View Full Version : Day Breaks on Easter Road
22-05-2021, 06:20 AM
I went up Calton Hill to catch the sunrise on semi final day in the hope of a good image of ER. Needless to say as a typical fitba fan I have superstitions so I made the journey up the hill about 4.20am this morning to watch the early light of Cup Final Day fall on Easter Road. I then went down to ER as I felt drawn to it and wanted to spend some time getting some memories of hopefully another cup winning day. My thoughts were on reflecting back to when we won in 2016 and to the classic image of SDG and Lewis along with lost friends and family of the club. I sit in the West so that was my main focus. Hope we all have a brilliant day today and tomorrow we can reflect back on two recent cup wins.
https://live.staticflickr.com/65535/51194874413_d8a68b0d5d_h.jpg (https://flic.kr/p/2kZV7yv)Cup Final Day (https://flic.kr/p/2kZV7yv) by Simon Wootton (https://www.flickr.com/photos/192612307@N07/), on Flickr
https://live.staticflickr.com/65535/51193954227_1cdbad2c3b_h.jpg (https://flic.kr/p/2kZQp2e)Cup Final Day (https://flic.kr/p/2kZQp2e) by Simon Wootton (https://www.flickr.com/photos/192612307@N07/), on Flickr
https://live.staticflickr.com/65535/51194874443_3284770dab_h.jpg (https://flic.kr/p/2kZV7z2)Cup Final Day (https://flic.kr/p/2kZV7z2) by Simon Wootton (https://www.flickr.com/photos/192612307@N07/), on Flickr
https://live.staticflickr.com/65535/51193989822_bb74b1ab4a_h.jpg (https://flic.kr/p/2kZQzAW)Cup Final Day (https://flic.kr/p/2kZQzAW) by Simon Wootton (https://www.flickr.com/photos/192612307@N07/), on Flickr
https://live.staticflickr.com/65535/51194874538_66a0858086_h.jpg (https://flic.kr/p/2kZV7AE)Cup Final Day (https://flic.kr/p/2kZV7AE) by Simon Wootton (https://www.flickr.com/photos/192612307@N07/), on Flickr
https://live.staticflickr.com/65535/51194874613_e30258b4af_h.jpg (https://flic.kr/p/2kZV7BX)Cup Final Day (https://flic.kr/p/2kZV7BX) by Simon Wootton (https://www.flickr.com/photos/192612307@N07/), on Flickr
22-05-2021, 06:23 AM
Good stuff thanks for sharing.
Up at 4:00 am you will be in bed by 8:00 pm tonight 😊
22-05-2021, 06:25 AM
The main stand reflected in the puddle is great. Makes up for the weather not really helping you out for the sunrise.
22-05-2021, 06:32 AM
Good stuff thanks for sharing.
Up at 4:00 am you will be in bed by 8:00 pm tonight 😊 Not likely if we win.
22-05-2021, 06:33 AM
Stunning photographs, can't wait to return to the stadium. You've captured it perfectly, the calm serenity offsetting the nerves of the fan base.
22-05-2021, 06:37 AM
They look amazing, main stand reflecting in the puddle is fantastic.
22-05-2021, 06:38 AM
Braw. Could have joined you. Awake at 4.10 to the dawn chorus (and a pee) then just could not get back to sleep. Felt like a wee kid on Xmas morning. Let's hope Santa Jack delivers a shiny trophy around 3.50pm.
22-05-2021, 06:39 AM
Thanks for posting them up Wookie. I have a feeling this is going to be a great day. :greengrin
22-05-2021, 06:40 AM
Braw. Could have joined you. Awake at 4.10 to the dawn chorus (and a pee) then just could not get back to sleep. Felt like a wee kid on Xmas morning. Let's hope Santa Jack delivers a shiny trophy around 3.50pm. I'd planned the early start but thought I would head back to bed when i got home at 6am. Too nervous now so a few hours watching YouTube of that day and then away to the bakers for some half time pie supplies
22-05-2021, 06:50 AM
Great pics fella!
Was there many up there Hill at that time?
I went up Calton Hill to catch the sunrise on semi final day in the hope of a good image of ER. Needless to say as a typical fitba fan I have superstitions so I made the journey up the hill about 4.20am this morning to watch the early light of Cup Final Day fall on Easter Road. I then went down to ER as I felt drawn to it and wanted to spend some time getting some memories of hopefully another cup winning day. My thoughts were on reflecting back to when we won in 2016 and to the classic image of SDG and Lewis along with lost friends and family of the club. I sit in the West so that was my main focus. Hope we all have a brilliant day today and tomorrow we can reflect back on two recent cup wins.
https://live.staticflickr.com/65535/51194874413_d8a68b0d5d_h.jpg (https://flic.kr/p/2kZV7yv)Cup Final Day (https://flic.kr/p/2kZV7yv) by Simon Wootton (https://www.flickr.com/photos/192612307@N07/), on Flickr
https://live.staticflickr.com/65535/51193954227_1cdbad2c3b_h.jpg (https://flic.kr/p/2kZQp2e)Cup Final Day (https://flic.kr/p/2kZQp2e) by Simon Wootton (https://www.flickr.com/photos/192612307@N07/), on Flickr
https://live.staticflickr.com/65535/51194874443_3284770dab_h.jpg (https://flic.kr/p/2kZV7z2)Cup Final Day (https://flic.kr/p/2kZV7z2) by Simon Wootton (https://www.flickr.com/photos/192612307@N07/), on Flickr
https://live.staticflickr.com/65535/51193989822_bb74b1ab4a_h.jpg (https://flic.kr/p/2kZQzAW)Cup Final Day (https://flic.kr/p/2kZQzAW) by Simon Wootton (https://www.flickr.com/photos/192612307@N07/), on Flickr
https://live.staticflickr.com/65535/51194874538_66a0858086_h.jpg (https://flic.kr/p/2kZV7AE)Cup Final Day (https://flic.kr/p/2kZV7AE) by Simon Wootton (https://www.flickr.com/photos/192612307@N07/), on Flickr
https://live.staticflickr.com/65535/51194874613_e30258b4af_h.jpg (https://flic.kr/p/2kZV7BX)Cup Final Day (https://flic.kr/p/2kZV7BX) by Simon Wootton (https://www.flickr.com/photos/192612307@N07/), on Flickr
22-05-2021, 06:58 AM
Great pics fella!
Was there many up there Hill at that time? Just me that I could see, felt like I had the whole of Edinburgh to myself.
22-05-2021, 06:58 AM
Thanks Wookie.
Fingers crossed for a wonderful day.
Stairway 2 7
22-05-2021, 07:07 AM
Brilliant
22-05-2021, 07:11 AM
Great stuff! Thank you.
adam middlemass
22-05-2021, 07:23 AM
Appreciate the effort Wookie. Hope the good Lord is on our side ! :top marks
22-05-2021, 07:29 AM
Great pictures. Thanks for posting.
I've been out and about since 6 this morning and it's a beautiful day in Edinburgh. Hopefully that hangs around for a few hours yet.
22-05-2021, 07:32 AM
Amazing pics.
I am like a cat on a hot tin roof here already............
22-05-2021, 07:44 AM
🇳🇬💚💚🇳🇬
chasitup
22-05-2021, 08:04 AM
Quality snaps! The west in the reflection is outstanding. :aok:
22-05-2021, 08:16 AM
Well done once again Mr W. On the 🍺 yet?
aljo7-0
22-05-2021, 08:20 AM
Great pics, thank you.
Weirdly, seeing the pics today reminds me just how much I've missed going to the stadium.
22-05-2021, 08:37 AM
Well done once again Mr W. On the 🍺 yet? I've had a half bottle of lager in the last 3 years. Tee total pretty much these days. I'd have been half cut at this time in my youth.
22-05-2021, 08:38 AM
I've had a half bottle of lager in the last 3 years. Tee total pretty much these days. I'd have been half cut at this time in my youth.
Jesus! What's going on in the world these days?!! 😉
22-05-2021, 08:40 AM
I've had a half bottle of lager in the last 3 years. Tee total pretty much these days. I'd have been half cut at this time in my youth.
Much the same with me ..perhaps have one drink a month ..sometimes every two or three months ......
Will have a couple of pints today - win or lose ....
22-05-2021, 08:44 AM
Well that was emotional - drove down to ER took some pics and drove through Leith with SOL on full blast... bit early but what the hell - thanks for the inspiration...
22-05-2021, 09:19 AM
Well that was emotional - drove down to ER took some pics and drove through Leith with SOL on full blast... bit early but what the hell - thanks for the inspiration... If nothing else it fills the time before KO. Hope you got some good ones and by all accounts there is a bit of sunshine on Leith now
adam middlemass
22-05-2021, 10:29 AM
Well, the Hibs drove me to drink- but I kept at it——- I PERSEVERED ! :na na:
22-05-2021, 11:04 AM
Well done Wookie.
Love your photo of the west reflected in the puddle!
Have a great day, you deserve it.
Ardenttwo
22-05-2021, 11:53 AM
Well that was emotional - drove down to ER took some pics and drove through Leith with SOL on full blast... bit early but what the hell - thanks for the inspiration...
There you go. Got me greetin again. If we win it will be a towel not a hankie
plhibs
22-05-2021, 11:59 AM
Good job you didn't go up the Pentlands, i've heard there will be 400,000 dog walkers up there today.