View Full Version : No one likes us

15-05-2021, 05:54 PM
Next Saturday we'll be in the unusual position of being in a Scottish Cup Final where pretty much all non-Hibees want us to lose. The small number of United fans who've got over the Matty Jack Incident will be behind us maybe, but beyond that we are the pantomime villain.

Feels pretty good, no? :-)

MunsterHibee
15-05-2021, 05:55 PM
It will make it all the sweeter when we lift the Scottish Cup. Also I'd like to add ****** the begrudgers lol

Sent from my SM-A515F using Tapatalk

15-05-2021, 06:03 PM
Through piping and pipe bands I have a disproportionally large number of mates originally from Perth & Pitlochry who are St Johnstone fans.

Although they're good guys, they're actually dicks when it come to their team, with a ridiculously high opinion of themselves.

I hope we tear them a new one.

15-05-2021, 10:13 PM
Do all non Hibees want us to lose? If anyone but Hearts, Rangers, Celtic or Aberdeen were playing I'd want them win

15-05-2021, 10:17 PM
I dont imagine other fans will have a particularly strong feeling either way about this..

Most who end up watching will probs just want to see a decent game.

15-05-2021, 10:22 PM
Seems a bit extreme, what makes you think everyone will want us to lose?

15-05-2021, 10:26 PM
Surely we’ll be in Celtic’s good books after the Scott Brown 2 hour special today😉

Renfrew_Hibby
15-05-2021, 10:29 PM
St.Mirren fans all hate the fake Saints so are cheering us on next week!

ElginHibbie
15-05-2021, 10:29 PM
My Dundee United supporting is already giving me a hard time that Hibs better win! Don't think most fans will care who wins unless they have some motive ie Hearts fans

ABZHFC
15-05-2021, 11:09 PM
I actually quite like our status of being a team that most fans have a soft spot for, us being perceived as the media darlings of Scotland also enrages Hearts fans and (bizarrely) the Sheep

16-05-2021, 12:39 AM
Do all non Hibees want us to lose? If anyone but Hearts, Rangers, Celtic or Aberdeen were playing I'd want them win

As long as Hertz don't win f@@k all, I couldn't give a toss who wins a cup final if the Hibees are not involved.

CloudSquall
16-05-2021, 03:47 AM
Outside of the bigot brothers and the seethe twins I think everyone else will just want an eventful game.

16-05-2021, 04:12 AM
I think the OPs perception of Saturdays final is way off the mark. The only fans I’ve seen hating on us for it are huns and diet huns which is fine by me, the more tears from them the better.

16-05-2021, 06:57 AM
I think the OPs perception of Saturdays final is way off the mark. The only fans I’ve seen hating on us for it are huns and diet huns which is fine by me, the more tears from them the better.

Not sure many Hearts supporting chums or them in general want us to win.

16-05-2021, 08:19 AM
Not sure many Hearts supporting chums or them in general want us to win.

That’s exactly what I said in my post 👍🏻

16-05-2021, 08:22 AM
As Julius Caesar said, I concur.

16-05-2021, 08:34 AM
Hardly villains and don't think neutrals will have strong feelings either way. Most will just be glad someone other than Celtic (or Sevco) will be lifting the Cup.

16-05-2021, 08:40 AM
Most neutrals will probably like St Johnstone to win both cups. Would be historic.

16-05-2021, 08:43 AM
Since 1875

16-05-2021, 08:47 AM
Most neutrals will probably like St Johnstone to win both cups. Would be historic.

Yes I'd imagine most neutrals will be supporting St Johnstone next week for that reason rather than it being down to any major hatred for us.

It would be the first time for over 30 years that a team, other than Celtic or Rangers, has managed to win both domestic cups in the same season.

16-05-2021, 08:52 AM
Plenty of people have a soft spot for us.

16-05-2021, 08:54 AM
Whisper it but my cousin's a hun, what I'd call hun lite as he doesn't do religion, his dad was a catholic. He's already wished me the best for the game.

Good mate's who are St. Mirren and celtc fans have done the same and down here my friends who support Norwich, Arsenal, Leicester, Forest and Chelsea have all been backing us. The latter two have us as their Scottish team and get up for games occasionally.

I guess it's football fans nature generally not to want rivals to do well and true to form theres radio silence from our family yam but that's actually been the case since they got Brora'd.[emoji16]

16-05-2021, 09:05 AM
I wouldn’t think most fans could care less about this game.

There were quite a lot of folk outwith the hun / diet hun group who would root for us to break the hoodoo before we eventually did. Funnily enough, there were even quite a few huns and Jambos who slipped into that category and they were the first messages I got after the final.

There might be a few coefficientists who would rather see us (or St Johnstone) picking up points for Scotland next year.

Dundee fans I know will be rooting for us. Always preferred them when I stayed up that way.

The majority won’t be interested, although some might wish to witness a bottle job from us.

16-05-2021, 09:15 AM
“No one likes is”???
All a bit SEVCOesque. Plenty of other team supporters have a soft spot for Hibs. Plenty too for StJ. For me, this is one of those finals where genuine fans of football will simply enjoy the spectacle whist people with blinkered allegiance will probably take no interest in the game at all. There will definitely be hearts fans and some select others who specifically want us to lose but “nobody likes us” is way over the top.

16-05-2021, 09:17 AM
There's a general tendency to wish an underdog well, so I'd expect most neutrals to have a slight preference for St Johnstone. Conversely, our friends will wish us well on a personal level without being fussed about our team.

But the only fans who will want us to lose are Hearts (understandable), Sevco (dragging us into their bigotry) and Aberdeen (direct rivals).

16-05-2021, 10:45 AM
We’re nowhere near successful enough for neutrals to want us to lose.

That’s a sure sign that you’re doing consistently well and we can only aspire to that (for now).

16-05-2021, 10:06 PM
If I wasn’t a hibby I’d be wanting St Johnstone to win 😁 but not for any disliking of us.

I think neutrals will see it that we had our big moment very recently and St Johnstone winning the double would rightly be a huge achievement.

But I am a hibby so f*** all of the above.

On another note is it not still in livi’s interest that we win the cup, or is that all done now?

16-05-2021, 10:15 PM
Other than our maroon chums and a few Dundonians, doubt anyone will care much. :dunno:

tbh, I’m not really expecting much of a game.

1875godsgift
16-05-2021, 11:51 PM
Yes I'd imagine most neutrals will be supporting St Johnstone next week for that reason rather than it being down to any major hatred for us.

It would be the first time for over 30 years that a team, other than Celtic or Rangers, has managed to win both domestic cups in the same season.

Who were the last team to do it, out of interest? I was just saying to one of my mates the other day it must be a long time since anyone outside the twin cheeks has done the cup double.

16-05-2021, 11:59 PM
If I wasn’t a hibby I’d be wanting St Johnstone to win 😁 but not for any disliking of us.

I think neutrals will see it that we had our big moment very recently and St Johnstone winning the double would rightly be a huge achievement.

But I am a hibby so f*** all of the above.

On another note is it not still in livi’s interest that we win the cup, or is that all done now?

Livingston finished 6th so what happens in the final is irrelevant to them now as they can't get into Europe.

The five Scottish teams in Europe next season will be Rangers, Celtic, Hibs, Aberdeen and St Johnstone.

The only thing left to decide is which one out of Hibs and St Johnstone will get the Europa League spot and which one will get the Europa Conference League spot.

16-05-2021, 11:59 PM
Who were the last team to do it, out of interest? I was just saying to one of my mates the other day it must be a long time since anyone outside the twin cheeks has done the cup double.

Aberdeen in 1989/90.

1875godsgift
17-05-2021, 12:30 AM
Aberdeen in 1989/90.

Thanks! thought it must have been them, a few years after Fergie left then.

17-05-2021, 12:36 AM
Other than our dear friends in Gorgie and Govan, I don't think most folk will have strong feelings either way.

Crunchie
17-05-2021, 05:32 AM
Next Saturday we'll be in the unusual position of being in a Scottish Cup Final where pretty much all non-Hibees want us to lose. The small number of United fans who've got over the Matty Jack Incident will be behind us maybe, but beyond that we are the pantomime villain.

Hearts, Rangers and a fair percentage of Celtic fans will want us to lose, I doubt the rest will care one way or another.

17-05-2021, 06:18 AM
Seems a bit extreme, what makes you think everyone will want us to lose?

Hardly villains and don't think neutrals will have strong feelings either way. Most will just be glad someone other than Celtic (or Sevco) will be lifting the Cup.

I think OP was simply saying for a change we are Favs and the Big Team 😂 in the final therefore most neutrals will want the Diddy team win.

FWIW I don’t think many outside the participating teams Hearts and possibly Rangers fans will give a smurf about this game.

17-05-2021, 06:25 AM
I dont imagine other fans will have a particularly strong feeling either way about this..

Most who end up watching will probs just want to see a decent game.

Yep can't imagine people outside our obvious rivals will care one way or the other will just want to see a decent game which they might be disappointed given our previous games with Saints this season.

Bangkok Hibby
17-05-2021, 06:57 AM

Let's not slip into Hun mindset.

17-05-2021, 07:12 AM

So actually not that historic when you think about it. A long time, true, but not historic.

You could say the same about Scotland qualifying for a tournament. A long time. But not historic.

EI255
17-05-2021, 07:59 AM
Pretty much all the Celtic lads I know want us to win the Cup.

17-05-2021, 08:32 AM
Livingston finished 6th so what happens in the final is irrelevant to them now as they can't get into Europe.

The five Scottish teams in Europe next season will be Rangers, Celtic, Hibs, Aberdeen and St Johnstone.

The only thing left to decide is which one out of Hibs and St Johnstone will get the Europa League spot and which one will get the Europa Conference League spot.

Cheers - I did wonder if that was the case now given nobody mentioned them, but kind of lost interest once we sealed third and it was all eyes on the cup 👍

17-05-2021, 08:38 AM
A win for hibs will see us become the joint most successful club (out with OF) over the last 30 odd years (with Aberdeen)

So I'd say its fair that the sheep, rangers and hearts wont want us to win the cup. That's a fair chunk of the country

A perth saints cup double is something i'm sure many neutrals will like, especially with us having already broken our hoodoo

17-05-2021, 08:50 AM
Pretty much all the Celtic lads I know want us to win the Cup.

aww do they want their wee cousins to do well? :rolleyes:

17-05-2021, 11:30 AM
If I was a neutral I’d be hoping St Johnstone won to complete a remarkable double.

I suspect that outwith Hearts fans, nobody will really be that bothered who wins it.