View Full Version : FA Cup Final NHC
14-05-2021, 09:54 PM
Where's your fiver going?
Chelsea? Leicester? staying in your pocket?:wink:
What do you think?
Part of my quadruple of cup winners Leicester, Hibs, United, City. Am i in with a shout? :greengrin
14-05-2021, 09:58 PM
Where's your fiver going?
Chelsea? Leicester? staying in your pocket?:wink:
What do you think?
Part of my quadruple of cup winners Leicester, Hibs, United, City. Am i in with a shout? :greengrin
Think Chelsea are a stick on.
14-05-2021, 10:00 PM
Think Chelsea are a stick on.
I think Leicester have played in something like 4 finals and never won it. i think this is their 2016 moment.
14-05-2021, 10:01 PM
I think Leicester have played in something like 4 finals and never won it. i think this is their 2016 moment.
Hope so can't see it
Lendo
14-05-2021, 10:33 PM
£5 free bet on Both Teams to Score Both Havles, 20/1
14-05-2021, 10:36 PM
The omens are there Leicester won a trophy in 2016 so did we. 👍
15-05-2021, 05:11 AM
The omens are there Leicester won a trophy in 2016 so did we. 👍
And there are many years when Leicester have not won a trophy and neither have we :offski:
Hope for a Leicester win.
Fancy them 2-1
15-05-2021, 06:47 AM
And there are many years when Leicester have not won a trophy and neither have we :offski:
15-05-2021, 06:51 AM
21,000 fans..but we can’t allow 600.
That’s what I’m going to be thinking watching it.
15-05-2021, 07:50 AM
21,000 fans..but we can’t allow 600.
That’s what I’m going to be thinking watching it.
Am with you. BBC Breakfast just now revelling in how things are "returning to normal" with thousands of Chelsea and Leicester fans at the FA Cup Final today and how fans will be travelling across to Porto for the CL Final. It's galling.
15-05-2021, 08:42 AM
For some reason I thought it was next week, the same day as ours. I might give it a watch, hoping on a Leicester win.
15-05-2021, 03:37 PM
Wembley looks absolutely fantastic as the fans are starting to filter in.
15-05-2021, 04:04 PM
It's great to see happening.
15-05-2021, 04:05 PM
It's great to see happening.
Agres but also makes our debacle more annoying.
15-05-2021, 04:10 PM
Nae mask on most of them, though!
Just read above 21,000 fans, looks more in to me.
Magpie
15-05-2021, 04:13 PM
Jamie Vardy’s having a party.
15-05-2021, 04:14 PM
Leicester in that horrendous maroon strip
AltheHibby
15-05-2021, 04:15 PM
Jamie Vardy’s having a party.
Hope so. It would mean as much to them as 2016 did to us.
15-05-2021, 04:16 PM
Guy on BBC website says only in England could 20,000 fans sound like 70,000 what a load of pish.
AliboyFC
15-05-2021, 04:17 PM
22000 fans yet we can't let 600. What a joke should have played the SC final in newcastle or something.
15-05-2021, 04:17 PM
Guy on BBC website says only in England could 20,000 fans sound like 70,000 what a load of pish.
My ex work friend from Leicester is at the game
Magpie
15-05-2021, 04:18 PM
Hope so. It would mean as much to them as 2016 did to us.
2016 was a special year for us and them. Hopefully this year will be the same.
15-05-2021, 04:19 PM
My ex work friend from Leicester is at the game
Aw, man. Must be ace.
hibeerealist
15-05-2021, 04:22 PM
22000 fans yet we can't let 600. What a joke should have played the SC final in newcastle or something.
This lot up here could not organise a p i s s up in a brewery, the GTFA and the GTSNP **** in disgrace they way we are treated in Scotland
15-05-2021, 04:24 PM
It’s extremely frustrating to see all those fans at the game. 20k would’ve got nearly all season ticket holders into the game.
AliboyFC
15-05-2021, 04:25 PM
It’s extremely frustrating to see all those fans at the game. 20k would’ve got nearly all season ticket holders into the game.
I know man. 😕
15-05-2021, 04:30 PM
This lot up here could not organise a p i s s up in a brewery, the GTFA and the GTSNP **** in disgrace they way we are treated in Scotland
👀
15-05-2021, 04:30 PM
Guff game though
The Baldmans Comb
15-05-2021, 04:33 PM
There doesn't even seem to be 1.5 metre spacing never mind 2.0 metre between the fans so I guess the English authorities don't care if a few football oiks get infected though you would think they would have a little more empathy for the rest of their population.
England is hardly a gold standard for Covid management given their infection and death rates but its their call so good luck with that.
15-05-2021, 04:35 PM
I was all set to “support” Leicester today - then they took their tracksuits off. How do you get behind a team in those colours?
15-05-2021, 04:37 PM
I was all set to “support” Leicester today - then they took their tracksuits off. How do you get behind a team in those colours?
My exact thoughts!
AliboyFC
15-05-2021, 04:39 PM
I dont mind their kit me I think it looks nice. It's the badge on the kit that makes me not like it.
There doesn't even seem to be 1.5 metre spacing never mind 2.0 metre between the fans so I guess the English authorities don't care if a few football oiks get infected though you would think they would have a little more empathy for the rest of their population.
England is hardly a gold standard for Covid management given their infection and death rates but its their call so good luck with that.
They all had negative tests before entry.
MGmick
15-05-2021, 04:42 PM
It is an unfortunate choice of colour but don't forget the "speshul" relationship Chelsea have with the currants.
The Baldmans Comb
15-05-2021, 04:42 PM
They all had negative tests before entry.
14 day lead time would make that irrelevant but its England's business and English fans are intelligent as any others in making personal choices.
I always regard English fans as the best around for passion and deep commitment but sometime wonder if they take it to far.
15-05-2021, 04:45 PM
I want Leicester to win purely because their fans actually seem glad to be there. Have barely heard a peep from the Chelsea end.
AliboyFC
15-05-2021, 04:48 PM
I want Leicester to win purely because their fans actually seem glad to be there. Have barely heard a peep from the Chelsea end.
Yeah I have a soft spot for leicester. Chelsea fans are all just glory hunters bit like sevco and septic fans.
15-05-2021, 04:48 PM
Great to see fans again. Personally I’d not be comfortable with that proximity just yet.
15-05-2021, 04:49 PM
I always regard English fans as the best around for passion and deep commitment but sometime wonder if they take it to far.
I really disagree with that, certainly for noise/colour/displays there’s a lot more passion in other nations grounds.
It's one of the "test" events being rolled out before next stage of lock down lifting. No social distancing or masks etc
AliboyFC
15-05-2021, 04:52 PM
I really disagree with that, certainly for noise/colour/displays there’s a lot more passion in other nations grounds.
I reckon scottish fans are better IMO.
15-05-2021, 04:53 PM
Frustrating doesn't even begin to cover it, but look at it another way ... this is a huge test event, where everyone attending is going to be monitored for the coming weeks. If there are no significant outbreaks and all is well, then it is a blueprint for getting us all back into football grounds next season. We need to just hope all goes ok, then the SNP will run out of reasons/excuses not to open football grounds up properly here.
And I don't mean 600 fans in 51000 seater stadia, which what they think is opening grounds.
15-05-2021, 04:53 PM
This is awful
15-05-2021, 04:55 PM
This is awful
The FA cup final? I reckon it’s been good. Wee bit cagey but plenty quality.
The Baldmans Comb
15-05-2021, 04:56 PM
Actually you are probably right with that to be honest.
I guess what I meant is that football passion runs very deep in the English phsycology and I always have admired the depth of knowledge many of their fans show.
15-05-2021, 04:57 PM
Indeed, good game. Plenty happening. Dunno what folk actually expect.
15-05-2021, 04:58 PM
Really?, maybe the maroon strips are affecting my eyes.
15-05-2021, 04:59 PM
I know what you mean. It’s a bit Hearts St Johnstone :greengrin
15-05-2021, 04:59 PM
Great to see fans back for such an occasion, it'll never catch on.
Hopefully no outbreaks as a result.
15-05-2021, 05:00 PM
For the amount of quality players on show the passing has been pretty crap and I'm not sure there's been a shot on target yet.
Iheanacho having a horrible 45. Good impersonation of Kamberi.
Frustrating doesn't even begin to cover it, but look at it another way ... this is a huge test event, where everyone attending is going to be monitored for the coming weeks. If there are no significant outbreaks and all is well, then it is a blueprint for getting us all back into football grounds next season. We need to just hope all goes ok, then the SNP will run out of reasons/excuses not to open football grounds up properly here.
And I don't mean 600 fans in 51000 seater stadia, which what they think is opening grounds.
Exactly. They’ve built up to this point, same as the snooker, the brits, the lot. They have scientists watching every move, gaining an understanding of what is happening, tests etc. They’ve not went straight into 20k like what they are going to do up here, they started small and have had a strategy.
Are they maroon? Thank **** I’m colour blind then, thought they were black :rolleyes:
15-05-2021, 05:01 PM
Not been shy of a good challenge or two, been decent enough. All guns blazing the second half maybe !
15-05-2021, 05:02 PM
Are they maroon? Thank **** I’m colour blind then, thought they were black :rolleyes:
New telly required!
Or an eye test.
15-05-2021, 05:04 PM
Thankful for the different socks. My Radio Rentals B&W TV is a real problem with this lot.
15-05-2021, 05:05 PM
600 was ridiculous, but it wasn't out of 51000. Only the south stand was available.
Stairway 2 7
15-05-2021, 05:13 PM
14 day lead time would make that irrelevant but its England's business and English fans are intelligent as any others in making personal choices.
50,000 sell outs at the baseball 2 months ago 15,000 inside for the boxing and 80,000 inside for the boxing last week all in texas. No spike, numbers tumbling there actually
15-05-2021, 05:13 PM
The game's 3 weeks away, and they're talking about what team England should put out against Croatia 🙄
15-05-2021, 05:17 PM
Crowd is 20k, 6k each team and the rest locals etc
BeansOnToast
15-05-2021, 05:20 PM
Apologies if it’s already been asked and answered above, but surely Wembley is under eufa control at this moment in time, the same as Hampden. I understand that as Glasgow will stay in level 3 it’s impossible to now have fans in. But hypothetically if it had moved to level 2, how have Wembley managed to open up all 4 stands and Hampden couldn’t?.
15-05-2021, 05:24 PM
Apologies if it’s already been asked and answered above, but surely Wembley is under eufa control at this moment in time, the same as Hampden. I understand that as Glasgow will stay in level 3 it’s impossible to now have fans in. But hypothetically if it had moved to level 2, how have Wembley managed to open up all 4 stands and Hampden couldn’t?.
Think they’re saying Wembley is a £900m modern stadium needing no work, hampden is a dump which needs loads of work for the championships.
15-05-2021, 05:25 PM
Think they’re saying Wembley is a £900m modern stadium needing no work, hampden is a dump which needs loads of work for the championships.
Definitely work getting done on the North stand at Hampden, not sure about the other 3 though
15-05-2021, 05:26 PM
Which to be fair, is bang on. Wembley is about as good as a stadium can be in terms of facilities. Theres a reason its had 2 recent CL finals, was an option for this years, and has this years Euro final (i think)?
In UEFAs eyes, its probably the best stadium in the world. Hampden is a heap of *****.
15-05-2021, 05:29 PM
It's a bit boring for me, i'd like more goalmouth action.
15-05-2021, 05:30 PM
The game's 3 weeks away, and they're talking about what team England should put out against Croatia
Wonder when they will be discussing the Scotland team. Also think they should mention sportscene when talking about motd being shown later.
15-05-2021, 05:31 PM
Not exactly a noisy crowd.
15-05-2021, 05:31 PM
It's a bit boring for me, i'd like more goalmouth action.
I’ve enjoyed it, but I agree The good stuff has mostly been the tackling.
Wesley Fofana channelling his inner Eric Schaedler.
15-05-2021, 05:33 PM
Not exactly a noisy crowd.
Decent number of them have probably dropped off.
15-05-2021, 05:34 PM
Not sure FIFA will be happy with that Palestinian flag
BeansOnToast
15-05-2021, 05:35 PM
Makes sense.
15-05-2021, 05:36 PM
I've heard your glass is always half empty. 🍷🍷🍷😁
15-05-2021, 05:37 PM
Wow
What a goal
JXM73
Pick that out.....
Now that is a strike. :top marks
A cup worthy goal indeed !
JXM73
15-05-2021, 05:38 PM
If VAR rules that out fitbas done
What a goal
I used to knock them in like that back in the day 😀
Pick that oot.
AliboyFC
Phoooo
Unbelieveable strike. Fit to win any game.
He must have a foot like a traction engine.
15-05-2021, 05:39 PM
I used to knock them in like that back in the day 😀
Behave 😂
SJNB Hibby
Now that is a strike. :top marks
Well if Slippy's goal is apparently the best Final goal ever----we have a new #1
Great to see those limbs back
Magpie
Brilliant goal, come on the foxes.
The goalkeeper has got football pie all over his shirt.
Magpie
15-05-2021, 05:40 PM
Great to see those limbs back
What makes the game so special.
15-05-2021, 05:41 PM
Eat my goal
AliboyFC
15-05-2021, 05:43 PM
The Chilwell abuse Is funny af.
Definitely work getting done on the North stand at Hampden, not sure about the other 3 though
The 600 potential fans were to be in the lower south stand. The rest of the stadium was unavailable.
What makes the game so special.
Social distancing out of the window too.
SJNB Hibby
15-05-2021, 05:44 PM
Leicester arent going to survive like this for 20 minutes
15-05-2021, 05:44 PM
https://twitter.com/b6cauley/status/1393622926436487170?s=21
Notice the steward telling Leicester fans to calm down.
15-05-2021, 05:45 PM
The 600 potential fans were to be in the lower south stand. The rest of the stadium was unavailable.
Fair enough, that’s why they could only get 600 in, but they should have looked at alternative venues a few weeks back
15-05-2021, 05:52 PM
Top save to deny the equaliser.
AliboyFC
15-05-2021, 05:52 PM
Class save from smeichal. Sorry don't know how to spell his name.
15-05-2021, 05:56 PM
Anyone else thinks Soyuncu looks like Buffalo Bill from silence of the lambs?
BeansOnToast
15-05-2021, 05:57 PM
Fair enough, that’s why they could only get 600 in, but they should have looked at alternative venues a few weeks back
The (g)FA have known Hampden was to be used for the euros for 2 years or more?. There’s been no fans in the ground since at least March 2020 and Queens Park played their last game there in March this year. You’d think they’d have been more organised with whatever work was needed and potentially been ready for at least, test event(s) long before now.
15-05-2021, 05:58 PM
Why was that Chelsea fan winking at me?
15-05-2021, 06:00 PM
What a save. That was unbelievable.
What a save. I thought that was 1-1. He was just like his dad there.
That's an outstanding save
That's as good a save as I've ever seen. Superb
AliboyFC
15-05-2021, 06:01 PM
Why was that Chelsea fan winking at me?
Hahahaha, but smeichal been playing class.
SJNB Hibby
Schyshshsmeicel!!!! and Again!!1Shy........
Great save by the former Bairns stopper.
Fabulous save by Schmeichel
That is genuinely one of the best saves I’ve ever seen.
Kaspers having a great game when called on.
Magpie
15-05-2021, 06:02 PM
Wow some save that.
15-05-2021, 06:02 PM
1-1
SJNB Hibby
15-05-2021, 06:03 PM
Lucky barstewards
Magpie
Lucky *******s.
Chalked aff. Ha ha ha
JXM73
VAR yessssssss, i love VAR
Magpie
Yes!!
Lucky equaliser for Chelsea but ruled out by VAR
SJNB Hibby
15-05-2021, 06:04 PM
Kharma
Goal disallowed
Offside. VAR overturns, correctly I think.
Football down there is broken
Pleasing
:faf::faf::faf:
at least 10mm offside
V-hahaha-R !
AliboyFC
No ****ing way
Magpie
VAR my lord!
15-05-2021, 06:05 PM
VAR is a joke. That was a bawhair, ffs
Utter madness!!
I hope we’re never on the end of a VAR decision like that. Horrible.
Never offside. I'd like Leicester to win, but that's nonsense.
Happy it was ruled off but dont think it was Leicester central defender steps back just before the ball is crossed.
Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk
JXM73
15-05-2021, 06:06 PM
Erm, was offside...
15-05-2021, 06:07 PM
Erm, was offside...
If that's offside the game's burst.
Mr Grieves
15-05-2021, 06:08 PM
Actually enjoyed that VAR decision
Magpie
15-05-2021, 06:08 PM
Watching the passion of the supporters. Brilliant, can’t wait to get back. Special.
15-05-2021, 06:09 PM
Get in Leicester
Superb... well done Leicester
Well done Leicester, FA Cup winners for the first time. As much as I dislike Chelsea, that's a tough way to lose.
15-05-2021, 06:10 PM
Tielemans and Schmeical did two special things. Enjoyed that.
Brilliant.
Try teling those Leicester fans the FA Cup is devalued tonight.
Delighted for them.
This time next week…..:cb
15-05-2021, 06:11 PM
VAR is a joke. That was a bawhair, ffs
VAR is correct then.
AltheHibby
Great result. 😁
Lineker is filling up.
Newry Hibs
Last time leicester won a major trophy wa 2016. Just saying....
Mr Grieves
Good stuff, Leicester fans will appreciate that more than Chelsea's
Delighted for them.
This time next week…..:cb
:agree: Gogic=Tielemans
Well done Leicester City.
15-05-2021, 06:12 PM
I said it was off at the time and the first time I saw the photo.
15-05-2021, 06:12 PM
Who won the Scottish cup last tile Leicester won anything?
15-05-2021, 06:13 PM
Great to see them celebrating with their supporters, as any cup winning team should be able to do
Magpie
Rangers celebrating a league title the same day Brendan Rodgers is winning the FA Cup. Celtic fans must be fuming.
If that's offside the game's burst.
In what way?
How far offside should a player be allowed to be?
Even then, you'd still have occasions when they'd be marginally offside.
15-05-2021, 06:14 PM
If Chelsea lose Champions League final, and get pipped for 4th, will Roman fire Tuchel. You know how ruthless he is
15-05-2021, 06:14 PM
Was it not the Chicago Cubs that broke their hoodoo in 2016 as well?! Need to see what they’ve been up to this year 🤔
LeithMike
15-05-2021, 06:15 PM
Whay a difference having fans back makes. It brings football to life and makes it a spectacle.
Such a shame our governing body and government have not done anything.
Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk
15-05-2021, 06:15 PM
Football down there is broken
:agree: It's bonkers. Loved the Leicester win, fully deserved. But that was a valid, good goal for Chelsea. VAR is a MONSTER!
Would you believe Leicester has lost 4 (Yes, FOUR) previous finals before winning it today. Such pain, torture that has never been experienced by any fans before.
15-05-2021, 06:16 PM
At the time of the through ball i thought there was a chance it might be offside, and it was just offside so the right decision was made.
There have been times this season where i've thought how can they see that as offside, but today was not one of them.
15-05-2021, 06:17 PM
That Chelsea strip is horrendous...Leicester are wearing maroon and they still look better !
SJNB Hibby
Good stuff, Leicester fans will appreciate that more than Chelsea's
The Lynx's have a special relationship with the Foxes
I said it was off at the time and the first time I saw the photo.
Cool. I thought it was on, same time. I'd rather leave it to human fallibility, like everything else that makes the game what it is. That's not me trying to start a barney, btw.
Who won the Scottish cup last tile Leicester won anything?
Exactly what I was thinking :thumbsup:
15-05-2021, 06:20 PM
Great to see them celebrating with their supporters, as any cup winning team should be able to do
Proper supporters, proper football club. Sometimes the best part of football has nothing to do with the ESL - but they just don't get it :greengrin
15-05-2021, 06:20 PM
:agree: It's bonkers. Loved the Leicester win, fully deserved. But that was a valid, good goal for Chelsea. VAR is a MONSTER!
Would you believe Leicester has lost 4 (Yes, FOUR) previous finals before winning it today. Such pain, torture that has never been experienced by any fans before.
Apart from the fact it was offside so not valid at all yer right...
Can’t believe people think that goal should have stood and denied Leicester a historic win when it was offside.
That goal and THAT save deserved to win the cup and I’m quite pleased VAR made sure that happened.
jakedance
15-05-2021, 06:21 PM
This has been amazing to see but just an utter kick in the baws that we’ll have no fans at Hampden. It’s just a different game entirely. Well done Leicester.
AliboyFC
15-05-2021, 06:21 PM
Congrats leicester.
15-05-2021, 06:22 PM
I wonder if the fun police will pick up on Hamza Choudhury flying the Palestinian flag.
hibee316
15-05-2021, 06:23 PM
This has been amazing to see but just an utter kick in the baws that we’ll have no fans at Hampden. It’s just a different game entirely. Well done Leicester.
Without fans, that game would have been nearly unwatchable, with a mildly interesting ending.
With fans? Brilliant!
DJ HIBBY
15-05-2021, 06:23 PM
Yep regardless who wins next week, celebrating winning a trophy in an empty stadium must be pretty hollow
15-05-2021, 06:24 PM
I wonder if the fun police will pick up on Hamza Choudhury flying the Palestinian flag.
Good on him. A reminder there are always more important things than a game.
15-05-2021, 06:25 PM
Cool. I thought it was on, same time. I'd rather leave it to human fallibility, like everything else that makes the game what it is. That's not me trying to start a barney, btw.
I know you're not.
Human fallibility causes injustice. It also allows for referees to be influenced by the crowd and by their own prejudices.
Hibs will have been on the wrong end of a lot more "human fallibility" decisions in a season than they'll ever suffer from marginal VAR calls.
The Chelsea goal was offside. It doesn't matter if it was by a yard, a foot or a couple of inches.
Chorley Hibee
Seeing this has made me even more angry that our final will be in front of no fans.
Brendan Rodgers is one of the best managers in the world for me.
AliboyFC
Yep regardless who wins next week, celebrating winning a trophy in an empty stadium must be pretty hollow
Celebrate outside ER
15-05-2021, 06:27 PM
Seeing this has made me even more angry that our final will be in front of no fans.
Disgraceful. More and more reasons (excuses) as the weeks and months pass to stop us doing anything. Bloody horrible.
15-05-2021, 06:29 PM
Disgraceful. More and more reasons (excuses) as the weeks and months pass to stop us doing anything. Bloody horrible.
Would love someone to have a go at the SG for this in the upcoming week.
Rumble de Thump
15-05-2021, 06:29 PM
VAR was only meant to be used to correct clear and obvious mistakes. Match officials in England have been misusing it pretty much since they started using it.
15-05-2021, 06:30 PM
Great scenes!!!
Watching them celebrate in front of the fans is just superb.
TheSouthMoroccan
15-05-2021, 06:30 PM
Proper supporters, proper football club. Sometimes the best part of football has nothing to do with the ESL - but they just don't get it :greengrin
Agreed. Delighted they have won, right now their fans will no doubt feel exactly as we did in 2016. Priceless
15-05-2021, 06:32 PM
I know you're not.
Human fallibility causes injustice. It also allows for referees to be influenced by the crowd and by their own prejudices.
Hibs will have been on the wrong end of a lot more "human fallibility" decisions in a season than they'll ever suffer from marginal VAR calls.
The Chelsea goal was offside. It doesn't matter if it was by a yard, a foot or a couple of inches.
You know, I'd still take that, but I'm a reactionary old fart. On the letter of the law though you're right. Fair dos. Your use of imperial units of measurement is totally unacceptable though! :-)
mayo hibee
15-05-2021, 06:35 PM
That was a fairly clear offside to be fair. It was made clear to all teams from the start that the offside decisions would be to the millimetre, which has led to some tight ones, but that wasn't near as close as some others.
When people are complaining about that one you know they're just complaining for the sake of complaining at this stage.
15-05-2021, 06:36 PM
I’ve watched that save a number of times now, it doesn’t make sense. Unreal.
Rumble de Thump
15-05-2021, 06:38 PM
That was a fairly clear offside to be fair. It was made clear to all teams from the start that the offside decisions would be to the millimetre, which has led to some tight ones, but that wasn't near as close as some others.
When people are complaining about that one you know they're just complaining for the sake of complaining at this stage.
When a freeze frame with a line drawn across the pitch is required in order to make a decision it's certainly not clear.
15-05-2021, 06:39 PM
Clear offside, don't get the issue. Well done to Leicester.
I’ve watched that save a number of times now, it doesn’t make sense. Unreal.
Leicester earned their VAR break with that save. Magnificent.
I wanted Leicester to win, but let's not go nuts about them. First team to go in to administration due to spending what they didn't have, and didn't even get a points deduction because the rules hadn't imagined that would happen.
Still more palatable than Chelsea, but that's not a badge of honour in itself.
The dalmeny
When a freeze frame with a line drawn across the pitch is required in order to make a decision it's certainly not clear.
they always freeze frame
15-05-2021, 06:41 PM
Leicester earned their VAR break with that save. Magnificent.
15-05-2021, 06:43 PM
Last time Leicester lifted silverware it was May 2016... hmmm
15-05-2021, 06:45 PM
My complaint is him being 2/3cm offside does not give him an advantage. Majority of his body is still level but his knee cap is ahead slightly. I’ve been consistent in saying I want offside decisions to be the same as Rugby, if it’s clear, give it, if it’s not, don’t. If you need lines to tell someone’s knee/arm is slightly ahead of someone else’s heel/arse then it shouldn’t be off.
15-05-2021, 06:46 PM
My complaint is him being 2/3cm offside does not give him an advantage. Majority of his body is still level but his knee cap is ahead slightly. I’ve been consistent in saying I want offside decisions to be the same as Rugby, if it’s clear, give it, if it’s not, don’t. If you need lines to tell someone’s knee/arm is slightly ahead of someone else’s heel/arse then it shouldn’t be off.
So you are basically creating a subjective rule, where someone gets to decide if its clear or not, instead of just sticking to a basic ''if he is off, he is off'' rule? Sounds much worse.
Keyser Sauzee
15-05-2021, 06:47 PM
Watching the Leicester players embracing the owner when he came down to the pitch was quite emotional, great scenes.
Rumble de Thump
15-05-2021, 06:48 PM
they always freeze frame
And it was required in order to make the decision in this instance. For clear mistakes, the referee would be able to make a decision with a simple replay, even if he's always shown a freeze frame anyway. I just wonder why they don't use the technology the way in which they were supposed to use it.
15-05-2021, 06:48 PM
Apart from the fact it was offside so not valid at all yer right...
Can’t believe people think that goal should have stood and denied Leicester a historic win when it was offside.
That goal and THAT save deserved to win the cup and I’m quite pleased VAR made sure that happened.
Clear and obvious mistakes (by human officials), thank you very much :greengrin
So glad I've enjoyed my football with all the flaws, human error and emotion that went with it. Like it or not, it's what has made the game it is. The misuse of blunt, inexact science is changing and killing the game down South, and they're welcome to it.
15-05-2021, 06:49 PM
So you are basically creating a subjective rule, where someone gets to decide if its clear or not, instead of just sticking to a basic ''if he is off, he is off'' rule? Sounds much worse.
The point being, offside is to stop attackers getting an advantage. Majority of these decisions aren’t stopping that. In most cases they are level with the exception of the point of their knee, or in some cases their haircut or the top of their arm.
Having a clear daylight which is obvious from plain sight brings it back to its origins of stopping attackers getting an advantage.
15-05-2021, 06:52 PM
It's harsh, but at least this way offside is offside and there is no debate. That's what VAR is for; my issue is when it's used for subjective things, such as ridiculous fouls and cards.
15-05-2021, 06:55 PM
It's harsh, but at least this way offside is offside and there is no debate. That's what VAR is for; my issue is when it's used for subjective things, such as ridiculous fouls and cards.
I don’t see any problems or complaints about it in rugby. Same situation. We just need to remind ourselves why we have offside, and if the current rule really stops that, and the answer is no in my opinion. I also don’t want VAR anywhere near our game due to that today, score a last minute winner for it then to be disallowed by a tv screen a minute after full on celebrations.
LeithMike
15-05-2021, 07:12 PM
I don’t see any problems or complaints about it in rugby. Same situation. We just need to remind ourselves why we have offside, and if the current rule really stops that, and the answer is no in my opinion. I also don’t want VAR anywhere near our game due to that today, score a last minute winner for it then to be disallowed by a tv screen a minute after full on celebrations.Its a tough one. I was always in favour of VAR but it creates just as much injustice as it solves and it takes away the enjoyment of a goal. Marginal offisdes are ridiculous too. Time to get rid and concentrate on making referees better.
Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk
15-05-2021, 07:26 PM
In my own head I've taken the "big six" out of the EPL in light of the ESL escapade so Leicester have just won the double.
I've also taken the two buttocks out of the SPL and we're going for the double next weekend :wink:
MKHIBEE
15-05-2021, 08:26 PM
I wanted Leicester to win, but let's not go nuts about them. First team to go in to administration due to spending what they didn't have, and didn't even get a points deduction because the rules hadn't imagined that would happen.
Still more palatable than Chelsea, but that's not a badge of honour in itself.
Lincoln City went into administration before Leicester, that was partly to do with the collapse of a TV deal
TheSouthMoroccan
15-05-2021, 08:27 PM
In my own head I've taken the "big six" out of the EPL in light of the ESL escapade so Leicester have just won the double.
I've also taken the two buttocks out of the SPL and we're going for the double next weekend :wink:
15-05-2021, 08:31 PM
VAR was only meant to be used to correct clear and obvious mistakes. Match officials in England have been misusing it pretty much since they started using it.
If the offside was clear and obvious, you wouldn't use VAR.
However, it becomes clear when you apply the technology. A yard is as clear as a couple of inches.
15-05-2021, 08:32 PM
You know, I'd still take that, but I'm a reactionary old fart. On the letter of the law though you're right. Fair dos. Your use of imperial units of measurement is totally unacceptable though! :-)
I should have been a Brexiteer! 🇬🇧
EI255
15-05-2021, 09:52 PM
Love seeing Chelsea get beat.
Hope Man City do them over in the CLF too.
Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk
15-05-2021, 10:48 PM
Haha love it!
15-05-2021, 11:19 PM
Would rather Chelsea win the final. :duck:
16-05-2021, 04:19 AM
There is debate as it uses 50 frames per second (same as UHD) to capture picture. If a ball is played between frames and a run made similarly the margin for error can be as much 30cm given the speed the ball and attacker are moving at. That's a lot. It's not by any means definitive nor is it accurate enough to be drawing lines centimetres or millimetres apart to determine offside. Although I'm glad it stopped Chelsea from possibly winning today!
16-05-2021, 06:20 AM
The best argument for VAR was that it would stop endless arguments about refereeing decisions. The actual result of VAR has been even more endless arguments about refereeing decisions.
16-05-2021, 08:54 AM
Based on recent years Leicester have a better case to be a "big six" club than Arsenal or Tottenham. And fifteen years ago everyone would have laughed at the idea of Man City being "big six".
16-05-2021, 09:05 AM
Based on recent years Leicester have a better case to be a "big six" club than Arsenal or Tottenham. And fifteen years ago everyone would have laughed at the idea of Man City being "big six".
Leicester are an incredibly well run club. They have lost the likes of Maguire, Mahrez, Chillwell, ****e, Drinkwater etc yet are arguably stronger now. Cautiously optimistic that Hibs have a similar effective set up in place and we can successfully replace players when they inevitably move on for big money.
16-05-2021, 09:55 AM
What is recent years?
Leicester got the league, which was obviously the best achievement of those 3 clubs in that time. 1 FA Cup, Once in CL, with likely a second to come now.
Arsenal have won 4 FA cups recently, finished 2nd, been in a Europa league final and 2 semi finals.
Spurs have won nothing since 2008, but been in the Champions league many times, including a run to the final.
In terms of history and overall achievement, Arsenal are at worst the 4th best club in England, probably 3rd depending on how you value Chelseas 1 european cup vs Arsenals many more league titles. They are a much bigger and more successful club than Leicester, despite some very poor years now (still winning twice as many major trophies as Leicester since 2014). Arsenal no doubt need a big rebuild but there is some real top young players there, Smith Rowe, Saliba, Saka, Martinelli, Tierney, Gabriel who could form the core of a good side. Partey being fit all season would massively help as well. There has been some reports they are after some good players, with money being available to go after them because a lot of deadwood such as Ozil, Sokratis, Luiz will be off the wage bill, and rumors of them moving on Xhaka, Bellerin, Lacazette, Nketiah, Guendouzi. Big IF, but if they can do that, then they will start to move forward a bit. They could easily get worse, though.
Spurs are probably still a bigger club, but with their stadium debt, declinding squad and star players being rumoured to leave, they could drop off. They don't really have than many good young players making waves, and are struggling to find a manager. I'd say Leicester will be in a better position than them for the next few years, but again, you never know. Spurs rose by having a solid squad with 1 or 2 real stars. It could happen again.
Leicesters story is great. Really no point wasting time comparing them to others. A great achievement to win the league, and an FA Cup. They aren't suddenly a superpower, though.
16-05-2021, 10:09 AM
I just watched the game this morning at work. Thought the end when the final whistle went was immense, the passion, relief, tears, the fans back into football, everything I or maybe we have all felt the past 16 or so months, all there to see, for me, it certainly was a great moment. I hope we all can experience that next week when/if we lift the cup.
16-05-2021, 12:19 PM
The best argument for VAR was that it would stop endless arguments about refereeing decisions. The actual result of VAR has been even more endless arguments about refereeing decisions.
I think there are fewer arguments about the actual decisions. The arguments are whether the refs should have been allowed to make the correct decision in the first place.
It strikes me as absurd that folk would have preferred to have knowingly allowed an offside goal to have stopped Leicester winning the FA Cup for the sake of a couple of minutes checking.
VAR brings its own drama. Which is worse, being denied a goal which was shown by the technology to have been illegitimate, or losing to an illegitimate goal?
For me, there's no argument. The latter example is worse by a stretch.
Magpie
16-05-2021, 12:26 PM
I see where you are coming from. Spurs haven’t finished outside the top six of the PL for 12 years. Arsenal haven’t been great in the league for a few seasons now but are probably only a few signings away from challenging again. Leicester have done remarkable over the last 5 years.
16-05-2021, 04:16 PM
I think there are fewer arguments about the actual decisions. The arguments are whether the refs should have been allowed to make the correct decision in the first place.
It strikes me as absurd that folk would have preferred to have knowingly allowed an offside goal to have stopped Leicester winning the FA Cup for the sake of a couple of minutes checking.
VAR brings its own drama. Which is worse, being denied a goal which was shown by the technology to have been illegitimate, or losing to an illegitimate goal?
I just find the debates boring. Two pieces of special actual football related genius happened in that game and it’s being subsumed by the usual debates about the rules, millimetres here or there, I just find the actual football more interesting. Match of the Day and the Sky pundits are particularly bad for it, probably because they know it will generate eyeballs and clicks. It feeds the inability of folk to accept that sometimes there are actually some things that are so close and could go either way depending on interpretation, and mistakes do actually happen.
16-05-2021, 04:25 PM
22000 fans yet we can't let 600. What a joke should have played the SC final in newcastle or something.Just catching up on this one and you're spot on..No UEFA or SFA to get in the way!
16-05-2021, 08:26 PM
....on a further point, VAR if it was used properly could wipe out diving. I’ve just seen a prime example now of a player diving in the box, ref doesn’t give it, they check the var, at that point tell the ref it’s a clear dive, so book him. But it never happens.
16-05-2021, 08:33 PM
Leicester are an incredibly well run club. They have lost the likes of Maguire, Mahrez, Chillwell, ****e, Drinkwater etc yet are arguably stronger now. Cautiously optimistic that Hibs have a similar effective set up in place and we can successfully replace players when they inevitably move on for big money.
To be fair all that money for Maguire could only make any side stronger in two respects.
Allez Hibs
16-05-2021, 08:49 PM
Haven't seen a team that happy at the final whistle when winning a trophy for a long time, probably since us in 2016. Lets hope we see that amount of joy from the players at full time on Saturday.