those (RC, Livi and STJ) were very winnable. Rough as ****.
Thing is, cups are what its all about. I don't support Hibs for them to win every week, but in 20 years supporting, I've seen as many cup wins as a St Johnstone fan would've this season. Thats terrible no matter how you dress it up.
Our cup record would be great, if we were a plucky little side who always lost to the big boys. Its the fact we're one of the bigger boys who loses to the plucky underdogs that ruins it.
If Hibs were your girlfriend or boyfriend, you wouldn't put up with that sort of treatment. Mad what club loyalty means you tolerate.
This, this and this.
Though with number 3 it has to be said some folk are into whips & chains and enjoy a good spanking .... Hibs are the dominatrix of European football ... time for a badge change :greengrin
23-05-2021, 05:13 PM
Money didn't cost us the match yesterday. Or Ross County one.
Or the game against ferranti thistle in 2004
23-05-2021, 06:50 PM
You have missed out the Dryburgh Cup We won that twice in a couple of years
You're right.I intentionally didn't include any invitational tournament.I only included the top two Scottish Cups.
23-05-2021, 07:17 PM
Thats not really true. Livi had a team they couldn’t afford. Some top quality players in that side. They went into admin just before the final, got rid of a few token bodies but all their big players survived the chop.
23-05-2021, 07:22 PM
Makes you wonder how to address it, there must be something inherently as a club we are doing (or not doing) that makes our win record in finals/semis so dire?
For that record to be sustained over such a long period of time it can't just come down to random chance. The players change every couple of years so what is it?
It's us!!!
Us supporters are the only constants.
23-05-2021, 07:23 PM
So true :hilarious
23-05-2021, 07:25 PM
Na, that was only money that time. They way outspent us then,
23-05-2021, 08:01 PM
It's a good comparison: at times being a Hibs fan feels like an abusive relationship. You keep giving them one more chance, but they never change.
23-05-2021, 08:13 PM
That's why it's so bloody hard to follow this club. Can there be a club anywhere that takes it's fans to the brink so often and then lets them down? Most fans in the world either follow sides who even if they lose a final will follow it up with success the following season or clubs who might make a final once every 20 years or who never expect to make a final. Hibs are part of a small band of clubs who are regular participants in finals but who are singularly incapable of winning them ... chuck in the fact that for a club of our size we consistently under perform in the league, this season notwithstanding, 3 relegations in that timeand F knows how many semi final disappointments and it's a sodding hard shift being a Hibby at times :rolleyes:
For me the 2 worst were 2012 (goes without saying) and 2004 when we got beat by Livvie. We beat both of the OF that year and still managed to **** it up in the final.
23-05-2021, 08:20 PM
Plenty worse teams out there that never win anything, try supporting them if you want.
At least we do manage to win things and sometimes are great to watch.
I'm not sure many fans get the feeling we had on 21st May 2016 either, it was completely unique and I wouldn't trade it for anything.
I don't enjoy losing but I understand where we are in the bigger picture of football.
23-05-2021, 08:29 PM
We have been in a lot of finals and semis in last 10 years . Yesterday was our 4th SC final in 10 years - only Celtic can better that I`d imagine . Even in the 70s we only got to 2 SC finals .
Obviously we`ve lost a lot of finals in both cups but in LC we won the 2 ( Dunfermline and Killie ) when we were favourites ( Livi were higher in league than us and Ross County a division higher ) and in SC yesterday was probably the first time in last 50 years ( finals of 72 , 79 , 01 , 12 , 13 , 16 , 21 ) that many considered us to be favourites ( many didn`t - I certainly wasn`t expecting us to win yesterday ) . So not a great cup final record but not as bad a cup record in last decade especially as people might think .
23-05-2021, 08:37 PM
Plenty worse teams out there that never win anything, try supporting them if you want.
I'm not sure many fans get the feeling we had on 21st May 2016 either, it was completely unique and I wouldn't trade it for anything.
I don't enjoy losing but I understand where we are in the bigger picture of football.
This is another good point. The fans of the majority of clubs never see their team reach a major final. It can be difficult for us, but imagine supporting a club that has spent its entire history in the lower divisions, never even seeing top flight football. In many senses we are very lucky, but of course it doesn't feel like it following another Hampden defeat.
23-05-2021, 08:45 PM
Maybe for Hibs the Scottish Cup is like the Faery Flag (which resides in Dunvegan Castle and can only be used 3 times ;)
StockholmHibs
23-05-2021, 08:48 PM
We have been in 15 Scottish cup finals winning 3. A 20% win rate, pretty shocking.
In contrast Hearts and Aberdeen have both beeen in 16 Scottish cup finals winning 8 and 7 respectively. About a 50% win rate which you would kind of expect, all things being equal.
Can’t really explain our win rate except to say that’s sport and luck. Kilmarnock have won 3 cup finals in only 5 attempts ffs.
Aye but we have got a good derby record,,,,aw naw wait the now. We are an absolute disgrace of a football club. How the fu** have we a huge fanbase?
23-05-2021, 08:55 PM
Aye but we have got a good derby record,,,,aw naw wait the now. We are an absolute disgrace of a football club. How the fu** have we a huge fanbase?
Like all clubs, it's passed down through families. I've blamed my old man for many bad defeats. I wouldn't have to deal with it but for him :greengrin
hibbydog
23-05-2021, 09:27 PM
Outbreak of common sense on Hibs.net the day after a cup final defeat?
Surely not!
FWIW I totally agree. You can either curse your luck that Hibs always show potential but c0ck it up on the big occasion, or remember that We’re lucky enough to be knocking on the door more often than not.
The statistics are terrible, and Current final defeats are painful. But they also show that we’ll probably be back soon.
23-05-2021, 09:31 PM
The tricky part is setting up for a fall.
You want to be confident and positive but there is also something about realising that at times we are nearly actually the under dogs.
It’s the same with the Derby - if we actually used that to spur us on we actually be more successful in these games.
I sometimes think nearly over confidence or weak mindset leads to a loss or poor performance.
If I was Hibs recruitment a strong mindset is one of the most important areas I would look at when adding players.
24-05-2021, 01:25 PM
Another statistic that can’t be overlooked, and was mentioned by Kevin Nisbet last week (either seriously or jokingly) is the “Hibs score first, we’ll win”.
Absolutely true - pretty much!!
In all cup finals in my lifetime from ‘58 onwards, mostly mentioned previously, we win finals when we score first - fact. OK - one exception - the 79 final we scored first in was the 2nd replay and lost but at least it was a Hibs player who scored the winner. :rolleyes:
24-05-2021, 01:35 PM
Another statistic that can’t be overlooked, and was mentioned by Kevin Nisbet last week (either seriously or jokingly) is the “Hibs score first, we’ll win”.
Absolutely true - pretty much!!
In all cup finals in my lifetime from ‘58 onwards, mostly mentioned previously, we win finals when we score first - fact. OK - one exception - the 79 final we scored first in was the 2nd replay and lost but at least it was a Hibs player who scored the winner. :rolleyes:
Not just cup finals this season. Only twice have we came back to win (Alloa & Ross County). And is exactly what I expected on Saturday as well, score first and we will win
Roxyhibee
24-05-2021, 01:50 PM
Being of an analytical mindset, thought I would look at our cup final trends. It's depressing, but as is often stated "Past performance is no guarantee of future results".
Since our cup final win in 1973 we lose three cups finals that we play, winning the 4th. Sad to say, but we may have to have another two days like yesterday before we win the next!!! Also, we win a Scottish Cup once in every century!!! And we win a League Cup once after every two losses!!!
Both competitions
1973 LC Win
1975 LC Loss
1979 SC Loss
1986 LC Loss
1991 LC Win
1994 LC Loss
2001 SC Loss
2004 LC Loss
2007 LC Win
2012 SC Loss
2013 SC Loss
2016 LC Loss
2016 SC Win
2021 SC Loss
Scottish Cup, 15 finals, 3 wins, 12 losses including 10 in a row. We win a Scottish Cup once in every century!!! For our record to be symmetrical, we'll win the next final we're at!
League Cup, 10 finals, 3 wins, 7 losses. We win a League Cup once after every two losses!!!
Scottish Cup
1887 SC Win
1896 SC Loss
1902 SC Win
1914 SC Loss
1923 SC Loss
1924 SC Loss
1947 SC Loss
1958 SC Loss
1972 SC Loss
1979 SC Loss
2001 SC Loss
2012 SC Loss
2013 SC Loss
2016 SC Win
2021 SC Loss
League Cup
1951 LC Loss
1969 LC Loss
1973 LC Win
1975 LC Loss
1986 LC Loss
1991 LC Win
1994 LC Loss
2004 LC Loss
2007 LC Win
2016 LC Loss
Was at them all and I was also at the 2 before that 1969 (6-2) and 1972 (6-1) both painful to a young man, but Celtic were consistently one of the top 4 clubs in Europe back then.
Livvy in 2004 was a bad feeling but wasn’t that unexpected as they were spending way off their scale with a strong experienced squad, were above us in the league and we had a lot of youngsters on the park that day.
2012 was obviously the worst ever which I never want to experience again but too had mitigating circumstances - but I’d put Saturdays performance 2nd worst to that. An absolutely disgraceful performance from players and manager which will live long in the memory I’m sure. Still cannot believe how bad our tactics were, how low our motivation was and how pathetic our fight was.
It’ll be a long time before we get any, let alone double chance to win either Cup in those non old firm circumstances again trust me, which St Johnstone have just achieved with a decent squad, great fighting qualities and a manager with a plan.
24-05-2021, 06:03 PM
Same miserable record as me. St Johnstone done more in last 7 years than we have seen in our lifetimes.
24-05-2021, 06:06 PM
The most let down support in Scottish Football history surely
24-05-2021, 06:11 PM
Guessing the likes of East Stirling and Albion Rovers might have had it a wee bit worse.
24-05-2021, 06:33 PM
Guessing the likes of East Stirling and Albion Rovers might have had it a wee bit worse.
Hmm I wouldn’t think so. We’d have been better getting best from QOTS rather than another failure to be ridiculed with
24-05-2021, 07:03 PM
Hmm I wouldn’t think so. We’d have been better getting best from QOTS rather than another failure to be ridiculed with
Not in a million years.
24-05-2021, 08:57 PM
Not in a million years.
Absolutely correct, flash. Most Scottish clubs would kill to be in our position.
Feed McGraw
24-05-2021, 09:09 PM
72 & 74 The league cup finals were. Sorry I'm a bit OCD with dates.
Feed McGraw
24-05-2021, 09:15 PM
72 & 74 The league cup finals were. Sorry I'm a bit OCD with dates. Oh, I see that there are other dates where you are saying it's the following year as in 1972/73 or 1993/94 season. Right ok, got it.
Feed McGraw
24-05-2021, 09:26 PM
Just realised it looks like I`m talking to masel` - its over 60 years supporting Hibs what`s done it !! :greengrin
24-05-2021, 09:38 PM
Just realised it looks like I`m talking to masel` - its over 60 years supporting Hibs what`s done it !! :greengrin
To be fair, it could be worse. Over sixty years supporting Hibs would have had anyone else in a straitjacket. :greengrin
24-05-2021, 09:51 PM
This, this and this.
Though with number 3 it has to be said some folk are into whips & chains and enjoy a good spanking .... Hibs are the dominatrix of European football ... time for a badge change :greengrin
I don’t know. Hibs appear to be versatile in the bedroom. They’re very good at taking spankings too
25-05-2021, 01:09 AM
In my lifetime Hibs have made the Scottish Cup Final 8 times, with a score of
1 win and 7 losses.
Thankfully I wasn’t born a few years earlier or it would have been 1 win and 8 losses.
Yorkshire HFC
25-05-2021, 05:37 AM
Alternatively, has there ever been a better time to be a Hibs fan?
Winning regularly in the league (in the top division), regular trips to Hampden for Cup semi finals and finals, young home grown players coming through and breaking into the first team, a manager recently linked with the Celtic job, a new Chairman with loads of money etc.
What else do Hibs fans want? Apart from actually being able to go to the games.
Hibs don't have any divine right to beat anyone - there is a massive sense of entitlement on this website, which I don't think is reflective of the Hibs support. If you didn't enjoy the Cup run, then why are you a football fan?
25-05-2021, 06:59 AM
Winning regularly in the league (in the top division), regular trips to Hampden for Cup semi finals and finals, young home grown players coming through and breaking into the first team, a manager recently linked with the Celtic job, a new Chairman with loads of money etc.
Hibs don't have any divine right to beat anyone - there is a massive sense of entitlement on this website, which I don't think is reflective of the Hibs support. If you didn't enjoy the Cup run, then why are you a football fan?
some fair points.
I do however think that the least we have a right to expect is that our team turns up for more than a couple out of every ten big games.
Overall the season has been solidly impressive if unspectacular. But that display on Saturday fell well short of most of our standards. Even if it apparently didn’t fall short of Jack Ross’s.
25-05-2021, 09:01 AM
My nana used to say this years ago, that you are as well losing in round 1 than getting to the final and losing, but id rather get to lots of finals and lose than get pumped in the early stages. You have to be in the final to have a chance, and as 2016 proved, anything is possible, we will win things again and it will be great, we will also get to other finals and lose to teams that are eye bleeding to watch.
25-05-2021, 09:21 AM
No chance. I've seen Hibs win 2 cups. My dad has seen us win 4. Plenty of fans go their entire life without even seeing their team win 1.
Saturday was a big missed chance but we aren't suddenly some fodder club.
He's here!
25-05-2021, 09:50 PM
It's a good comparison: at times being a Hibs fan feels like an abusive relationship. You keep giving them one more chance, but they never change.
Why is that? The players, managers, coaching staff and club officials are endlessly changing yet our record in the finals of domestic cup competitions is, as the orignal post shows, almost beyond logical understanding. 25 finals and 19 defeats!?! Fair enough if we were playing Celtic or Rangers in all those games but that was far from the case.
25-05-2021, 09:56 PM
Seen the thing about entitlement cropping up a few times. As regards the weekend I couldn’t disagree more. Always knew there was a chance we could lose the game. But in that manner? I don’t think it’s being entitled to expect your team to give their all in a cup final and ours didn’t.
25-05-2021, 10:12 PM
I'm glad of our history up to 2016, because that day was all the sweeter for it, to the point that very few fans of other teams will experience something that would come even close. Since then, however, it's been disappointing that we've missed opportunities. I have faith that we'll come good sooner rather than later.
Numptie
18-12-2021, 12:58 PM
You could look on the brighter side, some of the teams that have made it to finals have been fairly crap. Our record for getting to semi finals is amazing, given our league positions in those years.
18-12-2021, 01:13 PM
It’s just randomness, not a pattern. We could win our next five finals and change the whole scenario.
Hibs07p
19-12-2021, 05:12 AM
What is our league cup record in finals played in December?
Clutching at straws here.
1972 9th December Celtic 1 - 2 Hibs.
Scottish Cup Winners 2016
adam middlemass
19-12-2021, 06:16 AM
Yes my first cup final was against Celtic in 68/69 season L/C, beaten 6-2. Second one a couple of years later in S/C, beaten 6-1. We then won the league cup in 72/73, Hibs 2 - 1 Celtic. Sitting here after all these years I would never have believed our record would have been as poor as it is, but that day in May 2016-in my book anyway, made up for all that heartbreak, I can assure you! :flag:
HibeeHibernian4
19-12-2021, 07:31 AM
Unfortunately it goes further back than 1972*, since we won the league for the last time in 1953, we then lost three finals before winning our next trophy (1972 LC), then the every fourth final continues from there. Final two out of four of the streak today, break the curse Hibs!
Steven79
19-12-2021, 08:30 AM
The most let down support in Scottish Football history surelyDundee United can't be far off...
Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
19-12-2021, 08:40 AM
Dundee United can't be far off...
17 finals, 4 wins
Steven79
19-12-2021, 08:48 AM
17 finals, 4 winsDoes that include their EUFA cup final?
19-12-2021, 09:02 AM
Does that include their EUFA cup final?
actually no, make it 4 wins in 18 finals
19-12-2021, 09:17 AM
17 finals, 4 wins
It’s a poor return to say the least
Dr What If?
19-12-2021, 09:26 AM
actually no, make it 4 wins in 18 finals
To be fair, if one of our cup final defeats was in the UEFA cup I think I might let the club off with that :greengrin. I remember that United team, some side.....think they lost to St Mirren in the Scottish Cup final that year too. There was a shock in the FA Cup that year with Coventry winning the cup.....an absolute superstar of the game got their winner that day, a certain Keith Houchen.
Steven79
19-12-2021, 09:09 PM
actually no, make it 4 wins in 18 finalsThey lost so many Scottish Cup finals in the 80's under Jim McLean.
They should have won far more trophies under him but playing the same team week in week out cost them.
oramhibee
19-12-2021, 09:40 PM
26 Scottish & League cup final appearances. We’ve only won 6. No matter how many we win in the future, we’ll always have 20 more appearances than wins
Steven79
19-12-2021, 09:41 PM
26 Scottish & League cup final appearances. We’ve only won 6. No matter how many we win in the future, we’ll always have 20 more appearances than winsThat's a depressing stat.
19-12-2021, 09:46 PM
You could look on the brighter side, some of the teams that have made it to finals have been fairly crap. Our record for getting to semi finals is amazing, given our league positions in those years.
Is our semi final record even worse than our final record? I dread to think! :-)
19-12-2021, 09:53 PM
They lost so many Scottish Cup finals in the 80's under Jim McLean.
They should have won far more trophies under him but playing the same team week in week out cost them.
They were unlucky in their finals. 81 they hadn't hit top strength and 87 and 88 they were on the downward slide.
A lot of why they won the league in 82/83 was down to playing the same team. They were lucky to avoid injuries, but I think they won the league using something unbelievable like 14 players. They should also have been in the European Cup Final in 1984, and who knows?
19-12-2021, 09:55 PM
My factual analysis:
Winning a cup final is the dog's bollocks.
Losing in a cup final is better than losing in the semi.
Losing in a semi is better than losing in the quarters.
Losing in the quarters etc........
The reality is that in the last 10 years we have over-achieved in terms of our overall progression in the cups. Glass half full, not half empty.
19-12-2021, 10:04 PM
Both competitions
1973 LC Win
1975 LC Loss
1979 SC Loss
1986 LC Loss
1991 LC Win
1994 LC Loss
2001 SC Loss
2004 LC Loss
2007 LC Win
2012 SC Loss
2013 SC Loss
2016 LC Loss
2016 SC Win
2021 SC Loss
Scottish Cup
1887 SC Win
1896 SC Loss
1902 SC Win
1914 SC Loss
1923 SC Loss
1924 SC Loss
1947 SC Loss
1958 SC Loss
1972 SC Loss
1979 SC Loss
2001 SC Loss
2012 SC Loss
2013 SC Loss
2016 SC Win
2021 SC Loss
League Cup
1951 LC Loss
1969 LC Loss
1973 LC Win
1975 LC Loss
1986 LC Loss
1991 LC Win
1994 LC Loss
2004 LC Loss
2007 LC Win
2016 LC Loss
So to continue that run. We have to lose our next final which is the Scottish Cup, but the next final after that which is the League Cup we win. I think. 😏
19-12-2021, 10:14 PM
26 Scottish & League cup final appearances. We’ve only won 6. No matter how many we win in the future, we’ll always have 20 more appearances than wins
You can twist that stat however you like. If we win our next 100 that record is pretty phenomenal.
19-12-2021, 10:25 PM
You can twist that stat however you like. If we win our next 100 that record is pretty phenomenal.
Well, that's just what we should do. And let's face it, when each of us got into this Hibs nonsense we believed that was possible. The only reason we're still going week in week out is the aftershock of that fitba supernova when we found the Hibs.
We shouldn't be doing this. We're adults. But I'm signing up for us winning the next 100 finals right now.
19-12-2021, 11:41 PM
Why does everything see to be tagged analytics?
20-12-2021, 03:37 AM
Isn’t it incredible that we have been so consistent in cup competitions since the turn of the century. Eight national cup finals. We may only have won two of those but most clubs would be proud of a record like that. In 55 years of watching Hibs I have never known a time when we have been to Hampden so often and the statistics on this thread tell me it has never happened previously in our history.
My advice? Enjoy it while we can, celebrate the success of it and hope to improve on that final hurdle.
20-12-2021, 06:16 AM
So in a nutshell we #Perevered
shilst that past May ot ba a predictor of the future some don’t half dwell on it. I think Stubbs and his staff and players took a different mindset.
this thread is almost funny in a way - whilst we sing @“?£ yer 1902 n this thread are some in danger of wallowing in it? We got the monkey off our back do we now need to cut the millstone all round our necks too? Let’s look forward not back what’s done is done and can’t be undone as one playwright wrote.
20-12-2021, 07:37 AM
Isn’t it incredible that we have been so consistent in cup competitions since the turn of the century. Eight national cup finals. We may only have won two of those but most clubs would be proud of a record like that. In 55 years of watching Hibs I have never known a time when we have been to Hampden so often and the statistics on this thread tell me it has never happened previously in our history.
My advice? Enjoy it while we can, celebrate the success of it and hope to improve on that final hurdle.
20-12-2021, 10:55 AM
So the good news is we’ve only one more soul crushing final to go through now and then we can get ready to party?
20-12-2021, 11:37 AM
Aye. Cross our fingers that we get Rangers in the final more often.
20-12-2021, 11:47 AM
We've been to more cup finals than Hearts but they've somehow won twice as many cups as us.
Thats a real bug bear as we really should have at least as many trophies as them.
We could quite conceievably have won the last four domestic cups in Scotland as well when you think about it.
20-12-2021, 11:49 AM
So the take away is 'must do better'?