09-05-2021, 03:07 PM
It's revenge time.

ElginHibbie
09-05-2021, 03:07 PM
We’ll get chances and if our front 3 can take them we’ll win

09-05-2021, 03:08 PM
The players will know they need to bring their A Game against St J - it might be the better option for us...come on Hibees

09-05-2021, 03:09 PM
We will want revenge

A common football cliche but the first goal against St Johnstone is vital.

Im confident we'll find a way to beat them.

Will be a tough game.

And no Jambo will have watched it if we win but wait to you see how many crawl out of the woodwork if we dont.

09-05-2021, 03:10 PM
Easy win

We’ll get chances and if our front 3 can take them we’ll win

We stay solid at the back, and take our chances we will win.

St Mirren passed up about 3 open goals today.

We need to figure them out, fast. Fingers crossed we can nick an early goal this time.

The Saints don’t have as much to prove.

If our boys can’t get up for this... but they will.

No room for complacency. With it being St Johnstone don’t think they likely.

Game on. Should be a cracker.

09-05-2021, 03:11 PM
Bring it on. No mistakes, take our chances.

Need every player to turn up as they did in 2016.

2pm kick off for the final.

SonOfDavidFrancey
We will see Boyle getting kicked from one end to another.

Magpie
09-05-2021, 03:12 PM
Gutted fans can’t make it. I think it would have given us a huge boost.

No excuses not to win this cup. We need to stop this ‘not beating St Johnstone’ rubbish that we’ve got going on.

Less confident than I was this morning if I’m honest.:boo hoo: Got to be innit to win it though.:cb

mayo hibee
09-05-2021, 03:13 PM
First goal wins. Simple as that.

Is that confirmed? What channel is it on?

Edit. Hibs twitter confirm the kick off time.

ABZHFC
We had better be in green and white or else I will be ****ing raging

09-05-2021, 03:14 PM
A common football cliche but the first goal against St Johnstone is vital.

Im confident we'll find a way to beat them.

The cliche is absolutely correct on this occasion. If St Johnstone score first we're going to struggle big time. If we can get the first goal though I'd be confident about winning.

We'll need to be really careful about set pieces and balls into the box though. McGregor must be in the managers thoughts.

Have to play without fear against them, see how many chances st.mirren created.

Have to take your chance and really important to get the first goal. If St J get it I don’t see us coming back from it

Play the way we can do and we win it

Fuzzywuzzy
I'm actually feeling confident for this and think we'll win 4-0.

I know **** all though!

Stairway 2 7
09-05-2021, 03:15 PM

Defo?

09-05-2021, 03:15 PM
Defo?

Confirmed

09-05-2021, 03:16 PM
They are a tough nut to crack, always well drilled and difficult to break down. We will need to take our chances on the day, as there mightn't be many.

Is it true the final isn’t on BBC?

Confirmed

Confirmed where?

It's on BBC and Premier Sports.

No. It's on the Beeb.

09-05-2021, 03:17 PM

It better be. 🤬

Tobias Funke
First goal wins. Simple as that.

This. If we score first they’ll open up in search of the equaliser and we will
score again.

They score first they’ll park the bus.

1 win in 5 against this lot, they are long overdue a spanking from us. Mon the Hibees. 🤞

Confirmed where?

https://twitter.com/hibernianfc/status/1391411011488526344?s=21

09-05-2021, 03:19 PM
https://twitter.com/hibernianfc/status/1391411011488526344?s=21

09-05-2021, 03:19 PM
The Saints don’t have as much to prove.

If our boys can’t get up for this... but they will.

No room for complacency. With it being St Johnstone don’t think they likely.

Game on. Should be a cracker.

They have quality and know what they are about. Theyve won sgainst Rangers and Hibs recently. They have Rangers and ex Hibs players in their ranks and a coach who has instilled confudence and drills which they follow to the letter. Taking out the OF it doesnt come tougher than St J. However Hibs have shown over the season that they are s top team in Scotland. Has JR kept the best performance to last, I hope so Its going to be close as far as chances go.

telford hibbee
09-05-2021, 03:20 PM
Is that confirmed? What channel is it on?

Edit. Hibs twitter confirm the kick off time.
No ok time as yet but it is on bbc and premier sports.

09-05-2021, 03:20 PM
Didn’t realise just how good a record St J have in 2021. Some effort from them.

tam4hibs
09-05-2021, 03:21 PM
No ok time as yet but it is on bbc and premier sports.

Confirmed as 2pm KO

Dmas
09-05-2021, 03:28 PM
I think getting Murphy upto speed will be a big bonus for us, could really mix things up for there back line with him coming off the bench

09-05-2021, 03:30 PM
OK BBC1 just confirming 2pm and on BBC, but I presume that the 2pm is the start of their coverage and not kick off time.

09-05-2021, 03:32 PM
Having Nisbet back will make things a lot different from last week.

We are a more settled side than the last semi final v them.

Two points well worth considering. I'm fairly confident.

09-05-2021, 03:34 PM
Things have went for St Johnstone at Hampden in their semi finals. We should have had them beaten in the first half and St Mirren should have been in front today.

First goal will probably decide how the game goes as has pretty much always been the case this season.

09-05-2021, 03:34 PM

Even then, we should have had the semi won by half time. The other recent defeats have come from sloppy mistakes. We are more than good enough to beat them.

09-05-2021, 03:35 PM
OK BBC1 just confirming 2pm and on BBC, but I presume that the 2pm is the start of their coverage and not kick off time.

Hibs Twitter has confirmed it's a 2pm kick off.

09-05-2021, 03:35 PM
They are poor defensively on their right.St Mirren should have made more of it.

09-05-2021, 03:36 PM

Absolutely. St. Mirren have nothing like the attacking quality that we have, and created plenty gilt edged opportunities today.

Will be a really hard game but if folk can’t get excited about playing St. J in a Scottish Cup Final, there’s something seriously wrong.

09-05-2021, 03:46 PM
St Johnstone have shown that they are a good side - but so have we and we should approach this final with no fear.

BRING IT ON :hyper:pray::drool::flag::flag::flag:

K-Zazu
09-05-2021, 03:48 PM
Let’s do thum

09-05-2021, 03:49 PM
Our record against them this season is 1-0 (A), 2-2 (H), 0-3 (N), 0-1 (A) and 0-1 (H).

So other than the League Cup semi, it's been close each time and even in that game we should have been ahead before conceding two poor goals either side of half time.

As others have said, this will be decided by who scores first.

09-05-2021, 03:58 PM

Strange right? Wonder why that is?

09-05-2021, 04:04 PM
Strange right? Wonder why that is?

FA trophy final at 4.15. Games getting switched to Wembley for double header 😁

Fans from England with priority tickets.

09-05-2021, 04:09 PM
St Johnstone are a decent well organised side, they are not Manchester City. We are a better side than them, who have failed to work out how to beat them recently.

We can win this and we can also lose it, it all depends on which Hibs turn up, i'm confidant we will beat them. :hibees

09-05-2021, 04:15 PM
It's all about Hibs, if we turn up we win, if we don't we'll struggle.

I'm sure the boys will be up for this one, I feel a bit of revenge coming

09-05-2021, 04:16 PM

FRom SFA website

Sat. 22nd May
Hampden Park.
3pm Kick off
(the 2 o'clock mentioned will be prog start for prematch usual stuff interviews etc

On Premier Sports 1 and BBC One Scotland/ iplayer too
Saints are the "home" team
But we still get The Hibs End:greengrin

09-05-2021, 04:21 PM
Experience tells me never to expect Hibs to win in a cup final, especially a Scottish cup final. But **** it, I fully expect us to win the cup in two weeks time! We are a better side than St Johnstone and will prove it by winning the cup

09-05-2021, 04:31 PM
Sat. 22nd May
Hampden Park.
3pm Kick off

On Premier Sports 1 and BBC One Scotland/ iplayer too.

Saints are the "home" team
But we still get The Hibs End:greengrin

2pm ko according to Hibs twitter

09-05-2021, 04:34 PM
2pm ko according to Hibs twitter

And SFA Scottish Cup Facebook.

buktapurple79
09-05-2021, 04:34 PM
Experience tells me never to expect Hibs to win in a cup final, especially a Scottish cup final. But **** it, I fully expect us to win the cup in two weeks time! We are a better side than St Johnstone and will prove it by winning the cup

100 per cent this - we will win the cup comfortably for the second time in 5 years. Went through a lifetime of pain all undone in 2016. Sick of all the negativity, this is a Hibs side with a winning mentality. If we weee going to slip up it was yesterday.

09-05-2021, 04:39 PM
We dominated possession against them last 3 games
The recent one we played 442, as Nisbet was injured. The early mistake from Porteous cost Hibs the match

The 1-0 defeat at McDermid park in March, Hibs had 64% possession, double the number of shots as St Johnstone, yet we still lost 1-0. Again we played 442

The league cup semi in January, again we dominated possession, had more shots than Saints, same on target, yet we lost 3-0. Played 442

So last 3 games we haven’t scored against them, that surely will change in the final

09-05-2021, 04:40 PM
And SFA Scottish Cup Facebook.

SFA Official Website had KO time as 3.00pm
Then i posted that informationI

dont do twatter or faceache
Discredited platforms these days:greengrin

09-05-2021, 04:41 PM
SFA Official Website had KO time as 3.00pm
Then i posted that information

https://twitter.com/scottishcup/status/1391410183386157057?s=21

09-05-2021, 04:44 PM
Had it been St Mirren then all the pressure would have been on us.

Their now after the double, that will play on their mind and we should take advantage of that.

thegaffer12
09-05-2021, 04:52 PM
A confident Nisbet and Doidge available, both in rich goalscoring form? Yes please!

SJNB Hibby
09-05-2021, 04:55 PM
The players will know they need to bring their A Game against St J - it might be the better option for us...come on Hibees

Agreed---thsi will be like preparing for an OF game. The way we were all praying for the Buddies, we'd have got a nasty shock. We know the job ahead of us. Nothing stupid at the back, and take half the chances we get, we'll be fine

davhibby
09-05-2021, 05:00 PM
I’d actually go with the same sort of set up and game plan as the other semi. We were well on top in the first half of that, just about making sure we take our chances this time and stay solid at the back.

09-05-2021, 05:05 PM
I’d actually go with the same sort of set up and game plan as the other semi. We were well on top in the first half of that, just about making sure we take our chances this time and stay solid at the back.

I think we've got goals in us. The issue for me is at the back and too many mistakes and errors. St Johnstone compete very well in midfield too and thats where the real battle will be. Personally I'd play Daz even if that is at the expense of Porto who just gives me the gitters.

09-05-2021, 05:06 PM
Cheer up cheer up the boys’ll see you through

09-05-2021, 05:11 PM

The boy's that beat the rAngers and the Glasgow Celtic.too

09-05-2021, 05:14 PM
https://twitter.com/scottishcup/status/1391410183386157057?s=21
They did change time,i now see.
Awe one, Billy
Al be in the hoose watching it.
Just get the scarf oan, an open a can wee bit earlier :agree: :greengrin

09-05-2021, 06:00 PM
I think the LC SF, and the recent defeat is actually a good thing

The pressure on us had paisley saints won would've been massive

Perth saints have won the LC, we want our redemption and I fancy us to get it

SJNB Hibby
09-05-2021, 06:12 PM
Is KO time confirmed? BBC showing it as TBC

09-05-2021, 06:13 PM
Am I right in thinking that Jack Ross has never failed to get us to at least the Hampden semi finals of every domestic cup competition that he's led Hibs in?

SJNB Hibby
09-05-2021, 06:21 PM
Am I right in thinking that Jack Ross has never failed to get us to at least the Hampden semi finals of every domestic cup competition that he's led Hibs in?

Good spot, but was he in charge for last years LC q-f?

09-05-2021, 06:27 PM
Good spot, but was he in charge for last years LC q-f?

If it was the semi final against Celtic I think that was Heckingbottom's last game.

LeithMike
09-05-2021, 06:27 PM
Really tough to call. St Johnstone have been in great form since their awful start and are pretty clinical in front of goal. They seem to score from every chance against us.

Even if Hibs score first they will still come back at us so we have to defend well throughout the game. If we can play with a bit of zip like yesterday then we've definitely got goals in us - especially on a far better pitch than last semi.

Jack has some big calls on the defence. Let's hope we can get 3rd place cemented on Wednesday.

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

09-05-2021, 07:47 PM
Like others have said, score first and it's a different game.

09-05-2021, 08:19 PM
The main story in the run up to the match will be can St Johnstone do the cup double? There will be a lot of attention also on Callum Davidson with it being his 1st season as head coach. That will suit us and even if we are slight favourites with the bookies I think there will be more focus, and thereby, pressure on them.

09-05-2021, 08:21 PM
The main story in the run up to the match will be can St Johnstone do the cup double? There will be a lot of attention also on Callum Davidson with it being his 1st season as head coach. Even if we are slight favourites with the bookies I think there will be more focus, and thereby, pressure on them.

I think they will concentrate on the fact that Hibs havent won the Scottish Cup for FIVE years!!!!:wink:

09-05-2021, 08:35 PM
Tough game ahead against a good side. If however we play like we did yesterday our name could be inscribed on the Cup twice in five years. Even if we were to lose its far far better to be involved in Cup finals than to be pumped out by Brora Rangers. I fancy the Jimmy Boco tune transferred over to Brora Brora in future derbies. Never let them forget.

09-05-2021, 08:50 PM
Tough game ahead against a good side. If however we play like we did yesterday our name could be inscribed on the Cup twice in five years. Even if we were to lose its far far better to be involved in Cup finals than to be pumped out by Brora Rangers. I fancy the Jimmy Boco tune transferred over to Brora Brora in future derbies. Never let them forget.

If we lost the last thing I’ll be thinking is ‘thank **** we never lost to Brora’.

09-05-2021, 08:55 PM
This final is probably the final with the biggest guaranteed financial rewards for the winning team.
Just get it done Hibs.

Magpie
09-05-2021, 08:57 PM
The last time Rangers won a league title, Hibs won the Scottish Cup.

The last time Leicester qualified for the Champions League, Hibs won the Scottish Cup.

The last time Chelsea played in the Champions League final, an Edinburgh side won the Scottish Cup.

The last time Hibs played Dundee Utd in a Scottish Cup semi final, Hibs won the Scottish Cup.

The last time Hearts got knocked out of the Scottish Cup by a team in a lower league, Hibs won the Scottish Cup.

The last time Robbie Neilson was Hearts manager, Hibs won the Scottish Cup.

Anything else? 😅

09-05-2021, 09:01 PM

The last time Leicester qualified for the Champions League, Hibs won the Scottish Cup.

The last time Chelsea played in the Champions League final, an Edinburgh side won the Scottish Cup.

The last time Hibs played Dundee Utd in a Scottish Cup semi final, Hibs won the Scottish Cup.

The last time Hearts got knocked out of the Scottish Cup by a team in a lower league, Hibs won the Scottish Cup.

Anything else? 😅

The last time Rangers knocked out Celtic.

09-05-2021, 09:06 PM

Anything else? 😅

I didn’t attend the final in 2016. Same this year.

We bookend Celtics Cup Winning run. 2017-2020.

09-05-2021, 09:35 PM
I think they will concentrate on the fact that Hibs havent won the Scottish Cup for FIVE years!!!!:wink:

Petrie!

I mean, erm, Ross out! :grr:

09-05-2021, 09:47 PM
It’s in the hands of the players, if they want it enough they’ll be Scottish Cup winners. No excuses, man for man we have the best team, we show up, we win. We don’t have to rely on the other team having a bad day.

10-05-2021, 05:29 AM
Watched our semi again and we were so impressive in attack. If we are switched on at the back we have an unbelievable chance to win this cup. Our forward 3 are a handful for any team in Scotland.

10-05-2021, 06:16 AM
I’ve had a premonition as to how this all goes down.

Rainy day at Hampden. The teams come out and Jack Ross comes out in Terminator 2 style sunglasses.

Standard first half. 0-0. Both teams figuring each other out.

Second half starts. Ten minutes in, St Johnstone score. “We’ll see about that” says Jack Ross. Hibs win a corner and he brings on the specialist Sir David Gray. It’s Melker Hallberg to deliver.... 1-1.

Jack Ross looks over to Callum Davidson and says “you’ve embarrassed us at Easter Road, you’ve embarrassed us at Hampden and you’ve made it personal with Jack Ross. Nobody makes it personal with Jack Ross.” He turns to Potts, orders him to bring on “the secret weapon” and on comes...Franck Sauzee. “Let the Saints see Le God” quips Ross.

He rattles home a Millenium Derby style screamer. 2-1 Hibs.

89th minute St Johnstone curl a free kick into the top corner. 2-2.

For the first time Jack’s face cracks with emotion. Trembling with rage, he slowly takes off his sunglasses, revealing his eyes burning deep into the soul of every player on the pitch. “To win the cup” he says, “sometimes you’ve got to do it yourself”.

Jack Ross subs himself on for the goalie, catches a cross then dribbles the length of the park, nutmegging every Saints player on the way and backheeling it into an empty net. Full time 3-2, Hibs win the cup. Fireworks go off as we lift the cup, for some reason Craig Levein is forced to do a medieval jousting competition on horseback against Mr. Blobby and I celebrate the evening with a night of ferocious passion with Wonder Woman on one side of the bed and another Wonder Woman on the other side.

10-05-2021, 06:34 AM

Anything else? 😅
Aye. The last time Hibs won the cup was the last time I got ma nuts. It's been too long. :wink:

10-05-2021, 06:43 AM
Fingers crossed for a point at least for us at the dungheap on Wed then a decent number of key players can have a few days off and skip the Tic game to go into the final fully refreshed. St Johnstone on the other hand will very likely have a massive game next Sat v Livvie to try and secure 5th for guaranteed European football irrespective of how results go midweek in their two respective games v the OF. Unless Livvie lose by a good few to the Tic and Saints beat the Sticky buns. Can't see it though.

Hibs07p
10-05-2021, 06:45 AM

The boy's that beat the rAngers and the Glasgow Celtic.too

Cheer up, cheer up, the boys'll see you right,.....

I like a good old social distanced sing song.

Scottish Cup Winners 2016

10-05-2021, 07:25 AM
Watched our semi again and we were so impressive in attack. If we are switched on at the back we have an unbelievable chance to win this cup. Our forward 3 are a handful for any team in Scotland.

I saw our forward 3 described as the three musketeers 😁 I like that as a name, like the famous five and turnbulls Tornadoes, they could be legendary.

10-05-2021, 07:25 AM
Fingers crossed for a point at least for us at the dungheap on Wed then a decent number of key players can have a few days off and skip the Tic game to go into the final fully refreshed. St Johnstone on the other hand will very likely have a massive game next Sat v Livvie to try and secure 5th for guaranteed European football irrespective of how results go midweek in their two respective games v the OF. Unless Livvie lose by a good few to the Tic and Saints beat the Sticky buns. Can't see it though.

Good point re St Johnstone and needing 5th for Europe.

Just need to do the business on Wednesday. Avoid defeat and we have 3rd.

10-05-2021, 08:21 AM
We haven't been in a cup final for five years now, which seems like a long time for Hibs, so I'm looking forward to this one.

10-05-2021, 08:46 AM

Anything else? 😅

The last time we played a Scottish cup final, Hibs won the Scottish Cup.

The last time we played a team in blue and white in a final, Hibs won the Scottish Cup

10-05-2021, 08:57 AM
I actually think there will be pressure on them. They have a huge chance to win a cup double, that will be playing on their mind.

Plus the fact they’ve had our number this season.

I’d say there is pressure on both sides. With huge rewards for both

10-05-2021, 09:09 AM
I actually think there will be pressure on them. They have a huge chance to win a cup double, that will be playing on their mind.

It would be the first time that a team other than Celtic or Rangers has managed to win both domestic cups in the same season since 1990.

Huge pressure.

10-05-2021, 09:13 AM
I wonder what difference 40k Hibs fans would have made. Guess it didn't make much difference in 2004!

10-05-2021, 09:20 AM
I wonder what difference 40k Hibs fans would have made. Guess it didn't make much difference in 2004!

Or against Ross County in 2016! Better we’re not there by the looks of it 😂

10-05-2021, 10:03 AM

It's weird. Who'd have thought Hibs would ever be in a Scottish Cup Final and the media not be talking about Hibs Legends, 100+ years, the Hampden Hoodoo. Instead, the media focus will be on St J winning an historic Cup Double and Calum D being crowned Manager of the Year. Strange as it may seem, Hibs might shock the world again :greengrin

10-05-2021, 10:17 AM
It's weird. Who'd have thought Hibs would ever be in a Scottish Cup Final and the media not be talking about Hibs Legends, 100+ years, the Hampden Hoodoo. Instead, the media focus will be on St J winning an historic Cup Double and Calum D being crowned Manager of the Year. Strange as it may seem, Hibs might shock the world again :greengrin

Warburton was manager of the year in 2016 :wink:

10-05-2021, 10:59 AM
BBC Gossip page

St Johnstone manager Callum Davidson has banned his players from travelling to their final Scottish Premiership matches on buses this week in a bid to prevent any Covid-19 outbreaks before the Scottish Cup final against Hibernian after four members of his squad were ruled out by two positive coronavirus tests for the semi-final win over St Mirren. (The National) (https://www.thenational.scot/sport/19290355.st-johnstone-players-told-travel-parkhead-celtic-match-cars-avoid-pre-final-covid-19-outbreak/)

Callum Davidson has admitted he had to close St Johnstone's training ground because of positive Covid-19 tests ahead of Sunday's Scottish Cup semi-finals as he faced biggest ever challenge as manager. (The Courier) (https://www.thecourier.co.uk/fp/sport/football/st-johnstone/2206168/st-johnstone-callum-davidson-close-ground-scottish-cup/)

Manager Callum Davidson has joked that his partying will go on for the entire close season should his St Johnstone side see off Hibs in the Scottish Cup final on 22 May to add to their League Cup success. (The Scotsman) (https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/callum-davidson-ready-to-go-awol-if-st-johnstone-create-history-against-hibs-in-scottish-cup-final-3230170)

Right, let's stop the party, and the last I saw of St Johnstone, the 'training ground' was the North Inch public park (that they didn't pay rent for)

10-05-2021, 11:07 AM
btw, did Callum Davidson have no neck when he was a player or has someone nicked it in the intervening time?

10-05-2021, 11:07 AM
BBC Gossip page

Right, let's stop the party, and the last I saw of St Johnstone, the 'training ground' was the North Inch public park (that they didn't pay rent for)

I think they train on the astro right next to McDiarmid but aye, that should be going on the dressing room wall

10-05-2021, 11:21 AM
btw, did Callum Davidson have no neck when he was a player or has someone nicked it in the intervening time?

The same thoughts went through my mind yesterday when he was running to get the ball early on. Leslie Deans’ twin.

10-05-2021, 12:50 PM
The same thoughts went through my mind yesterday when he was running to get the ball early on. Leslie Deans’ twin.
Same! He's no Naomi Campbell for sure.
(For our younger readers ref. a classic Family Fortunes; "We asked 100 people to name a bird with a long neck." Bzzzz. "Naomi Campbell")

10-05-2021, 02:48 PM
For a club like St Johnstone, this double talk isn't pressure imo. They've already achieved something amazing. This is a free shot at history for them.

Pressure is on us to get the European spot we've worked for all season, and beat side we are on paper better than.

I can't see whoever scores first losing. We'll take control and punish them if we get it. They'll sit in and beat us if they get it.