View Full Version : Dawn raids
13-05-2021, 04:27 PM
Brilliant work by the people of Glasgow this morning, who managed to stop this mornings dawn raids and the two people have had to be released after they blocked the UK border force van in. Well done as well to Police Scotland who refused to co-operate with the raid.
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210513/fb08796326db1f50dbc55e311b4c2032.jpg
13-05-2021, 04:30 PM
Brilliant work by the people of Glasgow this morning, who managed to stop this mornings dawn raids and the two people have had to be released after they blocked the UK border force van in. Well done as well to Police Scotland who refused to co-operate with the raid.
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210513/fb08796326db1f50dbc55e311b4c2032.jpg
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkWithout knowing the ins and outs, it's heart warming to see the neighbourhood coming out to support those being huckled.
13-05-2021, 04:35 PM
Just been announced on radio Scotland news they are being released to their home. 😁👍
13-05-2021, 04:35 PM
We need more of this. Peaceful protest but involving direct action.
Today we saw the people of Glasgow stand up and fight against the forced removal of 2 of their own. We have also seen MSPs sworn in in a range of languages ranging from Urdu to BSL to Orcadian. How people react to both those stories tells me whether they are someone I want to actively engage with.
13-05-2021, 04:52 PM
https://twitter.com/reideileen1/status/1392883317188481026?s=21
13-05-2021, 04:57 PM
Maybe not ideal in a covid hotspot but well done the Weegies!
13-05-2021, 05:00 PM
Given it was in the FM’s constituency on the day MSP’s were sworn in, this looks like payback for Scotland not voting for the right people.
13-05-2021, 05:13 PM
Without knowing the ins and outs, it's heart warming to see the neighbourhood coming out to support those being huckled.
My thoughts exactly.
13-05-2021, 05:41 PM
So why were they detained in the first place?
13-05-2021, 05:48 PM
Nicola Sturgeon just posted this on Facebook.
"Today’s events were entirely down to Home Office actions. Police Scotland were in an invidious position - they do not assist in the removal of asylum seekers but do have a duty to protect public safety. They act independently of ministers, but I support this decision.
I disagree fundamentally with Home Office immigration policy but even putting that aside, this action was unacceptable. To act in this way, in the heart of a Muslim community as they celebrated Eid, and in an area experiencing a Covid outbreak was a health & safety risk.
Both as MSP and as FM, I will be demanding assurances from the UK government that they will never again create, through their actions, such a dangerous situation. No assurances were given - and frankly no empathy shown - when I managed to speak to a junior minister earlier.
I am proud to represent a constituency and lead a country that welcomes and shows support to asylum seekers and refugees. The day when immigration policy is the responsibility of The Scottish Parliament can’t come soon enough."
pollution
13-05-2021, 05:56 PM
I had a look at the reports but I did not see anything about that.
It made me think why the protesters blocked this arrest and not others.
13-05-2021, 06:34 PM
There will be a backlash from this. The UK govt has just been embarrassed and had its authority to govern in Scotland challenged.
13-05-2021, 06:40 PM
Just fantastic.
13-05-2021, 06:49 PM
Great to see people responding like that. Not impressed with the "no justice, no peace, no racist police" chant though. Stuff like that risks alienating the vast majority of our police who aren't.
ABZHFC
13-05-2021, 07:44 PM
Shows the importance of community spirit, they were out there in an instance and made the situation untenable for the Home Office to carry out. Not often I say this, but good on the Weegies
13-05-2021, 07:48 PM
There will be a backlash from this. The UK govt has just been embarrassed and had its authority to govern in Scotland challenged.
Do they have the authority to remove all obstacles preventing them from doing their duty? I imagine their masters would like to see their stormtroopers doing just that.
TelaStella
13-05-2021, 07:51 PM
Proud to say I was one. Fantastic turn out and effort from everyone involved.
13-05-2021, 08:03 PM
So why were the guys detained/stopped in the first place?
13-05-2021, 08:06 PM
Great work.
Thank you.
TelaStella
13-05-2021, 08:20 PM
The excuse from the UK home office had been that the raid was in relation to a suspected immigration offence. Suspicion was deemed enough to forcefully enter the home, remove the occupants and have them carted to a detention centre before potentially deported. A family split up and a home empty. Unfortunately we’re seeing more and more of these vans around Glasgow these days and it will take incredible efforts to continue the fight against such injustice behaviour from the British Government. Thankfully, I think today has shown the city and wider country is more than up for the fight.
Steven79
13-05-2021, 09:30 PM
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkWell done to you and every other person that stood upto them.
You did yourselves and Scotland proud. [emoji123][emoji1022]
Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
13-05-2021, 10:08 PM
👍🏼 Well done
AugustaHibs
13-05-2021, 10:11 PM
👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻
HibernianJK
13-05-2021, 10:14 PM
Given it was in the FM’s constituency on the day MSP’s were sworn in, this looks like payback for Scotland not voting for the right people.
No doubt at it all it was politically motivated being in Glasgow Southside and on this day.
Using immigrants like this is disgusting.
Well done, Weegies!!
14-05-2021, 05:20 AM
Minister for The Union stepping up his 'divide and divide some more' strategy, which worked out so well (for him) in the Brexit campaign. Meantime his idiot lapdog Ross bleating on and on and on about the SNP being divisive.
HiBremian
14-05-2021, 06:55 AM
Great stuff. Well done to you and the whole community.
Lendo
14-05-2021, 08:50 AM
Spotted two immigration vans in Edinburgh in the last week, both in the Leith area. Hopefully not the start of a bigger campaign by the Home Office but doesn't look good.
14-05-2021, 09:14 AM
There needs to be more of this, well done the weegies.
14-05-2021, 10:02 AM
Fantastic work. Well done.
14-05-2021, 10:22 AM
Good on you and your compadres. :aok:
14-05-2021, 10:39 AM
Fantastic work by most of the protesters involved but I'm disappointed in those verbally abusing the police, who had done nothing wrong and were put in a very difficult position.
Hopefully if this sort of thing happens again, they'll put their brains into gear first.
I wouldn’t envy anyone driving a Home Office can anywhere in the streets in Scotland after this!
14-05-2021, 01:30 PM
Superb protest and result :top marks:not worth
14-05-2021, 01:39 PM
Good piece here.
https://www.believeinscotland.org/its-morning-again-in-scotland/
14-05-2021, 03:54 PM
Good piece here.
https://www.believeinscotland.org/its-morning-again-in-scotland/
Good article.
"This is a country where we send immigrants and the children of immigrants to parliaments, to the very seats of power. A country where we do not send them ‘’home’’."
Powerful stuff.
14-05-2021, 06:00 PM
We need more of this. Peaceful protest but involving direct action.
Today we saw the people of Glasgow stand up and fight against the forced removal of 2 of their own. We have also seen MSPs sworn in in a range of languages ranging from Urdu to BSL to Orcadian. How people react to both those stories tells me whether they are someone I want to actively engage with.
Totally agree. Peaceful protest is powerful hence the Tories trying to make it illegal. It also shows the stark difference north of the border. They would have had the bunting out in many English cities and clapped as the Police went by.
Create a policy of a Non-Hostile Environment.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
14-05-2021, 07:09 PM
Aye, but we wouldn’t have been so happy if it had turned out they’d had some of those Muslamic Ray Guns though, eh?
14-05-2021, 07:14 PM
Fantastic work by most of the protesters involved but I'm disappointed in those verbally abusing the police, who had done nothing wrong and were put in a very difficult position.
Hopefully if this sort of thing happens again, they'll put their brains into gear first.
Agree. Chimes with what I said earlier.
16-05-2021, 12:24 AM
Maybe not ideal in a covid hotspot but well done the Weegies!
Exactly what I was thinking about the covid, the currant buns today will also be helping to mutate it.
CloudSquall
16-05-2021, 01:14 AM
I know he shouldn't be given air time but George Galloway was going radio rental about this on Twitter, not about the dawn raids occuring, but about the "open rebellion" against the UK government by Scotland and defiantly proclaiming that immigration is reserved to the UK government.
Two minutes later he was championing Palestine's cause without any sense of irony.
Crunchie
16-05-2021, 10:05 AM
Apparently they outstayed their welcome ie leave to remain visa expired.
16-05-2021, 10:17 AM
Apparently they outstayed their welcome ie leave to remain visa expired.
How long do leave to remain visas last?
I understand that these guys have been working for the last 10 years.
Crunchie
16-05-2021, 10:22 AM
How long do leave to remain visas last?
I understand that these guys have been working for the last 10 years.
Like thousands of others they were here illegally, I'd imagine their appeals must have been well exhausted during that time.
16-05-2021, 10:24 AM
Like thousands of others they were here illegally, I'd imagine their appeals must have been well exhausted during that time.
Something wrong with the rules when a guy who has been here ten years and is working isn’t allowed to stay.
16-05-2021, 10:46 AM
Something wrong with the rules when a guy who has been here ten years and is working isn’t allowed to stay.
There are massive problems with what I'd describe as the immigration industry in the UK and very little of it is the fault of the immigrants themselves.
16-05-2021, 11:03 AM
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkExactly, one of my ex workmates deals with housing immigrants and said a lot of these folks are registered UK tax payers etc...
It's a big disconnect between Westminster and Holyrood requirements, the UK policy isn't fit for purpose in Scotland, there's just not enough resident Scots (both born and immigrant) to pay for the NHS etc in the future, we NEED new immigration. These guys who've been here 10 years and from what ive read are contributing to our country are exactly the types of people who should be allowed to remain.
Remember that nurse in kincardine? Was same thing from the home office.
If an area of the UK can't bolster its population as needed to help pay it's way then other parts of the UK could end up worse off as a result.
16-05-2021, 11:16 AM
The immigration policy in the UK is mental my pals wife is from the US, she went to uni here, is a qualified teacher and was working, even as a teacher who is married to a UK resident she got a visa turned down, she had to go home to the US splitting them up for 10 months as she went through appeal after appeal, each one of them costing a few grand a time
Eventually got sorted after 2 years of constant worry and thousands spent, makes me think it's partly a money making scam
Santa Cruz
16-05-2021, 11:28 AM
The immigration policy in the UK is mental my pals wife is from the US, she went to uni here, is a qualified teacher and was working, even as a teacher who is married to a UK resident she got a visa turned down, she had to go home to the US splitting them up for 10 months as she went through appeal after appeal, each one of them costing a few grand a time
Eventually got sorted after 2 years of constant worry and thousands spent, makes me think it's partly a money making scam
It is a money making scam. I tried to help a college with an on-line practice test immigrants have to sit to gain citizenship. We failed it several times, the questions were bizarre, ranging from specific years when historical battles took place to who scored the winning goal for England in the world cup. My colleague said they wouldn't know the answers to most of the questions if they were in relation to their home country. I doubt the actual test varies much from the practice test. I think it costs over a grand to sit it.
* colleague
16-05-2021, 03:37 PM
It is a money making scam. I tried to help a college with an on-line practice test immigrants have to sit to gain citizenship. We failed it several times, the questions were bizarre, ranging from specific years when historical battles took place to who scored the winning goal for England in the world cup. My colleague said they wouldn't know the answers to most of the questions if they were in relation to their home country. I doubt the actual test varies much from the practice test. I think it costs over a grand to sit it.
* colleague
I wouldn't know who scored the winner if it hadn't cropped up in quizzes quite often. Only bit i've ever seen is the final whistle.
Certainly sounds like a money making scheme.
16-05-2021, 03:49 PM
There's also a large, unregulated industry in "helping" people apply. There's alarmingly frequent occurrences of immigrants paying hundreds, if not thousands, to these companies, only for nothing to be done on their behalf. The companies know the people have little or no recourse, so just take their money.
17-05-2021, 08:46 AM
* colleagueDid England win the world cup? You'd have thought they would have mentioned it if they had.
Sent from my CPH2009 using Tapatalk
17-05-2021, 09:33 AM
* colleagueIt costs 50 quid to sit the test, if you fail (I think 17/24 is a fail) then it's 50 quid to resit too
The indefinate leave to remain all up is about £2500 when you factor in application fee, the life in the UK test, new biometrics etc
Its probaly about 10 times as much as it costs the to actually process your application
Bear in mind you have about £3k in work permits before you can even apply for ILR
Then once ILR has been granted another £1200 or so to get citizenship
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
Santa Cruz
17-05-2021, 12:29 PM
It costs 50 quid to sit the test, if you fail (I think 17/24 is a fail) then it's 50 quid to resit too
The indefinate leave to remain all up is about £2500 when you factor in application fee, the life in the UK test, new biometrics etc
Its probaly about 10 times as much as it costs the to actually process your application
Bear in mind you have about £3k in work permits before you can even apply for ILR
Then once ILR has been granted another £1200 or so to get citizenship
Think this was the cost of payment that was mentioned, perhaps it wasn't clear to my then colleague who told me this was what the test cost. :aok:
Santa Cruz
17-05-2021, 12:35 PM
Did England win the world cup? You'd have thought they would have mentioned it if they had.
They did, I worded it incorrectly, it was who scored the winning goal in 1966 when England won the world cup. The questions were hardly anything to do with current affairs, it was nearly all history questions as I recall and like I say really wide ranging. I'm struggling to remember other examples.
17-05-2021, 12:36 PM
They did, I worded it incorrectly, it was who scored the winning goal in 1966 when England won the world cup. The questions were hardly anything to do with current affairs, it was nearly all history questions as I recall and like I say really wide ranging. I'm struggling to remember other examples.I was being facetious, the wee smiley thing from my phone obviously never worked :greengrin
17-05-2021, 01:01 PM
Brian Monteith in the Scotsman. What a ****ing prick.
https://www.scotsman.com/news/opinion/why-nicola-sturgeon-and-humza-yousaf-have-put-mob-rule-and-insurrection-before-upholding-law-brian-monteith-3238724
Santa Cruz
17-05-2021, 01:05 PM
I was being facetious, the wee smiley thing from my phone obviously never worked :greengrin
Aah, probs obvious to others, I have many woosh days just now :aok:
17-05-2021, 03:16 PM
Brian Monteith in the Scotsman. What a ****ing prick.
https://www.scotsman.com/news/opinion/why-nicola-sturgeon-and-humza-yousaf-have-put-mob-rule-and-insurrection-before-upholding-law-brian-monteith-3238724
Ms Sturgeon and Mr Yousaf have put mob rule and insurrection before upholding the law. It must become their political undoing or Scotland shall become lawless.
Dear oh dear Monteith that is a shocker.
17-05-2021, 03:24 PM
They did, I worded it incorrectly, it was who scored the winning goal in 1966 when England won the world cup. The questions were hardly anything to do with current affairs, it was nearly all history questions as I recall and like I say really wide ranging. I'm struggling to remember other examples.Yep, the questions showed nothing in term sof you integrating with British life
Truely a joke
17-05-2021, 04:06 PM
Yep, the questions showed nothing in term sof you integrating with British life
Truely a joke
So an application for a visa to stay in the UK could be determined on whether you knew who scored a goal in a football match 55 years ago. WTAF. I would guess much less than 50 per cent of UK citizens born in this country wouldn't know that answer.
Santa Cruz
17-05-2021, 04:37 PM
So an application for a visa to stay in the UK could be determined on whether you knew who scored a goal in a football match 55 years ago. WTAF. I would guess much less than 50 per cent of UK citizens born in this country wouldn't know that answer.
It was a practice test, no idea if it features in the actual test. I was struggling with questions about the years battles occurred. As Calum rightly says it serves no purpose, there's plenty decent citizens who wouldn't score high on Mastermind.
17-05-2021, 05:25 PM
I wouldn't know who scored the winner if it hadn't cropped up in quizzes quite often. Only bit i've ever seen is the final whistle.
Certainly sounds like a money making scheme.
"They think they're all over (here)..."
17-05-2021, 08:18 PM
It was a practice test, no idea if it features in the actual test. I was struggling with questions about the years battles occurred. As Calum rightly says it serves no purpose, there's plenty decent citizens who wouldn't score high on Mastermind.Yep, lots of history based questions in my wifes exam
Also some law questions I think citizens would struggle with too
I get what it's meant to show but how about - who are the 2 main political parties in WM? ..... Who is the PM? ..... What do we celebrate on 25th December
Things that would show you have some understanding of British life
Not what happened on 1413 in wee Jimmy's hoos [emoji23]
Trick question too.... Highest dominination bank note - I said 100 quid but it's actually 50 according to the practice test... Maybe we only have 100s on Scotland (you know, our fake currency) [emoji849]
My wife studied hard out for a month..... They don't even tell you your score, just pass or fail... She was happy but raging she couldn't see if she got 100% [emoji23]
Stonewall
17-05-2021, 08:23 PM
It looks more like a pub quiz than anything else.
Santa Cruz
17-05-2021, 08:57 PM
It looks more like a pub quiz than anything else.
We were actually "sitting" it like we were playing the Who Wants to be a Millionaire arcade game, saying to each other I think it's C, nah I've changed my mind go B, ahh bummer it was C.
Santa Cruz
17-05-2021, 09:13 PM
Yep, lots of history based questions in my wifes exam
Also some law questions I think citizens would struggle with too
I get what it's meant to show but how about - who are the 2 main political parties in WM? ..... Who is the PM? ..... What do we celebrate on 25th December
Things that would show you have some understanding of British life
Not what happened on 1413 in wee Jimmy's hoos [emoji23]
Trick question too.... Highest dominination bank note - I said 100 quid but it's actually 50 according to the practice test... Maybe we only have 100s on Scotland (you know, our fake currency) [emoji849]
I'm wife studied hard out for a month..... They don't even tell you your score, just pass or fail... She was happy but raging she couldn't see if she got 100% [emoji23]
Aye, I was also thinking stuff like what's the speed limit on X road, how often do you need to renew road tax, tv licences etc, how does the organ donor scheme work, what's the different telephone numbers for emergency and non emergency health problems, what's the name of the charity that provides telephone support for people who have mental health problems.
Questions that would demonstrate a level of understanding as well as educate and provide useful info if people didn't know the answer as opposed to an O'level equivalent test in General Knowledge.
18-05-2021, 11:55 AM
https://lifeintheuktestweb.co.uk/british-citizenship-test-4/
I got 23/24 (one wrong about the Canterbury Tales).
Do I get to stay? :confused::rolleyes:
18-05-2021, 12:27 PM
Do I get to stay? :confused::rolleyes:Mair British than me [emoji23]
Mind these are taken by folk who have been in the country a maximum of 5 years
1st question - when was the last battle between France and the UK
[emoji23][emoji636][emoji632]
18-05-2021, 12:29 PM
21/24 - will you hide me in your attic when they come for me?
18-05-2021, 12:31 PM
Mair British than me [emoji23]
Mind these are taken by folk who have been in the country a maximum of 5 years
1st question - when was the last battle between France and the UK
[emoji23][emoji636][emoji632]
Lucky it's multiple choice or most would probably answer "the battle not to have me in their country". :rolleyes:
18-05-2021, 01:57 PM
specific years when historical battles took place
I helped my old boss (Australian) with some practice questions and one of those historical battles was the Battle of the Boyne – so at least the authorities are trying to gauge how well you've immersed yourself in Scottish football.
Seriously though, some of the questions were a nightmare – e.g. technical stuff about which types of case would be heard in a civil court. And here I was thinking that having no experience of the workings of courts makes me a good citizen…
Lendo
18-05-2021, 02:29 PM
18! still a pass but I know nothing about the Battles of Waterloo, Trafalgar or Hastings and all three came up in different questions.
18-05-2021, 02:49 PM
Priti : We have reason to question the immigration credentials of several Hibs.net posters. A former supporter of the club is helping us with our enquiries.
https://i2-prod.dailyrecord.co.uk/incoming/article13129929.ece/ALTERNATES/s810/0_JS160465227.jpg
18-05-2021, 02:53 PM
Maybe the Home Office has some data we don't know about concerning a forthcoming massive shortage of pub quiz participants? :dunno::rolleyes:
18-05-2021, 02:55 PM
I have to warn you, it didn't work out for Ann Frank, but yeah, ok.
18-05-2021, 03:03 PM
21/24.
Couldn't be bothered checking the wrong answers.
18-05-2021, 03:12 PM
Priti : We have reason to question the immigration credentials of several Hibs.net posters. A former supporter of the club is helping us with our enquiries.
https://i2-prod.dailyrecord.co.uk/incoming/article13129929.ece/ALTERNATES/s810/0_JS160465227.jpg
:rotflmao:
Santa Cruz
18-05-2021, 03:17 PM
21/24.
Couldn't be bothered checking the wrong answers.
I got 19. Never knew Charlie Chaplin was a tramp, thought that was just his look :confused:
18-05-2021, 03:22 PM
18-05-2021, 03:47 PM
Also 20.
"Who developed the radar?" Not sure that question was set by an English speaker.
The whole thing read like a screening test for young Tory hopefuls.
18-05-2021, 04:41 PM
Is it my imagination or was it quite England oriented?
Steven79
18-05-2021, 04:44 PM
Is it my imagination or was it quite England oriented?Who seen that coming!
Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
18-05-2021, 04:45 PM
Is it my imagination or was it quite England oriented?I had one about Wales, one about Scottish bank notes and another about GB which mentioned both.
I got 18
Chorley Hibee
18-05-2021, 04:54 PM
Stupid error on the head of the church.
18-05-2021, 04:58 PM
Stupid error on the head of the church.I said the Queen. Is that right?
Chorley Hibee
18-05-2021, 07:12 PM
I said the Queen. Is that right?
Yes, I answered Archbishop of Canterbury 🙈
18-05-2021, 07:46 PM
I had one about Wales, one about Scottish bank notes and another about GB which mentioned both.
I got 18
"What's an acceptable length of time to spend scrutinising that Monopoly money rubbish before you can expect a Sweaty to chip up with "I think you'll find that that is indeed legal tender"? "
18-05-2021, 07:55 PM
I got 17 and I’m expecting priti’s van outside my house in the morning.[emoji51]
18-05-2021, 08:20 PM
"What's an acceptable length of time to spend scrutinising that Monopoly money rubbish before you can expect a Sweaty to chip up with "I think you'll find that that is indeed legal tender"? ":hilarious
18-05-2021, 08:30 PM
"What's an acceptable length of time to spend scrutinising that Monopoly money rubbish before you can expect a Sweaty to chip up with "I think you'll find that that is indeed legal tender"? "I remember buying a pint at Stansted Airport and the barman scrutinising the RBS £20 note I handed him. I did exactly exactly the same with the English tenner that he gave me in my change.
He wasn't chuffed!
Stairway 2 7
21-05-2021, 10:18 AM
Can tell the evil bout is thoroughly enjoying the show
21-05-2021, 10:23 AM
Reminds me of this.
21-05-2021, 10:35 AM
****** hell. That's not just a badge, is it? She's had a faux-police uniform made with "Home Secretary" embroidered on it.
Why would any non-Tory (or even non-zoomer-Tory) want to stay in the UK when there's an alternative? :confused:
21-05-2021, 10:54 AM
https://scontent.fman1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.6435-9/188348477_4288856874479311_8866506514937423378_n.j pg?_nc_cat=110&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=825194&_nc_ohc=9E8oRIpu7QoAX_Ae7P1&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-1.fna&oh=bbeffc5d923aa55c2509023b37622ed0&oe=60CDAE7D
21-05-2021, 12:18 PM
My wife’s cousin worked for her for a couple of years and she said she is the most deeply unpleasant person she has ever known.
Crunchie
21-05-2021, 12:24 PM
My wife’s cousin worked for her for a couple of years and she said she is the most deeply unpleasant person she has ever known.
And do you take your wife's cousin's word for everything? She has a very difficult job to do, I don't envy her at all. Damned if she does damned if she doesn't. I wonder what kind of immigration policy we would have under an independent govt. or would we have one at all?
Stairway 2 7
21-05-2021, 12:30 PM
And do you take your wife's cousin's word for everything? She has a very difficult job to do, I don't envy her at all. Damned if she does damned if she doesn't. I wonder what kind of immigration policy we would have under an independent govt. or would we have one at all?
Hopefully we would let in lots of young working age people preferably with kids. Pensions don't pay themselves and we've a worryingly ageing population.
Oh and it's common knowledge she's a **** and a bully. She's had many charges of bullying against her. Also commonly said to be as thick as pig ****
21-05-2021, 12:31 PM
One that would suit the needs of a nation with a dwindling population overall and an ongoing decrease in the number of taxpayers we have to pay for the increasing public service requirement of an ageing population?
I mean, we could have uniforms and a good bit of old fashioned “send them all back” but then we might as well stay in the union and get it handed down to us from Priti.
She has got a difficult job to do. Can't be easy given the human cost.
Makes you wonder why she relishes it so much that she's had a wee uniform sewn up for her so can join in and gawp at the raids on people's houses.
Crunchie
21-05-2021, 12:57 PM
Hopefully we would let in lots of young working age people preferably with kids. Pensions don't pay themselves and we've a worryingly ageing population.
Oh and it's common knowledge she's a **** and a bully. She's had many charges of bullying against her. Also commonly said to be as thick as pig ****
We have lots of young working age people as it is, most of them are work shy though and know how to play the system. Hardly surprising when this govt gives them free laptops, bus passes etc.
21-05-2021, 01:03 PM
We have lots of young working age people as it is, most of them are work shy though and know how to play the system. Hardly surprising when this govt gives them free laptops, bus passes etc.
You're either at it again or incredibly ignorant.
Crunchie
21-05-2021, 01:08 PM
So someone is at it if they don't follow your train of thought? You've posted some amount of stuff I don't agree with but I don't say you're at it cos you have a different opinion. Do you people really want to live in a country of people who only agree with you? I can think of a few names for people like that,
Stairway 2 7
21-05-2021, 01:09 PM
This is just ill-informed waffle but 😆 were an ageing population and will have alot of boomers pensions to pay the next few decades.
most of them are work shy though
What are the numbers who are "work-shy" compared to those who aren't?
21-05-2021, 01:14 PM
24/25 - didn’t get the one about who invented the radar.
I presume to revise for this you are given the questions (like the driving theory test). I mean WTF knows who invented the radar? And I like history.
Stairway 2 7
21-05-2021, 01:15 PM
What are the numbers who are "work-shy" compared to those who aren't?
Think his Britain first pamphlet says 72% of youth are works shy the other 60% aren't
21-05-2021, 01:32 PM
So someone is at it if they don't follow your train of thought? You've posted some amount of stuff I don't agree with but I don't say you're at it cos you have a different opinion. Do you people really want to live in a country of people who only agree with you? I can think of a few names for people like that,
There's "different opinions" and there's demonstrable bollocks. The demographics are clear and well known.
Crunchie
21-05-2021, 01:34 PM
There's "different opinions" and there's demonstrable bollocks. The demographics are clear and well known.
And the demonstrable bollocks is clear on the tory and independence threads in abundance :aok:
21-05-2021, 01:42 PM
We can argue all day long about whether the solution is left wing, right wing, independence, remaining in the union, protectionism, globalisation - but one of the national scandals of the whole of the UK is how hard so much of the population has to work to get so little back in return.
Yes, we have wasters, but I have faith in the goodness of (most) people and find it offensive when daft generalisations like that are made.
Stick
21-05-2021, 01:46 PM
Hopefully one that is based on a bit of compassion. One that doesn’t have people committing suicide because they have no money for food,(which has happened not long ago). Not one where you are welcomed in with open arms if you are rich, but barred if you are poor, even if you are prepared to work hard for your family.
One that puts people first and not for the benefit of rich Tory donors.
21-05-2021, 01:49 PM
Did you get free books at school?
21-05-2021, 02:02 PM
Do you have any stats to back up your assertion that the young people of Scotland are more work shy than the young people in the rest of the UK?
21-05-2021, 02:24 PM
Successive Scottish Governments, going back to the days of Jack McConnell, have argued that Scotland is under-populated and shouldn't be subject to the UK limits.
So, yes we would have one, and I'd expect that it would be more benign than the one we currently have, no matter who was in power. Anything else wouldn't make economic sense.
21-05-2021, 02:52 PM
Aye? What are these names then? You have posted something with no facts whatsoever.
21-05-2021, 03:30 PM
I presume to revise for this you are given the questions (like the driving theory test). I mean WTF knows who invented the radar? And I like history.
There's probably an MI5 team profiling applicants on their answers:
Knows about ancient naval battles = potential sea terrorist
Knows who invented radar = potential air terrorist
Knows about legal tender = potential terrorist financier
21-05-2021, 03:47 PM
There's probably an MI5 team profiling applicants on their answers:
Knows about ancient naval battles = potential sea terrorist
Knows who invented radar = potential air terrorist
Knows about legal tender = potential terrorist financier
Knows who scored the winning goal in the 1966 World Cup Final = you'll do.
How do you score a winning goal in a 4-2 win anyway? Are they finally admitting that the 3rd didn't cross the line?
21-05-2021, 03:48 PM
Nothing from Crunchie on why Scottish people are lazier than English people? I’m really interested to find out if this is true?
21-05-2021, 04:06 PM
Nothing from Crunchie on why Scottish people are lazier than English people? I’m really interested to find out if this is true?
:troll:
:saltireflag
Crunchie
21-05-2021, 04:32 PM
Show me where I said that?
21-05-2021, 04:39 PM
Well, apart from going to Perth for shopping (and picking up St Johnstone Pies for tomorrow) Getting stuff from B&Q for redecorating the bedroom, and topping up the bird feeders, I've done nothing, so my better half will think I'm a lazy so and so!! :wink:
21-05-2021, 04:46 PM
Show me where I said that?
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210521/f0ed698a077516c89ff6cfc81a8720bc.jpg
Given you claim our young people are work shy malingerers and you attribute this to things only the Scottish government are doing, you clearly see this problem (that you made up) as a Scottish one?
Crunchie
21-05-2021, 04:49 PM
Given you claim our young people are work shy malingerers and you attribute this to things only the Scottish government are doing, you clearly see this problem (that you made up) as a Scottish one?
You deducing that from what I typed says a lot more about you than it does me. Crack on Oz you're doing a wonderful job :aok:
21-05-2021, 06:18 PM
Exactly what I interpreted from that post.
21-05-2021, 07:22 PM
Is the answer bats?
21-05-2021, 08:09 PM
Is the answer bats?
Richard Hooker invented Radar.
21-05-2021, 08:59 PM
Is the answer bats?
No, that’s the Covid thread.
21-05-2021, 09:02 PM
Is the answer bats?
Schoolboy error. Bats use sonar.
21-05-2021, 09:15 PM
I am way lazier than the average Englishman. So not for the first time, I’m in the Crunchie Corner :agree:
21-05-2021, 10:40 PM
I am way lazier than the average Englishman. So not for the first time, I’m in the Crunchie Corner :agree:
Keep it up and you'll be obese.
22-05-2021, 07:13 AM
What is the recommended daily intake of laptops?
22-05-2021, 07:35 AM
Reminds me of this.
Seems I'm not the only one who made that association. Just pulled this from Facebook.
22-05-2021, 08:12 AM
That honeycomb centre is deceptive. It’s actually like eating air and honeycomb nectar and washing it down with a tsunami of milk chocolate. Obese AND bone idle, that’s my future :agree:
22-05-2021, 10:55 AM
That honeycomb centre is deceptive. It’s actually like eating air and honeycomb nectar and washing it down with a tsunami of milk chocolate. Obese AND bone idle, that’s my future :agree:
I like your thinking. If you're (capable of) standing, I'll vote for you. :aok:
22-05-2021, 05:47 PM
Schoolboy error. Bats use sonar.
I've seen the question phrased on how bats navigate as a form of radar. It's actually echolocation.
27-05-2021, 01:39 PM
Still slightly off topic, but seems like the HO and border force have new orders, or a new emphasis.
https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2021/may/27/eu-tourists-condemn-uk-border-officials-humiliating-treatment
27-05-2021, 01:53 PM
Still slightly off topic, but seems like the HO and border force have new orders, or a new emphasis.
https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2021/may/27/eu-tourists-condemn-uk-border-officials-humiliating-treatment
That’ll be another +3 on the Tories’ lead in the Westminster voting intentions poll.
27-05-2021, 03:15 PM
That’ll be another +3 on the Tories’ lead in the Westminster voting intentions poll.
If you’re an EU National coming to the U.K. as a tourist, you’d better make sure you have a letter from wherever you’re staying and a return ticket, or you will not just be turned away, there’s a good chance you will also suffer rudeness, unnecessary hostility and hours of incarceration in border force ‘holding areas’. Even If you have all the correct paperwork and a sponsor in the U.K. it seems like they’ve been told to play the bad cop with everyone. All to create a ‘hostile environment’ which is going to prejudice talented people against coming to the U.K. as well as dissuading tourists who’d want to be spending money in the economy.
Lendo
27-05-2021, 06:07 PM
Am I too late to see Crunchie’s evidence that all young people in Scotland are work-shy freeloaders?
27-05-2021, 06:29 PM
Am I too late to see Crunchie’s evidence that all young people in Scotland are work-shy freeloaders?
He would provide it but he’s too lazy so he’s hoping someone else will do it for him.
Lendo
28-05-2021, 08:26 AM
He would provide it but he’s too lazy so he’s hoping someone else will do it for him.
Crunchie
28-05-2021, 08:59 AM
You got a :top marks for replying to an inaccurate post :not worth Nowhere did I say ALL young people are anything. Here's an example for a couple of you out there.
Anyone old enough to remember doing a paper round? I used to do it for pocket money back in the day and it was bloody hard going, today's version sees you being driven around by a parent whilst still in jammies and headphones on. That is how our neighbours papers are delivered here by an overweight teenager, it would be laughable if it weren't so sad.
You got a :top marks for replying to an inaccurate post :not worth Nowhere did I say ALL young people are anything. Here's an example for a couple of you out there.
Anyone old enough to remember doing a paper round? I used to do it for pocket money back in the day and it was bloody hard going, today's version sees you being driven around by a parent whilst still in jammies and headphones on. That is how our neighbours papers are delivered here by an overweight teenager, it would be laughable if it weren't so sad.
Some Lillian Gish there, Crunchie.
Santa Cruz
28-05-2021, 09:11 AM
Paper rounds were murder, they got worse as the week went on as the Evening News got thicker each day, the Sundays were back breaking. When I moved on to the once weekly Edinburgh Advertiser I deployed my mum's shopping trolley, unbeknownst to me everyone else I knew was dumping their round instead of delivering.
Now kids can't get one. The newsagent at Comely Bank had a waiting list of over 100 people, many adults, they were paying over £50 a week. Adults shouldn't be allowed to apply, it's nigh on impossible for under 16's to get a part time job, it's good for them, it's the building bricks of a having a good work ethic.
28-05-2021, 09:16 AM
:agree: When my father was a young man he’d get on his bike and go and LOOK for a job.
Crunchie
28-05-2021, 09:17 AM
Paper rounds were murder, they got worse as the week went on as the Evening News got thicker each day, the Sundays were back breaking. When I moved on to the once weekly Edinburgh Advertiser I deployed my mum's shopping trolley, unbeknownst to me everyone else I knew was dumping their round instead of delivering.
Now kids can't get one. The newsagent at Comely Bank had a waiting list of over 100 people, many adults, they were paying over £50 a week. Adults shouldn't be allowed to apply, it's nigh on impossible for under 16's to get a part time job, it's good for them, it's the building bricks of a having a good work ethic.
:top marks Sunday's were especially bad as you had the glossy magazines and the rolls. I agree 100% about the work ethic, my mum took half the money I earned and put it in a bank account for me, I wasn't happy at the time but delighted by the time I was 16 :greengrin
Santa Cruz
28-05-2021, 09:21 AM
:top marks Sunday's were especially bad as you had the glossy magazines and the rolls. I agree 100% about the work ethic, my mum took half the money I earned and put it in a bank account for me, I wasn't happy at the time but delighted by the time I was 16 :greengrin
I went on to working in a shop from the age of 13 until I left school at 16. It's such a shame kids can't get part time jobs as easily now until they're 16. A good work ethic for me is probably more important than a raft of qualifications.
28-05-2021, 09:26 AM
Wow your anecdote about one local teenager really does sum up the Scottish youth of today.
28-05-2021, 09:29 AM
I went on to working in a shop from the age of 13 until I left school at 16. It's such a shame kids can't get part time jobs as easily now until they're 16. A good work ethic for me is probably more important than a raft of qualifications.
Each to their own but I’d much rather my children were socialising with friends, playing sports or doing other extra-curriculars rather than working in a corner shop in their early teens. There are better ways to instil a work ethic in children than having them provide a business owner with cheap child labour.
Santa Cruz
28-05-2021, 09:31 AM
Each to their own but I’d much rather my children were socialising with friends, playing sports or doing other extra-curriculars rather than working in a corner shop in their early teens. There are better ways to instil a work ethic in children than having them provide a business owner with cheap child labour.
I was working one day a week, still managed to train and compete with an athletics club and had tons of time with my pals. :aok:
Crunchie
28-05-2021, 09:36 AM
Aye let's give them all £20 a week to sit in their rooms playing video games instead of working :aok: That'll be in the the next SNP manifesto when they lose the next referendum.
Crunchie
28-05-2021, 09:37 AM
I was working one day a week, still managed to train and compete with an athletics club and had tons of time with my pals. :aok:
That's just it, some kids have nothing but time, working a wee part-time job can only be good for them.
28-05-2021, 09:45 AM
Some other things about teenagers today compared to my day. The drink less. They take less drugs. They are less violent. They do better at school and more of them go to uni.
All this ‘when I were lad’ stuff is hilarious.
28-05-2021, 09:49 AM
Aye let's give them all £20 a week to sit in their rooms playing video games instead of working :aok: That'll be in the the next SNP manifesto when they lose the next referendum.
Why do you want to give them money to play video games? :dunno:
Crunchie
28-05-2021, 09:56 AM
Some other things about teenagers today compared to my day. The drink less. They take less drugs. They are less violent. They do better at school and more of them go to uni.
All this ‘when I were lad’ stuff is hilarious.
In what insular world do you live in? where are kids doing better in school? there are kids leaving primary school that can't read and write or do a basic sum without a calculator, it's a joke. As for the take less drink and drugs? :faf:
Crunchie
28-05-2021, 09:57 AM
Why do you want to give them money to play video games? :dunno:
I don't :aok:
28-05-2021, 09:59 AM
In what insular world do you live in? where are kids doing better in school? there are kids leaving primary school that can't read and write or do a basic sum without a calculator, it's a joke. As for the take less drink and drugs? :faf:
You really need to familiarise yourself with the actual stats before making any more of a fool of yourself.
28-05-2021, 10:00 AM
I don't :aok:
Ah, you were being sarcastic.
Has anyone else said they think we should pay kids to play video games?
Crunchie
28-05-2021, 10:04 AM
You really need to familiarise yourself with the actual stats before making any more of a fool of yourself.
What actual stats would those be?
I know first hand there are kids leaving primary school in quite high numbers who cannot read and write. I also know there are kids drinking and taking drugs a hell of a lot more than anything I ever saw in my day.
But thanks for the gentle reminder :aok:
28-05-2021, 10:19 AM
:agree: When my father was a young man he’d get on his bike and go and LOOK for a job.
You are Norman Tebbitt's son and I claim your bicycle clips 😉
Stairway 2 7
28-05-2021, 10:23 AM
What actual stats would those be?
I know first hand there are kids leaving primary school in quite high numbers who cannot read and write. I also know there are kids drinking and taking drugs a hell of a lot more than anything I ever saw in my day.
But thanks for the gentle reminder :aok:
That's the argument of a complete bafoon. Do you not understand why we use stats. Loads of people in my street had hibs stuff in their windows last Saturday, therfore every in Scotland is probably a hibby.
28-05-2021, 10:29 AM
There's a big difference between early and late teens, but I found the experience of working my various jobs at that age / stage invaluable.
I own my own business now, but will still quote stuff I heard at my Presto supermarket induction in 1993, when I was 15 and just about to start stacking shelves.
The balance needs to be right of course, but I think wee jobs during teenage years are absolutely brilliant things.
28-05-2021, 10:30 AM
You are Norman Tebbitt's son and I claim your bicycle clips 😉
:grr: Bloody woke snowflake leftie Marxist cyclists getting on their bikes trying to find jobs :grr:
Crunchie
28-05-2021, 10:38 AM
That's the argument of a complete bafoon. Do you not understand why we use stats. Loads of people in my street had hibs stuff in their windows last Saturday, therfore every in Scotland is probably a hibby.
A bafoon eh, I shan't be trying to have any reasoned debate with you then :aok:
28-05-2021, 10:47 AM
A bafoon eh, I shan't be trying to have any reasoned debate with you then :aok:
In the interests of reasoned debate, do you have any stats to support your anecdotal experience?
Crunchie
28-05-2021, 10:52 AM
In the interests of reasoned debate, do you have any stats to support your anecdotal experience?
I don't do stats only life experience and listening to people out there in their respective fields. I'm sure the cut and paste man will be along shortly with the SNP version of how well the Scottish youth of today are doing.
28-05-2021, 11:02 AM
I don't do stats only life experience and listening to people out there in their respective fields. I'm sure the cut and paste man will be along shortly with the SNP version of how well the Scottish youth of today are doing.
It was a genuine question.
I've been trying to get some independent evidence, but all I can find seems to depend on political stance, whether that's Andrew Neil or John Swinney.
Thanks for clarifying your own research. I'll keep looking.
28-05-2021, 11:04 AM
I know a few people that worked beside her at Diageo. Let's just say her reputation is well earned.
28-05-2021, 11:13 AM
This thread is hilarious, possibly helped by the fact I have one person on ignore, seeing the responses to the hidden posts is a hoot!
thanks guys, fair enjoyed the read. :thumbsup:
28-05-2021, 11:39 AM
In my class at school, 3 of the 15 boys were called Paul. It's a well known fact that Pauls make up 20% of the world's male population.
Stairway 2 7
28-05-2021, 12:49 PM
In my class at school, 3 of the 15 boys were called Paul. It's a well known fact that Pauls make up 20% of the world's male population.
😆 I know some people refuse to believe in stats, but that's hard to argue with
28-05-2021, 12:50 PM
😆 I know some people refuse to believe in stats, but that's hard to argue with
B******s. I know someone called James. That's all the evidence I need. :agree:
28-05-2021, 12:54 PM
Apparently, one in five people in the world are Chinese and there are five people in my family. So it's either my mum or my dad, my older brother Colin or my younger brother Ho-Chan-Chu. I think it's Colin.
28-05-2021, 01:06 PM
Apparently, one in five people in the world are Chinese and there are five people in my family. So it's either my mum or my dad, my older brother Colin or my younger brother Ho-Chan-Chu. I think it's Colin.
Thanks Tommy.:greengrin
Santa Cruz
28-05-2021, 01:19 PM
There's a big difference between early and late teens, but I found the experience of working my various jobs at that age / stage invaluable.
I own my own business now, but will still quote stuff I heard at my Presto supermarket induction in 1993, when I was 15 and just about to start stacking shelves.
The balance needs to be right of course, but I think wee jobs during teenage years are absolutely brilliant things.
I agree, I wasn't exploited with low wages, I took the job because I was earning more than a paper round paid. It was a reputable business not a corner shop demanding I worked all hours, my parents wouldn't have allowed that. I had a good balance. It's a shame there's not more opps for older school kids nowadays due to work regs. My daughter is desperate for a part time job but she won't be able to apply to a reputable employer until she's 16. She's done volunteering, there's a lot to be said for that providing good life skills. I think the stat I seen was in Scotland there's around a quarter of a million people working in the voluntary sector.
28-05-2021, 04:39 PM
Thanks Tommy.:greengrinIt still gets me every time! [emoji1787]
28-05-2021, 04:51 PM
I agree, I wasn't exploited with low wages, I took the job because I was earning more than a paper round paid. It was a reputable business not a corner shop demanding I worked all hours, my parents wouldn't have allowed that. I had a good balance. It's a shame there's not more opps for older school kids nowadays due to work regs. My daughter is desperate for a part time job but she won't be able to apply to a reputable employer until she's 16. She's done volunteering, there's a lot to be said for that providing good life skills. I think the stat I seen was in Scotland there's around a quarter of a million people working in the voluntary sector.I did an evening news round for the local newsagent. I was the best paid (out of 7 rounds) because I had the most papers, but they were nearly all in the scheme/flats where I lived so it was probably the quickest. I used to make about £40 every Christmas in tips which was huge (40 years ago). I also sometimes filled in for morning rounds during the school holidays.
On top of that I worked at a wee hotel on a Saturday morning for 3 or 4 hours starting at 9.00am. I'd start by cleaning the bar and putting out empties/sorting bottles and sweeping our the cellar. Then I'd do other stuff - cutting grass, clearing leaves, dishes, whatever.
In both jobs the folk were great with me and it definitely wasn't exploitation.
I made enough to pay myself into ER on a Saturday, the speedway at Powderhall on a Friday night and I still had some left over.
It certainly didn't do me any harm and it's a pity that kids don't have that level of responsibility or independence now.
28-05-2021, 04:58 PM
I did an evening news round for the local newsagent. I was the best paid (out of 7 rounds) because I had the most papers, but they were nearly all in the scheme/flats where I lived so it was probably the quickest. I used to make about £40 every Christmas in tips which was huge (40 years ago). I also sometimes filled in for morning rounds during the school holidays.
On top of that I worked at a wee hotel on a Saturday morning for 3 or 4 hours starting at 9.00am. I'd start by cleaning the bar and putting out empties/sorting bottles and sweeping our the cellar. Then I'd do other stuff - cutting grass, clearing leaves, dishes, whatever.
I made enough to pay myself into ER on a Saturday, the speedway at Powderhall on a Friday night and I still had some left over.
It certainly didn't do me any harm and it's a pity that kids don't have that level of responsibility or independence now.On top of that we sometimes got paid by my mate's dad (plumber) for helping him tidy /load stuff in preparation for his workers and my big brother paid my for cleaning his work's van.
I was a real machine!
Santa Cruz
28-05-2021, 05:06 PM
I did an evening news round for the local newsagent. I was the best paid (out of 7 rounds) because I had the most papers, but they were nearly all in the scheme/flats where I lived so it was probably the quickest. I used to make about £40 every Christmas in tips which was huge (40 years ago). I also sometimes filled in for morning rounds during the school holidays.
It certainly didn't do me any harm and it's a pity that kids don't have that level of responsibility or independence now.
On your paper round, before you were given the papers, did you have to recite the house numbers in the exact order of the street route you were told to take every day? I did and I have literally no idea how I managed to memorise that, I was 11 years old! Aye, the tips were good, it was gutting when you were told to wait at the door and thinking hope they give me 20p I'll get a Mars Bar, then the person came back with a bit fruit and you had to act all chuffed :greengrin
Santa Cruz
28-05-2021, 05:07 PM
On top of that we sometimes got paid by my mate's dad (plumber) for helping him tidy /load stuff in preparation for his workers and my big brother paid my for cleaning his work's van.
I was a real machine!
Total grafter, you must have been minted :greengrin
28-05-2021, 05:13 PM
It’s clear we need to bring back conscription. [emoji23]
Stairway 2 7
28-05-2021, 05:25 PM
Nostalgia ain't what it used to be
28-05-2021, 05:29 PM
On your paper round, before you were given the papers, did you have to recite the house numbers in the exact order of the street route you were told to take every day? I did and I have literally no idea how I managed to memorise that, I was 11 years old! Aye, the tips were good, it was gutting when you were told to wait at the door and thinking hope they give me 20p I'll get a Mars Bar, then the person came back with a bit fruit and you had to act all chuffed :greengrinWe were given a ring binder thing with the adresses noted and were meant to write the door numbers on the paper before we left the shop. I knew mine by heart so I cheated - only writing 1 in 4/5. I can still remember my round now, including the not-on-Saturdays and even one Wednesday-only. They were my neighbours and I knew most of them so it's not that surprising (although I appreciate that things/communities are different now).
28-05-2021, 05:30 PM
Total grafter, you must have been minted :greengrinToo right! I certainly couldn't be arsed doing all that at weekends now.
Lendo
28-05-2021, 07:56 PM
What’s a “newspaper”? Is this a pre-internet thing?
Lendo
28-05-2021, 08:02 PM
We were given a ring binder thing with the adresses noted and were meant to write the door numbers on the paper before we left the shop. I knew mine by heart so I cheated - only writing 1 in 4/5. I can still remember my round now, including the not-on-Saturdays and even one Wednesday-only. They were my neighbours and I knew most of them so it's not that surprising (although I appreciate that things/communities are different now).
I had a Herald & Post round. Every single house in Currievale. Every. Single. One.
Brutal round, all for £25 a week.
28-05-2021, 08:41 PM
I had a Herald & Post round. Every single house in Currievale. Every. Single. One.
Brutal round, all for £25 a week.
I had one of them, but iirc I only got £2 - £3 per week to do it (although it was only one day a week). More pay when there were "supplements" to go in the papers. Fine line though - more money good, but it didn't take much to make that bag a whole lot heavier and I was a scrawny wee oik.
One old boy demanded that I left him 2 copies every week, he was one of those weird local "characters" that wee towns seem to have - he said that he had a mate that he gave one of his copies to. I'm pretty sure he used it for bog roll.
Santa Cruz
28-05-2021, 09:07 PM
I had one of them, but iirc I only got £2 - £3 per week to do it (although it was only one day a week). More pay when there were "supplements" to go in the papers. Fine line though - more money good, but it didn't take much to make that bag a whole lot heavier and I was a scrawny wee oik.
One old boy demanded that I left him 2 copies every week, he was one of those weird local "characters" that wee towns seem to have - he said that he had a mate that he gave one of his copies to. I'm pretty sure he used it for bog roll.
Yeah I got £3.00 for 300 papers, it was a penny a paper and got "time and a half" if leaflets were added.
Crunchie
29-05-2021, 06:38 AM
We had a pile of cut newspaper i a box way back in the 70s and it was our bog roll, oh the joys lol.
29-05-2021, 06:59 AM
Folk bragging about terrible employment conditions and saying it’s character building? And wanting it for today’s youth? Maybe we need to start sending them up chimneys as well? [emoji849]
Santa Cruz
29-05-2021, 07:12 AM
Folk bragging about terrible employment conditions and saying it’s character building? And wanting it for today’s youth? Maybe we need to start sending them up chimneys as well? [emoji849]
"bragging" haha. What exactly was terrible about the employment conditions anyone's posted? From what I've read we were all paid the going rate at the time.
29-05-2021, 07:17 AM
It always makes me laugh when I hear the "When I was a lad" brigade. Every generation has had them and it's a sure sign of the onset of old age :wink:
29-05-2021, 07:18 AM
"bragging" haha. What exactly was terrible about the employment conditions anyone's posted? From what I've read we were all paid the going rate at the time.
I’d prefer a society where we didn’t make children work.
Santa Cruz
29-05-2021, 07:25 AM
Well your in luck cos that's the society we've got and always had in my lifetime. Never seen one poster stating they were forced into child labour.
29-05-2021, 07:25 AM
I also find it interesting that those who claim it instilled them with a great work ethic spend all day posting on Hibs.net, presumably not getting much work done 😂😉
29-05-2021, 07:29 AM
I also find it interesting that those who claim it instilled them with a great work ethic spend all day posting on Hibs.net, presumably not getting much work done 😂😉
They're still fuming because the introduction of free laptops saw the demise of their paper rounds.
Santa Cruz
29-05-2021, 07:31 AM
Recently returned to work after a very long period of shielding. I couldnae care if you find that info interesting btw.
Crunchie
29-05-2021, 07:31 AM
He has a tendency to exaggerate and distort posts, there wasn't a single person bragging nor complaining.
Crunchie
29-05-2021, 07:33 AM
If we ever get back to some kind of normality and people return to work you can make that assumption :aok:
Crunchie
29-05-2021, 07:34 AM
Recently returned to work after a very long period of shielding. I couldnae care if you find that info interesting btw.
Me too, 4 months shielding I was like a kid going back to school after the summer holidays :greengrin
29-05-2021, 07:48 AM
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkThere was nothing terrible about it. I made a point of saying that I was treated very well.
My sister, who is 4 years my elder, had my paper round before me. Unfortunately the world is such these days that I wouldn't even consider allowing one of my daughters to work under the same conditions.
We do make a point however of imposing different chores and activities on them. There's more to life than Spotify & games consoles.
29-05-2021, 07:52 AM
I also find it interesting that those who claim it instilled them with a great work ethic spend all day posting on Hibs.net, presumably not getting much work done [emoji23][emoji6]I'm a partner in my company and work a minimum of 45 hours per week. The release I get from dicking about on here helps to keep my head from exploding.
29-05-2021, 07:55 AM
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkI was never made to work.
29-05-2021, 08:31 AM
It always makes me laugh when I hear the "When I was a lad" brigade. Every generation has had them and it's a sure sign of the onset of old age :wink:
The music the young people listen to these days, it’s not even proper lyrics, it’s just a noise.
29-05-2021, 09:39 AM
It certainly didn't do me any harm and it's a pity that kids don't have that level of responsibility or independence now.The pain in the erchie for me with the evening news was getting back from the football on time to do the pink. I often used to sub contract that bit [emoji16]
29-05-2021, 09:46 AM
The pain in the erchie for me with the evening news was getting back from the football on time to do the pink. I often used to sub contract that bit [emoji16]
Sent from my CPH2009 using TapatalkI never had to do that, although sometimes the EEN itself arrived late on a Saturday (it was usually delivered to the shop between 12.30-1.00pm) which could mean getting to the match late. My mates helped me get my round done quicker a few times.
29-05-2021, 09:53 AM
I never had to do that, although sometimes the EEN itself arrived late on a Saturday (it was usually delivered to the shop between 12.30-1.00pm) which could mean getting to the match late. My mates helped me get my round done quicker a few times.
You'd have it done by 915 nowadays.
29-05-2021, 10:01 AM
You'd have it done by 915 nowadays.True. During the week the EEN was usually delivered to the shop about 4.00pm. Changed days.
Eaststand
29-05-2021, 10:39 AM
True. During the week the EEN was usually delivered to the shop about 4.00pm. Changed days.
Yep, and on the later EEN copies there was a wee blue icon on the front page, top corner saying 'late edition'
So prior to the internet, if you were buying your paper from a shop and wanted the latest newspaper news, you chose those later copies.
Memories GGTTH
Crunchie
29-05-2021, 10:42 AM
True. During the week the EEN was usually delivered to the shop about 4.00pm. Changed days.
I remember queuing waiting on it coming in :wink:, I wouldn't thank you for a free copy of it now.
Santa Cruz
29-05-2021, 10:57 AM
Yep, and on the later EEN copies there was a wee blue icon on the front page, top corner saying 'late edition'
So prior to the internet, if you were buying your paper from a shop and wanted the latest newspaper news, you chose those later copies.
Memories GGTTH
Was the late version not called the City Final?
Eaststand
29-05-2021, 01:09 PM
Was the late version not called the City Final?
That's it. In my defence it's been around 45 years since I bought an Evening News, so I was pretty close 😇