View Full Version : Message from Ron Gordon

21-05-2021, 08:57 AM
To Hibernian Supporters Everywhere,

As we head into what we hope will be an exciting and successful final weekend of the season for our Club, I thought it the perfect time to write and thank you for your incredible commitment and support this season.

Without you, we could not have achieved our highest league finish in almost two decades; we would not have played in four consecutive League and Scottish Cup semi-finals; or won through to the Scottish Cup Final this Saturday. Thanks to you we were able to build an exciting, creative and accomplished side led by Jack Ross. We have a great mix of youth, experience, speed, creativity, grit and desire - a squad that we can build on, so thank you for you for making our sporting success possible.

Football is simply not the same without you. We have missed you terribly - Easter Road craves your energy, passion, hope and belief in Hibernian. We are very much looking forward to seeing you again at Easter Road early next season…we will welcome you home with open arms, with some important improvements, and with European football to add to the excitement. As of today, our Season Ticket sales are pacing well ahead of previous years - I am hopeful that we will set a new record, so thank you for believing and for supporting your Club.

We share great hopes and ambition for our Club, and our journey together is just beginning. I can assure you that everyone across the Club is committed and working very hard for our success. We have had a terrific season - so on your behalf, I want to thank Jack and the coaching staff, the entire football squad, everyone at HTC and Easter Road for their commitment and effort in our success. They have been magnificent.

I also want to ask one more time for your support and patience. Please, cheer the team on, but please do it with your friends and your family and do it within the Government restrictions that are there to protect us all. Let’s not be part of anything that risks the progress made in tackling the pandemic.

We have one more job to finish tomorrow - I know our team will wear the green and white with joy and pride; that they will give us their very best effort; and I believe as I’m sure you do, that the Sun will Shine on Leith this Scottish Cup Saturday. Together there is nothing we can’t accomplish!

We are Hibs! GGTTH,

Ronald J Gordon

Chairman

Newcastlehibby
21-05-2021, 09:07 AM
Moist eyes.

21-05-2021, 09:08 AM
I think we have won a watch with Ron. :not worth

21-05-2021, 09:10 AM
Read it earlier and think the wife must have been preparing onions to go in our dinner this evening. An excellent read and great to read that season tickets are tracking ahead of last season.

21-05-2021, 09:11 AM
With the players not celebrating at ER and this plea from Ron I’ll heed the request. Car convoy would have been my preference but there’s no way I’m not have a few pints so ruled out

21-05-2021, 09:12 AM
He's good eh. Really knows how to communicate.

21-05-2021, 09:12 AM
F***in' b****** doing that to me when I'm at work!

21-05-2021, 09:13 AM

Joking aside - that is excellent.

21-05-2021, 09:13 AM
Season tickets on track for record numbers. Given the circumstances that is phenomenal.

21-05-2021, 09:19 AM
Shiver down spine... COME ON HIBS!!

21-05-2021, 09:20 AM

He uses the words in the right way to get across the message not too many and nothing confusing - even the subtle one about not going radge if we are celebrating.

Quite a contrast to the usual word salad that comes from our pink chums press releases...............................

21-05-2021, 09:23 AM
I like Ron, he gets us. Exciting times ahead for us Hibbies.

21-05-2021, 09:33 AM
Hopefully people read these words and not give the club a bad name or the media a feeding frenzy.

“I also want to ask one more time for your support and patience. Please, cheer the team on, but please do it with your friends and your family and do it within the Government restrictions that are there to protect us all. Let’s not be part of anything that risks the progress made in tackling the pandemic.”

21-05-2021, 09:35 AM
Absolutely superb.

:flag::flag:

21-05-2021, 09:37 AM
What a guy :flag:

21-05-2021, 09:40 AM
Hopefully people read these words and not give the club a bad name or the media a feeding frenzy.

“I also want to ask one more time for your support and patience. Please, cheer the team on, but please do it with your friends and your family and do it within the Government restrictions that are there to protect us all. Let’s not be part of anything that risks the progress made in tackling the pandemic.”

:agree: Got the tone just right. It's a shame other clubs haven't managed to do so.

CB Hibs 68
21-05-2021, 09:40 AM
Absolutely magnificent.Brought a tear to my eye.Ron gets Hibs .I think we are fortunate to have him.Let’s bring the cup back to Leith.

21-05-2021, 10:09 AM
I do quite like Ron.

21-05-2021, 10:12 AM
Ron is a legend

Steve88
21-05-2021, 10:29 AM
Ron loves Hibs:agree:

MKHIBEE
21-05-2021, 10:34 AM
That has just sold another season ticket, the man is quite simply a class act.

21-05-2021, 10:36 AM
Ron and Ron is da Management

https://www.hibs.net/blob:https://www.hibs.net/e26576ba-2e7e-437c-bcba-a6f4d37657b1

21-05-2021, 11:28 AM
For all you song writers out there. The first verse of this old-timers song might present you with a new opportunity to use your skills.

https://music.youtube.com/watch?v=q3_KgmgrUm8&list=RDAMVMq3_KgmgrUm8

Admins feel free to delete this post if it infringes copyright or anything like that.:greengrin

21-05-2021, 11:28 AM
Here's hoping that there's a win bonus to share! We have people at the club we can be proud of.

(I thought this was as good a place as any)

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210521/044c97dada753daa739e8c336e38917d.jpg

21-05-2021, 11:40 AM
The Peruvian has class.

All that's needed to complete the picture now is to win the cup tomorrow and then issue a commemorative 'Peruvian edition' strip consisting of white shorts, white socks and a white top with a green diagonal strip. ****ing gorgeous.

21-05-2021, 11:48 AM
Here's hoping that there's a win bonus to share! We have people at the club we can be proud of.

(I thought this was as good a place as any)

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210521/044c97dada753daa739e8c336e38917d.jpg

Classy stuff from David Gray and the entire playing squad.

As for Ron Gordon. The guy gets it.

MunsterHibee
21-05-2021, 11:55 AM
Seems like a real genuine guy who is passionate about the club and what he wants us to achieve.

Sent from my SM-A515F using Tapatalk

21-05-2021, 12:03 PM
Just read our chairman’s statement. Ron is passionate, to the point and puts the fans front and centre.

The comparison with Budge’s rambling word salad is telling.

mcohibs
21-05-2021, 12:08 PM
For all you song writers out there. The first verse of this old-timers song might present you with a new opportunity to use your skills.

https://music.youtube.com/watch?v=q3_KgmgrUm8&list=RDAMVMq3_KgmgrUm8

Admins feel free to delete this post if it infringes copyright or anything like that.:greengrin

Peru Ron Ron Ron, Peru Ron Ron :greengrin

21-05-2021, 12:13 PM
The Peruvian has class.

All that's needed to complete the picture now is to win the cup tomorrow and then issue a commemorative 'Peruvian edition' strip consisting of white shorts, white socks and a white top with a green diagonal strip. ****ing gorgeous.

Yes ****ing please

adam middlemass
21-05-2021, 12:33 PM
I was very impressed with Ron, at his first shareholders meeting, the way he spoke and his vision for our club. Just a right down to earth type of guy, and won me over that night ! Feel our club is in good hands. C’mon Hibs let’s do this! :not worth:flag:

21-05-2021, 12:35 PM
The Peruvian has class.

Sounds class. Should be our away strip all the time.

AltheHibby
21-05-2021, 01:29 PM
Now that's how to write a statement. We have been so lucky with most of our owners in my lifetime.

21-05-2021, 02:02 PM
https://youtu.be/jJqUrVohtTo

2:20 onwards :)
https://youtu.be/jJqUrVohtTo

WestCoastHibby
21-05-2021, 02:50 PM
I don't care if he possibly has a speech writer in his employ'.
That's good stuff. I'm very hopeful we will win this cup tomorrow but win lose or draw (and extra time n penalties)
Let's keep the heid

21-05-2021, 02:59 PM
Fantastic words from Ron. Excellent message.

21-05-2021, 03:15 PM
I don't care if he possibly has a speech writer in his employ'.
That's good stuff. I'm very hopeful we will win this cup tomorrow but win lose or draw (and extra time n penalties)
Let's keep the heidI think Ron wrote, typed and corrected it himself. Professional speechwriters shouldn't make mistakes -

".. so thank you for you for making our sporting success possible."

Just makes it more human/better IMO.

21-05-2021, 04:26 PM
Only two exclamation marks in there.

Take note Budge.

21-05-2021, 04:30 PM

I was trying to think of any other famous Peruvians, PaddingRon anyone? :wink:

AltheHibby
21-05-2021, 05:26 PM
I was trying to think of any other famous Peruvians, PaddingRon anyone? :wink:

Michael Bentine. But I think he was a jambo as I always laughed at him.

21-05-2021, 05:30 PM
Ron gets us

21-05-2021, 06:17 PM

He bought into the Hibees saying we’re on the up
Peru Ron Ron Ron Peru Ron Ron
A wee while later Hibs had won the cup
Peru Ron Ron Ron Peru Ron Ron
Yeah he talks so fine
and it’s the Hibees time