View Full Version : Exactly the performance I feared
22-05-2021, 03:21 PM
Jack Ross changed nothing from the previous St Johnstone games. They have our number. Completely nullified our front 3 to the point that they must have had the least touches they have ever had in a game.
Ross needed a new game plan, I don’t know what, but he couldn’t find anything. The poorest Hibs performance in a final for a good while.
22-05-2021, 03:24 PM
Absolutely shocking 🤯
22-05-2021, 03:27 PM
There’s little he can do when the front players offer nothing and we pass it painfully slow.
St Johnstone had every player behind the ball, that’s when you see how good your players actually are.
There was a point Murphy was trying to do it all himself.
Davy Mac
22-05-2021, 03:27 PM
We're just not solid enough as a team/group.
Also, where was the energy today?
Baffling as fxxx
The good Hibs teams recently have had a midfield that tries to break the lines whereas this team keeps taking the easy option and floating safe balls into Doidge.
Our only pace is Boyle and is a problem but we could be putting pace on the ball with dynamic play and turning the opposition defence that way.
Jackson Irvine has been disappointing as I thought he would be breaking from deeper and linking with the forwards but after starting like that initially his game has regressed to being almost another tall target man that the ball is pumped up to rather than linking through with quickbpassing moves.
This is where I fear the manager has taken his game and made him lose what were his most dangerous attributes, and that is worrying since its the dour tactics that will be our undoing
22-05-2021, 03:29 PM
Ross out
Jack Ross changed nothing from the previous St Johnstone games. They have our number. Completely nullified our front 3 to the point that they must have had the least touches they have ever had in a game.
Ross needed a new game plan, I don’t know what, but he couldn’t find anything. The poorest Hibs performance in a final for a good while.
spot on. We started slow, and never got going.
PPZPOL
22-05-2021, 03:30 PM
Was the performance I feared as well.
Flat, leggy, slow, predictable and boring.
22-05-2021, 03:31 PM
Said it many times this season, this team will continually let you down.
- We barely tackled today
- No aggression
- 15 minutes to go in a cup final and no desire
Not a single character in that team
22-05-2021, 03:31 PM
Needed Allen in the park not the stand. Sadly all too predictable from Ross and Hibs.
22-05-2021, 03:33 PM
Was the performance I feared as well.
Flat, leggy, slow, predictable and boring.
100% anyone saying otherwise is deluded. There can be no defending that performance. Saints played well enough without being great and it was more than enough to win them the game. Hibs tied the ribbons on for them
22-05-2021, 03:34 PM
It's scary that the keeper saves a penalty, then the rebound, with 15 mins to go and we still can't even get close to their goal.
Hannah_hfc
22-05-2021, 03:36 PM
It's scary that the keeper saves a penalty, then the rebound, with 15 mins to go and we still can't even get close to their goal.
It’s scary that this didn’t give the team any drive to get up the pitch and score
Davy Mac
22-05-2021, 03:36 PM
Even Ron's big player bonus today didn't do the trick.
They looked like they couldn't be arsed, again.
Mind you the achieved their league bonus last week but when they look back when they are retired, medals mean more.
22-05-2021, 03:37 PM
We've got that performance in our locker.
We see performances like that much more often than we see us perform well.
Big changes needed in the summer.
22-05-2021, 03:37 PM
Needed Allen in the park not the stand. Sadly all too predictable from Ross and Hibs.
True but Allan was cup tied, so not an option.:rolleyes:
22-05-2021, 03:38 PM
Absolutely horrendous display. Was very similar to the Livvy final in 2004? Just nothing offered, no energy no fight, no desire.
Davy Mac
22-05-2021, 03:39 PM
I see Hibs have wheeled out Macey for the Beeb, aye, says it all really.
22-05-2021, 03:41 PM
Jack Ross special, too many times we've played like that this season, mostly in key moments as well.
skyehibee
22-05-2021, 03:41 PM
So predictable. Hoof ball all 2nd half which St Johnstone would mop up all day long.
22-05-2021, 03:42 PM
The game was crying out for a playmaker. To see Scott sitting in the stand, when 30 minutes of his magic would be enough to change the game, was soul destroying.
22-05-2021, 03:42 PM
It sounds odd to say but the tactical display and player's performance was both surprising and unsurprising.
Unsurprising in that it's literally a carbon copy of every game Vs St Johnstone this season.
Surprising in that Jack Ross and the players appeared to have learned absolutely nothing from the last 3 games against them. I mean if you can't manage something different at the 4th time of asking what's the point?
Today was a day for Jack Ross to be bold and make an impact both tactically and in his player selection, instead both he and the players played right into their hands from minute 1.
Poor show today, I hope that's a massive kick up the ars* for everyone involved today and that Ross realises he needs a team next year who can score when they dominate possession and who can come back into a game when they concede first.
PPZPOL
22-05-2021, 03:43 PM
100% anyone saying otherwise is deluded. There can be no defending that performance. Saints played well enough without being great and it was more than enough to win them the game. Hibs tied the ribbons on for them
We just turn up and hope the other team are a wee bit worse than us on the day to win rather than playing on the front foot and dictating the pace of a game and winning it ourselves. Breaks my heart.
Davy Mac
22-05-2021, 03:45 PM
We just turn up and hope the other team are a wee bit worse than us on the day to win rather than playing on the front foot and dictating the pace of a game and winning it ourselves. Breaks my heart.
Complete opposite against DUtd, how can this be.
gaz1875
22-05-2021, 03:49 PM
With the odd exception that was our standard cup final performance. Other than 1979 defeat every other one we have never turned up.
Scott Allan not available as cup tied today but my biggest fear is that he's going to be released and we go with the same flat, sideways pedestrian football we've seen so often this season.
Jack cannot get a playmaker like Scott to work with his 2 up front.
Scott in advanced midfield ahead of Gogic and Irvine would be effective and exciting with Boyle out wide of them too but neither Nisbet or Doidge seem capable of being the lone front man.
I'd snatch any offer for Nisbet that has been spoken of £2/3m and see if there's a suitable player that will work like a trojan up front to link up with Allan and Irvine coming from deep, maybe Doidge could be worked on in pre season?
All worthless speaking about though as Jack just isn't going to be thinking like that and we'll lose our talismanic midfielder before the manager follows not far behind I'd imagine
Timid, no desire or belief and precious little football on show. No winners and no leaders, just a typical Hampden performance from Hibs.
It's happened so often over the years with numerous different squads,players and managers and the outcome is the same!
I'd rather watch players who give 100% and fall short because the better team wins rather than a group weak minded losers who are too frightened to get stuck in and make things happen.
Predictable outcome long before a ball was kicked.
hhibs
22-05-2021, 04:09 PM
With the odd exception that was our standard cup final performance. Other than 1979 defeat every other one we have never turned up.
Absolutely,yet another surrender.
22-05-2021, 04:13 PM
Even then it took a stonewall denied Colin Campbell penalty and a very unfortunate Arthur Duncan own goal back in the day. We got our revenge in 2016 but today was a complete capitulation against an ordinary team. So sickening.
22-05-2021, 05:12 PM
spot on. We started slow, and never got going.
We started slow and got slower as the game wore on, as poor a final display as I can remember, just scunnered.
gazzag70
22-05-2021, 05:19 PM
Completely agree, the minute I seen the lineup my biggest fears were realised. Instead of learning from our previous inept performances against St Johnstone he went with the same tactics and team.
I think Ross will never win a big game whether it be with us or any other team he manages.
22-05-2021, 05:22 PM
Should have made subs at half time but didn’t once again.
If you are going to win a cup final you need some standout performances - even early on you could see we weren’t clicking in the middle to final 3rd.
Would love to know how many touches of the ball Boyle actually had.
The front 3 got no service and didn’t offer much when they rarely got the ball.
We had 2 shots on goal the whole game and they had 8.
Today wasn’t a co-incidence- it was wrong tactics / preparation and team selection.
22-05-2021, 05:23 PM
There’s little he can do when the front players offer nothing and we pass it painfully slow.
St Johnstone had every player behind the ball, that’s when you see how good your players actually are.
There was a point Murphy was trying to do it all himself.
Playing a lopsided 442 with no left winger and someone in Newell who slows the game down, which is the opposite to what is effective against St Johnstone, is on Jack Ross. That the players didn’t perform is on them but also very predictable given Ross set us up in the exact same way that hasn’t been effective against them season.
What has Jack Ross learned from the previous games?
22-05-2021, 05:26 PM
Playing a lopsided 442 with no left winger and someone in Newell who slows the game down, which is the opposite to what is effective against St Johnstone, is on Jack Ross. That the players didn’t perform is on them but also very predictable given Ross set us up in the exact same way that hasn’t been effective against them season.
What has Jack Ross learned from the previous games?
I’m glad someone else picked up on this.
Rooney is one of their most dangerous players - why no left player keeping him occupied. We seemed to play down that left side a lot and rarely caused them any problems. Meant Boyle didn’t get a touch and when it did come to him it was slow and had defenders around him / no space in front.
Irvine isn’t a left midfielder before anyone says he’s suited there.
The Green Sea
22-05-2021, 05:28 PM
It’s scary that this didn’t give the team any drive to get up the pitch and score
I can’t think of another team who wouldn’t have been fired up by that. Yet it didn’t make a jot of difference to us.
22-05-2021, 05:50 PM
We lost to a team with nothing more to them than determination and organisation. That is exactly why this Hibs team does not deserve it's reputation for playing good football the pundits so readily attach to it. Good teams have the ability to play their way through tactics like St Johnstone use and we have proved conclusively in 4 matches that we are utterly incapable of doing that. Good teams have a manager who after being faced with the same tactics 3 times is able to work out the weaknesses in those tactics and find out how to exploit them, we clearly do not have a manager capable of doing that.
As a result what we get is what we saw today, a team who created one chance in 95 minutes of football, a team who haven't scored a single goal in 4 attempts against a club with a goals against record of more than one per game.
22-05-2021, 05:51 PM
Jack Ross can't pull the shirt on
22-05-2021, 05:51 PM
We started slow and got slower as the game wore on, as poor a final display as I can remember, just scunnered.
We start every game slow.