View Full Version : Josh Taylor
22-05-2021, 07:57 AM
Go and do it tonight. Little or no coverage of this especially on Sky. Josh should have checked his dates though.
northgreen24
22-05-2021, 07:59 AM
Yeah good luck tonight it’s on the FITE app in the uk
Fingers crossed for a Hibs JT double.
CyberSauzee
22-05-2021, 08:02 AM
Not expected to start until about 4 in the morning.
23-05-2021, 02:52 AM
Taylor wins on points :thumbsup:
had Ramirez down in the 6th and 7th
get him in our first team ;)
northgreen24
23-05-2021, 02:56 AM
Superb stuff
23-05-2021, 03:00 AM
https://i.ibb.co/B2gV7tB/Taylor3.jpg (https://imgbb.com/)
german rivers with 4 letters (https://the-crosswordsolver.com/german-river-4-letters)
23-05-2021, 03:01 AM
Well done Josh💚
Zambernardi1875
23-05-2021, 03:10 AM
Now that’s how you put on a performance
Gloucester Hibs
23-05-2021, 03:55 AM
No freezing on the big stage for TTT! Or looking to avoid injury 😂 Take a bow son 🏴🌪🥊👏🏻
23-05-2021, 04:40 AM
https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-edinburgh-east-fife-50839281.amp
23-05-2021, 05:57 AM
I’m not a big boxing fan but would he be considered Scotlands greatest ever?
23-05-2021, 12:42 PM
Bangkok Hibby
23-05-2021, 01:23 PM
I'll vote for Kenny
23-05-2021, 01:30 PM
Not for me, Ken Buchanan is still our greatest ever.
23-05-2021, 01:33 PM
Well worth the hangover today, never been prouder. Wee boy from the Pans taking over the world.
23-05-2021, 01:54 PM
Superb performance Josh GOAT. Surprised by the lack of coverage on the TV.
Stairway 2 7
23-05-2021, 02:15 PM
Not for me, Ken Buchanan is still our greatest ever.
Buchanan was unbelievable he had 4 European title fights won 2 lost 2, 5 World title fights won 3 lost 2. Although controversial finish against Duran was unfair, he was well beaten against a genius. His win in the heat of Panama his high point, headlining madison square garden and a win against a future world champion in watt also.
Taylor has fought 4 World title's and won 4. His last 5 opponents were undefeated, last 6 opponents the record is 136 wins 1 defeat. Becomes only the 5th 4 belt champion. The crazy thing is he's only in his 18th fight so at the beginning.
It's close two legends of the sport
23-05-2021, 02:28 PM
I am sure that Barry McGuigan said that Josh is the best technical boxer he has ever seen.
camthebam
23-05-2021, 05:17 PM
I am sure that Barry McGuigan said that Josh is the best technical boxer he has ever seen.
Josh, if you could kick **** out of St Johnstone we’d appreciate it.
if that *****bags had an ounce of your heart. Well done boy, you’re one of the best boxers walked. Welterweight is tough, but all luck punching your way though that division. You’re capable. Crawford is fallible.
camthebam
23-05-2021, 05:20 PM
He’s ****in brilliant. Was at O2 and he was so concentrated vs Prograis. Clever fighter, tough fighter. Let’s make the most of him, boy’s class.
23-05-2021, 05:38 PM
I remember heading to the Braehead Arena just under 4 years ago to watch Taylor fight O'Hara Davies. Taylor was a slight favourite but there was a feeling Davies could pose him problems and the winner of the fight would go on to the top. Josh absolutely battered him. Davies had brief success after being knocked down in the 3rd but JT broke him and had the skill and intelligence to see it out.
The speed of his rise to the top is amazing. After 18 fights some guys are not long graduated from journeymen, maybe 1 or 2 domestic or continental title fights. Since the aforementioned Davies fight Taylor has fought 8 times against guys with a combined record of 205 wins to 9 defeats. His last 5 opponents were all unbeaten when they fought him. He won a world title in his 14th fight.
He's a phenomenal athlete. A technically beautiful boxer, super fit, durable, brave, fast and he's getting better. Watching him last night his jab is on a different level from what it was only 3 or 4 fights ago. It was arguably the weakest part of his game not that long ago, last night it was razor sharp, that allowed him to feint and try to draw Ramirez with that because he was wary of the jab landing.
He's just a brilliant boxer and deserves to appear on the biggest platforms.
23-05-2021, 07:24 PM
I remember heading to the Braehead Arena just under 4 years ago to watch Taylor fight O'Hara Davies. Taylor was a slight favourite but there was a feeling Davies could pose him problems and the winner of the fight would go on to the top. Josh absolutely battered him. Davies had brief success after being knocked down in the 3rd but JT broke him and had the skill and intelligence to see it out.
The speed of his rise to the top is amazing. After 18 fights some guys are not long graduated from journeymen, maybe 1 or 2 domestic or continental title fights. Since the aforementioned Davies fight Taylor has fought 8 times against guys with a combined record of 205 wins to 9 defeats. His last 5 opponents were all unbeaten when they fought him. He won a world title in his 14th fight.
He's a phenomenal athlete. A technically beautiful boxer, super fit, durable, brave, fast and he's getting better. Watching him last night his jab is on a different level from what it was only 3 or 4 fights ago. It was arguably the weakest part of his game not that long ago, last night it was razor sharp, that allowed him to feint and try to draw Ramirez with that because he was wary of the jab landing.
Davies was actually the bookies favourite that night, guessing purely down to being a matchroom fighter at the time. He gets doubted nearly every time he steps up and answers the questions emphatically every single time. Every fight from here on in will be huge commercially for him and he deserves it. I’ll guess he’ll have 7/8 more fights and then get out when he’s earned enough and his health is still in tact.
camthebam
23-05-2021, 08:36 PM
Word perfect bud.
Do I think he can take Crawford/Thurman? Probably not, but maybe? He’s punch perfect thus far.And they’re the best on the planet, at the ultimate weight. That we’re even talking about him in those terms is incredible. Nowt to do with Hibs, but he’s even better than Rickie Burns. And he was something special.
Can Josh do it? Honestly, maybe?
23-05-2021, 08:38 PM
I thought the scorecards were really harsh. 114-112, did the judges honestly have that as a draw minus the 2 knockdowns?!!!
23-05-2021, 09:09 PM
Just settling down to watch it now. Fantastic achievement by Josh.
camthebam
23-05-2021, 09:21 PM
I thought the scorecards were really harsh. 114-112, did the judges honestly have that as a draw minus the 2 knockdowns?!!!
Very brave (Probably stupid) tactics from Ben. Trusting judges vs a latino judge in Vegas? Ye mad?
Haven’t seen it yet but that’s imsane. Good as Josh is, he needs a better trsiner I think.
23-05-2021, 09:37 PM
Very brave (Probably stupid) tactics from Ben. Trusting judges vs a latino judge in Vegas? Ye mad?
Haven’t seen it yet but that’s imsane. Good as Josh is, he needs a better trsiner I think.
Tactics were spot on. They knew Ramirez would tire and make mistakes. Scorecards should’ve been wider, however to win on cards in America shows how clear cut the win was. If there was any doubt those cards would’ve been the other way.
23-05-2021, 10:33 PM
Just watched it. Superb performance. I had it by 4 but I was trying to be extremely impartial. Watched a few of the post fight interviews and he speaks very well. Mentioned Easter Road as a possible venue for a future fight but the castle seemed a more likely venue. Talking about moving up a weight and facing Terence Crawford. What comes over most for me is his intellect of the art of boxing. I listen to many boxers speaking after fights or as pundits but Josh’s knowledge of ringcraft is up there with the best of them. His career after boxing is assured provided that is what he chooses to do.
He's here!
24-05-2021, 10:40 AM
Great achievement. He talked in the build-up about how he hoped to make it a double celebration with Hibs winning the cup, so I wouldn't be surprised if he took out some of his frustration at that result on his opponent!
24-05-2021, 12:41 PM
show-off :greengrin
https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.6435-9/189096205_776373703239886_5641666895277350478_n.jp g?_nc_cat=107&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=825194&_nc_ohc=4G7lQI9yFRYAX-sI9ty&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=2559b8210205b39b79ace0c16aac724e&oe=60D0CB17
24-05-2021, 05:37 PM
https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.6435-9/190452519_767340510649636_3901003601205973311_n.jp g?_nc_cat=107&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=8bfeb9&_nc_ohc=JSNC9KbVrUQAX9xKZIY&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=38f328e07b3487df9091eb770fe8733d&oe=60D06003
OstKurve Hibs
28-05-2021, 03:34 PM
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.edinburghlive.co.uk/sport/uk-sport-news/josh-taylor-hibs-it-quip-20697285.amp
After his love in wi the huns hes now come out wi this lol, hibs supporter my arse
29-05-2021, 09:31 PM
The more we get to know the boy the more he looks suspect.
At least he’s not been up George Street.
MagicSwirlingShip
30-05-2021, 08:02 AM
The more we get to know the boy the more he looks suspect.
At least he’s not been up George Street.
FFS, there will have been thousands of Hibs fans who said worse after that joke of a performance last week