View Full Version : Boyle & Nisbet

noz
22-05-2021, 02:55 PM
dont bother turning up today guys when we neede you most, cheers

22-05-2021, 03:02 PM
Said it on other threads but they were a disgrace today and it’s not something I normally say about players.

Neither looked the least bit interested.

Nisbet looked like he never wanted to get injured.

Both would be lucky if they touched the ball 10 times between them.

22-05-2021, 03:03 PM
Like everybody else they were pish. The whole team should be ashamed of that performance. ☹

22-05-2021, 03:04 PM
Said it all season, this is their level. They are good players at this level. Nothing more.

22-05-2021, 03:06 PM
Big players who simply weren't today.

21sMay
22-05-2021, 03:06 PM
Absolutely nothing for them to work off . Boyle never given the ball to run at them and nisbitt having to try feed off of long balls . What chance do they have

22-05-2021, 03:08 PM
Absolutely nothing for them to work off . Boyle never given the ball to run at them and nisbitt having to try feed off of long balls . What chance do they have

Na, **** that. They constantly miscontrolled it, gave it away, lost it etc

They were fcking gash. Look at Stokes in the final in 2016, or Benji in 2007. Or Fletcher in 2007. Thats where big players turn up. Both ****ing bottled it today.

22-05-2021, 03:08 PM
after that performance Nisbet in Scotland team worries me. hope we get Griffiths back nxt season he would have put a shift in

stuart-farquhar
22-05-2021, 03:09 PM

They were fcking gash. Look at Stokes in the final in 2016, or Benji in 2007. Or Fletcher in 2007. Thats where big players turn up. Both ****ing bottled it today.

Agree

21sMay
22-05-2021, 03:09 PM
They have to actually receive the ball to be able to do anything with it . I'm not totally removing all blame from them but I can count maybe once or twice we went into their feet or in behind instead of lumps up the park.

22-05-2021, 03:10 PM
They have to actually receive the ball to be able to do anything with it . I'm not totally removing all blame from them but I can count maybe once or twice we went into their feet or in behind instead of lumps up the park.

They got it plenty of times. They just done utterly rubbish with it.

22-05-2021, 03:11 PM
Boyle hid all through the game. Never looked for the ball, never tried to make space for himself. When he did get it he went backwards with it. Poorest performance I've seen from him and and he saved for the cup final. Possibly the poorest performance e from a Hibs player in a final I've seen as well.

22-05-2021, 03:11 PM
They got it plenty of times. They just done utterly rubbish with it.[emoji106]

Simple as that really.

22-05-2021, 03:12 PM
Both hid. Pathetic

21sMay
They got it plenty of times. They just done utterly rubbish with it.

Each to their own . Overall every player on the park was disappointing . No chances created for our forward players and midfield was terrible throughout

banchoryhibs
Very, very poor from both of them.
Let them leave and hope we replace them with better

22-05-2021, 03:13 PM
after that performance Nisbet in Scotland team worries me. hope we get Griffiths back nxt season he would have put a shift in

If we could get Griffiths back at Hibs I would want a different man managing him. lucky green cardi or not he don't fill me with Hibsness.

22-05-2021, 03:14 PM
Each to their own . Overall every player on the park was disappointing . No chances created for our forward players and midfield was terrible throughout

Good forwards create their own changes. Like Fletcher, Benji, Stokes did. Like Riordan did. Like Griffiths did.

These 2 are utter bottlers. 2 semis and a final they have ****ing bottled it.

22-05-2021, 03:15 PM
Their strips won't need washed.

22-05-2021, 03:16 PM
Would have had more success playing weir and Wright genuinely

villahibs
22-05-2021, 03:18 PM
Should be punting Boyle for that dive alone. Why does Nisbet go behind the defender looking for a pass?? Horrible to watch.

22-05-2021, 03:19 PM
Should be punting Boyle for that dive alone. Why does Nisbet go behind the defender looking for a pass?? Horrible to watch.

He is full of himself, said it after hearts semi-final and was criticised. More obsessed with getting a haircut every 2 days

Hibiza
22-05-2021, 03:32 PM
Nisbet is the most overated player in Scotland.

22-05-2021, 03:35 PM
They were poor and Doidge as well but the service was diabolical. Nothing constructive from midfield and aimless punts from the back. They knew what we were up against today so the management has to carry the bulk of the blame for that crap.
Four defeats in one season from St Johnstone is nothing short of embarrassing.
And we are talking about competing in Europe? Don't make me laugh.

CL0762

Because he can then wave his hands in the air and blame the pass.

Another one believing his own hype.

noz

eh, wrong,,,,, Boyle was given the ball girst ten mins and decided to turn back. Nisbet needs to take responsibility and make things happen.

cekim
22-05-2021, 03:41 PM
Sell the 2 of them, showed today how interested they are in playing for Hibs.

The Pointer
22-05-2021, 03:49 PM
A Cup Final where all players have a stage to perform and and Boyle goes missing. I appreciate he needs service but when did get it he did nothing. He may as well have got sent off in the first minute for all the use he was.

At least we got a double penalty save to cheer! 😀 Good boy Matt Macey.

NC1875
22-05-2021, 03:51 PM
Boyle is hibs standard and if he thinks he’s leaving and going onto better things he’s got another thing coming. Shat himself in the challenge before St Johnstone’s goal and was posted missing the whole game.

He won’t play at a higher level

22-05-2021, 04:08 PM
I’m a big fan of Boyle and he has been a fantastic player for Hibs but today he should hang his head in shame. He is our most influential player and makes things happen yet today in our biggest game of the season he hid. Not playing well you can handle. It happens to everyone but today he never tried to get involved at all. Nisbet played as if his mind was on the euros and quite a few players played as if their futures lay elsewhere. It was a disgraceful performance with only Matt Macey coming out with any credit. Still can’t believe such an insipid performance with so much at stake.

22-05-2021, 04:12 PM
I’m a big fan of Boyle and he has been a fantastic player for Hibs but today he should hang his head in shame. He is our most influential player and makes things happen yet today in our biggest game of the season he hid. Not playing well you can handle. It happens to everyone but today he never tried to get involved at all. Nisbet played as if his mind was on the euros and quite a few players played as if their futures lay elsewhere. It was a disgraceful performance with only Matt Macey coming out with any credit. Still can’t believe such an insipid performance with so much at stake.

Pretty much spot on with your comment, we shall see changes next season for better or worse only time will tell.

berwickhibee
22-05-2021, 04:17 PM
Both bottle merchants. Invisible today.

gaz1875
22-05-2021, 04:19 PM
Good forwards create their own changes. Like Fletcher, Benji, Stokes did. Like Riordan did. Like Griffiths did.

These 2 are utter bottlers. 2 semis and a final they have ****ing bottled it.

Agree fully they also read the game. The lumped balls to Doidge were dropping around the same area all game, Nisbet should have dropped off Doidge to try and pick them up instead of standing in the same line.

22-05-2021, 04:21 PM
His dive was as embarrassing as the team today. Hate seeing any player do that, especially a Hibs player.

22-05-2021, 04:31 PM
Agree

Me too

22-05-2021, 04:33 PM
Both hid. Pathetic

Agreed. Both away I think and didnt want it spoiled by injury.

22-05-2021, 04:36 PM
Boyle was particularly awful today but I wouldn’t blame JR for that.

loanheadhibby
22-05-2021, 04:37 PM

100% agreed.

Jobbies
22-05-2021, 04:44 PM
I disagree

22-05-2021, 04:48 PM
Lost count of the number of times the camera panned to Nisbet with his head literally down, which was very poor for a Cup Final. He’s had flashes this season where he has been very good indeed but if we get a good offer over the summer then I won’t shed a tear at never having seem him play in the flesh.

Bonaly Cabbage
22-05-2021, 04:48 PM
I think Jackson Irvine is lucky to escape criticism. Our midfield were overrun and outplayed. Not for the first time this season by well known opponents.

Mantis Toboggan
22-05-2021, 04:51 PM
I think Jackson Irvine is lucky to escape criticism. Our midfield were overrun and outplayed. Not for the first time this season by well known opponents.

A grim performance from him. No real interest in keeping him after that - what would be the point?

mcohibs
22-05-2021, 04:52 PM
Their strips won't need washed.

Only dirt on Boyle's will be when he went down like a wee lassie in their box with the ball at his feet. Embarrassing.

22-05-2021, 04:56 PM
Said it all season, this is their level. They are good players at this level. Nothing more.

Nisbet has just ensured his summer transfer. Maybe that's what he was trying to do ? Hibs will be better off with the £3M thank you very much.

No idea what was wrong with Boyle. He's been our most energetic and effective player for months but posted AWOL on the biggest stage of all. Mr invisible.

We can pick up an Irvine anywhere. Over-rated by himself.

Jack Ross had all players available but incapable to solving the St Johnston puzzle. Strange substitutions and formation, One dimensional, predictable failure.

Some of these Hibs players should reflect on their performance/efforts today and think very carefully about their future comments in the media. You have to EARN the right to be a Legend and Hero. Some of these Hibs guys think they've already made it. St J players showed them how to do that.

SingaporeHibs
22-05-2021, 04:57 PM
Doidge......how many times did he even touch the ball today? The saints forward was a pain in the backside the entire match, our Doidge, what did he actually do today? Like seriously WTAF!!!!!!

22-05-2021, 05:02 PM
Doidge......how many times did he even touch the ball today? The saints forward was a pain in the backside the entire match, our Doidge, what did he actually do today? Like seriously WTAF!!!!!!

Not going to have a go at Doidge. He invariably gives 100% but was just outplayed by well-drilled defenders, and with zero support from his playing partner. Their forwards were just up against poorer defenders.

SingaporeHibs
22-05-2021, 05:25 PM
Not going to have a go at Doidge. He invariably gives 100% but was just outplayed by well-drilled defenders, and with zero support from his playing partner. Their forwards were just up against poorer defenders.

I know what you are saying about well drilled defenders but how does that give Doidge an excuse but not Nisbet or Boyle? Seriously how many times did you see Doidge doing anything at all. Not saying Nisbet or Boyle are free of criticism but just don’t know why Doidge is getting a free run here. He is the lowest scoring striker out of the 3 this season. I get the other stuff he does but didn’t see any of that today at all

Saint Hibee
22-05-2021, 05:30 PM

This. You can’t blame our strikers when Ross’s only tactic was long balls to their centre backs.

22-05-2021, 05:40 PM
I thought it looked like nisbet didn’t want to get injured. Boules dive was embarrassing and he should do more in the game but equally I think st Johnstone knew about the threat him, doig and nisbet caused and marked them out the game

loanheadhibby
22-05-2021, 05:42 PM

it’s a great point. Their Centre Forward gave our centre halves an absolute horrid day. Their centre halves had the pipes and slippers out.

I could have played in goal for St Johnstone today.

gaz1875
22-05-2021, 07:14 PM
it’s a great point. Their Centre Forward gave our centre halves an absolute horrid day. Their centre halves had the pipes and slippers out.

I could have played in goal for St Johnstone today.

But look who their centre forward was up against, you can't compare apples with dumplings

22-05-2021, 07:14 PM
Both anonymous

22-05-2021, 07:19 PM
Nisbet looked like he couldn’t be arsed. His body language throughout the game was horrific.

loanheadhibby
22-05-2021, 07:33 PM
But look who their centre forward was up against, you can't compare apples with dumplings

And yet the papers would have you believe that billy big baws Porteous is going down south and Kerr and McCart are destined to sign new deals with Saints.

I’d take McCart, Kerr and Rooney over Porteous.

22-05-2021, 07:48 PM
Nisbet looked like he couldn’t be arsed. His body language throughout the game was horrific.

If clarke regrets picking him for the euros 🤔

22-05-2021, 07:51 PM

Correct please give us £5 million for both 🙁

Gloucester Hibs
22-05-2021, 08:18 PM
Played like 2 guys looking to avoid injury knowing their next big move is in the bag.

22-05-2021, 08:25 PM
Played like 2 guys looking to avoid injury knowing their next big move is in the bag.Sadly I agree with you though I also think both players are overrated . Presume other clubs have the same problem with players knowing they have big money moves lined up however they play . Maybe St J have an advantage there in that not many of their players will be expecting to move to bigger clubs ( financially speaking ) except some who might fancy a move to us of course .

22-05-2021, 08:25 PM
Boyle hid all through the game. Never looked for the ball, never tried to make space for himself. When he did get it he went backwards with it. Poorest performance I've seen from him and and he saved for the cup final. Possibly the poorest performance e from a Hibs player in a final I've seen as well.

The whole team was awful, but worst performance from a Hibs player in a final,? 2012 team, like nearly all of them.

Shanksaidno
22-05-2021, 08:26 PM
Nisbet needs to leave ... tske any money we can get ... he has disrespect us all for months. Tries to portray a super skill image but does no work to look for the ball and has no appetite for any 50/ 50 balls. Is an expert at hiding too ... Totally pissed off with people who think they are superstars .

22-05-2021, 08:31 PM
Still f****** raging at the display today, been many times I’ve been angry with Hibs, but that today is just beyond description

Shanksaidno
22-05-2021, 08:35 PM
Nisbet, Irvine and Paul Hanlon cant be in our plans for next season ... keep Paul as a squad player but not first team first choice ... the other two can GTF

Badge
22-05-2021, 08:40 PM

Can’t believe I’m saying this but I agree 100%. Don’t think I’ve agreed with anything you’ve said all season but you are absolutely spot on here.

22-05-2021, 09:07 PM
Beggars belief Nisbet is in the Scotland squad ahead of Sparky.

22-05-2021, 09:11 PM
Boyle, in particular, was an absolute disgrace today.

He **** out of a challenge in the lead up to their goal. And instead of actually having the balls to try and do something with the ball, he took the cowards option of trying to dive to win a penalty.

Think he’s been brilliant for us this season but wouldn’t care if I don’t see him in a Hibs top again. That doesn’t just apply to him. Absolutely disgusted with that performance today. To play like that in a Scottish Cup Final, just in terms of intensity and effort. I just can’t understand it.

22-05-2021, 09:26 PM
Beggars belief Nisbet is in the Scotland squad ahead of Sparky.Not sure what situation is with Griffiths but Nisbet being in squad is surely down to dearth of talent in Scotland and nothing else ? In a pre COVID season with bigger squads I`m not sure he`d have played most weeks for us let alone play for Scotland . Like Porteous I rate him as a great prospect but nothing else and hope we have better next season ( which could be same player improved or a new player ) .

BS44
22-05-2021, 10:11 PM

Two goals 8n something like seventeen kinda explains why sparky isn't in the squad

But, on today's performance I've no idea why Nisbet made it either

22-05-2021, 10:12 PM
Two goals 8n something like seventeen kinda explains why sparky isn't in the squad

But, on today's performance I've no idea why Nisbet made it either

Ability wise there is no comparison.

BS44
22-05-2021, 11:18 PM
Ability wise there is no comparison.

This season Nisbet has been miles in front of Griffiths, if you want to kid yourself on then fine.

Griffiths in his pomp is a much better player than Nisbet, sadly for us all Griiffith's is nowhere near his best and is rightly mot included in the Scotland squad

22-05-2021, 11:20 PM
The only thing that’s harsh about this thread is you could probably have added another few names to it rather than stopping at Boyle and Nisbet.

22-05-2021, 11:23 PM

Based on what?

JXM73
22-05-2021, 11:43 PM
Sell the ****ing pair of them, useless

23-05-2021, 12:09 AM
Nisbet is the most overated player in Scotland.

Agreed and Doig comes a close second.

23-05-2021, 12:12 AM

Not even close. Patterson at Rangers wins by a country mile.

We’ve got newell and Irvine ahead of both in the Hibs squad as well before we consider others.

BS44
23-05-2021, 12:21 AM

Absolutely, good going forward but not a good defender. Kind of opposite to Stevenson, who isn't very good offensively but is a smashing defender

SideBurns
23-05-2021, 12:30 AM
Boyle was a disgrace. His dive was his sole contribution to the 2nd half. A sad end to his Hibs career

Percy Vere
23-05-2021, 09:05 AM
dont bother turning up today guys when we neede you most, cheers

Half of them looked like they had the hump pre match. Especially Nisbet. He came into the pitch looking like he just had his arse skelped.
Come to think of it, not a bad idea at half time. Skelp the lot of them, JR included for his mince tactics and failure to prep properly for a Cup Final.
Great season but wtf

23-05-2021, 09:07 AM
Boyle's dive was a disgrace. If that was an opposition player doing that against us we'd be labelling him a cheat. That's exactly what he was yesterday.

23-05-2021, 09:08 AM
There were another 8 of their outfield teammates that we could have had this thread about.

Apart from Macey's double save at the penalty that was a disgrace yesterday.

23-05-2021, 09:09 AM
Boyle's dive was a disgrace. If that was an opposition player doing that against us we'd be labelling him a cheat. That's exactly what he was yesterday.

Totally agree. No need at all to dive either. Embarrassing.

23-05-2021, 09:12 AM
There were another 8 of their outfield teammates that we could have had this thread about.

Apart from Macey's double save at the penalty that was a disgrace yesterday.

Na, Boyle is the big man. The big cheese. Like Stokes was in 2016. Thats why he is getting singled out. He was utter *****. So was Nisbet.

23-05-2021, 02:53 PM
This season Nisbet has been miles in front of Griffiths, if you want to kid yourself on then fine.

Griffiths in his pomp is a much better player than Nisbet, sadly for us all Griiffith's is nowhere near his best and is rightly mot included in the Scotland squad

Nisbet is nowhere near Sparky in any facet of the game. He’s done well this season but massively over hyped and not a guy I trust to pull us out of a jam very often. Some of our 2016 players seemed to love the bigger challenges ... a few of our current team seem to shrink and I’m afraid him and Boyler are 2 of them with the Dundee Utd game being an exception.

Most people have been shouted down for saying it but if we can still get £3-4 million for Nisbet it would be a remarkable bit of business.

23-05-2021, 03:58 PM
Boyle was a disgrace. His dive was his sole contribution to the 2nd half. A sad end to his Hibs career
Yogi Hughes speedo comment will certainly stick now

23-05-2021, 04:00 PM
If Boyle got the pen, scored and we went on to win I don’t think people would have this opinion.

It’s not good to see in an ideal world but everyone does it, if it gets the win then I’m happy it

23-05-2021, 04:03 PM
If Boyle got the pen, scored and we went on to win I don’t think people would have this opinion.

It’s not good to see in an ideal world but everyone does it, if it gets the win then I’m happy it

I honestly completely disagree with that. I don't care if its a Hibs player or not, I hate anyone diving and cheating.

Boyle has been accused of diving a few times this season. Sometimes he has legitimately been fouled. But yesterday was a shocker.

23-05-2021, 04:06 PM
I honestly completely disagree with that. I don't care if its a Hibs player or not, I hate anyone diving and cheating.

Boyle has been accused of diving a few times this season. Sometimes he has legitimately been fouled. But yesterday was a shocker.

I agree it was a shocker.

I’m just meaning I often hear people accusing us of not being ‘street smart’ and by this they seem to mean diving, ‘professional’ fouls etc.

I imagine if that was the case yesterday some would be happier as he done whatever it took to get the job done.

Maybe not though.

23-05-2021, 04:08 PM

Irvine, Gogic, Newell, Doig, Murphy, Stevenson Hallberg all put in shifts if i remember. Nisbet came over to me as looking lazy I dont know if it is a true impression but thats what I thought Boyle cant defend and he and Gogic at fault when DW got the cross in for the goal and I cant remember where P Mcginn was after all the cross went in from where he should have been defending.

23-05-2021, 04:16 PM
There has to be some kind of Law to describe the phenomenon:

The state whereby a player can have an outstanding season but with one or two dodgy games the walls come caving in and reduced to rubble.

23-05-2021, 04:23 PM
I agree it was a shocker.

I’m just meaning I often hear people accusing us of not being ‘street smart’ and by this they seem to mean diving, ‘professional’ fouls etc.

I imagine if that was the case yesterday some would be happier as he done whatever it took to get the job done.

Maybe not though.

Aye, totally get what you're meaning about the street smart thing to be fair.

And I'm maybe being a bit of a hypocrite cause I'd be happy if we wasted time when in front, for example. Which I suppose is bad patter as well

Just_Jimmy
24-05-2021, 01:58 AM
interesting that nisbet has scored 18 goals for Hibs in his first season yet most would be happy to take a few million to let him go.

I wonder if it's anything to do with never playing in front of fans, I certainly feel I have absolutely no connection to a lot of this team.

I'm torn on KN, he's had some huge trials this season they would test anyone. however, his body language and performance at crunch time never really says to me "I'm the guy". as others have said he came into the pitch moaning like they'd had a massive falling out pre match.

Saturday was just pish

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

24-05-2021, 08:02 AM
Personally would love Hibs to cash in on Nisbet however after sat i dont think Nisbet deserves a big money move yet. He will find the euros tough however it would be salt in wounds if he performed better than he did in the final when at the euros.

24-05-2021, 09:31 AM
Personally would love Hibs to cash in on Nisbet however after sat i dont think Nisbet deserves a big money move yet. He will find the euros tough however it would be salt in wounds if he performed better than he did in the final when at the euros.

No it wouldn't as his value would rocket.

OstKurve Hibs
24-05-2021, 09:32 AM
He plays when he can be ersed, time to sell

24-05-2021, 09:40 AM
Is Nisbet plays 30 minutes at the Euros I'll be surprised. Adams and Dykes are well ahead of him.

24-05-2021, 09:43 AM
Is Nisbet plays 30 minutes at the Euros I'll be surprised. Adams and Dykes are well ahead of him.

Let's be brutally honest so is Oli McBurnie.

24-05-2021, 10:01 AM
Let's be brutally honest so is Oli McBurnie.

1 goal all season, I'm not sure. Confidence is important. Dykes and Adams have been banging them in recently.

24-05-2021, 10:10 AM
1 goal all season, I'm not sure. Confidence is important. Dykes and Adams have been banging them in recently.

McBurnie scored about 20 in a season in the Championship. Nisbet might reach that level but we don't know yet.

24-05-2021, 10:13 AM
McBurnie scored about 20 in a season in the Championship. Nisbet might reach that level but we don't know yet.

Couple of years ago though. He was a decent player that season, but he looks hopeless now.

24-05-2021, 10:14 AM
Couple of years ago though. He was a decent player that season, but he looks hopeless now.

And injured so he definitely won’t be ahead of Nisbet this summer. The other 2 will be, 100%. Nisbet will be lucky to get on the pitch

24-05-2021, 10:14 AM

He does but that has to be a confidence thing.